(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SSF

Try wearing socks for him at night? When my boy coughs, we'll start to bundle him up, wear socks for him at night and double layer. I think it's the temp change at night that's aggravating the cough...

SSF,
damien get cough easily due to his sinus...and it also caused him to have throat infection (fever) easily.
there is no way for prevent it.
maybe you need to find out what triggered him to cough so badly....eg air-con, food.

SSF,

I just registered as member with motherhood and came across the discussion you had with other users. Like to share my experience with you concerning your son's coughing problem. My youngest son, aydan was having cough for the past one month. we took him to PD and eventually to chinese physician, YU Guo at Jalan masjid kingston terrace. We found effective so like to share the info with you.

wenyl

think should be going chen su lan unless i can find somewhere better. Today the PLMC Principal came to me and asked to transfer C to Pre N again coz he's not toilet trained. I take it as a sign that God is giving me his blessing for him to leave the school. No point being 'demoted' just coz the school can't cope. Anyway Chen Su Lan side are willing to help me with the toilet training part.

Re: Facial wash for children
is there any in the market?
Duncan was using my hb's facial wash..not sure if it is good for him at this age (P1).

Belinda
he's too young for facial wash at this age eh...wait when he hits puberty! just makes sure he washes his face with towel and water. at this age...more of applying sunblock on the face since he'll be under the sun for P.E, outdoor play.

Mashy - CSL's environment is spacious! I taught there for 2 years many yrs ago

Queen - Yes, Mathew looks like Isaac. Nice room too

SY - Here's wishing JH a speedy recovery after the ops.

Mamapanda - That must have been a worrying time, esp with the fever so high! Glad that she's fine now. Do tak care!

queen
wow.. what a nice room! you have another handsome boy!

SY
my friend's son had similar case like JH and had a procedure done when he's abt 18 mth. the whole process was fast and the boy didn't feel much thing about the procedure. After the GA, he's perfectly fine. just the fasting part was kind of tough for him. not to worry too much. all the best.

mamapanda
glad that your gal is fine now. it's really a tough time you had gone through.

krissie
Thanks for highlighting! looks like NJ not that natural afterall ya..
I also ordered the Burst bee baby shampoo and wash but also pretty expensive to use long term..hmm..

Mashy - I was keen in childhood education and so went to CSL CC to teach for 2 years. Everything was fine except for the management. The Home & CC were run by 2 sisters and so it was like a communist ruled place. There was no democracy back then. After they were told to leave, a former teacher went back to run the CC and I was offered to return but I declined as I was already on my current job. Some former teachers returned to work & I heard it's much better now.

Show & Tell - Today, C has to bring a fruit to school to show & tell his classmates all about the fruit.

He decided to bring an apple. I asked him what he was going to tell his classmates. His reply: "An apple a day keeps the doctor away. A-P-P-L-E, apple apple all the way!"

Krissie and all who are interested...

Another alternative to try could be this brand :
Avalon Active Organics - Lavender Bath and Shower Gel - 12 Oz.
http://www.luckyvitamin.com/item/itemKey/59690

I'm no chemist..hee.. so the ingredient part not sure if it's totally Chemical free but at least it's SLS and Sulfate free and no Sodium Benzoate and no parabins.

Check it out..if there are other ingredient we should be careful, please share too!

Hi Krissie and all mummies who knows...
since we are on the topic of organics...with regards to Sodium Benzoate, I did a bit of fast read up, it's an substance that can form naturally in fruits as well as chemically made.
see this link:
http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-sodium-benzoate.htm

Can you share how on it's own its harmful? tho from the article it's can be very harmful if combine with Vit C.
I tried searching for other brands online.. and with so many chemical around it's kinda hard to know which is truely organics or chemical free.
I wonder if we can even find anything likt that.

I come across this brand Nature's Baby and they too have Sodium Benzoate (natural preservative), Potassium sorbate (natural preservative) but indicated as natural preservative. I just wonder if it's natural form does it means it's not harmful anymore?
I'm not able to find cause of harm on Sodium Benzoate as of now...hee no time in office.
I hope you can share...

Wenyl,
No... I got the stickers from an Aussie website. Not that cheap. Some more my HB sweated out 1 day to repaint his room from cream to blue. Isaac was excited for total of 1 day.

Sigh.

