(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Wenyl,
Thanks for the review on Ameda. I searched on the net about it and the main complain is the fragile rubber valve. But otherwise its a good investment. Am seriously considering and SL says can try at BMSG so may do that soon. Thanks so much!!

Re:Tantrums
Wat an appropriate topic this morning, cos last night just had an episode at home. At 11pm, meg still refused to sleep and wanted hb to CARRY her out to the hall. She has this habit of watching the 'wheels on the bus' dvd sometimes till late then sleep. This time, hb dun wanna indulge her so he ignore her and pretend to sleep. She scream, cry, beat him etc and very persistent, wun stop at all! At this point, nothing for me to do cos she only wants him. And we also made a point not to interfere when the other is disciplining.

After like 20mins, hb got fed-up and carried her outside the room and dumped her there and tried to close door and shouted so loud at her to get out. She cried even harder and cling onto him. Then he carried her back to our bed and pushed her onto the bed and the F word came out liao.

Aiyo, I cannot take it liao, so i pull her into my lap, hug her and start singing and rocking her. Miraculously she stopped crying and I slowly make her lie down and pat her. Soon she fell asleep...All this drama ended at 1140pm..

Sigh...

Recently really no time to log in forum, cos busy handover my work to the new girl. And I have a piece of news, I may be probably deliver by this weekend at week 35, cos my blood pressure remains high again.

Today start to rest at home liao. Cos really cannot make blood pressure high again.

Valerie, think I will deliver earlier than you.

Just browse through some of the posts, all the cakes are so lovely.

We only brought Clarisse out for the chipmunks movie and a photoshoot at studio on her birthday. Will upload her photo if I got more time.

i bless,
Got yellow tin one but I thot it is fruit and not banana. He sells that too. I saw 4 types there. GP is in CCK call Healthmark woh. you can email me at [email protected] see if I can help you get and pass to you

Zhimin
Looking forward to hear good news from you. Rest well first

zhimin
take care!!!

tracy
i guess it's your hb's -ve emotion affect meg bah?
my gal is also one kind. this morning, she refused to go to my mil's place. this is the very 1st time she did that. when we were about to carry her out from the car and went to mil's place, she kept saying didn't wanna go ah-ma's house. scream and cry till i think the whole block can hear it... and it's early in the morning, not yet 7am! then, reached mil's house, we took off the shoes for her, and let her stand on the floor, she struggled and crawl to the direction where we put the shoes and wanna wear the shoes to leave the house. we really don't know what happen to her 'cos before we left our house and when we were in the car, she was happily chatting and playing with us.

luckily, the food and toys managed to divert her attention after few rounds of sweet talk.

Thanks mummies

Tracy, my gynae said will try induce cos first bb is natural by induce too... if cannot then csect. Cos she said sometimes labour too early the cervix may not respond well to the induce drug, but she said this is 2nd bb so probably cervix will be more season :p

zhimin

my friend also had high blood and had to induce her baby. It's her first baby and she managed to give birth naturally and very short labour too. Hope your bb will come quickly too, then no need to C-section.

RE: Caning
Yesterday, my boy climbed onto my bed to get the balloon stick (which i use for caning). I told him cannot, coz it's for punishing him. Then he showed me his hand in a beating manner like 'beat hand'. He's crazy leh. Ask me to beat his hand with the stick. I lightly touched his hand with the balloon stick, then i put it back in its place. After this, then he's ok. Don't know if he has a fetish for pain.

Zhimin,

Sunny,
nowadays our kids hor...really testing our patience to the limits.

Mashy,
Fetish for pain??!! hahahaha

Zhimin - Have a smooth delivery & take care

Behaviour - Think our children are all exercising their independence & are making their own decisions. Just that their decisions & ours are not in sync that's why the tantrums etc. very frustrating & trying but it's a passing phase

Cephas refused to step out of the hse this morning and then we realised it was because he -pooed in his diapers & wanted to be cleaned up b4 we left the house. Anyway, he was not well either. He's been having mild diarrhoea since he recovered from fever last week. So helpless cos I started work at the new dept & having my exams so cldn't take leave to watch him. Pray he;ll be well by this weekend.

tracy
ya loh... so, sometimes, when i really don't know what to do, i just sit there and let her cry.

sysac
yes, yes.... i am always reminding myself on the independence part. else, i could have already gone crazy 'cos of all the cryings and screamings liao. haha...

