(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sysac

sigh, how i wish my C is as mature as your C. My C is still like a little baby and a tantrum throwing one. Today he threw a tantrum coz i refused to let him carry the umbrella to school. He likes to drag the umbrella wherever he goes and with it, he'll insist on walking. He flipped backwards when i carried him and he nearly fell off my arms headdown. Thank God I managed to catch him in time. At times, he can be very guai and sweet, will help take my water bottle for me, clear the room before i vaccuum and cover me with the blanket when i sleep next to him. But at other times, he's just a tantrum throwing toddler. Argh.

Yesterday, he really challenged me. He's like a little hamster and will hold his food in his mouth, refusing to swallow. So i switched off the tv and insisted that he swallow before i switch it on again. Guess what, he just spit it out. I was so furious with him when he repeated that act again and i banned him from watching any shows.

SY

why is your hb against u toilet-training JH? Sorry, hope i don't offend you with my frankness but your hb doesn't seem well adjusted as a father. It sounds like he hasn't accepted the fact that being a father has its responsibilities.

Mashy - The kids are all the same! C also has his fair share of tantrums. Impt thing is how we manage & handle the tantrums.

U withdrawing him from CC & then enrolling somewhere else?

Queen - i guess consistency is really important. actually since Isaac is with ur inlaws most time of the day and if they arent tat keen, then its reali tuff. my niece was left to MIL to train but cos MIL was not patient enuf and all tired, it was mostly surrendering and putting the diaper on. For Cel, i told my maid to bring her to pee every 2hrs and and slowly she got the hang of it.Perhaps u could start wf the evenings and weekends and let him go diaperless to get him used to it...

Sysac - Awww... ur C is reali sweet! ur HB must be soooo touched
nowadays our kids talk so well that they reali express the most loving and innocent side of them ya.. Just this week,HB was reading a bedtime story of a dragon wanting to eat 2 sheep but later changed its mind to one sheep and one person. so HB asked her, wat if the dragon comes and says it wants a pig ( referring to her fave piggie soft toy ) and a baby ( referring to her ),we were expecting her to look scared. Instead she looked at her daddie and said : close the door daddie! while turning to check that the door is indeed closed.. tat got us so amused.. hee

Mashy - same! Cel loves to keep the food in her mouth when watching her show. so now, i tell her no more tv and she faces the window to watch the traffic below while eating. it managed to sped up the meal time and chewing. only after she finished her meal, then i let her watch her show.. it gets on my nerves too when the food doesnt move in their mouth...

sysac

he's going to kindy next year, so moving him to Paya Lebar Meth kindy. Right now it's a 3hr childcare playgroup.

god's child
Haha, however, the looking at traffic thing doesn't work for my boy. He loves watching the traffic. That's his alternative to TV. Coz my place can see the MRT trains, buses, cars, motorbikes. TO a boy, that's heaven. Hahah. In fact, when he gets bored with the TV, he'll just walk over to the window to watch the traffic.

God's_child - Haha...Cel is so funny...anyway, she has always come across as a brace gal!

Mashy - Oic, this reminds me. Need to fill up C's registration form. The principal mailed it to me & I received it ytdy. Going down on Mon to register & pay for 1st term fees. Orientation is a week b4 term begins.

sysac
C is so sweet! if my gal says that to me, i will be v touched, too.

queen
my gal still wearing diaper during afternoon nap and night sleep. when we just started, we would bring her to potty every half an hour. after 1 week, she started telling us that she wanna pee/poo.

tracie
did you buy any tools for meg to step up and sit on the toilet bowl? my gal also uses adult toilet bowl but still need us to carry her up 'cos she only knows how to get down, but don't know how to climb up.

cookie
queen gv quite a comprehensive list liao. just to add on:
-phone charger
-admission letter
-socks & slippers
-set of bb's clothes/mittens/booties
-camera

CL
wah!!! 330am!!! you are really amazing!
if you do 2 batches of baking, need to do the batter 2 batches too?
oh, the mould still with hwee ah? haha.. ok ok.
when are you doing next batch? let me know leh, then i go to your place to learn from you. but, must be in day time lah.. i can't wake up at 330am. keke...

