(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

can i join in? I think i am only 4 wks pregnant. From the online cal i should due ard 5 Feb.

Hi gingerale,
like to check with you have u seen a gynae? I went but cant see the sac yet so get quite worried. U manage to see the sac?

yuenyuen/mashy
I think maybe coz rasin are very sweet. So, more calories. Try to substitute with fresh fruits instead lah.

Cookie
maybe bb's growing, so you need to eat so much. I was also super hungry yest.. my stomach was like an endless pit which can't be filled.

Hi gingerale
Congrats..

Babylon
Why will it affect the schooling? Dun quite understand leh.

Thanks celine. I managed to see a much bigger water sac and yolk sac yesterday. The yolk sac is very round. Can anyone advise which website I can checkout to see the development of the baby by weeks. Thanks.

hi Yasmin
Ya, don't worry too much.. think positive, ok.
How many weeks are you now? My book says can see heartbeat in 10weeks. Some people can see heartbeat earlier, some later. Also, don't be stressed at work. Stress affects bb. Take everything easy & try to relax more, ok. Take care!

yasmin
Sorry to know about your worries. For now... dun think abt it too much but be careful with all you do. *hugzzz* dun worry... I know it's hard to be but stay positive ok.

Curly & gingerale
Welcome!

Curly
do be careful...I'm sure you are in good hand. the gynae will take care to monitor you. At any time u find the gynae not professional... must quickly look for 2nd opinion.
Not that I heard anything bad abt your gynae.... but the other day read a sharing by a gal who has very bad expereince with irreponsible gynae in another threat and the warning to ALL GALs is must take care and go to a profession and responsible Gynae.

kriss
Phew... good to know I'm not alone.. as in the bottomless pit :p
That's for yesterday... it's scary I kept feeling hungry.
Anyway today.. feel more normal... after eat a big bao... felt a bit bit nausea feeling.

Thanks all. Shld I seek 2nd opinion? Any suggestions? My last menses was on 3rd Apr 05, now shld be like 8 or 9 wks.

Hi yasmin,

which gynae are u currently seeing?
I know the worries that you have xos during my first visit i cant see the sac yet. Will have my scan taken next sat hope can see the sac by then. The doc say is too early cos i was just 4 wks pregnant but i cant stop to get worry.

If u are really worried maybe u wan to get a 2nd opinion first. You can decide on which gynae in the later stage.

yasmin

don't worry. maybe like what the gynae said, only 5 weeks. Baby heartbeat will only appear at 6.5 weeks. Did u monitor your BBT? Sometimes it's due to late ovulation. Like my case, I ovulated 1 week late. So the last AF date is not accurate.

jaypooh

4 weeks too early lah. U should go again maybe when you're 7 weeks so that u can see the heartbeat too. If not gotta go many times leh.

Mummy's Name EDD Hospital
1. queen 1 Jan
2. edd2jan 2 Jan
3. Clare 3 Jan
4. krissie 6 Jan
5. Sysa 6 Jan 2006/NUH
6. Bao Bao 9 Jan
7. yasmin 10 Jan
8. el2004 11 Jan
9. yuen yuen 11 Jan
10. belinda 12 Jan
11. celine 14 Jan
13. Min Hui 27 Jan
14. april 27 Jan/Mt A
15. cookie 27 Jan
mashy brainz
Yvonne
Muah

Hi hi! Have arranged the EDD dates in order, new mummies, please insert your EDD dates acordingly. Seems like a lot of us have the same EDD so can see each other in the hospital screaming and pushing together!!

I must be one of the fortunate ones with no/very slight MS. Can anyone tell me if I do feel very nauseous in the beginning for 2 days then after that dun feel that anymore, is it normal huh????

Yuen Yuen, i drink half a cup every morning...tried to stop but cant!! Have a colleague who also drink a cup every morning n her children turned out fine...but actually read a lot of books that coffee is a no no *sob* *sob*

Anyone went to the Mothercare exhibition? Know its too early but might go n see see look look for maternity...

babylon
Yes, do share why is Dec child affected in schooling. I am having a c-section and was wondering whether to take the bb out at end-dec or early-Jan.

my son was currenly in the Apple Three Class..and people tend to compare one child to another athough they are in the same age...

