(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

tabbs
wah your gal even better ask for injection...

tracy
he funny hor, like the father likes to take medicine.... he loves going to Dr also. every little thing tell me he wants to go see his Dr.

sleepingdeer,mamapanda,
i'll go and check out st. joseph by this week. btw what's good about that school? seems like alot of registration starts next week! so i better be fast before all the seats are taken up! :p

SY
damien is also like JH, regardless chinese (the smelly bitter type) or the normal medicine he will takes. He can even reminded me that he had not taken his chinses medicine in the morning.

this silly boy will also ask for medicine even when he saw his brother is taking it.

Hi SY,

I am so impress! JH can recite san zi jin??!! WOW!

Be it secular or religious - i have the same feedback that children absorb the most from age 2-5 or something. That includes the moral values that we inculcate in them. Hence it is better to discipline them from young rather then the excuse that they are too young to understand etc.

All these talks about kindy - intending to send Megan to the same school as Ashley when Megan turns 30 months old. Till date, Megan can only recite ABC and 1-10 but not recognise them..... Hopefully the school can do better than me in teaching her.

Just to share a funny conversation i had with Ashley in a cab.

She was asking if she can give the maid a nick name eg. chocolate instead of calling the maid's name properly. I replied that names are given by parents and everyone ought to respect other people's names. She looked intrigue and asked if she could name her own children. I replied yes and then she mumbled loudly that she wanted 4 children - 1 boy and 3 girls........only to change her mind and said 2 boys and 2 girls will be just nice. Then Ashley asked what does her children called me and i replied "Grandma". She goes "oh....." The next question she pop had me and the taxi driver laughing out loud - she asked "Who's my mother in law?"

SY,
Ermm... I must be suaku. But what is 'san zi jing'?

Yuki,
Ashley is so CUTE!!!

anyone knows where I can buy a nice outfit for ger as a page boy? am thinking of white longsleeve with black pants and bow tie.

mamapanda, wendyl, denmy, cookie
sorry for pulling out of the LV2 spree.. didnt know tt i hv 2 more bottles at my mum's place.

krissie

I saw these suits before at OG Orchard Point. They even have tuxedos. Also seen it in a little shop at Suntec City next to Toys R Us (but not sure whether it's still there or not).

krissie
You can also try out Tom and Stephanie stores (I know Bt Batok and Tiong Bahru has one), they have alot of page boys' and flower girls' outfits.

Yuki
Hahahaha, Ashley is sooo cute! So precocious!!!

krissie
haha, no but thinking of getting from Tom and Stephanie's for my cousin's wedding for him. Coz I stay near Tiong Bahru Plaza and have been in there to buy other stuff so have seen a few outfits there. =)

Mamachan,
Just to update you. Payment for Ducktour completed for Ginncher, Esther, Cheng , my sil and myself. Already email you

Hi Queen, Mashy brainz and Mamachan,

Children these days.... haha.

I was sharing with Ashley that in ancient days people tell time by looking at the position of the sun and the shadow. Then she immediately asked "Oh what happen if it is a raining day and the sky is cloudy and you cannot see the sun?"..........

My friend's gal is being trained to sleep alone in her room and she asked why is mummy sleeping with daddy. My friend replied that all married couple sleep together. Her gal then replied that she don't want to get married because she don't want to share room. Haha.

Upcoming Events

John Little Expo Sale
3 to 13 Apr 2008
Public - Free Admission
Hall 5

The POPULAR Sale
3 to 6 Apr 2008
Public - Free Admission
Hall 6B

MPH Book Sale
1 to 4 May 2008
Public - Free Admission
Hall 4A

yuki
JH will repeat after me initially but now with prompting he can recite abt 5 pages. but this mummy got to go and memorise first then recite with him so that we dun need to refer to book all the time. and my limited memory only remmeber 5 pages so far....

ashley is so funny! she actually asked who is her mother in law? that' so cute...

queen
it's the ren zhi chu xing ben shan. quite funny to hear him recite in his ang moh slang. been trying to take a video but he doesn't do it sometimes when i ask him to. need the father to be ard to provide some 'competition' then he will do it.

