(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SY

I think maybe have to live with it for a while till he's older and outgrows this phase? If it's attention seeking stuff, then u should ignore it. But if he finds it fun to do something, then u should correct it.

I find that if my boy does something to attract my attention, and i ignore him, he'll stop doing it after a while. Coz i think he finds it no fun if there's no reaction from me.

Or how abt reward and punishment system? If he does something nice, he gets rewarded and if he does something wrong, then get punished. i find that we tend to punish more than reward (maybe coz we're in this Asian society).

Just made my boy scrub my white TV console today coz he happily went to colour it orange with his crayon. Of course his strength not strong enough to clean it but the point is that he needs to clean it himself coz he shouldn't have done it. After that then I scrub it off myself.

C also wets his shirt when he brushes his teeth. Maybe let JH wear a bib? Not sure whether it's on purpose or it's coz his motor skills are not there yet, so I usually give C the benefit of the doubt. Anyway, just change a shirt lor. Can train his shirt wearing skills too.

C also cries when he can't get what he wants. I'll just move him away to another room or distract him with something else. If all else fails, i'll just ignore him. No point canning, will only cry more. I cane him if he's doing something dangerous, being destructive (like hit the TV screen/ bang window with rod) or downright just plain defiant. I find time out doesn't work for him anymore. Well, he's been getting a lot of it lately coz he's now into climbing up chairs to reach the windows, banging the tv and throwing things in protest.

So angry with him the other day when he kept going 'Mine mine mine' for everything that i told him that nothing belongs to him. It's all Mummy's and I'm just lending them to him.

mashy
he does a lot of things on purpose. when he's drinking water he will purposely spit the water and let it drip onto his t-shirt. he cries at every little thing and won't stop crying. like when i ask him to go and bathe, he will insist on doing something else first. if i said do it later, he cries. always wants his way in everything.

SY
Do u ever try reason out with him? I know is a bit tough but do works. When i gave birth to my #2, my elder son do behave like this... we used to scold & cane before but getting worse.. so everytimes when he misbehave i will try to reason out to him. Its got to takes time for him to understand your reasoning..

actually i do reason with him. the timeout and cane comes when everything else fails. but now that we tried many ways and he still like that, i m thinking whether got any other method. i know he is jealous and wants my attention.

SY
Wow.. in this case no point that u cane and scold him and he wont listen.. If i were u, i know that he is jealous and want my attention.

I will tell him this way -- "I'll always love you even we hv meimei here. Doesn't means that i'll love meimei more than u, u also impt to mummy too. Do you think u do those things that i do not like i'll pay attention on you? It's wont work on me but i'll choose to ignore u and until u know how to behave..... This is wat i told my elder son :p

SY

same leh. Sometimes I've to half drag half carry him to the bathroom and he'll be struggling throughout. He also cannot do it later type. I think the most important thing during these episodes is not to lose your cool. It'll be over soon ok. I think it's an extension of the terrible twos. Patience, patience.

When my boy cries, I'll do counting. I'll just keep counting and counting. Somehow, it helps to calm him down after a while leh. It's not the threatening type of counting. I just count. I'll look calm, put my hands together and count. Sometimes it takes me to count till 30 before he calms down. And yes, it calms me down too and we could get back to what we were supposed to be doing.

AS for the spitting water thing, why not just let him brush his teeth before he changes into pajamas? Like that he can get wet if he wants to.

SY

Oh yah, there was once my boy insisted he wanted to watch the same DVD again and kicked up a big fuss which included crying and screaming. I told him we'll do so after mummy finishes counting up to 100. By the time i finish counting, he has moved on to something else already & forgotten abt his DVD.

Zhimin,
I did not receive anything.. however thanks..

SY
Ezekiel is very heavy now much heavier than his kor kor. he is 7.5kg now.. i was shock.. about 8 weeks only leh..

RE: milk

elijah eats alot in school and at home. but still drink a lot. but weight remains the same. we are trying to cut down on his milk.. cannot tahan leh... milk powder expensive...7days 1 can!! stress... didi's milk powder is expensive and drink faster than him leh...

SY,

I also uses fion's method.. telling him that i always love him even if i have didi. but he is kor kor already must lobe didi too coz didi love him as well.

