(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Wenyl
Thanks for sharing. Heard lots of good reviews on the rainbow, esp, I have morning sinus problem. The sales person will be doing a demo for me today and I will see for myself. Thanks.

Maid salary
My maid is new and will only finish repaying her loan till 8th months later. To open a bank account, minimum deposits is $500, that will be much later. Her loan repayment of 8mths will only entitle her for $10 per mth, which I thought, I prefer to keep for her unless she needs money to buy stuff. However, my agent told me the new law states we have to pay, and cannot hold the maid's money. My concern is, since the maid has no off day, I prefer her not to hold money. When they have money, I am worried that there will be monkey business going on lor. Hmmm.....Any comments?

SY,
My down feather quilt is super duper dusty and the dust is flying all over my room. I am rather desperate to get rid of those dust lei. My aircon contractor whom recently cleaned my aircon suggested to me that I should get a rainbow as my aircon is very dusty and got chocked. He saw that I have 2 young kids, he said its good to get a rainbow. He is also using it. After his words, I gave it a thought lor.

Re:Maid
You have new maid also rite? Can share if you hold her monthly salary or pay her and let her keep?

Tiffany,

You can actually open the NTUC Fairprice plus account, it's actually a tie-up with OCBC, with it comes a saving account with OCBC which don't require a minimum deposit and it's with 1%p.a. interest.
juz fyi. thks.

rainbow
I think I remember paying abt 2.9k for it but that was back in 2002. Anyway, should be able to bargain for a better price. If no price reduction, ask for more freebies or drop freebies to reduce price, etc.

My maid has been the one using the rainbow and its not complicated to use at all unless your maid is a no-brainer.

I'll only open a bank account for the maid after they have more than $500 in their "account" with me. For the first 8-10 months when they're still paying their loan, I don't open the account for them as they'll need to pay $2 account fee every month. As for the pocket money, I don't give it to them unless they ask for it to buy their own stuff like phone card, daily necessities, etc. However, once their loan is fully paid, I'll give them $30 a month as pocket money unless they ask for more. Its also a good way to monitor what they're up to, especially when they ask for more.

maids - when to start looking?
You have to start looking for your maid now if you want her to be here by 1 June. It takes about 1 month to get everything done, unless you're getting a transfer maid. If you're taking an ex-sin maid, it'll take at least 2 weeks.

Tiffany
My mom used to have a Rainbow vacuum cleaner many years ago. Now no longer using but it lasted us a good 10 years, water based system. THe impression is that it's quite hardy.

As for maid allowance, we have to help them "Save" a minimum sum of $500 by opening a bank account, this money is used as a safeguard in any case should they want to go home before contract ends, it's used for their airfare, if not, it's their money after 2 years contract. Other than that, I would let my maid have her remaining amount of money, coz need to remit back home for their family. But the 1st 6 months where they are still repaying the agency, and they only get $10 a month, I would still give my maid so that she can buy her calling card to make calls home or she would accumulatively send back the money every 3 months or so.

Tracy
Need to warm up the EBM and then mix with the formula.

esh_mummy
best to give yeourself about 1 - 1.5 months before your current maid's contract ends. Depends on how you want to handover the chores. Would you prefer your existing maid to do the "handover" on how your family prefers things to be done? or You rather the two never meet at all?

There are some pple who allows the maid that's ending contract and the new maid have an overlap so that the new maid can pick up the tips on the housework, etc. But if your current maid is not of too good a character and you don't wish for the new maid to be influenced, then arrange for the new maid to come in the day after the old one leaves.

mummies who ordered the toothpaste
the package reached vpost already. so hopefully can receive it soon.

re mixing EBM and FM
i tot it's not recommended? i read somewhere before that should mix. so i usually put in separate bottles to give if i need to supplement.

tiffany
i will open a bank acct for her after her loan is over. my maid doesn't have off days as well but i think it's ok to let them hold a bit of money. really up to them. last time i never open bank acct and just pass all the salary to maid. but now my agent say better to open bank acct.

my hb and son also got sensitive nose but hb feels that not necessary to get the rainbow. he feels it's not worth it. anyway i dropped the idea liao cos he not supportive of getting it.

i tell u when u look at the demo, u will be really tempted......

