(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

any of u mummies went to citygate outlet mall in HK? I understand that there's a Thomas & friends shop there. Wondering if it's worth going.

Mashy / Mamachan - Cel is also into MCD. once while when she behaves reali well, i treat her to happy meal, she loves the nuggets and can finish all 4 pcs, fries she also likes but will oni take a bit. lately shes into eating fried chicken wings whenever we cook them or order them while outside. she eats 2 pcs but each pc is always like half eaten oni hee...

god's child
D can really hi-five with Cel le...he's into eating chicken wings, esp the Ikea ones which I know it's so unhealthy!! He eats them at least once a month coz my mom would sometimes pick him up after his playgroup and then bring him to the nearby Ikea where they would have lunch (and mind you, my boy had his lunch in school!) and he can really finish off the whole chicken wing! He's very good and clearing every single meat off the bones and sucking off the bones! He even chewed on the soft cartilage of the chicken wing! If it's not chicken wings, he's into chicken nuggets, can polish off at least 5 pieces!!! We really do limit the eating of fast food for him! It's good that he still loves his regular meal of rice/quaker oats!

heehee mamachan,
u worried u will be bombarded for introducing fast food to D? I guess small amt and occasionally should be fine lar.
Caleb enjoys MCD's nuggets man. He can finish 4 pcs at 1 go and still wanna eat alot of fries *faintz*

mamachan

yah lah, a little bit ok lah. I scared next time C too deprived, cannot control himself, so kaki introduce to him first. Hehehe. He can't eat chicken anyway, so already miss out on a lot of stuff like chicken wings and nuggets. poor thing!

Sept03Bride
LOL! No Lah, am not worried for being bombarded, why should I be? =P Not as though I let him have fast food once a week =P I just worry that he'll grow really fat when he's older and need to go thru the tough-club program in school. I've seen how one of my younger cousins really balloon up until it's scary!!! By upper primary, he was wearing like XXL T-shirts!!!!

I think it's good for a child to eat a good variety of food... my #1 eats practically ANYTHING! It's so easy to feed him and so he does get his fair share of sinful food ... but when it comes to K (my #2), it can be VERY VERY painful ... imagine we have to force him to eat a spoonful of cake!

My #1 is just 19kg (and some boys are already tipping at over 20kg at this age) .... for the amt of food that he eats, that's not a lot, so I think he has very high metabolic rate.

.ky.

Keke me always cracking brain on how to make the food more interesting and tasty for the kids. Follow a recipe from wokkingmum again Fish Paste Udon. Did not get enough fish paste so added some pasta in.

1762378.jpg
1762379.jpg

The kids quite enjoy it. The fish paste udon is nice , soft soft one so very suitable for my kids
Did shredded snow pea to replace like spring onion but ha ha it din show on the picture

CL
Wow! Looks yummy wor! Well done! Am very sure it must be really satisfying to see Charmaine and Aden finish off everything in their bowl! =)

ky
Agreed that it really makes life easier for us when they can eat anything. I'm thankful that when we recently went Thailand, my boy was able to adapt to the food, or rather, it's easy for us to buy food from their shopping mall foodcourt to feed him his usual favourite dishes.

mashy
i ignore him when he cries. but he always purposely cry very loud.

re mac
hee my boy also loves mac. he doesn't like potatoes but he loves french fries!

CL
u really innovative. i have a maid and not even half as innovative as u! u still can prepare so many interesting stuff for your kids. think i shd start thinking of making food interesting for JH. he has been rejecting his food a lot so now i let him eat with us to tryto get him to eat more.

SY
I do not have choice because weekend I have to cook and cannot afford to have repeating one which they will be sick of quite easily. So have to learn from other mummies from their blog.

Then this month my mum is still taking care of the 2 kids on her own. So I must find out what they like most so I can prepare for her and she has less trouble making them eat.

Aden dun like rice so I must find other things that he likes. Now dinner, he always want to just drink 3 bowl of soup. ha ha

Raffles Place Lunch - 7 Oct , 1200 noon
1.Belinda
2.CL

Anyone else can join ?

mashy
i went to the thomas shop. they hv qt a good range, but to me, it's the same price as Sing, so I didnt buy, not like it was sale or what.. but, i recall that they seem to hv a few more unique stuff.. but majority can get in Sg.

