(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

hi Queen/Belinda/Aileen

Think I may have shared this before. pardon me if I'm saying it again. We've used Neubilizer and Aerochamber before. From SBCC(gleneagles), PD said it's more effective with Neub as the young child does not know how to breath in that well with puff (most of it won't get in with that 2 puffs u do), n so he insists on Neub. We use a second doctor (GP who specializes in kids) at Bishan. She gave us Ventolin and Flixotide. Ventolin to cure and Flixotide to maintain.... once the kid is well, one has to use Flixotide (the orange puff) for a couple of months (I think it's 4) but we never really follow thru' ... cheaper to get Ventolin and Flixotide in Thailand (if u got frens going). personally I still feel neub is more effective. liquid medication (ventolin) doesn't get absorb by the body as well as puffs as the liquid goes via bloodstream where only a small % gets in to lungs whereas breathing in is direct as a good % gets directly to lungs.

I was on the same route as well ... regular visits to doc that I know what medication to give and we use our med stock for couple of weeks n if not, see the doc. imagine I still have a borrowed neubilizer in the house for just n case. this is so with ds#1 as he goes to school everyday... I got quite fedup that I tried TCM when he's 3.5 yrs old. Visited the one at Jurong East ... started with daily visit for a wk, down to 2x/wk for first mth, then once a month. the initial cash layout is as good as seeing a PD, not to mention the hassle of going there that regularly. took us 4 months before I see sort of results. I think also bcos the school he goes to have a lot of interactive plays n he can't avoid getting it from his frens.

Now both boys just see GP... n that's one of the reason K's not going to school, n he's not on the same cycle as his brother *touch wood* ... n yes, keeping a rec helps. I do that.

hih

.ky.

Re:Asthma

Megan was diagnosed as asthmatic when she was 1 years old cos she has a few episode wheereby she has wheezing and need neb.......

However her condition has improved since i start her on the crocodile meat soup. It has been one year already and so far so good. Just sharing...

I don't know if she has outgrown it ir really that the crocodile meat soup is that effective.

ky

I even own a nebu machine coz we just simply use it too often.

For crocodile meat, u have to check if the kid's asthma/cough is heaty or liang type. It works only if it's liang type. If it's the heaty type, crocodile meat will make it worse.

Re. childhood asthma
My younger sis is a doctor and she has some materials from when she was doing housemanship in a Melbourne hospital. It's about the difference between cough, asthma and the various treatment. It's quite easy to read, even though it's meant for doctors.If you are interested, I can send the pdf file to you.

Aileen,
Yah, nebulizer is more effective in the sense that the effects are almost immediate since the steroid content is much higher. But nebuliser is never meant to be a long term / maintainence treatment cos of the steroid dosage. It will not treat the underlying problem. Both my PD and my sis also caution against the use of nebulizer as the 1st approach cos of the steroids.
But I completely emphatised with you. Isaac would cough at night as well, he could start coughing from 10pm all the way till 2 to 3am till he's so exhausted that he falls into a deep sleep and stops coughing. Poor HB and me cannot sleep while he's coughing and sometimes, we even have to carry him cos he seems to feel better in upright position. Really exhausting.

ky,
I dunno whether the Flixotide puff will work on Isaac... I certainly hope so cos I can't imagine having to seek other treatments and going through another few rounds of trial and error again>. I'm really keeping my fingers crossed that he will respond to the puff.

Yuki,
Wow, crocodile meat! Really! I myself haven't had crocodile meat before...

Queen,
Just to check. I still have GAP stuff with u?
I think it is romper for my 2nd gal right? Will u be coming over to ur mum place these few weeks?

Oh ya, almost forgot. U taking advance maternity leave or going to work till ur EDD?

