(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Congrats queen! Welcome Matthew!

Your birth story also reminded me of mine. The water gushing out part is such a mess isn't it?Hehe, you very patient to wait for registration. The water was trickling nonstop down so I went straight to the counter and told them I gotta go now. :p

SY, it was discovered during his routine development assessment. normally it will back to normal when the kid reach 1 yr old but my son didn't. the surgery took less than an hr, i was with him when the GA took place.. he cried, i also cried. :p

CONgrats Queen!!

your birth story is so exciting! makes me think of mine, seem just like yesterday =) you are so brave, so much courage to say no to epi. for me is too late to take epi liao keke

Hello Matthew!!

hi mummies...have been quite busy with work lately but manage to go through the thread at times when i need a break. coming here has always been a theraphy for me. haha..

SL - welcome back! where in aussie did you go? u must be enjoying the aussie currency. hee..

queen - congratulations and welcome Matthew. That's one name I always like!

SY - when is the op and where? So far i havent been noticing my boys' testicles. didn;t know there is such a thing. J's op for his face is scheduled to be next fri. i am still having second thoughts abt the op. moreover he is still coughing which makes GA risky. not sure if i shld go for the op or wait for the cyst wall to die. haiz...

re: leaking taps
has anyone called a plumber to check on this before? how much is the fees and do we need to standby a new tap for the change? pls let me know if you have any contacts. cannot imagine how fast these problems start to surface. barely 2 yrs of my stay and i have leaking taps in my kitchen and toilets.

Queen, WOW, what a story to tell Matthew how he arrive into this world. That's why mothers are SO GREAT! And hearing such an exciting story makes me want to go thru' it myself. Ha, that's a joke! btw, I caved in to Epidural the 2nd time so you are really brave! I know a handsome boy named Kai-Jie and like the word "Jie" but a nephew already took that word ... rest well coz you'll be losing sleep back home...

SY, I do occasionally read about this issue and op... they always say it's better to do the op as young as possible as compared to older. I can but yet can't imagine the pain of going thru' this. K had a kidney problem since birth and we just recently closed this entire matter including getting insurance to recognize this closure. But for the first few months, we were told to go for procedure that was more of a pain for us than him. It's just procedure not even surgery ... *hugs*

plumbing issue ... don't know leh, my hubby does the work. on time, he spend 3-4 hrs trying to fix it and realize it's eroded and once he got the new piece in place, it doesn't leak immediately. Our problem is always at the bottom of the sink, where the U-shape pipe is.

.ky.

ky - wow ur hb is something. mine is very bad with his hands. i remembered he once drill the walls to hang a painting and he actually made 8 holes in the wall when it only requires 2! haha..

re: genting
i am planning to book a room suitable for family. i need 2 queen size beds at least. any recommendation for which hotel to book? is it true that most hotels does not have swimming facility? TIA!

Hi SSF

Re : Genting
How many people going? Not First World, they don't have that big beds in room. Think can try the other hotel, like Resort? There's no swimming facility but outdoor theme park has a water park, considerably small. We just went in Mar school hol and got 2 super-single bed for 4 of us. We are usually quite fussy abt bedsize and so we worried abt the bedsize but ended up ok.... huh, we waited 3.5 hrs to get our room, so my advise is don't go during school hols!

.ky.

SSF

U might wanna standby extra taps esp since u're engaging a plumber. I had leaky taps just a few mths after i moved in. SO end up have to change the taps. My dad does all the handy work at home. My hb is hopeless with that too.

Anyone using Gaia on their todds? Any feedback on their Body Wash, shampoo & moisterising lotion?
I m thinking of changing brand cos for E&B has sensitive skin, prone to heat rash & ezcema. Have tried CB, Isoderm & currently revert back to Lactycid but it finishes so fast cos its so watery.

SSF
my hb's uncle is a plumber. he did our water tapes and pipe when we renovated our house. will pm you his contact.

sunny - got the contact..will pass along to my hb. thanks!
wenyl - i tried those sample packets for GAIA but not really a user to comment. however, i find their items quite ex. i remembered seeing in aussie a bottle of body soap costs abt 10 bucks plus and when i chance upon it in singapore, it seems more ex. is it true tat in aussie its cheaper? anyway i have been using QV- Ego brand. It's for sensitive skin and can be found in pharmacy or hospitals's pharmacy.

