(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Flo, congrats on surviving the trip there! Hopefully your return trip will be better.

Zhimin, even before I got pregnant with #2, I already stopped bringing out home cooked food for Kirsten. She got tired of eating the same kind of food even when we are outside, so I just stopped doing it. Even better for me now cos my bag is lighter and not so bulky. When we are out, we either go to food court or restaurants that have food that she can eat. Mostly soup noodles, especially mee tai mak or macaroni, are her favourite. Just remember to pack a pair of scissors to cut up the food before serving. It's one of the most essential items in my bag now.

Zhimin - When at home, I will cook a proper meal for Cephas. However, will eat outside food during meal times when we are out. I dun prepare food for him to bring out. He would usually share my plain rice or like Valerie said, mee tai mak/marcaroni soup. Ice cream treats are rewards for good behaviour. He was rather good over the weekend and so I bought him a small cup of Ben & Jerry's to reward him.

Zhimin

I also don't cook food for my boy when we go out. We'll just order food that he can eat (no deep fried stuff, no chicken and milk). He has been slurping up pasta, bee hoon, hor fun, pepper beef rice, japanese food and all sorts of food. Maybe that's why now he 'sian' the food that i cook for him at home.

CL

Have a good trip! Wah! Sit business class. I can only dream... C is under infant fare, so his meal is restricted to infant jar food only. They aren't cooking children's meal for him.

drugstore spree updates
<font color="ff0000">first teeth</font>
Those who ordered first teeth, please indicate if you would like to have blue or pink finger brushes. I'll try to accomodate as much as I can as I have equal number of pink and blue brushes and may not be able to please everyone. Colours will be given out on a first reserve first serve basis.

<font color="ff0000">payment summary</font>
Due to changes in USD rates, I've lowered the exchange rates and hence, there will be a refund (indicated inside the brackets) for some of you as shown below.

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Payment Summary</TD><TD> TOTAL </TD><TD> Paid </TD><TD> Owe </TD><TD> Collection </TD></TR><TR><TD>slinky</TD><TD> $46.21 </TD><TD> $46.21 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>wenyl</TD><TD> $30.44 </TD><TD> $31.79 </TD><TD> $(1.35)</TD><TD>HG </TD></TR><TR><TD>durianlover</TD><TD> $7.13 </TD><TD> $7.24 </TD><TD> $(0.11)</TD><TD>COLLECTED </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookie</TD><TD> $7.13 </TD><TD> $7.10 </TD><TD> $0.03 </TD><TD>CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>valerie</TD><TD> $33.96 </TD><TD> $34.25 </TD><TD> $(0.29)</TD><TD>HG </TD></TR><TR><TD>denmy</TD><TD> $33.81 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> $33.81 </TD><TD>CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>SY</TD><TD> $54.20 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> $54.20 </TD><TD>CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>flo</TD><TD> $17.16 </TD><TD> $17.07 </TD><TD> $0.09 </TD><TD>CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheng</TD><TD> $24.66 </TD><TD> $24.83 </TD><TD> $(0.17)</TD><TD>CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>rena</TD><TD> $5.94 </TD><TD> $1.20 </TD><TD> $4.74 </TD><TD>CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>cel_wong</TD><TD> $14.86 </TD><TD> $15.40 </TD><TD> $(0.54)</TD><TD>CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>god's child</TD><TD> $15.45 </TD><TD> $16.03 </TD><TD> $(0.58)</TD><TD>CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>slee16</TD><TD> $15.45 </TD><TD> $15.00 </TD><TD> $0.45 </TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>librao</TD><TD> $15.45 </TD><TD> $15.00 </TD><TD> $0.45 </TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>prettycloud</TD><TD> $28.53 </TD><TD> $29.00 </TD><TD> $(0.47)</TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>apple_d</TD><TD> $17.02 </TD><TD> $17.00 </TD><TD> $0.02 </TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>karen_ghl</TD><TD> $18.41 </TD><TD> $19.00 </TD><TD> $(0.59)</TD><TD>HG </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Zhimin,
I'm also pretty lenient with Meg's diet. We don't bring home-cooked food out with us. She will eat whatever we can order for her.