The teacher said that my boy tried to bite his classmate today! Argh. He used to bite when he's younger but hasn't done it for a long time. Wonder what happened.

And as usual, my little boy is very defensive about toys that he deemed as his. If he's playing with a toy, it's considered as his. And if anyone wants to snatch it away while he's playing, he'll turn aggressive and defend his toy. He started doing that when he was in infant care. Before that, he just watched when others take away the toys he was playing with. Think he learnt to defend himself when the older kids tried to snatch the toy he was playing with. But at least, he will not go ard snatching toys that others are playing with. He kind of understand that if that toy is being played by another kid, it 'belongs' to that kid. Not that he won't try though but will back off if that kid guards it.

How? Is this considered bad? I guess defending his rights isn't that bad. Just worried he might turn aggressive at others and hit them.

Tracy
kae also at times refused to sleep and keep crawling out of the bed and want to go outside. What we do is go out with her and switch off all the lights..( the rest of the family will be in the dark..hee) then told her there is no more activities and should sleep for the nite. Most of the time she is fine.
I do notice when she is extra cranky.. it's becos she is simply too tired but somehow the engine cannot stop.. so usually after crying, frustration and comfort from parents then she sleep like within 1 min!

Hi Queen,

It really depends on your child's character. For Ashley, she is quite mild and easy to manage and we had never use cane on her. But Megan is more pushing and always testing our limits so the cane came out a few times already...just to scare her have not use it on her.

So don't use cane doesn;t mean you are spoiling Issac.

Hi Tracy,

I had the same episode with my Megan. She insist on going to toilet to pee at 11.30pm when she see her sister doing that. She already had her diaper on and also based on past history, it's just nonsense on her part... We do bring her initially but realise she just want to do what the elder sister did but she;s not peeing at all.

She cried and cried but i ignore her. She cried louder to the Daddy who was asleep already. Keep vrying "Go toilet, shee shee. Go toilet shee shee........." Hubby relent after 10 mins of crying. I totally ignore her. Was at MIL's that day. If in my own house, i would do like what your hubby did - bring her out and shut her out of the room.

Anyway after daddy bring her to the toilet and true enough, she didn;t pee, so we had to repeat the changing of diaper thing - she insist on a new one thou the piece was put on only 10 mins ago.......came back from toilet happily and say "find mummy, sleep with mummy...."....

cookie,
At least Kae will relent when you show her all is dark and everyone's sleeping. Meg will insist we on the light, on the dvd and let her watch finish. 45mins..

Yuki,
Your Megan sounds so much like my Megan too. She does this at my MIL's place very often as in insisting on going to toilet consecutively like 3x and all for nothing and we know it. Then insist muz change diapers. If we let her wear only the shorts w/o diaper, she will say the label is hurting her butt. I really hor....vomit blood!

Tracy, Yuki,
I guess they are having a mind of their own at this age and they want to challenge the authority and test the limits boundary. Clariss also throw tantrums and behave badly esp when she is tired. Just the other day, she threw her vcds on the floor and refuse to pick them up. My hb sat down with her and ask her to pick up and she cried and cried and ask me to pick up instead. I refuse and we stick to our instructions for her to pick up the cds, she was so stubborn and cried for a good 30mins bf she gave up. the reason she gave up is also because I used her afternoon milk to distract her, saying that she can only have the milk if she pick the cds up. very stubborn gal.

Hi tracy,

Ya man, i dun want her to have the habit of being too fussy but all the clothes i buy, must cut off label. My mum say no point buying branded cos no one will know anyway. Haha.

She choose the clothes she like and refuse thick materials, jeans materials etc "Too tight", "too big"..... and keep pulling the T-shirts etc.....

