(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

re city hall lunch
Hi..where is this curry place? and what time will it be? I have appt at 130pm.. maybe I can make it lunch before my appt.

proposed 29th Oct Fish Head Curry

1. SY
2. SL
3. Rena
4. CL
5. Cookie

anymore mummies who can join?

Re: Thomas Train Set
Keenan also start to get obsessed with his big bro's train set. He has a Tolo train set which is meant for toddlers but he prefers the wood and cast iron of Thomas.

re: Great Beginnings at Siglap
I spoke to Melissa on trial class there and she offers me to sit in with Keenan for an hour to observe for free. She doesn't recommend group trials as it will distract teh other children there. So mommies, if you like to sit in for 1 hour, please call Debra or Melissa to arrange, k?

cookie, sleepingdeer
tks for the encouragement. sob sob... my CL is leaving in 6 days.. i.e. next thurs.

krissie
during the 1st mth, my gal used to wake up every 1 hr for feeding, it lasted about 1 week. though she didn't regurgitate the milk, it's already very tiring for everyone of us, including the CL. It's just a phase, and hope that yours will be over soon. After CL leaves, anyone would be helping you?
take care and rest well!

tabb
it's the bumbo seat? it should be ok to put it on the floor?
ya, i think it's better not to put the bb in the bumbo seat and place it on the chair or high area unless the seat is securedly fixed on the chair or high area.

ya... its the bumbo seat... i think there were some cases of kids falling off the tables and getting head injury so now.. it has to come with a warning label...

mashy
i also bought shinkansen for JH. i bought a bag. JH very funny. i asked him whether he wants the bag and he kept taking pink color bags. so funny. we almost fainted.

cookie
the curry fish head place is purvis st. think it is called sg curry.

denmy
thanks for the info. think i will call them to go visit for a one hour trial. when u going? are u planning to put keenan there?

JH is improving so fast now. he can speak a lot of words and it really surprise me. yesterday when we went to throw ball, he can say throw and when i ask him throw where, he said 'there'.

then when we read book, he can say ' shoes' ' socks'.

i so sad yesterday. when i reached home, JH rejected me and only wanted maid. he kept running to her and refuse to let me touch him. think he's angry with me for coming home late on wed.

Curry Fish Head is at Seah St. Opposite Raffles Hotel. Along the shophouses after the Mint Toy Musuem.

Great to see all the kid's improvement. I finally heard Aden say his first "no" yesterday.

Take a look at Aden in his new boyish hairstyle:
1039341.jpg

sleepingdeer
how's your impression on cherie heart centres that you visited? my hb went to the one near his workplace, he said not bad. but, i think i still have to personally go there to take a look as don't really trust his view 'cos he's those type: "anything lah" or "whatever lah". haha...

re kidsloft trial
any more mummies? i am sending the names to her.

i dun think i can go cos JH having slight cough. I may go for the hol prog instead. anyone interested?

CL
Aden so big boy!!

JH also says yes and no now. so funny to hear him say that.

SY

at least for JH it's just once a while he rejects u leh. My boy rejects me 90% of the time. So sad. He will willingly kiss his daddy and my parents, but refused to kiss me. He will sometimes 'te gong' like look elsewhere, don't wanna 'talk' to me but he doesn't do that with his daddy or my parents. And he'll roll his eyes at me! Ai yoh! When I suggested playing something, he rolls his eyes like saying it's so 'childish', like a teenager's response.

I'll see how's the trial first b4 deciding whether wanna take part in the hol prog.

CL
Aden's so big now.

mashy
wah... your boy roll his eyes?!!!
my gal is stick to me like super glue now. everything also need ma-ma, ma-ma, even going to the back of the house to put her dirty clothes, she would want to hold my hand to go there. she's behaving like when she's about 6 mth old, i can't leave her alone for a while..... I think she felt unsecured 'cos of the bb in the tummy.

Sunny
Ya somehow they know it that competition is coming. Now I find the Baby alive doll so cute. Can cry and poo. Can buy and start training her like big jie jie.