Sysac
C is so so sweet!!

Queen/sunny/mashy
thanks for the list... hehe so I have something to start from and add on to the list. I always end up over pack.. but really the nursing pillow is an important reminder!

Sysac,

C is really so sweet.
When i pick up elijah from school and walk back home he will always say, mummy becareful of cars ok.. if he see puddle of water he will say mummy becareful of water. then the funniest think is when we are all going out leaving ezekiel and maid at home he will remind the maid.. auntie you take care of didi ok..

so sweet these moments.. but of course they have their noti times as well.

queen,sunny,
eh, no leh, no stepping stool for her. She just put down the toilet seat herself and climb up. I din know she could do it till one day she wanted to do it herself and i was panicking and telling her no no no, then MIL told me she can do it all the while! She can balance herself on it without the training toilet seat too.

mashy
ha my hb can be quite weird at times. one, he says eventually jh will definitely know how to go to the toilet when he is ready. and 2 he hates mess and he feels that later jh urine on the floor very messy. funny right... i wan to do it cos can save on pampers but he not so keen for me to do it

jh nowadays also super throw tantrum. every little thing he will burst into tears. really can't stand it

cookie
does your hospital have nursing pillow? KK actually provided one.

tracie
the bad thing abt them sitting on the toilet seat is that sometimes hwne it is very dirty outside, jh will still insist on sitting down to poo. but got once, think he can sense that i feel that the seat is dirty, after sitting on it for a while he said that he can't poo cos the seat is dirty....

Hi Sysac,

C is so sweet!!! Must have melt your hubby;s heart. And he is clever enough to make that suggestions!!!

Hi Mashy,

I know what you mean.... I was watching super nanny yesterday. The boy is a terror. WHen super nanny suggest a routine bedtime for the 4 year old boy and the other 7 and 8 years old gals, the boy refuse to co operate. It took the mum 1 hr 40 min, 98 attempts to make him sleep. Every time she bring him to the bed and close the door, he will wake up and open the door and run out. The mum have to carry him back to the room and repeat the process.

98 times in one night! I can sympathies with the mum cos it would be easier to give up and let the boy be...... so tiring to struggle with him.....

But i also notice if we gave up, then it would be exact like the boy..... they will 'over rule' the mum.....

SY,
Ya, meg also can't poo outside cos she will find it dirty. So far we have not brought her out without diapers yet but sometimes with diapers outside she will request to go toilet pee.

SY
when charmaine was young and just toilet trained. I have to hold her above the toilet bowl to pee. Then for poo, she will request for diaper , once it is on, she will poo in peace. Can still remember her actions, hopping around and asking for diaper. so cute

Sysac
C is realli a big brother with such good heart. should organise more playgroup within cck ha ha to let him influence my A abit

Cookie,
I havent even thought of packing hospital bag yet, haha... just throw a few clothes in?

I remember need maternity pads, our own pyjamas and underwear, our own toiletries, towel, one set of NB clothes for the baby to wear, breast pads. Dun need pump cos Mt A provide FOC, so that's about all, haha...