Eg. Dim sum, she lurves char siew bao. Can finish 2 baos and that's like lunch to her already.

When we are having western, we will order fish fingers or potato wedges, fries.

She also eats sweets, ice cream, potato chips :p

zhimin
i am still preparing my gal's food when we go out. she's ok that we don't give her our food in the foodcourt/restaurant. ice cream, cakes and other sweet stuff are still no-no for her. But i promise her to give her take her birthday cake when she reaches 2.

SY
ya, my mil is willing to help to take care of 2.

zhimin
i think it is ok to be a bit more lenient with their diet now that they are older. unless they have allergies etc. like JH now, i was quite strict for a while and during my trip to jpn, i realise that it is not easy to feed him outside food cos he's not very open minded. only wants rice

sunny
your MIL can take care of 2 together? no helper?

mamapanda
if possible , i wd like blue finger brush. if not enough, it's ok with me as well.

zhimin
we only just started like 1-2 weeks back to stop preparing porridge/home cooked food for D when we go out. When we eat out, he eats whatever we're having too, he's open to noodles and rice with dishes. We will avoid giving him the overly saltish/oily foods. Now he won't want his porridge anymore, only our rice so for his meals now, he'll be eating with us at the dining table. If possible, I'll try to have him take more home-cooked food than outside food as outside food, there's a tendency to have MSG or alot of salt used for cooking.

I've just received an email on "Fw: Raped - 3 year old girl & 9 month old baby (Petition)" asking for one to add the name onto an email and passing it on. Anyone knows if it's a hoax? Quite sceptical these days of such emails, although the reality of it sounds horribly real...

.ky.

abt outside food, we saw a mother carrying her boy, probably less than 1 yr old, in a lying down position, and feeding him coke with a straw ... hm, I've got nothing against outside food, but wat's she trying to do

.ky.

SY
ya, no helper.... we talked to her few times to ensure if she's sure that she can cope. she kept reassuring us that she can. to play safe, we are having contingency plan loh. that's y now busy in looking for suitable cc.
and for the 1st 3 mths, she would still be taking care of my gal and I will take care of the younger one. She would handle both after i go back to work, for 3 mths. then after that, will let my gal to go playgroup/cc liao.

ky
ya, i could be hoax leh. does it require you to provide details?
hmm... coke...

Zhimin
I also started introducing outside food to Mel recently, esp now that we are on hol. Shes having a feast now, tried a lot of things I wont normally gave her like french fries, cakes and dessert. We were having fast food the other day and I was trying to feed her instant tot food. She refused to eat that and kept reaching out for the french fries. Told hb no more french fries for her, is all trans fat. I think is up to you how comfortable you are with feeding outside food. To me as long as she does not become picky and reject her own food is ok to let her try.

Queen
Which MMI playgroup is your MILs neighbours son attending? So you have decided to let Isaac go to Purple Train?

I know French labour is one of the most sticky onethat explains the state of their economy. But I expect at least the most basic i.e. meals should be served esp after such a long flight delay.

CL,
Haha what happen to Aden, I thot hell normally sit down gua gua with your hb after the change over?

Thanks a lot for your feedback on the diet. Ya I guess I can't control her much now also, and somemore my pil will bring her out for breakfast and I also can't control them on what they feed her.

sunny
your MIl very capabable to handle 2 without the help of maid. i dun even think my maid can do that.

re outside food
i agree with flo, no harm letting them try. dun wan them to be picky when they grow up.

hi mummies...its my first day back at work after 3 mths of ML. was happy to recv a bb's gift from my colleague which is from pumpkin patch and on top of that, i got a small increment from the pay adjustment. it is the second time in one yr. i feel so bless esp when i just started work in jan this yr and MIA for 3 mths somemore. but one sad thg is that i can no longer use messengers. actually i on it this morn and got a warning email. not sure if its directed to me...but i was so scared, that i just exit the IM. sigh!

