(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi May And CL,

Just to clarify, Nan Hua is not under SHHK.

But Nan Hua is a good school. In fact of the SAP school......... like wise for Nan Yang Primary....

Just hards bad comments about Nan CHiau...about the new principal not so good etc..... any idea how to probe furtehr or gather more info?

May/Yuki,
I ever consider to put my son in either Nan Hua or Pei Hua..but after some considersation that my son might not able to cope with the stress. Therefore we decided to him in a neighbourhood school (Keming) and we are glad that he is coping well. Most important is that his confidence level increased...and enjoying his school.

Yuki
Sorry I made a mistake. Should be Tao nan hor and Nan Chiau. Dun forget those who joins grassroots will come in before 2 C too.

Any open house ? Go check it out and maybe listen to how the principal present the school.

Hi CL,

Hee, heard from sources that the new pricipal is a scholar himself and he probably won't be in the school for long.

And he is seldom seen in school.......(some term it as MIA...)

And he is very result driven... so may be very stressful for the kids........

Btw, can share if Charmaine is doing multipicaltion now? SOmeone told me the kids should know multiplication by P1........ (Stress)

Hi Belinda,

Indeed Nan Hua or Pei Hua's standard is very high.....

talk about primary school. i have shortlisted 3 for my gal... 2 near my house and 1 is far ('cos my hb is the old boy)... nanhua, yew tee and de lasalle. will see how these few years yew tee primary school performs then decide whether to let my gal go there. else, most likely will be nan hua which mean she needs to travel really far to go to the school... and for de lasalle, like what CL was saying, need ballot... so, mayb will drop this choice and go for the other 2 options.

re : child harness.

tx to all those who replied. I may just improvise a simple one with a bag sling n a vest. told K yesterday abt tying him up n he cried n promised to be good. Intend to use it when we are in melbourne city but most of the time we are out in the wild which I think don't need.

btw, who's been to Melbourne.... can I check on Philip Island. Is it good enough to take the basic package or the penguin plus? must I declared all the food items bring in, eg. peanut butter?

May, if you kids love theme park, Genting is better than Sunway Lagoon. foc for your #2 for most rides.... a lot of family rides but since it's going to be start of school holidays, be prepared for a HUGE CROWD. someone mentioned can fly there n take coach up ...

Yuki ... go to the open house. a fren did PV for Nan Hua n didn't get in coz gotta ballot and she gotta balloted out. she's under 1-2 km... she got into #3 choice of RGPS ... I hear they are building new facilities for the school n so the donations would help :->

I'm the sort that do not like my kids to travel leh ... but I'm the sort that prefers them not to go to school too. Ha!

De Lasalle never have open house and so rather difficult to know what's the programme like inside... I wish I did PV for Yew Tee though, then can explore further. Now my heart is towards SV but those ard me are like Yew Tee getting good leh. hm... I'm still trying to figure what's so good abt Yew Tee; keep hearing that the new P is pushing for partial single session next yr and no exam/banding for P1. But that's not fantastically great leh.

.ky.

Sysac,
During all the PTM i attended for Meg, I let the teacher talk. I hardly ask questions cos I have no major concerns. Most of time I ask the question is meg bullying others in class???

May,
it looks like Nan hua is obvious choice for you but i would think of the following where will J1 go after school? Mum's place or after school care?

If mum's place then is mum's place close by? After school care, is it convenient for you to pick her after work? Distance from office to the centre..

Wenyl,
can sms /PM me the groomer's contact? Thanks!

Oily - The deal for my package is over. Berjaya Tioman offered for my company in Feb for travel from Mar-Jun. It's 4D3N for $385 per adult & $185 for child.

PTM - Thanks mummies for sharing. I will let the teachers talk next Wed then.

Any mummies here sending your kids to Childcare? Would like to check with mummies, does your child take his/her lunch provided by the sch? How long does your child takes to adapt the food? Really needs help and advice. Thanks alots.

Fion Lee
My son Aden is with Yuquan childcare.

Yes he does take the lunch. I was just told this morning that he will always refuse breakfast but when the teacher told him to eat he will eat it.

He had no problem with the food as he has been to 3 different childcare.

Hi CL,

Thanks for your advice. My son was in MMI Pre-sch since last yr Dec'08. Although the teacher feed him individually but he doesn't wants to eat their food, I'm so worried as it's almost coming to 6 months, he still can't adapt their food. But before he takes his nap, they do give him a bottle of milk to drink but I don't think that's enough..

Fion
ya now milk should be supplement and not replacement.