Queen,
the ergo can hold max 25kg weight

Re: potty training
My gal is still not potty trained, she did her first pee int he potty two days ago, so we are now letting her go diaperless in the house in the afternoons. As for poo, she refuses to do it in the potty and must wear a diaper to be reassured to poo, same as CL's charmaine...

cookie,
don't worry lah, #3 liao, won't be panicky. even if you didn't bring anything to the hospital, ur hb can still bring later on or buy at the shops downstairs. most important thing to me is CAMERA!!! :D I remember when I know I was going to deliver Tyler, I quickly called my hb to go home and grab the camera and video cam! and my hospital bag was also only half packed then.

sleepingdeer,
i have bot the ergo after trying yours but my boys lost interest in it! ARGH, so i sold it to my friend but i'll still be borrowing it from her for my hk trip and i'm still considering if i should bring yours as well. so hb and i can each carry one child. well provided they want to be in it lah. i'll return it to you after 2oct ok?

re toilet training
ok i m inspired to let JH got diaperless from today onwards..haha... yesterday i tried but he refused to go diaperless.

he still keep crying easily. what shd i do? it really gets on my nerves

got a breast infection. really painful when jx latch. hope it can go away soon. now when she latch really grit my teeth and bear it.

i m doing a BP for wooden toys. If anyone interested let me know ok? The thread not up yet but u can refer to my blog under section wooden toys for the toys in the BP.

http://littleengelscloset.blogspot.com/

SY,
JH keeps crying easily..is it out of jealousy?

Ooh...ouch..breast infection. I know its super painful when they latch cos when i had the thrush i also had to grit my teeth when he latches. Jia you!!

sysac
C is really so dong shi with his actions, words and most of all his thinking! Really such a precocious and precious child!!!

SY
Ouch!! Breat Infection really no joke! I still can remember the shooting pain from nipple up the breast each time I latched D on in the past.

Ergo carrier
Wow! I didn't know can carry up to 25kg!!! But already as it is my boy is too heavy!!!! Still thinking if should invest in the ergo or not.

Aileen
Actually when I tried carrying my boy in the ergo at home before my BKK trip. He cried!!! He didn't like to be restricted. Then we tried again with my hb and I had to take my hat off to hb as he managed to get D comfortable in the ergo by doing a little silly dance (pocoyo style dance actually) while carrying D. Then after that, we "Ergo" him all the way in BKK. Don't give up trying!!! I'm sure they'll get used to it.

tracie, mamachan
u r so spot on in your description of the pain. really shooting from the nipple up. so painful...when i told hb abt it, he din even offer any words of comfort....

for the toys i have put up the pics and description already. if interested let me know by 25th Sept.

tracie
i do think he cries cos he thinks bb gets attention thru crying. but he is really ridiculous at times with his crying. somtimes i din even say no and just say later and he cries....

Tracie - same, tis Cel also doesnt wana poo outside. i can wipe it clean in front of her and yet she say dun want,so gota find another toilet for her else she will wait til go home then poo... but then i understand her concerns also la, cos im also one who hardly use the toilet outside unless its some super clean ones.. :p

Cookie - wow so fast going to pop liao! thot of a name for ur princess already?

Sleepingdeer - congrats tat S is gettin toilet trained now,just in time to be the model jie jie

thanks mummies for your concern! C was discharged on Tues but yesterday, he kena stomach flu and has been having fever and vomitting. haiz! brought him to see PD yesterday and still monitoring him. was busy sponging him the entire night as his fever was as high as 38.7 deg. now he is very nua..just want to sleep and refusing all fluids intake. we tried buying glucose water for him and he seems to prefer that to milk. but then without milk, where got energy. if still not good, we may consider admitting him to Mt A this time round as KKH does not enough have private room and with all crying babies...its really difficult to sleep well. really hope this nightmare will go away soon.

ssf,

sorry to hear abt what happened to C. Yes, do bring him to Mt A. Don't go KK. When Ariene had fever of up to 40.5deg, they didn't even want to admit her. Just call us to feed her panadol (cant even give suppository and bufen cuz already given and temp still so high) and water. Problem was she was so hot she vomitted out any liquid we tried to feed her and she'll scream and cry if we tried to sponge her. Somehow, I think KK will only admit if the baby is *touch wood* *choy* dying. So fed up with KK.