Esh_mummy
My maid will pay for her own calling card/idd call charges, any additional food snacks that she wants to have or her own preference of underwear, etc. Other than that, I provide toothpaste, toothbrush, sanitary napkins, etc etc (I tend to 'buy in bulk' and stock up so what I use, she uses with no complaints. We must bear in mind that they are not earning as much as we are and what is $3 to us is a lot to them. But of course to each employer's own belief of what is to be provided for them and what is not.

okok, coz i'm afraid that there're some more things that we should provide that I've left out... juz bought a kebabayan calling card for her, it's like a Hi-card, but this is specially for calling to phil...

re:mixing of EBM and FM
Hmmmm, mixing is more for babies of 6 months and over who are given FM after TBF/TEBM. It's like how we change FM that's for 6-12 months over to FM for 1-3 years old? So in this case, for Tracy and Wenyl, it should be ok to have mix of FM and BM?

Whereas for nb/infants on BM is different. If supplementing FM after given BM, then should be BM 1st followed by FM. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Pleasant surprise from hb
I felt really touched and surprised when my hb sent me 2 MMS yesterday to show me what he got me from USA, San Diego - 2 Coach purses! One small shoulder bag and one wristlet (Both for a total of USD129). He went to the Coach outlet! He's there for some work retreat with the respective departments so not much time for shopping at all but he spent his 1st day going all the way to the outlet. Really feel blessed.

SY
Yay! D was down to his last pea size of toothpaste the other day and my helper squeezed until the whole tube flat! I just bought from Guardian the other day, bo bian... let me know how much to transfer to you k? Thanks!

daily necessities
I did buy for my previous maid before but she didn't like what I bought for her and prefers to use her own money to buy her own stuff so it suited me fine. Don't know about my current maid though cuz she's only been with me for 3 weeks and she brought her own toothbrush, toothpaste, shampoo, napkins etc with her. Don't be surprised that some indo maids nowadays are actually quite well-to-do and well-educated in their own country and they're here only for the experience and extra pocket money. They're not hard up for the money. In the past, only the really poor kampung ladies come here to work as maids cuz they really need the money. For example, my previous maid's father is a businessman and is in the timber business. She came here to work to "escape" from her parents . When she first came, she couldn't speak english or cook at all! Even so, she still worked 2.5years with me although her housekeeping is quite sucky. She takes really good care of Ariene, loves her like her own girl, can speak good english, can cook well and is quite smart (maybe too smart for a maid). Took me only abt 2 months to teach her how to speak and write good english. I even taught her how to cook confinement food for me.

ESH Mummy
Thanks for this info. I have the NTUC Fairprice Visa card, yet I dont know about the savings account. Simply bo chiap. Dont think I will open with such small amount, its like only $10 per mth and $80 till her 8th mths. Looks so pathetic. Thank you for the contribution, at least I know there is such account

Mamapanda,
Ok. I will press for more freebies. Salesperson will give me $100 cashback if I pay the item in full instead of the credit card interest free instalment.

Ya, I used to hold my maid's salary and will give her upon her request when she want to buy stuff. my agent told me that New law states employer cannot hold the maid's money, its against the law Today is my maid's 1st mth payday, so.... think I will have a private arrangement with my maid to keep for her. She is ex-sg and very street smart girl. Hope she can agree.

Oh.. It never occurred to me must dry wash my quilt!.... LOL.. Can Down feather quilt be dry washed?

tiffany
I think down quilts can only be dry-washed right? You check and see if your quilt has the washing label. Just send it to the laundry and they'll advise you whether to do a normal wash or dry wash.

Tiff

I dunno abt yours but my down feather quilt says machine wash. No dry cleaning. Maybe you should check the label on your quilt.

I've dumped it in my washing machine a few times already to wash. No prob at all.

mashy
Unless your washing machine is a 10kg load machine, if your quilt is Queen or King sized, it'll put alot of stress on your washing machine. In fact, when I bought my 6.5kg front load machine from Ariston, I was told (and so did the user manual of the machine) not to wash quilts in our machine as it overloads it and it's not able to wash clean cuz the quilt is too big. Its best to send quilts to the laundry to wash as they have the proper big machines for washing big items like quilts.

Need advice here.
For the past two days, my tummy feel very bloated and painful. Very tight tummy, keep burping and "break wind from bottom" (sorry to be gross). Not sure should I see a GP or Gynae.
5 more days to go then my mense is due. Not sure if I am preggie. So how? Other symptoms are nausea (only when I sit transport like car/MRT), feeling hungry more often and keep wanting to pee. How ah? Too early to go gynae or should I go GP?

