(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Presenting my very first home-made milk bread!

1075638.jpg

1075639.jpg

CL
the open house we will also be able to see the books rite? so can decide after seeing the books in "person"?..hehee...
feel like buying so many...haha

hi mommies
RE: bookfair

wow.. i almost went crazy.. bought quite a no. of nice books.. very cheap... i think i may be going again next week. Most of the books are less than 5 dollars, this includes books like rainbow fish (which is supposed to be award winning). I got some nice books with Tabby's name on it.. so i'm really happy... THANKS CL for recommending...

RE:christmas trees
anyone know where i can get a fibreoptic christmas tree around 4ft height?

TV poll:
I'll like to do a TV poll on what does your tods like to watch and how many hours of TV time daily:
1. queen - Thomas & Friends (Art Central), Brainy Baby / Baby Einstein / Sesame Street (DVDs), about 1.5 to 2 hours daily
2. sysac - Sesame Street/Little Einsteins/Blues Clues/Fun Song Factory/Hi-5/Barney (VCDs)/Humphrey The Bear (Aust Chn) - 1.5 hrs
3. Cookie - Clifford the big red dog, Elmo's world, Mickey Mouse club house, Say it with Noddy, TV advertisement(when MIL watch TV) about 2 hours daily.
4. SY - your bb can read/little einsteins/leapfrog/ elmo about 1.5-2 hours (weekends less)
5. Sunny - sesame street (art central), channel 8 news (only when she's at my mil's place)
6. wenyl - sesame st (art central), bb einstein, CARS movie.
7. Mashy - sesame street (arts central), leapfrog, tv dramas at dinner time(oops, he's into chinese and korean dramas) - 1.5-2hrs
8. slinky - sesame's st (Kids Central), Elmo's world (DVD), Barney (VCDs), Booba (?dunno how to spell) - av 2hrs a day
9. Sharon - Barney, Hi-5, Elmo's World, New Mcdonald Farm, advertisements esp those with kids or babies, any other shows with songs and dance - about 2 hrs a day.
10. Sept03-Brainy BB VCDs, Backyardingans,Cedarmount VCD(young childing singing Christian songs), Adverts, TV Dramas, Little Bear adventure (screen on Nick Jr), Wheels on the bus-- about 3 hours a day
11. Jamom -- Little einstein, fun song factory, barney, out of the box. 30mins a day. Except friday 1.5hr coz she will wacth programs on discovery with us.
12. Zhimin - Bb einstein, Hi-5, Barney, Sesame Street - less than 2 hours per day
13: SSF- Bb einstein, Hi-5, wheels on the bus, Barney, Sesame Street abt 2-3hrs.
14: MamaChan - Barney, Elmo's World, Leapfrog Letter Factory, Pocoyo, Baby Faith Series and Vegetales - 1.5 hours every alternate days (used to watch everyday and for meal times, now meal times no TV)
15. Denmy - Boobah(starting to show disinterest already), Elmo's World, Teletubbies, Baby Einstein, Your Baby Can Read, Tiny Love DVD MagIQ, Thomas and Friends (just started today); ALL VCD/DVD; 30mins to 1 hr every other day.
16. bblon - all program from disney playhouse eg stanley, higgleytown hero, micky playhouse, little Einstein, elmo..etc -almost 2 hours.

tabby

saw plenty of those christmas tress in japan. kind of regret we didn't buy. Maybe u can try concourse? They usually sell plenty of christmas trees at this time.

Thinking whether to set up the christmas tree or not. Scared my boy will pull it down. Anyone of u setting up a tree?

mamapanda
your milk bread looks yummy and soft. I once thought of buying a bread making machine too. But scared it'll be too much of a hassle to bake the bread. is it easy to use?

mashy
Very easy. Only troublesome part was measuring the ingredients but after you've done it once, you know what to do, its just a matter of dumping the ingredients into the machine and following instructions

the machine did come with recipes but I didn't use those recipes as they're European style (Asian breads are softer). I surfed the net for tested and proven local bread recipes and came across some SAHM blogs and tried out the recipes they posted instead.
The recipes I've tried are from this blog :
http://happyhomebaking.blogspot.com/