SY,
poor thing, did you see a dr and get antibiotics for your infection. totally understand what you are going through. i tremble at the tot of it. i'm glad, i'm passed that stage... for now... keeping fingeres crossed!

re crying, ed is also like that now. everyday sure at least cry once or twice. so irritating.there was once i was so fed up i even told him, Mummy haven't die yet, no need to keep crying and calling mama! :p

mamachan,
i was also hoping ed and ty won't mind the ergo when we are in hk. that's why i even contemplate bringing 2 ergos.

ssf,
hang in there. hope C will be better soon

Aileen

Try the hip carrier way so maybe they wont feel so restricted and they are having same view as you. Or daddy can try the backpack with Edgar so it will find it fun

SSF
Hope C get well soon. Poor boy. You take care too

Aileen
Great to prep them before the HK trip! =) if not having an ergo in the bagpack can take up quite abit of space!!! =) Hope this 2 cents worth will be helpful. At least when in HK, they won't fuss as much and give you a headache

ya ty is ok with the hip carrying position but it's not as comfortable for me as if i carry him infront. we tried the back pack style for ed but he doesn't like it coz he can't see in front. he kept saying he wants to be higher. what to do, he too short lah. can only see our backs! :p

mamachan,
ya i know it's quite bulky, that's why i'm still contemplating on bringing the 2nd ergo.

mashy,
i'm staying in marco polo gateway. my colleague told me royal pacific hotel is good too. spacious rooms and not too exp. wow dec will be nice for xmas. i spent my xmas there once in lan kwai fong. wow super happening but gotta beware of stampede! well those were the days when we still go clubbing :D

SSF
hope C recover soon!

aileen
yes, JH is like that, cry and call mama at the same time. and he will purposely do it louder and louder....

yeah man, the pain really makes me cringe....hope it will be over soon

Aileen

I stayed at one of the marco polo hotels in HK before. Can't remember if it's the prince or gateway. Anyway, now it's out of my budget already. Yah, the rooms are spacious. But i find a bit far to walk to the MTR. I'm considering one of the hotels in the HK island coz I've always been staying in Kowloon & Kowloon isn't exactly a good place for kids. Wanna try how it is over at the HK island side.

Not going during christmas lah. Too crowded. If can, we'll go early Dec.

<font color="ff0000">Cookie,</font>
Just in case u missed it out. Disposable Underwear.

Getting very fatigue lately. Cannot stay awake till too late. Hopefully 1st tri will pass asap. Trying to catch up with the post now.

RE:Ergo
Hmm.. Me also interested in getting Ergo already. Any BP seen lately? If not, I got to see where got sales then grab. I think quite ex right? I have got those cheaper kind of baby carrier but seldom use with Jamie. Dunno should invest or not.

Aileen,
your post about Mommy not dead yet was so funny, haha, can imagine the frustration when you said that...no problem about the Ergo, we are not travelling now anyway, so dun need it. S is ok with the backpack style, I swing left to right when I walk to make it fun for her, and tease her about being a baby kangaroo. But Mamachan is right, it is kinda bulky, you could bring it, if you have luggage spqce, and then decide whether to leave it at the hotel room...

SSF,
poor C. When S had serious stomach flu, she was vomitting out even water. Our PD gave her a suppository which helped to stop the vomitting thank goodness, if not we would have had to admit her too due to dehydration. He also suggested Barley water coz milk may make them throw up more, and at this stage they need the salts from the barley more then sugar, so can try that too.

SSF,
Oh dear... How's C now? When Isaac had rotavirus, he was vomitting and having diarrheoa. At first we went KK too and was warded in a B ward cos all the A wards are occupied and we insist to check out after a few hours cos KK is hopeless. The next day, we went to Mt A and Isaac was warded for 2 nights for dehydration and put on the drip. As long as C is willing to take glucose, it's fine. Now it's more of sustanence than anything else... milk intake will improve when they feel much better.

