(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi SY

Your gal is very beautiful ... For bfg, make sure she latches on properly. Small babies can't latch-on very well, and she may get tired easily. When she's fallen asleep, stroke her to wake up her up to drink, or put her down. Demand stimulate supply, so don't worry that 30ml is too little. Until now, I've no idea how much K takes.

Hi Fion, my older son did go to school, from 2 years for half-a-day. This is his 3rd school and he's adjusted well to his later 2 schools... perhaps he's older and there's the playground that he looks forward to.

don't understand your qn of how he catch up if I delay... hm, what did I delay? I always believe in giving input to the kid, they are very absorbent ... one day, it all comes out. Your 2nd boy a Dec kid or Jan kid? I guess for most of us here, the adv we have is our kids are Jan kids and so the development at a younger age is faster

.ky.

Ky

oops perhaps i got it wrong. As my 2nd son born in Jan'06. People said normally kids born in Jan they pick up things faster. Dunno whether is true or not. Based my case, too seems to work

hi sl, can i tompang old navy? btw can order gap too?

sy, JX is so pretty! looks like you! don't worry about supply. it will kick in soon

hi mummies..have been so tired lately. after a day of work, head back home and play with the kids and somehow my kids dun sleep until 1130pm. although we will be like heading the bed at 10pm, they will be playing ard until both knocked out. so tired...hb and myself are going for some ME time...gg to malacca this sun and back on mon WITHOUT the kids for once. haha...cos we want to do spa, facial and swimming and sun tanning! ho..ho..

SY - ur baby girl is so sweet...i agree that she does resemble you. so envy...wish i had a girl too. haha..anyway, its history liao. as for ur MS, eat more fish as it really does helps to increase MS. try to pump more regularly too..although i know with the older one ard, its gonna be challenging. take care! no worries abt the toothpaste and oh pls tell me how much to credit to you.

mamachan - D is pretty big build as compare to C although both born on same day. Good that D is not picky with food like my C. sometimes, i think he follows my genes. picky and small built. haha.. J seems like daddy...eats very fast and almost everythg!

mashy - i caned C yesterday too..firstly refuse milk after 5 hrs. are your kids like that too? secondly he took a car and swing past didi's face. poor didi cry like mad.

sleepingdeer - i checked out ur blog and cambodia is really a nice place. i must say you took nice pics. really salute u for bringing a baby there.

Aileen,
I will do the spree.

RE: Gap/ON spree
Please PM / email me your orders.
Exchange rate = 1.39

PLease give me your orders in below format:
Nick:
HP no:
Item name:
URL:
Size / Colour:
Qty:
Alternative size / colour is OOS:

Wow very active again our thread... hard time catching up.. will go home read later..

Need some advise...
Is it true that is our kid study in the Kindergarten which is affliate to a primary school, the chance of the kid got enrol into the primary school is higher?
Is there a priority for student from the affliated kindergarten to get into the Primary school??
is there a way to verify on the relationship between the kindergarten and the primary school?
I check the wesbite.. Primary sch is affliated to the sec school.. but never mention abt the kindergarten.
TIA for your advise.

SY - What a sweetie pie u have there
Congrats! Will pick up toothpaste from u when u've settled down.

Cookie - Think dun collect from you already. Thanks.

Singing - Think it's the stage now. C will also break into songs spontaneously nowadays. Love to hear the cute voice of his...haha

Queen - Will PM u aft I go thru the ON website.

Sysac ok noted

SL
I PM you my order...probably will collect from your mum place again.

SY
welcome back
Take good care and rest well.

