(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Just to share, Aden's new look. Looks slim down and very big for his size.

2496051.jpg

CL,
Aden looks all grown up liao. So different from last time. I kinda miss their babyish looks.

mashy,
saw 4 houses last fri. 3 houses of 4-rooms and a 5-room. The 4-rooms ones cannot make it esp if you want more space. There's one unit 4-room valued at $420 and surroundings and condition aiyo! I wonder how come its $420 valuation!

The 5-room one...hmm..we quite like it. But its $500k, blk 19X. We felt comfy in the house and its very high floor. Has 4 bedrooms too.

Tracie

That's nice. If it's Blk 19x, i think the price is ok coz it's very near central and esp since high floor. I think my place low floor already $500k valuation, but doubt anyone will wanna buy my place at that kind of price.
So even with high valuation also no use.

Tracie
very impt to be comfy when you step into the house. My current house is the 30th house we viewed. And it is one that hb wants to buy immediately.

tracie
agree with CL, it's v important to be comfy when you step into the house. we visited 20+ houses and the one which we bought was one of the 1st few houses we visited. after we visited the house, no matter how many houses we visited after that, we still think of that house which gave us the most comfy feeling. :D

Mashy
ya i viewed that many. Till I want to give up man. I was so glad I finally found a house that my hb like so much and the agent was so sure it is what my hb wants.

I view from clementi to jurong east then to CCK ha ha. Almost want to go crazy.

Tonight I oso going to view some houses too. Without Charmaine. But with Aden. Then again ha ha maybe I should call my baby sitter now to tompang awhile

CL
wow!30+ houses?? My place will be officially placed on the classifieds this Thursday. So will see any buyers. Once we get buyer then we will start looking for new place. Targetting West Coast and Clementi as well

Mashy
If only my house successfully sold. I have potential buyer liao just waitng for their HLE approval. Meng Mu San qian ha ha just to try to move nearer to Charmaine's school as near as I can afford but not in bukit timah $1 mil I dun have

Mamachan
I really have no idea i only know I have clementi as backup.
I want bukit batok, but sir still does not know what he wants. I want to minimise bank loan so I am limiting his choice.

I am back from Genting.

Happen to read Mashy's experience with the "I" and i have the same experience in Genting! Totally unexpected!!! looks like they are travelling everywhere.

The gals enjoy the trip because they have their cousins..... but in terms of lodging, rides, food - they definitely very much prefer USA.....

The weather is cooling but the smokers ruined everything........

Yujki
great that the girls enjoy the trip. Sometimes no matter where you go company is the most important.

Mashy
my hb mah fan wants near MRT because we probably have to stay for a long time and have to think of transport when Charmaine goes secondary school.

Ya hillview and bukit timah is out because he cursed and sweared every day when we go home.

Today he looked at queenstown area ha ha because we change our return route via river valley.

any kids here learn swimming alrd?
my son's cc offer the swimming class @ $65 incl transport. 1 hr for the session and 4 times a mth.
thinking of engage private swimming coach.
anyone have good contact to share?

talk about primary school, hb and i will most prob send our son to neighbourhood school which near our house. don't want him to travel so far.. :p

Mashy
ya lor. Ha ha last time NYPS goes Hwa Chong for sports day. I hate the boys looking at us like never see girls before ha ha. Pardon me if anyone's hb from hwa chong ha ha.

Belinda
Your area about how much ?

Oily
My kids are with waterfun at NTU Alumni - 1 north near buona vista. I sign up for 1 term. 2 coach to 4 kids. With ikea discount i think 12 lesson $190 each child. I feel not bad. I no need to go down water with him. He will follow the coach instruction and always volunteer. For my girl who has great phobia of water, she has progressed as in she will have her whole body wet vs previously only lower half ha ha

Chicken Pox
My boy has kenna chicken pox! Noticed the blistery rash today. The most obvious one was his finger, one big blister... it's bothering him. Other than that, he's pretty alright.

