(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

belinda
Sometime u hv to put urself in ur son situation. As kids will always take whatever we give cos they tot is right & good for them. I know that u concern ur son education and afraid he might not able to catch up with others but dun too stress on him, wat happen if he hv phobia doing homework. When he reach P1 will hv lots of homeworks coming along the way.. So relax... ;p as long as he happy, foundation oki and not that stress i think is good enf.

Hi Mummies here...
May i know if you have any 'home-based' job that you can recmd?
Pls advise.

Thanks a lot....n sorry to be abrupt.

thanks for your wishes, hitting 31 tomo!! =S

cookie
the meals i prepare for dylan is so so only, nothing special and always play around with those same ingredients. just a matter of how to cook them. nowadays i will let dylan eat what we eat, just to dish out his portion before i add in the seasoning e.g. salt etc.

- chicken thigh porridge + carrot + potato + cabbage
- fish porridge + vege
- all kinds of fried rice
- tomoto/cheese/mushroon/chicken/pork spagetti OR macaroni
- mee sua + fish stock/chicken stock +vege
- wholemeal bread sandwich (egg + cheese + vege)
- grill chicken + potato + vege
- rice + 2-3dishes + soup (without seasoning)

his menu is about this, nothing fantastic haha. i just make sure i dont give preserve/salty food like ham/hotdog/bacon etc. i only use olive oil for cooking too. think it is fine to tingkat for you and your helper, but might not be suitable for your 2 Ks. can get your helper to prepare their food, better?

mashy
Sorry i do not understand y born in 1st Jan is slower leh?... I tot 1st Jan kids r the best??? heehee.. forgive me a bit slow in thinking ;p hahaha

mashy,

actually damien talk non-stop nowaday.
he can express himself pretty well. what he want and what he dun want.
If thing he dun understand what i asked him abt, he will answered me " i dun want to tell you."

yesterday he went to playground, fell and hurt himself badly on his forehead.
when i reached him, he already stop crying and told me it is ok now, nevermind not painful.
and when i asked him who to blame, he told me playground.

rachel
31st yo very young!!! Whose knows tomo ur hb will give u surprise ;p heeheehee..

Wow... very good leh.. at least u know how to cook so many dishes, compared to me i'm lousy in cooking...

Belinda
hahaha.. Sometimes i like the way kids thinking cos they are very straight and frank. This is y ppl used to say, children do not hv "fan Nao" problems... ;p

rachel

i also don't give processed food. But i will add seasoning like the rest lor. So he's been taking salt/soy sauce like us.

Fion
Coz he's the youngest in his class, so he's slowest lor. 1 Jan babies can join the earlier cohort.

belinda
wah, damien is very advanced hor. Actually a lot of the kids here all very good, can speak well. My boy is very slow, can hardly talk. Only lately he started to talk. He's been holding some of his stuff possessively and said 'mine'. If he doesn't want anything, he will go 'bu yao'. Last time he will just go ee ee, a a, all baby talk. I think it only started to develop faster within the last month. From the time he started on single syllabus to linking words together (as in bye bye so and so), it took him abt 1-2mths). So happy that he's finally talking. His classmates (some even 6mths younger than him) all can talk very well. I heard his classmates shouting out the answers when the teacher ask him a question.

hi cookie ... u read about what I cook for meals... simple stuff but like rachel, just play around with the ingredients. I cook mainly rice plus 1 meat plus 1 veg dish. Only manage to makan on 1 or 2 meals out on weekdays.

hi mashy, I've been having home-cooked food for 4 years liao, so got used to it. I guess I've got it easier coz I've got 2 boys to cook for and I tell myself that it'll be for years to come ... just take it easy.

For kids with enrichments ... mine has 4 and I'm starting a 5th. Most of his enrichments are over a year n I see progress ... however, I don't send him to academic ones... guess there are so many to do out there ... I'm putting swimming on hold coz I think that can be done on our own.

btw, just to share ... my utility bill came this month and it actually came down by $40 after my maid's left ... the usage of water is down by 10 gallons! wonder how much water she used when she was here ...