Mamapanda,
Sorry to hear about Ariene. I can understand how you feel... Is she better already? Thought you had bad experience with KK before... How come you didn't go Mt A or TMC instead?

Re. Natural products
Wow, I didn't know that there are so many kinds of chemicals that may be harmful...
So what brand is good now? I always thought CB is one of the best already... seems like it's not so?

hi mummies - thks for the advice for my J's cough. Last fri, when i went hm, he was down with fever up to 39.7deg. so scared i rushed him to KKH. I also commented on his persistent cough. Doc did an xray for him and found that he has some infection which explains the persistent coughing. gave him some anti botics and he seems better today. thankfully, i brought him to kkh as my PD did not subscribe him any anti botics but only gave a stronger cough medicine which is not useful at all.

sysac - hee...ur boy so cute! kids really learnt very fast these day. just yesterday, C recite a chinese poem to me...oh my! firstly, i never heard of that poem before...dun know what zhi ang. secondly, with the hanyu pingyin, i have problem reading. hahaa....so i was shocked when he recite it although it sounded quite funny like english.

sysac
indeed your C is so clever. Aden only narrate every single words in Disney Cars including the car zooming sound.

His favourite punchlines between Mater and Mcqueen : "she is my fiance" "What" " she just like me for my firm up body"

Ha ha

CL

hahah, Aden is so funny.

My boy is still at pooh bear stage. He still likes pooh bear more than anything. Loves pooh bear videos, story books and even took the pooh bear meant for his mei mei.

cookie,
yes yes..toxicology studies done..eg. oral, inhalation, Eye irritation, Dermal sensitization and could be even more since this is used directly on human.

Mashy - Am sure he will adapt...shd have changed from the time I was there. Do they still have the aviary , pond & duck coop?

CL - Aden is funny too...think they are all at this funny stage...imitate well!

sysac

Still better than his current kindy.

don't remember seeing the aviary & duck coop. only saw the pond. Was the place renovated or rebuilt? Coz i remember long time ago when i visited that place, it looks more like a kampong and now it's so modern looking.

Mashy - Don't know abt renovation but there was an aviary near the entrance to the CC...duck coop sup to be next to the pond right in front of the canteen.

Shd have had changes since I left.

wenyl

so good. my boy hardly grows. He's not even putting on much weight. Just grew 1-2cm only.
How to make him eat? He's so fussy with food and will rather starve than eat.

Wow, so much info on organics products.

What about make up? Those minerals make up - are they the same as 'organic'?

Mashy,
Dun envy. My E is also a super fussy eater. He seldoms complain of hunger. We ever joked that he needs his toys more then food. He just grow upwards mostly. So u see his uniforms getting shorter. He can wear didi diapers.

wenyl

Same leh but how come my boy doesn't grow much? He also doesn't complain abt hunger. When it's time to eat, he still can 'fast'.

my boy doesn't even grow upwards much.
I think he's malnutrioned. He's still wearing L size diapers now! gosh!

Maybe we can tabulate our children's grown to gauge? I will start the ball rolling.

Megan (100cm, 14kg)

Maybe we can tabulate our children's grown to gauge? I will start the ball rolling.

Megan (100cm, 14kg)
Damien (100cm, just cross the mark 14kg, think going to drop soon, sick again)

wenyl, mashy
my gal eats a lot. but just can't gain much weight...

Megan (100cm, 14kg)
YX (abt 100cm, 13.3kg)

Think C is the skinniest and shortest here.

Megan (100cm, 14kg)
YX (abt 100cm, 13.3kg)
Caeden (90cm, 12kg)

Hi Chicken Little,

How about Charmaine? Ashley has been mistaken for a primary 2 kid......

Ashley is 125cm and 33 kg............

sherene
JH was like this sometimes last year. cough for a month and almost vomit every night. in the end he took singulair and recovered from it. but he's very prone to cough cos of sensitive nose and sensitive airway so now on seretide

he having runny nose so i m very scared his op needs to be postponed

sysac

mamapanda
ariene's ordeal sounds terrible. i also hate it when pple are not 'auto' and still wan to carry my kids when they are sick. my il are like that one. hint already also no use.

u can check out this website

www.cosmeticsdatabase.com

they will give a hazard rating on the products. type in the products u looking at. one of the proudcts that seems hazard free is petroleum jelly.

re height and weight
i have no idea on JH's height. only weight. abt 13.8kg

my gal is the big one. she's 74cm and 8.85kg....