Hi mongs,

Hard to distract Megan. She seems very focus on crying till she get her way. hai......... did n;t have this problem with my elder child. My hubby is intrigued with Megan....

Hi Mummy

Today topic is all about our toddler

In our house I'm a evil and hb is angel
. I let hb be angel as he spent less time with Gracie due to his business trip.

I have train Gracie to sleep early and the latest is 10:30pm only on weekend. She quite easy to manage if ask her for sleep.
But on the other hand she like to test my patient. She know I'm angry with her if she did something which is wrong. What I did, I will talk to her in nice way for 1st time and 2nd time a bit angry and finally I will use can and beat her but when she saw me bring out the cane she scared and not dare to look at me. And I wont beat her if I saw she react that way. I explained to her why I angry and have been given her 2 chances but stil keep repeating.
One thing I did on her birthday, I beat her using cane. I know I can not do that but really make me angry and Gracie got very mature mind set. She will say yes to you if she know she is wrong and hug you.
Recently I explained to her how daddy love her and got to go work for sometimes. And daddy always love him althought daddy is not with her. She said yes to me and point to our wedding picture with called daddy

I tried my best to teach her and spend more time with her.

Gracie got high fever on yesterday night,,,,I wake up every 2 or 1 hr to sponge on her. This morning brought her to PD and is due to stomach flu....PD said is very mild and will recover 2 - 3 days.
She has been look FAT FAT recently and her CNY clothing has been upside to T3 or T4 depend on the design. But now got sick....

Hope all our toddler will be recover soon...

sigh! just heard from my MIL that Clariss cousin has spots on her hands and feet and ulcers in her mouth so confirm her cousin has HFMD. Called up the sch just now to inform them and told them that they didn't play tog since tue. they advised to keep her at home tomorrow and observe on sat and sun and if she is ok by then, then most likely, she won't have HFMD. so sianz! now I jus hope, she won't have it. My sis son, who is attending the cc with her also is advised to stay at home because they always hold hands tog when they go to sch tog.

cookie - caleb is rotting at hm too. he is not into playgrp yet.

mashy - caleb has many toys during his bath. i bot a fishing rot and foam fish that float on water. and he will try to hook the fish with his rod. other than that are pails, net, bath toys that can squirk water out.

seems like many kids are sick after starting school. do take care and get well soon.

zhimin - have a smooth delivery!

mongs,
I have to say that Clariss's cousin's PD is quite lousy. He/She should not conclude so easily that '80% chance is not HFMD' just because the ulcers and red spots have not appeared yet. The fact is that your niece had come into contact with her cousin with HFMD earlier on. Like my friend's son who got infected with HFMD by Isaac but has atypical symptoms (low grade fever, no ulcers), even his PDs said it was likely to be HFMD since he came into contact with Isaac, though not 100% sure, and told my friend to keep her son isolated. So I don't understand why your niece's PD takes this so lightly leh...

queen,
ya lor. but he thought the fever is due to the sore throat that she is indeed having and my SIL also has sore throat and fever so he thought the fever is due to throat infection. anyway, my niece and Clariss played tog on Sun and Mon and the fever strike on Tue and only today, Thur then the rashes and ulcers came out. actually I feel that my SIL should not have bring my niece home when her nephew got it on sun because they played tog on sat. the worst thing is that clariss has close contact with my nephew who is attending the same cc as Clariss. I really hope clariss doesn't have it and didn't spread to any kids in the cc. so it started from my SIL 3yr nephew, who spread to my 6 yr old niece (my SIL daughter) who may spread to Clariss who may spread to my 3yr old nephew (my sis son).
and my silly hb shared food with clariss yesterday at my MIL place. told him to keep a look out already and he go and share food. he is having a cough, if he got it and don't show any symptoms and bring it back home and start coughing around and spread to Clarene, think my headache will begin. I am not so worry about Clariss, am prepared in a way since she attends cc. more worried for Clarene because she is so young.

mongs,
That is correct... the ulcers and red spots do not appear on Day 1 where fever and sore throat strikes first. Ulcers and red spots usually appear 1 to 2 days later, as in Isaac's case as well. So your niece's PD ought to know better or at least err on the cautious side. I'll say that after 1 week or so from Day 1 of your niece's HFMD and Clariss is not showing symptoms, she's probably fine. In the meantime, just be extra careful on hygiene. My friend's HB got infected by his son. He didn't have fever and ulcers but a few red spots appeared on his hands and feet. Clarene is very young, have to be really careful.