Todd's bed
mummies, can share what todd bed did you change your todd to from the cot? Ger is still sleeping in his cot. We're thinking of changing him to either a Todd bed with side rails or to a single bed (and buy the saefty first guard rail - so tt he doesnt fall off the bed). Any suggestions? The Ikea one, the side rail seems qt low, so seems like Ger can still roll over and fall on the floor? I've not started shopping yet. Wonder whether the Todd bed is lower than single beds? so that it wont hurt so much when he falls off? TIA

any toddler here already on booster seat?

apparently my current carseat was given by my BIL and now BIL asked back from us for his bb so hb agreed to give it back to him.
so i told hb, why not get a cheaper carseat or a 2nd one. HB told me no. He intend to put a booster seat for damien instead.
I actually dun feel very comfortable to let damien on booster seat, specially when he is driving alone with damien.
sometime i really duno what is on his mind. We changed to a MPV becoz of the carseat take up space.
and very often that we will drive to m'sia and most of the time damien will fell asleep in the carseat.
Dun think that the bosster seat will be comfortable enuf fall him for the long journey.

krissie

i bought my todd bed from spotlight. It's a thomas the train bed. That time there was a promotion, so bought it cheaply.

This is taken from my hb's blog: http://alwinwoo.blogspot.com/2008/07/new-bed-for-caeden.html

So far my boy hasn't fallen off the bed. I think std beds should be ok bah. If u don't feel safe, then just add a mattress on the floor just in case. I find the ikea toddler beds too small. Will need to upgrade another round when they're in pri school coz too small.

belinda
i don't think it's safe for our kids to be on booster seats now. Coz the seat belts are still a little beyond them. I feel better to get a carseat for older kids since D is already bigger. These can sit until at least 8-9 yrs old i think and can skip the booster seat thing.

krissie,
Meg has been using the Ikea toddler bed for about a year already and has never fallen off
She will turn all directions when sleeping but somehow never fall off. We fixed the bed rail in the centre and not at the top as shown in the pic
1765923.jpg

mashy,

i agreed with you on the booster seat but duno how to convince my HB. I tot of just go ahead and new a new one without his knowing.

krissie
My mom passed to us one of the single-bed frame and mattress (meant for adults) to replace D's broken cot and his sleeping on the sofa bed. So far it's ok for him except that he will occasionally roll of his bed and land on my helper at night. Recently I just bought those portable bed-rail (think it's $45 or could be $35 - hb paid so I can't remember)and attached it to the side of the single bed. So far so good, eversince then he didn't fall off the bed.

mashy, tracy,
thanks for the quick reply. Hmm.. isnt it amazing that they dun fall off given that the bed rail is so low?

mashy
I was also thinking of getting a normal single bed, then add on bed rails. But, I dun think we can fit a single bed in his room, since we are moving Clare's cot over too, plus we already hv a built-in wardrobe, a chest of drawers and a big shelf....

mamachan
thanks, i was also thinking of getting the bed rail, think it's safety first brand.

belinda
i think that they are too young for booster now. My worry is that the kids can actually fly out of the seat belt, since it's not as secure as the child seat and they're too small for the adult seat belt. just my thoughts.

queen
just saw tt you're preggie.. Big Congrats!!!

Belinda,
I have transferred Isaac to a car seat. Isaac hates the car seat now and there is no way I can get him to sit in one without him whining and crying after 5 mins. So I switched to booster seat and surprisingly, he was ok with it. He'll fall asleep sometimes in the booster seat and he'll lean against me or I'll prop up a small pillow beside him for support.
The seat belt is ok for Isaac actually, it can strap him across the chest comfortably, and I use a small gadget to prevent the belt from being too close to his neck.
I do agree that the booster is not the safest option cos I think our todds are still too light for booster. Ideally, it should be 15kg and above.

Anyway, I brought my Maxi Cosi car seat to Perth. Isaac didn't like it is one thing, but when he did sit in it and fall asleep, his head kept falling forward. I'm not sure why and he is growing a bit too long for the car seat.