Mashy
Your Caeden very good leh know how to roll eyes. I think he spent most of the time with you and are you the main discipline master at home ?

Aden got slim down a bit but the weight maintain. Not very big lah just a close up shot

sunny

oh i know that.. my girl is like sticky glue.. i can't even go to toilet sometimes without her banging on the door and screaming... if daddy try and carry her she will scream dun want daddy, want mammy, AND, i got a book for her called no kisses for daddy abt a bb bear who initially refuses to kiss daddy b4 sleep, and she actually goes to daddy and says, NO KISSES FOR DADDY!!! her daddy so sad... but she is very clever.. sometimes she will go up to him and say daddy I love you.. usually that day.. daddy wll be veery happy.

CL

yah, i'm the discipline master at home. My hb is the pushover. I suppose that could be why he behaves this way towards me. But I've seen children even with mothers as the discipline masters, they are still sticky and loving to their mothers leh.

Roll eyes is good meh? Wish he hadn't picked up this though.

sunny
Now i delegated the role of putting his dirty clothes in the laundry bin to him. Everytime i change him, i'll hand the clothes over to him and tell him to put them in the basket. So now he quite auto already.

CL
i bought a doll with a pram to her liao. haven't taken out for her to play. think i need to do it soon. haha...

tabb
kids nowadays are so smart hor? they somehow know how to 'manipulate' parents and make us happy/sad.
my gal will move her lips closer to my hb face when he asked her to kiss him, when it's really that close, she would turn her face away! this makes the daddy so disappointed.
with this super-glue behaviour, i really doubt that my mil can handle 2 alone at home like what she claims she can manage.

CL,

Where is the Curry fish head? if it is too far from suntec I may give it a miss..Too tired lately and have not been feeling welll too.

RE: funny

Last night , elijah was sleeping in between us .. and i tot he was already fast asleep so i call my hubby " dear! can you carry him to the cot?" then suddenly E woke up and pat my hb on the face and say dear! dear! and laugh.. so funny then i saw him sucking his thumb and ask boy want milk he say yes so i went out to make milk.. i as i was in the kitchen, i could hear him shouting dear dear dear.. so funny.. after his milk then we plaed with him by saying dear dear.. and he repeated again laughing.. and i ask him.. who is dear.. he shouted Daddy...

so funny

Rena,

Based on my walking speed, it will take you 10 mins to walk thru the overhead bridge near mothercare, then cross the road to go Raffles Hotel. It is opposite Raffles Hotel. For me I am used to walk everywhere, for you , it will be a bit tiring to walk all the way

Rena,
Hahaha, your 'dear' story reminded me of my nephew. His parents have been calling him 'dear'...so one day, he suddenly told his mum not to call him 'dear'. Please call him 'zebra'. Hahaha, he tot all along they were calling him 'DEER'...

rena
actually it's not too far. it is opp raffles hotel. join us lah

what happen to u? how come not feeling well?

E so funny..call ur hb dear dear. JH does that too. call us by our names sometimes.

there was once i was calling my mum 'mummy' and he kept imitating me after that. worse still, my dad caleld my mum by name and he did that too after that.

mashy
when JH rejects me, he does it quite terribly. it's very drama one. he will cry, scream, beat me etc and run to the maid. really feel so sad abt it when he does that. but this morning he seems fine after i put him to bed. he very funny. this morning i asked him, do u love mama? he nodded. i asked him again, yes or no? and he gave a very cute "yes"

sunny
sounds like YX really trying to beat the competition...

any mummies have contact for bulk buying pediasure formula milk which includes delivery? remember there was a guy who was doing bp for various brands of FM but can't find his contact liao...

SY,
paiseh, just pmed you the details.

re: Great Beginnings
Ya, I'm interested in putting him there. I quite like their extensive materials, as well as their teaching pilosophy. Very 'real' and down-to-earth: eg. they use real breakable mugs instead of plastic ones to teach the children to be careful. Not like most childcare centres, which will def use plastic ones.

