(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

CL,

Dun go for contract job. My friend initially was on contract, (still can enjoy the benefits) but now become 3rd party contract.
I alway feel very insecure for contact job...unless very high salary.

CL,
Ya. A new cherie hearts outlet opening up near my MIL place. maybe go there.

Thinking of changing job too...but scared. Sighz

mashy
that is good news leh. Ha ha feel like having my own car. But ha ha commitment, petrol, parking, ERP , maintenance ha ha not cheap

Aileen
I had an Open Water Diving license, but that was 6 years back!!! I don't think I can have proper bouyancy under water liaoz!!!! LOL!

MamaPanda
Don't worry too much about TTC! The best things always come unexpected yah? =)

Mashy
Can't tell you are 35 eh!!

CL/Belinda

Hahah, i just wanna upgrade my car. Still driving my old car with a transplanted butt. But still got huge loan to settle.

Belinda
My husband say I silly. Why happy over the COE $2 unless you driving the car for 10 years. He say the price of car is not reducing much and the COE rebate is zero when next time you want to sell the car. He says no point. ha ha

Mashy
Me too cannot tell you are 35. ha ha you look so much younger man. I still think you are xiao mei mei to me , now you my senior for 1 year.

MamaPanda,

Dun worry lah .. you will get what your hearts desire. dun get stress up over TTC.. still young ok. you and me same age mah... go for a short trip ok.. maybe comeback preggy..

# Jobs..

Current market is still nt a bad hit yet. soon to come . but those who are employing are the more stable companies. but it is good to stay at your job for now to look at the situation.

CL

hahaha 35 still xiao mei mei. hahahaha. sometimes i do think that the teenage years just flashed by me and the years go faster than my mind. Hahahaha. But my body is indeed getting old. Already a lot more sicknesses and probs. sigh. We really aren't that young anymore.

Mashy
it is quite true. I think when I preggy with Aden not much maternity related sickness or nauseous but aiyo everyday like pig. Go home ask charmaine let's sleep ha ha

CL/Belinda/Mashy
Haha, I was telling my hb about the COE prices and surprisingly (for a man who used to own a car and painfully had to let it go), told me that now having a car is a liability, the moment we own it, it just depreciates, unlike money sitting in a bank where $1000 stays as $1000. LOL... am proud of him for having such a thinking but also can vomit blood coz there goes my "dream" of owning a vehicle for convenience sake....especially when we are TTC for #2. hahaha

mamachan,
sama sama, i only got open water. and that was more than 7yrs ago! :p I'm opposite of you, i'm very bouyant, too bouyant... always keep surfacing... ARGH!!

mamachan,

i told my hb that i still enjoyed the time when only 2 of us on the bike..hahahhaaha
he used to be like your hb..until we have our first car..then everytime on the road he will tell me which car he want to change...very fickle minder.
really duno what to say as the current car is only 1 yr old.

aileen
Maybe u didn't carry enough of weights? I'm also quite bouyant so I gotta carry quite a lot of weight in my belt to reduce my bouyancy. Lost 1 of my fins during my last dive cuz the strap snapped when I was being attacked by a school of small barracuda so I haven't dived since then. Mu hb doesn't like the sea so its been a long time since i stepped foot into the sea already. My diving equipment all mouldy already so I took them out last month to clean them up alittle.

Mamapanda/Aileen
Maybe once we're all done with having children can go on a diving trip =P. I think I will need refreshers course!!!

Belinda
I guess my hb is now used to life without a car these past 5 years...coz I've been drilling into him how good our public transport actually are and that even if we take taxi everyday (if we want to be indulgent), still won't cost more than the monthly overheads we need to pay for the car and don't have to worry about parking and additional parking fees. I think I drilled in him too well. LOL.

Zhimin,
Really envy u leh, still hoping for #3.
I will be 29 when I give birth to #2 next Apr. Already surrender. No more energy to handle with kids. J is draining my energy now as hb is working late for these few mths. Can't imagine if got to handle 2 gals next yr.