I uses cane.. at times i cannot control i will use my hands to hit him.. but heart pain lor coz my hand feels numb and pain.. what about his legs? swell... but many time i cannot control i will tell him that i dun want you get out of my house with didi.. then he will cry but some times when he is in the good moof he will say i dun want mummy .. i angry you hump... so funny..

nowadays i just need to count to three and he will stop coz usually i tell him i count to 3 then take cane.. he is very kind to didi .. he will wispher to didi saying tat later i give you blue car ok.. or later i give you xxxx ok.. and he will sayang him.. but very rough.. especially when didi is sleeping he will want to hug him and kiss him and sleep beside him then the poor didi will wake up...

RE: numbers

I was very suprise that elijah knows how to spell numbers 1 - 5.. and also july... i realise tat he really likes to watch educational dvd.. like the leapfrog.. but lately he is more into the bumble be ABC , and the electronic flashcards.. but at times he is really mischevious..

SY
I just remembered!! When I pick up the toothpaste.. You forgot to pass me the 1st BD bash mome of kaelyn to me hor??
is it still with you??

Mamachan - Not KS. C has clothes that he can wear until 5yo too. With my classes & official course starting soon, my mum is staying over with 1/2 the week. She then realised that C has so many clothes. Didn't believe me when I told her to stop buying. Wardrobe here full...she still has clothes over at her place!

Milk - C is still drinking at least 3x200ml a day on top of his 3 meals.

Naughty Corner - C has a naughty corner. We put him there for "serious' crimes. 3 warnings of bad behaviour & he's there. We realised he's more afraid of the naughty corner than the smackings. So when we ask him "Do u want to go to the naughty corner?", he'll behave and reply "I will listen. I don't want to go naughty corner."

Halo all...

catching up again, so many posts to read.. and so little time to catch up now wf more work... heart always lingering to go check out Jan06 thread hee...

Milk - Cel is taking 3 X 240ml now,2 meals and mid morning snack. She doesnt seem to be chubby or fat but she is weighin bout 13+kg and we suspect its more now.

Sysac - same! Cel fears the nottie corner more than the cane itself! she used to be able to stand there and cry facing the wall, but now she will start to go hysterical when i place her there,end up always lying on the floor haha... anyway,im also glad that i wont need to resort to the cane since the mention of nottie corner gets her going No no No no... hee...

CL - wow, im reali amazed by you! so hardowrkin in baking.. i got oven but oni use to bake wings on special occassions haha.. tink can start to do sometin nice like wat u r doing, love th pizza too! am sure Cel will love to help
and ya, u reali wake up soooooo early!!!

Sysac
HAhaha, I can imagine C having lots of clothes!!! Read the blog and amazed at how your mom and family buys clothes for C!!! We can certainly also dress up the boys to look cooler and smarter! =P

SY
Our toddlers are at the age where they are quite attention seeking. If you know that JH is deliberately misbehaving to get your attention, then don't pay attention to him for the misdeeds despite warning/scolding/caning him. Coz they know that it's the only way that they can have attention when they misbehave and they will continue doing that as they observe our response. Likelihood, after a few times of nonchalence from the parents, they will revert to be better (hopefully). Only give him much more attention when he's good. So he can see and know the difference.

Rena
Perhaps limit Elijah's milk intake to 3 times a day? then those additional times that he wants milk, offer him snacks and more water? Slowly cut down the number of milk feeds bah. Think gradually he will get used to having 3 milk feeds a day and won't be as siong for you. Or maybe he sees didi drinking milk he also wants to drink milk at the same time?

thks mummies. J is better now. will have to take anti biotics and go for ultasound next month. now i am very particular about his diaper changing. each poo will have to be wash under the sink and have to wipe him as frequent as possible.

wenyl - C still take afternoon milk although he does not seem to like milk alot. always have to force him or ask him to drink. he takes 180ml of milk 3-4 times on top of 2 servings of porridge. And that does not include his fav yoghurt, biscuits. My C weighs only 11.3kg. i guess he is the most skinny toddler in this forum.

Mashy,

We have been bring JW to see fireworks since he was pretty young. 1st time he actually burst out crying. Subsequent time he has been covering his ears and hiding in our shoulders. Surprising on this National Day, he actually watched the fireworks. He especially loves the plane. In fact, he kept saying, "mummy, I want some more" after the planes were gone. I can only tell him no more…keke…then when he nearly threw a tantrum, I asked him…"aiyo what u want me to do, mummy is not the president leh"

Maybe it is my tone coz I am sure he din understand, coz he promptly change his request to, "mummy I want to go inside…air-con" instead :p

Mamachan,
My boy asks for milk all the time. Sometime we have to fight with him not to give him.