Hi May
Bloated, burping, break wind sounds like preggie symptoms to me. I had all these when i was preggie with both #1 and #2. When I had these symptoms for #2, I suspected it liao.

However, at times, these symptoms are also common before menses lor. Did you get these when you had #1?

Guess you have to wait for your due to take pregnancy test. If the pain is intolerable, then you better seek medical advice. In my opinion, even if you are preggie, scan should not be able to detect so early. Think only blood test can tell.

may
if u really want to know, just go to the GP and ask for a HCG blood test lor.

mashy
IMHO, I think I'd prefer spending a few dollars washing the quilt yearly than risk spoiling a $600 washing machine.

May

All the best! Hope to hear good news!

Mamapanda
Well, I've had this machine for 6yrs already and been washing my quilts and it's still alive. Maybe my washing machine can withstand such torture from me. Hahaha. If it had wanted to protest, i suppose it would have done so long ago. Perhaps the koreans made it this way coz they usually wash their own quilts?

My user manual didn't say anything about not washing quilts in the machine.

When I bought the machine, i think 7kg was one of the biggest already coz Singapore normally sells 5kg machines. Me, being lazy as usual, didn't want to wash my laundry that often, opted for the biggest capacity that i can find which can fit into my small tiny kitchen. Was so tempted when I saw the mega machines of >10kg starting to appear. Hahaha.

Moms-only-get-together Hi-Tea
Any suggestions where and when would be a good time for those keen? Will keep it simple for this year, just meet, chat over good food!

Date: 28th May, Wednesday from 2pm onwards

1) MamaChan
2) Rachel
3) Sysac (I will die die go on 28th cos working on 27th-BD Fuming mad)
4) Flo (if 26-30 May)

A few sugg:

Goodwood Park Hotel - 1)Coffee Lounge Hi-Tea - $28++ (Mon-Thursday, serving Nonya Local High Tea)
2) L'Expresso cafe - $30++, serves English Hi-Tea Buffet (Pastries, sandwiches, scones, cakes, desserts) with 2 drinks per pax. They claimed to be known for their specialty coffees, etc

Orchard Hotel

Swissotel Merchant Court

Hanabi Jap Rstnt at King's arcade - Ala carte Buffet

Think last year one of the sugggestions was Goodwood Park hotel?

May
before my menses due for both #1 and #2, i already suspected i preggie. somehow the intuition quite strong. if u really wan to know, like what mamapanda suggest, can go for blood test....

Sysac
Aiyoh.... will the hi-tea cause you inconvenience? For the Orchard Hotel, it's under the copthorne group or the Orchard Parade Hotel?

Starting to wean off the pacifier
Mummies, this is it. Tonight I've cut off the rounded part of my boy's precious tu-tu way before his evening bath and sleep. I proceeded to put him to bed...was trying hard not to laugh when I saw his reaction to the precious tu-tu. He took it out and peered hard at it and went, "Oh no!! Open!!" (referring to the hole in the pacifier). He kept trying to pop it into his mouth to suck but it keeps dropping out of his mouth and he was annoyed! But thankfully he didn't throw any tantrums. just took a real long time to fall asleep. I was amused to see him sticking his finger into the hole, waving it all around, and then just throw it aside on his bed, and 'beat' it into his stuffed toy, and tried putting it into his mouth again. He also fiddling it in his hands while getting really sleepy (reminded me of Tracy's Meg holding her tu-tu to sleep). Am glad he finally managed to fall asleep after much tossing and turning on the bed.

Of course throughout this time, he just cuddled up to me more and wants me to pat-pat him to lull him to sleep.

Tiffany/Mamapanda/SY,
How fast can we know the result thru the blood test? Is it ex? Not sure if it is pregnant or my gastric prob. I dun dare to pop gastric pills. Keep wanting to puke but nothing comes out.My hb was saying it is too early to have these symptoms if I am really pregnant. My MS was very bad for #1 and lasted for 4 mths.