A 1 litre bottle cost abt $25. i always told hb that our kids body soap is so ex...more ex than us! haha.. i agree with you that Lactdycd is very ex and yes, watery. i switched from that brand to Ceptophil and to QV. Ceptophil is not bad either.

ky - it will be 2kids and 3 adults. i saw that resort hotel superior room has 2 beds and a sofa bed. abt 120 per night. i might be getting that. will be gg in May...definitely will avoid school holidays. hee.

SSF,

Yup, the exchange rate really helped. It was really a great trip for us - now that Charmaine's much bigger. More relaxing as compared to the Japan trip as well cos we will always make our way back to the hotel to rest a while before proceeding out for dinner again. Not like in Japan where we won't come back to the hotel till late at night.... plus there's the car when we travel out of Sydney to Blue Mountains and Port Stephens....

Wenyl,
I have tried Gaia before CB. I think it's even more ex than CB. Not much impression otherwise except for hte price....

is the thread very quiet? or my PC got problem? last post was ytd 4.25pm

ANyway saw some were talking about shower gel for kids,I went chinatown the other day was introduce to this brand call Jason Natural.
this product supposed to be Paraben free and SLS free. Eart's best bb prod are from this brand too.
AM keen to try the Aloe Vera body wash and Shampoo for kids.
Checked the pricing on iHerb and Lucky Vitamin, tho it's much cheaper but with shipping it probably not worth it to buy from USA.
FYI for a 900ml body wash it cost $23 (after discount) and the kids shampoo 500ML (or more cannot remember) cost $19.
For the price I find it not too bad because the the little body and hair.. it should last a long time.

I saw Watson has this Sukin product which is supposed to be SLS and Paraben free too
But the Aunty at the Chinatown shop say "not so good " things about Sukin and California baby...
Tho I'm not sure if I can trust her comment or her objectivity.
basically she is saying.. Sukin and CB are not what they claim to be, well... difficult to verify on this I suppose.

hello, SSF.

You can try theme park hotel, the family suite room.(2 bedrooms) get the theme park wing. I was there during the march holidays.

Hotel is 3 stars standard.

Can PM me to find out more

Hi Cookie,

I am also more concern about all these SLS and paraben free after reading more about cancer.

In fact when we explore on natural healing, one person who was 'heal' using natural healing strongly recommend SLS and paraben free products.

She said skin contact is very important. That's why smokers are able to stop the addiction bu placing a 'medicated' sticker on skin.......... skin is the largest 'organ' in our body..........

I am trying to switch to so call 'organic' products slowly. Seen Sukin brand but have not tried. So far bought 'organic' products from a MLM. Also bought a shampoo under the brand 'nature something'........ not too bad.

Hi Cookie,

Also seen a 'renew' brand.... think they sell cosmetics products........use mainly herbs, rose hip oil or something. Am keen to try too.........

yuki
i also saw the renew brand at unity. i tried nature something one also that sells at cold storage and guardian. not bad.

cookie
i also wanted to try jason natural. in fact when i was changing shampoo for jh, i was tempted to order from iherb. think if we have enough orders, shipping may be worth it.

wenyl
i tried gaia before. but later i switched out to pear soap cos PD said no need to use organice. i have some extra bottles left over cos previously i stock a lot. u wan to get one to try? it's the small bottle.

jh will have his op next week. the surgeon did say that there is a chance it may happen to the other testicle so hopefully that won't happen. day surgery but will need to be under GA.

I am going to finish my confinement soon. Now am starting to look for a new CC for Jamie. Anyone heard or have any comments on Little Skool House? There is a new branch at Jurong Safra coming soon. Was thinking of bringing her there to see if she like the place. Very worried that she will get traumatised by the previous CC incidents again.

