(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Wenyl, I heard about this suggestion from someone before if you're worried about E bringing home viruses from a cc. Start him off in a playgroup for a few months, let him start building up his immunity there cos playgroup has shorter hours and lesser interaction. Then when he's used to it and he's ready, move him to halfday cc. Yah, I understand how difficult it is without a bus service. But sometimes, I also wonder how clean the bus is because there are students from different schools taking the same bus, there's possibility of getting sick from there, esp HFMD. Sigh, no point worrying about so many things. Just hope Kirsten is strong enough... So far she fell sick 3 times if I rem correctly since started daily 5day playgroup in Jan. Oh, also I give her plenty of supplements so even if she falls sick, won't be too jialat.

Mashy, you're welcome! Wah, C's immunity is so strong. HFMD is also my worry. Heard from neighbour that in my estate, many children are down with it. So scared of K even touching the lift buttons.

esther
actually, for me, the its just the ventolin puff in the aerochamber.. is that what you call the nebuliser? Cos in med terms, the nebuliser is the one that is connected to an oxygen supply that helps kinda force the meds in.. i am a bit confused cos to neb would mean to rent the nebuliser machine home. For us even when taby was bad, it was only the puff with aerochamber every 3 hours.

mucosolvan is the same as brohexine. i also used rhinothiol before for tabby.. but they say the best is fluimicil... all these 3 melt the phlegm and make it less sticky. I dunno if leroy can take fluimicil yet...

Poor leroy, he's really on lots of meds! hope he gets better soon... i can imagine cos didi will spit out and vocalise his extreme displeasure at taking meds..

Mommies
you know thad still has no teeth at 10 months! And he's very quiet compared to tabby except when they fight over toys, then he'll scream!

Show u a pic of my TNT babies :D
1365186.jpg

This HFMD really sound scary. Yesyerday newspaper - the gal has brain damage or something and is prone to violent outburst.............

I also find it difficult to disgnose....

My niece had fever and visited a doc. Was prescribed some medication and then have rashes on her stomach and thigh, not feet and hand. A few days after the fever subside but rashes still there, my sister brought her gal for chicken pox jab at a different clinic. The PD says my niece has HFMD so refuse to jab her......... But all these while my niece has no spots on hand and feet, not visible ulcers and have good appetite. The PD says she has two ulcers at the back of the mouth....???

So imagine my sister may have brought my niece out after she recover from the fever not knowing she has HFMD. She even came my house and our children play together.

Hee hee i am still doubting the PD's diagnosis........

Yuki

That day I notice spots on aden's foot, family GP check his mouth and say rule out. Then when we went NUH, he actually has a small ulcer, the PD at NUH A & E check back of his throat and also rule out.
Not sure if the guideline it should appear at back of throat

Tabb

TNT so cute. is Tabby head smaller than didi ? ha ha if yes same as my set ha ha

Hi Tabb,

I kaypo ...a neubilizer is different from an aerochamber. A neubilizer I find is more commonly used as it's more effective in younger kids. An aerochamber however is less effective as with 1 puff, quite a minimal gets puffed in by the kids, and usually for aerochamber, the child needs to keep doing it for 3-6months for preventive and maintenance mode. I've got both in my house and used both before ...

here's how an aerochamber for those who doesn't know how it looks like

1365379.jpg

Hi Esther
9 times since barely one month is too much ... the PD seems unsure of the cause; some medicine takes time to see the effect. Is he sleeping ok at night or waking up by the cough? I'll suggest a change of PD.... but since he's on neubilizer ...

.ky.

Hi Chicken Little,

I got confused after hearing from my sister. The spots / rashes appear on my niece thigh and stomach so we thot it is common after a bout of fever...... End up the PD says its HFMD at recovery stage.

Nowadays i refuse to bring the gals to playground. Rather bring them outdoor like Botanic garden, zoo etc.........

CL
what is the venue and time for lunch on monday? do help me inform SL i would like to collect the todd workshop tickets from her on monday. sorry for the trouble, coz i dont hv her hp no. and always contact her though emailing. thanks

Aileen
hang in there! the 3 of you will be back to good health very soon. must get your hb to double protect himself too!

Esther
Leroy has been falling sick very often since birth hor? poor boy.. practically drowning with all the medicines!

you might want to go for TCM/supplementation for little Leroy to cure the root to his sickness and poor immunity... since all medicine has side effect and harsh to the body.

