(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SY,
My this 2nd pregnancy also more tiring. Dunno izzit also due to being older. I need alot more sleep even tho I'm into my 2nd tri. Still napping alot during wknds and climbing stairs, walking long distance makes me breathless and tired easily. This 2nd pregnancy confirm makes me NOT want another one. Take care and rest more. It helps alot.

Mashy,
I'm probably having a small party at McDonald's for her.

CL,
Can include me for the chinese books pls? Just need the readers.

Re: Eating during Hols
Strangely, Charmaine has very good appetite during hols but even more strangely, when I weighed her at home yesterday, she didn't put on any weight!

Tracy,
I already felt very tired during my first 4 mths when I am having charmaine... can't imagine what would happen if I have a second one...

Mons, hope that clariss will recover soon.

Re: Tantrums
I noticed the terrible twos starting too - sometimes it's just impossible to handle it... sigh...

Tracy/SY/Rena
When I had Kyler.. i also felt so much more tired unlike when I was pregnanat with Kae. ALso has lotsa pain here and there so I conclude that having going thru labour, woman health really go down hill a bit and my blood count was also record low! Thank God now better already.
Hang in there.. ok once bb come out, you will forget all these discomfort!! and keep ranting here
Rest well ok!

rena
yeah me too. MS like practically throughout the day!!

SL, CL
can go concourse next week? i can't make it this week.

tracy
i need a lot more sleep! i usually sleep like 9+ and still be tired.

would the kids appreciate Mcdonald food? that's my only concern.

sl,
tell me about it. Nowadays Meg is like screaming her lungs out if she can't get something...terrible twos indeed.

Cookie,
yes yes! I having lots of strange aches and pains for this 2nd pregnancy.

SY,
Heehee, Meg is a big fan of Mcdonald's fries! erm, i guess the kids will more be into play so i tot Mc's will organize games and have a play area for them. The food...the adults can have it. Hahaha

sl
The cali bb spree is on hold now cuz the calendular cream is still OOS. Just email me your orders and I'll add them in when its back in stock.

fries
Wow.. u're letting them try fries already? The only Mac food I've let Ariene eat so far is plain hot cakes. Still on the salt-free sugar-free diet for her. She's ok with it so I'll just continue with it until she complains.

Hi mamapanda,

Which brand of breadmaker do u own? U mention that the bread is still soft after 3 days. For mine, I din dare to bake full loaf coz i heard from sales person that cannot keep too long coz will harden. If wan it to be soft for a few days need stabiliser and vit C. confirmed this with phoon huat ppl also. So I am curious abt ur recipe. Can share?

HI sysac,
Went for the disney magic show yesterday. Good show. It is actually a REAL magic show, the same kind of magic performance that you see for ADULT. Can be quite frightening for younger tods i think coz it shows ppl being twisted and cut into half....my 4yr old enjoys it though. My girl seems puzzled but dun seem to be affecting her. There was this mom who kept covering the eyes of the child. THe costume is fanstastic and definately more worth while as compared to a few other shows i have been.....my hubby and myself enjoyed. THe illusion that they perform is so real that even though I am sitted on the second row from stage, I can;t figure out how they fly or how ppl aapear and disappear.
Anyways, next yr march DISNEY ON ICE will be here. WOuld be more ideal for the younger ones next yr.

For teh fibreoptic christmas tree,
I saw 4ft, 5ft and 6ft at metro paragon starting from 60plus onwards.

At toys rus forum, they are selling the 5ft ones at 80 plus. I tink theirs is nicer. Let me check out the price for u if u are keen coz will be at forum everyday for rest of the week.

Giant sells the normal christmas tree.

second pregnancy and more
I do feel the difference when i compare my no.1, 2 and 3 pregnancy. Energy level is much lower for no.3. Perhaps becoz of two older ones. BUt defiantely different. Each pregnancy is different too....I got a fren who has no nausea for no.1 but vomitted till she has to be hospitalized for no.2. actually I realli hate being pregnant esp with two older ones. Esp when I occompany them for classes....so worried I will come down with chicken pox or any virulent virus.

The breadmaker I bought is the Morphy Richards on sale in Best Denki and Courts now. I bought mine from courts at $159 cuz I got the courts guest card and will have additional 5% discount. If u buy from Best Denki, its $157 but they give u a glass mixing bowl and a bread recipe book (which I thought I don't need both).