Mine hor 5 plus will give him milk again they scare he hungry.

Have you look at the menu, what is the diff of what you prepare for him ? Have you try preparing the same thing at home ? Maybe it is just the environment

First childcare, aden cried very badly when I send him off. Second childcare on and off he will cry too. This latest one he walk in on his own and will even greet the teachers

Hi CL,

Aden is so lucky, well taken care by the CC teachers and they are afraid Aden will goes hungry. My son same too, first time he goes to CC cried badly and I was sad too.. but the teacher there told me that I must learn how to let go.. after 1 month later, he's okay with it and touchwood, he never cry when he goes to sch..

Shame to say that, I seldom cooks at home. I only know how to cook chicken porridge go with broccoil, potatoes or carrots...

<font color="aa00aa">Mummies,
We had decided to go Genting. But forgot that I had bought the tickets to go got the The Little Big Club Live in Concert and my hb booked the rooms already. I am selling it.. interested mummy pls PM or SMS me:

Title : The Little Big Club Live in Concert
Date: 6 Jun 2009 (Sat)
Time: 11am
Ticket Price Category: $39
No. of Tickets : 4
Seat: C2 block (Green colour, it is along the walkway.. easy for kids to stand there and dance along)

I bought it at 15% discount with sistics charges, each ticket is $36.15. I am selling it at $30 per ticket. </font>

Back from Sentosa. Felt like i've been to india instead. So many indians there! And they're so rough, push pp ard etc. Argh.

Siloso Beach Hotel is ok, but the food sucks. Got breakfast &amp; lunch included, but they're so boring and there's plenty of flies &amp; mossies ard. well, at least we're kind of near nature since we saw so many squirrels &amp; a peacock while having our meals there.

Altho there's a nice waterfall/slide at the pool, my boy kind of chickened out. So end up we just floated ard in a tyre tube provided by the hotel. But ok lah, we still enjoyed the time in the pool and the beach just opposite. But coz the beach is next to a club, there's cigarette butts on every inch of the beach. Not exactly a great place for young kids.

I don't think I wanna go back Sentosa again until perhaps when the universal studios is there. It's so so sorching hot!!!!!

Now i just need another hols to recuperate from this hols. hahaa.

Sotong me.. just realised I mixed up the date of the concert. It should be on Sunday.

Title : The Little Big Club Live in Concert
Date: 7 Jun 2009 (Sun)
Time: 11am
Ticket Price Category: $39
No. of Tickets : 4
Seat: C2 block (Green colour, it is along the walkway.. easy for kids to stand there and dance along)

I bought it at 15% discount with sistics charges, each ticket is $36.15. I am selling it at $30 per ticket.

mashy - i went to siloso beach hotel last yr and you are so right. The food sucks big time! haha...but i do like the pool and the room was quite big. During my stay there, the hotel was not crowded so we are almost all by ourselves playing in the pool. My boys were also scared of the slide by the waterfall. However, me and hb took turns to give it a go and it was splashing fun. not really suitable for kids of our age. haha...i also do like the fact that it was steps away from the beach for sand castle building. actually i dun mind gg back again if its not crowded and mainly for the pool! hee..

may - i have not book my tixs but as sms i only need 3 since J's entry is free. do let me know. i think i the latest i will book is this wed.

KY
for customs going into australia, whatever food stuff you bring, it's best to declare what you're bringing. You can get most of the food stuff from their local supermarkets actually. So don't have to really bring in your own food other than milk powder (if you children drinks FM)

Hi mamachan &amp; Rena, tx for the advices. K's a bread-n-peanut butter person. And we intend to bring it and see if it can pass custom since we are not sure if we are in time to stop by the supermarket before it closes on day 1. No milk powder for us so that's one load off us coz we are running out of space due to the winter stuff.

May, no prob. Good u managed to get them sold. Can't make it on Sun anyway.

Mashy, can I find out what time u sleep? U said u wake up at 6.30am? I think I need to review my own sleeping time

.ky.

ky

why do u need to review your sleeping time?

Well, i sleep at 11pm and wake up at 6.45am. Today a bit tired though coz of the hot weather and I couldn't sleep well last night.

Mashy,

I see.. I am going to order a lot .. To keep stock later he MIA again

Cruise,

I tot of going on a cruise.. Does anyone know how much it cost

rena

maybe can see if there's any offers? You bringing your 2 kids? Better to book the bigger rooms else it'll be quite a squeeze. Last time i went on Star Cruise Virgo balcony class was $1k+. U can call star cruise directly or check www.airfares.com.sg to see if there's any offers.

