(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

May,

Congrats.. finally you can relax alittle.. well My MS also come in at 7 weeks and end at 14 weeks..

Cindy,
I stop breast feeding already thus i have also bought the dual breast pump.. hee hee only use for 1 month ..

Mamachan,
When I have Jamie, it is a very bad MS bah. Started abt wk6 and I can MS for whole day till 4th mth.
This one got no feeling. Only sore breasts, tired and very easily hungry. It is really very small in range leh. 0.16cm in 6weeks. I think I got to eat more before MS comes in.

may - happy to hear that bb is doing well. i heard the maternity leave for next yr is 4 mths lei. hee...my frd who gave birth yesterday was informed by her gynae. wonder what other news will come from tonight's rally. anyone has any insider's news? tsk tsk.

SSF
It'll be really good if maternity leave can be 4 months!!! But then...it makes it harder to join a SME in Singapore...

May
No MS is a good thing leh. When I had my boy, bad MS kicked in from 7 weeks onwards all the way till 18 weeks!!! Scary man... and even after that will have occasional MS and worst, heartburn!

SY - not sure lei...but seriously i hope they will take care of other factors like maid, childcare, etc. its not really the 4 mths after delivery but also the yrs after delivery that is a concern. 4 mths of maternity leave is tempting but after which when the mum heads back to workforce, the other factors like who to care of the kid is also impt. now when we say we have a second child,...it always come in a package "second child + maid". haha...i cannot even think of a 3rd child. my main concern is my mum cannot cope with 3 kids even with a maid ard.

may - i think the 4 mths ML shld be true as it comes from the mouth of a gynae. haha... as for MS, i am blessed as I don;t really have much of a MS for my second one. Just one weekend of nauseous actually. hee...

mamachan - yeah i think as a matter of fact, it will adversely impact the perfomance rating since ya be away 1/3 of the yr. guess its always a challenging factor to succeed in both work and raising the kids.

SSF,
Same here. I wanted to have a maid but dun think can afford financially lor. So got to put Jamie to CC and #2 for my mum to look after. I dun think my mum can handle two little terror. It got to be "2nd child + maid".

Having 3 or 4 mths ML doesn't makes different. It is the one looking after long term that is impt.

SSF
I think so far so good lah...I suspect the 4th month of ML would be advised to be taken over a spread out period? I think it's best to stay put in a government-affliated institution (even after privatising) no matter what...better benefits.

My hb changing job again with better prospects and better pay....hopefully by then (more like my own wishful thinking) when we plan TTC #2 and give birth, he can afford for me to be SAHM once more =P

mamachan - oh ur hb moving to a govt co? ya in govt co, bonus is really good!
actually it also depend on the co. how they recognise your effort. for me, although i went for my 3 mths ML, i got promoted recently after 1 yr of service excluding my ML. i feel really blessed even after being retrenched. i know GOD has better plans for me. for my colleagues who are still stucked in my previous co, after the waves of retrenchment the structure is so lean that they are all finding job. one even quit after 7 yrs of service and left even when there is no job. so it can show how bad thgs are at my previous co. i am pleased and will stay put for now.

may

i think you're still too early lah. I had MS from week 8. So enjoy while u can. I also think that if no MS, even better still.

So sad, 4mths maternity leave also won't benefit me.

May
good to hear your bb is stable. no MS is good thing too, i don't have MS for dylan's and this current pregnancy. till now i still have sore breast.actually i agree with you that this round not as enjoyable as our #1's time =p think many more thing to concern and plan. hee your MIL did not keep wanting to move in with you guys liao?

re: 4 mths ML
will this affect even greatly for many companys in recruit pregnant woman or those with family planning??
agree with May that the increase in ML is not a big carrot to urge couple to have more children. i guess childcare, medicial and education benefits are more for long term.

Me back from Gold Coast. Great trip... miss the cold weather actually even though the whole family got itchy cold rash all over hahaha...

May
Congrats on your #2!! Although my gynae says the more symptoms you feel the stronger is the pregnancy, but I still think its better if the MS dun ever come haha... Didn't have any for both Ashley and my current pregnancy, though my 2nd pregnancy did feel a little more uncomfortable than the 1st. Enjoy!!

Did I miss anything else in the last week?

Oh by the way mummies, I'm expecting a BOY this time round. How about you Rachel?

