(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Need to check with u all.
Anyone know where to buy WELLA DRY SHAMPOO (Powder Form) for confinement to dry-wash hair?

may

erm, medical halls? i remember them selling the dry shampoo...

mamachan
i hope it'll happen soon, else i really dunno what goes on in school.

mashy
They don't have a communications book? Sometimes when I pick up my boy, I will ask his teachers how he had been in school. I'm more concerned with his rough-housing with the younger children as he is bigger sized than them!

Growth
I didn't realize how tall D got until we went to the PD last night. He's now 105cm tall and 19.5 kg! No wonder i could barely carry him for long without him sliding down...even my hb finds it tiring to carry him.... I was abit paranoid if he's overweight...but the PD assured me that he is in the 97th percentile. So long he is tall, his weight is acceptable.

Scary...he's now more than half my height!!!

Mamachan,
Wow! D is big! Is it in the genes? Isaac is only 98cm and 13.8kg.

May,
Er... you don't intend to wash hair at all? I don't know about the dry shampoo, but I always felt that for thorough clean, water is still the best! Wash your hair with normal shampoo but rinse with really warm water with herbs. Should be ok?

rachel,
How's Devan's latching? I think as long as he's contented after every latch, it means you are producing enough and he's extracting enough. No need to worry about having to express the breast that's not emptied. Your body will adjust accordingly to Devan's demand and regulate the amount of milk produced. Like Tracie, I don't bother pumping after latching. I just make sure that I start with the unemptied breast for the next latching session. The pump will never extract as much as an effective latch.

Queen
Could be my hb's genes bah. My MIL always like to boast to say that my hb was a big baby, blah blah blah.... stressed me when D was just an infant. She can't even carry him now... But D has got a hearty appetite! Really eats alot for his meals...he doesn't snack as much. He can now polish off a bowl of rice with some meat and veg!

luckyvitamin spree
The backorders have arrived and the packages have been shipped to Portland and are expected to arrive at the port on 17 Feb. I'll proceed to calculate the shipping charges and let you know how much to transfer to me.

We should be able to receive both packages around 23 Feb if vpost doesn't screw up.

mamachan: 19.5kg! so envy!
my son is only 13kg+. others keep saying he's underweight.

mamachan

wow oh wow! My boy just crossed the 12kg mark and weighs 12.2kg. He's only 89cm. I think he's the shortest here. So short. sigh. Hopefully he'll grow tall during his puberty.

The weird thing is, there is supposed to be a comms book. But dunno why till now it's still not given to us. Wenyl called them abt it before and the principal is supposed to give to us.

They do update us in general terms on what's going on the the month in a monthly bulletin. But that's abt all. Other than that, we've to really find an opportunity to talk to the teacher. Guess for C now, no news is good news.

Mashy.
at least C does not need to use an EZlink card when taking public transport....Damien fell sick recently..think he lost some weight. Can see his guitar string now. My dad keep giving me pressure to bring him to TMC. What can i do, he tends to fall sick so easily.

mamachan,

i still remembered when the first time i saw Daren when you passed me the bumbo seat.
He is so tiny and never expect him to be one of the biggest and tallest bb in this thread.

Damien is still so skinny even still wearing his 1-2 yr old clothes...save $$$.

Belinda

That's what my hb said too. But now is not the time to be concerned with that. I rather pay than have him not growing well.

Poor damien! TMC? Or u mean TCM? C also falls sick easily. Did Damien get the flu vaccine? I think it's gd for the sickly kids to get that.

Queen,
Last time round I started washing on day 2. Then alternate days. I was thinking of having a stricter confinement now. Hopefully with this dry shampoo can hold on for at least two weeks. This dry shampoo (powder form) heard just need to sprinkle on hair then scrub with finger, after that comb it off. It will not itch and will leave a nice smell.

I tried alot of medical hall but cannot find powder foam already. They have the spray kind. Not sure if it is as good.

