(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

congrats Mashy!
can stock up on all the pretty cloths for your girl!

congrats May!
dun worry about her weight, she soon will catch up to her jie jie =)

both my boys were born on the 39weeks, but devan was ony 3.17kg while dylan was 3.55kg. but now devan weight about the same as dylan when he was 2 months old. so dun worry ya. a 3kg bb at birth is of good weight. and jia you on your bfing!

cookie
recently i brought dylan to polyclinic for assessment. the nurse asked him to walk in a straight line towards him and he observed the angle of his foot. he tends to walk with his foot slightly pointing outwards. was told its a mild one, if severe case might affect the way the leg bone grow due to balance and pressure.

you might want to ask Kae to walk in a straight line towards you and you observe from there?

Congrats May! What a sweeitie pie Jazmyn is

mashy - i got my curtain contacts from rena who provided good service at a reasonable price. You may want to contact rena for the number cos i misplaced it :D

cookie - hmm..maybe u want to see a PD for a peace of mind? they would be the best person to advise. anyway mummies, i am bringing J for a day surgery on 17th Apr in KKH to remove the cyst on his cheek. Hopefully he will recover soon. Doc said will have a 1cm scar on his cheek. Sob SOb!

Hey SSF - The scar will give him character (xin ge)...so cool
Don't worry too much, it shd fade off aft a while. Baby skin wld def heal better.

CL
hmm we din really set rule but tot that's quite common sense right..anyway hb so angry that he dun wan to keep her liao.

is your mum better?

ky
actually she left her in the playyard and went to kitchen but she couldn't even see her. she told my hb she intend to tell me but the funny thing is why cannot tell my hb. i think what got him so pissed was that she just passed her to him when he went to check why she cry and walked away.

mashy
congrats on your princess! can close shop and can go shopping also..haha

May
congrats! your princess is really pretty....

your gal is big. jx born at 38 weeks and only weigh 2.8kg. now she's 8.6kg. they will grow fast one.

SSF
dun worry too much. they heal very fast one.

cookie
maybe bring to PD to advise? or any GP that is good with kids?

Thanks SY
Ha ha my hb says dun expect helper to have the same common sense as you. So just tell them exactly what you want them to do.

My mum sigh. discharged but today going to do a CT scan on the shadown in her lung. Crossing finger now. But mentally I am very very tired. Because I have not shared this with my sis in Perth. Waiting for today's scan then see how

CL,
hope your mum will be fine. pardon my ignorance but what does shadow in the lung means? totally understand how drained u are...

CL,
Oh dear... don't worry too much yet. Hope all is well with your mum.

SSF,
good thing about kids... their skin will heal faster and scars are likely to fade or become more faint with time.

cookie,
If 2 different teachers have made similar observations, I think yes, better to consult a PD or a Doc / growth development nurse at the Polyclinic. I actually think the nurses / docs at the Polyclinics may know better since they see a lot of children from different backgrounds and with different problems and development issues. They may not be able to treat the problem, but they can certainly refer you to KKH or a therapist if they deemed necessary.

CL

Hopefully it's nothing serious... Take care.

SSF
yah, children heal faster. If not when he grows up can always go for laser treatment to remove/lighten it.

CL
Hope your mum is ok, can understand how you feel. Do take care.

SSF
Try to apply more Vit E on J's face, when i was younger, i used to apply Vit E oil on my pimples scar, it seems effective to make my scar less obvious.

Sunny/Mashy
Me too, still shop non-stop for Clarisse, and I have even stock up 4T clothes for her. Even Declan, I shop a lot for his share too :p

Thanks mummies...i was telling hb that J will look more naughty with the scar on his face.

CL - the shadow in the lungs may be due to infection or could be an old infection that left a scar. does ur mum has any symptoms?

CL
Hopefully the shadow was cast due to like what SSF mentioned, a scarring from a previous infection? It was based on chest x-ray and usually chest x-rays are not definite... will keep your mom in prayers!

Update us k?

CL,
ic. Hopefully it's nothing serious...

SSF,
the only consolation I can give you is luckilyi he's a boy. If girl, will be lagi more heartpain. But don't worry, children's skin heal much faster and better.

my #1 he called me up during recess..cried and told me that he got one of his spelled wrongly...coz he missed out a letter.
he seem to have pressue or high expectation in school... ..not sure given by me or himself...