May

Little Skool House is by NTUC. The admin at AMK Hub is very lousy. Maybe the one at Jurong Safra will be better. When I visited the AMK Hub one previously, their curriculum is not bad but I do know some parents who withdrew their kids from there after a short time there. I think it really depends on the teachers of each centre, so u may wanna go and see the Jurong one and see how it is there.

SY, all the best for the surgery and speedy recover for jh!
my son was still active walking around when hre reached home. :p
jiayou! jiayou!!

Yuki,Cookie,
I've tried Renew skincare before. Used it for a period when I was preggy. I used the facial cleanser, moisturizer and shampoo. Maybe during pregnancy, hormones good so skin and hair no matter use what also ok. After pregnancy, I could not use back these products. The facial cleanser too drying for me and end of day oily. Shampoo also not suitable liao.

Now i'm using Fancl washing powder and I love it! Dunno if its SLS / Paraben free, but they use natural products. Downside...they expire 3 months after opening, which means costly!

SY,
All the best for JH's surgery!

yuki
regarding Renew... the "aunty" at Chinatown Organic Shop told me (well I dunno how true, cannot verify)the last time I was there to asked about sukin, that "Renew" was previously under another brand name but was not selling so local distributor "repack" it and call it Renew and says it's Product of Australia. According to aunty, Product of Australia does not means make in Aust, dunno where they made it.
Anyway she sounded really skeptical about both Renew and Sukin saying they are not certified by any international bodies ( which is true I guess..) unlike Jason Natural.
Well the aunty could be supported of jason Natural.

After knowing Jason Natural, I also found Avalon Organics along with Alba naturals which all from USA and to certain extend is Organics with no SLS and Paraben.
and When they says it's organics not 100% contain are organic, only some ingredient are certified organic like the essential oil and other stuff but they claim all items no SLS and paraben.

YTD I went chinatown and bought the Jason Natural's Kids Shampoo - 517ml SGD19.90 and JN's Aloe Vera SHower gel-900ml SGD23.00 - herb/luckyvit selling USD10 I think, LV is cheaper in fact.
I calculate after convert to SGD already 15+ so may not worth shipping in.

I bought try 1 bott each first to see how is it. Will update on it after use...but not so soon, let the kids finish current wash first.

Anyway try looking around before you try out renew, since if based on that Aunty, what if Renew are really not what they claim to be?

SY
Lucky vitamin is also selling and slightly cheaper but I'm not sure abt shipping if more expensive. Esp for the Kids Shampoo same size selling SGD19.9 so it's really not much diff.

My SIL is in USA and my hb suggest I order ship to her place and when someone from there is coming back to Spore, will tungpam them to bring back. But that also means I cannot buy too many la cos the person helping will have hard time carrying.

tracie
I think Fancl is preservative free so I suppose it's paraban free not sure abt SLS.
I used to use Fancl too.. not bad at all except for the small bottles, expiry date is one thing, price also, esp the cleansing oil, finsih very fast.

Re:Badger Balm
Anyone using Badger Balm?? Is it good?? I'm thinking of trying out.

SY
If u wanna buy the shampoo from CHinatown but dunno where can call me to find out ok.
I think shampoo can just buy from Spore.. not much diff le.

SY,

Good luck for JH's op. When would the op be? Will pray for him.

May,
My gal is at a branch of Little Skoolhouse. Frankly, I am totally not impressed by both the std of care, the teachers' attitude and the curriculum. Personally, if not for the fact that the staff rate is very good plus it's so convenient in terms of location for us, my gal won't be there.

thanks for the well wishes! it's not the surgery that i m worried but more of after the surgery....hopefully he won'tb e in too much pain

cookie
let me know how it is after u try out.... sometimes we really will spend on the kids. would rather they use the good stuff. we dun even use the good stuff ourselves...

I am a mummy from the 2008 sept thread.

I am planning to develop my photography portfolio, and is looking for 7- 8 toddler models for an indoor or outdoor photoshoot

Any mummies interested to bring their babies for a photoshoot session at my place?

It will last around 1-2 hours. Just bring along 1-2 sets of clothing change. Preferably on a weekday!