.ky.

ky

wah, 4 yrs! Dunno whether i can take it or not. I'm already contemplating ordering tingkat for dinner.

Your maid washed her clothes everyday? $40 is alot!!!

SY
just done with the tranfer to your bank acc. sorry for the delay.

Amount S$29.55
Transaction Reference 1804189747

Fion
nah, not young lor. our age now runs as fast as a lighting! hahaha my hb ar, not having any hope for any surprise. he is not those romamtic type so you know la. but i know i sure will get a birthday card, a yearly rountine =p

i dont cook before marriage, the best is only instant noodle. but as years goes by, find that home-cooked food is the best. btw my cooking so so only and it depends on my mood too =p

mashy
did you consider putting him with his yr batch instead of earlier one? but anyway he will sooner or later catch up with his peers.

rachel

i also considered that. But i thought since he can join the earlier batch, might as well. If he can't catch up later, then repeat Nursery lor. But i doubt we'll do that lah.

Anyway, coz he's already quite slow, we thought it'll be better for him if he mixes with children older than him. Then he'll be able to pick up faster. I thought since he can have a 1 yr advantage, might as well. No matter what, he'll be going school next yr, so won't make a difference going to nursery or prenursery.

mashy ... I know a girl who's born on the 1st of Jan. She's in a playgroup toegther with my K1, and I do see a difference even now. But the gap is definitely closing. It all depends if a child is de-moralized if he/she knows that the peers are ahead of him or not, or will cotinue to buck-up ...

hm ... ya lor, $40 a lot. wash her long hair, bath, wash her clothes. she hand-washed the kids clothes. now we throw everything into washing machine. But supposed, handwashing clothes is cheaper ... we'll recycle the water but I don't see any when she was around. I'm more "giam" than her ...

.ky.

mashy
it applys to Pri and onwards too? meaning he can cut down on 1 year and even finish his NS earlier than his yr batch lor.

the earlier discussion about Pri school sure makes me feel like i simply bo chap about my boy's future education haha

hi Mommies,

Yuki,
yup, I love to plan in advance, though most of the time, it doesn't go through, haha! My hb suan me and say, 'don't you think our daughter can make it to good sec school without affiliation?...haha

Mashy,
me too, i love to cook, but sometimes, cooking too many times is really sian, how many different dishes can you cook man? Worse is, my gal is a picky eater, doesn't like to eat meat or veg!' sian sian....

rachel

ya, pri school too. Even NS he'll go in 1 yr earlier. In fact if i wanna put him with the 2006 batch, i need to write letter to MOE.

ky
ya lah, but can't be helped. The prob will be the same even if he's born 1 day earlier on 31 Dec. It's just 1 day difference anyway. I hope he'll gain confidence and catch up quickly. I also don't expect him to be the cream of the crop. So long as he's happy, can excel in whatever he likes to do, then i'm happy already. Nowadays, even gamers can have a good career designing games.

sleepingdeer
yah lor, after a while really get so bored with the food i cook. Same, my boy is also very picky. Meat must be super soft, don't like green vege. sigh.

sleepingdeer/mashy
Normally kids dun like this kind of food, they like fast food, dunno y? My boy also dun like meat,veg and sometimes fish also... i always tell him if u still so fussy & choosey, u can become a buddha.. as they dun hv to eat ;p

Where got nutrition only eat plain rice so i force him to eat by telling him no outing for weekend lor.... He bo bian heehee ;p

fion

my boy only likes french fries when we eat at fast food restaurants. He's like his dad, likes 'nua nua' food. Prefers stew dump on his rice. Surprisingly, he likes Japanese curry. Bought Japanese curry (kids version) from Isetan supermarket and he loves it. When we went to Waraku Pasta restaurant, we ordered curry kids meal for him and he ate it all up.

SO i bought a box of kids Japanese curry mix. Going to try making it for him.

mashy,

i remembered my first boy, he is slow in every thing coz he is the only one...he started to walk at 15mth...and his speech is also very late.
But you will see the great diffence when come to no.2 who normally pick up thing from elder sibling.

