(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

aileen
i am trying to put my gal at montessori concept school and hopefully can find one. 'cos the teacher would teach the kids according to their progress and ability. Just now I talked to the admin person at Josiah Monte, she told me that they have cases where they 'promoted' the playgroup kids to nursery class earlier than they should be as the kids' ability can make it.

SY,
Megan was having this night cough whenever she sleeps for the past week. We've been giving her cough med but didn't work. Eventually, brought her to PD and he said it was the nose that's affecting her. There's mucus inside and it will drip down her throat when she sleeps and cause the cough.

So he gave her antibiotics, runny nose and cough med. Slight nose infection. She's recovering now.

Sunny, my son's in TLL.

Aileen, can share what items u've got and how good are the discounts? would they take calls on the availability and prices?They are made in china items? there's 1 that would be on a very good disount in Dec (not sure if still on this year)... mont items are made in china, and a maths board for eg would be selling at $10++. quality definitely can't be compared to Nienhius but will do for home-use. the items I've KIV'ed are the expensive stuff like blue box and I'm not sure if I'll be using them, so I just kaypo only :>

.ky.

tracy
previously JH was having the same problem. but his nose stopped dripping already. when he coughs, there's no phlegm also. dunno what is wrong with him.

nose infection? sounds serious. think if he still can't sleep at night, i will bring him back to PD.

sunny
his appetite is ok leh, esp when it comes to eating rubbish. in fact, he started to reject porridge sometimes and takes rice instead.

aileen
my hb is the one who likes monte schools actually. i m ok wth non monte. not a must to me.

i also saw the kydz sale but dunno whether got time to check it out.

Mamapanda - tat is mine
rem i sms u aft i did the tsf. i did it via ATM thus no reference... apologies for the confusion!

Mamapanda - tat is mine
rem i sms u aft i did the tsf. i did it via ATM thus no reference... apologies for the confusion!

sunny,
ic... actually i don't know if this promoting thingy is good or not. what if the child is not promoted with the rest of his friends? i think it may be quite detrimental to his self-esteem. maybe i think too far...

ky,
i got some puzzles, lego set, and chinese books. not exactly monte stuff. i'm not exactly sure how to teach using monte stuff. anyways, i believe in learning thru play.
btw, i didn't know monte stuff oso got brand one. i was wondering what's Nienhius :p i'm not too sure if the stuff that Gary has are from China. But he did mention that he only imports quality stuff. You can call him and talk to him directly. He's very friendly and approachable. As for discount, he gave me 20% for non-sale items.

SY,
ic... coz for us, we didn't plan for edgar to go to monte school. just happen that we found one near our place which adopts that approach. anyways, that cc only takes in todds up to 3yo, so afterwhich we will find another school for edgar. btw i think i've heard more cons than pros on monte teaching.

aileen
i dun intend to send JH for monte all the way. my plan is only to let him go for prob 2 years and then go to the usual kindgarten or cc.

which sch u talking abt near u that has this apph?

i think everything has its pros and cons. it's abt what u r looking for.

I just brought Clarisse to a trial class (Walking to Two) at Tumble Tots at Punggol Plaza. Next week will bring her go for the trial for Right Start Toddlers. But frankly speaking, I don't really like the premise, I find the place too small. And during the trial for Walking to Two, I overheard some parents mentioned that more adults than toddlers. The class is full of parents with about 15 toddlers. I find it a bit too cramp. However, the person-in-charge did remind parents that they appreciate only 1 accompanied parent or else the place is too crampy. For the Right Start Toddlers, they mentioned that there will be time for free play (gym like) and sitting down activity. They will also teach some Letterland (I guess similar to Zoophonics?). Well, have to wait till next week to see what they really teach during the class.

Esther

I have just fixed my hse grilles. If you are interested I can give you his contact.

aileen
i think when the student reaches the nursery age or kindergarten age, they would still progress as per normal. but for those students could do better than other peers, for Josiah Monte, they would promote to the next level. For my friend, his boy's teacher in another monte would add more things e.g. more difficult studying materials according to the boy's capability loh. I think diff centre got diff practice bah.

SY,
ic... haven't planned for edgar so far ahead yet. will see how when the time comes for him to change school. the school he's going is rosy hearts. it's off chun tin road, near beauty world.

sunny,
ya i suppose diff monte schools do things differently.

