(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Mamapanda,

How come I got credit with you ?

Jamom,
Forgot to reply you. You mean overcome falling sick ? Ha ha nothing done in particular leh. Those who are sick never come woh. The teacher look at my son and say can start from next year leh.

Hey can ask JG teachers to come one ah. Then I want Adrian man.

Bookfair at Bras Basah
They have these during school holiday at the ground floor. Never realli look at one actually but because my favourite shop tell me have so the mummies are going. I know the shop brought in some new stock from UK lor

tracy
thanks for the assurance. yeah i guess it always feels very worrying when we dun see everything abt our bb. hb was also very disappointed plus we had a terrible long wait yesterday at KK. so both our moods wasn't very good.

CL
prob will go to the teacher's place as it's nearer.

re zoophonics
anymore mummies? if not i wil call them to confirm number of pple.

mamapanda - sorry but i think i will skip on the black & white paints.

sysac - its my Caleb not sept03's boy. haha...guess have to find a way to identify my boy. maybe can associate him with the toothless Caleb. hee...

septbride03- so cute even celeste also call caleb ahleb. hee...

TV poll:
I'll like to do a TV poll on what does your tods like to watch and how many hours of TV time daily:
1. queen - Thomas & Friends (Art Central), Brainy Baby / Baby Einstein / Sesame Street (DVDs), about 1.5 to 2 hours daily
2. sysac - Sesame Street/Little Einsteins/Blues Clues/Fun Song Factory/Hi-5/Barney (VCDs)/Humphrey The Bear (Aust Chn) - 1.5 hrs
3. Cookie - Clifford the big red dog, Elmo's world, Mickey Mouse club house, Say it with Noddy, TV advertisement(when MIL watch TV) about 2 hours daily.
4. SY - your bb can read/little einsteins/leapfrog/ elmo about 1.5-2 hours (weekends less)
5. Sunny - sesame street (art central), channel 8 news (only when she's at my mil's place)
6. wenyl - sesame st (art central), bb einstein, CARS movie.
7. Mashy - sesame street (arts central), leapfrog, tv dramas at dinner time(oops, he's into chinese and korean dramas) - 1.5-2hrs
8. slinky - sesame's st (Kids Central), Elmo's world (DVD), Barney (VCDs), Booba (?dunno how to spell) - av 2hrs a day
9. Sharon - Barney, Hi-5, Elmo's World, New Mcdonald Farm, advertisements esp those with kids or babies, any other shows with songs and dance - about 2 hrs a day.
10. Sept03-Brainy BB VCDs, Backyardingans,Cedarmount VCD(young childing singing Christian songs), Adverts, TV Dramas, Little Bear adventure (screen on Nick Jr), Wheels on the bus-- about 3 hours a day
11. Jamom -- Little einstein, fun song factory, barney, out of the box. 30mins a day. Except friday 1.5hr coz she will wacth programs on discovery with us.
12. Zhimin - Bb einstein, Hi-5, Barney, Sesame Street - less than 2 hours per day
13: SSF- Bb einstein, Hi-5, wheels on the bus, Barney, Sesame Street abt 2-3hrs.

CL
Next week the teacher is hosting for Demny har?
if there is one next week then I join, this week is very pack for me also, Hb sure black face if I arrange things on 17th too.
if it's just 1 time open house.. CCK or pipit is fine with me
majority's call

HI CL,

May I know what is the time for the open house? I am ok tis sun or next at pipit road.

The minmum no. of kids for the class is 5 right? So everyone must pay for the class even if absent? Coz what happen during my time was we need to have let's say a min of 3 kids and if less than that then no class if not the other two parents will have to pay for the absent child. What happen if the child of the person hosting the class os sick? Change venue?

We din engage JG teacher directly from JG la...I am on quite good terms with the JG teachers coz been attending the class for almost 3 yrs already. Quite a number of teacher moonlight there esp chinese ones.