Mashy,
I think our toddlers are naturally possessive and self centered now which is why child psychologists say toddlers are not suited for group setting initially. Isaac is the same, he does not want to share toys with other kids. Whenever my friend brings her 1 year old boy over, Isaac does not want to share his toys with him, but he will willingly give the toys to my friend when she ask him. And when Isaac sees my friend pass the toys to her son, he'll want to take it back.

wow sounds like a lot of toddlers showing their independence in many ways!

JH was really naughty yesterday. we took leave cos it was his bday and his behavior was totally bad yesterday. was very whiny and kept crying. dunno it is cos we are at home. lost my temper with him a few times.

we had a small celebration for him in sch. he was pretty excited but once he saw me in sch, he kept following me ard. scared he will ask for me in sch again.

he is still crying each morning hwen i put him on the bus but from what i can see he stops crying once he is distracted. he can't stand the separation part. every day when i come home from work or when he wakes up, he will tell me to go to sch with him. how to make it better? he can't get over the separation part.

mashy
JH is the same as C. he likes to be beaten with the balloon stick too!

re HMFD
JH's spots din appear on the first day as well. in fact, the PD noticed his mouth ulcers first then on the same night, we noticed the spots on the hands and feet. actually during that time i did share food with JH but i din catch it. but best to be more careful.

Sorry to switch topic...need your advice. Baby Janine's face is full of rashes. It started with her neck and has now spread to her face. Looks like acne and she looks awful! i also dunno what happened. Any idea if i can apply Cali Baby Cream on the face for the pimples/rash? Or should i just leave it alone?

queen, SY,
today is day 4 for clariss.
Ya, sometimes we adults maybe infected but don't show any symptoms at all but it depends. my ex-colleague's hb got it from his son and he was very sick. his whole mouth and throat got ulcers and he took longer time to recover. ya, I read that for babies less than 2weeks old who got HFMD, the fatality rate is very high. luckily clarene is coming to full mth already and we have quarrantined clariss at my MIL place. I kept telling myself "don't worry, don't worry, even if clariss got it, it's ok, she will recover." but somehow still got a heavy heart. guess as mothers, we will always be gan cheong over everything.

durianlover
did u bring her to see PD? is it milk rash?

zhimin,
all the best for your delivery. post some photos when u get a chance.

mongs
yeah we will keep worrying lor. the worst part abt it during JH's time was at night he can't sleep, can't eat and will keep crying and i got to carry him to sleep. he will keep waking up cos of the discomfort. but come day time he will be back to normal.

durianlover

Is it eczema?

Yah, can apply the cream on the face if it's eczema. Also check what you have been eating lately if you're breastfeeding her. Maybe she's allergic to something. Or if she's taking infant formula, u might want to try alternatives. Could be milk allergy.

I've a friend whose bb was allergic to cow's milk. Even a drop of milk will give him hives and his mouth will swell. He even had to be admitted to the hospital due to breathing difficulties. Good thing it's not so common. Really scary if our bb develop allergy of this form.

durianlover,
how is the rashes like? is it pimple like, with a little white head and the surrounding is red or it's red small dots?
Clarene also has a lot of red small dots rashes which is due to heat. I didn't do anything, just keep her cool.
Those with white heads are baby acne and some mummies from the dec 07 thread shared that mustela stelatria dermo-repairing cream or protopic cream can clear the acne. the mustela cream can be bought from kiddy palace or watson. guardian doesn't seems to carry it. can call and ck. protopic cream can be bought from guardian.
these are non-steroid cream.

I posted this article in the dec 07 thread.
a few of the mummies are talking about acne on baby's skin. This is a article from Babycenter.

