(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

mashy brainz,
at least ur boy spits water, mine spits his saliva thinking it's funnie! how more disgusting!! like some china man!! haha!!

Aileen

My boy spits saliva in the form of bubbles. He'll blow a really huge bubble with his saliva until it bursts and he'll be at it for a few rounds till his shirt is all wet. sigh. Boys!

Edventure having sales!
http://www.edventurebooks.com/index.htm

if anyone buying sunshine series, please let me know. coz I would like to buy the Nature Library which is 50% off with any sunshines series purchased. by the way the sunshine classics is a very good buy. going at 30% off. and members have additional 10% off!

mashy
my gal used to do that 'cos she mixed up this action for the drinking session and brushing teeth session. but she didn't do that for fun. So, we just remind her that it's drinking session, and she is only allowed to spit the water during the brushing session. she took it well and after 1 or 2 rounds reminding, she nvr repeats so far.

if your boy is doing it for fun, i suggest you don't join in this game he's having meaning, just keep quiet without any reaction when he did that. if he still continues, you might need to tell him a strict 'no'.

sunny

I hit his hands with ruler, then gave him a cloth to clean up his own mess.

sigh, my boy is very thick skinned. I can tell him 'no' forever, and he'll still do it. And u can be assured that my 'no' is very strict, coz I will accompany it with a ruler. Now whenever he gets hold of the ruler, he'll wave the ruler and go on a 'scolding' spree to the fans that I stopped him from touching. Dunno to laugh or get angry. sigh.

I'm going to attend a series of talks on teaching obedience to children in church when i return from Japan. Hopefully that will teach me a trick or two.

aileen
for sunshine series and other series, couldn't find the price leh. except the nature library you got the link to the price?

hi aileen, do the "supernanny" way. Give a good warning - lower your voice, lower your body to his level, and tell him in a stern manner that you do not like what he's doing. Don't smile at all. That works for mine. He used to do quite a fair bit of stuff that we do not like, but now he knows, and he's sometimes testing us, like pretend and then back off when I look straight at him and say no.

Kydz ... I might be going to the place tomorrow. Anyone eye-ing anything, let me know and I'll check out for u.

.ky.

Cookie - Yes I buy the pancake mix from the supermarket. I like the brand Betty Crocker. As for hotcakes, it's from Mac's! Haha...If not, will be sandwiches. Bread with ham or bacon or sausages or eggs or cheese, etc.

For lunch or dinner, will be rice, soup (pumpkin, potato, carrot, fishball, cauliflower, etc) chix wings, fish, prawns, beef, etc.

Mashy/Aileen - Haha...the boys! Cephas only spits in the bathroom now - when brushing his teeth! He tried to spit saliva once playfully and I used my fingers to 'shoot' his mouth after warning abt 2 times. After that, he didn't dare to again :p

ky,
i tried that. but guess what? he followed my expression and gave me a frown look in return! u see lah, what a cheeky boy i have got!! then if i continue to ignore him, he will call me "mama" in a sweetest tone possible! aiyo, how to be angry with him. so i just keep quiet but in my heart damn happy to hear him call me so sweetly! haha!

ha ha, aileen, I know what u mean ... they are learning the tricks to win our hearts, ya?? But must try and they know they can't play a fool. must re-emphasize and said "no" in a low and stern voice lor, cannot keep quiet coz they can see that they can climb over us. then when the entire episode is over, can hug and laugh with him la

.ky.

try not to feed too much ham/sausage/bacon to the kids. Organic or not, they contain high amount of sodium nitrite, which is carcinogenic. Children are most susceptible to cell changes since they're still growing.

mashy
for some of my strict NOs, my gal also doesn't seem bother. But, when i remain in my position, and look at her silently, be it few seconds or a minute, she would then gradually understand that I am serious about the NO. Then, she won't repeat it. But after a period of time, it happends again, I would repeat the same cycle.

For my gal, silence works better at this stage.

share with us some tips after you attend the seminars hor. hehe...

SY, Sleepingdeer
Re: eating on hol
Mel has been rejecting her homecook porridge as well. Desperate mommy end up has to logon to youtube and search for Hi 5 video clipsend up she finished everything. I think shes having Hi 5 withdrawal syndrome can see shes so happy once the music started....haha

The hotel room fridge is well within her reach. On a few occasions I was wondering how come shes so quite. Then I realized that she took out the yoghurt from the fridge, opened it and sat down quietly at one corner and enjoyed it. We even thot of buying the fridge lock to lock the hotel fridgehaha

Demny,
Mel hates cereal (adult and baby) now as well esp if I add in milk. If I give her the rice crisp etc in plain form then shell eat. She loves bread tho even if its plain. As to fruits, she loves banana and orange; grapes, strawberries, peaches, plum and prunes etc shes fine. I think shes sick of apple and pear.

