(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

CL, pls share ur wkly menu!
i only cook on wkend and alrd running out idea what to cook.. always only 1 vege, 1 soup and 1 meat. :p

SY,
my advice, don't get 2 maids. I used to have 2 and I really think it's not necessary uness you have a very young baby. My maids were relatives but they still talk bad about each other to my dad. And when you need to look for something, you have to ask BOTH maids! when both of them also don't know, you just feel like strangling both of them! Also they will tend to become very lazy.

Wenyl,
Thanks!! Ya boys would stick to me like koala bears! :p

WOW CL, your tamago looks very good leh! can you please do a demo in your house and we go over to learn?? :p u got receipe for ur tamago?? And how you do your tempura and Oden - a fish cake soup dish?? I wanna learn!! and yes, please post more pics of your cooking. stew or whatever!

Mashy,
teach me how to make your niku jaga can?? how do you make your dashi soup??

Talk about SAHM
Since my boy had chicken pox and I took leave to care for him fully (since my maid has yet to get chicken pox), my boy had been very happy to be home with me and we'll do alot more activities together as compared to when over the weekends and P.H. There are a few occasions when during the leave I need to return to my work place to process samples and he would tell me that I cannot go to work, only Daddy work. I was of course happy to hear that.

Then my hb and I went into a long discussion about the probability of my being a SAHM and how comfortable he is. He is now more prepared and supportive of me being a SAHM if I choose to as we are now more financially stable and free from previous loans. Moreover, I'm really not enjoying my current work and am thinking to move on or maybe convert to part-time again...but in this current portfolio, I work lesser hours but the workload is the same...maybe worst since I need to complete my tasks in an even shorter time.

When I was still pregnant, we did talk about maybe staying on till I give birth and just enjoy the paid ML and then can quit after that. But now...will just let my contract end next March and then stay home after that. We'll see how things goes.. But I would prefer to definitely want to stay home when D is 5-6 years onwards...to help him in areas he needs help in...even for Primary school. I think it's really essential to have someone at home when they start going to school...especially in primary and secondary school.

mamachan

agree that when they go schooling, all the more they need us by their side. I was a latch key kid before and nobody knows what i do at home. heheh.

aileen
i use the dashi packs & mix with boiling water. Can get from supermarkets. Alternatively, u can use bonito flakes and boil with water, then sift out the remnants of the flakes.

This is my recipe for niku jaga:
Ingredients-

Carrot
Potatoes
Meat (can use pork/chicken sliced thinly)
Onion cut into wedges
Green Peas
Shredded Ginger
1 Cup Dashi stock
2 TBS Sugar
2 TBS soy sauce
2 TBS sake

Fry onions, ginger, meat, then add carrots & potatoes for a few mins in a pot. Add dashi stock, sugar, soy sauce and sake into the pot and bring to boil. Cook over low heat until almost all the liquid is absorbed. Add peas & cook for a few mins more.

wow wow, now like so many SAHMs to be.

So who's in the list of SAHMs now?
Mashy, Wenyl, Rena, ky

SAHMs to be
Aileen, Mamachan

Ha ha mashy and all good cooks,
share share recipe ok. I love niku jaga but none at home likes.

I have a bo kay Charmaine who does not have her 2 front teeth so she will reject anything that she needs big effort to chew.

Mashy,
so far I know wenyl, you, me sleeping deer, val, and ky.. Sy too
wah... We should have a sahm gathering ..

Cl,
I loving eating and cooking jap dish but cannot read jap recipe....

Aileen/Mashy
I still have long way to go lah. hahaha. Moreover we just got a new place within Redhill... thinking of the monthly contribution needed scares me...hahaha, if hb continues to do well at work, hopefully it's something stable and have some form of increment after his one year with the new company... I'm trying to continue to let my CPF grow so that when time really comes to be SAHM, I still have some amount in CPF to contribute. Hope economy recovers enough to let those cpf investments grow!

Hopefully by Mar 2010 can join the SAHM group
or the most I request change to work part-time.

hello everyone!!

Aileen
welcome to the SAHM family!!! i just picked up japanese cooking recently. made some japanese pancakes, sushi and handrolls over the last weekend =p heehee maybe we can exchange info, you teach me cake making cum decor and i share with you of what i know(be it pizza/jap/bread baking).

btw, noticed that your blog now only allow invited readers. can you add me in??

mashy
me me, count me in. i guess i will not be back to the work force ever. too spoiled and comfortable being a SAHM =p though its hard work, but at the end of the day i know i gant what $ couldn't buy for me.

about the acne H is having, you can buy 金银花 from the chinese medicial hall. it works for dylan and devan. my niece is also bathing using the flower. you can try.

CL/mashy
i went IMM Daiso but they did not sell the rectangle pan so end up used a existing round one to make the jap egg roll and cut off both ends.

i want to ask a question from you both. regarding Dashi, they have primary and secondary dashi. i used those instant dashi powder to make and as according to the instruction my dashi was quite tastless... any idea of the portion/ratio of self make dashi or any ready to use dashi in the market??