Sysac
kae Sings too.. very cute..keke

cookie

don't think MOE got such a criteria leh. Unless the school allows u to become an alumni based on that, don't think can use that. Why not try and see if can become alumni? Or ask the school principal to see if can or not?

cookie,

There's no such rule. For children who are going to P1 it's depend on 1. whether the parent are from that sch, if yes, the child stand a chance going in to that sch. 2. if the sch is a popular sch and both parent are not from the sch grad. then either 1 parent hv to do volunteer wk and clock in at least 40hrs, so chance for their children to get a seat. 3. if the above parent are not eligible and they wish to enrol their children to the sch they want, at least their hse must be within a distance from the sch. Here are the website for u to see and they hv a no. of phrase for u to see .

http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/admissions/primary-one-registration/#registration-procedures

had a tough day since yesterday... a friend of mine suddenly passed away. left behind a loving hb and 3 gals. received the news yesterday early morning and kept crying in bed.
everything started like she caught a stomach flu and things took a sharp turn when she was rushed to A&E the night before. she left us shortly after that..

Hi Rachel

Feeling sad for your friend. Life is so short, things can happened just in 1 nite. Pity for the 3 gals she left behind. Hope she got buy insurance at least at this time been can helps much. Dun think too much.

Rachel
Take care and hope you get over it soon. We should share all the happy moments with our family and tell them how much you love them. Nowadays life is so unpredictable, but for me as long as I have live each day the way I like it to be I am fine if tomorrow should be end of the day. My only worries if my husband able to provide for my kids. If he knows how to take care of himself. So now I am keeping a small note. Where important things are kept in. Daily schedule of the kids. As something happen now I compile them down for my husband.

rachel

gosh! That's so sudden! Didn't realise that stomach flu can result in death. Must be so devastating for the family. U take care too!

CL

That's a good idea. Yah, life is so unpredictable. When i narrowly escaped death at the car accident, i also felt how life can be so vulnerable and u never know what the next minute will be like. We should cherish our time alive on earth.

Mashy
exactly lor. Especially when i told my husband to help this and that I realise he does not know a lot of things around the house so I start to worry lor. Just like my job, ha ha everything I do I keep a list of steps. Even if the next person who take over, just follow the instruction booklet I have created

Hi Fion
Thanks for the info.

Rachel
Sorry to read abt your friend. It is very very sad. Life is so unpredictable... have to treasure every moment.

Hi Rachel - Sorry for the loss of your friend. I wld be devastated. Do take care & rem the good times u 2 shared.

thanks for the well wishes. yup most pple say she looks more like me.
thanks for the advice on bf too. these 2 days ss seems to be better. i just try to pump when she misses her feed. she doesn't seem to wan to drink milk in the day but she will drink milk at night. funny gal. sh really drinks very slowly. took cl to feed her like 40ml in an hour....

Tracy
hee i lazy lah. was hopign to latch only instead of pump but i know pump faster cos she really takes too long to finish drinking milk. but eventually hope can latch cos looking at the way she drinks on the bottle, i will need to spend a lot of time feeding her on bottle!

rachel
so sad abt your fren. it's so suddne. hope her family can cope with it.

Hi Rachel,

I am so sorry. Can understand how you feel. Take care.

CL,
I worry too cos I manage most of the stuff at home. If sth were to happen to me suddenly, I think he would really be at a loss as to where everything is.

Re: ON spree
Sorry mummies. Need to place orders by 10 Jul to enjoy the 20% so need to consolidate the orders by 9 Jul

JH is really sensitive. find it hard to manage sometimes. this morn, i was pumping and couldn't help him with something and he just sat in front of his bookshelf tearing silently until my hb went to look at him...and he always say things like no one help him or no one read to him....

cannot imagine going back to work and managing 2

SY
I understand exactly how you feel now. When I put the blanket for Aden, Charmaine will be upset saying i put for aden first. Then she will hide in one corner of the room and start sobbing. Then when I read for charmaine, aden the destroyer will come pull the books, chuck his book in my hand and sit on me pushing his sister away. Aiyo sometimes difficult to juggle.

SY,

Same as CL, i also facing the same problem. Espically when i asked the elder one to give him to damien. Even when they sleep, duncan will get upset coz damien was alway sleeping next to me.

So no choice, i will try to arrange some 1 to 1 session with duncan eg, going to movie, mall or library just 2 of us.

