(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Congrats, Zhimin! 2.3kg is a good weight considering he's born at 35weeks.
So how was your labour?

Thanks, mummies, for your well wishes! I'm a bit scared thinking of the labour. *sweat*

cookie, ya hor, quite good mo qi that some of us have. ;)

CONGRATS zhimin,
Dun worry abt Little Declan, have enough rest and share with us ur birth story when u are back home.

Valerie,
All the best for ur labour. Have a smooth delivery!

Zhimin,
Congratz! Rest well! I'm sure Declan will be home with you soon.

Val,
can understand how you feel...i'm only 24wks and sometimes i get scared thinking abt the birth too, not to say you who are going to labour soon! Have a smooth delivery!

Re:Wisdom Tooth
I encounter sooo many 'problems' this pregnancy. First was stomach flu, then prolong cough n sore throat & now...my lovely upper left wisdom tooth decides to sprout out! This tooth already grew out alittle many years ago & stayed 'dormant'. Now it decides to wanna grow out fully.

The pain started on thurs & on Sat I consult a dentist who said cannot do anything till i give birth. I guess partly also cos of my heart murmur, i need to take lots of antibiotics before & after dental procedures & now being preggy, not advisable. So i'm taking paracetamol 6 hrly to tahan the pain. But the med can only hold me for 5hrs, so i gotta bear the pain another hr before taking the next dose.

Dat explains why I'm up so early..actually i've been up abt the same time everyday since dunno when & going back to sleep at 4plus..

Anyone has any idea how long it takes for the wisdom tooth to stop causing pain??

Just to let u know that I have ordered several tubs of extra cali bb calendula cream cuz this item gets OOS very quickly. If u need any, please email/PM me.

zhimin,

Valerie,
take care and have a smooth delivery!

My CL left today. hb brought clariss to her kindermusik class so I am alone at home with clarene. first time since I gave birth to her. I put her on tummy and she slept for 2 hrs just now. I managed to nap, mop the floor and bathe while she slept. hee hee.

hi mummies....its a weekend and i am so busy working. the good thing is just working from home and calling in the conference call every 6 hrs. but then it also mean i cannot go anywhere too far. Argghhhh...despite my busy schedule, i realised CNY is approaching so soon. this time, gonna try and escape to Malacca for a 2 nights stay. never like CNY and even with kids...it doesn;t make it easier. cannot imagine going from hse to hse with 2 kids without having proper nap and them getting distracted during feed time. so gonna be a great escape for my family..bringing my maid along for a break too! tsk* tsk*

mongs - u must be enjoying the private time you had with Clarene
better rest more if you can. i thot you are toying with the idea of getting a maid? are you getting one soon or already had one since you mentioned you are cleaning the hse?

tracy - oh gosh wisdom tooth at the wrong time. i also have it and so far, not much of a pain so i just leave it. dentist said it will give me problem in the years to come. i dun even want to think of it. for ur case, u really cannot extract. can only do so after birth. meantime, hope you can cope with the pain. pls take care!

valerie - u been there and done it. so shld be experience la. dun think too much..better get enough rest before you pop

re: dentist

brot E to the dentist today. found tat his 9th tooth is cutting thru. yes! the big molar is cutting thru his gums. tat explains why he is so whinny these days & sometimes complain teeth pain pain on his right side. However, the dentist also found 2 decays on his left teeth. Was advised to bring him to NUH or NDC for sedation, so tat the dentist can fix up the 2 decays.

Yuki,
Thanks for ur recommendation! Dr Sharon is very nice. Took the trouble to make E feel at ease in the room. Did ur gal go NUH to see Dr Betty Mok before? Was the wait long? Dr Sharon told me it could take 3-4mths. I am also worried abt letting E go under LA, just to fill up 2 cavities. Sigh!

Congrats zhimin!

Don't worry. my didi, Thad was born at 36 weeks.. 2.4 kg only.. so ur son at 35 weeks 2.3kg is not bad. Now, thad has caught up and is 7+kg at 6 months. His milestones are all normal for his age too. I'm sure Declan(i hope i got the name right) will be fine! Take care, rest well, you'll need it once u get home..

Valerie..
dun be scared, i'm sure it'll be easy.. at least now you'll know what to expect since you've gone through it once... but i admit, the days leading to the delivery is a bit apprehensive cos in a sense dunno what to think or do.. but once it starts happening.. you will autopilot liao.. for me, once i know my waterbag broke, i was excited knowing i will get to see my bb soon...

wenyl - how come he has a tooth decay? did you brush E teeth regularly? actually i brush for C only during bath time but not before bedtime. maybe i shld start doing that.