As for recipes, I searched the internet for tried and tested recipes posted by other home bakers and found this website with alot of very good bread recipes. The recipe I used is the Milk Bread recipe. You can visit here for the recipes : http://happyhomebaking.blogspot.com/

I kept my bread in the fridge if I cant finish it within 24hrs to maitain its freshness. All I needed to do is to keep it in the fridge (which will harden it) then when I want to eat it, just pop it into the microwave for 10sec and its soft and fluffy again.

Yes, I use yeast to bake the bread. It's one of the main ingredients in breadmaking.

No, I don't use bread improver or vit C. Its not necessary for this recipe.

hi mommies

today was tabbies first day at school.. she didn't cry going in but was looking for us after awhile and the teacher said she cried a bit and slept a bit... didn't eat anything... she was very happy to see my mom when she came to fetch her.. i just hope she doesn't refuse school tomorrow.. i'm justgoing to get my mom to send her there again... hope she enjoys the school tomorrow a bit more.

Jamom
RE: disney
i'm bringing tabby this thursday.. hope she likes it. Sounds good

RE: xmas tree
oh u mean metro paragon got!And toysrus at forum? goodie.. then i can pop down this week to check it out... i want to bring my girl to see the noddy show... she likes noddy

RE: bday party
haven't figured out what to do yet...I'm quite keen to have a bday bash jan mommies though.. don't mind organising

RE: weekend playgroup in december with christmas theme
actually, i was thinking of organising a small playgroup in december to introduce christmas to the kids.. just got the approval from my mom to hold it at her place, but if the group is small, can also hold it at my place.

I was thinking we can do a small project on a christmas decoration like a small item to hang on a christmas tree or a christmas stocking thing. I was thinking if we could hold it on a weekend and psycho some suitable daddy to dress as santa and hand out presents to the kids.. it would be nice lor... dunno if the kids will get frightened at this age.. what do you mommies think? Keen to join?

SY, SL, CL
when are you guys going to concourse? if its a thurs or friday, i maybe able to join you.

sysac - i chanced upon the look alike meter frm ur blog. so fun that i end up doing for my 2 sons at such wee hr! haha...

well as i expected...Caleb definitely looks more like my hb. quite glad that Jadon doesn;t resemble him tat much although still 3% more like him.*tsk

tabb
i'm keen to join for the playgrp.. but it depends on the day and time. Keep me updated, pls. btw, just realised tt i forgot to reply to your sms earlier. Her cradle cap is much better due to cookie's idea to put the calendalar cream.. (thanks cookie)

mamapanda
I've nvr baked before. is it easy using the breadmaker? i.e. just measure the ingredients and dump into the breadmaker? need to mix? also, how long does the baking take?

Christmas theme playgroup ... cool. but yes, some kids may be scared of a santa. went to one when son#1 was almost 3 (I think); he refuses to sit on the santa... actually only santa's son did, and he was perspiring quite badly n not much appreciation.

flight to HK ... does anyone know if and which budget airline flies to HK?

.ky.

SY,
I am keen to get one more pair of tubing but not really sure leh cos I really wanted to stop expressing when charmaine turned 2 but she has been rejecting all kinds of FM and I can still get around 200 - 260ml which is good enough for her one feed while I am at work so am really in two minds about stopping.

Re: Playground
I am keen to join the playground! But I think the kids might be scared of santa. During JG last sun, Santa came for a visit and charmaine cried so did some other kids. Mel, Aidan, Aden and Kaelyn didn't - they are really brave kids!

mongs
hope clariss get well soon.
ya, i notice that during sick time, my gal would be cranky and she will behave the same even after she recovers. but this only lasts a while 'cos we won't give in to her. :p

mamapanda
same here. the only mac food i gv my gal is the plain pancake. but, we try not to go mac 'cos we don't have much food to choose there, might as well, DIY the home made pancake, save $$$. hehe..
i start giving my gal some less salt soya sauce. but still no sugar diet.

re: 2nd pregnancy
me too feeling more tired than the 1st pregnancy. no matter how much i rest, i still feel tired.
still have about 3 mths to go.... now i just concentrate on spending time with my gal so that both of us have 100% of time with each other before the baby is born. Sounds like before 1st one was born, both hb and I tried our best to spend couplehood time. haha...

tabb
hope tabby get used to the new adjustment soon.

i am interested in the playgroup, but also depend on which date. Hope we can make it.

mamapanda
i m getting more lax abt JH's diet nowadays cos i realise he is quite picky. maybe cos i restrict his tastebuds too much when he was younger?

jamom
the show ends on sun right? dun think i can make it....

i feel quite tired during this pregnancy and the MS is terrible. been feeling quite upset cos i feel so unwell most of the time. plus hb has been really busy these 2 weeks.

tabb
think the playgroup idea is good. i had a gathering last year with my colleagues and someone played santa. JH was ok.

ky
think quite a few budget airlines fly HK but not necc cheaper by a lot.

sl
if u getting, let me know. they have this set which includes the breast shield, tubing, bottles, membranes and valves at USD 39. quite worth it. i went to first few years to see and the membranes was already 20 bucks for packet of 6

tabb

I'm keen to join in the playgroup too if the timing allows. Keep us informed.