SY,
it is tough juggling both though I haven got to dat stage cos meg sticks to daddy so we each look after one kid. Gotta give some time for JH to adjust. There's bound to be jealousy.

actually if you keep latching, baby will gradually learn to suckle faster. dats wat i learn this time. BUT I also learn dat i relied on latching so much now tt i hv hard time getting letdown with the pump. Jus return to work last fri.

Belinda,
me same as you. for aden I have less 1 to 1. Charmaine has done many trips with us, movie etc. Ha ha we reason with her. when she says always aden win , then we will ask if she eat ice cream , does aden get to eat, did she get more of this and that while aden only little. Then she went on so many trips but aden only 1. Finally she will say " ok lah , ok lah"

Just have to remember what you do more for the older one ha ha and start telling them. But this is only applicable when the young one have not started comparing etc.

Juggling with 2:

It is really difficult to juggle and give equal attention. If we emphasis too much on it, we will only become unsatisfied and frustrated. I think all parents faces the same issue, be it working parents or SAHM......I just try to think that we all grew up fine with our siblings.... i am sure our parents didn't give equal attention....they had to juggle with housework and a few children all at the same time..... no maid to help etc.....

Hang in there. LOve does not equate to attention. Quality time is better than quantity time. Just shower them with lots of love.

Jia you.

Re:Juggling with 2

I've face the same problems when i attend to my 2nd son. My elder son asking me y mummy u hv to care didi first and i'm the last one. Sigh... I always tell him that didi do not know how to communicate with us and u know. That's y i need to attend him first. If u got problem u tell us right but didi cant. Sad is he always keeps forgetting wat i said early on and asking the same question again. Nows a day, children are very smart knows how to compare.

CL
that's what i do with JH too. i emphasize on what he can do and what mei mei cannot do. actually he is ok with her but he really 'picks' the rigth words to use that makes us feel so sorry for him...

now, i m quite thankful when my family comes over to help esp my mum but my mum going over to china in aug...

tracy
hmm i rely a lot on pumping now but my gal drinks so slowly that i think if i have to bottle feed nad pump at the same time then sure tkae me hours to do it..hopefulyl she will drink faster soon!

SY - JX is so cute! lotsa hair wor... do post more pics of your little princess
i love seeing bb pics hee...

Sleepingdeer - i saw your blog and i was going wow wow!!! told HB i wana go there the next time round
the pics are reali very nice... if i do get a chance to go, will seek your help with the itinery k hee...

Hi Rachel,
really sorry to hear about your friend, its must be really tough for her family to lose her all of a sudden...

SY,
congrats on your pretty gal!

SSF, god's child,
thanks for the compliments, have to say some of the photos are taken by Wenyl, and some by our tour guide, haha! Wenyl's blog has lots more photos and I find hers nicer then mine, haha!

God's child,
sure anytime, but must choose good weather to go

Hi all the mummies here,

Can anyone advice me how to potty train a 2.5yrs old boy? I'm having trouble training my son

Thank you so much for all the advices.

fion
i did try to train my boy but he wasn't ready so decided not to force him. i belivve he will be ready when he is ready. so letting him decide

god's child, sleepingdeer,
thanks. got more pics of JX. even got a pic of JH kissing JX

1540353.jpg

SY,
wow first thing in the morning, i see a brave mummy posting a pic of her nursing baby! way to go! :D makes me want to dash home to nurse Tyler too! haha!

SY
You very brave wor! hahaha! I took pics of nursing D back in the nursing days, but was very conscious not to show too much flesh. haha. So does JH pester you to wanna nurse from you at the same time?

mamachan
not a lot of flesh lah..hee, i quite bo chap one. in fact i alwasy ask hb take pic of me latching for memories sake.

JH does say he wants to nurse but when i really say ok he will say no...he's not a bb! that what he tells us!

yesterday he even better. he was having slight fever in the afternoon but ok in the evening. hb ask him to pack his toys and he said he can't cos he's not feeling well. both of us dunno what to say...

