(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

gerber tooth n gum cleanser and first teeth
I bought the oral B stage 2 fluoridated toothpaste for Ariene and she has been using it for the past few days. So far so good so I'm going to let go of all my first teeth.

CL
I'll pass u my last tube of Gerber tooth and gum cleanser. Mine's the mexed berries flavor.

First teeth
I think I still have 1-2 more tubes of spare at home. However, I've cut short the paper packaging (but the plastic is still sealed, only the top is cut off) so that I can keep it in my box in the cupboard. Anyone wants to take over? I'll sell at whatever price I got them for from the last spree. Expiry date is somewhere 2010 I remember.

Esther,
Renee sounds bad, you take care! It must be tough taking care of two sick kids!

can I ask which Doc is Renee seeing at Paragon? Is it Dr Gong? Cos when I saw Dr Ravin at Kinder Clinic at Henry Park and later Dr Gong, both of them also mentioned that S might have had Mircoplasma, and presribed her with Caripen. But she didn't get well and I finally went back to Dr. Tan at Mt A branch, and he was the only one who diagnosed her Rosoela correctly. Not to say that the other docs are not good, but I feel that if I had gone to see Dr Tan earlier, I might have been able to skip the second guessing of what she had. Dr Ravin was the first one to guess S had mircoplasma, and he called Dr Gong who conculde with his diagnosis, but now looking back, I think he might have been a little hasty with the diagnosis coz I overheard tat his nephew was down with Mircoplasma, maybe that was why it was tops in his brain.... anyway, just wanted to ask you since its qiao that the doctor is from same clinic and same branch.

Cookie,
Yah, have to say that after seeing so many PDs so far, I trust Dr Tan the most, cos most of the time his diagnosis is spot on! That and also the fact that he treats S like a little princess when he handles her, haha! Though his waiting queue is killer!

Durianlover,
my gal too, I have bought potty for her since like 6 months ago, and though she sometimes will struggle to take off her diaper and sit on it, she has never once peed in it at all! I cant figure out how to potty train her, despite me bringing her to the toilet and showing her how its done, she can even tear toilet paper for me, and attempt to wipe for me! But she just wont do it for herself. Think we really just have to trust that one day, they will just know how to do it themselves!

re: sick bb/kids
hope they recover soon!

don't know 'cos of the weather or what, my gal kept scratching here and there. brought her to see GP and was told that she might be allergic to certain food or mayb 'cos of the chinese medicine that she's taking for the cough. I am not too sure about it 'cos she has been taking chinese med since small and nvr got such problem...
the GP also mentioned that some chinese med contained steroid. what's steroid for? does it do any harm to our body?

sunny
steroids are a form of hormones that helps reduce inflammation of the airwayn or swelling in the airways. Even the cream for rashes contain some steroids too. Too much an amount might cause harm but I should think that it's regulated in the medication given to our children/adults.

wow lately our thread seems to have be talking about sick bbs. Really hope everyone recover soon and get over this phase. It's really tough on both mothers and babies. Esp preggy mummies you all must take extra care ya. Next life, I want to be a MAN, coz they have a much easier life! :p

cookie
i ordered one batch already but wan to wait for it to arrive before doing batch 2. cos need to split the orders.

First Teeth

1. SSF - 10
2. Mamachan - 5
3. Val - 5
4. Rachel - 5
5. Sysac - 5
6. Rena - 4
7. Sleepingdeer - 4
8. Flo -5
9. Krissie - 4
10. SH - 5

Oral B Baby
1. Wenyl - 3
2. SY - 2
3. Tabby - 10
4. CL - 2
5. Krissie - 2 (TBC)
6. Flo - 2
7. MamaChan - 2
8. COokie - 2
9. Rena - 6

Oral-B Stages 1 Toothbrush and Baby Tooth and Gum Cleanser - 1.1 oz
1. Cl - 1
2. Cookie-1

Gerber
1. CL - 2

some updates to rena's order

sl, esther
yeah a bit of dust and it sets off the nose..i really hate it. yesterday so frustrated to hear him cough and cough ...