Mamachan,
Wow.. D is very tall. Maybe like daddy's size next time? Last weigh J at 17.1kg but think she had lost some weight due to the CC incident.

mamachan,
D is of very good wt!
Good appetite too!

May,
hmm..i got Klorane's hair spray during my #2 confinement. i used once, and hated it then never use liao. During full mth, then i wash my hair.

Oily
aiyoh....heavy doesn't mean it's a very good thing...I wish he was slightly lighter or average weight... coz it makes me concern if he will be overweight in future.

Belinda/Mashy/Sept03Bride
D was definitely not the biggest baby in this thread, he was 52cm and weighed 3.55kg at birth, think some were more sumo than him! I'm grateful that he loves his milk and loves his food. Am controlling his rice intake esp at night since not as active during the day and he drinks milk before he sleeps at night. But I cannot control his portion in school, his teachers tells me that he will always ask for 2nd helping and he seemed so hungry.

The only thing I can control is not introducing him to sweet drinks (other than occasional juices) and adult snacks and sweets. So much so that he doesn't even eat those vitamin gummies!

Belinda
There was a period of time where my boy was very prone to flu/cough. Nowadays, it's so much better. Even if he gets running nose, he recovers much quicker. My family doctor has placed him on a course of Zaditen for 6 months to "strengthen" his lungs and prevent him from falling ill too frequently. Even if cough/flu, the phlegm is more on the nasal area rather than lungs. Apparently I heard Zaditen will also cause them to have good appetite (though it's not for this purpose). Perhaps you can ask your PD on this.

mamachan, does D take any powder milk? possible to cut that? a fren's son is 30kg at 6 and she's worried that he's overweight. My 6-yr old is 20 kg, and a fren's 6-yr girl is 16 kg (but she's underweight)... or get him to exercise more?

mashy, mine also just tip the scale at 12kg and just under 90cm. i very happy already coz he was stagnant at 10kg for very very long ... anyway, i'm quite happy he's not tall. If can save on tic, I'll claim he's under 3, but if need to be above 3 then can go play, he's officially 3. :-> me n hubby not very tall so how tall can they go ...

oh, btw, realize I owe u the list of stuff that u can do to help him extend his attn span at home ... give me sometime n i'll pm u.

may, blow bubbles, as in the stick with bubble solution.

.ky.

mamachan,
damien is also in very good appetite but only thing is that he fall sick easily.
since jan09, he already visited GP at least 5 times.
Zaditen help to build his immunity system?? Will check with our family doctor next time.
He just visited last monday. Not fully recovered since CNY.

SY
my mum is helping me with confinement and jaga dylan. so most time devan is me to handle. today so far he is napping well, hope this goes on.

tracie
ic ic. thanks for your tips, i shall try your method and see how it works out. had tried 5hrs without pump and end up my breast like stone and painful. took me quite awhile to massage and empty that breast. for now i had a few bags of EBM in my freezer, slowly giving it to dylan. hee luckily he still drinks.

queen
devan's latching is quite powerful. i tried pumping after he latched and only manage to get like 10ml out. so i guess he is extracting well. thanks for your advice, will try out not to empty my breast tonight and see how it goes =)

may
i wash my hair on the 3rd day liao. really cannot tahan the itch. i used shampoo and warm ginger water to wash.

KY
He's still taking his powdered milk. 3 times a day and no more than that. Sometimes he skips the afternoon milk feed which I'm fine with that. He's a very active boy. Other than school activities in the morning, when back home after his nap, my helper would bring him to the playground the play and run around. He's not fat per se, just "muscular". Think it could be his bone density. My family doctor/PD didn't warrant any immediate concerns. But I'm watchful of his other intakes.

LuckyVitamin Spree Payment
I've managed to compute the total costs, shipping inclusive for the spree already. Here's the summary :

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Payment </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slinky</TD><TD>$143.31 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashybrainz</TD><TD>$111.01 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slyeo</TD><TD>$135.66 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chilles</TD><TD>$65.23 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wenyl</TD><TD>$78.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>TOTAL</TD><TD>$534.20 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

I've already paid upfront for everyone, so that's why I did not collect any monies from you earlier. If u wish to know the breakdown of the computations, let me know and I'll post it up here.