If u tink Adrian is good, you shou;ld try William! HE is the master teacher for playclub. He even won an award for best preschool teacher in singapore. But too bad, he is not teaching in JG but in chiltern now. in fact, many good teachers at JG has left esp english. I can see the difference in quality 3 yrs ago and now.

The bookfair is organised by any store in particular?

HI denmy,
I dropped u an email. U got it?

Paying for MRT/Bus rides
So far, have not been stopped to be asked to pay for D's fare. Not sure if it's coz he sits in the stroller still when we take train with him. But I think he'll need to pay, just found out he's 92cm now...

TV poll:
I'll like to do a TV poll on what does your tods like to watch and how many hours of TV time daily:
1. queen - Thomas & Friends (Art Central), Brainy Baby / Baby Einstein / Sesame Street (DVDs), about 1.5 to 2 hours daily
2. sysac - Sesame Street/Little Einsteins/Blues Clues/Fun Song Factory/Hi-5/Barney (VCDs)/Humphrey The Bear (Aust Chn) - 1.5 hrs
3. Cookie - Clifford the big red dog, Elmo's world, Mickey Mouse club house, Say it with Noddy, TV advertisement(when MIL watch TV) about 2 hours daily.
4. SY - your bb can read/little einsteins/leapfrog/ elmo about 1.5-2 hours (weekends less)
5. Sunny - sesame street (art central), channel 8 news (only when she's at my mil's place)
7. Mashy - sesame street (arts central), leapfrog, tv dramas at dinner time(oops, he's into chinese and korean dramas) - 1.5-2hrs
8. slinky - sesame's st (Kids Central), Elmo's world (DVD), Barney (VCDs), Booba (?dunno how to spell) - av 2hrs a day
9. Sharon - Barney, Hi-5, Elmo's World, New Mcdonald Farm, advertisements esp those with kids or babies, any other shows with songs and dance - about 2 hrs a day.
10. Sept03-Brainy BB VCDs, Backyardingans,Cedarmount VCD(young childing singing Christian songs), Adverts, TV Dramas, Little Bear adventure (screen on Nick Jr), Wheels on the bus-- about 3 hours a day
11. Jamom -- Little einstein, fun song factory, barney, out of the box. 30mins a day. Except friday 1.5hr coz she will wacth programs on discovery with us.
12. Zhimin - Bb einstein, Hi-5, Barney, Sesame Street - less than 2 hours per day
13: SSF- Bb einstein, Hi-5, wheels on the bus, Barney, Sesame Street abt 2-3hrs.
14: MamaChan - Barney, Elmo's World, Leapfrog Letter Factory, Pocoyo, Baby Faith Series and Vegetales - 1.5 hours every alternate days (used to watch everyday and for meal times, now meal times no TV)

Denmy
I'll pick up the spinach tmr, what time I'm not too sure, will have to see if I have a long day at clinic sessions tmr.

sept03bride
hahaha, Celeste is really cute and clever to call Caleb as Ahleb!

SY
When we went for gynae's appt at 6 weeks with D back then, also only a foetal sac, dr made me so worried as they wanted to rule out the worst case scenario of ectopic pregnancy. Had to take blood tests to measure my hormone levels... heartbeat was detected only at 8 weeks or so.

SSF - The 3 Cs are attending playgroup on Suns. Last Sun, Celeste called Caleb "Aleb". But I kept thinking it was him calling himself.

CL,
Thank you so so so sooooooo much for changing the open house date. *big hugz* Timing is 3-5pm right?

Jamon,
Yes I got your email. Replied to your jtwml email.

mummies who are interested in starting a playgroup in the east, why don't we arrange to go to the open house around the same time so we can all check on the details with the Chinese teacher together.

re: 1 hr free demo on Montesorri Home kit @ KYDZ
Jamon, Esther, U still interested in attendin? It will be on a Sat @ 4pm. What about 24 Nov? Anymore mummies interested in going? I've yet to confirm with Gary. Do let me know soon.

re: Spinach BP
Mummies, the spinach is here. Please remember to collect it.

