(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Sunny,
I'm surprised the teachers and principal actually said that. For Meg's 3-hr class, she has stopped wearing diapers there quite some time back. They have an aunty there specially to bring kids to pee / poo when they ask for it.

It was the school dat asked us not to let Meg wear diaper and they helped train her.

But when we go out, I still make her wear diapers cos many times after she sees the toilet bowl, she will refuse to go. It must be absolutely clean or when she really cannot tahan. i tried carrying her to pee also can't. Made a mess of it.

Mashy
You have to check the school curriculum. Should be ok. because second half is usually nap, charmaine used to have computer, project, show and tell in the pm.

Today
Aden met his ex classmate from cherie hearts so the 2 of the was so excited and happy to see each other so they went in together. Then once Aden says bye to me , the other one oso says bye to his mummy. I am so glad that he has his friend as a companion.

But ha ha he kenna complaint by teacher on first day liao. And I can sense something is wrong when he ask for his Teacher Yati from Cherie Hearts. Of course aden was in the wrong to be rude and push the teacher, yes she can discipline and update me in communication book.

But right at the door when I am sending him in , he is hearing it with fear in his face. Ha ha so for a moment I thot he dun want to go in liao.

tracie

it's so important that the teachers & principal believes in working together with the parents to help the child. It's good that the sch that Meg is attending makes such an effort.

C's teacher only knows how to complain but never told me how they dealt with any of the issues that they faced with him.

CL

They said on the phone that they do arts & craft, show & tell & pre-writing skills in the afternoon. Pre-writing skills sounds important... What if my boy can't write later? hmmmm..... He can now trace alphabets with his fingers but still a long way to go before he can put that down on the paper.

Mashy
did you ask them if your son miss that pre-writing part then how to catch up ? Maybe during the day they do something similar and pm , that is just a reinforce ?

CL,
Is Aden in Cherie Hearts for both nursery and after-school care? Mind sharing the fees? Can use CDAC?

Am still scouting for alternative for Meg's kindergarten.

CL

no actually, I'm going there later, think i'll ask them that. Maybe if they bathe in the morn, can get them to let him do that while the rest bathes.

tracie

have u checked out thomson road baptist kindy? think it should be in that area. it's not easy looking for a gd kindy.

Tracie
I sms Charmaine's classmate mummy to check about thomson's kindy. Will update you when she reply.

Aden was in cherie hearts full day. I think different place different because they are franchise. The price at Tan Quee Lan is $750 before subsidy. so after subsidy it is $450. I signed up during open house so was given 20% off for 6 months so I have been paying $360 only. I received 1 new set of uniform, mattress cover, and even the mattress. Since I withdrew, I even get to bring that mattress back leh. not bad hor.

Ya can use the CDA account.

mashy,
ya, the thomson road baptist kindy abit too far. MIL actually stays Sin Ming Road. I just checked got a few Cherie Hearts around there.

CL,
oh, $360 for full day not bad leh. I'm now paying $360 per mth for only 3hrs. Thanks thanks for helping me to ask. Cherie hearts got quite a few outlets around MIL's place. But need to discuss with MIL first. Then thinking abt it, if its full day, i can put her near our workplace also. Got new one opening in Ubi.

CL

oh, just realised there's an increase. Haha, not in touch with this for a long time. Great, if i send C to this cc, will only be $200 per mth for half day. So cheap!

mashy yes yes increase
and it is $150 for part time and non working mummy woh. Ha ha. So sending to cc not so bad after all for the subsidy

MAshy
Yes there was an increase =) For Dec/Jan when I had D in full-day cc, I only paid $150 after the $300 subsidy as compared to the $180 that I'm paying for half-day currently. Really cheap and am happy with the teachers and the place...to some it might be run-down...but I see the teachers encouraging the children to be independent and the overall curriculum is not too bad for me

Mashy,
So sorry to hear about that! E recently told me a boy in his group pushed him on few occasions cos E wanted to talk to him. So I told him to ignore that boy. Kids are kids, sometimes they don't like to be disturbed by others. I ever asked E if teacher scolds them in class, he said nope but said sometimes C gets scolding from teacher cos he is the only one who likes to wander around n climb up & down. I feel that mayb a childcare environment will be better for C as the teachers there will be better in toilet training him. Somemore you are getting less mobile, its better if the school can help potty train C. Frankly speaking, its very tough to handle 2 young kids on our own. Not impossible but v tiring lor. I went thru few mths with the 2 boys alone at home. At that time, E wasnt fully toilet train yet.

Queen,
Wat a close shave! Must be more careful as your body CG is not the same as before. Take care!