Mamapanda,
I think maybe it depends on the medical officer? When Isaac's fever hit 40 deg and we went to KK, they sped us through to the A&amp;E and he was immediately given a sponge down and suppository (but that's only because brufen was administered almost 4 hours ago) and told us to wait outside for 1 to 2 hours and see if the fever came down. Usually, if you read the pamphlets KK have at the A&amp;E on how they handle fever, they would advise managing fever on our own by regular sponging and giving medication. Unless the baby is showing other symptoms like rashes, vomotting, difficulty in breathing etc, then they probably take a closer look. I guess to them, high fever is very common and for most cases, will probably need to manage on our own. Guess they can't be admitting every high fever case that comes in. But of course, to us parents, when our kids fever hit 40 deg, we are always worried whether our kids are suffering from illness that we don't know about!

thks mummies..i am hanging on...thankfully weekend is coming. really need the time to nurse C back to health.

queen - his fever subsided. this morning, managed to feed him milk. but just got a call from hb that he threw out everythg. what should i feed him then? just glucose water only? is it sufficient? as even with glucose water, we are having problem persuading him. it's been 2 days. we are thinking maybe to bring him see another PD tmr. i am so afraid he will be dehydated or even starved!

SSF
Usually stomach flu will render the stomach a person glucose intolerant temporarily, so actually at this point in time, should avoid giving milk....if C really wants the milk, can dilute it? Glucose water is good as it really do give you energy in its simple sugars form (which will be broken down from our usual complex carbo anyway). Another alternative is to make porridge water for them to drink.

SSF

You should be resting his stomach now, i.e. no food at all. No milk unless it's soy milk. Rice water is good as it helps to stop the diarrhoea. Now just need to keep him hydrated. Don't worry abt food. Food will only irritate his stomach now. I know it's hard knowing that our kids are not eating, but that's how it is when they have stomach flu. Cannot eat at all.

Don't even give yoghurt or yakult, coz even though it contains the lactobacilus, it also contains milk which will is a no-no for stomach flu. Just give him lacteol forte (or whatever meds that they gave to increase the amt of good bacteria).

SSF

Oh, that time after C was discharged from the hospital, he also started to have severe diarrhoea until he couldn't move. Then found out it's due to the antibiotics that he was given. Check that it's not due to the antibiotics. C was given klacid. It's real bad. After the PD changed the antibiotics and gave him lact meds, he got better gradually.

thanks mashy and mamachan for the advise.
now my hb just called saying J vomitted too. 4 times! fainting mann...guess the stomach flu bug has passed to my younger one. bringing them to see PD later. Arghhhhhh

Vomiting / diarrhoea / tummyache
i still remembered last year during this period of time, damien was admitted to hos due to tummyache and kept vomitting...can't take in any medicine. He need to be dripped.
Cos he even throw out the medicine. after dicharged from the hospital, diarrhoea come along. It was so bad that the stool also got blood.

SSF,
If C is still vomitting out even the glucose water and his diapers is dry or has very little pee for more than 6 hours, I think you need to bring them to PD or hospital to see if he is dehydrated and needs to be on drip. When he is on the drip, he basically does not need much liquid or food intake.

Also, milk is no-no. If C can keep glucose water down, then just give glucose. If he is really hungry just give very very watery plain porridge.

belinda

oh is it? Well, milo contains milk. Coming from a dairy-allergic boy's mommy. Hehhe. Better not to give. Even if dilute, still irritates the stomach.

SSF
my hb gets stomach upsets like this very often. best is to take rice water and porridge. he also takes some bread. if really hungry give some plain bread but really need to rest the stomach.

hi mummies...HB brought J back from PD. injected some liquid into his backside and he seems much better now. both of them had diarrhoea already. HB said it;s good sign as it means the bacteria has been purged out. ya, doc said no milk, no solid food. only glucose water.

C seems better as he begins to take his pedialyte strips (glucose water). hopefully all will turn for the better.keeping fingers crossed.