C also went thru the sedation when he extracted the tooth from his gum. quite traumatic experience as he was refusing to sit down and put on the mask for sedation. but once the mask is on, he was KO in secs. the whole extraction process was done in a less than 10 mins. and surprisely C woke up 20 mins later with a blur look. not knowing wat has happen. i hope E will go thru it smoothly too.

SSF,
We brushed E's teeth twice a day once young. Once in the morning during his bath & once b4 he sleeps. But we do dream feed him. hardly give him sweets & juices. We r surprised too. Dentist say most probably due to the dream feeds. Sigh!

CL,
thx, am hoping the pain goes away soon but last night was really bad. will be calling my gynae later for her opinion.

SSF,
oh no...really can't extract?? I need to get something done abt it cos last night I had only 3hrs of sleep due to the pain. The panadol doesn't seem to work at night.

Wenyl,
oh dear..hope E will be ok.

Zhimin - congrats on Declan's arrival! wow... so excited for you, do post ur birth story to share soon...

Valerie - all the best to your delivery!

Wenyl - oops,are the decays noticeable as in got black spot on it mah? will go home to check celeste's teeth more thoroughly today, oni am brushing her teeth every nite before sleep and wiping during bath...

Tracy - ur wisdom tooth so nottie, picked such a timing to sprout... hope it will stay dormant again til u have given birth.. else its a long wait!!!

re teeth
hee no one can beat JH's teeth. so black! and i think it's getting worse. think i shd bring him for his check up again.

i also brush his teeth twice a day but still like that.

JH has been waking up a lot at night and so tiring. i dunno why but he seems more insecure these days. hb thinks it is due to sch but i think it is due to the second one. hopefully this phase will pass soon. and when he wakes up at night, he will refuse everyone else. even when he wants milk, i must carry him with me to make the milk. and he will cry when i switch on the light. so difficult!

tracy
oh dear, that sounds really bad. yeah for pple with heart murmurs need to take antibiotics for dental procedures. last time my bro also had to take in order to remove a tooth.

i think will take abt a month for the pain to subside? last time when my hb gets this kind of pain, it will take a while. hope it gets better soon.

zhimin
congrats! do take care and post photos soon!

valerie,
u r next!! so exciting.

Tracy
oh dear...what a time for the wisdom tooth to come! I can't imagine being in pain and cannot sleep. Hope that it'll somehow miraculously go away.

SY
I think it's common that since our little tykes started playgroup that it affects their sleep. It's really separation anxiety. I doubt it's because of the 2nd bb that's coming, they might be sensitive but don't think it's that sensitive. Coz D's sleep was affected somewhat since he started playgroup too. Even for his afternoon nap last Friday, in 1 hour, he can wake up like 6 times to look around where he was, to make sure that he was in his own room.

SSF,
no, not getting a maid. we want to get a part time cleaner. Flo has shared with me her part time cleaner contact but I have not contacted her. think will only start after I go back to work.

re: dentist
clariss hates brushing teeth and only brush when she is in sch. we dun give her any sweets but she takes yoghurt. I hope her teeth is ok.

mamachan
initially when JH started sch, his sleep pattern din change. in fact he was qutie tired and slept quite nicely throughout the night. I dunno why suddenly in the last week his sleep pattern changed.

i think he is quite insecure cos every morning, i carry him to the bus and he will cry. that is hte separation that he cannot stand. even at home, when i tell him i want to go toilet, he will insist on following me. whatever i do, he will insist on follwoing me. think if i can successfully stop him from following me, he will feel more secure. but so hard to do that....

tips?

Mummies, thanks for the well wishes! Actually it's good that I know about the 1-2cm dilation the last visit, so that we are mentally prepared and know exactly when I'm going to pop. For Kirsten's case, without any warning, I was told I'm already 3cm dilated during the 37th week check. Haha, then hubby was late and came in after the VE and I still remember he looked so shocked when the first thing the gynae told him is to go to hospital. That look was so etched in my mind.

Tabbie, Tracy, SSF, throughout this pregnancy, I was quite cool about the labour process since "experienced". But now it's getting very real, can't help but feel the trepidation thinking about it.

Tracy, so terrible to have another episode of suffering during this preg. I'm not sure how long it takes for the pain to go away. It depends on the direction of growth of the tooth. For my case, both of my lower wisdom teeth were growing out horizontally cos of my short jawline. Whenever each one grows, all the lower teeth on that side feel the pain cos the wisdom tooth pushes in that direction. If yours is not the case, it will probably go dormant again.