Mashy
If he likes japanese curry is nice. For yourself , just buy the S& B Curry powder and add some spice then it will be spicy liao.

Cookie
When I was working from home previous, I eat what I cook for Charmaine. And you cannot imagine my health screening everything come out perfect. Ha ha so just cook up dishes which you and helper can eat.

Yuki
Charmaine is in K2, next year pri 1. She started MPM only Jan 08. Piano oso just started. Swimming going to start. So previously her focus was more on the chinese class

KY
Charmaine did not take any exam.

belinda
my #2 boy also a bit slow than his kor kor. He started to walk at 14mth and his speech also started late. Previously he used to mumbling his own language. Only recently he knows how to say a few words that i thought him long long time ago..

mashy
My #1 like curry also but i never heard of kid curry?? Where is the restaurant situated? Normally when we eat curry he will follows us but he hv to stand by lots of glass of water beside him hahaha... ;p Dunno is it becos during my #1 pregnancy i like to eat chilli, curry, kuek chap. Now my #1 like all this as i used to eat. Whereas my #2 i like to eat fish alots and dun like to eat chilli, curry & kuek chap.. appetite all changed

Fion

It's Waraku at Square 2. They sell Japanese type pasta.

U can also buy the curry pack from Isetan to make yourself. They also have a pre-done type that u just need to heat up.

CL
What spice to add to make it spicy?

Belinda
Yah, my 1st niece is also very slow in everything, but my 2nd niece (her sis), picks up a lot of things very quickly.

Fion / mashy
Damien is also dec baby, I am so scared that he is slow like his brother. Keep blaming myself for not holding abit longer till Jan….hahahahhaha
But lucky so far so good. Now training him to off diaper.

Btw, I found that Damien got the habit to pinch or hold his penis whenever he is high tight. Not sure if this is common coz i dun remember my elder did that.

checking with you all, what can i do to future inspire a child's ability? as in enrichment class/activity etc

observed that dylan has a strong liking to numbers and counting. he can count from 0 to 100 now and is more alert when comes to songs with numbers and even seeing sign boards or advertisment with numbers. likes to look at clock for time and how many minutes more for him to do the next thing etc etc. is there classes on maths or similar ones for todd 2.5yo?

he loves his alphbets too. can identify every single one and relate them to animals or items. will sing his ABC song loud and clear when he is in a super good mood.

belinda
dylan does that too when he refused to relieve himself on time. he will hold onto his penis while telling me he wants to pee or touching his buttock when he wants to poo. lucky most time he will auto inform me before he is really high tight.

Berlinda
Dun blame urself, it beyond ur control when ur son going to come out right? My #2 was born last day of the chinese new yr calendar so dunno whether his zodiac belong to roaster or dog? If according to chinese calendar he was roaster and late by ppl one yr. If according to english leh yr'06 is under zodiac "Dog" confuse right????

Dun worry, is it normal for a child to pinch or hold their penis when it erect.. cos they r curious, my both son also like this.. but hv to educate them not to do it infront of ppl... by the way how old is damien? I tried to train my #2 which is now 2.5yo he still refused to goes off his diaper
Sigh...

rachel

wah, dylan is so smart. My boy is way behind, so can't give u any advice.

Actually since so good in numbers can go and do 'xin suan'.

Fion
takes time and let him decide when he wants to off diaper. =) lots of encourgment needed!

mashy
'xin suan' and 'zhu suan', 'xin suan' is more of the mental right?? err.. completely no idea of the techni and background of these... haha. got to do some searching liao.

rachel
wow.. ur boy so clever 2.5yo leh.. compared to mine #2 far away... happy for u.. ;p U can enrol him to Kumon-maths, Kentridge tuition-they hv those programme are for those very intelligent one or maybe as wat mashy mentioned Xin Suan/Zhu suan.. for wat i know xin suan are mental calculation and for zhu suan are using abacus to calculate both r different. I think ur boy are gifted one leh... u say he is 2.5yo right??

rachel

yah, xin suan is mental calculation. Zhu suan is abacus. Usually they'll start from Zhu suan, then once they master it, they'll move on to xin suan. They'll do the mental calculation using an imaginary abacus.