RE: Book Sales

I happen to chance upon this book sales when i went to fetch my hb from work yesterday. Its worth going if you are staying or working around Ang Mo Kio area. Not 2nd hand books but new books which some are abit dated & torn at the edges. U know those garage sales so need to search but I could still manage to get good condition books like Mickey Mouse Clubhouse, Hardcover Nursery rhymes with CD Jazz music, hard cover Wipe & clean activity book etc. Price range from $5 to $13. They gave one $13 book free to me cos if u spend abv $70, 1 book is foc.

For those interested, here is the location:
JCS Building
Ang Mo Kio Industrial Park 1 (along AMK ave 10)
U will see Nova furniture on Level 1. The Book fair is on Level 2.

Opening hrs:
11.30am to 8pm (weekdays)
10am to 8pm (weekends)

Last day is 29 Mar 09.

Belinda
just to share with you about my charmaine. So far out of 10 spelling, she only got 3 all correct. But the other 7 , actually she spelt all correctly except for her handwritting, teacher was strict and marked her wrong if the y is not written on the line, her t is not written well, or she put her upper case wrongly.

For me I just tell her very good she spelt all correctly just have to be careful otherwise "bai bai" give the teacher marks. Then she wont feel bad at all.

May,
Congratz!! Such a unique name.

Mashy,
Yeah! Can close shop liao and gal can buy loads of stuff! The ON things for gals are really sweet.

CL,
Hope results for your mum's case is ok. I had a cyst removed from my breast long time ago. Recently felt a lump again, went doc see, thankfully it's not cause for worry. Hope your mum will be fine.

Cookie,
My mgr's daughter had flat feet when young and had to see a podiatrist (if i spell correctly) cos she falls often when she walks. But it's better now. You can see PD to get referral to a specialist.

Re:Kindy
Argh..the church of holy spirit kindy is closing! So can't accept Meg's enrolment. Looks like I gotta enrol her in PCF liao. Doesn't look like got any other choices around thomson area that are church-based kindy.

CL,
The school give them the choice to have the spelling in words or dictation (sentences). He choose the sentences instead coz he confidently think that he can cope.
So far most of the time he got it all correct. Not sure this make him to have high expectation on himself...and this term 2 onwards, school has increased the spelling from 5 sentences to 7 sentences instead.

Talk to his school teacher yesterday..and the teacher said that she will arrange 1-1 session with him and counsel him.

CL,
i am also very suprised with the school standard....P1 got to do presentation infront of the class.
I think i am more stress than him.

Hi Belinda,

Which school is he in?

After reading all these, i am stress liao.

Ashley next year P1.

I started to send her for chinese enrichment class. Hope i am not too late.

This blur mummy forget to check her bag and realise on one Wed night that she has chinese spelling on friday. The words are "Xing ren" (pedestrian), "Jie Shang" (Street), Yu Shan (umbrella), Sheng ti (body), Xiu Xi (rest), Jing Tian (today)........

Practice with her till 11pm.

She eventually got 100 marks for it but i am more concern if her strokes are right. Cos i see her write chinese like drawing......

KY,

the sentences can be as simple as eg :
From his term 1
Mike is blowing his trumpet.
My father has a red racing car.
The mokey is swining in the tree vines.

The term 2 spelling is even tougher than these.

He is in Keming Primary School.

Yuki,
Start her with HYPY....
Most children can pick up English faster than Chinese.

I agree with Belinda. Yuki, do HYPY with her now.

I just registered to change aden to Yuquan pre-school with cc. So next 1 Apr he will be there liao. Together with one of his closer classmates, the 2 of them will start together. ha ha I am sure yuquan will be able to lay a good chinese foundation for him

CL
hope your mum is ok. you pull Aden from the cc at tan quee lan? y?

belinda
wow.. sound so stressful for just a primary school kid.

Hi Belinda

My son does copywriting for both chinese and english, and I feel it helps in writing and reading. Read to him. I find phonics help my son to spell words but some which are unable to be decode by phonics, I'll tell him that he has to memorize. It's all in the child's mind whether he's stressed by his result or not. Try to push him positively but if he does not do well, don't stress him by pointing the negative but highlight what he's done well.

huh, mine hasn't learnt HYPY ... 2 days ago, he copied home a chengyu with HYPY but he doesn't know what it is. Even Berries that he goes to will only teach in Term 3.... I'll start to worry abt that in Term 3.

.ky.

Sunny
thanks wont know result till 3 days later but hee hee I think if no urgent call till her review on 7 Apr should be good thing

Ya, I pulled him out. 1. I like yuquan curriculum and since they are doing NYPS enrichment , and aden will be going there so the foundation can be started from now.