Mashy
I bought a christmas tree FINALLY this year..and yes putting it up! Can wait to see the thrill on Kae face

I have nagging hb to get a tree in the past.. while I wasnt expecting him to agree this yr.. he is ok haha.
But burn a hole in the pocket again

Tabbiesus
there are baciscally 2 type at concourse.. 1 is standard green tree.. the other one is the whole tree will light up cos the lightings are like on the pine.. is that fibreoptic? I thought those are quiet cool and nice.
But HB prefer the traditional kind

Think 4ft cost abt...$150++ ( not confirm..around there)

Sysac
ask a silly qns,the fibreoptic one.. still need to put onaments? like those tradition kind?

Need some advice, not sure if you come across a kind of rashes on skin that looks like "dirt" not clean off properly. The rashes is darker brown colour (as compared to bb skin tone)...really looks and feels like as if long time never bath then got body dirt. Except I cannot clean them off. Bb is not disturb by it so far so I think it is not itchy or painful.

I notice Kyler has these "rashes" ( I'm not even sure if its rashes) on both of his feet- on top of his feet not the bottom and I'm very bother by them.

Greetings from Japan. It is colder here than expected. Hovering around 10+ degrees

May,
Dunno yet. Will probably see how abt 2nd one...mixed feelings ;p

re zoophonics trial
can let me know who interested again?

likely to be on sun 4-5pm at siglap

1. SY
2. SSF
3. Cookie
4. Denmy
5. Jamom
6. Cheng

Mashy,
Thanks for the information. keke...unfortunately didn't managed to read it till now...freezing in Japan.

SH
Have an enjoyable trip

re zoophonics trial
can let me know who interested again?

likely to be on sun 4-5pm at siglap

1. SY
2. SSF
3. Cookie
4. Denmy
5. Jamom
6. Cheng
7. Flo
8. SH

SH, I kaypo add your name in, I presume you are interested but forgot to add your name in?

Tracy
Congrats on your boy!

Mommies
Check with you, how do you get your little darlings sit on the potty? Lately Mel tends to wait till I take off her diaper then she pee, sometime will end up wetting the bed. This morning, I took off her diaper and ask her to sit on the potty. She refused and squat on the floor and pee instead
Later when I was preparing lunch in the kitchen, she tore off her diaper and took off her clothes and pee in the living room again....arrgh!!!!

Flo

We've been training tabby to sit on the potty since 6 months. We will put her there after her breakfast, lunch and dinner.. usually she will do her business there and sometimes pee... she isn't able to tell us when she wants to do her potty time yet.. we'll let her have a book to read.

cookie
the fibreoptic one is the one as u described.. my dad said its safer cos the bulb is only at the base and u don't have to have the wires of electricity running round the tree in case our children touch it.. wow.. so ex! my dad said in China they are selling about 50 dollars per tree..

mashy, cookie
thanks for the info re: xmas tres

cookie

it could be birthmark. My boy also has lots of that. on his elbow and near his groin area. We've concluded that it's birthmark for his case.

SH
wah, so cold. Glad we're back before it dips to 10degrees. My boy doesn't take well to cold weather, he starts coughing whenver it turns cold.

if u take collagen, should go and get Meiji Collagen at the pharmacies leh. It's selling at about 1900+ y, less than S$26. My hb saw it at guardian selling at $66!!!!!

Cookie - No need to put any ornaments. The tree is nice by itself. However, it u think it's too plain, just add some small ones. I added some stars & boxes to my tree last yr cos I didn't want to waste my ornaments.

I've got a 5 ft one to display the ornaments. However, I bought a small fibre optic one last year cause was afraid thet Cephas wld mess around & get hurt. Like those funny home vidoes on America's Funny Home Videos.

This yr, prob will put up the fibre optic one cos having his little BD party at home. The big tree wld take up too much space & be a play thing for the kids.

1077354.jpg

Sysac
Where did u get the Big Star that light up??? we are looking for one...dun tell me also concourse??

Mashy
Know what... false alarm!! i ask my MIL and asked if she noticed. Then finally she told me it's stain from powder.. all dried up stain! When I clean kyler maybe too gentle cos I afriad might hurt him But Thank God it's not rashes but stain only...

