(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi KY,

Am sure Benedict is quite norm. haha

Maybe Ashley has my hubby's genes. Hubby was 183..... Ashley don't eat that much but drink alot of milk........ Think i should start cutting down her milk. Actually already cut down by 30%. Now she wants HL milk instead....#$%^&* Faint.

Initially i thot Megan is on the tall side too cos many comments from others but looking at the rest of the Jan kids, i think Megan is quite norm...

Hi ...

hubby's been having a rather painful middle right finger since early this year
... he can't bend it and it hurts pretty bad when pressed upon. He finally went
to a see a specialist at SGH this morning and doc advises him to go for day
surgery... open up and see what's wrong and attempt to release the finger. My
hubby's looking for a second opinion but not sure where to look. Can anyone
help?

.ky.

Ya KY
agree with Yuki that yours is normal. My hb oso 180 which explains why my kids are tall. So lucky Charmain got daddy's slim genes and aden got my fatty one ha ha so not so bad

Yuki
I agree milk monster put on more weight. Charmaine do not drink so much but Aden is milk monster

KY
This should be under orthopaedic right ? If yes then can try Dr Liang Te Shan of Island Orthopaedic at Gleneagles. For ortho, we usually refer to this dr

Milk & Growth
Hmmmm, I think my boy is tall and musular looking, he not only drinks his usual 3 milks feeds a day, he loves eggs! He can have his scrambled eggs or omelette almost everyday! Think it's all the protein and calcium bah, and of course the genes.

mamachan

my boy loves eggs too. But i don't give him everyday. He'll take eggs a few times a week too.

Re: Toilet training
So happy, he's done it again.
He just went to the potty and pooed by himself while i was busy cooking. Looks like really when he's ready, he's ready. No point forcing it on him.

belinda

wow, looks like a lot of egg lovers here.

My boy loves it no matter how we made it. Sunny side up, omelette, steamed etc.

But this is what i do to make him eat his vege. I mixed spinach into his omelette.
The best & simplest recipe that i learnt so far to make him eat his vege.

Children's Growth
Megan (100cm, 14kg)
Damien (100cm, just cross the mark 14kg, think going to drop soon, sick again)
YX (abt 100cm, 13.3kg)
Caeden (90cm, 12kg)
Ethan (100cm, 14.8kg)
Daren (104cm, 19.8 kg) - heavy bones and muscle mass.
Aden (105 cm, 19 kg)
Keith (89cm, ~13kg)
Jamie (102cm, 19kg)

Sibling above 4 years old
Ashley is 125cm and 33 kg............
Charmaine (6 turning 7) 130 cm and 22 kg
Benedict (6) 113cm and 20 kg

May
both my kids not egg lover too. I need to do chawanmushi, the japanese style tamagoyaki then cut into shapes then they entertain me.

For hard boil egg, they like health conscious, refuse egg yolk!!!

Mashy
haha, I was concerned if it's ok to give them eggs everyday. Asked my family doctor/PD, they say it's ok to have 1 egg everyday at their age now.

He loves the scrambled eggs from Macdonald's! Whenever we're out having breakfast, he would request for his eggs... so we would get the special order of eggs from Mac's for $2 (2 eggs goes into the scrambled egg)

Re:Cervial Cancer Vaccine
Any mummies here took the 'Gardasil' jab? I just took the first of three doses yesterday. Geez..feel not so good now. Slight fever 37.7deg last night, throat hurts, generally feel weaker.

I know its supposedly meant for those age below 20+ and I'm way past that, but gynae strongly encouraged it cos it will provide at least some protection for me. I'm under high-risk lah.

So if any mummies planning to take, my advise is make sure you are in healthy condition, and do rest after taking the jab. Hmmm...similar guidelines to when we bring our kids for their jabs.

Tracie,
Need to take 3 doses?? How much does each dose cost?
I going for my annual pap smear test next month..thinking to take this vaccination as well.

missing from this thread for a very long time...

My boy also loves his eggs and milk very much. He loves half boiled and steamed egg.