Krissie, Tracy,
We just changed S to a toddler bed yesterday, the exact same one that Meg is sleeping on, the Kritter from Ikea except it is the red one. We had no choice coz we need the cot for the 2nd one. She had no problem sleeping on it yesterday and absolutely loved it. No danger in falling off even with her leg dangling oustide
. I also bought a round gauzy curtain to hang around the bed to give it a cozy feel so she really enjoyed being in it. The whole thing with mattress cost about $200 - $250 depending on which mattress you choose.

1766738.jpg

Mashy, Belinda,
I agree with you gal too on booster. we are looking at getting another bigger car seat for S rather than a booster coz I dun feel it is as safe as if they are in a car seat. For one, I know it is advised to keep the kids in car seat as long as you can.

sleepingdeer
Wow!!! I love Shannon's room too!!! Really have the whole Princess feel to it!!!

Krissie
Eh, the saftey rail is not Safty 1st brand...I can't really remember the brand now. LOL! I just know that it will serve its purpose.

HI Mashy, Mamachan,
thanks, haha, its a work in progess lah, wall painted one year ago, curtains added last month, bed and guazy curtain only yesterday! Just wanted her to feel good in her room so that she iwll like it there and wont get jealous when the 2nd one gets her cot etc...

hello mummies..spent last week at TMC for a 4D3N stay. C was warded again for bronchites..but tis time we chose TMC so that we can sleep in peace in a 1 bedded room. whoa the bill came up to 3k plus. nearly fainted. luckily can claim insurance. speaking of which..not sure if AIA has a max amt that can be claimed. anyone know? Doc said that C most likely will develop asthma and we have to control his food intake now that he is young. so no more cold drinks for him! bye bye to yakult, juices, yoghurt. anyway doc said not much of nutrients for kids to take juices and yoghurt. better to intake fruits instead. these mths are bad for me....in and out of hospital like no mann biz. hb joked that we can sell our house since we are sleeping over in hospital so often. kekeke...

sleepingdeer
S's room is so pretty. At least, I thot it was from some Magazine till i saw her sleeping in it..haha.. Ooh.. what's the size? is it the same as a cot? Ger cant sleep so neatly. he'll start sleeping in this position, then end up with his head at the soft toys.. haha..

SSF
take care.. agree tt juices are pretty useless, but, i think yakult and yogurt aids digestion with the probiotics.

Sleepingdeer,
wahh!!! Shannon's so lucky! Meg will lurve this room too. Curently we are all sleeping in our room until well, until they all grow up or we move house!

SSF,
Oh dear, hope this in and out of hospital biz is over for you. Should avoid citrus fruits as well.

SSF
did your regular PD ever advise to start C on those medication like Zaditen? It acts as a "lung" tonic and suppose to help prevent those frequent coughs and colds... D was started on that last year for about 6 months when he was really prone to getting coughs.... is C prone to coughing? Probably you could ask your PD about it? I think it might help to build up their lungs... of course it won't be for lifelong...it's to help them get out of this phase

sleepingdeer
Shannon's room is so nice! i wish my masterbedroom can be this pretty too!! am oso doing up dylan's room but u know la, a boy's room somehow cant achieve the look as easy as the girl's. not to mention we now can't do any painting or knocking on the wall =S

Todd's bed
we converted dylan's bb cot to junior bed and he has been sleeping in it very well for the past 4 mths or so now. had a railing too and so far never fall off. he was happy when we converted the cot into a junior bed, maybe it means to him something like a promotion. indicating he is a big boy now =)

we will let him have the junior bed while we use a playpen for our #2. meanwhile we shall hunt for an nice adult single bed with a pull out bed under it. so when the 2 boys are older, the both of them can sleep on the upper and lower bed =)

SSF
take good care and hope that no more those hospital stay!

Mashy,
I never knew Spotlight sells beds. So suaku me. The Thomas bed looks really cool! My E will sure go gaga over it at least for now. Any idea if spotlight sells Thomas bed sheets? Cos hb says if E changes his "taste", then its easier to just change bedsheets. Yesterday E told us he wants to give didi all his Thomas trains and says he is a big boy now. He wants Ben 10 n robots. Siao siao.

Sleepingdeer,
The curtain really makes the bed looks so cosy. Well done, mummy! Pat pat! Next time, dun forget to do for mei mei also. Must be fair hor. Kekeke.