May,
Yes, the romper is still with me! I should be at my parents' place this sun evening. We arrange collection?
I'm going to work as long as I could. Not taking advance ML for me. I wan to check with you, do you get contractions now? The past few days, I have been having periodic pain on my stomach, not very frequent, maybe a few times throughout the day. Not sure if those are Braxton Hicks contractions or what. And my stomach can feel so tight that I have problem standing up straight for long. Again, such feeling is periodic. My gynae says in the last visit that he thinks I would deliver early, probably around 37-38 weeks.

queen,
with Duncan, i had BH contractions quite often even though its periodic. I had BH with Meg also but could control it by taking Ventolin only when I feel it coming. With Duncan, I had to take Ventolin regularly. In fact, there were times the BH got quite bad I actually felt pressure at my pelvic like he's pushing downwards. So I was MIA from work during my 3rd trimester. Try to rest more and walk less, esp up the stairs. It really helps to lie in bed and rest more if you wanna hold out till 38weeks

Queen
Just wondering on the use of steroids lah (not challenging the issue)...coz I know steroids is meant to curb the inflammation reaction in the lungs to prevent more mucus/phlegm from being secreted (in the case of immunological reaction)...so shouldn't it be good to neb and monitor and once the lungs sounds clearer, then stop the neb and rely on the medication....

I mean I observed back then when my boy, like Isaac, would cough till he can't sleep and he had to be brought back to be nebulized 2-3 times a day... after 2nd day or so, it got much better and it was reduced to once and then after that it was just antibiotics and the rest of the medication. My family doctor was careful to check the lungs to make sure it's getting clear but I doubt to the point where it totally cleared.

But at the end, we just hope that our child recovers fast coz very heartpain to see them struggling and suffer.

now with all this sharing, i realise how common it is for our kids to be on the puff. jh is also on puff for a long time. he's on seretide.

Mamachan,
er... I dunno leh... my PD says that chesty cough may not mean wheezing and coughing hard doesn't mean difficulty in breathing. Neb is more for use when the cough is more of bronchitis nature I think. This is seconded by my sis. I don't think they meant to say that neb is not good as a treatment but more to say that unless the severity warrants for it, it shouldn't be used as a first approach. Isaac was never nebulised and was on phlegm meds and antibiotics (if necessary) most of the time. He will get well eventually on those meds within 2 weeks or so. The only thing is, he will be down again very soon... like 1 to 2 weeks later. That's when my PD says he needs to be put on long term puff. Isaac was only nebulised the first time just before CNY this year, cos he had high fever and deep chesty cough and wasn't responding very well to the meds and puff and my PD said the cough had progressed to wheezing. I have to say that the nebuliser works wonders though. The effect is almost immediate.

Yah... I agree with you. It worries me very much when I hear Isaac coughing hours into the night. But I'm quite encouraged that now, after 2 months of puffing, I think Isaac is showing improvement. It's been 3 whole weeks that he's not coughing much at night and 2 whole weeks that he's not on any meds except for the Flixotide puff. I can't remember the last time Isaac had such a long 'well' period liao. Really keeping my fingers crossed.

queen
ooohh...in this case I know where you're or rather the doctors are coming from.... agreed that neb should be for chesty coughs that "threatens" to become bronchitis in nature. That's what happened to D, two CNYs back. That was why the family doctor started him on Zaditen for 6 months. He actually went without being sick for 3 months!!! Runny nose cleared up rather quickly on his own.
Now that he started playgroup since last year... his flu/runny nose/cough is milder and more often without fever.

Re: crocodile meat

U can get the crocodile meat in supermarkets like ntuc & carrefour. It's very expensive. I still have 2 packs in my freezer haven't used. sigh. For carrefour, they also sell the herbs pack to cook the crocodile meat with.

Hi Mashy,

I didn't know that ntuc sell crocodile meat as well! Under the meat dept?

So far i went to a chinese medical hall near Hong Lim COmplex. It is sun dried.............. $25 a pack (can split into 4 doses). The herbs cost $2 per pack, split into 2 doses.

My mum usually add longans, red dates etc to make the soup sweeter. The kids don't quite like it thou. I have to cajole them to drink.........

yuki

yah, it's frozen ones. Not sure if all the NTUC sells them but the one at AMK hub does.

There's some parts of the crocodile which is more tender and u can stir fry. Maybe the kids will like them better that way.

hi mummies, kindly advise. my boy climbs up the stairs very slowly, he is a timid boy. is the main reason that he's timid, or his legs is weak? or he inherited his daddi genes?

hello mummies..
long time no chat.. wow I have been reading the thread for hr or so to catch up abit and I learnt a lot!! esp the medication stuff.

