(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SSF
ok will let u know when it arrives.

i successfully got JH to switch to the bigger toothbrush for kids! cos dentist says dun use finger brush anymore. took me one week to convince him to use it....now he can rinse his mouth quite well also. so hopefully i can switch him to cheaper toothpaste.

CL
hmm, maybe i shall go get one to try.

re: wean off pacifier
hmm, i am glad that yesterday's nite was the 3rd nite he sleep without..not even his nap time. but yesteday afternoon, he did ask my mum where is his chut chut..my mum just told him our dog had ate his chut chut..lucky he did not fuss much..just said : i want to beat "mumu" (our dog's name).

SY,

Can i know which dentist did you bring JH to?
My elder boy got a tooth that is lossen..he refused to let us see. He was very upset over going to loss his first tooth. and also i saw something black on damien's teeth..think to bring both of them to the dentist together.

Rena,
Ya, Rena, I am quite anxious about it that's why I was thinking should be false alarm. But now also dun dare to take medication. Shall wait and see.

That time I bought from Nature Farm but not sure now still have or not. Another place to try is at GNC, you can enquire from them.

RE: #2
I am not sure if it is my gastric prob or really preggie. Still got 4 more days to go then I am due for my mense. I dun dare to take gastric pills to cure the bloatness and nausea, just in case I am really preggie and will affect the foetus. Now got to endure. Can I ask, if my ovulation is late this month, so my mense will be late also?

Belinda,
What about telling him the first tooth is leaving so that a nice new one is coming up? Or say the tooth fairy need to take away the new tooth cos she want to give him a nice new one?

May,

the possibile is quite high tat your mense will be late as well. relax and dun think about it. why dun you go and see a GP and tell him that you are ttc so that the medication he give will be suitable for you.

Dun take risk but must relax... the more anxious you are the longer time seems to move slowly...

Hi May ... just remember to take your folic acid.

Hi SY ... don't know how good it is leh. I hardly let them play on the computer. the set I have has baby, toddler, preschool, kindy in 1 box, and I got another one that's for 1st grade. I'll probably rely more on them when I need to cook and have them entertained eventually. In fact, I'm trying to DIY my own ppt slideshow to teach K chinese words as he's very attracted to the pc

.ky.

may, i told him the samething..and this is a growing stage..tooth fairy will slowly change the whole set of teeth for him..
i also asked him to check with his classmate if their teeth starting dropping off...and he come back to me happily and started to believed.
I think he is only afriad ppl to tease him.....
so funny that it bother him the whole nite and cannot sleep...i think the first teeth come out is very importat to them at this age.

Hi Belinda

My 5-year-old just lost both his front teeth. We were more worried than him initially as we thot it might be due to decay. that's till we spotted the new tooth coming up n dentist confirmed it. He's quite happy that he's growing up and getting permanent teeth ... keeps telling EVERYONE. But a classmate of his said that she doesn't want permanent teeth and doesn't want to grow up. I got him a container and have him keep his teeth within and he gets to label it.

.ky.

May,
Hope to hear good news from you! Another 4 days more, "ren" and use pregnancy test kit to test later. For my #2, I had no symptoms at all, breasts not even pain. Only 1 day before my period due, I suddenly had giddy spell. Then I suspected.

This #2, based on his size during scans, my gynae said I ovulated late. Which was a blessing in disguise cos that was the one time we tried even after my supposed ovulation date. I guess that's how we got a boy cos we 'accidentally' hit ovulation date.

ky
hmm maybe i shall go and check out reviews of jumpstart before i buy

so u not having a maid soon?

re boys vs gals
there was an article in MInd Your BOdy abt the diet and getting boys and gals. quite interesting. i think quite true for me. those whose diets tend to be more nutritious higher chance of boys. and when u eat less or skip breakfast etc, higher chance of gals...

may

preg cannot take gastric pills? Ya, why not check with a GP for suitable pills? Like that torture yourself also no good leh.

SY
Then i no chance of getting gal leh. I must eat breakfast. If not I cannot tahan.

Mamachan
So sweet of your hb!
I can only dream of my hb buying my bags. sigh. He says he doesn't know my taste, so rather not buy than risk me disliking it.

mashy
i think there are a lot of factors determining whether boy or gal. this diet theory i think quite new. hee, so still got chance lah.

re buying bags
my hb's taste nowadays cannot make it. he always choose those bags that make me look so old...haha...even JH disapproves of his taste.