Wenyl, oh dear. Hope E will cooperate with you during the fixing. Bring something that will help to distract him. Or your portable DVD player if the dentist don't have?

SY, hubby read from a book before about separation anxiety and shared with me this tip but dunno if it will work for our toddlers' age group. Before you leave him on the school bus, give him something that he knows clearly belongs to you (e.g. a hairband) and asks him to take care of it until you see him again. Then he may feel more secure knowing that you will definitely see him again to take this thing back. JH is a smart boy, it may work for him.

Hi Wenyl,

You may want to check up the cost for NDC.

If you walk in, you are consider a pte patient and is not subject to subsidary. Alternatively you can go to a polyclinic to check then get a referal to NDC. Just that you have to go thru the hassle of checking twice....... My hubby was heartpain to let my gal go thru so many check ups. But as my MIL work in hospital, she manage to get us a referral.

I waited 3 months for an appointment at NDC. But you can request to put yourself on the waiting list to see if any earlier date is available.

My gal ashley went under GA.... she struggle initiallt but after breathing in the gas, she 'knocked out' in a few secs..... She fixed 3 front teeth with crowning and has to extract one. She woke up crying.... The will wake up at the state similar to when they sleep after the GA.

I paid $650 for the whole procedure. Subsidise price.

Dr, Sharon recently fixed Megan's front teeth. Maybe you can check with Dr. Sharon if she can do so for E without going thru GA? Was E co operative during the check up?

valerie
good idea. i just need to think abt what to leave for him to take care...hmm, shall go back and see what is suitable.

good luck for your labour.

Tracy
Sorry to read about your wisdom tooth...
I'm sure if it will help...but besides panadol, perhaps u can use the Bojera ( dunno if I spell correctly) to apply the pain area to help relief?
U know thats the cream to apply when we have ulcer.. usually it will numb the area abit and pain is lesser.
I also find that if we are "heaty" the gum around the wisdon tooth will swell more and even more painful. Perhaps u can try not to eat heaty stuff and really pray that it will miraculously go away when u wake up next monring.

Wendly
Oh dear.. sorry to read abt E. I know u will be worried, I will be. Kae also not very co-orperative during tooth brushing, so difficult to get her brush correctly and now she also refused to drink water after milk at nite.haizz...
I hope her teeth will be alright.

Wenyl,
Poor E.. I think I got to check Jamie's tooth. Actually I am the guilty one bah. Did not force Jamie to brush her teeth regularly. She only play with her toothbrush when she bathe at night with me around. During the day, my mum dun make an attempt to "force" her to brush. Jamie eat almost everything, sweets and all junks.. I still dream feed her sometimes. I hope her teeth are ok and not giving any problem. Let me check her tonight.

Hi Mashy,

PArdon me but is it your boy who also have wheezing problem?

If yes, any improvements?

Any of your child having the above problem? My Megan is falling sick with cough every three weeks if i am not diligient in giving her the preventer..... As i am afraid of the side efects, i tried to stop using medicine but it seems the asthma attacks will come back...

Any other options? Chinese medicine?

Anyone has experience with piles? Any recommendation for a good doctor, pls? Me having piles and wanna seek early treatment.

yuki,
Dr Sharon said tat he will probably not cooperate cos it took some coaxing before he is willing to even open his mouth for her to check. Was hoping she could fix his teeth yday but she says difficult to keep him still for long.

Val,
Feeling excited for u liao. Pray tat ur delivery will be fast fast chop chop one this time!

krissie,
there is a popular clinic at Blk 1 rochor rd. just opp fu lu shou bldg. he treats piles for many years there liao. but its those old chinese clinics if u dun mind. tink its on 2nd or 3rd level.

Hi Mummies, need the advise of mummies who've gone thru second time labour-

Ive been having quite frequent, rather painful contractions since last week. I'm currently only 34+weeks pregnant. Baby is also kicking me loads and I cannot sit comfortably most times due to the baby's moving. Should I go check with my gynae? My next appointment is this friday but I'm not sure whether I should go in for an earlier check-up. 2 weeks ago, gynae said my baby was 2.5kg. That's alot bigger than when I was expecting Sarah. I'm kinda worried about the size... =/ Cannot imagine how much she's grown since then...

Zhimin,
CONGRATS on the arrival of Declan!

Valerie,
You are next! So exciting... must really be counting down the days liao.

Krissie,
I have piles problem since student times. Used to bleed quite a lot about 2 to 3 times a year then. After preggy, I think the piles problem got worse and There's heavy bleeding every 2 or 3 months. Then I consulted a Colon specialist and did a colonoscopy just to rule out any other possible problems. He said my piles are small and can be controlled by medication (though surgery is the only to remove them totally). So I took the meds for a few months and it seems to improve the condition. Occasional bleeding still have lah, though not as much. I want to avoid surgery if possible, so trying to keep the stools soft by taking lots of fibre.