May,
Don't use the spray type. Not good. I used the powder type, Klorane, available from watson's, guardian. Must go to the Klorane exclusive display or ask the staff. I survived without washing my hair until the day we celebrated the full month.

belinda,
i can totally empathize with u. i have seen the doc more than 5 times this year. just in the last 24 hrs. i have seen 3 times. it's Ty. he's asthmatic. so now doc give him puff to use on a regular basis. he falls sick every month. like damien, barely just recovered last week. now down again. blame it on my hb lah. coz asthma is genetic. can't cure. can only control. and hopefully they outgrow it.

zaditen,
btw i did ask my pd this morning if zaditen will help coz some of my friends children takes it and supposedly helps. but my pd said puff is better in ty's case. anyways, diff children, diff problem, so diff treatment. best to check with ur PD.

Aileen
Agreed that different conditions call for different treatments. My boy is not asthmatic...but when he was 1 yr plus tend to fall sick with flu and cough accompanied by fever... there was once where the phlegmy cough was so bad (when he was 1 year plus), they had to nebu him... so that's when they started him on Zaditen for 6 months. Since then even when he has cough/flu he recovers much faster and not so bad.

RE: Zaditen &amp; flu vaccine

My boy is on zaditen &amp; singulair for a very long time already. I think it helps him in some ways coz when he falls sick, it doesn't get so bad until need nebulizer. But it could also be the flu vaccine that he took at the end of last yr.

Belinda
I think flu vaccine is able to prevent certain strains of flu. Coz my boy very sickly and each time he falls sick, it's very jia lut type. But after the flu vaccine last yr, now his flu isn't so serious. Just mild runny nose and cough and it doesn't attack his lungs till he gets bronchitis.

Zaditen does help my boy to put on some weight altho his appetite till seems the same.

ky
TIA. My hb 175, the men in my family all very tall. My bro 180 i think and so is my dad. So I'm hoping he doesn't get my shortie genes.

Mamapanda
Thanks, appreciate if u could give me a breakdown.

wow din realise I missed out so much things in this thread.

Rachel, Sleepingdeer
your #2 are both so cute. Love to see babies now. So many in my office popping one after another too.

Wenyl, Mashy
Aden loves to call Cheng's A by full name too because that is the way he can differentiate himself. Flo's Mel will call Aden by full name too I guess for the same reason to differentiate Cheng's A. Realli cute

Short Tongue
Ha ha Aden is oso one and I realli feel uncomfortable when some people commented in hokkien that is is " Chao Yi Dai". Most of the time I can understand but sometimes I realli cannot make out what he wants to say.

The other day, we were at Flo's place and Aden was trying to tell Cheng that Aidan and Mel was fighting but we dun even know what he was talking about.

Sysac
I am trying out a class this weekend at Waterfun. Will update you if it is good

Sorry sidetrack, I am ordering liferacer thermal swimsuit at 30-40% discount and need 16 pieces. Now I have 11. Just need another 5 pieces to enjoy discount. Do pm me for the email from supplier so we can enjoy discount together

Re. Flu / cough / asthma
Wow, it's a problem that is more common than I thought!
Isaac was a really healthy boy till last May when he started school and was down almost every month for phlegmy cough. The frequency just keep increasing till Oct last year when he started on puff. He can be down for 2 weeks or more, recover and about 1-2 weeks later down again. That's when we brought him to a PD (we usually go to the GP).
PD diagnosed that Isaac has a sensitive respiratory system and always suffer inflammation in the lungs which is causing the phlegm. And that Isaac has cough-related asthma which is supposedly temporary and will eventually be resolved as he grows older. In the meantime, she put Isaac on Flixotide puff and combined with Ventolin puff if he coughs very hard. Isaac has to puff twice a day for 3-6 months and after that will review and see if he can stop puffing. Sigh...
Me and HB has spent a lot of $$$ at the PD for this problem cos even the puff is not a miracle cure. It is a long term treatment. So in between Isaac will still be coughing whenever he catches a virus, just that the puff will help to reduce the frequency and severity.
Isaac had a bacteria infection just before CNY and he was coughing really hard. For the first time, we had to nebulise him. Now he's back on the puff and is not on any other meds for almost 2 whole weeks. I'm crossing my fingers!!!

