(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Mashy - Maybe it's just his personality...it will change over time...

Nw my headache is Mandarin. Not balanced. His English no prob...mandarin can pronounce, can recognise but cannot carry a conversation so the lao shi wants us to make an effort to speak to him so tat it becomes as natural as English.

sysac

same prob. but i think mine is worse. My boy can't speak in mandarin at all other than colours. He's obsessive with colours (in mandarin) now and can recog a lot of chinese chars for colours. He's totally not interested in other stuff. His Chinese sch teacher had to speak to him in English for him to understand!

Mashy, sysac
Aden has been speaking more Mandarin now since he joined Yuquan. Better make sure his english is well balanced too if not difficult to coach him

Sysac,
Same here....my E chinese teacher says all E can speak is 3 chinese words "沈老师" and the rest are blah blah blah.... all in english. She graded him with almost all 丁 (below average) & said we better start speaking to him in Mandarin! Haha! Told my hb that grades are not so important cos he is only in Nursery. At least the teachers says he is happy & polite in school.

Mashy,
Really ah....think its becos he is always the early few in class. Got nothing to do. Hope ur C doesn't get too irritated by his kaypoh gestures. So, this Fri is C's last day in school? Think E will miss him.

wenyl

yah, this fri last day. haha, at least i don't see C reacting strongly towards it, he just shifted his hands away. It happens even when majority of the children are there already...

C also got the ding for everything.

CL - I have to sart reading those books I bought thru u the last round...

Wenyl - Haha...mine is fang lao shi wu an, some colours & shapes in mandarin...he wld look blankly when conversing.

i did not attend the MTP but my mum attended on my behalf.
Suprisingly that the teacher gave very positive feedback on Damien. Can't wait to go home and see his "report book".

My MTP didn't go so well!

Apparently the Chinese teacher is having problem with Megan and she said she tried all method but Megan remain uncooperative. She said even Malay boy knows the colurs in Mandarin but Megan remain indifferent to her teaching! Likewise the English teacher comment that Megan cannot remember her sounds/ phonics.......

Stress....... all along, for the past 2 years, i only hear good reviews on ashley. Didn;t expect this about megan.... One consolation is that the teacher shared that Megan can speak very well hence she has the impression that she is older tahn her age hence maybe the high expectations.

I don't know why she can't remember her phonics and chinese but she can recite the 'Xiao Bai Tu' peom, recite Ashley's Han Yu Pin Yin Song.....

Any suggestion how to help her??!!

Mamachan,
Poor thing. So u going to take leave to stay at home with D? Hope he recover soon.

CL,
Aden looks so different now but still looks like u. hehe

Yuki,
How is the weather in Genting? I am going there next wkend. Hope not so cold cos I am bringing my J2 up as well.

Queen,
I brought both my gals to GP for Jabs. The doc at Pioneer Mall did the development assessment for J2. U can try asking ur GP. Oh.. and they have infant vaccination package which can deduct from CDA account. I am using it.

Sysac,
Wow.. I will be as happy as u if J1 got such good feedback. Just hoping that next mon she will enjoy her 1st day in CC. She seems to be dwelling over the previous CC incident till now.

May
ya he is the bak bak type like me while Charmaine is the bamboo like papa.

I was thinking now holiday got holiday class, should bring her to try places where she will enjoy and likes school again

sysac
the feedback is great. Nothing beats hearing how well the kids fare.

If you need more, just get from me.

Yuki
maybe want to engage her in berries class which is fun. Actually can check out Yuquan, I find the Chinese class quite good. Yuquan has their branches near your place. Because you realli can see the difference in Aden within 1 month. Aden can now switch between 2 languages quite fine but just that his pronunciation is not accurate.

mashy,
Earlier I asked E if he held C's hand today & why. He said that teacher always ask them to hold C's hand cos he likes to wander around during class. :D So, I guess its a natural thing for him to go up to C n try to hold his hand.

Chicken Little,
Aden looks so grown up now. He slimmed down quite a bit hor.
Agree that Berries is quite fun for the kids. I brought E for trial twice n I find their lessons quite engaging. Too bad....E strongly refused to go after the trial. He says his kindy has chinese lessons already. ***roll eyes***

May,
Actually I seriously think he just doesn't want to be put in a new class environment. His separation anxiety can be quite bad. He is just trying to find excuses not to go for any other enrichment lessons.

Wenyl,
J1's separation anxiety also quite bad. Now she knows she is going to a new sch soon. And she comes up with lots of excuses not to go sch. Even this morning I leave her and meimei at my mum house, she also cry. Looks like my nightmare going to start again. She will start crying.

How long does E took to get used to CC ah?