Mamachan,
I just finish view D photos in facebook and here u are talking abt him. I can imagine his expression of saying OH NO! OPEN! hahaha..that's cute.

mamachan
sounds like a good start to the path of weaning!! think very soon, most of the toddlers wlil be able to get rid of the pacifier...

anyone tried jumpstart products before? is it available in sg? i was reading abt it in the papers and looking up the website (partly cos of work). looks quite interesting

May
plenty of baby dust to you! blood test should takes around 1-2days.

queen/belinda/mamachan
heehee the cut off tu tu method sure is powderful! i will perform this on dylan and see how he react =p been wanting to wean him off his precious tu tu. he MUST have it for his daytime nap since infant till now(my mum lor, intro tu tu to him and now so hard to kick off this habit). luckly nighttime he was trained not to have it (still remembered clearly using the cry out method on him) haha i am sure my mum will once again say me cruel to dylan.

rachel
actually hor....I find that if I totally don't give my boy the pacifier hor... he will surely cry and throw tanturms...but with this cut off the rounded part of the pacifier method, the tu-tu is given to him, but it just doesn't feel the same anymore for him. So he chooses to do away with it but with occasional trying to see if can get back the same feeling.

He's been hooked on pacifier since when he was placed in IFC in the past. From then till before I try this wean him off method, he only takes it at sleeping time which is considered very good le. So now, I'm taking one step to try to go all the way. Hopefully my helper doesn't give him my spare pacifier (for when we're out). Will definitely cut off that one too.

May
Just wait it out for few more days then try preggy test kit. Actually, the pee more often during pregnancy, I find that it's more frequent in 2nd trimester onwards...usually beginning stages don't have wor. I remembered that while waiting to test if I got preggers when I had D, I felt slightly nauseas...but other than that, nothing much. But I was certain that I could be pregnant coz we were very active during the ovulation period back then la. So i waited till when my period did not come. But test too early also cannot scan...coz cannot see hearbeat, ended up I was made anxious as needed to rule out if I had ectopic pregnancy then.

SY
let me know the amount to transfer to you on the Toothpaste. is it possible for collection on this sunday?

Tabble/Cheng/Aileen/CL
went to The better toy shop today and checked out the prices. did not saw the Railway station set, they did not bring this set into sg.

Items & Price as follow:
Terrace Dollhouse (staircase, dolls n furnitures not included)- SGD269.90
Furniture set- SGD29.90
Vehicle set- SGD16.90
Road & Rail set: 110pcs- SGD299.90
Road & Rail set: 80pcs- SGD199.90
Road & Rail set: 42pcs- SGD119.90

this 3 sets are the ones on the shelves, do let me know if you would like to go for any of the set if i cant find the Railway station set in BKK.
1422107.jpg

1422108.jpg

1422109.jpg

Wishing list:
1) Cheng- Terrace Doll House
2) Aileen- Terrace Doll House (Furniture & Doll depends on budget) + Road & Rail: Railway Station (additional vehicles depends on budget)
3) Tabbie- Road & Rail: Railway Station
4) CL- Road & Rail: Railway Station
5) Pin- Terrace Doll House (Furniture & Doll depends on budget)

mamachan
i totally understand on this cry and throw tanturms without their tu tu. bcoz i encountered it and worst of all, alone with him on a bus.=S i forgot to bring his tu tu with us and it hits his naptime during the way home. he was practically screaming in the bus and i was so so paiseh! so many eyes on us and i simply cant pacify him. so die die must wean him off soon. haha

Rachel
My bro was in BKK over the weekend and asked him to check out the doll house for me. Terrace Doll House is new and stock is not in yet. In the end, he got Chalet Dollhouse for me. I think is THB3000+ after 50% discount. Some of the accessories is 30% off.

Hi SY,

What's the talk of Jumpstart about? I've the CD-ROM set and am getting the workbooks. I've got the The CD-ROM set thru' the JL Warehouse sale (and I saw a store selling outside Giant Tampines) and a fren are getting the workbooks from the kiosk at Raffles Place.

.ky.

Rachel,

I am so tempted to buy but very ex. unless there is about 30% or more discount then could you get for me the 80 pcs set plus the vehical set.

RE: raspberry leaf tea

Does anyone knows where to buy?
previously i bought but that was 2.5years ago

May,

I think you should not be too stress and anxious coz I am worried tat you may be dissapointed.. coz before my menuse I will feel bloated and having the same symtoms . that was why i was dissapointed so many times. Remember relax

Mamachan,
Way to go! Isaac also stuck his finger into the hole and his expression is priceless! I'm glad to say that for the 2nd day running, he didn't take his chut chut and manage to fall asleep without fuss. I think can consider successful liao but I'll just hold on to the cut chut chut till end of the week, if no more fuss from Isaac, I'll throw it away.