Mashy
I agree with Wenyl. Even one Charmaine turning 7 and Aden 3, aiyo it is very difficult to handle 2. And now that the 2 of them will complain about each other and seek attention it is worse. So CC maybe a good choice too

Wenyl,
reading abt E not being scolded by teachers reminded me of Meg. She gets scolding very often in school but I dun blame the teachers :p She gets scolding for talking too much and disturbing her frens during lessons. When I ask why she dun listen to teacher and keep quiet, she said cos she wanna play. :S

so so busy in office.. darn the yr end closing..just popping by to read a while to destress.

Re: Child care
kae's cc also asked me to not let her wear diaper so can toilet train fast. Cos the principal know I have 3 kids and say diaper $$ is expensive. I really appreciate that.
kae is more of less toilet train even when we go out, except for nite time.

Re: how do you bring your gal to toilet outside??
tracy
I always has this qns as I'm concern on the cleaniness.
I never tried carry kae to pee.. cos I can imagine it will flow all direction.
For now, I try to go places with "better" condition toilet else will put her on diaper.
I will also bring along a Toilet spray ( bought from BP - Sure clean suppose to kill 99.9% germ) to spray on the toilet seat and wipe before put kae on it plus holding her so only the tight need to rest on the seat.

For my hb, when he is the one who bring, he place toilet paper over the toilet seat and let her sit on it.

I always wanted to ask... "How do you let your gal use the toilet outside when they are fully toilet train"?? pls share your "tactics"

cookie,
she refuses to go even when i clean the seat or lay it with toilet paper. Not even when I show her that I myself sit and do it. You are right about it going in all wrong directions when i carry her up. So now i give up and jus make her wear diaper when we go out. I'll patiently wait for the day she can accept public toilets and relief my pocket.

She seems to use more diapers than Duncan! I find myself replenishing hers more! She uses 2pcs per day and XL has less pieces inside. Duncan also uses an average of 3pcs per day and his is Petpet L with more pieces.

Cookie/tracie,
Damien was once scared by the auto flash when he was trying to do his big businness in the public toliet....since then he refused to do his big business and only pee into the urinal not the toilet bowl.
last weekend brought him to westmall and he insisted me to bring him to the gents instead. Told him i cannot go in.....so he went and peed by himself.

Belinda
wow! So good! Damien can go in by himself to pee =)

My boy still needs us to bring him in... he for one cannot seem to pull back up his pants nicely :D so definitely needs our help... nowadays I see the ladies toilet having a small urinal for little boys.

Cookie,
I bought Dettol Wetwipes to clean the toilet bowl before I put J on the seat. Then I will stand near her right side, ask her to hold onto my hands or thigh while she pee. She knows she is not supposed to touch the toilet bowl when peeing. Once she is done, I will stand right in front of her (face to face) and ask her to hold on to my two thighs while I wipe dry for her. Will use one pigeon wetwipe to clean then a dry tissue to clean. I dun use the toilet paper given as it is too dry.

For my mum, I know she just wipe with toilet paper, let J pee.

But at the end of the "session", we will make sure she wash her hands with soap.

I yearn for the day where many pub toilets are cleaner than now! Fortunately for C, just aim & shoot! Will tell him not to touch any part of the cubicle though esp the really cannot make it ones! Some shopping malls have the kiddy urinals in the ladies.

wenyl

i wonder if the teacher even knows that E was pushed in sch.

I went to visit the CC just now. The principal was very receptive to the toilet training thing and sugg i bring him in without diapers and just bring extra set of clothes. Thought that was a great thing since now i realised not everyone are so receptive to it if they're still not full trained.

And my dear C must poo there when we were visiting. So poor principal gotta help clean C up and demo to me what they do. Hahah.

The class size is very small. Only 5kids i think, but today only saw 4kids in the class. The teacher doesn't sound like she's been speaking English all her life so I might need to help C with it next time. Reg the pre-writing skills, lucky they also have a half hr slot in the morn so he won't totally miss everything.

The compound is quite big (given that it's actually a children's home) altho the centre itself is quite compact (4 classes & office in a big room). Think will discuss with my hb to see if we should go ahead with this one. Hopefully with more attn, C will progress better there.

Hi Sysac,

Talking about clean toilets, having visited USA, i really wonder if Singaporeans or Asians in general (except Japan) have poor public hygience........

The toilets in USA are always clean and they also provide the 'paper toilet seat' cover. But most of the time the toilets are clean so you don;t really need that.

When i came back, i just cannot comprehand why the public toilets in Singapore are so dirty.....

Mashy
got with your heart if you feel good. And if C is happy with it why not. For me went to the centre once in the morning, then sneak there for 1 hour again to see how the teacher teach.

one time with Aden going there too and he keep asking me when go new school. So I know should be ok. Then lagi better when his friend is switching so I just go ahead.