I'm also interested in MMI cos their curriculum is a proven track record. But becos I'm afraid Keenan will get bored if I put him 4 straight years there. So I'm splitting it up and will only place him there when he's 4 or 5. Meanwhile Great Beginnings is good enough plus a few other enrichments here adn there.

What about yourself? Any good finds lately? Can go MMI Pasir Ris to have a look. It;s on Elias Road. 1 of the bungalows on the left jsut before you turn left onto Pasir Ris park (Fisherman Village). The principal is Alice. She is quite stern incase you prefer someone/ some school which is more relax when it comes to discipline. But it worked well on Ethan and I feel the school had done quite a good job in preparing him for PRimary school. So like me, you might wanna put JH there when he is older and has more 'experience' in going for classes.

SL ,

in case i can't meet you this week . could you pass my items to cookie as well... Can cookie? Can pass to wenyl .. then i can collect from her on thursday..

Tracy,
haha, yoour nephew so funny, thought the parents calling him Deer... haha! Actually that's how my nick came about, from my hb who initally called me sleepy dear...

Sunny,
hmmm, I think different Cherie Hearts got different good and bad things to loo out for. Like in the Jln Layang one, it was only a single storey house with two groups, but the nice thing about it was they had a veggie garden and it was quite spacious for so few kids. AT Jln Dermawan, the place was bustling and very active, and very clean, but there were easily 40+ kids there, so though it was a two storey corner Terrace, it seemed very cramped.

the good thing about Cherie Hearts I feel is their cirrculumn seems very comprehensive, they keep pets in the CC and teach the kids how to take care of them, and they often have school excursions, which most CC do have lah...
I guess you can also tell from looknig at the kids, most of them seem happy.

HOnestly, so far the most responsive kids I have seen is at MMI. Whenever we enter into a new classrooms, there will definitely be kids who will approach us, and say Hello, and naturally curious and friendly, so I was quite impressed by that. Just too bad MMI is a little far for us...

SY
can understand how you feel when your boy rejected you. 'cos my gal would do to me when she's at in law's place before i got pregnant, especially when my sil is around. 'cos my sil kind of doting (pamper) her the most in the famiily.

are all cc that you visited allow you to visit during the class/activities sessions? just now i went to brightstar, the teacher told me that they did not allow visitor during the class, only when the kids are taking nap, then they allow visitors.

sleepingdeer
if that's the case, i think i should make an effort to visit the cherie heart near my hb's work place. thanks for the detailed feedback.

rena
ya loh. expensive, but it's convenient for me to bring her to and fro loh. and after corporate discount and govt subsidies,it's about $660.
oh ya, my colleague said Josiah Monte at millenia walk is good in terms of class structure and teacher. but more ex than brightstar.... good thing is parents can choose to let the kid go 2/3/5 days.

denmy
it's ok. i kind of gave your details to the lavina except for DOB which i can't remmeber.

actually i also thinking of doing that. place JH at great beginnings for a while then switch him to another place nearer. cos i like the one to one apph at this age. one thing my neighbour felt abt the place is not academic enough so may be a good idea to switch out when older.

i m planning to check out a few places in pasir ris if possible. but thinking of bringing hb down to great beginnings when we are on leave. then i may switch JH to riverlife when he's older.

sleepingdeer
if u talking abt responsive kids, we were all very impressed by the kids at great beginnings. greeted us one by one and introduced themselves.

sunny
yeah very sad when they reject us. not that we have done anything right?

wan to ask something. u know how monte materials use sandpaper? are there any harmful effects of using sandpaper? cos got a lot of fine particles when u touch them

Any other CC near Suntec tat is good and offers jsut half day and with in walking distance if not then near the MRT would be good..I tot of cheries heart at tan quee lan.. but not sure if it is good and if it is too far from office.

Coz i intend to put e there as soon as possible.. coz my maid suddenly give me a bomb saying that she misses her daug and want to go back.. but i told her i can only transfer her if she want to go home she got to settle with the agent.. sian......