Let compare a child born in Jan 2002 and Dec 2002...their differnce was 11 months apart..child born in Jan 2002 of course already know a lot of things..eg speech..while the one the Dec and trying hard....

babylon

why affected leh? Anyway, even if your child is born on 1 jan, can still join the earlier cohort. I've known many dec children who did just as well in their studies. I think if Dec better, can be 1 year earlier.

babylon

i know some lawyer friends/scholars who are dec babies. Maybe the beginning a bit diff, but it will not affect them in the long run. And why bother with other parents comparing? I've got an aunt who loves to compare and became a real nuisance that all relatives shun her. She criticized my cousin (nov baby) who did badly in his psle, kenna normal stream and says why he wastes parents money. Guess what, he's now one of the top scholars in poly. So, don't bother with these pp.

just like to share with you all. I am currently taking a part time course in the early childhood education. Like babylon mention due to the month diff the congnitive development of the child will be diff. In the early years the parents and teachers (if they are send to childcare) need to help the child in this development. It all depends on the caregiver and environment.

Even u have a year end baby but having nurturing environment and caregiver the year end baby can did as well as those in the early years. Therefore do not have to worry too much.

The environment and caregiver actually play a very important part.

Hi mashy,

i hope is due to too early thats why cant see. I will be seeing gynae at end of next wk hope everything is fine.

babylon
Agree totally with mashy, don't bother with the mother who loves to compare.

In the long run, the difference will level up. I am a Nov child myself and I know the pressure when my Aunt who tried to compare me with my cousin who is a Mar child.

I quite like to have my bb at the end of the year as I feel there is so much holiday season and feeling around and everyone is feeling good whereas January always reminded me of start of the school term, start of new year with lot of work to do in the office.

Hi April
Me too, tried to keep to half a cup of coffee per day, given that I use to drink 3 cups a day this is really a tall order.

I went to motherhood fair last night. Nothing much, more for mothers than mothers-to-be. I brought some NUK milk bottle for my older girl and they are on 30% discount.

yasmin
Agree with Mashy. It could be coz your ovulation was late, so technically, your bb is smaller. Do you know when bb was conceived? I personally think that using the conception date is more accurate than using the last AF. Coz diff women have diff cycle period. I used to be like 38 or 40 days cycle.

Babylon, Jappooh
Thanks for sharing.. will bear this in mind for child's devt during the early childhood yrs.

me 7 + weeks.
now staying at home to rest. 'cos got slight spotting few days ago.

hi yasmin
you calculate your weeks using online calculator? did gynae did v-scan for you?

Hi Jappooh

Yar I visited a gynae. Dr Eunice Chua from TML. I can see my sac measuring 0.78cm. Very small. She told me to go back 2 weeks later which will my 7th week. We should be able to see my baby measuring about 1 cm. Think she mentioned about hearing heartbeat as well. Dunno hear correctly anot.
Maybe yours is too early too tell. Maybe you wait till 7 weeks then go. Meanwhile, take good care of yourself.

Wow...so many babies in jan 2006. The govt shd praise us for contributing to helping increase birth rate.

I do not have MS...mine happens in the evening between 6pm-8pm. Funny huh? I feel nauseous but won't puke. It's just builds up and ends in a big burp. Uncomfortable feeling. I do not have much of an appetite either. As a result, I take a lot of fruits and fluids to substitute my food intake.

I have not touched rice in a month. I only take soupy stuff, like bee hoon soup/noodle soup/kway teow soup. Other food in the bowl like fish cake, fishball, meat just don't look appetising.

Fortunately, the baby grew from 0.41cm to 1.7cm between the last 2 scans. I was afraid it wld affect the growth of the baby & the gynae was going to scold me for not eating well.

I have totally cut myself off tea, coffee & soft drinks though they look rather tempting :p See how long I can tahan :p

Take care in the meantime & happy shopping at the GSS!