Hi Aileen, rosy hearts only take up to 3yo only? any idea why?

Tx. I called up and the guy's pretty friendly. The item sounds like from China. anyway, any sales guy would say they bring in quality stuff :> .. I once got a fren who brought in some made-in-China ones, so I know the price can be really cheap (if u know where to go)

Each methodology for teaching preschoolers has its pros and cons, and while 1 method would work on 1 kid, but it may not be for another, so it's to find the best suited for the kid. Like all preschools, Montessori-based preschools might not be that good, and while some parents are faithful followers, some just do not think it's a "good" way. The term "montessori" has been loosely used in a lot of preschools. There's a lot of discussion on what's montessori and what's good or not, including how to teach. Just do a google and u'll get a lot of info. I was not into Mont till I was influenced 2 yrs ago, and I do see some effect, but all the same, I would not just send my kid to a montessori school just bcos it's a montessori school.

Zhimin, Letterland is based on characters, and it's one of the most popular phonics prog used in preschools.

.ky.

ky,
for rosy hearts, they started out as an infant care, and only started taking in todds recently. so i guess the principal is taking things one step at a time. thou i didn't ask her why.

totally agree with u that each child responses differently to different teaching methods. so hopefully as parents we are able to identify what makes that click and what doesn't! :D

ky
ya, agree with you that the word "montessori" is used loosely now; each kid responses differently to diff method. and some childcares in fact incorporate some montessori concept into their curriculum though they are not montessori centre. I think curriculum, environment and teaching methods which suit the kids is the most important thing.

zhimin
letterland and zoophonics are differnt. like what ky mentioned, letterland is based on characters. u can do a search online on it.

ky
yeah the made in china toys are really cheap. but cannot be assured of quality. that is one thing i dun quite like. but then now almost everything is made in china...

Bonjour Mommies
Made it for the first flight with Mel. She managed to sleep thru most of the flight to Paris tho was abit cranky when we first took off (as she was woken up from her sleep) and before we landed as she got restless after sitting down for so long. The connecting flight was bad, however. Air France had a strike so the flight was delayed by around 2+ hours. By then Mel was tired and hungry and refused to strapped, kept screaming and only managed to quiet down when I took off her seat belt
Overall Air France is not very baby friendly; they dont provide food for Mel and the crew doesnt offer any help at all. Mel quite like the cold weather has been sleeping lot more tho she hasnt been eating much. Totally reject those instant tot food I got from the supermarket. Kept asking for biscuit, yogurt, bread and milk and occasionally will munch abit of what we eat.

SY,
When are you arranging for the trial?

re zoophonics trial
1. sy
2. sl
3. ssf
4. Cookie
5. denmy
6. SH
7. Flo

Hi Flo,
Well you made it! Hmm..Air France sounds bad...especially when they have no food for kids! Enjoy the rest of your stay!

Thanks, Tracy

Mashy
Have a good trip too, maybe your ears will get better after the break

SY
Is JH still crying at nite, what did the PD say?

Flo
sounds like u made it!! Air france doesn't provide food? so she drank milk during the flight?

one thing i realise is that their eating habits go haywire when they are overseas! JH also takes milk and bread mainly when overseas.

how is the weather? take more pic and have fun!

ky...
forgot... the teachers are important components, too.

re: josiah montessori
went there to take a look and notice that the nursery classes and playgroup class are in open concept, they just separated the classes using board. Only kindergarten class is in the room.
i wonder if the kids at nursery and playgroup age would be distracted during the class for such setting...

Flo
Good to hear from you. Ha ha was discussing with SL and SY over lunch wondering how you are. Now me crossing finger for my turn. Enjoy your trip.

flo

how come air france doesn't provide food for infants? Or have to specially arrange? I found out that I've to call the reservation centre for Northwest to arrange for infant food. Lucky found out beforehand else C will be without food. Maybe u can call the reservations hotline in France to see if u can make arrangements for your return flight? Enjoy your hols!!!
Wanted to see autumn leaves in Japan but will miss it coz of global warming resulting in a late autumn. Argh.

Thanks for your concern, but I doubt my ears will be better with the holiday. Think it'll be even more hectic than staying at home with my hb to help out in the house.