May,
I remember during the 1st month preggy with Isaac, I had really bad case of bloatedness and passing wind and I was burping very frequently. At that time, I never thought that I could be preggy and my menses ended about 2 weeks ago. So I went to see a few doctors and was taking all kinds of stomach medicine to get rid of the wind. After the 3rd doctor, and the situation did not improve, then I suspected that maybe I could be pregnant.
Maybe you can just wait for another week or so and see whether the symptoms subsides and menses came on time. In the meantime, try to bear with it if possible and not take all medication unecessarily.

SY,
If I'm not wrong, Jumpstart CD-ROMs are also available in Popular.

re: wean off pacifier
Sigh....think it's only 50 - 50 now...hahaha, I'm like panda bear now. D kept waking up during the night, tossing and turning, I kept giving him the cut-up pacifier. he just throw it back to me and tossed to and fro! This morning, he was so adamnent about having the pacifier that he tried to suck hard on it. hahahaha, but it's very easy to just pull it out of his mouth. Hope it'll be better for his nap time and tonight's sleep.

Queen
how is Isaac doing with the weaning process?

Rachel
Eh...possible to squeeze in one more Road and Rail - 80pcs set for me? D is starting to be more into trains and cars now. If cannot bring back for me, it's ok...coz am pretty sure your hb's colleagues will also shop for themselves. =) More impt is to bring back for Dylan!

Queen
Oh...hehehe, didn't realize you posted le. Good for you and Isaac! I haven't got the opportunity to cut ny spare pacifier too.... this morning D woke up quite whiny and kept going "Mummy, mummy" in a very desperate tone.... but must hold on and not give in!

mamachan, rachel
i more hard hearted. when i was weaning JH off pacifier, i din even have a spare to stand by. cos i dun wan maid to use it. hb was the one who go and buy the spare. but he hid it from maid lah but i know where he kept it.

rachel
not yet. the items just reach vpost only. trying to match the invoice now.

ky
is it good? jumpstart just came up with this immersive virtual world learning cd for preschoolers. just wondering if it's any good.

rena
last time i bought mine from this organic shop at centrepoint. u can also buy from moms in mind i think.

mamachan
must not give in. JH nowadays still ask for it once in a while. i just ignore him when he asks.

just 3 days and it will be over....

hi mummies...I am back from HK! weather was hot but not as humid as SGP. C had a great time in Disneyland although he was quite afraid of the characters during our breakfast round. I was quite amazed with the HK disneyland...it was better than I expected. At least there isn;t anyone squatting ard or spitting. haha...the place is clean...the food inside disneyland are also reasonable. C bought lots of toys from disneyland. Was telling hb that luckily my younger one still don;t know anythg...else his pocket will sure be burnt. haha..we stayed in the disneyland resort and the room was really nice! they even had bedroom slippers for C. now back to work...so sianz. emails are piling and tehre are so many work to clear.

mamachan - wow ur hb is really soooo sweet! coach stuffs are really good bargain in US. i just went to T3 outlet and i saw the wristlet pouch costing $105. for me, i can never trust my hb's taste lei. haha.. wrt the pacifier, maybe i shld try that for C and i know he may not take it so easily like D. most likely he will wail the hse down. anyway, let me try tonight. hee...

Sy - pls let me know when the toothpaste arrives and the amt to pay. thanks! C has not been using toothpaste for the last 2 wks. hee..

may - let us know if there is any good news ya!

may
all the best! hope to hear your good news!
for my both pregnancy, i suspected i was pregnant when i missed my menses and felt feverish. didn't have bloatedness or nausea feeling at the very early stage.

SY, KY
I only have the phonics one for Charmaine. Seems ok and she had fun using it.

Rachel
Thanks for checking. I will pass if the set is not available.

May
Ha ha me first one missed 1 day i tested postive and ha ha the second one no symptoms and din know i preggy till i went for my routine gynae check at 3 months preggy. Relax, and test it when it is time. Hope to hear your good news. You might be the mummy to strike for Jan 09 baby