C had fever from last night. sigh, One after another. Really sianz....

I've alot of stuff that I keep for recycling purposes, so if there's any crafts, i can go dig and see what i have that we can use.

That day i saw a craft on making a rudolph the red nose reindeer using wooden clothes pegs. quite cute and easy to make, maybe can do that.

http://crafts.kaboose.com/clothespin-reindeer.html

Janmon - Tks for sharing on the Disney Magic show. I was keen but HB was not. Thinking abt it, I guessed my son wld not sit thru unless we sit near the front & he gets sucked into the magic
Prob will try the Mar one when he's older.

SSF - Haha...u know when I was doing it, I chose a b4 pregnancy photo of myself & C looked more like me. HB said not fair and re-did all our photos! Haha...lucky the meter said looked equally. If not, I wld change it too if looked more like HB. Did u post it on the blog. I must find the time to read all the blogs. Got classes every nite this week except tonite!

Fibreoptic trees: Yes, rem now. Metro sells them every yr too! We liked one from Metro but then ran out of the design we wanted. That was why we ended up at Concourse & got the one with the star on top

Breadmaker : Usualy, we finish the bread on the day itself when my mum makes her
It tastes really nice when u eat it fresh out of the oven. Yummy!

Re: 2nd Pregnancy

This pregnancy for me is tough too. I have a terrible morning sickness which last till I was about 16 week. Practically I can only rest on the bed without doing anything, merlion average for 5 to 6 times per day.

Then after that, seems that I always down with flu, within 2 months, about 3 times already. Until now my taste bud still a bit weird, after sweet stuffs my mouth will have a sour taste which won't go away.

Same as Cookie, I experiencing pain here and there also, recently keep on feeling pain on the chest area. Make me kind of worried. And same as Tracy I need a lot of sleep! Everynight have to rest on bed ard 9 plus 10, if not will down with flu

Preggy mummies - Ohhh...do take care! I didn't throw up when I was having C. I rem the want to throw up but cannot throw up feeling though.

I had a severe tummy ache while driving to class yesterday evening. The pain came when I was on PIE. Traffic was heavy so cldn't make my way to the shoulder. It was so painful that I almost blacked out at a traffic junction near school. I had to wind down the window & take it deep breadths to deal with the pain. When I reached school, I ran into the toilet and threw up. I suspect I had a dirty breakfast yesterday. THe pain subsided after that but I had a splitting headache until I reached home. Took a cup of hot choc & slept withthe headache. Luckily, it's gone now
Whew! What cld be worse than labour pain?! :p

Mashy - Ya lor...make me blur blur...u sound familiar yet not familiar
I think I paid close to $50 for it.

SL - Yes, sure. U r on FB too? Maybe reply there then all can see too

Thanks. Better aft the throwing up & the hot choc. The whole time I had the pain I was thinking : C'mon, u've been thru worse! This is a fraction of it. Can tahan until school!" Hee hee hee...

SY, sysac

yah lor, my hb has been posting on the forum behind my back. Finally caught him. hahaha. Lucky for him that he hasn't said anything bad on me. Else he;ll get it.

SY - Yes. Better now. Thanks. Think kenna food poisoning from canteen's breakfast. Lunch was a homemade sandwich. Hee hee...maybe I poisoned myself.

krissie
Breadmaking with machine is all about accurate measuring and following the instructions on whicn ingredient to put first, which to put last. As long as you have a good recipe and you follow the recipe, everything should work out well.