SSF

dunno why my boy like so chicken leh. He can be so daring with certain stunts, but certain things he's just so scared. He's scared when we went to watch 'songs of the sea' and kept crying wanting to go home.

Re:Any mothercare discount coupon?
Hi Mummies..
Just wanna check.. anyone has mothercare discount coupon which u do not intend to use? and dun mind pass to me?
Pls let me know... I can pay for postage to mail.
Thanks a million!

cookie

i've 20% discount coupon but i'm going to use it to buy my gal's stuff. If u want, u can tompang my purchases. I think it's limited to bb's clothes &amp; packed bodysuits...

Alternatively, they're having a DBS promotion. U may wish to check it out. Some stuff are going for 30% off. Better than the coupon.

Hi Mashy
I want to buy a stroller from mothercare..
Can your coupon be use for stroller?
if can then I dun mind meet you when u gng to purchase.
and thanks for the link.. I go check it now.

ky,
the penguins are quite cute. but they only come out at night. and like rena said, it's quite cold there, esp now it's winter. btw going to aust need visa?

Btw Mashy
I saw someone WTS mothercare voucher at 10% discount. In case you have losa stuff to buy from mothercare.. not sure if this will help.

Oh yes.. I call mothercare marina, they have the item I want and have 15% discount! Thanks!
the power of Forum!!

<font color="aa00aa">OH and Hi HI to all mummies.. Long time no read, been busy with the kids. They took turn to fell sick for 4 consecutive weeks and even had a repeat circle, then I had throat infection last week myself when all of them are well finally... really hectic for me...
I will update again and also catch up your post soon...</font>

cookie

nothing much lah. Now that it's #2, really nothing much other than just some clothes, that's all.

Which stroller u getting? Twin stroller?

Hi Aileen
who are u flying with? Emirates? SQ? a fren just came back from there ... hear weather's good but think it's getting colder. yes, visa online, quite easy, my hubby did it. ya, the little penguins are coming out at 5.15pm.... we'll prob take the basic package, quite limited time since it gets dark pretty fast.

Mashy ... I can't be a super-woman like CL. I sleep late and wake up late .. now thinking of how to wake up earlier....

.ky.

ky

hahah. yah, we all can't be superwoman like CL. I've to wake up earlier from next week onwards coz i need to prepare lunch for C to bring to sch. Dunno how i'm going to manage...

One way i find i can pull thru the day with little sleep at night is if i take a quick 15mins snooze in the afternoon. When i'm trying to get my boy to sleep for his afternoon nap, I'll just fall asleep for a quick 15mins. After that i'm recharged already.

may - tats all right. no worries
enjoy ur trip to genting

aileen - i stayed at the following hotels when i was in brisbane. PM me if you need more details.

1. Sea World Resort - the pool is awesome. they have a number of pools to choose from and the resort is connected to the sea world park. there is a monorail from the resort that takes u straight to the park.

2. Talisman Apartment @ Broadbeach Boulevarde
Big area...and stone throw to the beach. u shld check out my blog for the pics. hee..

3. Hotel Rydges South Bank Brisbane
2 double beds in a room. very near southbank. there is a public pool area if your kids are keen and a weekend market nearby. ferris wheel is also nearby with lots of restuarants to choose from.

Aileen ,
I went years ago.. On Leo and Virgo ..but not good rooms cox yet was before married. How is the cruise like now? Do we pay for food? Btw how much did you spend?

rena

there's food included in certain restaurants, but u can also opt to eat at the restaurants that require u to pay.

Maybe u can also check out Carribean? Heard it's quite good but not sure if there's any ships docking in S'pore currently.

rena,
cruise is great in the sense that your holiday begins the moment u step onboard. unlike having to take a plane, transfer to hotel, then u can begin ur holiday. you also don't have to worry that they get lost! haha! and best of all, when the kiddos need to nap, we just bring them back to the room, so convenient. no need to travel all the way back to hotel etc... As for food, there are a few restaurants that are free and a few are paid. We didn't go to the paid ones coz the free ones are good enough.

On Virgo, our family of 4A 1C 1infant, we paid less than 2k for a stateroom with porthole. 4D3N to Penang and Phuket. The boys love the porthole. They will sit by the window and admire the sea.

I would love to go on a cruise again. but for now, we are going to goldcoast end of july. *Shivers* coz it's winter!

Wow KY, Mashy
Ha ha I not superwoman lah. Just happen to need less sleep only.

Belinda
I am controlling. Robinson sale near my office already make me spend liao