Cookie,
Heehee, Mel loves to sit on the children chair during JG class as well. Adrian didnt manage to capture Kaes attention? Mel simply idolize him man, the moment he talks she will go right in fronthaha

Mashy/Aileen
Haha, is not only boys lahMel does that too.oops maybe she behaves more like a boy! If I give her the water bottle, after she has enough, shell split out the water and wet the floor and her clothes. Sometime worst still, she will pour the water on the floor and lick the water like a dognot sure if shes imitating my bros dogsfaintz

ky,
sad to admit but i'm actually quite lax with my son. as long as it's not dangerous, i'll usually let him have his way. ie i won't scold him until he cries. but of coz i'll at least give him a stern no. it's things like touching the fan, opening kitchen drawers etc that i will be very firm. no means no, even if it means dragging him out of the situation and letting him wail his heart out until he vomits. fortunately such situation doesn't happen very often coz each time i do that, it really breaks my heart to see him cry.

flo,
wow, u so free in france ar? it feels like u'r still here in sg!! :p

the part about finding hi-5 on youtube is classic man! i can't imagine u even tot of that! u good ar! and u mean mel knows how to open the yoghurt packaging and self-feed ar? so clever!!

edgar also like to pour the water out from his waterbottle after drinking. even got the cheek to tell me, "I pour"!! argh... then he will gladly take the tissue paper and clean up the floor. and then use that same piece of paper to clean his mouth!! faintz!

Mashy, KY, Sunny, Aileen
Whenever Mel misbehave, I tell her is a stern voice "Mommy is angry" she will cry until very poor thing and come over to hug me, after that back to her old self again....how to discipline?

flo,
haha we sama sama lah. soft hearted one!! :p
edgar will even tell me "edgar naughty!" when u ask him who's naughty. and when i say "mummy's angry" he will show me the frown face! so cute! keke...

Aileen
Haha, am still in France...Mel sleeping now so am stuck in the room. Anyway, is a R&R hol, didn't really travel far and much..hb has training everyday and not going too far alone with Mel.

Re: Huggalugs
I just got my credit card bill. The total cost is $510.53. So divided by 43 pairs, it's $11.86. So for the mummies sharing the huggalugs spree, can you transfer $11.80 for each pair to me pls? Pm me for my account number okay?

I think it's higher than my estimation - sorry about that. Called up Amex to ask - apparently the exchange rate that they use is AUD1 to S1.348 - it's on the higher side? The exchange rate that Amex uses for my strawberrynet's purchases are also on the higher side for US dollars.

Well, on the other hand, Charmaine loves the leg warmers.
See my vain girl?

1048757.jpg

Flo,
Ha ha ha! You know what, my hubby actually suggested that we buy a portable DVD player to bring with us to Australia so that we can keep charmaine entertained with her Hi-5. Hmmm... now must seriously consider that.

Re: Spitting
My problem is difference. Charmaien doesn't know how to spit. So when she's brushing, she will swallow the water instead. How to teach her how to spit?

Denmy,
Charmaine loves bread for breakfast - just plain bread with butter. She can finish 1.5 to 2 slices.

Re: Discipline
Hmmm..I tried the supernanny method - didn't quite work. Charmaine just looked away....

Aileen,
charmaine same same! Tell her mummy angry, she will either look away or look very pitifully, then purse her lips, then big tears will drop then she will cry very loudly. Sigh....

She also loves to pour water!

flo
mel so cute! open the fridge and take the food to self feed.
aiyo.... if my gal hugs me like what mel did, my heart will melt leh...
But, i will still be trying very hard to tell myself, "be consistent".... so far, my gal hasn't done this sweet action to me yet.... so, i can't confirm if i really can be so consistent. haha...

sl,
wow ur tv area looks like a theatre! :D think this is the first time i saw ur charmaine's pic! keke.. so cute to see them in huggalugs ya!

Aileen
Ya will prob go city walk walk later. Usu lor, I guess in France the good buys will be cosmetic and leather goods. U wanna get anything?

SL,
Haha, I was thinking whether to get the portable DVD before I come. In the end didn't get one. I think the one CL has is quite good, 10+hr of battery life. Charmaine looks different in this pic, looks much more mature...Oh Mel is awake...am login off now...ciao

Aileen/Flo/Sl

My boy is so different. Tell him Mummy angry, he doesn't care. He'll continue doing it. sigh. Only when he hurt me accidentally, then i pretend to cry that he will cry with me. But it doesn't seem that he's sorry. More like 'cry first to gain sympathy then mummy won't scold me'.

sunny,
we shown her. but what she did was to swallow the water then say spit and do the spitting action...