Congrats Queen!!

Thanks Fion.
Me 17 weeks now.

CL
Yes its a good break. Glad I went at this time as I no longer felt as tired during my 1st tri and tummy still not too big for me to travel and have fun. Me now itching to go somewhere else again hahah but guess no more long trips until i deliver liao... sigh..

Thanks for the congrats.

I'm actually quite worried now cos I'm on Doxycycline (to treat acne) for a week already and I'm not sure if it's harnful to the fetus. In fact, just before seeing the dermatologist one week ago, I tested myself and it was negative. Not too sure if the hCG level was too low then or that the stupid kit was not working. Anyway, the last few days my stomach feels funny, my left breast is a bit tender and I'm a few days late. Woman's instinct so I bought Clearblue just now.
2 lines = positive.

Queen
congrats!!! hmmm, so now your plan got to adjust abit already lor.

May
when is your EDD?

Clare
glad you have a great trip =) congrats on a boy boy!!! next round try for a girl, haha remember you wish to have another girl. Me this time round no much of a 6th sense... but people around me say most chance for a boy this time.... oh well. we shall know when i go for my detail scan in 2 weeks time!

CLare
you should be 18 weeks liao leh, i remember that your EDD is 2 days earlier than mine. tomo i will be in 18 weeks =p

Queen
guess a visit to the gynae will advise you what to do next due to your mediciation. to set your mind at ease.

wow, so many good news!

congrats clare, queen!

Queen
agree with rachel, check with your gynae.

re: national rally
looking forward to it, too. if the benefit is really good for family planning, i don't mind to have #3. haha..... :p

Congrats Clare and Queen.

Queen,
So ur EDD is in April? Mine is early April.

Rachel,
I am not sure if MIL still wants to move in. But I told hb it is a NO NO. He is against of that too. My EDD is in early April. Baby too small so doc say he will let me know when it is bigger.

So are u having a girl or boy this time?

Sunny,
wow..so daring. I am going to close shop after two.

May/CL
mayb after my #2 starts crawling/walking, i won't dare to try anymore. but still, at the moment, still plan to stop at 2 lah. really tiring leh... everyday i am bring my pair of panda eyes to work. haha..

Queen
Wow!!! Congrats to you!!! Better check with your gynae if you should continue with your medication bah.

Clare
Good to know you've enjoyed your trip to Gold Coast! =)

May, Queen,
congratz!

Clare,
congratz on a boy this time round!

Rachel,
Any news on gender of your baby???

Re:Baby Bonus
Actually for me, watever the bonuses they give is just a 'bonus'. It is not the deciding factor for me whether to have babies. 4 months' leave? I can't even finish my 3mths ML! Guess hubby and I decided to have kids only when we felt we were mentally ready, when we felt we already have enough of 'fun' as a couple. I have several frens married without kids, and they are financiall very stable and all, but they dun wanna be tied down by kids. So this group of people, the govt still hv to think of how to make them procreate!

May/Tracy
no idea on the gender of my #2 yet leh, will inform you girls in 2 weeks time =)

does your todd cry/whine at the slightest thing?? for example dylan will cry his heart out when i scold him for doing something wrong like throw his books/toys on the floor. he will walk to his bedroom or masterbedroom and bury his head on the bed and cry his heart out. like kena beat by me if others heard the way his cry... he started to behave in this way recently.

C first day at school was terrible. he slept for half an hr into the lesson. faint! told hb..i paid money and he slept. haha...after he woke up, he was competing with another frd of his in crying. hopefully he can adapt to school soon.

clare/queen - congrats on your good news!

rachel - oh yes! C is like that. cried at the slightest little thing. let;s just say he cry at least once every day. so fed up at times! hb has to sometimes take out the shoe horn and threaten to beat him if he dun stop his nonsense. Terrible two is really terrifying.

rachel

yes! My boy is exactly the same lately! He's so whiny over the smallest thing and he's really frustrating me. A little bit cry liao.

And now, he's really into disagreeing for the sake of it. Like today, he spent 15mins crying and kicking on the floor coz he didn't wanna bathe. Then when I finally dragged him to the bathroom, and finished bathing him, he refused to get out of his bath and cried & lie down in his bathtub for another 15mins. Gosh!

damien fell sick again....fever not very high but on and off.