Aileen,
Is Ty on the Flixotide puff as well? Since starting on the puff, my PD told me to record down on a calendar whenever Isaac has a bout of coughing episode or days which he is coughing very hard or has a lot of phlegm so that we can monitor the effectiveness of the puff. I think it helps to keep a record.

Mamachan - Wow, D is tall! C was 94 cm when we saw his NUH PD in Dec 2008. Weight was about 14.1kg when we saw another PD for his mid-ear infection just b4 CNY. Prob put on a bit since then cos his appetite is good.

CL - Have fun at Water fun! Let me know. Thanks!

queen

we figured that C is going to start a new school and will probably catch new bugs, so we decided to give him flu vaccine to help him counter the more serious bugs as well as for his trip to HK last yr.

So far this yr, he had cough twice, first one lasting 1 week, 2nd one just started coz i spread to him. But both times also no need to go on nebulizer and no fever. Phew!

Funny his PD never introduced puff to him. Just zaditen &amp; singulair. And in his worst episodes will be put on nebulizer.

mashy,
I gave Isaac the flu vaccine last August, and even after that he is down with cough so often! There was a period of time that he was down so often last year that it's really exhausting on us. Sigh. I really hope the puff will help.
My PD didn't introduce Zaditen. But she did say that if the current Flixotide puff is not effective, she will try a different medicine like Singulair. I did an online check on Singulair (I have a habit of reading up online on every medication prescribed to Isaac and Isaac has taken Singulair once a long time ago). Singulair is actually asthma medication that can be used to prevent and treat chronic asthma. If C is not asthmatic, why does his PD give him Singulair? Maybe Singulair helps to control violent cough...

Aileen,
it must be very tough on you with 2 young sick and sticky children. (Read your blog)

Re. Flu / cough / asthma
my # was on ventolin puff for almost 2mths due to his sensitive nose that caused phlegmy cough.
think damien is just like Isaac, only when he started school. Frequency almost once a month.
my mum said that lucky the children medical bill was fully subsidy by my hb's co insurance.

queen

If isaac has 3 episodes of cough that leads to bronchitis in a year, then it's asthma already. My boy is according to his PD.

I guess it's gotta do with being in a new environment with kids, that's why he gets cough so often. When C was in infant care, he was sick all the time too. Apparently, it's the same for all kids. It's to help build their immunity. Even they don't get them now, they'll get them in Pri school. MAybe that's why C is not as sick and doesn't get sick as much nowadays, coz he had 'fulfilled his quota'. hahaha.

For singulair, my PD usually prescribe it as a 2nd line of defence. First is Zaditen. Then add singulair. Once he's doing well, he'll be off singulair, then later Zaditen.

Now c's med is very simple. Daily Zaditen &amp; singulair. If he coughs, out comes ventolin syrup. If there's phlegm, mucoslovan is added. If fever 3 days or if cough persists for 1 week, then I'll send him to PD. We've all the meds ready at home all the time.

my son used to fall sick almost every mth when he started childcare. but improved alot after we gave him vit C every day and flu jab since last yr.

luckyvitamin spree
Please hold all payments. The shipping weight I've received from vpost is slightly different from the shipping weights I got from UPS. I'll keep u advised again once the other package arrives at vpost and I've received the 2nd bill from vpost. It is likely to be same or slightly higher than the current shipping charges.

As for credit card charges, I've calculated based on exchange rate of 1.7 . From the previous spree we did in December, the interbank rate was about the same as the current rate but the credit card's rate was 1.71 when I got the statement. I had calculated based on 1.6 for the spree so, in the end, everyone had to top up the differences.