I'm Thankful that the kids are pretty ok.
I remember there was a time when K1 and K2 take turn to fall sick ( they are not even going to school) for consecutive 2-3 months, each sick for 1 week. Week after week.
The cough are scary...esp for K1, she tend to cough out her night feed as well and the crying and fussing and daddy busy changing bed sheet while I pacify her plus I'm preggie with K3. Gosh...
After that 2-3 months, it got better.. till now.

K1 has been in full day CC for 1.5 mths now, down once for runny nose and back on track fast. I think the small class size did make a difference. Tho full strenght of the class is 13 but every day on the sign in list, there are only 4-5 students.

K1 has no problem sleeping in air con since young but somehow from 2.5 yrs onwards she seems to develop kinda allegy sleeping in air con because she ALWAY cough and cough non stop and to the extend of vomiting the night feed.
Since K3 arrive and seems to have sensitive airways, we stop air con totally and every thing is good.

Queen
u have my email? I'm keen with the PDF file

Re: Morning cry
K1 is crying every morning when I leave her with her teacher. She will hub and grab me and cry until so poor thing.
She was never like this before. Even in Jan when I started her. She will run in without looking back. Since I started work 2 weeks ago, she has been crying in the moring and really make me heartache.

Sysac
I'm thinking of starting on music classes for K1 too. Am thinking of Seimpi music school.

May
I agree with the rest of the mum too...dun ligate.
I wun think If hb really dun want anymore bb, he should exercise precaution and not rely on ligating to solve the prob. I din ligate (and I much much older than) since I deliver naturally, no plans for anymore baby. I have made it very clear to hb that we have to make sure it wun happen

Rykiel
How old is your boy? 3yr old? POlyclinic has a review on 3yr old child and I think 1 of the area they check is if they can climb the stair on their own. You could arrange an appt with polyclinics near u to find out.
I'm gng tomorrow for my #1.

Rykiel

Practise practise & more practise. Bring him to the playground and let him run and jump and climb. Instead of taking the lift to your flat (if u're staying in one), climb 1 flight of stairs and u can ride the rest on the lift. Gd exercise for u too.
If his legs are weak, it'll train them up. If it's coz he's timid, with practise, it'll help build his confidence.

cookie; mashy: he's jan 06 de, when he's younger he dont crawl only learn how to walk. than i heard frm my MIL that my hubby has this problem too.. even till he is 4yrs old he's afraid of going across over head bridges! but now all's well and alive and kicking! LOL. he's done the review at 2 but so far so good, he's been to kkh for therapy when he's 2, but all they do is ask him to climb up and down up and down the steps. so i stopped the session and do it on my own.. im living on the 4th floor the LUP is not ready yet so i always take the flight of steps up. go playground lagi headache. i got to stand around his area to jaga him from being pushed.

another problem im facing now is he is in pre-nursery now.. BUT he's still crying when i let him in in the mornings.. 5days a week crying at least 2times a week. dunno y =(

Rykiel
Just have to continue to encourage him to take the stairs. Make it a fun process. Like counting the number of steps to your house each time you take the stairs. Count in English/Mandarin/Dialect... get him counting too. That's what I do with my boy when he's actively wanting to climb up and down the stairs. Now I'm quite laxed with my boy when he's at the playground. I will still keep an eye on him but no longer hanging around him like a bodyguard.

I think just got to keep encouraging him to go for it, to reassure your boy that it is ok, that mummy and daddy is always here.

Crying in the mornings in pre-nursery is common. I guess what helps is asking if he likes his teachers and friends and reminding him that you always so pick him up from school.

mamachan

haha, i do that too. So now my boy will count when he takes the stairs.

Rykiel
Crying in sch is very common. He still cries during separation time but will be ok after a while. How abt your boy? Does he continue crying?

mamachan/mashy/rykiel
I used to do the counting with my gal too and now I have another activity... finding the correct floor. If I parked my car on A4, we will go hunting where is A4 by reading the sign on each level. K1 will be looking fwd to read the sign if we at the right level after every flight of stairs she climb

it actually took my mind off the climbing too hee..