May

You're still so young!!! C'mon, u need to have more energy than an old lady like me!

Zhimin
I'm so glad that I'm preggy before i hit 36. It will be just 1mth away from my 36th birthday when i deliver #2.

mamachan
Your hb hasn't counted in inflation. The money in the bank doesn't stay $1000. It gets lesser each day in terms of value. But of course the car depreciates even faster.

But for me, it's more for the convenience. I can't imagine having to drag C in public transport. I'll sooner die of stress from trying to keep in from running into the MRT tracks. That day just brought him for his flu jab I already 'peng san'. He was running all over. When I'm registering him, he'll run off and i've to catch him many times. Then when paying, also same thing. And kept crying, wanted me to open up his sweet for him. Argh! I hope #2 will be a less active kid.

Mashy
hahaha, he's still more for having a proper disposable income that we can save up on for future family travel trips and having the spare cash to spend. Where I'm staying is convenient for both of us to go to work with public transport. My boy is used to taking bus and MRT so is well behaved when outside and will sit down. Usually on MRT, he'll still be seated in stroller. I just strap him up so he can't run and be much of a mischief. We are blessed to have the convenience of a vehicle whenever my relatives are out of town and need us to car-sit for them. LOL. But most of the time, it sits in our parking lot. More useful for evening errands and weekends.

May
We're still young eh.... *winks*. Perhaps Jaime will be better when next year comes...older and more "ting hua"

wow..so many mummies here who are divers. i have always wanted to take up but in the end ..gone with the wind when i was expecting. haha...

belinda - ya i also missed the time when 2 of us are on the bike. no need to pay for car park in malls. and in puiblic car park, just a few cents for the whole day.

mamchan/mashy - i think investing in property is still the best after all. hopefully i can own a second property soon after paying off my hdb.

May
haha... i will be 35 in another 3 years or so, i not sure by the time i still got energy or not and whether financially allowed me to have #3 or not la... have to see when the time come. And my #2 is very active... cannot stand him. haha.

Belinda/SSF
ya i also miss the time only hb and me on bike leh hehe...

haha so we have a few biker's mummies here too. my hb is still bike siao. he bought a second hand bike abt half a year ago as a transport. but now no extra helmet for me to sit.

mamachan - ya aiming to clear current loan first. cos it's bank loan...interest is too high. then slowly aim to buy a second property so that when we retire, as least got a steady flow of income coming in. hee...can also pass down to my sons. one each ..no fighting.

anyone has any suggestions for a halal restaurant that serves vegetarian food as well? planning for my team's yr end party.

Jamie is quite ting hua but very sticky to me. I think she is trying to gain more attention. In order not to let her feel leftout, I got to spend more time with her. Really very tired.

Yday u all are talking abt pay cut and all that. I just come out from an urgent meeting held by our boss. We are being "encouraged" to work 4 days per week starting from Dec. For every friday, we are supposed to use our annual leave to clear. Those had no more leave will take no pay leave.

Was joking with my colleagues, maybe when I have my ML, they will call me and tell me no need to come back already.

mamapanda,
i don't know leh.. i put on alot of weights already but still... maybe i suck in too much air. must always remind myself to empty my lungs so that i can sink further. ya it'll be cool to go diving together! i also can't remember all the theories about diving. definitely need a refresher course!

Mashy

Mamapanda
Dun stress take it easy. I'm probably the oldest mommy here. Already hit my 37 mark so am kinda half hearted to try for #2

Mamapanda, Mamachan, Aileen
I also have an Advanced Open Water Diving licence...but has been more than 5 years since I last dive. I can't wait for Mel to grow up so that I can do stuff like diving, roller blading with her....haha

CL, Belinda, Aileen
Yes I think more retrenchment to come next year, economies are at a stand still now cos a lot of companies can’t get financing. Anyway, we had a pat talk session 2 weeks ago to manage our expectation on bonus. So depressing to go to work everyday, endless bad news!

Mashy - thanks for the link. we have decide to lunch at carousel in royal scotts

may - i think u shld be safe for now as you are preggy. they cannot ask u to leave.