flo - welcome back! does Mel has problem with her ear during landing? did u ask the stewardess for infant food? qantas also the same..must ask then they give. if not, they just act blur. SQ no need to ask and they gave me 3 different types of jar food and ask me to keep the rest that i am not eating.
SQ is simply the best!

denmy - haha ya la...i am always this skinny. but seriously i wish i can put on a couple of pounds though. ok let me check out the MMI trial this sat at tamp and if its really gd..i may consider gg to katong branch instead.

cookie - will definitely keep you in the loop abt the trial. btw, i notice Kaelyn is very active, bubbly and independent unlike my Caleb. is it becos she attends JG?

zhimin - i try to cook for caleb porridge everyday unless we left the house early in the morn. however, i will still let him eat outside food when we dine. As long as its not salty and sweet, i will give it to him.

SY
#2 hasn't come yet, so, i don't wanna conclude so soon. haha..... and i am sure that i would not be able to handle 2 in full time, too. so, hb would need to stay at home during weekend when we have to handle 2.

CL/SLINKY,

i m fine to collect after CL's trip...was too busy with my new job so hardly logon nowaday.

Slinky,
Can i know if your ON spree still on?

ky
Its definitely a hoax. Who in the right mind would rape a 3-yr-old and a 9-month-old? But, anyway, the one u got is a hoax. Its abt this South African raping these poor vitims, etc etc, some variants of the chain letter will say that they believe having sex with a virgin can cure aid, etc etc..

Hi Mommies

Re: MMI
I looked at MMI West Coast and like their approach with kids. If there weren't out of the way, I think I would shortlist it as one of the CC to send SS. But mommies just be cautious as not all MMI centres are wholly owned, some are franchises, so you have to check a little more to see that standard is consistent...

Re: Montesorri Standard
Sunny/ Aileen,
Yah man! Agree that the Name Montesorri is used so loosely nowadays. I have visited 5 different Monte schools right now, and can say that ALL of them use the montesorri method differently!. Some centres believe in letting the kid choose thier montesorri item after the teacher goes through with them the selected activity of the day, but some otehrs believe that the kids of the same age as ours can't really handle that, and choose for them, while others dun believe in teaching Monte until they reach two n a half! I really dun know which is the real and the best way.

So far I have visited Faith Monte, Blossom Monte, MMI, Rosy Hearts, Cherie Hearts and Kinderland, still have Carpe Diem and SUnflower Monte to go ahve a look...

I like Cherie hearts concept of introducing herb gardens and pets into the CC, this is something I have not seen other CC doing, while Kinderland's teacher to student ratio is really good with 2 teachers, one English and one chinese, to a class of 12. Faith wins hands down for cleanliness and neatness, but having a green plastic grass mat instead of real grass in the playground is abit unreal..... What Aileen say is true, how good it'll be if I could roll all the things I like in ALL the CC to find the perfect CC for S!

Zhimin,
Re: Outside food
I will try to give S at least one home cooked meal a day. The other time, if we are out, then she eats whatever we eat. I will normally order rice, and some Tofu dish for her...

Flo,
wah, quite mean leh, Air France not offering baby food to babies.... poor Mel. But I think what SY say is true, toddlers will just go off their food when they are overseas. S did that everytime we are out of SG, the only exception I can think of is when we went Changmai... probably all the playing and runnning around made her hungry!

SSF
kaelyn always so cute and independent one. the few times that i see her at playgroups, she's really independent! unlike my JH too haha

sleepingdeer
u r right, some of the MMI are franchise so standards all not the same. wow u really visited a lot of cc. u planning to put S full day?

haha, JH always off food when we overseas and he still gains weight! dunno how that happens...

sunny
hee, but your MIL very brave to agree to take care of 2 without a helper. i also wouldn't be able to handle...