Belinda,
Ya, 3 doses. 2nd dose 2mths after 1st one, last dose 6mths after 1st dose. My gynae charged me $187 per dose.

Just went for my pap smear yesterday too, including HPV test and scan. Got one polyp, just need to monitor first review in 6mths, if need be, do a D+C. Sigh...ysterday donated $500 to gynae.

Tracie,
sorry what is D+C..during my last visit also shown that i got polyp around one of the overies. Gynae said no issue if i dun intend to have another child.
wow very ex for the dose hor...
think due my family history, i think i will take the dose..at the same time bring damien back for flu jab (2nd dose).

D+C is washing of the womb, ie like eh, i tink wat they do to clean out unwanted or invalid pregnancies.

heard price already reduced liao..cannot imagine wat it was initially!

Cl,
My milk monster Elijah dun put on much weight. Still 14kg.. If he is at home will drink about 10 bottles of 8oz of milk.. When he us home for two weeks the milk powder finishes fast.

Rena
wow....Elijah drinks so much milk? Does he have room to eat his regular meals? Maybe should encourage him to eat more solid meals and lesser milk?

Tracie
Ouch! That's a lot of money but I guess if it protects your life it's really worth it. I did think of going for the jab but now planning for #2, my family doctor advised me to wait bah. I think research has shown that it is useful for women that's above 26 or 28...or it's ok to still take the jab.

My late granny had HPV related cervical cancer...

rena

wow, that's a milk monster. So much milk!

mamachan

then just be more diligent with your pap smear tests. They said that's good enough if u do it annually.

ky - recently my dad went for an op in sgh. his case was the opposite. his fourth finger cannot be open.it was sort of "harden" and always bend. he went for a day surgery to remove some tissue or tendon(not sure) and now his finger can be open but still need to go thru physio to exercise the finger. his feedback was "still not good as before" as he still have problem opening a bottle screw cap btu at least its open. ur hb is younger so maybe recovery would be faster?

SY - ya the kid have to be healthy before doing any op esp since he has to go thru GA, he cannot be coughing or wheezing. mine is postopned to be on 15th May but he is still coughing..so see how. may need to postpone again

mamachan,
yupz, just annual pap smear will do the job of detecting CIN cases. I had CIN II which means I had the HPV and I had to do a colposcopy to confirm and then a leep (laser) to remove the bad cells. That was just 4 months before I got preggy with meg.

Gynae keeps reminding me that I am very lucky and a success case cos most people after leep have difficulty conceiving. I told her, ya, God will not let me off so easily. He probably wants me to experience how it is to give birth and raise kids (i dun like kids) cos I had to go through emergency C-sect and then natural without epi! :S

Tracie
hahaha cannot tell that you don't like kids lor!!! Wow... and to think you have 2 somemore! LOL! It's so sad that HPV affects us women rather than men? They are carriers by the way. Oh well, I'll go get the vaccination after our plan for #2... now TTC... I just saw my gynae at KKH to do my pap smear and he gave me ovulation pills to reset my clock as my menses timing had all been screwed up due to work stress... so hopefully I might have good news within the next couple months bah... so i guess will be 2010 baby for me.

jh went for his op yesterday. glad that it's over. really tough watching him in pain when they inserted the plastic sheath. he hasn't felt the pain from the wound yet but he is moving a lot now. just that he cannot walk without us watching cos of the medication.

thanks for the well wishes

hi mommies

a quick hello from California!
I've just settled in and finished 1 week of work. Its really nice here but things are really different.

Its kind of cold here so the kids have a bit of runny nose.

Haven't had time to do much surfing on the internet cos so busy.. no maid.. really tough, have to do own washing, cooking, and cleaning plus work and take care of kids.

SY,
What happened to JH.. hope he gets well soon.

SY

glad the op is over. Hope JH will recover quickly. Take care!

Mamachan
All the best on your ttc!
Hope to hear good news from u soon!

Tabbs
Long time haven't heard from u. Are u there alone with your kids? Thot your mom joining u?

It's pretty hot over in Singapore now. And my boy is also having runny nose. Hahha. I guess hot or cold they still get the runny nose. We can never run from it right? :p

saw something rather sad today.