Fion
I find the best way (tested and proven by my girl and DurianLover's girl) is to let your son witness their good friend pee in the toilet bowl or the potty a few times and they'll want to do it too. Peer pressure is a powerful tool if used correctly.

SY
You're very brave! I wouldn't dare to post this pic cuz my hb would hit the roof if he sees it.

MamaPanda

I tried to let #2 one see his kor kor pass urine a few times leh.. He saw it by dun want to learn from his kor kor leh.. but when kor kor goes to toilet to pass urine, he alway said shh shh.. but he refused to go toilet to pass out. Sigh.. Now oredi 2.5yrs old and still on diaper, i saw some oredi off the diaper especially his kor kor off diaper at 21st months oredi. Dunno whether when he is going to off his diaper.??? I'm afraid when he reach the age of 4 or 5 still on diaper & still refused to learn then die oredi...

SY
haha, then good for you that JH doesn't want to tandem nurse. I've witnessed how my aunt had to juggle with my younger cousins in the past. The older one must must nurse also at the mom's breast when it's didi's turn to nurse (older one was 2.5 years) and very possessive over the mom.

Hi SY

on managing both, can you nurse and read to JH at the same time? That's what I do ... I tend to read to my older son during nursing time (in that way, I'm reading to both). Perhaps mine is bigger when the younger one comes out (he was almost 3 yr old) and there was enough attn to go around as there were 3 adults to handle 2 kids, I did not sense any jealousy. Now, he's able to help more in terms of getting K to wear his shoes and play with him and he understands that he has more responsibility being the older child. Now that K's bigger, I tend to have more 1-to-1 time with him when kor-kor goes to school ... I used to have more 1-to-1 time with kor-kor as there are more things that you can do with an older child. that's one of the reason why I'm reluctant sending K to school ... I realize that I'll be busy fetching and sending rather than spending time with them.

btw, very beautiful nursing photo. I didn't take one with kor-kor but when K was very young, I got a nursing video with K... I know one day I'll be asked why the didi got the video and photos but the kor-kor got none... try taking one, if can't show anyone, then just keep it for memories.

.ky.

Fion
Kor Kor no use cuz he's too much older. Must be a friend and someone he plays with often or someone he adores (around the same age +- 5 months).

mamapanda

Oh i c.. like this.. then is too difficult cos my hb side all their cousins are already in primary sch. My side here, no cousin yet, i'm the only one who hv children first. He's not ready to go to sch yet till he reach 3yrs old next yr. Any other method beside this?

fion
He's not in playschool? Doesn't he have any playmates? Neighbour's kids around the same age? My girl is also born Jan 06 but she's in playschool. No need to wait till 3 years old to go school. You can always send ur kid to a playgroup like us. The 2hrs of interaction with other kids and learning every day helps too.

mamapanda

Not he is not in playsch yet. Eventually, he goes to Modern Montessori Pre-sch for last mth 2wks trial. I saw him cried so badly and my heart get softed and i'm stop him to go there till he reach 3yrs old.

Since that week he goes to MMI Pre-sch for trial period, everyday he clings on me and hv nightmare and cried everynite and worse is that he refused to let anyone carry him beside me. Before that he is not like that, perhaps he kanna scared so lost of confidence oredi liao. I'm thinking if he reach 3yrs old next yr, again go to sch like this, how?? I've to hide somewhere prevent from me to seeing him cry. Once he cry my heart goes soft again.

fion,
my son was like that last year, he had nightmare and all after i tried to send him to half day child care. like u, i withdrew him coz i see that as a sign of distress. which i personally feel is not good for his emotional well-being. but 8mths later, when i tried to send him to another school, he could manage much better. of coz he cries initially but it's not the traumatic kind of cry. as a mother, i'm sure you can tell the diff. his cry is the "yang or" kind of cry. and after my dad leaves him, the teacher said he's fine. only cry for 5-10min or so and occassionally asking to go home. but once the teacher pacify him, he's ok. so maybe it's not a bad idea delaying sending him to school. maybe by the time he's 3, he's more mature and can understand better. that going to school is fun.