SY, someone did voice out that coarse sandpaper would hurt the little fingers, but so far, I've not heard of any harmful effects of using sandpaper for the Mont materials ... I DIY myself using normal sandpaper leh.

sunny, some cc finds that it's disruptive for children for visiting parents, hence they do not encourage. Most cc allows parents to take a quick peek, the only one I know around here is MMI@ten mile. A parent with kid in the school can't even walk in to talk to the teachers...

.ky.

SY, Denmy,
May I know where is this Great Beginnings located? Sounds worth checking out wor!

CL,
Ur Aden is getting more handsome leh. With his new hair style, I find Elijah and him looking quite alike in some ways.

SL & cookie,
Yup, can pass Rena's loot to me. Np. Thanks very much!
Sorry to mafan u cookie. Will arrange a day to pick up from u next week.....hopefully I hvnt pop by then.

rena
i haven't gone to cherie heart at tan quee lan yet. i walked from suntec to bugis before, it takes about 10-15 minutes walk. would that be far for you?
josiah monte.... i plan to visit them today, but they have an annual concert. so, should be doing it next week.

SY
i don't think we have done anything wrong to the kids and get the rejection from them. i guess, they just try to express their feeling to us. And, i notice that my gal wouldn't do that to me on Monday.... y monday? mayb 'cos i spent lots of time with her during weekend. but as a working mum, we can only do so much for them....

ky
so for teachers in MMI at ten mile only will see parents based on appt? walk-in is not allowed?

rena
i visited brighstar before? any view?
just now, my hb and i managed to talk to the chinese & english teachers, and the supervisor. find them not bad. They encourage more plays for the playgroup. From the conversation, I am quite satisfied that they don't put expectation on the students and would teach the students based on their ability. Though the english teacher doesn't have perfect english, can feel that she got the passion in teaching the kids.
hygiene wise, i find it's good 'cos after walking around the centre, my feet were not dirty. My ex-colleague who sent her 2 kids there before also said that she's satisfied with the hygiene level in the centre.

didn't know that cherie heart and josiah monte's rate are abt the same. if both centres' teachers are ok, i would prefer sending my gal to monte as I prefer montessori style and it's nearer to suntec.

BrightStar
I should think the centre is not too bad bah, it's affliated to my church. In fact, for sunday school, D goes to the Brightstar premises. It's really clean and they disinfect every single toy after each session. They even have air-filters/purifiers. Quite a number of church friends who works full-time in church places their kids there as well. =)

Rena
Oh your new maid (replacing the 40-yr old one) is going back so soon? She must be very home-sick...hope things will turn out ok for you.

CL
Aden is getting more and more handsome and looking like you liaoz!! Cool haircut. hahaha. Am sure now that he starts saying "No", it'll get more frequent. hehe

Rena,

Oh no! its so troublesome when maids give this problem right? I recently engaged another maid and that new maid also worked for 2 weeks then started crying at night.. told me she has a stomachache.. so i told her i will bring her to the doctor..she says she wants to go back to philipines to see her doctor!! then i got the agent to speak to her and she told her she is home sick!

i let her call home few times and still didnt work..she was lost in some lala land everyday! so in the end sent her back!

so u will be getting a replacement soon?

ky
my hb thinks that sand paper has a lot of small particles that is harmful when breathed in. i think it shd be quite safe cos the monte schools use that too right? i m planning to DIY it mysefl too

rena
oh dear, your maid really dropped a big bomb on u! so sudden. how long wd it take for the replacement to come?

wenyl
great beginnings is at siglap. it is really quite a nice place but problem for me is transpoert.

it is beside siglap centre. 50 Burnfoot terrace. (at the row of shophouses beside siglap centre)

CL,
Ya...i think it's coz i am really the only one disciplining him. So sad rite? Don't discipline him cannot, discipline him, he will just dun want me.

Everytime now i scold him at my MIL place, my FIL will quickly walk over to sayang and pacify him. So fed up that yesterday, I shoo-ed him away and brought my boy into the room. After my boy finally stopped his tantrum, i brought him outside to the living room again and he ignored me from then.