i also dun wan him to keep taking singulair. i hate to rely on medicine. so if it's a bit of runny nose, i just leave it unless it causes him to lose sleep.

sleepingdeer
Dr Gong is the one at GlenE also? i saw him once and he was the one who gave JH singulair.

suddenly felt that something drop out from my knee. Now feel got loose part in my knee. How? Feeling anxious. Thinking whether should head back to TTSH A&E...

mashy
?????!!!!!! what you mean? do you mean you can feel something in your knee area? painful? does it move around when you touch it?

Aileen/tracy
yah man, i too want to be a man in my next life! but i will make sure i will not be a switched off man hahaha

rachel

yah, something loose inside. Can feel it. Don't dare to move it too much though. I felt my right knee but all cannot move. It's not painful though. I just felt something suddenly drop out like screw drop out like that.

krissie/sy/sysac/sl/durainlover
thanks for the information. there is this strict rule about not allow to bring liquid in our hand carry bag into the cabin. so it could be tricky when i need water to make milk and have some drinking water for dylan. do they allow if i tell them it is for my boy?? got to get myself fully equip so that this trip will be a stress free and enjoyable one. that is my job, not my hb's hahaha

mashy
aiyah! better go A&E, never know what that loose part is and anyway our knee should not have it too. ask your hb to drive you there and have a detail check.

mashy,
better go see doc!

rachel,
yes you can ask for water on plane. The air stewardesses are quite nice and will give you the water. What i did was to ask for water to be put in the milk bottle immediately upon boarding the plane, just in case i need to make milk for take-off and the air stewardesses are too busy to get it for me.

sleepingdeer,
Oh so J is not the only one who's resistant to potty-training...
Feel quite disheartened abt it actually, coz i've been toilet training her for months already, still heading nowhere. And i've been consistently letting her go diaperless at home, but till now she still refuses to do her business in the potty or toilet bowl. Tried all kinds of rewards and methods but still don't work...dunno why she's soooo resistant to toilet training!

mamachan
i notice that when my GP subscribed the medicine to me, his assistant will take out the paper which normally will state the ingredients, description of the medicine, etc from the packaging. is it normal? i checked with the assistant, she told me it's by law that they must take out the description paper leh...

mashy
better go see doc again. sounds terrible leh...

durianlover/sleepingdeer
my K is also one kind, she is not so much resistant to potty training, she can poo poo in the toilet bowl but she dun mind doing it in the diaper either. it's always finish biz then inform me and the suprise look on her as if she dunno it happen *haizz*
She is kinda resistant to wee wee in the toilet bowl tho, when I put her there, I seems to be able to tell she is holding it and tell me dun have.
When we bath together, sometimes she will sit on the stool and wait for me and wee wee at the same time, she will just tell me shh shh shh shh...but no intention at all to wee at the WC

I hoping the regular PG group will teach her or peer pressure to be toilet train.
I'm kinda relieve K is not the only one :p

Rachel
on the flight they can provide everything.. it's just that they do not allow us to bring it on board. SO no worries about water on board.
My only KS concern is.. dunno if their water are boiled water are mineral water... so last round I brought mine along and I have no problem getting up the flight, just declare.
Worst just pour away before check in if they really so strict.

SY
Its ok, if there is a 2nd batch, pls include me. Not in a hurry to get the toothpaste.
I keep forgetting to get the memo from 1st BD bash from you...

durianlover
J is just not ready, dont be disheartened ya. think at this point of time she yet to connect pee and poo with potty/toilet bowl. i was once very stressed out on why dylan just dont do his business when placed on the toilet bowl and the min i put on diaper for him, he pee and poo-ed. i noticed he was confused and stressed by my reaction too. so i try to let go and constantly remind him the better place to pee and poo. the day will come for her! =)

mamapanda
can i buy over 1 tube of First Teeth from you? will you be home tomo?