My E is skinny but heavy bone.

Megan (100cm, 14kg)
YX (abt 100cm, 13.3kg)
Caeden (90cm, 12kg)
Ethan (100cm, 14.8kg)

Been a little lost in the posts!

Mamapanda
Oh my! So sorry to hear about Arienne's ordeal...hope she's much better already.

Mashy
All the best in searching for C's school!

SY
Hope JH will have a smooth Op!

Children's Growth
Megan (100cm, 14kg)
YX (abt 100cm, 13.3kg)
Caeden (90cm, 12kg)
Ethan (100cm, 14.8kg)
Daren (104cm, 19.8 kg) - heavy bones and muscle mass.

yippee! My boy went to poo by himself yesterday! He just quietly went to his potty, pulled down his underwear and had his first poo on his potty.
hope there'll be more to come!

Mashy
Oh that's very good! Happy for you!
I think most of our toddlers by this age will really be off diapers
Mine is now going to school in underwear... he still needs the diapers for his nap and at night when he goes to bed.

mamachan

He'll be going in underwear to CSL from june. His current kindy not very helpful in that aspect so hopefully when he goes over to CSL, we can have him totally off diapers.

my boy insisted on wearing his underwear to sleep for his nap too. So i let him wear his underwear with the training pants bought from Jshoppers last time. Sometimes have accidents, but most times ok. At night he still has to wear diapers coz a lot of pee at night.

Ok i give a rough gauge not accurate because Aden cannot stand still on weighing machine

Children's Growth
Megan (100cm, 14kg)
YX (abt 100cm, 13.3kg)
Caeden (90cm, 12kg)
Ethan (100cm, 14.8kg)
Aden (105 cm, 19 kg)

Sibling above 4 years old
Charmaine (6 turning 7) 130 cm and 22 kg

Oops Charmaine is so much lighter than Ashley. But Dr says she not underweight just 50% percentile

Mashy
Hearing about you share about your kindy experience makes me really thankful for D's teachers at his CC. He had some accidents after his good toilet-training performance on the 1st day... but after a while, I think he felt ashamed of doing so coz his classmates teased him a little... so now he's toilet-trained at school and at home. His nap time is possible for him to go without diapers... if we make him pee before napping and then when he wakes up... but we have yet to get those waterproofed bedsheets so we rather let him wear diapers to sleep. Same here, he still wakes up with a heavy diaper in the morning...partly because he has a bad habit of sipping water when he's falling asleep...all thanks to my DH lah... sigh... so that one is a problem

mamachan

well, i guess his current kindy is good only if the kids themselves are already more advance like wenyl's E. For C who is a little slower in terms of physical and emotional development, then he's at the losing end coz they just don't have the manpower nor the patience to teach him. And i suppose the CC's teachers are more or less used to having to help toilet train the kids, so they're more open to it. Whereas for the kindy teachers, their idea is that they're teachers, not care givers, so they are only there to teach acaedemics & nothing else.

I got waterproof sheets from Ikea long time ago to protect his cot sheets. So i just continue to use it for this toilet training period. My boy also has the habit of sipping water before he sleeps. In fact, he has a water bottle by his side when he sleeps so that if he wakes up at night, it's there. And very often, he can wake up many times to drink the water.

Hi CL,

Hee, my Ashley is over weight. IN terms of both height and weight, she overshot the 100 percentile........... That's why she has been mistaken for primary school kid.........

Children's Growth
Megan (100cm, 14kg)
YX (abt 100cm, 13.3kg)
Caeden (90cm, 12kg)
Ethan (100cm, 14.8kg)
Aden (105 cm, 19 kg)
Keith (89cm, ~13kg)

Sibling above 4 years old
Charmaine (6 turning 7) 130 cm and 22 kg
Benedict (6) 113cm and 20 kg

I know mine's the smallest.... but thot my older is ok in terms of height coz the 6-yr-olds I know all around this height... they eat 3 big meals, but no milk (maybe that's why)... both of them pretty agile in gym, huh, so that's not helping them hor? oh well, it's in the genes coz hubby quite *ahem* not-that-tall.

.ky.