Speedy recovery to all sick mummies and childrens!

re: HFMD
the most serious case i had known of is that even buttock will have spots and the whole mouth swollen with uclers. so terrible.

re: milk poll

bblon/Damien = 2 x 180 ml pedisure mixed with rice cerel (730am/830pm) sometime even skipped the 830pm feed..if the take too much for dinner
sleepingdeer/S = average about 150ml X 3, 730am, 3pm, 930pm
tracy/megan = abt 750ml, 630am, 10am, 230pm, 6pm, 10pm
SY/JH =110ml a day at 9pm
Chicken Little/Aden Weekday 720 ml , 7am, 2pm, 9pm
weekend 960 ml , 7 am, 11 am, 3 pm and 9 pm
Cheng/Aidan 600ml, 8am, 3pm, 10pm
MamaChan/D 540ml, 7.30am, 4pm, 9.30pm
Rach/Dylan 660ml, 7:30am, 3pm, 10pm

re: Chinese Books
i remember someone mentioned before try not to go for chinese books that come with han yu ping yin right? can anyone refresh my memory the reason for it?

so far the chinese books i got for dylan is only of chinese characters.

btw, hb will be going on biz trip to shanghai in early May. he is prepare to buy a whole lot of activity books back for his DS. any mummy want to get some too??

Rachel
Actually, the han yu pin yin is more for me. hahaha, my chinese is that bad. I can only speak it, but not write it nor read it well. I hope D will not be like me. My hb joked to say that he will get D into karaoke next time with all chinese songs as it's the best way to learn chinese. I nearly want to faint!

CL
I might be able to join you mummies on 21st for lunch. Play by ear 1st.

Rachel
Ya dun get han yu pin yin because later the kid will rely on breaking up chinese word like phonics way. So better to use books with character only so it will reinforce on word recognition something like that

rachel

if u get books with hanyu pin on top of the char, the kids will start to rely on hanyu pinyin rather than recog the words itself. In future, they won't be able to read chinese words without hanyu pinyin.

My boy speak mandarin like ang mo. I was teaching him the body parts in mandarin and he spurted out in ang mo style mandarin. So funny.

And he squeezed himself into the little hole in the Ikea Expedit shelf today. It's so small, only 35cm by 35cm. haha, he keeps making me laugh at his little antics.

CL/mashy
I guess I'll have to cover the han yu pin yin at the bottom of the chinese characters when D is older and starting to take interest in reading. Right now, I'm reading aloud to him and he's more interested in the pictures.

mamachan
heehee, can get daren to read chinese comic books =p i learnt alot of words from there and in a more relax and interesting way. karaoke session can be costly la, comic books can rent, lower cost. wahahaha

CL/mashy
oic, thanks for sharing. btw my han yu pin yin very weak one, word recognition lucky is good. all thanks to my past passion in reading comic. haha

mashy
one of my fren 5YO boy also speak mandarin like ang mo. sure sound funny when he speak to us. the reason why he speak in this way is bcoz since young both parent communicate with him in english. so now his mandarin really cannot make it and my fren panic. she start talking to his boy in mandarin and even highlight to us to speak mandarin to her boy when we were visiting them.

she said that if she dont do it now, her boy will have a hard time when he goes to P1.

rachel
Actually thinking back, when I was young and at home, I spoke zero mandarin. Exposed more to cantonese as my granny helps me mom look after me and my mom only spoke English to me. But I started picking up mandarin in kindergarten and primary school and of course along the way, I needed tuition in chinese. But other than that, can survive through the schooling years. It's coming out to work that I started to use more mandarin to converse with colleagues, etc. But reading now it's harder unless I start to read the simple words and progress on to read without hanyu pin yin. So jia lat hor? But I hope D will be adaptable in school to pick up. I've heard him happily repeating after me in mandarin for simple words as he has a china teacher in his CC that takes his chinese classes. Only he refuses to pick up cantonese from us.

Hi Mashy and Rachel,

I realise i have a problem when i notice Ashley don't know how to respond to the aunties at the market place when they speak to her in Chinese. OUr case is worse cos my parents, in laws both speak to her in English too. She look totally blur.....

So we slowly introduce Chinese to her by speaking to her in chinese in some simple things like Chi Fan (Eat rice), chong liang (bath)....

Now she is much better and can converse with others in mandarin but still with abit slang. I was so surprised and proud when she replied to the auntie at the foodcourt cleaning the table and she asked if we still want the food - "Ze Ge Bu Shi Wo Man De" (These are not ours).

re speaking like ang mo
i heard before that for now, they usualyl speak chinese sounding like ang mo. very funny to hear them speak like that. JH also does that. sometimes when i converse with hb in chinese, he will purposely translate everything we say into english. so now we try to be very careful esp when we talking abt him

val
yeah i think without a maid is really tough esp with 2 kids and esp if the kids are demanding. at the end of the day, whether can manage without a maid or not depends on how demanding the kid is.

rach
yeah it is better to get those without the hanyu pinyin so that the kids dun get confused. but i find it hard to find books without the hanyu pinyin in sg...

esther
hope leroy recovers soon. sounds really bad...

re immunity
actualyl i find that JH's immunity really got better after he starting taking cod liver oil. really prone to less cold and cough. only problem with him is his allergies. other than that he doesn't really fall sick from common cold and cough. also think once he crossed the 12kg mark, the instances also gets lesser.

so far he hasn't caught anything from sch....praying that it stays that way!

