(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

just saw that kidsloft has hol prog

For children born in 2006 (at least 15 months old)
Jungle Beat 28th & 30th Nov 9.30-11am $70
Nursery Rhyme Playtime 3rd, 5th & 7th Dec 11.15-12.45pm $100
Folktale & Fairytale 10th, 12th &14th Dec 4-5.30pm $100

CL,
Edgar is a roamer when he's in a new environment. esp when there are other distractions like toys. he basically doens't like circle time. if i am with him, he's not too bad, will stick to me coz he's shy. but if i'm not around and someone else accompany him or none at all, he will start to roam about and refuse to sit down in the circle.

Krissie

I have just PM you a link on employing a maid in Singapore, if you didn't receive let me know i re-send.

CL

Thanks for your good recommendation! I bought some children books from bras basah yesterday, very fruitful trip. Somemore got 30% discount wor, very happy.

Is the 30% discount a on going thing or only for certain period? If going to end i might pop by again to get some more books.

sunny, depends on how the phonics is taught. usually teaching of phonics is associated with worksheets and writing, and that portion is generally done when a child's fine motor skills is more established. hence, notice that for Montessori, language only comes in at 3 yrs but in smaller kids, focus is more on practical and sensorial. from 3 yrs onwards, phonics is more progressive as in the child would learn the 42 sounds. but for zoophonics, for eg, it gives the child a good feel of the sounds that one can do ... but some sounds are not possible (eg f), till the child is older. ds#1 started phonics at 2 yrs old and repeated the same at 3 yrs old but I find the teacher is only going thru' the motion of teaching n I can clearly see that he doesn't know a sound but from the teacher's point of view, he does... that's why I find having a good teacher is very impt.

I just found out some PCF only do phonics when the child is 5.

.ky.

re phonics,
i have seen some 2yo able to recite the sounds and recognise all the 26 letters. so i guess it's up to each individual todd.

re phonics
i agree with what ky says. some sounds can only be done when they are older but no harm exposing them to the sound i feel.

re city hall lunch
shall we fix it on 29th in this case?

1. SY
2. SL
3. Rena
4. CL

Can bring me to the book store also? want to get some chinese books.

Zhimin

Since the first day I have been popped into the shops, it has been ongoing for months liao. I very buddy with the auntie, if anything she will update me then I will update all.

Aileen
Have not received. email me at [email protected] faster. My sing mail is going hay wired always bounced mail

cali bb spree
I made an query and was told that the calendular creams are currently OOS. Now, I'm waiting for their email to inform me when the stock arrives before I make an order to avoid the confusion and extra boxes (hence extra shipping charges). Anyone is urgent need of their cali bb stuff? If cant wait, then I'll have to source from another online store.

CL
I got several bounced mails from ur singnet too. Your singnet mail quota exceeded. I think u better check if anyone sent u a large video file or large files. Anyway, can I confirm the names of those who wish to collect their LV stuff via you? Are the people in the JG class the same group as previous group? Also, your final shipping charge is 33cents cuz one of the boxes is over 9kg volumetric weight so I split the excess shipping proportionally according to everyone's spree total to be fair.

Aileen,
I have replied you.

Mamapanda,
You can change corresponding address to [email protected]. I have been clearing the box but this stupid mail box when I open again those that I thrashed appear again.

JG group does not have Krissie and tabbiesus anymore but for Krissie can check if she wants me to pass to Cheng for her to pick up within serangoon and tabbiesus not sure if it is nearer for her to pick up at ciythall for her. Sunny's I can collect for her, she just requested via MSN today

SY
I am ok with the fish head curry if all are ok

SY
I check with the lady at the open house, so far they only have 1 hr pure English enrichment class for our tots age and it's Sat morning 930-1030. I like the timing.
She mentioned in future there might be bilingual class for 1.5 hrs, then can switch over..

re city hall lunch
proposed 29th Oct Fish Head Curry

1. SY
2. SL
3. Rena
4. CL

anymore mummies who can join?

cookie
is that so? sat wd be hard for me cos i do my marketing then....

CL,
can help me pick up my stuff from mamapanda?

Mamapanda,
can let me know the acct to transfer to?

chicken little

Can u pick up my stuff from mamapanda for me? Its more convenient for me to meet u during JG... hehe.. i can go chit chat also..

Cheng/ CL/ Mamachan
I finished my mini scrap book.. wanted to come down today for ur open house but today had to bring tabby to school to see if she would like the environment, so didn't manage to make it

I am very gian to get the 6x6 scrap album set from you now (cheng was saying u have a very nice 6x6 scrapkit right? or did i hear wrong) .. haha.. still waiting for my other album, problem is VPOST is SO SO SLOW.... i think i will go slowly on scrapping.. so scared i'll just end up buying and not doing anything

tabbiesus
welcome to the addictive club of scrapping!

our open hse is this coming Saturday at Katong Mall, from 11-2pm :> but may be a bit far for you. Welcome to swing by if free.

