(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SY

haha, maybe coz JH gets special treatment when he's sick?

I just left my boy to cry to sleep for his nap. Cannot tahan. He's been refusing to take his nap and I need to rest. So just locked him in his room while he cried and banged on the door. After a while, when everything seemed quiet, I went in to check and found him sleeping back on his bed. Ai yoh, next time just lock him up in his room. Easier for me.

anyone interested to go for the museum toddler workshop? my fren actually got the ticket but then her gal fell sick this week so she can't go. anyone wants to take over?

mashy
no leh i think he just trying to get attention. pretty attention seeking now i feel.

this morning as i was leaving for work, he clung on to me for dear life....even with my mum ard he refused her. usualyl he's ok with her. then just hung on to my neck and refused to let go. so in the end i told him i going downstairs with him and po po to ntuc. he even tried to make me promise to go ntuc only and then go home. i just din answer him after that...

hee, sometimes i ignore jh also when he refused to nap. i fall asleep and wake up to see him still walking ard. but i have learnt to just let him be. i was talking to a neighbour one day and said i dunno what to do when #2 comes cos jh no regular nap time. her answer to me was to train my #2 to have regular nap times instead of being stressed with jh. that day i decided not to be botherd abt his nap time and was quite happy when he suddenly dozed off...

btw for the first teeth toothpaste, i have placed order liao for first batch. want to see how long it takes to reach sg and how much is shipping before placing second batch. second batch still can take orders.

mashy,mamachan,CL,SY,KY,
you gals are spot on. She didn't look after us when we were young. It was my dad and grandma and then i was outsourced to nanny...

Mamachan,
somehow i'm more relax with #2 :p so i'm still supplementing FM at night when i'm really stoned. the lumps under my left armpit reduce to one but the lumps under right one still existing. doing massage constantly. Now expressing 3hrly. Do u think increasing the number of times i express will remove the lumps? Called TMC parentcraft and they told me to go down tomor. Tot of trying my best to remove today so tt no need to make a trip down tomor.

tracy
must do what mama chan said. the U-C method. must really open up the nipples and push the lumps towards the nipple. think best is if can latch and clear it. maybe pumping more often can clear but that also means simulating your ss leh.

Mamachan,
no lah, the smiley face doesn't mean anything

Rachel,
when I was reading what you wrote I was nodding in agreement as well. We went through that stage too, I use to wonder why we seldom BD, and he would ALWAYS say he was tired and want to sleep while I was always the stupid one who had to ask him, we had tons of arguments about it, and in those really crazy arguments I would tell him that I hated myself for being so weak to always be the one who wanted to cuddle or BD.... but all these are over liao, after all the strained arguments, and me asking him whether the passion in our marriage was really gone, and whether he had lost interest in me etc, I realise that my hb is normal like most of the SG men, and when they get stressed at work or tired, sex really takes a back seat. It's not at all what you read in magazines about men wanting it all the time!

Nowadays, I just tell him when I feel like it, and if he doesnt say anything, I take it for a YES, and if he says he has a headache (which is a excuse he does sometimes use!) I'll either try to rape him or just forget about it...

Seriously, I know how you feel, coz for us women, sex is not about purely satisfaction, but something that makes us feel loved. So it can get upseting if our hb dun want to take that step to show their love, but its of course not that they dun love us, they are just more wooden, they dun feel the need to tell us or show to us, whileas we just would like a show of affection occasionally. So just look at the other things your hb does that do show you that

it seems S got a secondary infection. Doc says that her immune system took a bad beating from the throat infection, then the roseola and it was way low, that's why she somehow got another bout now ... it doesnt make things easier that since my mum and me have been down since last week with cough and stomach flu, its most likely we passed the bug to her... arrgghhh, hope she beats this thing fast. My paranoid hb is already listening to his colleagues suggestions and wanting to bring her to KK for blood tests... haha...

Esther and SY,
hope Leroy and JH gets well soon, they are so cranky and still so poor thing when they are sick. I have to resist the urge to scoop S in my arms when she wails 'I dun want' to her medicine with big fat tears rolling down her face.