<font color="ff0000">Queen, how are you collecting yours?</font>

Collection date: 16 Nov, Friday
Collection points:
1. Hitachi Tower 12noon to 6pm
2. Marine Terrace after 7pm

<table border=1><tr><td>No.</TD><TD>Name</TD><TD>Item</TD><TD>portion</TD><TD>Amt Total $</TD><TD>Collection Point </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Denmy</TD><TD>Spinach x 2</TD><TD>818.18</TD><TD>$16.55</TD><TD>Marine Parade </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>SY</TD><TD>Spinach x 1</TD><TD>409.1</TD><TD>$8.27</TD><TD>Marine Parade (c/o Dem) </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Mamachan</TD><TD>Spinach x 1</TD><TD>409.1</TD><TD>$8.27</TD><TD>Hitachi Tower </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Mamapanda</TD><TD>Spinach x 2</TD><TD>818.18</TD><TD>$16.55</TD><TD>Marine Parade (c/o CL via JG) </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>durianlover</TD><TD>Spinach x 1</TD><TD>409.1</TD><TD>$8.27</TD><TD>Marine Parade (c/o CL via JG) </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Aileen </TD><TD>Spinach x 2</TD><TD>818.18</TD><TD>$16.55</TD><TD>Hitachi Tower </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Queen</TD><TD>Spinach x 2</TD><TD>818.18</TD><TD>$16.55</TD><TD>TBC </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

re: Growing Fun
Becos Matsu has pulled out. Our grand total is now less than $200. Anymore mummies wanna tumpang? It can be other items from GF, not necessary Crayola. Anyway, I'll just post the costs here based on 15% and 20%. But I think we'll hit $200 when our shopping queen, cookie goes there with me.

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>5oz fingerpaint set</TD><TD>$13.00</TD><TD>12-col twistable colour pencils</TD><TD>$7.00</TD><TD>12-col Washable Markers</TD><TD>$10.00</TD><TD>Total $</TD><TD>15% off ($120-$200)</TD><TD>20% off (>$200) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Denmy</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$10.00</TD><TD>$23.00</TD><TD>$19.55</TD><TD>$18.40 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cookie</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>$26.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>$26.00</TD><TD>$22.10</TD><TD>$20.80 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slinky</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>$52.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>$52.00</TD><TD>$44.20</TD><TD>$41.60 </TD></TR><TR><TD>SSF</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$10.00</TD><TD>$23.00</TD><TD>$19.55</TD><TD>$18.40 </TD></TR><TR><TD>rena</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>$13.00</TD><TD>$11.05</TD><TD>$10.40 </TD></TR><TR><TD>queen</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$10.00</TD><TD>$10.00</TD><TD>$8.50</TD><TD>$8.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Total</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>$117.00</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>$0.00</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>$30.00</TD><TD>$147.00</TD><TD>$124.95</TD><TD>$117.60 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Jamom,
I have not attended William. So far I only like Adrian and Daniel who was previously principal of Chiltern. But he already left.

Open house for Chinese Books.
If there is a good response to have the open house this sunday for pipit road, I think the teacher is also willing to do it. Please let me know if anyone keen this Sat/sunday.

17 Nov Sat 3-5
1. Sunny
2. Flo
3. Esther

25 Nov Sun 3-5
1. Cookie
2. Denmy
3. Jamom
4. SY

Tabbiesus, the open house at my house is only this Sat , you want to come ?

For those who are interested, but cannot make it for the open house, can check out the link for the pics of some books :

http://www.flickr.com/photos/20714781@N06/sets/

TV poll:
14: MamaChan - Barney, Elmo's World, Leapfrog Letter Factory, Pocoyo, Baby Faith Series and Vegetales - 1.5 hours every alternate days (used to watch everyday and for meal times, now meal times no TV)
15. Denmy - Boobah(starting to show disinterest already), Elmo's World, Teletubbies, Baby Einstein, Your Baby Can Read, Tiny Love DVD MagIQ, Thomas and Friends (just started today); ALL VCD/DVD; 30mins to 1 hr every other day.