2830954.jpg

what i did last weekend. looks still ok, taste wise not too bad =p lots of room to improve! i'll put up more pics in my blog, anyone can go there and take a look.

wenyl
you managed to attend the sushi class?

Rachel,
Where did you learn? I want to learn too.. Now I have a bit of time before my classes start again .. I love cooking too

i actually dun mind staying home tll jx is 2 but i think i will get get greedier and wan to stay home longer! but having no income is tough.....

CL
how u make the egg? my hb not so easy on food. he needs 3 dish and a soup...

mashy
since u r staying home dun pump. i used to pump too and really waste time. then when jx refuse the bottle, i also stop pumping. now i only pump once at night and will give to jh the excess.

re SAHM gathering
hee got a request. can it be early? cos i need to rush home to pick jh before 4pm...

Hi Hi,

It's MIL's birthday next week. Thinking of bringing her out for dinner. She likes Japanese Food. Any suggestions where would be good? Or any good buffet around?

Hi Aileen

All the best to your decision to be a SAHM! I am sure the boys will benefit much.

Btw, can add me to access to your blog?

SY

wow, your hb needs 3 dishes and a soup! Lucky my hb 2 dishes, 1 soup is fine. In fact, he even said better still just cook those 1 dish meal like stew coz he and my boy likes 'pig food'. hahaha.

yuki

sushi tei is nice but long queue, see if u can make reservations. Another place that i really like is Tampopo at Liang Court. Everything is so yummy there.

Yuki
We are big fan of Sun dining. If I am not wrong, the one at wheelock place has 30% discount till 24 Aug.

Japanese buffet - can try Ikoi, Mirama Hotel , or Hanabi at King's Arcade.

SY
hmm how to explain. you can search youtube for a video on making tamagoyaki.

Yuki - u can try JING at one fullerton. I just went there for my dad's birthday 2 weeks ago. It is an ala carte buffet at $42.30 nett pax. it has quite a variety of food to choose from the menu. best is you choose and they serve you. the food is of premium quality. fish and crab can only be ordered once. it has a nice view and its very near to the merlion. I brought my kids there and C and J loves it! Parking is also FOC, redeemable from JING. They even gave us a private room as we have 2 kids. maybe they are afraid we will be noisy. haha...oh and i did not have to pay for my kids. do make reservations beforehand.

You can also take the tunnel across Fullerton hotel to look see look see. there are fishes inside the pond of the hotel

CL
i'm looking at a few jap recipes. last weekend did jap pancake(okonomi-yaki) which need secondary dashi, i prepared using instant dashi, quite tastless leh. there are many recipes that includes dashi like the one-pot dish (yosenabbe)and oyako donburi.

rena
went to attend the sushi class conducted at a CC. nearly missed it coz i searched online and they did not indicate the actual name of the class. lucky ky informed me =p

Thanks Rachel and Yuki,
CAn you pm me your yahoo or gmail address so i can add you into my blog

rachel,
my baking is really amateur, just follow recipe strictly. nothing to wow over lah. hee... ur handroll sure looks good!! think i really gotta go to youtube and see how to make the tamago!

Rachel,
Yes, I managed to attend the sushi class n basic jap cooking class. Your trainer Julie? Maybe u can add more instant dashi? Its supposed to be half pkt for 100gm of water.
By the way, your sushi looks yummilicious! Mine still got a lot of room for improvement!

rachel

huh? okonomiyaki need dashi meh? i never put that before but taste great.

what flour u use? u need to use the flour specially for okonomyiyaki leh, coz they have yam flour added to it.

mashy
yeah so u know why it's not easy to cook for my family. so everyday planning is a headache.

aileen
can add me also? will PM u

SY,
Think if your hubby is fussy abt food, he should contribute in terms of ideas and actual doing. Mine does that ... I don't mind tinggat but he's the one that is more against but he's been doing all the menu plannings, marketing and even cooking, I can't much. I don't think it's impossible for the hubby to help, for eg, tonite, he'll have a TC at 9pm, and then when it's over, he'll pop into the kitchen to prepare a stew that we can use for lunch the next day. It's btw want-to-do or can't-be-bothered ...

add me to your blog too can?

.ky.

SY
hee hee my husband fussy. But he will tell me what he wants to eat and I am capable of. Ha ha. If I try for the first, and it is horrible, he will give me very frank feedback and wont stomach it. So if I want to cook a second time he will tell me count him out.

Hi Mummies, please pm me your email address to access my blog. I haven't received your pm-s, just in case you thought I didn't want to add you :p

Long time didn't login.

I will be joining SAHM group for a short while soon. Going to resign my job in Sep. Things had been very different after I resume work (After maternity leave). Will slowly find job after that. I guess I going to start a new area of job rather then staying doing documentation for logistic company. Too stress up.