Saw the aftermath of a car accident. The car just hit a cyclist. The cyclist was on the road, eyes closed and head bleeding. The driver was trying to 'wake' him up. Think gone case liao.

Re: Toilet training
Ask u gals. What next? Have u taught your kids to wipe their butts after poo poo? Now coz he does it at home, so we'll wash his butt after that. scared he won't wipe it clean if he does it himself. So proud to say that he's been pooing by himself ever since he started doing it.

mashy
So far my boy initiates to go to the toilet bowl to poo, but I think at this stage, still need to help them clean up. If not their butt crack will stink big time!!! But a huge congrats on C bein poo-trained now

SY
Hope JH gets well soon.

Mashy
Dun be too anxious over wiping poo poo yet. J still need us to wash/wipe for her after poo. As for pee, she will take a few pcs of tissue paper with her if she want to pee and she will go to toilet herself. Only poo, she will tell us.. "I go poo poo, I will call you when it is done okie?"

Good to hear that C is making a step forward.. jia you.. when it is time they will do it =)

Tabby,
Glad to hear that u had settled down with the kids there. Do pop by when u are free okie? After having two kids, then I realised it is not easy and really peifu those mummies that can handle 3 kids.

Mashy,
damien want us to wash his poo poo and he make sure we washed our hands with soap after washing him othewise he will not hold our hands....fanit.

belinda

like that good what. At least he knows poo poo is dirty. My boy's first instinct is to use his hands to wipe his butt after he poos! I also faint.

Mamachan,
He still eats alot too.. But never seem to put on weight..

Tabby,
Welcome back to the forum. Ya life is tough without maid and you can't ask your mom to help as well .. So who is cooking everyday? Do take care.. Weather here is not good and many fall sick

mummies ... need advice on Melbourne. Anyone knows where is good to stay at Philip Island, Apollo Bay, Lorne and Princeon area? There's a good offer on Emirates that we've grabbed and now looking for accommodations...

also looking to borrow winter stuff for kids as I've absolutely no space to store if I buy.

tx.

.ky.

tabbs
take care! not easy taking care of 2 kids by yourself...JH had a hydrocoele so needed to remove it. he's ok now. just need to make sure no running or jumping!

mashy
i stil wipe for JH. dun wan him to dirty his hands or lose his balance while wiping. think it will take a while before i let him wipe himself.

My boy's PD had given the all clear for my boy to snack! Coz he's so skinny and small so he said, just let him eat all the time.

Looks like i've to start baking more cakes and stuff for him. I've already started a snack corner for him.

What are healthy snacks?

ky
I've some long sleeves & thin knitted sweaters if u want. But not sure if keith can wear though coz my boy is so small. What's melbourne's temp when u visit?

My boy has been vomitting his food out for the last 2 days. No diarrhoea though. Probably gastric flu. Does it mean to treat it like the diarrhoea case? As in feed only plain porridge, or rice water, and rest the tummy?

That poor boy has been so lethargic and lying down all the time.

mashy,
To me, healthy snacks are like honeystars, coco crunch? I am not very sure though cos Jamie had been eating all sorts of food.
Since C is having gastric flu, dun start him with milk products first.

mashy
if need be, give C some glucose water for energy...and plain porridge bah for this gastric flu episode... with regards to healthy snacks, it would be cereals like Cheerios... but if that's too costly, then Honey Stars and Cocoa Crunch, especially if he likes them... but they have alot more sugar content so IMHO, it's not exactly healthy, BUT so long it works for you to supplement his diet, go ahead. Since C loves eggs, it's ok to give him eggs everyday. Perhaps just once a day? I know my boy loves his eggs and would always ask for egg for dinner. Perhaps intake of eggs everyday might help him coz it's a good source of protein and Vit B12 (I know it's Vit B something)... great for building muscle mass, especially when they are so active!

My MIL shared that when my hb was younger, she would occasionally feed him bread dipped with soft-boiled eggs... or perhaps you can prepare french toast for him? That is if he likes bread lah.

hello all mummies
Long time no "see", March was my yr end and was so so busy in APril.. finally settle down and it's month end again...phew.