TRacy,
you can try calling a lactation consultant to your home if you dun have the time to go down. They do charge more, but it was a luxury for me to have someone come and help support me during the hellish time I had with Bfing...

sleepingdeer
oh dear, sounds really bad. hope S gets well soon. yeah it is very heart pain to see them crying...you and your mum must take care too. my hb was commenting how our whole family seems to be falling sick one after another. guess there's just too many bugs going ard...

sleepingdeer
oh dear, sounds really bad. hope S gets well soon. yeah it is very heart pain to see them crying...you and your mum must take care too. my hb was commenting how our whole family seems to be falling sick one after another. guess there's just too many bugs going ard...

Sleepingdeer
Me oso same shoes as you. My aden always kenna suspected for HFMD. Ha ha today he has some above his lips. One of the teacher feel it it just spots does not look like HFMD. Today he is in the sick bay

Mummies who has experience HFMD, must there always have fever ? If not I am quite sure this boy is some rashes because he has been rubbing his hands against his lips and putting into his mouth quite often now

CL
jh had fever to begin with....i m not sure whether fever is a must for it.....i tot spots shd be more telling? cos fever can't really confirm it's HFMD without the spots right...

mashy/may/Flo/sy/tracy/sl/ky/tabbie/sleepingdeer

thank you all so much for your comforting words and encouragment. appreciated =)

we are very much lack of communication. like May's hb, mine will also rather watch tv and be totally switched off. he somehow took it for granted that he is off duties from all the housework now. in the past he did help with vaccum and mopping floor and weekend cooking. but lucky he is a very hands-on papa to dylan. we had tons of arguement too and i had used even the soft and hard approach. he did improve for awhile and after awhile back to square one again. switched off again... like that how to communicate? very frustrating.

after much tot, i think it will do us both good if i learn to let go abit and dont expect so much from him. life might be easier for me? maybe bah.

tabbie
how true! it is damn hard work being a woman cum being a wife + a mother + a daugther ++++++

sleepingdeer
now i know i am not an odd ball haha thank you so much for sharing. i was nodding my head in agreement when reading your posting too. we had those similar arguements and i said the same things to him too! i also felt like i am the stupid one and kept kenna rejected. it sure feels hurt when being rejected. we simply want some affection and yet not granted.

me and hb seldom have physical contact now, sad to say. before dylan arrived, we always shower one another with hugs and kisses. i think that is the difference after being parent. the fire and spark is no longer there liao. we do love each other dearly but that does not mean we need not be showing affection physically anymore mah.

really hope S can recover super duper fast and you take good care of yourself too!

not sure whether anyone watched the news 2 days ago on the topic of HFMD. one factor why the cases of HFMD are on the rise is due to the immunity of the population drop, thus causing the body not able to defend itself when virus attacks.

Hi Sleeping dear and esther,

Hope your child get well soon...... sad to hear the young one falling sick....

I realise when you have a child, child's priorty will always come first...... But i think we must constantly remind ourselves to keep 'husband' in balance.

I agree it is difficult being a woman..... you know, husband and wife both work but if the house is in the mess, i think 95% of the time the wife gets the blame...........

Was just sharing with my friend who is expecting her second gal..... Being educated and all, we know that the sex of the baby is really dependent on the sperm but as woman, we carry the baby, we also carry the guilt of not bearing a son to carry on the surname.......... Hai........

SL/SY/Flo
looking forward in seeing you all this sunday for the museum toddler workshop! one of my fren will be bringing her gal, also is Jan06 baby =)

tracy
good thing your hb is of so much help. my MIL is one that also cant handle baby. basically she only dare to bath dylan twice, once when he was 2 months old and once @ 12 months. other than that she will totally hands off haha

re: short getaway
was actually looking forward to end of May when hb's company having a company holiday trip. 4days/3nights Bangkok + Pattaya. will be the 1st time for dylan to take a plane. gonna be SQ. heard that SQ is good on children's service/meal is it? totally clueless. should i indicate anything to the airline? what kind of meal will be provided to the children? can i bring FM onboard and must it be a unopen one? what should i look out for during the take off and landing??

abit worry whether dylan will eat well on the local food since it is not possible for me to cook. is it advisible to bring stroller? dont think thailand is children friendly..

thanks in advance!

sleepingdeer,
it's very heartache when our kids cry so hard..hope S recovers soon.

the lumps under my armpits have gone softer since i started massaging really hard after expressing today. gotta spend like another half hour massaging breasts after expressing.