SSF/May

It depends on whether you belong to the 'protected' pp under MOM. Coz lately there's a case of a preg lady got sacked but MOM say cannot do anything coz she's not 'protected' under the laws. She's gotta engage a lawyer to fight for her benefits.

MOM should include everyone not just those in the lower income brackets.

Florence
You for once definitely do not look 37!!! Thought you still early 30s!! Still can try for #2! You still exercise regularly right? Should be ok lah....coz exercise keeps the body age young...I think you're way fitter than I am.

May
paycut is better than not having a job anymore. So I guess this is just temporary until things get better.

finally back and somewhat settled down, thanks for all the good wishes! Been so busy that we haven't even taken photos of Lauren after the first day...

The name just popped up and it became very natural to call baby Lauren, so it was really easy naming her compared to S!

May,
Lauren's middle name starts with a 'M', Lauren Mikaela.

Other M names could be Marissa, Madelene...

Aileen,
try for no 3, then you can use the name Lauren, heehee!

Re: Open Water
I used to dive too! Got my license a loooong time ago, then did refresher... loved diving sooo much, i managed to see turtles, barracuda, sea slugs, baby sharks, Squid (they can sure change their colours to the exact hue of the rock they are hiding on!)... really pity I dun dive anymore, gave all my equipment away, I miss those dive trips, the salty sea breeze, and water drying on your skin, sigh....

Mashy,
CONGRATS!!!! Really good news!

i remember some of you are interested in getting an air purifier some time back. Yesterday we had an in-house service by Delphin and really see the value of having one. It works as a vacuum cleaner, removal of dust mites and air purifier. we all know dust mites causes asthma and allergy. Price is very competitive with other brands thats in the market too!

they did a free vacuum service on our 5 years old queen size mattress and gosh what we saw was scary! she oso did a cleaning on dylan's mattress, pillows and soft toys and boy i was abit shock too =p

thinking some of you might be interested to know more and since they provide 1 time free service and demo, i had refer some of you to the sales person. she will contact you stating my name but no obligation if you not interested in having their free service. just tot to share with you all something worth getting as me and hb see the value in it =) really apologise that i did not ask for your premission 1st before refering some of you.

btw, as a token of appreciation from them, they will be giving a free gift to every house owner.

Sleepingdeer,
Welcome back. So does Lauren looks like jiejie?
How's Shannon's reaction to her baby sis? I am wondering how Jamie will react when she see her sis too.

Belinda,
Thanks.. I am clueless about this. Just go according to what boss say. Take turns to clear Annual Leave. Now I know it is 20% pay cut.

Mamachan/SSF/Mashy,
I am not sure if I am safe cos I am preggie. But only here for 1yr plus. So I think there is still some risk bah. Hope that it will pick up alittle after this "small sacrifices".

Sleepingdeer
does Lauren has beautiful eyes like Shannon too??
hee, cant wait to see her photos.

May
since now you are preggie, they can't ask you to go wor according to MOM. unless they willing to pay you 4 mths of ML. have a MTB in Jan09 thread kena, as co not doing good.
can see your company took the route of keeping you all rather than axing ppl, which is a good thing too.

I agree that what we see now with all the R thingy, is just the beginning. more world finanical issue like bad debts will surface..

was reading up the posting and sharing in BFing, hoho abit nervous liao. got to start all over again for me! the pain and soreness really turns me off =S

Rachel,
I am expecting the economy to get worse. Hope that I am wrong.

Belinda,
Thanks for the calculation.

Here's a pic of J with her toy car McQueen..
She is more interested in cars and train. How I wish she will be more interested in dolls.

1905720.jpg

sorry if i had scare you off..maybe i am more sensitive when it come to salary...coz i ever think of working 4 days per week but i need to face a 20% paycut.

Belinda,
No lar.. I told my colleagues and they were shocked too. It might seems to be just 1 day but the effect would be very much on the company. Hope it helps and I can still hold on to this job after I come back from ML.