SY,
I'll contact you via phone. Should be dropping by this wknd cos jus went chk-up, my gynae said maybe anytime this week. hahaha...

Aileen,
oh dear...yes, i heard that the adults suffer more. My fren had it from her kid too. Hope you recover soon, as well as Tyler and Edgar!

I agree this HFM is very worrying. We keep cleaning meg's hands even when bringing her from MIL's house down to the car. Cos she will touch the stair railings, lift buttons etc. I'm also keeping her away from school for the time being.

Esther,
Hope Leroy recovers soon too!

Rachel,
Megan pronounces 'kaya' as 'kayer'...and recently she heard my MIL calling the maid,'Sampat!' and now she goes round calling us 'Sampan' :S

tracy
woohoo! anytime for you to pop liao! do update us and boy boy better be guai guai to allow you to have natural delivery ya! take plenty of rest =)

haha now our children sure pick up things super duper fast and we really have to watch what we say infront of them.

earlier hb was asking dylan who will be coming tonight and both of us were taken aback by his reply. he said, "ah gong, bring mao mao(his way of saying mickey mouse) pillow here." the thing is its last night that his ah gong told him over the phone that he will be coming over. had bought a mickey mouse pillow and will bring over to him. the whole of today had not mention to him again about his ah gong's visiting, so was very surprise he remember the promise his ah gong made..... lesson learnt, we got to keep to our words. they remembers! =p

SY
actually for chinese books, can look for those imported from taiwan or china. those will not have hanyu pin yin and their standards are good too.

Hi Mommies
Haven’t logon for a while, been very busy at work

Aileen
Hope all 3 of you are recovering well

Esther
Hope Leroy gets well soon.

Tabbs
Didi looks like Tabby! Actually Mel’s teeth only grew out when she ~10 mth old but a few will come out at one go

Val
I agree with you PT class is very international now. The teachers say Mel’s best frens are Kristen and the Russian gal. I guess prob cos they are about the same size

Queen
Did you manage to get in touch with the principal? My mom said some parents came to view the place today also.

Rachel
Ya I think they really have elephant memory...so must watch what we say now!

thanks for ur concerns,we are all well on the road to recovery. it's true that adults do get it worst than kids. my blisters are really bad. could barely walk. thankfully my kids's ones are much milder, else i don't know how they are going to take it. it's really unbearable. i couldn't sleep for a night coz the blisters are itchy too.

now i have another problem, my nipples are badly cracked too. i don't know why this time i have so much problem with breastfeeding. 4x mastitis in 5mths and forever having cracked nipples. but this time it's the worst ever. if any man is going to see them, i think he will be so turned off by woman's breasts for an entire year!! if there's really god (sorry i'm not christian/catholic), i wonder why did he give me abundance of milk but let me suffer from all these!!!

aileen
glad to hear that your family is getting better.

how come your nipples are so badly cracked? not from HFMD right? does putting breastmilk on it help?

Cl, Sl
can't join for lunch today. me on MC. down with food poisoning.
sob sob..my curry fishhead...

Fishhead Curry Lunch 21 Apr ??
1.SL
2.Chicken Little
3.Rach
4.Mamachan ?

So are we still going ahead ? What time ? Let me know I go book seat first

Hi mummies. Leroy was admitted to hospital yesterday after i brought him to the doctor again. This time they did a blood test and x ray and shows lungs mostly covered in phelgm. So its bronchitis and needs to be in for bout 5 days. Now using my mobile phone to log in since he is tired out after struggling each time after the neb.

esther

oh no! It must be tough now. I can still remember when my boy had bronchitis and needed to be hospitalised. He will eventually get used to the nebu after a few days. Take care!

SY
U take care too! Food poisoning during pregnancy feels terrible.

esther,
oh dear..poor Leroy and you must be tired out too.

Meg's still recovering from her cough, taking alonger time this time. When I brot her to the PD earlier, he also mentioned that her state was jus before it becomes bronchitis.

Hang in there and take care!

esther
Hope Leroy got better after admission. Witness how he scream last time but later on they will resign to fate one.

was at the hospital and the nurse ask me not to stay long with the kids. So do note that Bronchitis and other chest infection virus are on high side now

Aileen
Hope you gets well soon. Did you apply cream to moisturise. I suffered first time for cracked nipples but second on not too bad

SY

esther,
sorry to hear about leroy. u take care ya! ur boy will recover in no time. things can only get better

i'm feeling much better already. i mean my boobs too. i have been expressing manually so that the wound can heal. else there's no end to it.
CL, yes i did apply moisturiser but didn't help. during ed's time, i also had crack nipples but never this bad and for so long. nevermind, i just keep telling myself that things will only get better. gotta think positive! :D

Hi CL

Would love to join in for the Curry Fish head, but been so busy lately. Join you all another time.