Flo,
does the Chalet dollhouse you got come with the dolls and furniture? If it doesn, then i think it's quite worth it to get.

Rachel,
if don't have the Railway Station set, then i'll drop my order. Don't think the Terrace Dollhouse is within my budget. I don't mind getting the Chalet Dollhouse if it comes with furniture and dolls.

Flo
Terrace house has stock @ the better toy shop and the packaging box is huge! haha instead they dont have stock for the chalet doolhouse. i saw their display unit and was so tempted to get 1 set for myself =p Mel must be delighted to have the chalet dollhouse =)

Rena
noted your wishing item. 80pcs set for E. i will compare the SG to TH price. since they are having sales over there now, it will cost much lower to get over @ BKK.

CL
noted =)

Mamachan
got it! 80pcs set for D boy =) will try my very best to squeeze in all the items on the wishing list.

Plantoys Wishing list:
1) Cheng- Terrace Doll House
2) Aileen- Terrace Doll House (Furniture & Doll depends on budget~SGD150) OR Chalet Doll House (Furniture & Doll depends on budget~SGD150) + Road & Rail: Railway Station (additional vehicles depends on budget~SGD150)
3) Tabbie- Road & Rail: Railway Station OR Road & Rail set 42pcs??
4) CL- Road & Rail: Railway Station
5) Pin- Terrace Doll House (Furniture & Doll depends on budget~SGD100)
6) Rena- Road & Rail set: 80pcs
7) Mamachan- Road & Rail set: 80pcs

do let me know any amendments, i will print out this list and bring along with me to BKK. Items will be drop if there is no stock or budget is over. thanks.

Thanks Rachel.

Flo plus Cookie (c/o flo), Krissie, Rena and Mamachan
Please remember that your stuff from Mamapanda are with me liao. Please arrange for makan and pick up from me. Very heavy, so please meet at cityhall ha ha. My hb is thinking i am crazy to bring so many things to office. Sitting in my office liao so pending for distribution

Anyone knows where i can find Tomy trains spare parts? My boy broke the hinge that connects the train carriages. cannot seem to find it in singapore.

CL
My pleasure =)

Ky
forgot to ask you how was the visit on the Storytelling organise by National Museum? was it good, suitable for our toddlers?

was planning to bring dylan since they will be having it from 24 to 27 May. any mummies interested to join me and dylan?

Rachel
I will go for whichever dollhouse is on 50% off. I think it is not the terrace dollhouse. I also saw the Terrace dollhouse in the Better Toy Store, much bigger than the one I saw on sale :p

Aileen
All don't come with dolls and furniture. You need to buy separately :p

SSF/MAshy/SY
My hb's taste so far so good lah. He's not 100% metrosexual like some guys I know of, but so far I dare to trust his taste. The product must "talk" to him and the bag must scream out "that's totally my wife's style" then he will safely buy. I did tell him don't turn me into auntie can liaoz.

CL
Sure! When would be good to do lunch with you? I can swing by City Hall to collect from your office building. We play by ear lah.

Where's Wally
Was trying to sit down with my boy and try to find Where's Wally book again....this time round, he was very receptive and even got the concept of looking for Wally!! Hahahaha. Was quite fun doing with him. My helper messaged me to tell me that after coming home from playgroup, he immediately took hold of the Where's Wally book again to go through, that's before going for his nap. And after nap and milk, again he wanted to go through the book! hehehehe. Now I can look forward to buying more of such "fun" books for family time together. It's his little speech that really amuses us. Will keep asking us "Where's Wally? Where is he?"

mamachan
hee, not bad leh if your hb taste suits u......

re city hall lunch
when when?

where's wally?
what book is that? sounds interesting

City Hall lunch
Do you ladies want it tomorrow lunch? Or you prefer next Tuesday?

SY
Where's Wally is a cartoon book where the main character, Wally, is a "traveller" dressed in red and white stripe shirt and you are to spot him in a massive sea of people. There will be some Wally fans in the cartoon dressed up in the same shirt as him but they are not "Wally". Each 2-page pic, there are a smorgasboard of ongoing activities in the places that Wally goes to.