My boy is more musical. He can play the songs from his CD, recog the first few notes and either skip or proceed to sing the song. He knows exactly what's the opening for his favourite songs.

Fion
no la, i don't see him as gifted, just that he has a strong interest and as the mother its my duty to future inspire and motivate him. just like what my parent had done for me. =) sent me to art classes coz i simply can't do without pen/pencil and paper and my doodles.

the children in this thread are mostly born in Dec/Jan0/Feb06. they all are 2.5yo now =) mine is 19 Jan06.

mashy
OH.. can be the next musician! =D

Happy Birthday Rachel!!!!!

Rachel
Dylan is very clever and smart wor!! So cute, can recognize numbers up to 100! My boy see the bus number 111, at 1st he went eleven, one, then he changed his mind and call it one-one-one. Same as Dy;an, he's very aware of numbers and will always point them out readily whenever he sees them! I've got this Elmo counting toy which I use to engage D. He is now starting to get the concept that after identifying the number which 'Elmo' calls out, he need to tap the number of beats to the number that was called out. So far, sometimes he will get too excited and give too many counts. Pity I don't know of any enrichment classes in maths to further enhance his interest.

mashy
Ha! I was giggling when you shared that C blurted out "Boring!"...really not quite what we expect them to say. But it's good that he's getting more verbal....I think he must be a real observer....learn all the words and then say them out at a later stage.

rachel
wow... u r so talented leh.. ;p Me i dun hv an interest in art

My son born in 28th Jan'06, urs is older than mine few days.. but so much in different... Hv u starts him toilet training?

Finally got my boy a single bed. Going to move him from the cot to the new bed when we get a mattress for it.

It's quite cheap, $189 for Thomas the Train Bed at Spotlight with membership card. Usual price $239. Just got matching pillow cases for his bed but no bedsheets coz they're either sold out or not on sale. So ex to get the Thomas the Train Bedsheet set. It's $60 per set. Think I'll just buy a plain blue bedsheet to match it.

For those who're interested in getting the bed, can go spotlight. They even have Elmo. So cute. But thought my boy will outgrow Elmo earlier than Thomas so decided to choose Thomas. They've Dora, Disney Princess, Car, Thomas & Elmo too. But one thing i don't like is that the metal bars at the base is abit spaced out. So will need a mattress with a solid base or have to get cardboard/wooden board to put beneath the mattress.

http://www.spotlight.com.sg/catalogues?p=12448

rachel

Musician in Singapore got no future. Sigh. Have to send him overseas to study for that and it's so expensive! Unless he's so good can get a scholarship, think he'll have to just play for fun.

mamachan

i seriously think that he learnt that in school. Sometimes really dunno to laugh or be upset.

Anyone's keen on bringing their kid to this play - "The Boy Who Touched The Moon".

Pricing : $15/tix or $50 for 4 tickets. $1 SISTIC booking/tix. This works out to $13.50/tix.

Looking for 2 more to join me to be entitled to discount.

If there is enough response (20 tickets), 1 ticket would be given free (ie 21st tix). But the savings per tix is quite min.

Timing : Sun 31 Aug 11am. Free seating at Esplanade Recital Studio
Other timings are Sat 30 Aug/31 Aug 2pm, 4pm.

I personally like Act3 productions and this is stated as an "interactive performance featuring puppetry and shadow play". In my last Act3 puppetry production, I was mesmerised by the show (but it was a foreign production).

Details can be found under https://www.sistic.com.sg/portal/dt?dt.isPortletRequest=true&dt.action=process&dt.provider=PortletWindowProcessChannel&dt.windowProvider.targetPortletChannel=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar/Event&dt.containerName=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar&dt.windowProvider.currentChannelMode=VIEW&dt.window.portletAction=RENDER&contentCode=boy0808

# of tixs - 31 Aug Sun (11am)
-------------------------------------------
ky - 2

.ky.

ky

until 3 Aug. If u don't have the VIP card, think u can register on the spot and get the discount. Don't need to spend any amt and it's free.