Aileen,
That's my mum's place. My place is a holiday chalet. : )
You can see charmaine's shots at lumen creation's website. : )

mashy,
yours sound like a good idea - shall try that out.

SL
Charmaine is so sweet and looks grown up since the Botanic Gardens PS!! Pretty girl!

mashy/ky/sunny/aileen
I think I'm one of the "use-the-rod" moms. "Mr Cane" is the disciplinarian at home. Surprisingly, after the initial rounds of discipline when D was testing his boundaries and challenging our authority, he stop doing wat he's not supposed to do for a really long time i.e. climbing the window grilles and touching forbidden items hidden in drawers.

Aileen,

aiya i ordered last week from them..also the sales price..if u really keen on the nature library, let me know then i call that guy up to see if he still can offer me the 50% off ok..you sms me faster..i dun check the thread often now.

sl
initially my gal also swallow the water. so, we would give her drinking water to rinse the mouth in case she swallow. after few days of swallowing, she gradually started getting the idea of what's spitting. heeh....
and when you show her how to spit, you can do it very funny way. mashy's idea is good.

mamachan
how do u decide when to use the Mr Cane? my gal hasn't reached my limit yet, that's y we haven't started using this method to discipline her.

Mamachan
In fact my hb uses the balloon stick to hit Mel's palm and sole but no effect at all. She gets even more defiant. Sometimes, she will purposely throw whatever she's holding on the floor and then cover her ears cos she know daddy is going to scold her.

sunny
For me and my hb, we 1st use the stern "No" and try to "explain briefly" why cannot and try the distraction method, if it doesn't get to him, we'll say it one more time with a firmer "No, no, you want Mr Cane??" *takes out cane and show him and tap him on the palm* he'll give the "fake-cry" and force tears out....then within 10 seconds, he'll be back to square one and does the act ON PURPOSE. We'll warn him with Mr Cane one more time. When we stand up to get the cane, he'll quickly run or undo what he did and sit down. When we ease off, he'll do it again.....now that's how we see as challenging our authority,...by this time, when we take the cane and even though he quickly to "do it right", it's too late for him, we'll just administer one hard swift stroke on his fat thigh.

He felt the pain, he knows that we meant buisness, and most importantly, we kept our word. The cane mark, sad to say, lasted for a day (of course heart pain for me), but he remembered that when he does something forbidden and we warn him ,"you want Mr Cane??" he knows not to do the forbidden.

And after awhile, I believe he started to associate what are the no-nos (those not tried by him before even) at home without us having to tell him, though occasionally he needs reminding. But other than that, the caning doesn't take place often at all, less than 5 times.

But end of the day, he's still happy, contented and he loves us much much more. Usually after a disciplining session, we give it a while then we will hug him and kiss him and tells him gently into his ears that we did that because we love him and does not want to see him getting into something worst i.e. climbing the window grilles and falling from a great height.

Having said the above, there are times where I use the time-out method as well.

And of the day, I believe in the proverb "Spare the rod and spoil the child"

Florence
I've upgraded from balloon stick to the actual cane. =P coz balloon stick no effect.

I know my beliefs will definitely differ from quite a few moms and might offend a few with my inputs, but end of the day, I still respect each and everyone's ways of disciplining system coz as they say, different folks, different strokes. Some believe in the cane, some doesn't. Some believe in reasoning with just words at this age, some might prefer reasoning when they are older and at a age where a cane will not work anymore.

But I know that as moms, we just hope we're able to bring up each and everyone of our child well and raise a champion in life, to be a meaningful person in this lifetime and not to err bigtime when they're older.

cookie,
I also use pancake mix. You can substitute the water with freshly squeezed orange juice for a fruity pancake.

SY,
Keenan has always been a good feeder when he was a baby. His 'bad' eating habit started when he was about 16 mths old when there were some major changes at home, like new baby, move into another room in the new house. Also he was constantly ill, teething and screaming in the middle of his sleep at night, around that time. So his appetite got affected...

What brand of brown rice do you use?