Rykiel
Dun bother with the routine checkup at the Polyclinic. They do nothing more than just ask if our child can climb stairs, perhaps if really have prob they might refer you to KKH or what but since u've already been to KKH so I suppose can forget it.

mamachan;mashy;cookie,

he loves counting the steps thou. hur. at times he will do shortcut 1 ..2 ...4..7..TEN!!!! than hurrying wana get home.. he can find his way home by recognizing the number plate n the corridors.
he always whimpers when u tell him gg to sch, he will tell me he wants to visit the barber, go for his daily walk, go shopping, go bowling, bathe,brushteeth etc. just everything but going to sch. but when its weekends, u ask him about sch, he will sing the songs he does there.. tell me he like his teacher blahblah. haha..
i guess the best part abt climbing the stairs is we get to exercise and sing.. haha. else whole day at home no sweat! LOL! thanks all mummies for your great advise and help! =*)

Rykiel
Seems like your boy does enjoy school...perhaps it's the temporal separation in the mornings bah. I'm sure they will get over it in due time. Just focus on the positive side of going to school, ask him about if he has any friends there, who is his best friend etc. Remind him that school has lots of toys as well.

It'll take time but I'm sure he's doing well, if not he won't mention his teacher and singing the songs he sang in school!

rykiel
how long has he started sch? i think it's just the morning separation anxiety. are u SAHM?

since i started to stay at home, my boy has been clinging to me more.

mamachan
yea, he luvs sch when there isnt sch. but turns grumpy when he's going to sch, only when he's in good mood, he will carry his own bag, walk into class, sit down and wave byebye.. hahaha

sy
he started in january 5th =)i missed day 1 of sch cos i thought friday so no sch! wahaha. yeaps im a sahm, time spend with him is too much.. hehe. since 2mths old ive been taking kare of him. stress. morning till nite taking kare of him, nw potty training him, then nite meddling with my blogshop. headache.

is potty training such a headache? he still forgets at times, pee a few drops in his undies.. *faint* , thn come running to me and says 'wet'wet'.. =Z

hello mummies! I am back from brisbane. Tis trip was a fruitful one with the massive sales gg on. Pumpkin patch for one is dirt cheap. 25% off sales item. A shirt comes up to less than 10 bucks. Saw so many nice girly clothings. Keep sighing to hb that too bad we have no girl. Hahaa...but nope we are not trying.

J on the other hand was so active..does not want to be carried or be in the pram. He will simply shout if he dun get his way. In the end, 2 monkeys running ard the shop while we tried to shop. It was a real challenge indeed. We went to both sea world and movie world but i think the former is more suitable for the kids tat has the sesame st theme. My kids were excited to see their fav ernie and elmo up close and personal. Overall it was a gd break bonding with e kids. It does help tat we are on par with the aussie currency. Now its time to recuperate our pockets. Hahaa.

I was browsing thru the threads and C was admitted for bronchites thrice and doc said most likely to be asthmastic like his dad. TMC strongly recommend nebu which is more effective. Exact words tat KY shared. We bot one for standby and brought it along for any vacation. C was also prescribe singulair for few mths intake but has stopped. Personally, I am the type tat is against taking medicine unnecessary. Even when i have fever i dun like popping panadol. Unlike hb who likes popping pills for small matters. Hahh..guess tats wat they said opp attracts

Noticed that alot of the toddlers are sick. Hope they get well soon.

I am down with flu and cough too. Hopefully Jamie won't catch it from me. I just started a new hobby since doc ask me to rest at home as much as I can. Very long didn't scrap and didn't go buy paper. So I grab a few old cloth and started sewing booties. My first hand-sewn booties completed today.

2162463.jpg

CL,
Daytime rest too much already. Night time wide awake. hehe. Going to deliver soon so got problem falling asleep at night too.

Tracie,
Yah, I hope it's BH contractions... I don't remember having such contractions when I had Isaac. Now, the contractions can be quite painful, and I will worry that I have pre-term labour!

May,
very nice booties you have made!

cookie,
Forward the pdf file to you liao.

Re. Yellow stains / spots on old clothes
I took out Isaac's newborn clothes from the storeroom and they were covered with yellow stains and dotted with yellow spots! Any idea how to remove the stains? I'm worried bleaching will remove the colours as well. My HB says don't bother and buy new ones... and I thought having a 2nd boy means can save money on clothes!