Mashy
My MIL is the main cook at home, she wun allow helper to cook if she is around. Helper is mainly help with house work chore and when we not free help with the kids.
So helper no chance to cook.. I wun expect her to cook well plus she also relatively young..

Rachel / KY
Thansk for the meals idea.. hee I better print out and keep somewhere.
Now #1 eat mostly same as #2 except not so mushy form..
Porridge,Macrononi, mee tak mug, kway teow soup is still ok, hee it's the dishes and rice kind that worry me. Usually 1 pot cook all is my favourite.. no need to think so much but I scare the kids get bored.
when I'm home I'm cooking only for both of them while we eat outside if not cooking.. well I hardly on weekends

Rachel>> to check..what kind veggie u use in Sandwich? those raw ones? will it be clean enough? but funny to put cook veggie in it.

Re: Mee sua
Very paisey to say.. I never cook mee sua for my Ks beofre, MIL also never cook cos she did once and said it's too salty. From then no one tried liao.
Can anyone share.. how to cook unsalted mee sua.. do we like need to soak or wash first?
SIlly qns..seriously mee sua is never popular in my mum's or MIL cooking.. hahaha.. so we my hb and I are like really not familiar with this item..
Any particular brand to buy?

cookie,
I will cook the mee sua separately from the stock. Then will rinse a few times with water. But if you buy organic mee sua not salty. I buy from NTUC for normal mee sua.

Mashy,
I will dig out the exactly recipe for the mee sua kueh shared by a forum mummy in the baking thread. But for kids one I use our vege stock instead of the chicken stock so it is not so much flavour.

The curry powder is S&B. I will take a picture of mine and show you.

Me now into baking and bonding with kids during the mixing and deco. Check out what I bake today.

1569488.jpg
1569489.jpg

Hi fion, mashy and belinda

Been a long time since I visited the forum and pleasantly surprised to see many moms here with older children.

My take on enrichment esp those non academics is to start during preschool years so at least we know whether the kid has any interest in it coz when they reach p1 won't have much time to try anymore. My k1 child is currently doing swimming and I will stop him from attending classes once he can swim without any aid. I dun tink he is the competitive swimming material!

He is also doing violin but recently he been wanting to do piano as well so I tot can let him try now and decide which instrument he want to concetrate when he is older.

HI CL,
Does charmaine like MPM? DOes MPM teach foundational math or only critical thinking ones? YOu heard of ENopi?

HI KY,
I bought tickets for the show already and I think one of the shows is sold out so better act fast. ME catching the Sunday show too. So maybe can see you there.

THe onther show I think worth watching is the rainbow fish. I just bought tix too.

Hi Rachel,
Many math program requires the child to be able to have good fine motor skills to write. So mayb good to look around for program that dun req much writing.

From my personal opinion, I tink better to start abacus and mental math at an older age like 4 yr old coz many fren's whose kids are in it all say that it requires doing many many sums per week and super boring!

If you think your child is sensitive to numbers perhaps you might want to try building up premath skills to let him comprehend basic math. Check whether he knows premath skills like comprehending things like more/less, long and short. YOu might want to check whether he understand numnber sequence (mixing up the order and gets him to place them in order) and number sense like is 28 bigger or 12.

My girl can recite addition sums (like 2+1=3, 5+1=6) and even give you the answer if you ask her in any sequence. But I know she remembers them by rote learning and dun understand the concept behind addition.For now, I am concentrating on premath skills with her only.

jamom
Wow... ur son hv talent in this area, not like my #1 he dun hv such talent... I've ever asked him "you want to learn any music instrument?" He said dun want, not interested
Sigh... I think in his mind only think of Play, Play, Play!!!....

Jamom,
I heard from my fren Enopi is before MPM. So when her daughter started at K1 , she started with Enopi. It is not the fundamental for maths but it is through creative way. I feel it helps my gal alot to have fun with Maths.

Mamachan
With helper now need to make sure I spend quality time with the kids. Ha ha even got more time for cooking. This morning did this for breakfast. Cheese Sausage in Prata

1570669.jpg