SY,
I really got no patience in direct latch :S

Rachel,
Good to hear you got a short trip coming up! I did not bring Meg on SQ but i heard they are really good in terms of service for kids. I think some of the mummies here have taken their kids on SQ.

Tracy
hmmm, have to apply the U-C method. Think of your nipple/areola like a clock. when you look down at your areola, the top of it is the 12 o'clock. using the U-C, using your thumb and index finger or middle finger, with thumb as your guide, concentrate your thumb more on the 10 and 11 o'clock and press against the areola really hard on the areola and on the nipple. Massge the lump under your right armpit and using your right thumb, massage from the lump and press it towards the nipple. Repeatedly doing this should help clear the duct...the frequent pumping can only help you relieve the fullness that you might experience, but does not entirely get rid of the lumpy feeling. I remember that the LC after massaging for me, I stopped feeling clogged under my right underarm too.

Actually hor, if direct latch, Duncan actually can effectively help you clear the blocked ducts. Their suckling is much more efficient than expressing. BUt have to be patient with them at newborn stage.

Sleepingdeer
Oh dear, I do hope S will be better in no time. Hope this bout of stomach flu will be over soon. Think the weather is also partly to blame.

esther
oh dear....it must be really taxing on you that Leroy is still sick. Hope he has a speedy recovery!! Is he on any multi-vits? Does PD recommend multi-vits? Perhaps it'll help him recover faster? Personally, I find that my boy recovers faster coz he's been having his cod-liver fish oil for over a year...not sure if it's also due to that he's exposed to all sorts of bugs when he was in IFC.

Tracy,
Yup, try direct latch more often. Its definitely more effective n less tedious to remove the lumps. Tats wat I experienced with Ben. Initially for the 1st week or 2, he too tend to fall asleep while sucking. But it gets better as the days go by. By 2nd or 3rd week, he can suck effectively n i hardly get those lumps under my armpits.

Esther,
Just to share my experience with u regarding a prolonged cough E had when he was younger. It lasted him abt 2mths with many visits to the PD n PD had to neb him. Eventually, I brot him to Yuguo for tuina and was also given the little bags of medicine to place on his bellybutton. U need to bring Leroy consecutively for 3-5 days for the tuina to see its effectiveness. And u may want to try giving ur son Hou Ning Fen from Eu Yan san. I remember it was mamachan who recommended this to me. Its very effective to help clear up E's phlegmy cough then.

SY,
Happy (belated) Birthday!

esther
poor leroy.. hope he gets well soon.

rachel
yes, SQ is v bb friendly..they usually will provide a kids meal automatically. But if taking CX, then must request for the kids meal in advance. yes, can bring FM, no problem in bringing opened tin of milk powder too. thailand is qt ok. only australia is v strict. wld be good for you to get your agent to indicate tt you wld like to be seated at the bassinet row. more leg room and easier for D to move ard. btw, wld be useful to keep D's waterbottle and some snacks / biscuits with u during take-off and landing, so tt u can gv it to D to ease away the pressure in the ears. Dun leave it in the bag, coz it will be up in the compartments and u cant gv him when you're taking off. What I do is to remove all the stuff tt i will need during take-off / landing and hide it on the seat. then, can take out to feed him during take-off and landing. the pressure can be qt bad, so hope it helps.