I agreed with tracy, i dun think i will be motivated to have bb #3.
having children is a lifetime commitment...

queen
congrats!!

may
my MS started from 4 weeks. same for both #1 and #2.

re baby bonus
hope that they can backdate. at least can get the bigger cash benefit etc. better than nothing.

re #3
at this moment, i also dun wan to think abt #3...too tiring..

rachel
JH cries at little things now. and i think he enjoys it. somehow when they sense #2 they do things beyond our comprehension.

yesterday i asked him whether he wants to do timeout or stop crying. he chose to go and do timeout and just cry nonstop while doing it. i told him he can over once he stop but he continued to cry. suspect he gets a kick out of it. despite his 'protest' at doing timeout, he will walk willingly to the timout corner.

clare
congrats on your boy!!

SY

think u can forget abt them backdating it. The idea is to encourage pp to give birth, not those who have already done so.

sigh, they've missed out on the SAHMs again. SAHMs have no economic value and thus are placed at the lowest rungs of priority by the Singapore govt.

SY
Dun think you will get it. I remember in 2004 when they implement the baby bonus thingy. My fren give birth to 3rd child in Jul, she din get that 15K. I think the effective date is Aug so those who give birth in Aug still might have a chance.

Cookie,Queen,May
Means more ML, baby bonus for you.keke

Me too not tempted but am happy to have that extra 4 days of childcare leave. Wondering when my company will take that into consideration.

mashy
i agree. they shd think abt SAHM also. i remember recently someone wrote to the forum and commented that singapore is the only country where after giving birth, kids are left to maids to take care...

CL
thnk the extra childcare leave shd apply to all right?

i also dun think they will backdate....

got more stuff at my blog now. do visit when free and let me know if u see anything u like.

http://littleengelscloset.blogspot.com/

SY

U know why? Coz our dear PM was also not taken care by his mother mah. I think he was raised by his grandma. He said abt his mother rushing home to have lunch with them. Of course lah, she owns the law firm what, she can leave anytime she wants. So I think he doesn't think that it's any prob that the kids are not raised by the mother. Even his own children are not raised by his wife. Hmm, wonder who takes care of them when they were young. Maids? Live in nannies? I doubt it's childcare centres.

CL,
I will still take 3mths ML and leave the remaining to clear during jabs. Not much difference. Only thing is the subsidy for J to be in childcare is increased lor.

CL
i wonder when the add'l childcare leave will take effect.

the additional incentives are not really attractive. thought there will be more paternity leave for daddies. haha.... but 4 mths ML is really good!

CL
I read that bigger baby bonus only for 1st bb le...sian.. I thought should be more encourging for 2nd or 3rd bb mah..I hope they make good plan for 3rd bb too..kekek...

See ya lunch today!!

CL
I think the 4 days childcare leave is compulsory for the company to give to the employee..

Re: #3
Having more children is good but one thing is difficult to focus on one to another... I dun think i'll consider to hv #3 even they give more incentive, extend ML to 4 mths. Is not an easy task to teach & guide our children as we need lots of patience and tolerance..
Nowsaday, Pri school are very competitive and children are very stressful to struggle thru their studies & exam... perhaps this is the reason i dun hv intention to hv #3

Cookie
ya man should be higher for 3rd bb to encourage more to give birth mah.

How can just rely on youngsters to get married young, give birth early. Should target those who has 2 or more ha ha.

See ya later

Sunny
4 months ML could mean some pple going jobless. I rather they pay us in cash for that 1 month salary. You know with 3 months ML, already some companies made the preggy lady hand over the job before ML, when she is back she is given other role which probably she dun fancy at all. This is indirectly asking that lady to get out.

SSF
You are lucky that your company did not mark you down for your performance. Previously when ML is only 2 months, my fren boss says she cannot be appraised based on 10 months work and get recommendation for promotion. This is so unfair, wonder how come company will react if you are away for whole 1 quarter of the financial year. For sales people, you think company will reduce their target ? Imagine how hard they have to work with the bump to exceed their sales target before going on ML

CL

I also think this 'incentives' that they had announced are not going to help at all. Don't think there's going to be even a little increase. I guess those behind all the initiatives are working moms or men, so they never thought of SAHMs.
We're the forgotten lot.