Sandra,
Could it be Braxton Hicks? If you are worried, better trust your instincts and see your gynae ASAP.

Yuki,

You are not alone facing this problem. My damien fall sick almost every month.
Fever, running nose, cough..throat infection.

I remember he just recover from fever and cough somewhere around Dec 14.
And last week he started have mild fever and running nose again.

He is on TMC now.

yuki

yah, C had wheezing prob but he has been alright for a very long time already. even though he had started school since beginning of the year, he also hasn't gotten sick. Thank God!

The last time he had wheezing was 1 yr ago. So far when he had cough, he recovered rather fast within a week. There was once he had a bad cough, and we were given singulair. But he recovered shortly after.

We've been feeding him cod liver oil and multi vits since he turned 1. Maybe that's what's been keeping the wheezing away.

Congrats to all the new mummies! Wah, now so many also lost track already.

Hi, babylon. My boy after attending school also have flu and cough. Last week diagoised with Mild Brochities.

Any recommendations for TMC?

Giving him chewable multivitamins and cod liver oil now.

Any mummies facing this dilemna whether should pull our child out of school because of these bugs?

Sandra,
I have contractions frequently for my 2nd gal but these are false contractions as I feel the crampy feeling only near the bottom of my tummy and there is no accompany backache. If you feel that the contractions are painful and there is some stretching feeling at your vagina, better see your gynae.
My baby moved a lot towards the end of the last week of my pregancy and I can feel her moving downwards. I also feel the stretching and my gynae actually told me that the baby is very low and I have dilated 3cm without realising it.
Your gynae may prescribe some medication for your uterus to relax.

SY, might be because of the cough. Not sure whether he got it from school or my friend kids when they came over for a small bday party.

He quite like the school, never cried on the last few days he went. Like JH, he has to take the bus alone.

Now when he know he is going to the bus, cried till went up the bus. But when halfway thru and in school. Crying stop.

So now in dilemna whether to pull out.

celine

is this the first time he's in a school? maybe he's adjusting to the bugs. I heard that children tend to get sick more often after they start sch. Maybe my boy has developed immunity from his 6mths of illness, so now less easy to fall sick.

How often has he been getting sick? Coz it's normal for children to fall sick abt 6 times a yr leh. So if it falls within the normal range, then just let him stay on lor.

sandra
for both my pregancy.. towards the end of 3rd trimester I had very very painful "contraction". 1st pregnancy was worst for me. It started around 38 weeks and everynite it come at 15mins interval and lesser in the day so I know it's not contraction but when visit gynae and put on the contraction detection machine, it indicate no contraction!
2nd pregnancy is kinder to me.. it started only in week 39 and I bear it for 1 week, still nurse say no contraction so she said could be I have irritable womb.
If u are really uncomfortable and painful, perhaps the next visit ask to be check if contraction occurs.
For me, both babies are pretty big.. in fact #2 is smaller than #1 so I have never worried abt big baby so far...at least my gynae never ever make me concern abt bb too big

Krissie
Does Dr Ho knows abt your problem when u deliver ? I had too and he gave me some ointment and oral medication. It subsided after a week or 2... try avoid all the heaty stuff if possible and yes lotsa fiber

re: <font color="ff0000">Birthday Bash</font>
Date: 2nd Feb 2008 (sat)
Time: 1130am-230pm
Venue: The Wine Tapestry, Butik Batok
Cost: $20.00 per person

1) Chicken Little - 2 adults + 2 child (Ok)
2) Mashy - 2 adults + 1 child (ok)
3) MamaChan - 2 adults + 1 child (OK + confirm)
4) Aileen - 3 adults + 2 child (ok)
5) cheng -02 adults + 1 child (ok)
6) Maywong - 2 adults + 1 child (ok)
7) Krissie - 2 adults + 1 child (ok)
8) Cookie - 2 adults + 2 child (OK + confirm)
9) bblon - 1 adult + 1 child (ok)
10) Sysac - 2 adults + 1 child (Cfm)
11) God's child - 2adults + 1 child (OK)
12) Rach - 2 adults + 1 child (OK + confirm)
13) tabbiesus - 3 adults + 2 child (ok)
14) Linda - 2 adults + 1 child (ok)
15) Flo - 1 adult + 1 child (ok)
16) Esther
17) SH - 2 adults + 1 child (ok)
18) queen - 1 adult + 1 child (Ok)
19) denmy - 3 adults + 2 children + 1 bb (ok)
20) celwong - 2 adults + 1 child (ok)
21) Sharon - 2 adults + 1 child (ok)
22) wenyl - 2 adults + 2 child (ok)

we will release where to tt the $ to once esther get back to me on her bank acc no.

meanwhile, do prepare the amount to be transfer based on the no. of adults attending the bash. thank you.