Re: Diet
I am already not controlling Jamie's diet. So far so good. Never did I cook and bring out to feed her. She is fine with Yakult, Coke, Green Tea, Chrysanthemum Tea, Ice Tea. Let her tasted almost all the food so that she understand what is chilli, etc. I am the most hack care mummy bah.. hehe =P

Queen,
I understand how u feel. It has been coming to 1mth since Jamie started Playgroup, she is still crying during the separation time. Cry till vomit. I wanted many times to withdraw her from the school as my dad always tell pple that I am "torturing" my own daughter by sending her to school at such young age. I guess it is something that they have to go thru eventually bah. I want her to try this first.. will change her to full time childcare once she start talking and that will be the time #2 will be born. Hopefully by 3yrs she will settle down.

RE: MMI and normal school
I once heard from the MMI teacher that for MMI, they kept emphasising on certain thing until the child can remember it. As for normal school, they are more into themed curriculum, every week/mth they will change a theme. Jamie is currently learning Farm Animal and Farm Veggie. I heard her say "pig", "ken" (chicken) and "duck". It got to depends on what kind of curriculum u like for ur child.

As for me, I find currently is just playing for them. Will probably put her into MMI or full time childcare only when she is ready for it.

Babylon,
Yup, your leggings still with me. : ) CL said that she can collect for you after her trip cos she still needs to return me the ergo. Is that okay?

Krissie,
Your leggings are still with me too. Can I pass to you after my trip? If not, let me know earlier so that I can pass to one of the mummies during JG class.

Talking about food, K can eat quite a bit of lunch or dinner if he's in the mood. Lunch will be either pasta, thick soups with bread or porridge and dinner is rice, soup, fish and veg. However I realise that he doesn't take much breakfast, even after i have halved his 1st milk intake. I've tried giving toasted jam or cheese sandwiches cut into teddy bear/ star shapes, oats porrige with dried fruits, cereals, scrambled eggs, and he only nibbles a little. And he doesn't like fruits, except for grapes, strawberries and apples. Are your toddlers like that also? How?

I also mix brown rice into our regular long grain rice. Recently he's been passing dry and hard balls of poo with undigested brown rice grains. Not sure if its the brand of brown rice which i use. Anyone cooks brown rice for thier toddlers? And what brand do you use?

ON spree
So far not much response leh.. if too little orders, I'll cancel the spree. Those who want, let me know and I see if there's enough orders to start spree or not ok?

SY,
planning to place her half day so that i can take a break, haha! S doesn;t gain leh, she always lose, haha!

Demny,
S too, likes only Banana, apple and pear. Hates honeydew and watermelon, though they are sweet too... there are days when she finishes everything, and there are days when she nibbles and refuses everything, really test patience! Sometimes she will ask me for a cube of cheese to open, or a tub of yorgurt, and once she open it, she will say, 'noooo, I dun want!' Wahhh, can vomit blood!

Sleepingdeer,
Same here. He'll ask for all sorts of cereals, sometimes cheese, sometimes even apple, and when you give him the food, he'll change his mind!!!

O yes, he loves all sorts of sauces (maple syrup, ketchup; soya sauce from stir-fried veg, etc.) because they are soooo tasty: super sweet or super salty. And attempts to drink them like soup or lick the sauce from teh serving spoon. faintzzzz

may - oh poor jamie. cry till vomit. i cannot lei..my heart will sink and i will cry too. tats why i am hesitant to put him into a playgrd without me being ard. guess in this way he will not learn to be independent also. really having mix feelings.

Anyone knows which cake shop has the mould for the gingerbread man? The inside of the cake is any flavor, not to be authentic gingerbread, but would like to shape and look to be the gingerbread man. A big cake. Helping a friend to ask around.

Anyone knows? Thanks!

Choosy toddlers

think our toddlers are getting choosy with their food. My MIL complained that day when she looked after my boy, that she cannot repeat the same dish for dinner. She gave him scallops for lunch and he happily ate them all, but when she tried giving him that again, he refused to eat it.

He used to love bananas but now he hates them. sigh...

My little boy has finally spoken. Altho just 1 word lah. He has started saying 'Amen' everytime after we pray.