RE. vaccinations & GP
Has anyone of you brought your babies to GP for vaccinations? Am thinking to bringing Matthew to GP for 6-in-1 jabs but have heard stories of how some GPs don't even know much about such vaccinations and will not do growth assessments like how the nurses do it in Polyclinics.
So not sure whether to go back to Polyclinic (ISaac has his done there) or go to GP. My HB wants to go GP to save the hassle of going to Polyclinics.

mamachan
hope your boy get well soon. does he have chicken pox vaccine before?

queen
my kids have 2 GPs, 1 is for vaccine & growth assessment and another one is for sickness. chosen 1 for vaccine as it's cheapest i can find among the GP clinics around my area. the other one for sickness is good and detail.

i never go to polyclinics for kids' growth assessment 'cos want to save the waiting time. i brought my gal to PD for growth assessment before, it's quite similar to what it's done by the GP.

how does the nurse do in polyclinics? The GP just follows what was stated in the booklet, asks qn, measure the height and take the weight. The GP whom my kids usually visited for sickness told us to save the $ for growth assessment. He mentioned that as long as the kids' growth is about what was stated in the checklist of the booklet, there's no need for growth assessment.

sunny,
the nurses at the Polyclinics are quite professional. You know those lists of questions on developmental milestones in the health booklet? We will fillnup before going to the Polyclinic. The nurses will see what we tick and then they will verify for themselves some of the key milestones. They'll bring out toys and other materials to test baby. Even test using picture cards and ask Isaac to name colours, shapes, animals etc.
Not just take height and weight leh...

queen
oh, that's pretty details. worth the money and waiting time.
i should bring my kids for growth assessment one day.

sunny,
yah... ok. I think I will go GP for jabs and go Poly specially for the developmental assessments. I hope it can be done this way.

CL, 2 to 4kids is quite good ratio! will send them the email then! btw, must go to NTU Alumni Club for lesson or we can get them to come our own place?

queen, my son did those comoulsory vaccinations at polyclinic also coz i find them more exp compare with gp. only optional did it at gp.

oily,
I agree... huge savings in cost, which is why my Isaac went Poly as well. HB and I feel that if baby is healthy, no need to go GP or PD just for jabs. I don't actually mind going to Polyclinic for Matthew except that now with H1N1 cases, I heard that Polys are taking precautions by making people take temperature etc. and thus can wait up to 2 hours or so to see doc and then take jabs, even though appointment is made. Necessary delays but my HB feels he rather avoid.

queen

my hb just went to the polyclinic today and he finished everything including waiting for meds in 2hrs. He said after temp taking, cannot leave the premises, else have to take again.

I also saw my PD's nurse starting to take temp b4 anyone enters the clinic.

queen,
i bring my #1 back to polyclinic during the SARs period.
Lucky not so many people there.
Last week i brought my son for flu jab at his PD, with appointment still got to wait almost 1hr.
I feel that polyclinic is even faster.

Hi mummies - Just back from PTM session. Very surprised & (pleased) with alot of E (Excellent) grades for C's development.

His form teacher gave positive & good fdbk while the Chinese teacher asked us to speak more in mandarin to him during the Jun hols as he shows a keen interest to learn but lacks mandarin proficiency.Looks like I have to take out the Chinese books I bot to start reading to him. She also recommended that we start conversing with him in Mandarin.

Oily

If u'r place has a pool, then it's condo? usually will have a list of coaches available that does your place. If it's the public pool, then there's an agency that can help too, but the quality not assured. I intend to send my 6-yr old to swim coach at my place in June and hopefully he can swim within these 2 months. The coach charges $60 for 4 times/mth and it seems the typical rate here. My son's been having much too fun in water. 1 mother I notice is coaching her 2 daughters on her own ... very motivating.

On poly vs GP route for vac/growth check, for #1, i went via poly. Paid for a package and everything is settled. And yes, the nurses are very lovely and professional. We also did eye-check when he's 4 (I think). With #2, decided to do PD n GP and realize it's quite cumbersome. Coz we didn't take package, we sourced individually and one GP when we stepped into his clinic, he had to verify the doses from the fridge.... huh, not very professional. PD was very good, the way he does the jabs are superb ... in n out before the kid even knows it. People do say that poly's has a high turnover of the med and so the doses are more "fresh". Given a choice, I'll go to poly, but not in the current situation.

Progress Reports ... schools tend to put good n abv to be encouraging to the kids.

.ky.

Hey Mashy - Thanks! It's good that yr C gets Es too & for academic stuff. For me, I am happy because I didn't expect it. It's not his academic results that I was focussing on. It was more of his personal development

Both teachers said what made him stand out was that he was friendly, polite & sociable. He wld greet all the teachers when he steps into school. Even the security guard at his bus pick-up/drop off point wld ask for him when he is absent from school.

wenyl

Your E very cute leh. I find that everytime C is ard, he'll move over and try to hold C's hand to lead the way for him leh.
Really like a big kor kor.