Mashy,
J2 was like that at first. It is a phase that will pass. J1 is getting more used to J2 and even will help me look after J2. When I shower, she will play on the bed while J2 is in sarong. When J2 cry, she will help me rock her and talk/sing to her. Last sat, I was busy ironing clothes. J2 was in the walker crying, I shouted for J1 to help. She pull J2 near to her and entertain J2 while she is doing her colouring on the table. What abt asking C to help when he is around? How is he coping with H?

May,
i also encountered the same problem as you when i resumed work after giving birth to damien. The dept that i worked with was being merged with another dept. after 1/2 year, I resigned.

I've finally signed K up for a school starting tomorrow. He goes there 2 days a week and as expected, I have the must-do-it-but-can't-bear-with-it syndrome.

Can I find out from those who have send theirs to a school for a few months with the intention to change school later, how do you manage this with the school? Do you tell the school beforehand or just keep quiet till it's time for the 1-month notification. This school is a fit-gap solution and come Jan, he's going to a church school. I told the principal months before but she definitely can't remember, and I don't feel like saying again in case they discriminate against him cos he's not staying for long.

.ky.

Do any of you still have your "My Brest Friend" breast feeding pillows that you would like to sell/loan/give away to me? I sold mine away when I stopped BF Ariene but I'll need it again in Feb next year for my #2. Will probably need it for at least 1 yr as I hope to be able to BF #2 for 2 years as well.

KY
i will give 1 month notice too. for my case i do have plans to home-school dylan next year, meaning he might not be going to continue with his current school and move on to N2. but a month ago, the school sent us a letter to confirm whether we want to continue to N2 for dylan so they can block a place for him. after a discussion with hb, we chose to block a place for him 1st... in case my home-schooling not able to carry out by Jan next yr.

mashy
eh.. i go according to the recipe and it states need dashi. i used plain flour, as wats it states. whats the name of the flour you mention??

wenyl
yup, same trainer =)

Rachel
Okonomiyaki has its own flour one very easy to use. Fool proof. Takoyaki oso has its own. Japanese recipe cannot never go wrong as there are too many instant one.

rachel

it uses normal flour & yam flour but yam flour is not sold in singapore. So the easier way is to buy the prepacked okonomiyaki flour. It's fool proof like CL said and just need to add eggs and water to form the base. U can get the prepacked Okonomiyaki flour in Japanese supermarts like Meidiya, Isetan or in supermarts with japanese sections like Bishan NTUC, Cold storage etc.

I made that pretty often b4 2nd bb, coz it's so easy to make. :p But now cannot eat too much cabbage, so never make liao.

CL/mashy
OIC!! hey its so good to have jap food expert here =)think NTUC Finest should have this Okonomiyaki flour, i shall go hunt for it. thx.

mamapanda, I have the Brestfriendpillow to give away. u can come over to my place to pick it up. I was just planning to throw it away! PM me!

KY, I would also just give 1mth's notice.

Aileen
Thanks very much! I've sms'd you. Hope you've not changed ur hp number. Roughly when will be a good time for me to pick it up from you?

KY
I would also only give 1 month notice.

Sorry, memory not so good lately.. I just recalled I was also looking for a small 2-4 bottles electric steriliser that I can put in office to sterilise the pump parts when I pump in office cuz office has no microwave ovens. Anyone has 1 that you want to sell/loan/give away?

hee my hb can't cook! and he's home very late nowadays so impossible for him to help with the cooking. plus he wd rather just buy outside food which i find so unhealthy.

anyway he refuse to do without a helper. he wd rather have a helper than to have tension over housework. he used to do the marketing but i took over that as well so that he can sleep longer on weekends.

my blog is restricted already so pm me if u wan me to add u okie?

tx all for the ideas ... I feel guilty of not telling earlier, but guess that's how business owners should be prepared for.

rachel, can share on what homeschooling materials u r intending to use? u intend to homeschool thru' kindy? I actually wanted to send to school at 5 yrs but if I don't start next yr, I wouldn't get a morning slot and I'm so looking forward to not cooking that early and packing lunch.

There's a few plays coming up in Sep; we are going to one, and I'm bringing them to the zoo. Nothing exceptional but it's just 5 days, so can't plan too much.

.ky.

I went to the oh's farm that CL mentioned before... it's a hydroponic farm and needs a mix pax of 40 (prev when I organized). And we've bought caterpillars from them before; species is Leopard Lacewing... very lovely place i thot

.ky.

The Oh's farm - I have been there twice with Aidan. we loved it and Aidan really enjoyed the process of bringing home his caterpillars and watching them morph into butterflies. I felt it was a wonderful learning experience. we also bought some herb plants like rosemary, thyme home to grow. Lovely place with nice people.

KY,
we just called up the farm and dropped by with our friends.