Realised that he's very left brain. His language skills are poor but he has an engineer mind. He'll investigate what makes a toy move (metal balls), he balances a plastic box on top of a few plastic balls, sits in the box and tries to make it move. He'll then try to squash a plastic ball flat with the box filled with other balls. When he keeps his toy, cannot keep in the conventional way, have to invent some exceptional way to keep them. Like using the box cover as a slide and rolling the balls down into the box. Think he's going to have a lot of problems next time in Singapore's schools.

Denmy

The breakfast you prepare for Keenan really makes me hungry now hehe, so far I have not make an effort to prepare a proper breakfast for Clarisse. Think I should start soon.

I'm still preparing food for Ariene, go out or not, cuz she doesn't like food that's too salty nor too sweet. If I were to feed her outside food, she'll end up eating only rice/bread and nothing else. I tried giving her steamed fish from the restaurant, she rejected. Have to wash the fish in plain water first then give her but sometimes, when the soy sauce penetrates too deeply into the meat, she'll still spit it out.

She has no problems with white bread, pao meat (without the char siew) and white rice. So, she'll prolly end up eating alot of bread and fish n chips (without the chips) in London and Norway. I'll still prepare at lest 1 meal in my tiger food jar but when that runs out, will still have to feed her outside food.

As for fruits, she loves watermelon, banana, honeydew, grapes (esp champagne grapes), papaya, pear, apple, cherries, strawberries, peaches.. basically she eats anything I give her, no problems with fruits, except sometimes, if the orange is sour, she'll eat a half the oranges then tell me its sour and tries to feed me with the sour oranges. She's very good at complaining sour. Even complains the orange flavoured multivitamin I feed her is sour (cuz its sugar-free).

I tried giving her pancakes with abit of maple syrup, she spitted it out immediately. Gave her the hotcakes plain, she loves it.

denmy
the breakfast sounds delicious! is it a habit that K has from young that he doesn't take much breakfast? does he eat with Ethan? Maybe seeing the big brother eat he will take more breakfast?

i tried the potato and leek soup. JH only took a bit of it. he's very fussy now. only likes peaches, kiwis, apples, bananas and pears.

i mix brown rice into our regular rice too. so far JH's poo is ok.

mashy
your boy so cute. first word is Amen. JH also likes to say Amen when we pray.

sleepingdeer
hee, maybe it's the thick clothes that JH wearing that makes me think he put on weight!

sleepingdeer,
u mean faith is even cleaner and neater compared to rosy hearts? and which kinderland did u go to? i'm started edgar next week at rosy hearts already. really keeping my fingers crossed that he will not cry... but luckily i won't be the one bringing him there, my dad will. so at least i won't be there to witness him cry :p

edgar also does the same, always bluff me. gave him something which he asked for, only to tell me later on that he doesn't want! so frustrating!

mashybrainz,
u must be so happy to hear him talk ya! soon he will regurgitate all that he knows! stay tune! :D

fussy eaters,
i think none can be compared to edgar. he practically can go without food. even when he's hungry he eats very little. so i make sure he drinks his pediasure. so afraid he will be malnutrition. i'm sure after he goes to childcare, he will lose even more weight!!

hello mummies....

How hv u'al been? Been missing allll the postings...

Abt meal...
In the morning, Eshley will have either nestum/oats cooked with egg or pancakes. Lunch n dinner will always be home-cooked as she doesn't like food with strong taste, either sweet or salty. her meal b4 bed will be 10oz milk, is it normal?

SY
ya, i also think that she's very brave. on the other hand, she mentioned that she also tries to help handling 2 together rather than sending the elder 1 to childcare so that our expenses won't be so high.

sleepingdeer
if you are sending S to west coast MMI, S would need to take school bus?

denmy
i still gv full brown rice meal to my gal. so far so good. i bought the brown rice from organic shop. the brand is Elephant. you can find this brand in some vegetarian shops as well.

in terms of fruits, my gal takes whatever fruits we gv her. sometime, i would make fruit yoghurt for her i.e. plain yoghurt with fruits. she can even take lemon better than us! we were thinking if there's anything wrong with her taste buds. haha....
if my gal seems disliking some food that we gv her, we will eat in front of her, and gv a yummy expression to her, then she would accept those food willingly and finish it.