Abt playgroup, generally if 3 kids can make it, we'll still carry on with this. So far, for older son's group, the group's hardly ever stop (except one period when there was a chicken pox outbreak) and more impt getting committed mothers to set time aside, and plan together for events... the group's still going strong with abt 6 families. For younger son's group, this group started only in late Aug and we only stopped recently for couple of weeks due to the usual reasons (kids were sick, host busy). This group have 5 pairs now and I'm thinking if more could be included since now I've more space ... having a bigger group has its pro as in continuity and taking turns in leading.

For playroom, like Jamom, I too recently allocated one room for playroom.... This becomes very helpful when u have 2 out there, and u are almost alone :> Every single toy that I can squeeze goes in .. n like Jamom, mine is an open concept with low shelving for self-help (but I'm probably going to get taller shelves coz when u have no space below, u go UP).

Denmy, I still remember your montessori qn. personally, I've not seen the set meant for home use. I only remember that the knobbed cylinders come in sets of 5 (and montessori sensorial items are in sets of 10 - it leads on to the decimal system). That might not be an impt component if u can manage to work around it. I'm sorry if I can't help to answer more of that.

btw, personally, I feel 2-yr old are too young to be handling the Montessori items that are in the homeset. They've got to firstly learn how to respect them, and I think they are more interested in practical life. Perhaps it's more appropriate for 2.5 yr old. Jamom, do you agree? If I'm free, I'll pop by on the date that you've arranged.

Jamom, replied your email... u received?

On the chinese lesson, the teacher has by far 2 groups of younger kids which started when they are 2 yrs + couple of mths old. And she does mostly songs and stories. She mentioned that for the 2006 group, it would be 1/2 hr due to the short attn span.

.ky.

CL

I'd like to come for the open house but this sat I'm a bit packed cos i'm working in the am and got a bday party in the evening.. let me ask hubby for permission first...

I'm interested in getting the activity books for 2 years old and some of the readers I saw on your flicker..

btw where are we meeting tomorrow for lunch and what time?

Tabbiesus,

Tomorrow 12.30 at obrien then we walk over to bras basah. Saw them setting up last evening liao. I will sms babylon too

Oops, Mashy
I think I remember you asking where is Obrien, it is at citylink, coming through from the MRT, it is besides guardian pharmacy opposite breadtalk

I've some free tickets to Harv Eker ' The Millionaire Mind' from 23 to 25 Nov at Singapore Expo Hall 2 organised by success resources. No materials though coz it's free.

Anyone interested can pm me.

jamom
thanks for the link. it looks interesting.

SY
for heartbeat, mine was detected at around wk 8.

CL
around what time you all will reach bras basah? if possible, mayb i join you gals at bras basah.

been feeling so unwell since yesterday. feel like puking the whole day and not much appetite.

yesterday went out with some frens and was home late. JH was already sleepign by the time i reach home. luckily he wasn't angry this time. in fact, can see that he missed me. when he woke up he gave me a big big hug. when i asked him whether he missed me, he shook his head and said papa and nodded his head and said mama.

sunny, mamachan
so the heartbeat was detected abt 8 weeks. yeah my gynae also said must rule out etopic pregnancy first. last round i also did blood test. but this round he din ask me to do blood test

denmy
i dun mind going on the 25. will prob tell hb the mummies are having a gathering so i can go. can i pick up the spinach from your mum's place on sun?

i would be interested in forming a chinese class but if it weekday, i can only go if it at jamom's house so that i can just ask my maid to bring him.

CL
will u be getting the veggies from Denmy today for us? Angeline says she need to get something from u so she can collect the veggies at the same time.