Haha, i contemplated going for hiking at Mt Takao. But now thinking twice after learning that they've stairs everywhere.

just saw that the tampines branch for zoophonics seems to be opened. ABN Ambro got 10% discount for the hol programs and 3 month term fee

re birthday party
got any good recommendation? thinking of doing ti at places like gymboree etc

CL,
sorry left in a hurry last night. Can PM me ur account for the transfer?

SL,
Thanks for the leggings.. erm.. I dun rem paying u leh. Have I done any payments? If no, can PM me ur account also?

SSF,
re: MMI Katong enrichment class
Yes, it's a weekly sat class for mother and tod.

Nice to meet you too. You are so skinny.. despite just after giving birth less than 3 mths ago... wow!

Flo,
Enjoy your trip!

drugstore #4
The loot is here. Cheng, Prettycloud, SY, Sunny, let me know which is your preferred collection point (BP, HG or CL)?

SY, Sunny
I keep mixing the 2 of u up. Which of u want your stuff to be passed to CL?

CL collections
CL will not be in Singapore so those who are collection via CL will not be getting theirs until 2 weeks time. If u need it earlier, let me know. Also, is there anyone else who's working in RP or in JG class who can collect on behalf of CL?

wow so many post...

Flo
Hey.. you made it with Mel!.. so bad that Air France is not bb friendly
Perhaps trip coming back you can pack up bread to feed Melody.
Take Care and have a good trip

CL
Sorry last min couldnt make it this afternoon.
Did you manage to pass to SL your gift? Is not.. since I start work tmr, I can take a feeder bus down to pick up from you
Just let me know if necessary.

Mashy
Wow have a good trip too.. so envy all gng for Holiday.
I thought C is quite alright in the class. K wasnt paying 100% too but good enough for me and as compared to JG.

SSF
Keep me inform about the MMI ok. I think I will wait for JG to finish before bring k for more weekend trial class.. very shiong for both of us.

I might also wanna try out the MMI Katong weekend class too... dunno fi they do trial.

Thanks Mommies.

Mashy
I booked my ticket thru my corporate agent and she has actually assigned the seat, booked the bassinet and baby meal (indicated on my e ticket) but still no food. In fact there was another 16 month old tot sitting next to us and she has no food too
Mels PD and my boss have warned me that Air France is not very baby friendly but thats the shortest and most hassle free flight.

SY
Ya she had milk, bread and a bit of my in-flight meal

CL
Dont worry, Im sure you will be able to survive the trip. HK flight is relatively short plus Aden has always been an easy bb

Cheng
Heehee, hope Aidan was not too lonely on Sun

mamapanda
hee, can pass my stuff to CL also? not urgent as well as i still have one more first teeth. i keep forgetting to transfer the money to u. will do it soon

mongs
think must keep her moisturized. try physiogel. not bad. did u give her zrytec? that time when JH had eczema, i gave him zrytec and it cleared pretty fast.

flo
so strange. they indicated got baby meal but din serve?

SQ served very nice kid's meal but JH dunno how to appreciate so me and hb ended up eating his meal. really nice and tasty and will come with a lot of interesting snacks.

flo

yah, weird. How come they indicated baby meal and yet don't have? maybe coz they're on strike so can't be bothered with children?

SY
think so far SQ still one of the best airlines. NW only serves jar food. So I'm going to prepare porridge to bring on board and the jar food will be his desserts.

Mashybrainz,

I had child's meal for Charmaine's flight on NW. Very nice leh. My hb swop his for Charmaine's. When I took business class 2 years ago, Charmaine's meal was even better with lots of goodies. So yummy.

Flo,
You are wrong. Aden did not behave well during the time my hb took over the class in JG. He is so happy to count till this term ends then he can have a break.

Loot with Mamapanda.
Mummies ,
I will b away till 4 Nov. Then in the week of 5 Nov, I can pick up from Mamapanda if you want me to. Then distribution at JG will be 11 Nov.

Flo - Nice to hear from u! Have a good holiday! Air France service/attitude, etc sucks! Wait till u hear my story with them. Hee hee...

CL - Have a good trip!

Seems like there's a lot of discussion going on about playgroup / pre-school. My MIL mentioned the other day that her neighbour's son is going to MMI playgroup at Woodlands and spending about $500+ a month. Not sure if it's another hint that I should send Isaac to playgroup as well.