I find it interesting as it sorts of help him to focus and narrow down to look for Wally as well as there are so many ongoing things happening in the picture, I will try to talk about the interesting scenarios to D. There's a beach/seaside scene so D was naturally drawn to the beachballs. So I would encourage him to point out all the balls and name the color. Or I would describe what the families are doing, i.e. building sandcastle, or one airport scene where there's one airplane that looked funny with eagle's wings. You could get the book from Popular. This Wally series left a deep impression in me when I was babysitting my cousin (many donkey years ago) and she had the book and I was impressed how she could look and point out the character at 2-3 years old!

So upset!

That stupid driver was only charged with 'Inconsiderate Driving Under Section 65(b) of the Road Traffic Act'!

65. If any person drives a motor vehicle on a road —

(a) without due care and attention; or

(b) without reasonable consideration for other persons using the road,

he shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable on conviction to a fine not exceeding $1,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 6 months or to both and, in the case of a second or subsequent conviction, to a fine not exceeding $2,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 12 months or to both.

He's fined less than $1k for his reckless act! He sped on the road and he just got this minor conviction.

sorry, it's not even a conviction.

It's like a parking fine only and he just paid a composition fine.

And this is even lesser than someone who's caught using a handphone while driving. Gosh!

Thanks Mummies for all ur advices.
I shall wait for 3 more days to test and will share if I have good news!

Mashy,
Any ways to appeal?

re cityhall lunch
tmr i got appt liao. next week?

mamachan
the book sounds interesting. where did u buy it?

mashy
hmm, how did they arrive at this conviction? not even a ban on driving?

Mashy
I think that's really sad to know that he just walk away without a conviction....sad to say, but it seems like they only convict if a life is lost or something.....but are you able to clain against the stupid driver?

SY
As mentioned earlier, i got Where's Wally from Popular bookstore. Think other bookstores like Times or MPH should carry bah. =)

Dropping by to update on Little Jillian. Here'e the link to the online journal her mummy has set up for friends and family to get updates on her: http://www.caringbridge.org/cb/viewJournal.do?method=executeInit

Latest update is that Jill is back at hosp again due to fever and is running real low on her blood count. As NUH has ran out of her blood type (B+), they are relying on SGH to send some over and at the same time requesting for donation. If you are keen to donate, please do so at NUH's Blood Donation Centre and do quote Jill's name and NRIC (refer to MONDAY, MAY 05 post). Thanks in advance.

May/SY/Mamachan

Don't think can appeal coz the letter says that he has already paid the composition fine. I'm going to call the officer in charge and ask how they arrived at this charge. It's so inappropriate. There isn't even any demerit points to speak of!

rachel,
if there is no railway station, can you help me to get another dollhouse? ie. 2 doll houses. both can be the same. like cheng, as long as 50% off, can get for me liao. thanks heaps! =D

mashy
then most impt thing is can u claim agst him? at least must make sure u dun lose financially....

mamachan
ok, i wil go check it out. thanks!

clare
i can't access the site as well. pity i can't donate blood cos i m B+.....

Rachel,
I have added the Vehicles .

Plantoys Wishing list:
1) Cheng- Terrace Doll House
2) Aileen- Terrace Doll House (Furniture & Doll depends on budget~SGD150) OR Chalet Doll House (Furniture & Doll depends on budget~SGD150) + Road & Rail: Railway Station (additional vehicles depends on budget~SGD150)
6) Rena- Road & Rail set: 80pcs additional vehicles

Thanks again.. you are the best.

Gosh!

Spoke to the officer in charge. He said that there's no proof that he was speeding coz there's wasn't any machine to prove that he was speeding despite the driver himself admitting that he was speeding and an independent witness also said that he was speeding.

He just got a small fine of $200 & 9 demerit pts. Wah, the law system is imperfect right? sigh.

SY
I can still claim against him since he's the cause of the accident, just dunno whether it'll affect the size of compensation or not. I'm more pissed off that he was charged under this offence which doesn't sound right. In fact, the officer said they've already 'upgraded' his offence.