Flo
I did the same as Tabby as in morning after milk will put her potty to '"put put", think these days she also indicate after she poopoo cos just now in the class, my hb say she tell him she poo ( else.. I dun think my HB can smell it..hehehe)

Flo,
Thanks! Yup I blur blur forget to add my own name! :)

Mashy,
Ya...my boy has running nose and cough. Courtesy of HK and Japan trip. Now even I am slightly down with flu.

SH,
Enjoy the cold cold weather in Japan. I love this time of the year. Please go try the crab there too nice during this time.

sysac,
I want to get the same tree with the light up star. So nice. You got from where ?

Yup Mashy
That meiji collagen is cheap. I was bringing back some for colleagues too.

Flo,
Wow, maybe you should take off the diaper near the potty and keep showing her ?

mongs,
Noted your orders.

re: Growing FUn
We'll get 20% anyway for members' promo.

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>5oz fingerpaint set</TD><TD>$13.00</TD><TD>12-col twistable colour pencils</TD><TD>$7.00</TD><TD>12-col Washable Markers</TD><TD>$10.00</TD><TD>Total $</TD><TD>20% off (>$200) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Denmy</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$10.00</TD><TD>$23.00</TD><TD>$18.40 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cookie</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>$26.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>$26.00</TD><TD>$20.80 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slinky</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>$52.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>$52.00</TD><TD>$41.60 </TD></TR><TR><TD>SSF</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$10.00</TD><TD>$23.00</TD><TD>$18.40 </TD></TR><TR><TD>rena</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>$13.00</TD><TD>$10.40 </TD></TR><TR><TD>queen</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$10.00</TD><TD>$10.00</TD><TD>$8.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>mongs</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$10.00</TD><TD>$23.00</TD><TD>$18.40 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Total</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>$130.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>$40.00</TD><TD>$170.00</TD><TD>$136.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

flo
do you wanna try to let her use the adult toilet bowl? you need to buy the toddler toilet seat. i find that my gal prefers to use the toilet bowl than the potty 'cos she can do more things if she uses it e.g. put her toilet seat on the bowl and flush.
my gal still doesn't wanna go and find the potty/toilet bowl to use. She wants us to bring her there... but, luckily she will tell us. So, everytime after she used the potty/toilet bowl, we will give her a kiss and praise her.

Thanks for all the well wishes.

Flo,
Hahaha, Mel is so erm drama. Have you tried putting her on the toilet seat itself using a seat convertor to make it more for kids use? Meg only does it at the toilet cos she saw us and her cousins at home only doing it at toilet bowl. She refuses to do it at the potty.

Tracy

CL
thanks for opening your house so that i can take a look at those books. Really got to control myself from buying a lot... HB kept reminding me that we are mandarin speaking background family, no need to buy so much.... :p
luckily i checked with the teacher how to really catch my gal's interest during the reading time. Tried out 2 nights, and it works. hehe....
The one at bras basah is more on english?

CL
saw the chinese book BP thread, the 2 sets that i bought got 15% discount ah? will i get the discount too? hehe... :p

Yes yes sunny,

As long as there is 20 sets met will have discount lah.

It was nice meeting you and sleeping deer too. Long time never see the kids both are so sweet and cute.

I am back already.... so many posts... just scanning through now....

Rena,Denmy, May, Cookie, Aileen, Wenyl,
Got your transfers - thks.

Tabbiesus, Krissie,
Just pmed you my account nubmer....

Anyone else needs my account number?

Re; California Baby
Mamapanda, can your drugstore spree take in CaliBB stuff? Need to get some... thks...

CL
i like the area that you have for your kids to play... then, the the other areas of the house won't be messy... mine don't have such space... the whole living room is a real mess....

My hb has been having fever for the last 4 days already and still having it. sianz... Hope it's not dengue or anything serious.

C also having running nose and cough. So's my dad. All the males in the household are sick. Left the women running abt.