Cookie
exactly my tot! KS about what kind of water it will be.. hee. i even tot of bringing 2L of home boiled water for dylan during the trip! =p worry about the water in thailand. in this case i will bring some drinking water into the cabin and try my luck =p

btw, after thinking, think will not bring stroller but sling instead. at least the sling can take some load off my arms if he keep asking to be carry.

Sleeping deer
I happen to read back and saw your post about S toilet training..
sound so alike as K, I will show her, wash and paper to dry etc..
She will even imitate me by taking a stool sit in front like I do when she poopoo, then she will tell me wash and paper but she just wont weewee in the WC...

rachel
a sling is good, I din bring my stroller last time but then K was not heavy to carry around then and even now.
if you can tahan dylan weight then fine.. else train your HB to use the sling..hehehe...

re: 1st teeth vs oral-B
anyone use these 2 before? can gv me your feedback?
my gal is using 1st teeth now. but mil commented that my gal's yellowish teeth is due to 1st teeth not effectively clean her teeth leh... she wants to change the toothpaste....

rachel
yes, a sling is good. i can't go out without a sling if i bring my boy out alone.
today, i manage to bring 2 of them out. one in the stroller, 1 in the sling. and at the same time, i was holding an umbrella. haha...

rachel
i remember i brought water onto the plane. just tell them it's for your kid when u r checking in and they allow. only one bottle no prob usually.

cookie
oh yah the memento still with me...

sunny
wah so peifu..bring 2 out alone?? i thinking of getting a sling this time round but my hb wanted to get carrier instead

rachel
ya, we managed to bring only 1 bottle of water on board for ger. if cant bring up, rem to get water once u board, else sometimes they are too busy and cant serve you in time.

mashy
hope u're better..

SY,
Yup, I think Dr Gong also does go to GlenE to see patients, the docs rotate among centres. I saw on Mt A's Clinic notice board that he specialises in Immunology, maybe thats why Dr Ravin called him for advise on Microplasma.

Rachel,
for water in other countries, what we normally do is buy either distilled or mineral water and boil it before giving it to S to try to ensure that the water is drinkable for them, which is quite safe. We did that on our last two trips to Chiangmai. I try to buy brands that I'm familiar with once I reach the hotel or town, so I dun bother with lugging water around.

I had conflicting info given to me at the airport on the last few times we travelled. One customs officer said no problem with dirnking water for baby, then the other says cannot, so ask and double ask.

Mashy,
hope your knee is all right!

Rachel,
oh yah, a sling is a good idea, coz the pavements in Bangkok are terrible, up and down and other times, no pavement at all. My friend who stays there with 3 kids hardly bothers with a pram unless she is directly going to shopping malls via car. But of course it comes in handy when you are in a shopping centre

Went for my x-rays already. No broken bones. Tomorrow will see the ortho specialist and see how. I heard from my hb that the insurer won't pay up much if i don't have any broken bones. Gosh! And they didn't even wanna see my GP's report (i went there coz it was so painful I couldn't turn my back nor my neck) coz they say he's only a GP! Fed up with them!

Rachel
U should go Paragon. There's a Siam Sea World below the Paragon which is similar to Underwater world. My boy really enjoyed it when we went there when he was 1 yr old.

Yah, slings are better coz when you're out, the roads aren't conducive for strollers and there're plenty of stairs everywhere. But u might wanna bring an umbrella stroller for shopping malls if you're going to hang ard there for a while. It's useful for him to take naps.

Mashy
Do you feel your knee give way suddenly? There's a orthopedic condition like that... maybe you have a loose patella. Better go see ortho..esp since you had an accident.. can claim as additional injury.. can give you osteoarthritis next time when you grow old.