SY / Mashy,
Ok. I think I'm really suaku cos I have never heard about it. I always thought 'san zi jing' is like a nicer way of coining hokkien vulgarities!!! *faint*

SY,
I'm impressed that you are teaching JH all these Chinese phrases.
My Isaac is very ang moh. Even though my ILs speak to him in Chinese and Cantonese, I think he responds mostly in English first, though I have heard him respond in Chinese, but it's really limited to simple 2 to 3 words. With me and HB it's always english even when I attempt to speak Chinese with him!

queen
ha u r right also. san zi jing is another way of coining the hokkien vugularities..haha..

JH will mix the english and chinese when he responds to us. sometimes when i use chinese with him he also replies to me in english but he has been speaking chinese more.

i teach him these chinese phrases more to get him to speak chinese. quite fun also lah.

Aileen

I've seen the San Zi Jing children's version with hanyu pinyin in bookstores.

Actually San Zi Jing goes against Christian teachings. Hahhaa. It says people are kind by nature but the bible says that people are born with sin.

aileen
i got from popular. those very small books and got hanyu pinyin one.

mashy
does it? i din know that leh. hee only the first page says that pple are kind by nature. the rest talks abt different stuff like how parents shd teach them etc.

mashy brainz,
haha, yes i will need hanyu pinyin =D actually i don't even know what's the meaning of it :p
ok i will check out the bookstores. thanks!

Queen,
san zi jing is one of the first texts that children in the old days start with. It's really good as a start. Part one talks abt value, then goes on to teach numbers, history, chinese lit, there's even a little bit of science in it. After san zi jing, then they will learn qian zi wen, before proceeding to more chiam stuff. I would recite it to charmaine too but err.. she's not studious.

Re: RP lunch
Shall we meet for lunch tomorrow? Then I can pass mummies the ON stuff. : )

Aileen,

You can even download it from the Net. My copy's downloaded from the Net. FOC : )
It's quite easy to understand.

Mashy,
Hmmm... as a Christian, I don't have a problem teaching san zi jing to charmaine. I think have to look at the whole context. Ren zhi chu xing ben shan is just one phrase. It serves to emphasize on the need for education and the importance of choosing your friends.

sl,
How do you know about the history of san zi jing? Heehee... is like those wen yan wen? Was it covered in C lit in NYGS? Cos I never heard about it when I was doing C lit in RV.

SY,
Quite interesting leh. I will go look for it in Popular.

sl

Well, it's actually confucious teachings. I will prefer to teach my boy the Tang Shi Song Ci though. Too bad my boy can't even talk basic language, i can't even teach him any of that.

Hi Aileen,
I like St Joseph coz the classrooms are huge, really really big, and they have their own dining hall so they dun eat in the classroom. Premises is nice and clean, probably cos its fairly new. Registration for public opens 11th April so you still have time.

Barker Road is also really nice but think its abit far away for S. It will take 1 hours 15min just to get back to clementi from there! So too bad, not looking at it unless I commit myself to picking her up everyday.

Hi SY,

Yes, and i don't know why she ask that question. Once my hubby and me were talking about the food we ate at each other parent's house....... Hubby was praising my mum for certain type of food while i was sharing i like my MIL's oineapple rice etc.........Ashley then commented "why are you both talking about each other's mother?"...........
Sounds like as if we are talking abd about our MIL but we are not! Haha

wow, really peifu those of you who did chinese lit. i can't even handle eng lit let alone chi lit!

SL, i'm alright for RP lunch tmr. shall we have lunch at cityhall so i can go popular to get the san zi jing book. keke...

Sleepingdeer,
i think i'm down to St Joseph or Glory kindy. I like the latter for it's chinese emphasis, but unfortunately only pm session left. my hb went down to barker road kindy yest, he said it's not bad. they even have montessori enrichment in the afternoon at additional cost. but like u said, it's abit far. from my place, it's about 20-30min depending on the morning traffic which can be quite heavy.

mashy
i also have the tang shi but it looks so chim that i decided to start with san zi jing first.

aileen
i din do C lit but did higher chinese. but after a long time of not using Chinese frequently, i really forgot a lot of words. so sometimes also depend on the hanyu pinyin.

queen
i think wen yan wen is different. dunno how to put the difference in words though.

Hi Aileen,
Have you check out Arise Kindergarten? Heard it's good.

mummies, what's your basis for a kindy selection? seems like most like a big space for the kids to run. What if a kindy does not have the space, but has a good curriculum and teachers, would that be placed low in your list? Reason I'm asking coz thinking ahead when the kid is older, like my #1, I've chosen one with space to run and daily playground, but he's bored with it (I've assumed from questioning).