CL, i submit the online request thru the website and the person in charge called me back within 2hrs!! impresses!! but they might not be able to give the lesson at my area..

KY, noted! thks!! will check again..

Hi CL,

I intend to enrol Megan in Chinese enrichment only from next year onwards when i shift back to SK.

Her problem is she refuse to engage or remain indifference in class..... I test her at home and she will give me inrelevant answer. Like she knows i am testing her and she do it on purpose.......... So it is hard to guage if she is learning and absorbing or not.....

Hi May,

The weather in Genting is fine. Just a long sleeve T for the kids. As the theme park is both indoor and outdoor, we play outdoor in the morning and afternoon. Gets a bit chilling in the evening so we proceed to indoor which is like the shopping malls in Singapore.

But it was raining the day we came back. If raining, then outdoor park is out...........

CL

I find that Aden has changed so much since I last met him at your place for Christmas i think...

May
Be persistent. Let her know that she's a big gal now and has to go sch. Any kids she know well who also go sch? Will be good if it's someone she looks up to.

Wenyl
haha, he's a very good kor kor. I wish my boy is as guai as him.

Re: Berries
I'm also thinking of enrolling my boy in Berries. Any idea how often, how long and how much it is? There's trial class? Likely to start next yr when everything is more settled. Too many changes right now.

Yuki
Can tell that Megan is a very smart gal. Maybe that's why she's trying to challenge her teachers. Maybe she can't be bothered coz too easy for her? No response doesn't mean don't know. Instead of testing her, perhaps ask the teachers to give her more difficult tasks to complete to challenge her mind.

Hi Mashy,

I agree no response doesn't mean dun know. But it's hard to guage what she knows and what she don't know. Don't know use what method to 'draw' her out to show whether she knows or not...... The teacher says she tried the soft method and hard method....... but it does not work all the time..... Can be quite frustrating......

As for Berries, there is trial class. The fees are for per term and i think it's about $385 per term. Lesson 1 week once, 1hr and 45 mins. That's for K2 class. I dun know if there is a diff for nursery class.

Dunno if our referral works

If yes , I can refer you and they will give me at $20 referral fee to offset classes. I can pass back to you to enjoy the discount

hi mummies..wow so many of u are looking for houses. hee..is it becos our tots are gg to pri sch soon? btw, hb also went for meet the parent session for C. the teacher said his english is good...phonics wise and memorising actions, sound and alphabets are pretty well. but then his chinese..alamak! cannot make it. haha...later need to go lib and borrow some chinese story books and will make sure my hb reads to him. haha...

mamachan - poor D. but then better to get young then old. take care! so you cannot wait for your en bloc already har? hee..ur hse shld sell at a good price since its in a prime area.

yuki - yeah i mentioned about the smokers in genting. crazy...i am so not gg back :p

cl- haha my hb is from hwa chong..and yes, he did share some stories abt his school days where they are always looking fwd to campfire with NYPS. haha...

Thanks mummies for your expressed concern for D's chicken Pox outbreak. He's okay throughout the day, I engage him in activities at home to take his mind and hands away from the itch. But night time, he's more cranky in his sleep... think the itch getting to him. I even attempted to plaster his fingers individually which annoyed him later at night and wanted to remove the plasters. He was willing for me to plaster his fingers beforehand though.

SSF
haha, yah... I doubt there will be any en-bloc anytime soon... but we need the space and additional toilets!!! I was overwhelmed when I was told of my valuation price! It's equivalent to the valuation price of a 5-room flat in West Coast area. LOL!

mamachan

Hope D's well soon. He didn't get the chicken pox vaccine? So i suppose today's ad can 'pao tang' already, since like that how to let pp view the place?

Wow! Hope u can get a good profit from the sale of your flat.

My C loves plaster. In fact he's obsessed with it whether he has injury or not. He kept insisting on putting a plaster on his finger or toes. Sometimes even want us to cover the entire finger or toe with it. If we don't give him, he'll cry and cry.

Mashy
if ppl coming to view than I will ask my helper to just bring D down to the open area for a short while. Definitely avoid the playground. Just a short walk. Will ask my helper to clean the house with some dettol too.

Mashy,
I think E is a better gor gor in school. Haha! At home, it depends on his mood if he wants to be a nice to didi cos didi always disrupt his game or snatch his toys!
Berries do have trial which is only like $15 or $16 for the 1st time. So, its quite worth going to try out. Your nearest branch should be in Thomson. If I din remember wrongly, Rena's big E is attending lessons there.