Maybe the clothes were stored away for too long... more than 2 years.

Rykiel

Haha, it's prob separation anxiety. Everytime i ask my boy if he likes school, he'll say no in the morn before school and yes after school. If his daddy asks him, he always say no. He just wanna be with his daddy all the time. Daddy's boy!

mashy,
haha, i'm also terminating my part-time maid in punggol. Somehow, after 3years she begin to 'relax' and recently come at 915am, end at 1245pm but charge me 4hr instead of 3.5hr. I wouldn't mind if its once in awhile, but its been happening like almost every week already. I 'lugi' half hour per week!

Anyone got recommendation for punggol area?

Re:pilates
Oh ya, anyone got recommendations for Pilates classes? Thinking of signing up Pilates for 'body.mind.soul.' hehehe..

tracie

sama sama. Mine has been getting very laxed and didn't clean stuff properly. Instead of coming in at 2pm as before, she now comes at 3pm. Since my MIL is terminated her contract, so I'm also using this opportunity to change her.

Something that brighten's my day.

I was in pain on Friday , so decided to go for accupunture and also tuina.. but in the night as i was feeding #2 i felt intense pain the lower back and my legs . i was so in pain that i cried badly. elijah was in a shock the he tooka tissue and clean my face

Eliajh said as he clean my face: mummy dun cry.. didi noti.. make mummy cry.. mummy dun cry .. where pain pain.. then he climbed up the bed and kissed me on the face and pat my head then he said again

mummy dun cry .. I take care of you and sayang you.. then he turn to my hubby and say .. Sorry daddy.. I am sleeping with mummy.. I take care of her.

so touch.. all pain seems to be gone..

then in the night he sleep so close and kiss me then say mummy .. i take care of you ok.. and pat me to sleep..

sometimes he really touches my heart.. even tho my back still hasn't recover but with his words and love .. its all worth it..

Rena,
Elijah very sweet...big boy le and so dong shi!

ChildrenFirst
I just signed up for the In The Garden Play for 15th Mar, 11am. Anyone else going for the Children's First?

rena
elijah is so sweet!!! my gal only did to me when she's younger, now, she no longer did that to me. so sad...

Mamapanda,
Sure, let me know when and how much to transfer. : ) My response might be slower in late Feb and early Mar though - exams and projects due...

Rena,
That's so sweet....

Queen,
CAn send me the PDF file too? Am keen to read and find out more.

Re: Asthma
Charmaine's on neb and I have the aerochamber at home as well. I find the neb more effective. Aileen, for the aerochamber to be effective, you really need to hold the child and make sure that they take in the meds? I used to observe the yellow flap of the aerochamber.

CL,
Need me know how the water fun thing goes? Thought of sending Charmaine for proper swimming lessons ....

Tracie,
I like Pilates too! Used to do it at the gym - my muscles really felt very stretched and relax after a session...

rena
so sweet of Elijah...

jh also did something that touched me. he came back from sch on fri and kept telling me he has something to show me. he took out a present from his bag and went Mama happy valentine's day! my first present this year.

sl
i m also keen to sign jh up for swimming lessons. hope it helps his cough.

rykiel
for me i din really potty train my boy. he was just ready. and sch helped. he went to sch in underwear for 2 days and after that was fine.

think your boy is just separation anxiety. he will get over in a while.

rena - aww...so sweet of Elijah. Guess he is one of those SNAG - sensitive new age guy

May -ur booties are lovely. The last time i actually sew somethg was in my home econs lessons during my sec sch. Hahaa.. Come to sewing, i am just hopeless. I still remember i broke 1 needle and have to pay 50 cents for it. Hehee..

Mummies, C has not been wearing diaper for the past 3 nights and so far so gd. So happy! It all started when we forgot to wear for him for 1 night and realised he did not wet the bed. So it was a gamble we took tat paid off.

SSF,
You are very early.

Thanks. But I just sew for fun. Not sure must wait until when then I will start holding needles again. Cos I will be delivering soon.

Wow, that's daring. Till now I still dun dare to remove Jamie's diaper at night. She still missed it sometimes. So we decided not to take any chance first.