Since this is a portfolio session, i'll burn ALL the images of your babies (usually around 80 photos) taken for you if you like for a small fee of 25$ with 5 images retouched and I'll also post your photos on my website once its completed!

Let me know if anyone is interested!
Email me at [email protected]

This is a sample shoot of my little baby-
Baby Scarlett

2356560.jpg

2356561.jpg

2356562.jpg

I'm going crazy with only 3 to 4 hours of sleep every night! I can't sleep much in the day too... I take a long time to fall asleep in the day and whenever I managed to nap, Matthew wakes up to feed or just to suckle! I'm latching him every 1.5 - 2 hours round the clock!
So so tired!

Picture of Matthew, he's the splitting image of Isaac when Isaac was a newborn:

2356817.jpg

Since I'm posting picture...

Here's one of Isaac in his newly decorated room.
I was hoping to entice him to sleep in his own room before Matthew arrives, but it doesn't work!
He's still co-sleeping with me and HB. I'll try to move him out with Matthew to their room after 2 months.

2356850.jpg
2356851.jpg

I've not been loggin in for quite some time and so much has happened.

Queen,
Grats to your new baby!

SY
I'm sorry to hear about JH's case. Good luck for the surgery.

Ariene was warded into KK 2 weeks ago for pneumonia and I've been staying over at the hospital with her for the whole week. Everything came as a surprise but here's the story to share with u in case u face the same situation :

Ariene started off with slight coughing on Sunday after we had lunch together with my in laws. I was not very happy then because my mil has not fully recovered from her flu, cough n fever yet, but, they insisted.

Monday night, she started having fever of 39 degrees. Gave her panadol and fever seemed to be under control but her cough was starting to get worse.

Tuesday, her fever spiked to 40deg at night so gave her brufen n panadol but fever only came down to 39.8. At mignight, her fever spiked to 41deg and we decided to take her to KK A&E. She was immediately ushered to the red zone to be monitored. KK gave her a warm shower but her temp only went down by 0.5deg. Doctor took her chest x-ray and said she has pneumonia and needs to be warded.

Ariene needed to plugged for intravenous antibiotic injections and drips. It was a real heart pain and she kept complaining about the pain on her hand. Her hand was splintered to prevent her from moving her wrist and she kept trying to pull it out.

Wed-Fri
She had to take antibiotic jabs every 6 hours, panadol and phlegm medication every 8 hours. So, effectively, the nurses are coming into the room every hour to take her temperature and to feed her medicine. Ariene eventually got used to the needle plug on her hand by wednesday night so she stopped complaining about it but, poor mummy cant sleep n rest with nurses coming in n out.

Sat
Her fever has gone down! She can finally discharge at 5pm. Hooray!

Slinky
So sorry to read about Ariene. Wonderful she has recovered...
Thanks for sharing the experience for us to take note...

SY
and JH too.. wish him a speedy recovery

Mamapanda,
Glad to hear Ariene is fine now. Thanks for sharing with us. Wouldn't know how to tell its pneumonia if it happens too.

Queen,
Hang in there, first month is tough. have you got any help like a confinement aunty?

mamapanda

glad to know that ariene is fine now. Sometimes our ILs are really so 'goon' and so stubborn. My ILs also insisted that we join them for dinner even when they're sick. 2 weeks ago lagi best, my SIL brought her feverish son over for dinner. Didn't even tell us until later. Luckily C didn't fall sick from it. Then my MIL kept saying, oh, so long as we pray over it, we'll be ok and we shouldn't play into the hands of the devil. Duh... Maybe we should pray abt being well after eating the Geyland Serai Indian Rojak and just go over there.

Queen
Hang in there....

Mamapanda,
Sorry to hear about Ariene's ordeal! Thank God she has recovered. Did she take the pneunocacal jab last time? Seems like this jab can't totally prevent pneumonia/ear infection. Cos E took it but he still got ear infection once last year. Think of it, I havn't let Ben take it. Thanks for the reminder!

Thanks for the feedback on Gaia! Decided not to get it. Now I got Cetaphil on standby to try after I finsh the Lactycd, thanks to Clare for her recommendation on this product. But this has SLS in it. So my search continues .....