Mamachan,
Sayang sayang, D! Hope he has a fast recovery.

mamachan - wow i cannot imagine how much your valuation is mann! haha...blessings indeed. eh u can try buying those cute winnih the pooh or mickey mouse plasters. he may be more than happy for you to paste.

oh oh...mummies..any feedback which frog farm is good? i last went to jurong frog farm and it was so isolated. no one to guide us too. is this the farm that everyone normally go?

actually C school organise one trip to frog farm but we didnt enrol him in time and by the time, its all filled up. so his teacher told us that when she told the class, we are gg frog farm and C was the first one to stand one and say YEAH! and when the teacher said , no C u are not gg. he was so devastated the teacher said. so to make up to him, we thot of bringing him there.

SSF
Yes..the Lord's blessings certainly do abound! Compared to what we paid for 5 years ago...already made profit le...think can cover reno costs for new home

Mashy
Despite this economic downturn, we taking that step of faith to ask for above valuation! I really like the location of my current home... but since we planning to grow the family, better get a bigger space. And I hope the potential new owners would like D's room with the snoopy mural on the wall. It's a gift of love from my girlfriends to my hb and I when I gave birth to D. Wish I could bring the wall along with me!!!!

mamachan

ai yah, your place is at a good location, so chances are u can ask for above valuation. U can check the average abv valuation stats on the HDB website.

mashy,
lost track of forum for awhile. the 19x flat is asking for $10k above valuation. We're still considering hard cos $500k, still gotta reno..hmm..you know $500k can get mansionette at serangoon north? Viewing more houses tomorrow or sat.

anyone got good english enrichment class to recommend?
during the PTM i had with my gal's teachers, they mentioned that her chinese was good and she could express herself very well in mandarin. but her english is really poor. other than this comment, the teachers praised her for good behaviour, able to concentrate well, can colour well, etc etc. All categories are rated as Good (they have 3 ratings, good, average and need improvement) except for one of the gross motor development i.e. hop with one leg. haha...

sunny,
I put my #1 in Zoophonics for almost 0.5yrs then switched to Kumon.
No point just to speak and very important to read also.

tracie

yes, you're paying for location. Somemore now the circle line is up mah. Serangoon north value doesn't go up very much coz it's very inconvenient and no MRT. Of course during the worse times in 2004-6, it's a lot cheaper. I think that time can get the 5-room flats at Blk 15x at just $350k.

If not, u can try Serangoon. They've a lot of big 5 room flats there but mainly 3 bedrooms only.

The place needs a lot of reno? If not, think if no negative pts, 10k is ok lah. I saw one post by owner for an executive flat in bishan asking for $750k! Siao! It's very beautifully renovated lah, but the price is crazy!

CL

aiyah, that's if you can get in lor. I doubt rosyth can affect the pricing that much. I just want near MRT but not noisy/crowded!!!! And no more old folks!!!! hehehe.

CL

I gotta be like u next week. Wake up early to make bento lunch for my boy to bring to the cc.
Not looking forward to it. Any quick and easy recipes to share?

Mashy
the cc dun have the food he likes ? it depends on what he likes to eat. I more japanese kind one. Onigiri , sandwich etc

Like in tao nan the price for those flat within 1 km is so high

mashy,
the 19x place definitely needs reno. so i'm going to see a 4-room unit, $460k, no need reno. this 4-room is 4A type, blk 2xx 1108sqft.

CL,
i not tinking of Rosyth also. Just like Ai Tong!

CL

He can't take chicken lor, so i've to prepare lunch for days when they are offering chicken. I'm also very japanese type. hehe. But he doesn't like sandwich...

tracie

oh, then quite old lah. Then maybe can get them to lower price somemore?

CL
last time i tried to call I can Read few times, no one picked up the calls... i will try to check that out..

Belinda
what do they teach at kumon? lots of worksheet/homework to do?

Sunny Belinda
I think at this age not suitable for kumon yet. I would think language should be fun type. Likewise for other mummies who are thinking of Chinese. So the choice of teacher is more important, a teacher from a good recommendation location but not engaging then it is useless

Tracie
I not saying you want Rosyth lah. Just saying that the price there will be slightly higher than your expectation because got rosyth lah

Mashy
see this for more idea ?
http://motheringcorner.com/category/bento/

sunny
Re:Kumon
http://www.kumon.com.sg/method/method_programmes.asp

Yes, they have their own set of worksheet for homework.
The Kumon english programme spans from levels 7A to L. These levels extend in difficulty directly proportionate to the alphabetical listings, with 7A being the easiest and L the most difficult. The learning target for language is the acquisition of comprehensive ability to read and understand long passages of written materials.

i see children as young as 3.5 already attend kumon. Compared to Zooponics, at least it works better for my #1.
My cousin sent her children for the classes have very strong foundation for Math and Chinese.
I intend to send Damien in term 3 or latest by end of this year.