RE: toilet training
hehe. .my girl the same... once she had an accident in school and a kid called her smelly but...luckily she's at the age, she doesn't care or mind... but still so hard to toilet train, and she's supposed to be quite verbal abt other stuff, dunno why when it comes to toilet training... she's not keen
Sunny
Steroids is a wonder drug that doctors like to give to reduce inflammation and cause immunosuppression.. however, it has lots of horrible side effects.. it can make infections worse, cause fluid retention/ weight gain and affect growth in children amongst a few of the side effects, its a well known fact that some Chinese meds contain it so that it appears effective.

mashy,
glad to hear there's no broken bones! There was once i strained my back muscles and everytime i turn, bend over, i'll get a sharp spasm of pain and i'll scream. Can imagine you are experiencing worse pain than this! So the insurance company will only acknowledge specialist report? Can get GP to refer to specialist? Say it's super super painful.

Krissie,
Aunty is here! Now i know...it's such a luxury having a CL to help out! She's very fast too and pro breastfeeding. She's been bottle feeding him my BM and never even ask if I hv FM standby. Now i concentrate on removing lumps from my breast :S

tracy
good to know your CL is of great help! your hb can relax abit too =p. so end up you did not make a trip down to hospital? jia you! oh ya, btw, keep forgetting to ask you how meg respond to her little brother?

SY
heehee maybe to your hb a carrier is much straight forward to use and not girlish =p bcoz i think my hb will think that way!

cookie/sunny/krissie/sleepingdeer
thanks for sharing. i got to dig out the sling and start practicing again. dylan is not light, ard 14kg+.

mashy
will highlight to hb about the siam sea world! thanks.

update us after you see the otrthopedic, hopefully it is nothing serious.

sunny
personally i like first teeth. it actually cleans quite well despite the general brushing while dylan keeps moving about. previously his teeth were quite yellowish.

tabb
thanks for the explanation.
next time when the sinsei subscribes med for my gal, i better check with her 1st...

rachel,
ya i din go cos the appt they gave me 9am was too early and hectic for baby and me. the lumps under my right armpit getting softer. now there's a new lump on my left breast. :S

Meg calls him 'punggol didi' hahahaha...dunno why. she has been staying at my MIL's place and terrorizing everyone for a week. She's officially coming home after lunch today. Even my younger SIL and BIL who stays with MIL fear her now. Come night time, they quickly lock themselves in their bedroom and dun come out. Cos if they do...Meg will go into their bedroom, refuse to come out and refuse to let them sleep.

She will walk round the house, ask to on TV, watch this, that...until 12plus then she goes to bed. It's driving my FIL nuts i think. Then my other SIL offer to let her sleepover at her place. Hahaha, big mistake! From then on Meg kept following them home at night for the past 3-4 nights and keep my SIL and BIL awake. They have to entertain her till 12plus too.

Back at home, thankfully i've been firm with her all the time, so when it is 11pm, i'll start asking her to lie down, close eyes. If she still gives me nonsense, I'll give her one very firm 'i mean it' scolding and she will guai guai go to bed on her own. Guess she knows who she can bully.

I was down yday bcos of flu. Jamie kena abit from me as well. But I gave her flu medicine. Luckily she is better today. I told the doc that I am TTC, he was glad that I told him honestly. He changed the medicine to a lighter dose. And told me that I cannot take antibiotic.

Mashy,
Glad that ur knee are ok. Yes, GP can only claim abit of money. Specialist is the one that we are able to claim more from the driver. My hb went to see the specialist in TTSH yday as he was told by the lawyer to have a thorough check. He was told to go for 2 mths physiotherapy and will see how is it. Although it is not serious, I will make sure that we claim the driver for not being alert during driving.

tracy
hahaha so cute of meg, =D 'punggol didi'! your BILs and SILs finally have a taste of the power of meg =p and i totally agree our little fellows sure know who they can climb over and yet not get any scolding.

you might want to arrange for a private visit from the LC? better and more comfortable for you too. will be good to get rid of the lumps once and for all and learn the skills to prevent further ones.

rachel,
thanks. i'll wait for massage on monday to see if she can help dislodge the lumps. I'm not gonna direct latch anymore :p

my MIL win already lor. they are here now, she saw my frozen BM, she actually asked my SIL whether she wanna give some to her elder son who din get much BM last time. I tot she was joking but when she asked my SIL again, i realised she's serious!! thankfully my SIL not like her..she din take up her offer. hello.....my BM leh...wanna give also give Meg mah.. :S

aiyoh tracy your mil siao leh....