Plantoys Wishing list:
1) Cheng- Terrace Doll House OR other Dollhouse as long as 50% off
2) Aileen- Terrace Doll House OR other Doll House as long as 50% off (Furniture & Doll depends on budget~SGD150) + Road & Rail: Railway Station (additional vehicles depends on budget~SGD150) *if no Railway Station, get 2 sets of Doll House*
6) Rena- Road & Rail set: 80pcs + additional vehicles

*do let me know any amendments, i will print out this list and bring along with me to BKK. Items will be drop if there is no stock or budget is over. thanks.~Rach

mashy,
but the impact that he did to ur car cannot prove that he is speeding meh? In that case, ur insurance claim will be lesser? How's ur injury now? My hb will go going for his 3rd physiotherapy next week.

Rena
you want how many sets of vehicles? for cars they normally comes in set of 3. or you like to get vehicles like truck, bus etc?

Mashy
that stupid driver only got a small fine of $200 & 9 demerit pts! >=/ he should pay for a higher price for his mistake and he caused you so much harm. $200 & 9 demerit pts is nothing wor. some people just never learn...

btw, nothing is perfect in this world including the law system and the law is set by we human and human beings are imperfect to begin with! hahaha

Plantoys Wishing list:
2) Aileen- Terrace Doll House OR other Doll House as long as 50% off (Furniture & Doll depends on budget~SGD150) + Road & Rail: Railway Station (additional vehicles depends on budget~SGD150) *if no Railway Station, get 2 sets of Doll House*
3) Tabbie- Road & Rail: Railway Station OR Road & Rail set if possible 110piece one, if not then, 80piece, then 40 piece in order of preference. Can get an additional train for me also? no budget as long as got discount.

*do let me know any amendments, i will print out this list and bring along with me to BKK. Items will be drop if there is no stock or budget is over. thanks.~Rach

May

The officer said that to reconstruct the accident, it will cost $2k-$3k, but coz the fine was just $200, so it doesn't make economic sense.

I can walk already altho when taking stairs, it's still painful and I still can't walk long distances (that includes walking at home). Going next physio and seeing the orthopaedic next week.

I don't know whether the claims will be lesser or not though.

Rachel
Yah lor, $200 is pittance. Littering has a heavier fine than that. The 9 demerit pts will go away after 2 yrs i think. So easy. Anyway, the car was in his mom's name.

Mashy
so sad right.. but its like that remember the guy who test drove some car and killed the sales rep.. he's walking around free and still allowed to drive and was wanting to buy another car until ppl complain in the newspaper, only then i think he had his licensed taken away.. but you know what, the poor girl is DEAD.. funny thing is that if you accidently rent out your flat to an illegal immigrant, then you can go to jail.

Mashy
really hope he learn his lesson and not causing any harm to anyone on the road ever again.

Tabbie
noted your request. yes yes, i remember clearly about the test drive accident. that monster driver, a young rich chap. his license taken away was nothing compared to a life lost. the girl was so young...

mashy
I reckon that if you want, bring the matter up the MP. Bring it up to them that you feel that these drivers are going to be a menace to society and if they are allowed to get away so easily, maybe the next time when they commit such dangerous speeding acts on the road, instead of a serious injury, a life or lives might be lost. By then, it'll be too late.

Plantoys Wishing list:
3) Tabbie- Road & Rail: Railway Station OR Road & Rail set if possible 110piece one, if not then, 80piece, then 40 piece in order of preference. Can get an additional train for me also? no budget as long as got discount.
7) Mamachan- Road & Rail set: 80pcs + additional 2 more vehicles (you help me decide which will go nicely with the system?)

Mamachan
You are soo blessed!!! so nice and sweet of your hb...

CL
Thanks so much once again for picking up the stuff. Sorry for the weight too.
I will be away next whole so cannot collect.
If I can meet you during lunch time after I come back will be good so I dun have to trouble Flo (again..:psorry flo always trouble you)
But I wun be able to meet for Cityhall lunch most likely since I will be on leave.. and when come back very paiseh to take half day again.
YOu gals are blessed.. lunch time not restricted. My lunch time got bell ring somemore..haizzz so no flexi time.

tabbiesus

ya, i still remember that case. The TPs are so ineffective. If not becoz the whole matter was blown up and the media was reporting it, they are really going to sit on it.

It's sad that things can only be done when it's reported in the media. If it's not in the media, they just sweep under the carpet.