I wish I have time to read more... sometimes just cannot catch up.
When reach home in the evening, all the way taking care of the kids, not that I'm complaining, I'm happy to see and play with them.

I have also faced much stress with MIL, after a hard day work, when I return home still must deal with helper issue and see MIL face colour. I felt so so tired.
Hb has been encouraging, he's been thinking I can be SAHM but we must do the maths and make adjustment. Well at least not so soon... still need to work out.
On one hand.. I'm excited that I can be the one taking care of them and the way I want it to be but I'm apprehensive on the finance part and I'm scare too abt losing touch to the outside world, too being a house wife. I guess it's too early to worry abt this yet..been praying alot to seek for direction.
I'm just getting too tired of handling the current home affairs.

Children's Growth
Megan (100cm, 14kg)
YX (abt 100cm, 13.3kg)
Caeden (90cm, 12kg)
Ethan (100cm, 14.8kg)
Aden (105 cm, 19 kg)
Keith (89cm, ~13kg)
K1 (95cm, 13.9kg)

Tabby
HiHi... from spore here..
Hope you will settle down very soon...
I can imagine how busy u can be must be really tough...
Oh the swinge flu thingy.. please take good care.

Mashy
Hope C recovers soon.

Tabby
nice to hear from you again. Hope you are coping fine with the swine flu.

KY
still going ahead with the trip ? If yes I should have jackets for both your kids. But need to wait for me to get back from a mummy who borrowed from me

Harlow everyone!!

been quite awhile last posted here, also trying to catch up with the postings too. hope everyone is good and take good care of your health ya, nowadays the weather so bad.

SY
glad to hear that JH is recoving well.

tabbs
you alone with no helper? thats very tiring for you. hope to hear more from you and take good care, since the swine flu over at your side sound quite bad (base on the news)

cookie
good to know your hb is supportive of you being the main caregiver! am sure things can work out well when both of you put your heads together =)don't worry about losing touch with the world, there are many ways to stay sane! kekeke

your mil is very hard to please hor, you hang in there ya. jia you

Children's Growth
Megan (100cm, 14kg)
YX (abt 100cm, 13.3kg)
Caeden (90cm, 12kg)
Ethan (100cm, 14.8kg)
Aden (105 cm, 19 kg)
Keith (89cm, ~13kg)
K1 (95cm, 13.9kg)
Dylan (103cm, 18kg)

hi mummies...i am heading to genting with hb this long weekend. yeah a quick getaway without the kids. phew! finally...some time together.

sy - great to hear that JH is doing fine after the op. well now u can rest ur mind ...while i wait for J's turn. now with the swine flu thingy starting....maybe i will have to postpone the op again.

tabs- hello...greeting from sgp! good that you have almost settled down. yeah i thot ur mum or someone went along with you? u are really "liao bu qi", all alone there with 2 kids! *salute* do continue to update us abt your well being. oh and how is the swine flu over in California? do take care!

ky - i have sweaters for cold weather. in fact i have quite a number of them. i can pass to you if you are keen. they are all from my cousins whose kids have already outgrown. let me know.

wenyl - are u signing E for the zoophonics holiday prog during Jun hol? i am sending C for the Jun 11.45am session. this time the hol prog is from 1 jun to 19 jun.

mashy - remember to hydrate him constantly and avoid oily food. can try giving those colourful pop stick(pedialyte) from pharmacy. i think porridge (something light) is a better meal to serve him. take care!

Tabbiesus,
Nice to hear from you. Do take care & come in to chat with us if u need a break. Till now, I am still thinking about your playhouse. Have u sold it? Heehee.

SSF,
Shiok shiok! We just got back from Phuket with the kids last night & the thought of a getaway (from our kids!) is always on our minds! Hahaha!
I am still thinking what to do with him during his sch hols. Maybe I can sign him up again for the hol prog cos till now, he still remembers his "zoo" class. Kekeke!

Mashy,
Sayang sayang C! Take care!