God's-child - The wonders of notti corners! Haha...C does not dare to move when he's there. He will only shout "Mummy, pls help." in an agonising plea whether hb or I put him there. My wooden spoon is still the designated "cane". wahahaha...

Mamachan - Haha...yeah!

Mamachan
Ha ha D is so cute. Mel will imitate and memorise Hi5 dance step. Am really amaze cos she can remember the different dance step for different theme song…haha

SSF
Oh poor J, hope he’s better now

Milk
Mel drinks 3 x 225ml a day. She should be more around 95cm and 13kg

Queen/Val
I’ve withdrawn Mel from Purple Train

mashy
I borrowed a few DVDs from the library. But, they will mostly say check regional code when i insert it in the DVD player. Do you encounter this? thanks.

Krissie
I've bought Cheerios from Cold Storage or sometimes the supermarket at Raffles City (when cold storgae is out). I bought the non-sweetened ones as they also come with flavours or frosted type.

Flo
Long time no see you here!! Oh, you withdrew Mel from PT? How come?? Becoz of the teachers? I think Val had also withdrawn K?? Read from her blog.

Krissie

That's odd. All the DVDs u borrowed say the same thing? Maybe u can ask the librarian? I haven't had any probs so far. Only probs are some discs have too many scratches and can't be played.

They selling Cheerios in Cold Storage. Must be those very 'ang moh' cold storage. I find it very expensive, so I've settled for normal cereals. Even organic ones are cheaper than the cheerios.

flo - ya why did you withdraw mel from school? becos of HFMD?

C is gg to start Zoophonic classes next Mon. I have applied for leave...have been trying to psycho him abt starting school since last wk. everytime he sounded so positive. i even go to the extend of borrowing lib books on characters going to school to interest him. haha see if it works!

re:biscuits
i realised that biscuits for kids are so ex nowsaday. Wanna do a poll on the brand of biscuits you buy for your kids and the price if you remember. Thks!

1. SSF - baby bites biscuits (12 pcs) ~ $2+

i realised that biscuits for kids are so ex nowsaday. Wanna do a poll on the brand of biscuits you buy for your kids and the price if you remember. Thks!

2. MamaChan - Cheerios 1 box (lasts me 3 weeks) ~ $10.95

3. mashy- C loves variety, so i've to have at least 2 types each time: Honey stars, Envirokids Organic Cereals ($6+), Japanese brand baby bites biscuits, and any other milk free biscuits that i can find.

SSF

Actually now that our kids are quite big already, why don't u try biscuits other than Baby bites? Baby bites are more for teething kids right? There's plenty in the supermarket to choose from. I ever bought some fish shaped biscuits (they come in cheese, normal, extra cheese) and it tastes delicious. However, can't give C coz it contains milk. really envy kids without allergies. Can eat anything. It's so much cheaper that way.

Cane
My youngest son is getting very naughty nowsaday!! Yesterday he pushed his kor kor... and let me saw it. It was the first time i used cane on him but just wanted to scare him but when the moment he saw the cane, his expression seems like never see it before. When i cane his hands and his bum gently, he cried so badly ... poor thing but i can't sayang him
so i hv to be hard and told him to stand infront of the wall but that's only last for few mins. sigh...
At this moment, he still scare of cane but dunno will last for how long....? 8(

mashy-oh the biscuits bites are actually for my younger son. so C also tap on the supply. sometimes i do get pigeon biscuits. then there is also a organic choc biscuits from aust that i got from the pharmacy. but also not cheap...

Just wanna say hi after long missing in action again!