CL
My hb says tt his friend's DS had no fever initially but had the spots, then, only later, the fever came. Must be extra careful. think better separate them and also wash aden's hands often.

rachel
for sq very kid friendly. they have nice and yummy kids meals. that time hb wanted to eat the kids meal cos jh din wan..haha.....yeah like what krissie said, remmeber to give him some water or snacks during take off and landing..

Esther/Sleepingdeer - Wishing S & Leroy a speedy recovery. It's tiring on u & them when they fall sick. Do take care

Rachel - Can indicate child's meal for Dylan. I rem they wld also have some kid's kit like colour pencils & colouring sheets.

I'll be going to Phuket in Jun & it's C's 1st plane ride too. I intend to bring his FM (new tin) in the check-in luggage. Will carry 1-2 feeds plus his water on board in my bag. I intend to bring some gummy bears on board to disctract him during take-off & landing.

We went to pay for the pakage on Sat & so I plan to prepare him by constantly telling him abt the plane ride & the things we'll get to do when we are there. Funny thing was I asked if he wanted to ride on a plane. He replied "No, want to sit cable car..." I dun intend to bring the stroller.

sl
i dun mind a RP lunch.. can we meet near CL's office, then we can go to the bookshop. what abt 8 may, next thurs?

re travelling
forgot to mention tt there are now strict guidelines re bringing fluid in the handcarry bags.. but they're usually ok if you say it's for the bbs or say to make milk. heehee..

SQ
ya, they'll hv an activity pack. But the CX one is better.. they gv a pooh bag with stickers, colouring pencils, etc. Gerald loved it.

MPH Warehouse Sale
1 to 4 May 2008
Public - Free Admission
Hall 4A

The Popular Sale
23 May to 1 Jun 2008
Public - Free Admission
Hall 4

Times Book Sale
26 to 29 Jun 2008
Public - Free Admission
Hall 6B

Thank you all of you for your concern
but i think i'm gonna be a big panda soon. Now renee is down with fever 38.5 plus i need to neb leroy so have to stay awake

Mamachan,

leroy's not on multi vits yet..i will check with the pd if he can start taking any..thanks for the advise

Wenyl,

yes today i brought leroy to Yuguo and the sinseh says to cont with the neb and medicine from pd and they did tuina for him..however, 2mrw is wed, their off day and thurs is a PH
so i called eu yan sang in paragon to arrange for a tui na tommorrow.

i do want to try chinese med but coz he's got a review on fri so my utmost task now is to make sure he's alot better by then as i'm afraid that the pd will ask me to admit him he's not any better
so i guess this time round i just have to stick to watever the pd gave plus going for tuina

Rachel,

ya i also had a very happy experience flying sq to perth with renee..the stewardess and steward will so friendly!!! never had such super friendly encounter till this trip with renee

Krissie/Esther
happen to read about sq very kid friendly.. i must agree totally, our trip to GC last year on SQ was also very pleasant..everyone is very helpful and friendly. It worth the $ to be on SQ when with kids.

SO much to read... I will catch up later.

JH fever is gone but his drippy nose came back. i think his allergy starting again. causing him to cough at night...so i moved out of the room with him again..sigh...funny thing is even after taking med, he still so energetic and only slept at 11pm...

esther
hopefully leroy gets better soon so no need to be admitted. let mek now whether tuina is effective. told hb abt it and may wan to consider it as an alternative. not too keen to start JH on another round of singulair...

Morning Ladies,
Need to ask u all.
Is it ok to conceive while eating antibiotic? I am having a bad flu now, will be seeing doc later. Wonder if I should take antibiotic. But my O day will be about 2 May to 4 May. If it were u, will u take? Am worried if I dun take, I will pass to my gal who is 28mths old. How ah?