New work environment as of 1st Nov
I'm feeling all nervous and excited about starting work later in the morning. Can't really sleep and just jittery. Questions of "Will I be able to meet my new boss' work expectations" "Will I be able to fit into the work culture" etc etc.... I know for sure I won't have much computer/internet access and the mobile network sucks big time, totally no reception within the lab. So i'll be MIA for awhile until evening time....

ky,
re: Kydz
I'm interested in the puzzles: 3645 DRESSING UP BEARS(4); SEE-INSIDE ABC PUZZLE; 2 LAYER BENTO; BIG WOODEN LACING FRUITS & ANIMALS; SNOW FLICK CONNECTOR; HOSE JOINT. Can check the prices for me? Thanks a million!!!

RE: Spinach BP
Collection points:
1. Hitachi Tower
2. Marine Terrace

1. Denmy (Marine Terrace)
2. Mamapanda
3. Durianlover

re: kydz
may i know what's this? any link?

mamachan
if my gal does the same thing like what D did to you, i will use the same method as you, too. Luckily, so far, she hasn't driven me to the wall and the way she 'challenges' is still considerably manageable. I think if i use cane on her, i will be 'hurt' longer than her. Hers is physical, but mine is mental.

denmy
can share how your manage your time with 3 kids and at the same time can prepare so many delicious meals for your boys? really sallute to you!

mamachan
all the best to you in new working environment. Just try your best, don't put too much stress on yourself.

Bonjour flo! enjoy urself in france ya and try to venture out abit ya..maybe some strolling or R&R in some cafe.

mamachan - all the best for your new role! dun worry too much. wow...so u upgraded ur balloon stick. hee..i still have yet to upgrade mine which is the ikea shoe horn. haha..so far, i didnt really use it. normally i will talk some sense into him and surprisingly, Caleb seems to understand at times. if not, i will say again and again. haha..mummy;s boy la..and moreover no 2 is here. dun want him to eat too much kway teow also. haha..

sl - wat a nice and colourful leg warmers u got! its also my first time seeing charmaine. so cute!

wow a lot of posts to catch up!!

re edventure books
u need to email them to get the price. they dun display the prices. the books are like a few hundred each set

Flo
JH also kept opening the hotel fridge. he loves rice crispies too and without the milk! i added milk once and he rejected it.

u really resourceful..finding hi 5 on you tube. internet must be the best invention!!

JH loves the JG chair too!

sl
amex has higher exchange rate in general for all credit cards. i usaully use UOB.

charmaine looks like u.

re pancakes
think i m going to get the pancake mix already..sounds yummy

Denmy
my fren used to tell me that their feeding habits will change after 1 year, no longer easy to feed and receptive. at that time i din really believe that cos JH was a good feeder too. but ard one and a half, he started to be more difficult to feed

i buy from NTUC. think it is called just organic or something like that. let me go check. i also give him multigrain rice

mamachan
good luck on your new job!!

re discipline
sometimes when i tell JH i m really angry, he will listen and cry and like very poor thing, quickly run to me. but i m quite hard hearted when i m really angry. i will walk away even though he cries running to me. of cos, i will give in after a while to tell him why i m angry etc etc.

his behaviour has improved this week. think last week, he was trying to adjust to me going back to work.

Collection points:
1. Hitachi Tower
2. Marine Terrace

2. Mamapanda
3. Durianlover
4. SY (Hitachi Tower)

Got peaches as well?

Re: feeding
Hmm... there's a period of time when Charmaine's so picky and difficult to feed. She would only ate like 1 proper meal a day. I used to get so irritated and stressed. My mum told me then that there's no point in getting angry with her. Just leave her alone. If she's hungry, she will eat. True enough, after 3 mths or so, she really got bettter and her appetite has returned to normal. Now, she still chooses - there are some stuff that she won't eat cos she doesn't like them, i.e. vegetables (oh dear.... sigh...) and peanut butter but the rest of the stuff, she will at least try first.

Mamachan/Aileen/SSF,
Thanks for the compliments.

SY,
Ya, I realise that Amex got a higher exchange rate than UOB but then again, for online purchases I always use Amex cos it's zero liability.

Re: pancakes
err... actually i don't use the mix. But I would normally make a batch then freeze them. Charmaine used to love them with homemade strawberry jam. Now she doesn't want pancakes anymore - she wants bread with butter, esp if we toast them cripsy like ya kun...

Flo,
Did mel adjust well to the time change? You must be really glad that there's internet connection and there's Hi-5... hmmm...maybe we should just bring a laptop instead of portable dvd....

Stepped into any gucci, lv or prada shop yet? : )

reporting live from new work place. Waiting for my new boss to call me in to discuss what are my actual roles and respondsibilities. Just came back from a brief orientation from my new colleagues.

Collection points:
1. Hitachi Tower
2. Marine Terrace

2. Mamapanda
3. Durianlover
4. SY (Hitachi Tower)
5. MamaChan (Hitachi Tower)