Rena,
The breastpump still around for you to borrow if you want

SY,
Have not had a chance to congratulate you on your little princess!

long self-drive trip with 2.5 yr old :

like to find out if anyone has done this? thinking of driving up to Genting ourselves, but not sure if K can take it (or we can take his nonsense). We did a 3-hr drive to Malacca and towards the end, he didn't want to sit in the car-seat.... also, we've never driven that far before. Can anyone share your experience? not coach nor plane ride but car ride

tx

.ky.

ky,
I have self-drive with HB and Isaac to Malaysia several times. Mostly to KL and Genting. Isaac cannot sit still in the car seat for long no matter how hard I try to entertain him. I only put him there when he's sleeping. Most of the time, he's on my lap and I have the safety belt over us. Now, it's even worse cos I actually find that the car seat is a bit small for long rides. I have switched to booster seat.

ky
you have seem dylan and how active he can be, moving non-stop like your K. we did drove up to KL in Jan this year and as expected, the carseat could not hold him in there for long. used books and food to keep him busy and we do stop over a few time along the way for him to poo and pee. dylan now prefer to be belt at the middle section of the back seat. now the carseat only comes in handy when he takes his nap or when he is alone with hb in the car.

ky,

we also self dive to genting last xmlas. Damien is still ok in the carseat all the way. We played his fav DVD during the trip. of coz in between there were stops and he also nap.

ky
i go back to m'sia every month back to my hometown. the journey is abt 2 hrs. mayb my gal used to it, so, she's able to sleep or sit in the car seat throughout.
you can chit chat with your boy during the journey, play his favourite songs and sing together. Since the journey is long, you can stopover at the resting points whenever you want, so that everyone can do some stretching.

thx for the advices ... i'm thinking if it would be wise to keep the child in the car-seat or belted with me ... thought of what happened to the singapore family where a baby girl was the only left coz she flew out the car. For safety, the last time we travelled to Malacca, both boys were seated behind, 1 in booster and 1 in car-seat. It's quite straining for me to keep entertaining K coz I'm seated right in front of him. And I'm very reluctant to let the older one sit in front coz we've got air-bag there. hm, perhaps playing dvd helps, coz we did have that as a backup but did not use.

i'm thinking of alternating as driver with hb but looking at the speed that they go on, I have second thots.

.ky.

cindy
long time no see! how's your 2 boys doing?

SSF
i give variety also. jh loves yam yam. i gave hello panda, jacobs, ritz, honey stars, coco crunch, cornflakes. there's this brand healthy handful very nice but ex

ky
we just tried yesterday evening and today in transfering the carseat to the front, since our car do not have an air bag @ the passanger seat. its works well and dylan enjoy the whole ride. hee so i am left to seat behide peacfully and its a good start to prepare him to seat @ the front when #2 comes along. playing dvd does helps but i do find that it strain dylan's eye when we played it during our recent BKK trip back in May as we have to travel on the road for 2 hours+ from BKK to Pattaya. it would be straining to be seated behide with your 2 boys too.. i guess just have to play by the ear.

RE: #2
Mummies, GOOD NEWS to share. Finally today I managed to see baby's heartbeat. Brown spotting had stopped. But this time round, I am not as excited as seeing J leh but is glad that baby is safe inside womb. Doc say it is 0.16cm and EDD is early april. I am about 6wks preggie now. Still need to carry on eating An Tai Yao cos of my cramps occassionally. Will be back two weeks later. Hope this 9mths passes smoothly for me.

RE: Snacks
I give J anything she likes too. Yam Yam..to twisties and cheerios. She won't finish all of it so I think it is ok.

Thanks Mummies for the well-wishes!

Can I ask: When will MS usually start? Will taking Duphaston makes MS worse or delay MS? It is supposed to build hormones right..so should it delay MS?

May
Eh, I thought the sudden surge and change in hormones would bring about MS? Are you getting any MS? Or did you have bad MS when you had Jaime? I would think each pregnancy will have different experience?

I've a pair of tickets to the show "The Rainbow Fish"

Date: 20 Sep (Sat)
Time: 11am
Venue: Alliance Francaise Theatre
Duration: 55min
No. of tickets: $2
Standard price: $19 excluding $2 booking fee
Selling price: $36.20 including $2 booking fee (got it at a discount using OCBC card)
Seating: First row at the side

* Suitable for 2 yrs and abv

I've to give up because I've something on on that day.

More info http://www.sistic.com.sg/portal/dt?dt.isPortletRequest=true&dt.action=process&dt.provider=PortletWindowProcessChannel&dt.windowProvider.targetPortletChannel=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar/Event&dt.containerName=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar&dt.windowProvider.currentChannelMode=VIEW&dt.window.portletAction=RENDER&contentCode=rainbow0908

Let me know if you're interested. Free postage (including sistic receipt)

may
actually every pregnancy is different loh. for me, both got MS and started from about 7th wk. for my 1st one, MS ended 12th wk. for 2nd, it ended at 16th wk.