Spinach BP
Helping Denmy to organise. Those who want to buy spinach thru Denmy please indicate your nick, how many portions u want here and where u want to collect it (eg, her shop, bash via CL, her home in marine parade). Her normal portion is about 500g.

1. Mamapanda (750g, via CL)

Sorry CL gotta trouble u again this time. Still got some mother's cali bb stuff also waiting for collection during the bash with me too.

mongs, sleepingdeer
Do u need my account number or will you be paying me cash for your 4 tubs of cali bb creams? Mongs, how will u be collecting ur calendula cream?

krissie
I had SERIOUS constipation problems and my piles were killing me after I gave birth. In fact, I found trying to pass motion after giving birth an excruiting experience compared to giving birth and no cream can help. I only managed to pass motion 6 days after giving birth after my gynae helped me soften the stool by poking his finger into my anus to massage it. IMO, avoid eating all the confinement foods (no red date logan teas, no danggui, no ginger, no chilli, no sesame oil, no heaty foods) until ur piles have subsided and all your bowels have cleared. Mothers and MILs will probably be protesting but, hey, until u settle the current issue, no amount of nagging and protest can be more painful than your u-know-what. Eating confinement foods definitely causes the piles to swell more and make it more difficult for you since its naturally heaty.

In fact, I gave up on traditional confinement foods after 1 week and stuck to only birds nest and mild confinement foods (no heavy sesame oil or heavy ginger stuff) as they're too heaty for me and my piles and I kept getting sorethroat from it. My aunties and mother kept nagging that I need to "eat por" to build my health but I felt eating heaty foods made me more sick (as I'm a perpetually heaty person) so I asked my maid to reduce the amount of sesame oil and ginger to minimal to reduce the heatiness of the foods.

Yuki/Celine

I brought my older son when he was 3+ to a TCM in Jurong East. He started going to a half-day cc since he was 2 and he would be down with cough/phlegm that sometimes became mild bronchitis. With the TCM, it seemed to work. We used to go every day for the 1st week or 2, then gradual became a weekly, bi-monthly, monthly visit. I stopped going there after a few months. The TCM is more on xiaoer-tuina with chinese medicine, so your child must be able to take medicine coz it's quite bitter. My younger son can't take and hence I don't bring him there. You can perhaps consider learning some simple xiaoer-tuina for jianbu.

Celine, a good friend did pull her girl out when she starts falling sick in school (not childcare). She then put her into another school abt 6 mths later. Do a check on how many kids are having running nose in your boy's class ... it's quite difficult to avoid if a number are sick in the class.

.ky.

celine
maybe u want to observe your boy for a while more? if he enjoys sch, then it doesn't make sense to pull him out now. how big is his class?

JH also cries when we put him on the bus but he will stop crying after a while. so far he din cry in sch. in fact the teacher says he has been very good. so hoping he will not cry when we put him on the bus.

today got my hb to put him on the bus and he din cry. can tell he was trying his best to hold back.

yesterday JH did something that i was quite impressed with. he was trying to tell me something and he kept repeating the word. i couldn't quite catch it and he kept trying to make me understand. after a while, he paused and thought for a while. then he went gong gong car black'. i finally understood he was trying to tell me the word black. tot that was quite good of him to think of an eg to get me to understand what he was trying to say.

he has been progressing very fast recently in terms of speech. i can see my hb's amazed face everytime JH talks. he will keep telling us he is a big boy, we don't need to hold his hands and he can walk by himself. sometimes we can even see him struggling to come up with the sentence that he is thinking of. quite a funny sight. feel that my boy is really growing up...

Hi babylon,

Magan last seen doc on 27 dec........... only three weeks........ hai.....

Hi Mashy,

Megan doesn't like cod liver. What brand of multi vits you gave to your boy?

yuki
did u try giving the chewables one? the nordic naturals one has strawberry flavored ones. JH will bite them but he likes it a lot.

Yuki,

My elijah is like tat as well.. since 2 months he is alwaus falling sick even till now and he has been on puff for 1 year plus already.he has small wind pipe and sensitive airways. it is not asthma but PD have to treat him the asthma way..

now he is much better and i have been giving him sambucol which i think it works well for him.