My newborn has tiny white bumps on her nose and cheeks. What are they?
They're called milia. They're harmless and they're very common — about 40 percent of newborn babies get them, most often on the upper cheeks, nose, or chin. Some babies have just a few, and others have many of them.

It can be upsetting to see your beautiful infant's skin covered in these little bumps, but they aren't painful or contagious. And they'll go away without any treatment in two or three weeks.

You may spot similar bumps on your baby's gums or on the roof of her mouth. These are called Epstein's pearls, and they're also harmless.
What causes milia?
Milia occur when dead skin becomes trapped in tiny pockets near the surface of your baby's skin. When the surface of the bump wears away, the dead skin is sloughed off and the bump disappears.
What can I do to help clear them up?
You don't need to do anything at all. The bumps will go away on their own, without treatment, in a few weeks, although it's possible for them to last a month or two.

Doctors recommend that you not put any creams or ointments on the milia. And don't try to squeeze these pimple-like bumps to make them go away faster — that could cause scarring. Vigorous washing and scrubbing isn't a good idea either: It won't help and it could irritate your baby's sensitive skin.

Try to be patient. Your child will soon have her baby-smooth complexion back.
Does having milia mean my baby will grow up to have acne?
No, your baby isn't destined to have acne. Genetics is thought to be a predictor of who gets acne. If you or your partner had acne as a teen or adult, your child is more likely to get it when she hits her teenage years.

need some advice. JH dropped something on his foot on MOn and he got a big bruised toe. since then he has been walking with the toe pointing upwards. i m afraid he will make it a habit. when i asked him whether it is still painful, he said it is not but he will still walk like that. how to make him walk normally?

durianlover,
Jamie has got this prob when she is abt 3mths old. Could be too heaty already.. let her drink some barley water and apply moisturiser. It will go away in abt 3 days. I brought her to PD before and they give me cali baby moisturiser to apply on her face.

durianlover
It could be milia, milk rash or ezcema. Its best to bring her to PD to have a look cuz they can tell u what it is. Ariene also had that when she was 2 weeks old and I thought it was milia. However, the "milia" did not go away after 2 weeks. I applied J&J baby moisturiser, it got worse. I left it alone, it still got worse. By then, it had spreaded all over her face, chin and neck and it started to look like bad acne and very rough skin (skin athrophy) so I brought her to see Dr Ng. Apparently, it was a mix of acne (turned skin infection), milia, milk rash and ezcema. I was given Balneum cream + very mild steriod cream Elomet 0.5% (think its available only at PD. GP ones are 1% or higher which are not suitable for babies) and her rashes cleared in a matter of hours just like that. Dr Ng's advice is :

1. clean mouth throughly and remove all traces of milk after feeding
2. Moisturise, moisturise, moisturise. Apply moisturiser (I used to use Balneum, now I use cali bb cream) at least 3 times a day
3. if rashes appear, apply very thin layer of elomet, dry, followed by moisturiser
4. keep bb cool. don't let them sweat. be sure to dry off if they do sweat

Remem u used to see me wiping Ariene all the time in the past? I'd always had a clean wet tower and a dry towel and moisturiser n elomet with me everywhere I go (even today). It'll get better when they're older but u'll still need to take care or they'll come back to haunt you.

Durianlover - Celeste also had those kinda rashes soon aft she turned one month.. it was sooooo bad tat i saw 2 doctors and 1 PD ( mabbie i was overly KS la ). each of them told me its ok, its just overactive oil glands in newborns and tat it will clear.. just make sure u clean her face wf warm water aft each feed. for me, i even asked if i shld use lactacyd in the water and he said NO. his answer was: bb's skin is not sensitive, its just the oil glands.. no need for it at all. but then, i stil did la.. hahaha.

i also tried to keep her cot as clean as possible, placing a nappy cloth on her pillow and chaging the cloth frequently as and when she regurgitate. Hope it goes away soon!