Cephas gets homecooked meals 5 days a week so I am quite laxed on the wkends. But I will cook if we stay in. I rem last term I woke up early on Sat mornings to prepare his lunch b4 I head for my classes. Fortunately, no Sat classes this term and so I get to have breakfasts with him on Sats & Suns!

He will have cereals, scrambled eggs, pancakes or hotcakes, etc. He will ask for sweet sweet bread sometimes and that's bread with jam cos that's what HB fed him on Sats when I had classes :p

Cephas gets homecooked meals 5 days a week so I am quite laxed on the wkends. But I will cook if we stay in. I rem last term I woke up early on Sat mornings to prepare his lunch b4 I head for my classes. Fortunately, no Sat classes this term and so I get to have breakfasts with him on Sats & Suns!

He will have cereals, scrambled eggs, pancakes or hotcakes, etc. He will ask for sweet sweet bread sometimes and that's bread with jam cos that's what HB fed him on Sats when I had classes :p

SY/SSF
Same here, started work ytd and still in a daze. many things cannot remember. Oh dear...my poor memory.

Thanks for your compliments abt K, I know being indenpendant is good but K is not a sticky bb all along, for very kancheong mummy like me, I wish she could be more sticky to me tho in the past..hahaha.. anyway my prayer is answered cos she is really sticky at home these days..hehe..

I do not think it's becos of JG, She only went for 1 trial lesson and 2 lesson after sign up. In fact I think she focus slightly better in Kidsloft, she roam even more in JG, when she suppose to sit on the floor for story telling, she insisted to sit on the children chair instead.

Denmy
K has been feeding very selective since day 1.. haizz really cannot comment much. She hate fish these days and no matter how we mince it.. she will refused. But her fav is cheese and biscuit, how to give her all the time?!
BUT when I have my meals she will asked to sit with me and ask me to feed her my food tho she just finish her dinner and we are eating the same thing like soup sometimes..faintzz so everynite I will have disturbed dinner.

haha... the changing mind sound familar.
K also have liking for Salty stuff... faintzz

Sysac
same here.. K gets to eat Home cooked food on weekdays for both meals so on weekend I'm more lax too.
I will usually tried to cook more western style food for her since she eat mainly Chinese style during weekdays

Did you cook the pancake/hotcake yourself? or from mac? if you prepare the pancake, can share recipe ?
I'm looking at cook healthy pancake for kae to try at home instead of buying off Mac... :p

cookie
U can buy pancake mix from supermarket and cook the pancake yourself at home. Its very easy. The best brands I've tried so far are Bird's Eye and Betty Crockers.

SY/Aileen

Yah, he finally opened his golden mouth. I was so delighted to hear him say something understandable. Haha. Hoping to hear more words from him.

Anyone got extra Huggies Ultra barcode can give me? will send a SAE to u. TIA.

cookie

i also buy pancake mix from supermarket. Found a brand Orgran (i suppose it's organic?) from the organic section in NTUC. It's dairy free, wheat free, egg free, gluten free, GMO free etc. I got the Apple & Cinnamon Mix and it comes with apple bits in them. So happy when I found it coz not easy to get dairy free stuff.

cookie
ya, like mashy and mamapanda, i also buy pancake mix from supermarket. can actually put mashed banana inside when you do the pancake.
so far, i only let my gal try butter and cheese with the pancake. she enjoys it.

mamapanda
JH and ariene can hi 5. he rejects a lot of outside food. he doesn't like food that taste nice!!

cookie
JH behaves the same way. when i m abt to start my dinner, he will come over and want to eat my stuff. he will eat my rice, drink my soup until he is satifised

re pancake mix
think i will get it and try. sounds nice.

Re: Spitting Water

C has been into this habit of spitting water when I give him water to drink. He'll spray the water like a water fountain. Then he'll giggle and laugh like it's some kind of game. sigh. Coz of that, his pee is quite yellow. How ah? Anybody has suggestions on how to stop this bad habit? He gets so wet everytime he does that. Argh.