Cookie,
I m interested in the JN product. Let me know how issit after your Ks try it. Tia!

Queen,
Did you get it from the BPs? I got this & paste it up in Ben's room. Now E wants to go bunk in with his didi. But its so tough to make the boys fall asleep together n they can't sleep thru the night cos one will stir the other in some ways or another. By the way, Isaac still look very babyish. I am beginning to miss E's babyish look. Seems to be fading away as each day passes.

2358552.jpg

hi cookie
I'm also changing the kids' body wash. They're using CB now, but really too exp for me. So, gg to try the Burt's Bees Baby Bee shampoo and wash. I shortlisted Jason's Natural too. But, when I scrutinise their ingredients, they use Sodium Benzoate. See http://www.luckyvitamin.com/item/itemKey/58110 for ingredients. Qt strange that an organic product will use such hamrful ingredients. I'm now looking for the cheaper such SLS free wash for hb and I too. Anyone has any recommendation, pls share.

The rooms are so nice.

Queen
hang in there.. they'll grow out of it.

Mamapanda
Glad A can be discharged liao. Take care and must rest well too.

SY
All the best next week and I am sure JH will be fine.

mashy
ya me thinking it is wenyl too ? ha ha saw her BP very tempted but resisted. Thomas fan can
join.

SSF
Yup me too using GAIA and bought from australia which is half the price.

Queen,
baby matthew so cute and Issac looks a bit different or I long long time not update with his pic.

Hee...forgot to switch nick as I was updating the BP. Yup...just finished my 1st BP on Thomas stuffs. That nick was created cos I think its much easier for those mummies to remember.

CL,
Remember u showed me the Thomas chopstick set at Bambini, got me really interested & started looking around for other Thomas stuffs for E&B cos both of them are siao thomas, esp E. Somehow or another, lead me to start this BP. Cheers!

Mashy,
Actually B's room isn't well decorated. The walls are so plain. Thus, the stickers really brightened up the room abit and its Ben's fav...vehicles! How is your CC search going? Did u go down to Mei Hwan Cambridge?

SY,
Pray that JH will have a speedy recovery with the least discomfort.

wenyl

went to see Mei Hwan again yesterday with my hb. First time felt quite impressed with the place but this time round, perhaps it's in the morning, so very chaotic. All the kids were squeezed together in the small hall so kind of chaotic and claustrophic. And they're going to up the ratio to 1 teacher: 10-11 kids, so to me, not much diff.

My hb liked another place Chen Su Lan Methodist Home better. The compound is big and lots of room. There's only 5 kids in N2 now, will increase to 8 in Jun (if incl C). Find the English teacher's english std so so only but my hb said that Eng not a prob since we speak English at home and he'll be going ACS in future.

Well, really have to pray abt it.

wenyl

yah. it's in serangoon gardens, entrance by serangoon gardens, but exit can go by AMK Ave 3 exit. So near yet so far for me. Yah, it's CC based. And it's very cheap. Only $200 for half day and $400 for full day (after non-working mum subsidy). If working, only $250 full day.

hi mummies....J has been coughing and coughing for more than 1 mth. We got medcine from PD and KKH and it does not seem to work. His cough is worst esp at night.,..he will cough until he wakes up and almost in the verge of vomitting. we thot of bringing him to see the PD again. any of your kids have been thru somethg similiar before? not sure why his cough just does not seem to go away.

CL - thks for confirming this. So i am so right.. Aussie is selling cheaper. hmm...shld have got some when i was there. btw, how is ur mum?

SY - J's op for his face is postponed to 15th May. I understand your worries totally. Doc told me that kids at such young age recovers fast and they dun remember much when they grow up. keep me updated on the op.

mamapanda - great to hear that A can be discharged...it must be a tiring for u to stay in the hospital. did you managed to get single bedded? it seems to be always full whenever we asked for one.

queen - the room is nice. my boys room is plain, blue in colour and occupied with toys, one book shelf, bed and a changing table. maybe when they are older and when they sleep over there, i will start decorating. hee.. regarding the feeds, hang in there....well u have been there and done it anyway ;)