Anyway, it's almost 2 months since I started working and Isaac still has separation anxiety almost every morning when I leave for work. He grips the door grilles and cries, calling "Mummy bao (hug) and Daddy bao" when we walk away. Always make me feel teary. Sigh... Nowadays I will ask him every now and then whether he wants to go to school, make friends and play with other children. He always shake his head, which is why I'm still thinking of delaying playgroup till next June earliest.

Flo,
Air France just had a strike and Paris airport strike very often... European airlines are really unpredictable. So cannot expect top notch service from them lah. Anyway, hope you have a really good time in France!

CL,
I'm waiting for the day I can take business class (& dare I dream 1st class?) on SQ leh. Dunno when the day will come. Haha!

Tracy,
hope Megan is feeling better already!

sunny,
Isaac is terrified of doctors and clinics. He'll start tearing when we reach the clinic and will start bawling even before the doctor can put the stetoscope on him!

queen
i think sending our kids to school is just a matter of time. My friend's boy has been attending the full day childcare for more than 6 mths already, every morning when she sends him to the school, he will still cry. But after the mummy leaves, he would stop crying and mix around with friends and teachers.
to me, i kind of like decide to let my gal go after the 2nd one turn 6 mth old unless my mil really cannot cope after i come back to work from maternity leave. 'cos currently, my mil is giving my gal good care which she definitely can't get from the childcare.
And, by the time, I send my gal to childcare/playgroup, the objective is more on letting her learn things rather than unloading my mil's burden in taking care of 2.

i read from babycentre that it's good to buy those doctor kits for the kids to let them understand more about doctor through role play... i am thinking of getting 1 set.
i think i am giving my gal too many immune jabs. she even scared of going to my gynae's room. and i got to tell her that it's me who's seeing doctor, not her. haha...

Queen,

Ha ha i only took first class for my Penang trip via Malaysia airlines. Ha ha my family of 4 got the whole first class to ourselves.

re doc
JH loves doc. he likes to go see docs and somehow he has an affinity with doc. when he was young, he's always ok whenever my doc fren and cousin carry him.

queen
i think it is good in the social aspect for them to attend some playgroup or childcare.

sunny
u mean your MIL will be helping to take care of both? wow, i was just telling hb that if we have second one, we need to send JH to full day cc.

CL
not bad lah, at least got try first class before.

Flo,

Congratulations! You have made it! : )

Re: Airline Infant Meal
I don't remember reserving an infant meal for charmaine but the air stewardess just appeared with a tray of food for charmaine previously. Have to say that it's great! So far my travelling experience with SQ has been great. When we didn't have charmaine with us, we didn't think SQ's that great but with a baby, you can tell the difference. They are very attentive to parents travelling with kids.

Queen,
I think the separation anxiety will take a while to get better. charmaine also wails when we dropped her off at my mil's place (yet surprisingly she's happy to leave the car when we dropped her off at my mum's place). After 4 mths of sending her there 3 times a wk, she still does fake cries now but getting better so hang on there!

cookie,
I got CL and Flo's presents with me now - will pass to JG.

May,
Dont' worry, haven't seen my credit card bill yet so not asking for money yet for the leg warmers.

Can I check with you how lenient are you with your child's diet?

Think after I pregnant with my #2, I have been very lenient with clarisse's diet liao. But last weekend I was in Vivo City and saw a girl slightly older than Clarisse, the mummy still prepare her porridge (brown rice) and feed her in the restaurant and not allow her to eat those food served in the restaurant. Make me wonder am I being too lenient liao.

So far occasionally I have been giving Clarisse a few mouthful of ice cream, cakes and our food when we in restaurants.

Queen,
Thanks. Meg has recovered from her nose /cough thingy, but just got fever last evening. It's the 6 hourly usual fever so giving her paracetamol. Should be well soon. Thanks!

Zhimin,
I have been giving charmaine cakes and our food (selectively). Ice cream definitely no. For me, I think it really can't be avoided when we eat out so often. She 's a greedy baby and would always want to eat our food. What I usually do is to feed her first at home then while we are eating just let her eat a bit of our food but not enough to form a proper meal. She loves cakes though and can even finish half a piece of cheese cake by herself if we let her. So funny, last sun after JG, it was pouring so we just went to subway niche to have a drink and wait for the rain to stop. She brought my hubby to the display case and told my hubby "cake, eat, charmaine". We had to fight with her to finish the piece of kaya pandan cake before she eats too much of it.