2. Environment in Yuquan more condusive then Cherie Hearts bcause all classroom based no open concept. Principal started the childcare specially for her daughter 4 years ago who is now in NYPS same as Charmaine in primary 1. She assured me she started because she cannot compromise with the childcare facilities here.

3. 2 streets nearer to my office. ha ha

Belinda - Ke Ming is a good school. My colleague's wife is teaching there. Pri 1 must spell in sentences already! I am stressed

C just learnt how to spell Zoo cos of the trip there last Friday. Kept asking me to teach him how to spell Zoo.

CL, Yuquan pre-school is near Albert Complex? huh, Bugis area right? It sounds far.... it's the 3rd CC that he goes to. He's ok with the change?

.ky.

KY
Yuquan is at middle road. Near Shaw Tower. Near to me so ok.

He already forgotten about Del-care which he was there for 4 months. I brought him to this place a few times and he likes it. So I keep asking him if he wants to stay , he chose new place. So on Monday will tell him again he is going there and his close friend is going too. He is actually with cherie hearts from Last Nov to now oso about 5 months.

I find aden can adapt quite well so I believe should be ok.

Hi Belinda,

The sentence sound tough....... I started to give Ashley 5 new words every week to learn to spell. So far she did ok. Will give bonus point if we surprise the spelling words based on what she learnt previously. So that she won;t just learn that 5 new words but also make an effort to remember the previous spelling words.

As for Chinese, she knows her HYPY pretty well as her scholl start teaching since last year when she is in K1. But i find if you can't even read the word, how to pin yin in the first place? And she still speak like an ang moh because her exposure to chinese is very little. Everytime i try to speak to her in Chinese, she will answer me in English and even ask me to switch to English.

Lesson learn, so i am trying to expose Megan to Chinese earlier.....maybe sent her for chinese enrichment next year when she is 4..........

Yuki,
During the school orientation in last December, the school already gave them 200 words to learn (Must know). I think it really help..that is why he choose to do the dictation instead of spelling.
As for damien, i think i will let him to enjoy his N2 first. Intend to sent him to Kumon for English and Chinese next year.

CL
yu quan sounds good. i am actually looking for childcare, too. 'cos my mil might need to go for an operation around jun/jul time. hopefully she doesn't need to go thru the operation, then i can send my gal to 3 hr classes next year and can relief her burden a bit.

CL

K1 recite Cheng yu????? Wow, stress leh. My boy now still cannot talk very well let alone say cheng yu. Can't imagine him being able to do that at K1.

CL
wow.... impressive. mayb i will drop by their place next week. :D

mashy
if you keep teaching you boy, one day he will be able to say it. my gal is able to recite 1/3 of san zhi jing 'cos my mil keeps teaching her.

hi mommies

Haven't had time to drop into the forum, missed so many posts and happenings!

Congrats to May! So cute your new baby girl!

CL, sorry to hear abt your mom, is she oK? hope the shadow is just a scar and nothing serious. They wouldn't discharge her if was infection. Take care. You must be so busy and tired.

Cookie,
Think you may want to bring her to KKH pediatrician or an orthopaedic paediatrician. Maybe its just bad habit, she was walking and running around fine at gogo bambini. If she is just bumping into things, 2 things to worry about 1) vision 2) cerebellar brain development. vision, you will know when you ask her if she can see things on her sides (looking for a visual defect). Try and make K walk in a straight line one foot in front of the other, this is to check her balance organ in the brain.. if she can do it, maybe its just her shoes too big and heavy or too small. Tabby is not very stable also with her shoes on, a bit clumsy also.

For sale
anyone interested in a sunshine playhouse?
Kept indoors only, hardly used, bought it at christmas but it spent a couple of months in storage. Selling for $180
2291260.jpg

tabby - heee i got the same playhse for my kids last xmas. mummies who are interested, 180 bucks is cheap as I bought mine at $320 after discount somemore. my kids simply love it. but need a van to transport as the pieces after dismantle is huge.

yep,SSF, selling it cheap, selling 6 piece of my haenim playard also very cheap, 80. Doesn't make sense to keep it in storage for 2 years. you are right, its huge.. Can transport if you have a 7 seater. Dismantled I can fit it in my grandis. I'm too rushed to wait for a higher price cos just want to get rid of my stuff.

damien got this sinus that triggered him to have cough, throat infection and running nose (this 3 friends alway come together) very often...almost once a month...anyone know specialist for this treatment?..apparent not recommened to go for op for this age.