SH
wow it's really cold now. did u bring along the cough and flu medicine?

re bread machine,
i asked hb to get one but he refused....i m interested in doing bread and since JH likes bread too

mamapanda
do the recipes use yeast?

re xmas tree
thinking of getting one too. hmm, must go and take a look already

somehow for this 2nd pregnancy, i really feel unwell like almost all the time. no appetite, headache, MS..dunno why..so sian.

sl
u still planning to get the medala stuff? i m interested

How r u gals celebrating your kid's 2nd birthday?
Still undecided on what to do. Any suggestions? We held a bbq at a chalet last yr. We've a big extended family so always have lots of logistics prob.

SY,
Lets go concourse, I tempted t buy that small one liao.

Mashy
Hope your hb is fine. My hb had fever for a few days last week too.

sunny,
Ha ha still messy lah

SL,
I need your account number

mashy
i m probably going to do 2 celebrations. one will be in sch and one will be for family and frens. prob will not have it too big.

CL
yeah good idea. let's go next week? this week out for me cos i m away for ocnference for 2 days.

SY and CL
When u ladies are here, let me know.. perhaps I can sneak out a while :p but not confirm la..only if timing is right and I have no last mintue meeting to involve.

Sysac
I'm really keen to get the Star top.. dunno they sell it separately or not...
U have very nice tree! and so many christmas present already!

SH
Enjoy your Holiday...*drooling* wish I could be there..hahaha..

SY,

me too.. very tired and MS morning and Evening.. not eating well as well. constipationa and things making me feel so sick

Mashy - Oh dear. Do take care of yrself too

Cookie - Tat's last yr's pic. I've not started big on my Xmas shopping yet. My shopping day is in Dec where I shop from morning to nite with 2 of my galfrens! Looking fwd to it
I need retail therapy! Hee hee...

CL - Yes, go buy the small tree
Shall tempt u! Haha...

SY - I m having a buffet lunch for 25 pax at my hse for Cephas' 2nd BD. It's just close family & friends. I ordered his cake from room for dessert. No big party like last year's.

So many mummies with no. 2 - congrats all!

So envious ....

Mashy,
I also don't know what to do for my gal's second bd... are we having a bash again? : )

Halo everyone,

Survived my first flight wf celeste
she was relatively well behaved on the flight, BUT once we landed in HK, she oni wants me to carry her!!! argh... she refused my HB and inlaws and stuck to me like a koala bear...HB said i cld join the women's army liao and i cld see the little 'mouse' on my arms liao boo hoo hoo
tonite am taking time off from celeste and meeting my fren for shopping since i din get to shop much in HK haha... and same like the other kids, celeste din eat much there so am now pumping her back for the lost food hee...

Tracy - congrats! am reali happie for u at closing shop

SH - were u in disneyland on 15th? i thot i saw someone like u wor... was carrying a sleepin celeste so din walk over to clarify...

Tracy,

congrats! You are so on, already narrow down your choices for a name for your new baby. I still can't confirm one for my girl and I am already 35 going to 36 weeks. I am so bo-chap.

clariss wasn't feeling well over the weekend, she had fever from Fri till Sat and I find her behaviour very bad on Sun although her fever subside. Maybe she is not feeling well and hence throwing tantrums but do you gals observed such behaviour after your toddlers get well from their illness. Everything also "don't want, don't want and no no" using those very impatient tone. so fed-up with her attitude.

wow so many postings..been so busy with work lately as my partner was asked to leave the co so suddenly and i am taking over his stuffs. suddenly running everywhere for mtgs and following up issues whole day. not helping my stress level tat my hb is away for this entire week for biz travel!

mashy - my co giving me subsidy for a hotel/chalet stay. not alot abt 75 bucks. so may decide to book a hotel and celebrate for Caleb's big 2! J and helper will have to put up at my mum hse. so bad hor..but no choice la..else how to enjoy.

mongs - be patient..kids are like tat when they are sick. just have to give in to them during the tough time. hope clariss gets well soon. u take care too!

denmy
No its not crusty at all. Its very soft and fluffy. Even on the 3rd day (I store the bread in the fridge from day2 onwards), after I warm it in the microwave for 15sec, its still soft n fluffy.

growing fun
Does growingfun have the crayola 50-color telescoping pip-squeak washable marker pen set? US is selling $15USD per set but I'm not sure how much shipping will cost. Its approximately 1.8lbs shipping weight.