.ky.

USD rates really has gone down so much.
Just received my bills for March purchase, UOB charge me as low as 1.429
So tempted to shop more.. :p

SL
I done trnasfer to you. Thanks so much.

mamapanda
I have my transfer to you too. Since it's much more exp now LV#2. I'm ok to withdraw from the #2 spree
To Account POSB Savings
183-xxxxx-x mamapanda-wendy
Amount S$72.71
Transaction Reference 1644581910

SY

There's simpler poems that u can start. Like Li Bai's 'Chuang Qian Ming Yue Guang'. JH is so smart, should be able to learn it quite fast.

Aileen
I also didn't take Chinese Lit. Just CL1 (or higher chinese's predecessor).

mashybrainz, sy,
wowowow. impressed! be it CL1 or chi lit, they are all very chim to me. kudos to those with good mandarin skills

ky,
i just went to check out arise kindergarten website. the place looks nice. i'll pop by tmr morning to check it out. gee... so busy checking out schools. as for what i look out for in schools, i think it's :

fees
proximity to home
cleanliness
spaciousness
staff friendliness
curriculum
timing

but ultimately i think it's still up to the child whether he/she likes the place/teacher/friends etc. you can send them to the best school but they just may not like the place.

Re: RP Lunch
Shall we meet tomorrow at 1215 outside Mac at Bras Basah? Can decide what to eat then? Flo, CL, Krissie, let me know earlier if you are coming, then I can bring your ON stuff along too.
1) Aileen
2) SL

Mashy,
I prefer to leave tang shi and song ci for later. I think san zi jing is easier to explain to kids. Another good text is most prob qian zi wen. I don't see much Confucious teachings in san zi jing though.... hmmm...

Queen,
the style for san zi jing is a bit wen yan but it's much simpler if you compare it to say, shi ji or even xian qing xiao shuo. C Lit didn't cover san zi jing. In my opinion, I think the syllabus for C Lit's quite useless. Some of my schmates who did C Lit won't understand wen yan wen either.

Amy,
Is the rates that good now? Shall check out strawberrynet and nordstrom again.... it's mummy's turn to buy things....

San Zi Jing is a famous work from Confucion himself lah.

I did wen yen wen before in JC(which i dropped coz my teacher got too boring and it clashed with my other classes). I suppose A level syllabus will cover that bah. Actually i find studying wen yan wen is useless. haha.

Just to share something about school.

My friend really love this school (let's name the school ABC). She put her name on the list when her gal was 2 years old. That was in 2006. Come 2007 and there are still no vacancy for her gal. She enrol her gal in a montessori enrichment class while 'waiting' for the ABC school. Come 2008 - still no vacancy for her gal. She make hell lot of noise to the ABC school and eventually manage to secure a place ofr her gal. However her gal has adpated to the Montessori class and had made friends and well love by the teachers.

HEr gal is now 3 months in the ABC school but she cried everyday and dislike school. The reaction is totally diffferent from the past whereby she gets excited about going to school. Now my friend is considering to pull her out of ABC school and back to the Montessori.

The reason my friend want to put her in ABC school is because the set up is bigger, it is more reputable, it has their own play ground, canteen etc as compared to the Montessori.

It's just that her gal has problem adapting to bigger concept. She is lost in a big crowd, unable to make friends......... the teacher and children ratio is also bigger hence less attention from the teachers.

Was telling my friend that thou these are the challenges they have to faced eventually i.e primary school, why don;t let her enjoy the attention at this young age? Anyway the comments from surrounding friends is that her gal seems less active and attentive after changing school.

So i think the child's character is an important factor in choosing a school. If the child is more reserved, maybe a smaller setup with smaller teacher and child ratio would be better.

yuki,
i can't agree with you more. personally i experienced that with edgar. i sent him to JG which is supposedly one of the better schools around but he totally doesn't enjoy himself. instead he enjoys himself at kidsloft which is of a smaller setting. i guess the chemistry with the teacher and other kids also matters.