Aileen
Sorry to hear that your kids and yourself were unwell. Glad to hear that all have recovered now. Thank goodness, my kids were Ok, but I was down with sore throat last Friday. Now on Anti-biotics.

Re:Crack nipple
Take care. I know its extremely painful. Good that you keep thinking of the positive side. MOMMY is always so GREAT. Endure Ok...

To those mommies and kiddos who are sick,
Wish you all speedy recovery. Take care.

Aileen,
oh dear, hope you feel better now. Its terrible when one kid is sick, but both is a torture, and you are also down, some more with cracked nipples, I cried everyday for the first month of bfing when i had cracked nipples, whenever people ask me what it feels lilke, I always tell them its like taking a knife and slicing it across your nipples!

Esther,
hope Leroy gets better, so headache when they are admitted to hospital.

S is also quite sick, she had throat and ear infection two weeks ago, the cough was bad, so last week bought her to the PD. PD prescribed Antibotics and though it cleared up the throat and ear, she started fever again late last week. PD then suspect mircoplasma and switch antibotics, and from fri to today, she is still running high fever all hours of the day. TOday bought her back to Mt A, and Dr tan suspect a strong virus attacking her. Tomorrow got to do blood test liao, sian...

sleepingdeer
Hope S recovers soon. Was going to sms you when I saw your update. Do rest well too because you need to take good care of her.

Tiffany
Dun worry Curry was off in the end only me and SL. ha ha brought her to the organic vegetarian store which i go instead

Re : Sick
lucky damien recovered fast this time...but he is super cranky..and fussed almost everything.....

I realized that whenever my nephew is back to my mum' house..damien will start to behave differently..trying all sort of nonsense to gain our attention.

Mashy,
PLMC pre-nursery is full. No vacancies for both time slots. So my search continues.....

Aileen,
Hang in there! Could it be bcos u r total expressing ur milk tat causes ur cracked nipples? how abt try latching on again when u are back home? Maybe Ty will accept both direct n bottle feeding? tats wat i m doing now with Ben. sometimes i pump too long n can feel nipples are sore.

Esther,
Pray tat Leroy will be fine soon. Very heartaching to hear he is hospitalised.

sleepingdeer,
ths cough/flu virus is much stronger this time round.

Hope all the sick babies and mummies recover soon!

esther
Oh so poor thing 4 leroy, hope he gets well soon. How r u coping? Is ur hb in town. Take care ok. Dun worry after a while he won't fight anymore. I fought with tabby initially for the puff now she is ok with it. My tab also kena her bronchitis again. When ur kids fall sic so often feel really heart pain.

esther
oh dear hope leroy gets better. seems like kids nowadays very prone to bronchitis. my neighbour's gal was also down with actue bronchitis some time back. u take care too

sleepingdeer
hope S blood test is ok. seems like kids take really long to recover now. wonder what's in the air...

CL
the thought of the fish head curry makes me drool. now that i canot eat a lot of things, any yummy food makes me drool. last week i bought hb a banana choco fudge cake for his bday and it's sitting inside the fridge. the thought of it also makes me drool...hiaz...

ha ha i oso drooling woh. Must find a way to get my husband to go Bedok but must book in advance right ?

Hmm maybe i go prego later

SY - yummy...choc banana is my fav too from secret recipe. you are making my tummy growl. hee..
eh when caleb speaks chinese..he also sounds like an ang mo. haha...so i can understand what you mean...when they talk without the pin yin.

esther-i cried the last time Caleb had to take the nebu in KK. he also had bronchitis the last time round. pray that Leroy gets on the recovery road soon.

tabb - Tyler looks like his jie jie. so cute. Jadon is also toothless at 8 mths old. still waiting for his first tooth to appear. i still remember Caleb got his first tooth as early as 4th mth. i got a similar pic like urs..sharing my bundle of joys

1369990.jpg

Esther/sleepingdeer
Oh dear, hope your little ones will get better sooner! Must been a real headache and hearache to see them getting so sick.

Aileen
Hang in there! I can totally emphatize with you on the mastitis part. I kenna 4 times during my BF of 7 months. The cracked nipples was sheer toture during the 1st few months. It's good that you'll think positively of the entire situation.

D having Daddy-withdrawal symptoms
My hb away for one week and coming home tonight and what a relief! D's behaviour changed abit, more manja and keeps looking for me for a cuddle (not that I'm complaining). But he's better behaved when Daddy is not around, only up to mischief when daddy is around and dare to throw tantrums. He seemed to understand that my hb is coming home tonight. Am gonna bring him with me to the airport to pick his beloved daddy up. Any mums with hbs that travel for work encounters such behaviour with your todds?