durianlover
Are the rashes more whitish than reddish? I remember D having lots of whitish rashes (like milia) all over his face, more so when I BF him then lying then and fall asleep, when I woke up, he was already asleep but my milk was dripping on his face and neck. So like what god's child suggested, just clean Janine's face with cooled boiled water after feed. It'll clear after awhile. But if the symptoms are what mongs and MamaPanda described, can always check with PD

Thanks for your advice! It's not milia that Janine is having. The rash is more reddish. Like red dots all over her face and neck. And some of the red dots on her neck have pus...looks like pimples. I shall just keep her face clean and keep wiping her then! Hopefully it'll get better. If not i'll bring her to see PD on Monday.
I suspect it's milk or heat rash as Janine tends to regurgitate a lot of milk after each feed.

god's child,
I'm using lactacyd in the water for Janine's bath. Today i decided to just bathe her in water w/o any lactacyd...just in case she's sensitive to the lactacyd...but i don't think so coz the rash is only on neck & face.

Ref : Sick
damien just recovered a month ago and now fall sick again. Having mild fever yesterday and running nose this morning.
So told my mum not to bring him to school today.

durianlover,
dun worry abt the white spot. Both duncan and damien also got it when they are 1 mth old.
It will slowly went off.
Both of them had it around their nose.

babylon,
oh dear..hope damien gets well soon.

SY,
hmmm...there was once Meg got a splinter under her foot and after removing it, she still continued walking abnormally like in pain when she's not. But once she started playing and running, she totally forgot about it and walking back to normal.

wow..been a while since I read the postings. Too many for me to catch up.

re: spots/rash on face
Can try pure virgin olive oil..my friend's gal had the same problem, and it went away after applying olive oil for a few times. Hee...my mum swears by the olive oil and we used it for Aidan since he was young for diaper rash etc.

Gymboree shoes
Anyone keen to take over this pair of shoes? My girlfriend bought it for her gal but size dun fit. So trying to sell it on her behalf. Sole length is 6inch.
1206607.jpg

RE: Rashes
Durianlover,
Bennett had milk/heat rash too, although not as serious as wat u described. His is only around his cheeks. I use the pure Aloe Vera Gel from GNC. It went away the next day. I dun dare to use Cali cream or Physiogel moisturiser cos Ben has the habit of rubbing his mittens around his eyes & suck his mittens till soaking wet. So, now we diligently use cool boiled water to clean his cheeks & neck after every feed or when he regurgitate his milk. And change his mittens few times a day.

Zhimin,
Sad to hear that ur high BP came back this time again. Did ur gynae prescribe u Aspirin? I took it this time as a prevention since 2nd trim. Its suppose to help thin the blood. Dun worry if really got to induce early. BB will be fine. My E was borned at 35+++ weeks.

durianlover,
I managed to find the close up of Jamie's pic with the rash. Does it looks like this? It is rough also. Sorry I gave the wrong info..she got this when she is 1-2mths old.

1207206.jpg

may,
Haha you're so cute! Managed to dig up the pic of Jamie's rash! Yes it does look like Jamie's rash. Just that my girl is barely 3 weeks old and she already has got the rash. Janine's rash is more on her upper cheeks and forehead area though. So u used the cali baby calendular cream to apply and it went off?

wenyl,
Yes i think Janine's rash is also milk/heat rash coz it's also appearing on the fold of her arm (you know, where you bend your arm that part). Shall keep wiping her with a wet cloth and keep her folds dry and see how it goes!

re: #2
Just went for 37th week gynae visit yesterday and he told me I'm already 1-2cm dilated. Next visit is next wed evening. Hope won't be delivering before that! Kirsten was also born in week 37.

So zhimin, we may deliver around the same time.
Hope you'll have a smooth delivery!

Zhimin and Valerie
Have a fast, smooth, painless delivery!!
Wow mummies in this thread has very good mo qi... a few has very close delivery date.

I am in hospital now, I delivered my boy Declan yesterday @13.04. Baby Declan weighs 2.3kg. Overall both of us are doing well, however, Declan is still in ICU, because he is considered borderline premature.

Zhimin - CONGRATULATIONS on the arrival of Declan. Get well soon!

Valerie - ya next on the list. so excited for you