Sleepingdeer,

actually it is good to stick to the doc that s usually see rather than changing PD .. unless after the 2nd check you feel like seeking 2nd opnion if not child's own PD is always better coz they know the condition of the kid and history.

seriously Dr tan is good too.. but his queue can kill..

hee hee .. luckly Dr lee is still ok..

SQ va Quantas

SQ is more child friendly but their toys not so fun.. maindly for older kids. their catoon not so nice also . quantas has disney channel and toys are good...it kept elijah entertain..with color pencils, books and stickers..every trip the toy pack is different.

as for SQ mainly ben 10 and power puff things. mainly hand phone pouch, wallet, softoy andsome books..

hi mummies...happy labour day! wat a nice day to just laze around. i am keeping my 2 kids indoor for this week as we are gg to HK next Thurs and i do not want them to catch any bug.

SY - thks for ordering the toothpaste for me. do update me on the amt when it's here

re: SQ vs Qantas
frankly i still prefer SQ service esp in terms of food. Qantas not so pro...must ask then they provide food for babies. if the price difference is not that great, i will definitely choose SQ.

tracy - ur mil is really trying to be funny. i believe all the old ppl cannot understand the hardship we had to endure even to get a drop of milk.

rena - i like ur second son's name..Ezekiel

mamachan - thks for your jumperoo. Jadon is happily jumping up and down everyday. it really makes our day easier. hahaa...

SSF
Glad to know that little Jadon is enjoying the jumperoo! No prob about that, it's good to loan out D's unused toys that he had outgrown. kekeke

Aileen
Nice bumping into you at the zoo today! Edgar was really shy to see D! Oh my, it was quite impossible to catch their splash safari animal show! We missed the 11.30 one, thought we could make it for the 2.30 show but we were soooo wrong!

Tracy
Your MIL really have some weird ideas! It's a good thing that your CL is here. Must be quite a relieve! So you're gonna go EBM all the way? hehehe, seems like it's a easier and wise choice for you! Jia you! Think you'll come to a point in time no need to supplement with FM le bah.

argh!!!!!!!!!!!!!! my MIL is getting on my nerves!! Meg was jumping away non stop while having dinner so after a couple of warnings, i walk over to her to lightly smack her on her arm as I always do when disciplining her. guess wat!!! My MIL said I CANNOT beat her. I got quite irritated and jus retorted back to her,'why can't i beat her?' MIL said,'people doing confinement cannot beat children."

wat stoopid crap logic is this???? So lets say i'm alone at home with my kid and no matter how notty she gets i CANNNNNNNOOOOOOTTTT beat her??

I immed walk into my room, shut and lock the door. My hubby is going to get a earful from me later.

Tracy
Oh dear, must be quite frustrating for you. I think it sounds quite nonsensical that lady in confinement cannot discipline children. It's a no wonder some 1st borns become tyrants!!! Oh man, hopefully your hb can do something about it. Coz if not, whatever you've been instilling in Megan will be undone during your confinement... and at times, might be hard to discipline her again.... quite headache. On hindsight, perhaps your MIL says such things coz also should not upset women who just gave birth coz of the change in hormones that affects the overall temperament? After all, after giving birth, we tend to get more vulnerable and irritable?