Mamapanda,
Me not going to the shop to collect. I think denmy passing to me on sunday during JG class

SYSAc,
Noted your order. Hee Hee. Pick up from me hor

CL - Of cse...of cse...my collection pt is CCK
Not so soon on the collection rite? Got to wait for the payment details too

sysac,
ya ya not so soon, she probably order next week, arrived should be dec liao. But I just compare books she has which is also at the book fair, still cheaper than the book fair even after their discount. So dun worry.

SY
Ya a lot of books, now you know how i overstock ha ha . And what I was letting go was must a small part of it.

Zhimin
I only target at the shop I usually go. There are some books which goes at $2-4. Others are still the same and same 30%.

The book fair ends on 25 Nov 07. I din do much shopping but maybe can wait for Tabbiesus and Mamachan to update

i have this headache that won't seem to go away. making me feel so sick. anything i can do to make it better?

btw, wan to ask whether can take fish oil supplements in first 3 months. gynae ask me to take the vitamins only after 3 months so was wonderin whether it is the same for fish oil

Just return from gynae's. Oscar test ok, thk god. At first doc said prob can't see gender today unless the baby has big kuku bird. But when we scan, the baby's legs were open big big and we saw something sticking out in btwn. So doc kept scanning to be sure and said most likely its a boy... hahaha...BUT we'll only be 100% sure at the next appt lah. So keeping my fingers crossed I can close shop!!

SY,
is fish oil DHA? I'm just starting to take it now, ie 2nd tri. 1st tri only had folic n calcium. Hey, it's good to be feeling sick and puking. Signs that baby is growing well. Hang in there!

Tracy

SY

I also didn't take the fish oil until 2nd trimester. Reason is because 1st trimester i puke almost everything out, so even eat the fish oil i also not benefit from it. So Gynae suggested I start after my morning sickness not so bad.

During my 1st trimester I headache quite often and sometimes feel giddy which I didn't encounter when I have Clarisse. Try to rest as much as possible.

tracy
yeah DHA is fish oil. so u only started in 2nd trimester? thinking whtehr shd take now but not too sure.

congrats on your boy! can close shop liao

yeah i also know not feeling well is a good sign but can't wait for it to pass!

HI ladies,

Just came back from growing fun (paragon) and they are having 20% storewide sale (excluding I can read series). For members, can buy special items at$10 or 40% off.

HI KY and Denmy,
REcieved ur email and replied.
Me not an expert in montessori esp when it comes to math area but I am reading up on it. BUt I did ask my son's monte teacher and they also agree the miniature set not suitable for "real" montessori work.
I agree with you on tod's this age must learn to respect the material and yes definately more interested in practical life. I tink Maria Montessori did outline the various period of sensitivity and a child is more interested in learning specific concept at certain age. I have been trying to introduce the "work cycle" routine with my girl whenever we use any material and have been working quite ok for me....though quite a challenge to make her to keep her stuff.As for my girl she is doing practical life stuff as well as some sensorial work. She likes working with the knobbed cylinder. I am trying to get the pink tower and broad stairs. I hope to get my boy to use it to "entice" her to play with it.

KY, u mention u got a playroom right? How do u manage to keep the kids from being distracted by other toys. For me right now, I have to bring the material to another room for them to work on and onli let them play in the room when they really "play" on their own. BTW, I just managed to assess my jtwml email...u mean u made so many monte stuff! amazing!

Denmy, I tink i will give the demo a pass. Coz too far and the next few sat really occupied with classes and birthday parties. THanks for asking.

Hi Sy,
I took fish oil even during first trimester coz I was bf no.2 at that time also. My gynae say is ok coz fish oil not harmful. For most multivit, ok to take also.

HI CL,
You mean those photos at the flicker belongs to you. Wow! that is really alot of books.

super long did not log in here, so much posts to read!!

do anyone has a baby cot to sell or give away?? one of my friend having her #2 is looking for one. please pm or drop me a note if any of you do, thanks!

wenyl
ethan is so sweet!! he sure will adore and protect his didi greatly =) you take care!

tracy
CONGRATS!! you can close shop liao. hee