Have been MIA for super long...wow so many postings! Just managed to skim thru them!

rachel,
I've taken SQ and Qantas before with my kids. To be honest, I find SQ so-so only in terms of baby-friendliness...maybe my expectations too high coz everyone keeps saying SQ is good for babies! Haha. SQ is good in the sense that they provide kids' meal which is not too bad (got chocolate bar, jelly and other stuff). But their toddler toys are boring..just some stuffed toy that Janelle wasn't interested in. Their more exciting toys are for older kids and they ran out of them when i took their flight. And their in-flight entertainment was pretty pathetic, worse than Qantas. At least Qantas had some nice cartoons...SQ flight i took didn't have. So that was a big minus point for me considering my girl loves to watch cartoons!
But since your trip is a pretty short one, maybe it's not too bad

RE: switched-off hubby
Hahaha when I read about what you all said abt hb not helping out, switched off, watching tv all the time, etc, i realised my hubby is normal after all! Hehee...so take heart that you're not alone! And it's true, intimacy really takes a back seat after you have kids. After you have 2 kids, it gets even worse (at least for me).

RE: toilet training
Just to vent my frustrations here....
whoever said that toilet-training girls are easier than boys? Well, it's not true in my case. J is a tough one to toilet train. Train until so pek chek already and still heading NOWHERE. If she can even pee in the potty or toilet bowl it's a miracle! I can only be thankful i have a helper to help clean up the mess all the time! haha

May
I guess it would be better to nurse back your health then TTC later. Did you make known to your GP that you are trying to conceive? Better to call the clinic up to check if it's safe.

esther
Hang in there! I guess for now have to wait for a while more with the neub for Leroy, try to avoid mixing chinese meds with western meds. If after the period of neubilizing him is not effective, then I guess can try TCM. I hope the tuina will be effective too!! I've PM you

may
i think maybe u shd let the doc know that u trying to conceive?

i was actually sick for 3 weeks before i conceive #2 so i dunno whether it wil have any effect or not...

durianlover
dun be too stressed with toilet training. for JH, i just do the usual every day. waiting for his own timing....i think he wants to be diaper free yet he lazy to tell us when he wants to urine. but whenever he manage to urine in the toilet bowl, i can see his proud face..haha

esther,
just to share, my niece was down with phlegmy cough and was on medication for a long time, ard 2 mths. After all these med, she still wasnt getting any better. We tot she look abit 'lian qing qing' with all the med tat she had to take.

My mum then took her to a chinese doc, and the doc gave her Hou Ning powder.We stopped her english and only gv her the powder. And it was very effective for her. She became much better and her appetite also became better. So maybe can try it out.

Re: hou ning

I tried it with c last time when he was constantly sick. No use at all and it's so expensive!

It's from this stone-like thing. Dunno what though. Looks like a stone to me. Can get from Eu Yan Seng.

Mashy,
Yes, its v ex for that tiny bottle. But it really helped E then. Took 2 bottles n his phlegmy cough improved. Tat was my last resort after taking so many western medicine. My hb also took it when he kanna those "100 day" cough. It was effective for him too leh.

How are you? feeling better now?

wenyl

Seems better already. can walk longer distance liao altho above limit, the pain will return.
So sent C to school today, finally can get some rest while he's in school. Also left with the back pain and weak hand. Hopefully will recover soon. I heard can take a while to recover.

My HB tried the hou ning from EYS. He say very good but very expensive.
But for my niece, we got it from a chinese medical hall. Much cheaper.
But then again, my colic got the EYS for her boy also din work. Then she got the Dong Cong Cao, work better for her boy.

Re: chinese med
I have tried eu yan seng, tuina and even the crocodile meat soup for charmaine. Eu yan seng's not good for her. Her appetite actually decrease and the med didn't do her any good either. For tuina, guess the effect cannot be determined but she loves it. Even now, she will soemtimes tell me she wants to go "rub rub". Treat it like cheap baby spa, i guess? No harm right? What I don't like about the place is that the air circulation's not good plus you have kids coughing in there. Maybe I am paranoid but I can literally feel the germs flying in the air. It's really bad at night, esp. Thur nights since they are closed on Wed. Go in the afternoons - better as lesser crowd.

For charmaine, her cough's now under control but similar to leroy and jh, even a little dustmite can trigger it. But I do find that when she's heavier, she handles it better.

SY/Flo,
We meet at the lobby on 4 May, 115pm can? At the ticket sales counter? There's a red statute there. Your tix are still with me....