As for baking, it takes 3 hours for the whole process and another 30min for the bread to cool before u can store/cut it. Last night, I baked cranberry milk bread and I reduced the baking time from the programmed 55min to only 45min and the bread turned out PERFECT. I noticed that baking it for 55-60min is too long and it tends to create a thick crust, which is typical of European bread, but not Asian bread. European bread recipes are heavier and tend to make heavier breads with coarser consistency but keeps better than Asian breads which are lighter and fluffier with a lighter and thinner crust.

denmy
Have u gone to growing fun already? can I now add in 2x twistables color pencils and 2x 12-col washable markers and 1x 24col mini-twistables crayons on top of my 4x 5oz fingerpaint set? My crayola orders at US side was rejected cuz they don't want to ship to our location so there may be a delay to the spree as I need to source for another site to buy from. Meanwhile, I need these items fast cuz I intend to give them away as presents before I leave. Sorry for changing again. Paiseh la..

hihi mummies! finally got abit of time to come to the forum. have been busy with the 2 young ones. and i was down with mastitis 2 days ago. it was the most horrible that can happen. it wasn't the pain on the boobs that hurt but the headache i got from it. dr said it was a nerve thingy which is a result of the inflammation from the breasts. anyway, i'm glad it's much better now. a good thing that came out of this is that my milk supply is much lower. previously it was so much, i was so frustrated feeding and pumping all the time. my breasts just fill up so fast, i have enuff milk for even triplets! so i gave the extras to edgar. but i'm happy now, my supply has dipped and it's just nice for tyler

re childcare,
edgar has continued to reject going to childcare so we have kind of decided to pull him out. the moment we mentioned school he will whine and look at us with teary eyes. i think part of the reason is because we are at home. i know if we force him to go, he will definitely cry his lungs out. it's too traumatising for both me and him, so we will pull him out for the time being.

sysac,
thank goodness you are ok. food poisoning is yucky..

aileen,
good to hear you are coping well. Wow...milk supply is good! I guess no choice, gotta let edgar stay home for the time being.

aileen
what did u take during pregnancy to have good supply? i want to bf again this time round and hope can do it longer.

yeah think edgar doesn't want to go cos u guys are at home.

sysac
good that u r better now....can't possibly poison yourself right..sounds unlikely

Sunny - Yep, feedback will get the blank look expression one. Cldn't verify so lucky I didn't bother to tell her.Anyway, it's over and I am safe & sound...

Cookie - Isn't it good? I thot U wanted the star on the tree...hee hee..."my tree"...sounds liike I own a plantation hor :p I dun mind owning a plantation of X'mas tress!

SY - Unlikely it was my sandwich becos HB was alrite when I asked him abt his condition last nite.

Tracy - Yep, the feeling is indeed horrible. Felt like exploding...

anyone know where i can get a room divider (those to separate the hall from dinig area)? I'm shopping ard for one. thanks.

So many posts to catch up on!

Managed to catch a quick break from revision for upcoming tests and assignments to check my work email from home. Was running around the clinic and standing nearly the whole day on empty stomach....now, my big toe is still numb...can't really feel my big toe...hope it's still ok, sigh, the shoes are pinching my feet big time!

Just a quick pic to share here. My gf "borrowed" D to be her Angel Boy as her wedding theme was Angelic theme. Made a tunic outfit for him and he walked in barefooted. Best part was, he didn't cry and was memerized by the dry ice effect and managed to walk right to the end near the stage.

1081747.jpg
This is an impatient D wanting to run off while waiting to march-in with the bride and groom

mamapanda, noted your orders. I will be going down to Growing Fun this THurs. Ladies, please check your orders.
<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>5oz fingerpaint set</TD><TD>$13.00</TD><TD>12-col twistable colour pencils</TD><TD>$7.00</TD><TD>12-col Washable Markers</TD><TD>$10.00</TD><TD>Total $</TD><TD>20% off (>$200) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Denmy</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$10.00</TD><TD>$23.00</TD><TD>$18.40 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cookie</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>$26.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>$26.00</TD><TD>$20.80 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slinky</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>$52.00</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>$14.00</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>$20.00</TD><TD>$86.00</TD><TD>$68.80 </TD></TR><TR><TD>SSF</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$10.00</TD><TD>$23.00</TD><TD>$18.40 </TD></TR><TR><TD>rena</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>$13.00</TD><TD>$10.40 </TD></TR><TR><TD>queen</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$10.00</TD><TD>$10.00</TD><TD>$8.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>mongs</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$10.00</TD><TD>$23.00</TD><TD>$18.40 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Total</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>$130.00</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>$14.00</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>$60.00</TD><TD>$204.00</TD><TD>$163.20 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Slinky,
re: breadmaker
I went to Best Denki the other day and was introduced to a Kenwood one which was being sold for $100+++ (cannot remmeber the exact price liao) when its origianl selling price was $200+++. Any idea if that's good too?