Mamachan,
i guess it's also bad timing she said this, cos first she said I was fat then she wants my breastmilk and now this.

rachel
OOps so sorry didn't read postings yday. Ok I'll reserve the first teeth for u.

tracy
I understand how frustrating it is for you but sometimes, we also must put ourselves in our hb's shoes. He's the poorest vitim as he's sandwiched between his mother and his wife. Don't forget he's not only getting an earful from you, he's probably getting it from his mother as well. If a man has to go through this often, it will put a strain on your relationship. I have learnt this from experience and it costed me a great deal to learn this in the past year. Perhaps it would have been better if u just told your MIL that you do not agree with her and that beating her is necessary for her own good and ask her please not to interfere while you are disciplining meg in future. If she has any comments to make or say, please say it after you are done and out of earshot from meg. Seriously, walking to the room and shutting yourself in it does not help in the situation at all.

relationship with hb after children
Like most of you, we also had not bd much ever since Ariene was born. Also, I often quarelled with my ILs over the differences in how we feel we should take care of Ariene. Subsequently, early last year, we completely stopped BD and he would come home late(10+ 11pm) claiminng he was busy at work. If he came home early that day, he would open up his notebook and start reading his car forum stuff or surf net. Also, his hp sms kept ringing non-stop (even late 3am in the morning) and he claims that was his boss. Everytime I tried hinting, he would give excuses like tired, backache, got work to do, etc. This carried on till he suddenly mentioned that he wants to go Norway with Ariene and me in september.

In actual fact, I already knew what was going on since March but I simply endured it. Although I had already had it all thought out and planned on what I will or should do should things turn against my favor, nevertheless, I chose to wait for the moment of truth and repentance and my patience paid off. Now, everything is back to normal. Although we still do not BD much, we still do it at least once a month. Also, he is more thoughtful and loving nowadays, just like before.

I'm not trying to instill anything into you ladies. What I'm trying to say is, be more thoughtful towards your husbands, keep a closer eye on them and be more aware of what they are up to (esp their hp). It doesn't hurt to do so. Try to avoid direct confrontations with his parents (esp your MIL) and it'll only be to your disadvantage.

Oh, one last piece of advice for those whose hb are actively involved in car forums or any other forums alike, there are alot of single desperate bitches in there who especially like vulnerable married men who are having problems at home. Be careful.

bringing water on board
I brought tiger jar of stew and a thermoflask of hot water on board during my European flight and had no problems. All u need to do is to declare it and show it to the customs officer. tell them its for making baby's milk. You are allowed to bring water on board for the purpose of feeding a child.

Can anyone still remember how to start their bbs on semi solid foods? Ben is coming 6 mths in another 5 more days. I already bought a packet of rice cereals to standby. PD reminded me to introduce 1 new food every 4-7 days. Wat other things do I need to know? When should we give them 2 meals a day?

Tracy,
My mil is like urs. Full of comments n old wives tales. Always boosting how she brought up her 3 boys, all so ting hua, etc. Wat I did this time round after #2 arrive, is when she say something I dun agree, I will tell her nicely n if she continues to comment, I just walk straight into my room and stay there till they leave. 1 ear in & 1 ear out. Last time i will get very affected by her comments n had many arguments with my hb. He cant do anyting cos he doesnt want to offend his mum. So now i find it pointless to trash out to him. Like wat mamapanda says it just strain the relationship. So now, whenever my inlaws step on my toes, I will penalise my hb by making him bring me out for a good meal. really!

Tracy
That's really mean to of your MIL to say that you're fat! I mean c'mon, you just gave birth what! Sigh, just bear with it I suppose. Like what MamaPanda and Wenyl says, have to tell them that you don't agree with what they think is right. If they're stubbornly insisting they are right, bo bian but to one ear in and one ear out. Your hb is of good help with Meg at least?

Wenyl
Hmmmm, haha, am trying to scratch my head on the weaning process. Think during this weaning process is to expose them to as many different foods as possible. So once after bb Ben is ok with rice cereal, can intro pureed carrots/peas/sweet potato/spinach individually with the rice cereal. Each new food I remember giving about 3-4 days before intro other food. Daren had 2 meals when he was 7-8 months old. Had very nua porridge for lunch and then had those Nestle or Healthy Times Cereal for dinner. From 9 months onwards he started having 2 - 3 meals. Porridge for lunch and dinner then. Can intro pureed meat from 7-8 months onwards, fish from 9 months onwards (I think)