I have finally delivered my no.3 and he is going to be 3 weeks old soon. Thanks to all the mommies who sent me well-wishes. Been really busy juggling with the newborn feeding habits as well as older kids school schedule and still have to find time to coach them at home. But I still managed to experiement with quite a number of things like baking and cooking while the baby is asleep and older kids are schooling. So it is not that tough managing 3 kids (I dun have a confienment lady)...so for mommies thinking of having 3 kids. It is not that bad.

alot of talks on schools. From my experiecen with my older one who is in k1 now, I tink one thing that I learn abt school selection is that there is no such thing as a perfect school. My boy have tried many schools and I finally realise that. And another thing to note is also not to worry too much abt taking the child out from the school if u are not happy. Kids are highly adaptable.

Hi Ky,
For me, curriculum and teacher quality is extremely inmportant to me. I am not worried abt space and amenities as I can easily compensate that by brining him to the park and playground. I tink u know that my boy attends two schools. One school is veri small in set up ard 25 kids to 5 teachers in the school and the other school is a big kindy. I can see that he learns differenet thing from diff schools. Actually I wanted to withdraw him from one of the school as I want to spend more time teaching him at home. But he refused, he says he wants to go to two schools. So I am leaving him there till he complains.

HI Yuki,
Ashley's school has intro alot of new things esp for the baby class. My girl(same age as megan) is doing alot of things like phonics, sensorial stuff, writing and lots of chinese. Now they also bring back little activity booklet based on the theme of the school. My girl brought back a booklet on insect and colours to do with me and she is suppose to bring it back home. So I am sure Megan will enjoy her time in school.

Sharing my views on san ji jing, I personally find tang shi easier to teach. COz it is short and I can choose the poem based on the wat I want to teach. Things like jing ye shi, deng guan que lou, qi bu shi are veri meaningful things to teach the kids. FOr my jan 06 girl, I dun expect her to understand the meaning, I just need her to recite when I tell her the title. I am empasizing alot on pronunciation at this point. BUt for the older kid, I do spend time explaining the poem to him but of course my girl picks up along the way.

sl
the rates are good now. when i bought the medela stuff it was also abt 1.43. good right...

so tempting to shop.

mashy
ha, the problem is this mummy look at tang shi also wan to fall asleep. so at least san zi jing easier for me.

i shall check out qian zi wen. sounds interesting

mashy SY
Me hor. C lit in sec , higher chinese in JC and in Uni still took first year Chinese studies. Ha ha Only like to read dun like to be tested on and dunno for what ask me to read Hong Lou Meng in JC. In sec, I will convert all tang shi Song ci to nursery rhymes easier to remember. Ha ha my class love the idea and ha ha we are always singing softly to ourselves during exam

yuki, which school is your megan in?

jamon! congrats!! wow, can't imagine how you can cope with 3! i'm already up to my neck with 2.

Re Chinese:
i'm totally lost. don't know what you gals are talking about! only chinese rhyme i know is "san zi lao hu"!! if that's considered a rhyme at all! haha! :p

Hi Jamom,

Wow, not easy coping with 3! Coping with two over the weekend is tedious for me already !

Is ashley enjoying herself in school? Does it take long for her to adjust? My Ashley was just sharing with me about having another ashley in school in the morning session.

Intending to send Megan only in July. Taking this time to build up her immune system. She used to have cough every month and wheezing every two months........

Ashley brought back the insect booklet? Did James brought back the same? Ashley brought it back too. I am surprises they teach the same things to a toddler? Or is ashley very advance ?

Hi Aileen,

Ashley is in East Coast Children House. Megan has yet to attend school. I am the one lazy mummy who didn't enrol them in any other enrichment class like JG, My gym etc.... ;p

yuki,
ic... too bad i'm a "westerner". so that school is out of my consideration.

i had to send edgar to classes, coz he's annoying everyone at home and even neighbour's kids. he is very bored at home, gets very restless and whiny. always wants to go outside for a walk. he's better when he's out of the house!

Hi Jamom
Wow time really past very fast!... Congrats and you sound really super handling 3 kids still can bake cake! peifu peifu.
DO share more tips, my #3 is coming too

SL
yeah.. in Feb still around 1.44, then in March the rate drop to 1.429
Whats good at strawberry net? got website? itchy hands...

Hi jamom

Congrats on number 3, and thank for your advice ... I enjoy your sharing each time.

I do agree that there's not a perfect school. However, as you probably know why I'm considering a change. I do wonder if the change is for the mother or the child, at times. He's happy; I'm not, but he's the one going to school, and so what if the learning is not what the mother expects ... know what i mean? many have told me kids are very adaptive, but it's ourselves that we've to get past at times.

.ky.