Mashy,
I don't expect the teacher to be watching over E every min cos the class is big. But I am sure if E was pushed real hard & fall to the ground, he will surely "complain" to the teacher or come back to tell me abt it.

Yes, agree with CL, go with your heart....a mother will only know what is best for their own kids. Try asking C if he likes the place? Most important the kid must be happy there, else you will face lots of resistance from them later on.

wenyl

good that at least E is rather vocal. I think if anything happens to C, I prob won't even get to hear of it.

C is a rather happy boy and he's been happy to go along to any place that we go. So it's rather diff to gauge. I would say he rather bochap the pp which is also a prob coz he just ignore them & any instructions from the teachers. It's the teachers' attitudes that i'm more concerned abt now.

Sometimes i wonder if he's too attached to my hb & i and so can't form relationships with others...
Like he doesn't talk much to pp other than us. So when we're out, even my cousin asked me if he talks.

Today he's so sweet. I told him I'm so tired while feeding him lunch (yes, he suddenly 'forgot' how to feed himself once he's at home) and he laid my head on his lap and patted my head.

Mashy,
Tat's so sweet of him. Hope you can find a cc tat is suitable for him soon. E also the same, I will still have to feed him his meals. Else, he will take ages to even finish half his plate of rice.

after feeding back to the principal and today we didn't let my gal wear diaper to school (yesterday my mil let her wear 'cos she forgot), the teachers did not complain anymore. i hope they continue bringing my gal to toilet when she asks for, and no more complaining to us that my gal always wants to go toilet.

re: using public toilet
my gal is ok to use the toilet bowl at the public toilet. we will just wipe the toilet bowl 1st before letting her sit on it. she's ok with squating type, too. but i will take extra care when she's using the squat type. in case she fell into the hole. haha...

Hi Mashy,
I think while there's a perception that CC does more childcare then academic teaching, its not always true. S for one is in CC now, coz I find it tough to care for two, like Wenyl or CL said, so the longer hours at cc are to my benefit. I find their studies pretty rigourous, Montessori skills in the morning, followed by chinese, english and mathes. The kids in her class have started practising writing this year, so they are now up to number 7 and letter H i think. Just take your time to look for a good place for C....

was just thinking whether it is time to let jh go diaper free at night. but do i have to wake him up to go pee? sounds really tough nad i m afraid will wake jx up.

re toilet
i think i m really quite bo chap. i usually let jh sit on the toilet bowl when he wants to poo. but if really too dirty, even jh also dun feel like pooing

mamachan
hee, jh can wear his pants but he always wears them the wrong direction. quite funny.

SY
Does JH wakes up with a wet diaper in the mornings? If not you can attempt to let him go diaper free... but stand by with those water-proofed bedsheets? Think cookie mentioned before that she bought some?

Mashy,

Cc maybe a good idea since you do not have a maid.
Elijah's cc too teach them writing and I really appreciate tat he is in scho full day so I have more time to rest especially when they keep falling sick.. But cc also means more germs..

i remember someone mentioned cambridge at mei hwan before right? can't remember who was it. Anyone visited that place/place their child there before?

just slipped & fall downstairs coz the the stupid painters were using some chem to remove paint and they had the chem all over. Poor C and me got burned by the chems too. Fed up. Complained to the town council and going to my gynae later to check up. Hope everything is ok.

Mashy,
Oh dear! I hope u are all alright. So dangerous. Is C ok? Hope bb is alright. Must really be very slow n careful now.

I was one of the mummies who went to cambridge mei hwan last year when I was scouting around for a school for E. I remember the compound is rather big cos they have 2 pte houses under them, a swimming pool for the older kids to take swimming lessons. It looks a bit run down thou. They were very popular last yr n the nursery class size is almost max like 12 or 13 kids. The teachers were quite young n friendly. One of them let E play with green bean seeds cos they were teaching the kids abt the different type of seeds texture n planting the green bean seeds. U can try bringing C down to take a look at their premise. It should be nearer to your home than the current kindy.

mashy
alamak!!! I hope you are ok!! Definitely must complain to the town council!!! They left chemicals all over the place without cordoning the area off?

thanks gals!

Went to see gynae, everything looks fine. Given ventolin in case of contractions. Later go and get my burns checked. sigh, it's still burning hot.

C seems pretty fine now, think he wasn't as badly burnt as me. All his redness has gone. MIne is still there.

mamachan
they were removing some paint with paint remover and didn't clean it after that. They also didn't put up signs or anything.

Yah, the town council pp & the contractors all came to my place just now to see my condition. So going to send in my claims for compensation.