Hi gingerale,

hope is due to the baby too small. My gynae ask me to go back next sat which should be the starting of 6th wks.

Hi yasmin,
maybe you have long cycle therefore baby is still small and cant hear the heartbeat yet. Dun worry too much and rest well.

Hi krissie, U are right. I think I conceived at a later date.

Hi Sunny, yes I did an on-line cal of my due date. Yesterday gynae did a v-scan and found that I am still early abt 5 wks only so edd is ard end Jan06.

Hi Yasmin,

Did u see me msg abt the gynae I am seeing at NUH? Are u still thinking of changing?

sunny

don't need to drink so much milk. It will add to your weight. The only reason why you're advised to drink milk is for the calcium. So if u take any food with calcium should be good enough.

gingerale
I'm also seeing Eunice Chua! I saw her on mon at week 5 and was told to see her at week 7 too! when's your edd?

cool mashy! We have the same gynae! She didn't tell me an exact date yet leh. Did she tell you? She just said early Feb. She also said when we see the baby 2 weeks later and hear the heartbeat, it's then considered a valid pregnancy or something. Cos sometimes things just happens this 2 weeks. I'm praying everything will develop well.

gingerale

she didn't tell me my EDD either but said should be end Jan. She also told me that whether a preg is viable is pre-determined and will have to see her again in 7th week. I didn't see the fetus, just the sac & yolk though. Did u see your baby? I'm also praying very hard that my baby will continue to grow healthily.

I am so nervous now...I went to the polyclinic on Wednesday to get a referral letter to skin centre and a blood test on to see my thyroid level. In the end, the GP gave me a letter to refer me back to SGH as my thyroid records are there. As I am unable to go there today, I have it postponed to next Thursday (then I will be at week 7). She classified me as a 'problematic' case.

I think I will need to apply off to visit SGH this round. I used to visit my gynae in the evening for my last pregnancy. I have not did a scan of my tummy yet and I really hope that everything will be well with this pregnancy. So envious of u all seeing ur baby so fast.

Sunny, I dun take any milk at all though I take calcium pills.

april1976: Went to the fair too, but felt it a bit boring. A lot of formula milk company. personally, I find that it is hard to buy clothes there as it is not very conducive. Clothes are often packed together in a small rack.

mashay I only see the sac. Don't think she mention any yolk to me. hee. What is your sac measuring at week 5? Miine is 0.78cm. Hope it's normal. Well she she did say the position of my sac is good. I'm gonna get the book you recommended.

Miinhui praying that everything will be fine for you. Keep positive.

Hi sysa, Yes I've seen that message. Thanks. Yup, I still intend to change gynae when in 2nd trimester. But will check with them if I have to pay full consultation price for the 1st visit with new gynae.

When is the best time to inform your employer on your pregnancy?

Anyone started drinking AnMum I at this stage?

gingerale

1.3cm. She told me can see the yolk & the baby will grow on the yolk. i can't see though. I think it's just a shadow. She also said it's at the right position. When's your next appt? I'm seeing her again on 15 June.

juliann

what's AnMum 1? Is it preg supplement? I think i saw it in motherhood magazine. BTW, u gals can go buy motherhood mag, got a lot of freebies but mostly for babies going on solid food. Even got a preg supplement for preg women, can't remember what's the name though.

Hi mashy,

Anmum I is milk powder for preggies

what supplements gynae give u all during the first visit har??

Mine onli give folic acid and Vitamin B6

juliann

my gynae didn't give me any supplements except progesterone to help support the placenta & i told her i'm already taking folic acid. U can buy your own folic acid next time. it's cheaper. just see what's the right dosage for preg women. i bought mine at unity. Cheap cheap. only $2+ for 100 tablets.

juliann
I informed my employer on week 6 and started drinking AnMum very day (half a cup only as anymore I will vomit). Found AnMum to be quite fattening.

Hi Yuen Yuen,

I dunno how to tell my employer leh??

I think quite paiseh leh cos my boss is a guy.

How do you tell your employer har??