SSF,
Pray that ur boy will have a speedy recovery. NO more hospital stay! Shoo shoo! Did ur PD recommend any lung tonic like what Mamachan mentioned? Or u wanna consider bringing him to see TCM? There is one which Valerie n Rena is seeing for their kids. Heard he is very popular. My E have been having night phlegmy coughs for a looong while already. We tried western med, Yuguo n now back to PD n PD put him on puff. Seems much better but we noticed whenever he takes sweet stuffs n cold drinks, his phlegm comes back. Really have to jie kou.

Good morning mummies,

sleepingdeer,
The room is so nice! Your #2 is a girl as well? I also want to decorate Isaac's room but I'll wait till my#2 gender is known first. Then I can decide whether to go for a boy's theme or neutral theme.

CL , Tracie,
Have received the Gap/ON stuff. Please give me some time to sort out and calculate the shipping. Will email you.

SSF,
So sorry to hear about C. Must be really tough with the recent bout of stomach flu as well. What kind of symptoms will require hospitalization? PD says Isaac is also having a mild bronchitis problem. He's having phlegmy cough for 3 weeks already, but last sat and last night, he vomitted 4 times, I think it's induced by the phlegm. The PD prescribed a few phlegm medicine but he'll vomit the medicine out together with the phlegm. I'm quite concerned. Not sure if neubilizer would be better for him. He has lost so much weight, now only 12.5kg. Sigh.

1.Belinda
2.CL
3. rena. ( some where cityhall can?)
4. MamaChan
5. Rachel (KIV, likely can make it)

CL, where are we meeting for lunch at?

1.Belinda
2.CL
4. MamaChan
5. Rachel (KIV, likely can make it)

Venue : Burger King at UOB

1.Belinda
2.CL
4. MamaChan

Rachel can't make it last minute. Got errands to run.

hi mummies, i'm back from my hongkong trip! it's great, the kids enjoyed it despite the HOT weather. I can't imagine myself getting a sunburn in hk! just can't believe it. anyways, i'm glad the boys enjoyed it. even tyler enjoyed himself very much.

i'll join u gals for lunch later! :D
1.Belinda
2.CL
4. MamaChan
5. Aileen

1.Belinda
2.CL
4. MamaChan
5. Zhimin

Hi mummies, can I join? But can only reach around 12.15pm

1.Belinda
2.CL
3.MamaChan
4. Zhimin
5. Aileen

Venue : Burger King at OUB

I will reach around there at 12.15 too.

Zhimin

I sms you see if you have received. Otherwise I will pm you

Aileen,
local courier or overseas? Local courier we use TJ courier 63966424

Overseas besides Fedex / UPS, we use OCS Courier 62256262 or 62251366

thks mummies...and yes mann! no more hospital stay! choi choi...

mamachan - C was given singular which hb said no good as its steroid and some antibotics. I rented the nebuliser from TMC. anyone bought a nebuliser? i saw in sgh selling at 180+ after staff discount. we are thinking of investing one since rental is $9 per day. i am bringing C to see the doc later for post review. will ask abt zaditen.

queen - we got a severe scolding from the dr in tmc for not admitting C early. She said that C is having a bad cough and can hardly breathe. she said its risky not to send the child immediately as the child may just become breathless and collapse and just go like that. i think she meant well but maybe abit to the extreme. C was having coughing and his breathing was very deep. if you look at the child's throat (sunken area) and its deeply sunken when he breathes in, then may need to send the child to hospital esp if he cannot drink and sleep well. better to call for help. nebuliser will loosen the phlegm and make him breathe better.

belinda and wenyl - C is also in ben10. didn;t understand him initially when he keeps saying ben10. so lost with all the new cartoons coming along. haha...

aileen - great to hear that ya had a good time in hk.

tracy, thanks for your contacts!

ssf,
sorry to hear about C's admission and prolonged cough. just hope he gets stronger from this bout of illness. you all take care!!

ya the boys had so much fun in HK. ed kept saying he doesn't want to go home yet. and we reassured him, ya u are not going home, going back to hotel only! haha!

re lunch:
nice catching up with u gals. mummies just have so much to talk about! and yes, hopeful we didn't frightened u,z himin. u are so quiet