As for shipping charges, I am calculating based on the weight charges I got from UPS when they send out the packages. It is usually quite accurate but sometimes, there are some differences. As for proportioning of the charges, I simply take your item's shipping weight (posted by luckyvitamin) divided by the shipping weight of your box, divided by the total weight of both packages, multiplied by the total weight charges (incl base charge). In other words, its your item's proportion of the weight of your box over the total weight of all boxes in the spree. This is because some items are much heavier than others and some boxes are bigger than others (hence a heftier volumetric charge).

FYI just in case you're wondering how I derived at the values.

mashy
Ya lor.. blood suckers who use govt bail outs to give themselves big fat bonuses. Now their business bad, they charge us arm n legs. Anyway, I might be receiving the bill pretty soon. Once I receive the bill and the actual charges are lower, I'll refund u the differences. If they charge anything higher than 1.7 I'm gonna complain big time.

seems like quite a few of our children here are asthmatic. hope they will all grow out of it when they are older. my PD is so not pro nebuliser coz of the high steroid levels. yet i'm so keen to neb my boy coz it's really tiring both for him and me. he can't sleep coz he has difficulty breathing. he doesn't take to the puff so it's almost impossible to administer the ventolin puff on him. think i'll need to find a PD who's pro nebbing and prescribe me with the medication. i'm so tired from all the sleepness nights.

not sure how true this is going to be s..just sms 2009 to 79777 and you will enjoy sentosa, jurong birdpark, national museum, singapore river cruises' bumbboat and S'pore flyer to FREE.

Aileen
You wanna consider seeking 2nd opinion? I find the family clinic/PD at Bt Merah not bad. Run by a elderly doctor couple and they specialise in children as well. The wait is not very long either. I gave up going to the PD at Tiong Bahru Plaza and had been bringing D to see this family clinic for the past 2 years. PM me if you are keen for their contacts. One thing about them they even open on Sunday mornings!

Belinda

U have to be the first 2009 at each of the promo weekend to get the free entry.

Check out www.visitsingapore.com/2009reasons for more info.

Aileen
My PD is more pro-nebu, so usually if C has fever and wheezing, he'll be on nebu. He's at AMk SBCC, pm me if u want his contact.

mamapanda
Crazy credit card company! Dunno how they work out the exchange rates.

i stopped bringing damien to PD at SBCC (geneagles) liao coz the medicine there do not work on him.
I brought him to the GP @ Beauty World...good but long waiting time. Prehaps you want to give a try since it is very near your house.

mamachan/mashybrainz,
thanks for the contact. but it's too far for me.

Belinda,
does the GP @ beauty world open in the evenings as well? and is he pro neb? what kind of medication does he give damien. sorry so many questions. tia!

alieen,

They open in the evening, doctor will only come around 8pm in the evening.
Sms me if you want the the clinic number.

I am not sure if he is pro neb or not coz we have not encounter it before.

Can't really remember his recent medication.
Cough : Ventolin (for very bad cough) and also something in Red color for normal cough
Phlegm : orange color - sorry cannot remember the name
running nose : green color Cholorime (not sure if i spell correctly) and also either nose drop and nose cream

Aileen,
If Ty has difficulty breathing, he needs the ventolin. In fact, the puff is much quicker and easier to administer. If Ty doesn't like the puff, he most likely will not take to the nebulizer as well. Nebulizing is also only a temporary treatment. If the problem is prolonged, then I guess puff is the way to go.

Mamapanda,
Just out of curiosity, what is the credit card that you use? I'm also buying stuff from US, I must make sure that I don't use the same card!

belinda,
thanks for ur info. i got ur sms as well.

queen,
i find it hard to give him the ventolin when he's awake. oh well, i guess nebbing him is tough too coz he will struggle. but i feel that nebbing him is more effective coz the dosage is much stronger. so at least at night he can sleep well. now even thou i use the ventolin on him, he still can't sleep well.