Re: SQ
I really liked SQ's service when I travel with charmaine. They are really good with kids but agree that the toys kit is really not interesting.

re : Hou Ning powder
only if the kid does not have a fever. helps with the dry sort of cough. If get at EYS at singapore, it costs aprpx $50 to $60 per bottle. But if get at HK EYS, it costs HKD$600 for 1/2 dozen. similar small bottle, but slightly different packaging, so we usually stock up when frens travel overseas. EYS is from HK btw. however, my nephew shivers and go weak after he takes .. so one reason might be overdosed or perhaps really not suitable. He's an Oct 05 kid.

btw, esther, on xiaoertuina, u've to do it everyday for approx 1-2 weeks, then twice a week and generally down to once a week and once a month ... that's what I've done with my #1 before (& his immune system improved quite a lot after I would say 4 months; I was at one time quite disappointed with the western med too), and recently recommended 2 mummies to this place at Jurong East and they are seeing results. This doc prescribe quite bitter medicine + several other techniques ... let me know if you want more info. she's closed on Sun/Mon and opens at 1pm on weekdays ...

.ky.

sleeping deer
so sorry to read about S, she is still seeing Dr T Tan rite? She is good hands.. Dr Tan is good

re: oral B tooth paste
Is the order final and ordered already? Can I order also? I go find the latest udpated list first

Esther
Hope the tu-nan is helpful to Leroy, I met a mum her newborn abt 4 mth old also sick often and she brought her to Tu-nan the same place as the one u mentione and her comment is her gals did imporve.

tracy
I had engorgement on the armpit too when I had Kyler.. it came on day 2 or 3 and super painful tof rme... the massaging nearly kill me. Thankful it's not painful for you.
When I massge...I can see droplet of milk coming out from armpit.. faint
Keep on massaging!!

Wendyl
Saw your brotherly photos... so cute!!! Ben is so chubby!! so cute.. I wanna bao bao him.
Make me so happy seeing the photos..
bright up my gloomy mth end closing day.

I hope this is the latest.. to my best knowledge

First Teeth

1. SSF - 10
2. Mamachan - 5
3. Val - 5
4. Rachel - 5
5. Sysac - 5
6. Rena - 10
7. Sleepingdeer - 4
8. Flo -5
9. Krissie - 4
10. SH - 3

Oral B Baby
1. Wenyl - 3
2. SY - 2
3. Tabby - 10
4. CL - 2
5. Krissie - 2 (TBC)
6. Flo - 2
7. MamaChan - 2
8. COokie - 2

Oral-B Stages 1 Toothbrush and Baby Tooth and Gum Cleanser - 1.1 oz
1. Cl - 1
2. Cookie-1

Gerber
1. CL - 2

cookie,
milk coming from the armpit?? like accessory breast? Ya, thankfully mine is not painful. no time to go TMC for massage today. so still relying on own massage and on the dot expressing.

wenyl,
direct latch....sigh...i will try that later *reluctantly*

Yippee!! Confinement lady arriving this evening!

SY,

oh no...Leroy really sound like JH...his nose is a ongoing problem
i think constantly taking singular is also not a solution .

i will keep u updated on his tuina session. in fact , yesterday after the session, he napped for 3 hrs!! its his record coz he normally only nap like half hr at most! so i guess it does help to a certain extent. the fact that at least he's getting some rest.

shall see if he does nap well today too.

RENEE

haiz
this morning fever hit 39.1 degree. lucky eu yan sang @ paragon so brought renee to kinderclinic. so now got to observe for microplasma...faint faint faint

now waiting for them to finish lunch and give them medicine hopefully i can catch a nap

KY,

i also asked the sinseh so i intend to bring him everyday till he's better than cut down gradually..i think he really needs to "fine tune" a little..or rather a lot

Mamachan,

ya..i only give tuina..no chinese med...but by fri he's not well will stop his western med coz he's been taking it since 23rd april already..he's really like being drowned in medicine