Me also thinking of getting the 6x6 kit for myself. Here's a preview - if you are coming by this Sun at JG, we can show you the actual kits. :p
1038024.jpg
1038025.jpg

SY
if you are meeting CL, can pass my Cali bb to her if convenient?

where is the venue for the zoo-phonics trial?
re zoophonics trial
1. sy
2. sl
3. ssf
4. Cookie
5. denmy
6. cheng

RE: Phonics
Children can start phonics as young as 2 yrs old but it will only be for awareness. Phonics is recommended for age 4 and above kids according to my lecturer cos their jaw is not well developed yet. So they might have a hard time in sounding the words. But that does not mean we cannot teach them how to read. Having a print rich environment is very important cos the younger they are, the better they can absorb from their learning environment. Then again, we can't limit what kids can do and not do cos often than not they surprise us. Recently, my son can say things that I did not even teach him. Guess he picks them up thru our conversations and words around him.

Facebook
Hi, thot I saw some of you in Facebook! I am addicted to it...hee. Even managed to meet some of my classmates online.

Ginger,
yup, I'm at Hillview as well. Sorry, it should be little WOnder Monte, at Hillview Way. I'm visiting the place and Faith next week to see how it is...

Sunny,
I visited the Cherie Hearts both at Jalan Layang Layang, near Toh Tuck, and Jln Dermawan, Hillview which is very near my place. Was even thinking of trying the one at West Coast, but it would be more convenient if I can get one nearer to my hb's route to work...
For MMI, there's sooo many that the list is scary! I visited West Coast and Rail Mall already, there's another one nearby but I'm not doing to visit it I think...

Aileen,
Visited Rosy Hearts this morning and spoke to Chong Peng. I really like the place if not for the fees, haha... S seems to be quite comfy there, and sat down with the rest of the kids for water time... my only qns about the place is the pace and how much they expose the kids to, as the method of teaching at the different Monte schools seem varied. At MMI, their approach is more mature and more independent I feel, but also more bo chap, at Rosy Hearts, there is good individual attention and lots of care, but I dunno whether it may be a good idea to let the kids be a little more independent.. till thinking about it... if not for concern on $, I think I would sign S up immediately, haha! Yup, she mentioned that Edgar is joining in Nov, and also mentioned about the other roamer!

BTW, I thought Toh Tuck have lots of CC around the area as well, did you look at some of them? I saw Gloryland and another MOnte CC very near Bukit Timah Community Centre, did ou take a look at them? I may scout around the area next week too before I decide..

Rena,
Rosy Hearts was the centre I mentioned to you before lah
They dun have school bus at the moment, coz all the parents have their own pick up arrangement.

RE: Toilet Training

I have been wanting to start S on it, but am torn between letting her start signaling to us, which I read is good, or starting to encourage her more... think I will wait a little while more, and start leaving pottys around teh house, haha...

Cookie, Demny,
RE: PLaygroup on 26th/27th

Sorry about the late response coz I didn't know how my schedule is gonna be... I'm ok to join if it's tomorrow, so how, are you still planning anything?

ky
thanks. i think when i ask the person in charge of the childcare/playgroup, i would need to ask more details.

sharon
ermm.... can advise what's print rich environment?

CL
where's the exact location of the bookshop you gals are talking abt at bras basah? is it at the ground flr corner near to NLB?

Sunny,
I think it's good to each them phonics even if they dun really know how to pronounce... I was keen to let S join zoophonics coz my friend's gal is in there, and before she's two, she can pronounce A - Z already... I think it's good as she talks very well now...

Sleepingdeer,
Then we are indeed neighbours!! Little Wonders is just directly opposite my inlaws place at Hillview Way. I have a couple of neighbours who send their kids there, I'm not impressed with it or maybe I'm just bias!! I kinda like Faith, think I will drop by Rosy Hearts since there are quite good reviews about them. How do you find Cherie Hearts?

zhimin - thks for the site. aiyo so many toys kena recalled....frankly now i am abit cautious abt buying toys but i know its difficult to really track which one is OK and which aren't. maybe buying books are more worthwhile after all. haha..

re: maid's bank acct
I understand we need to open an acct for the maid and keep a min amt. anyone know how much is it? is it $600? i cannot seem to find the document tat the agency gave.

mamachan/SY - thks for the tips. guess i will try to start potty train Caleb soon.

SSF
i din open an acct for my maid. she prefers to keep the money anway.

re cc at bukit timah
i used to attend glory kindergarten.

SY

The Maha You Yi is the chinese children bookstore. Children book centre is English books.

Re: Toy Hazard

I think it is a good guideline to refer to, but I guess we really can't do anything to avoid.

CL

that day after u told me abt the location of the bookshop, i bought so many english books then went downstairs, saw the chinese books and also bought 1 whole set. hehehe.

But now my boy is so obssessed with his train set, he hardly reads. When he wakes up in the morning, he'll chiong to the train sets and start playing. Don't even need his morning milk! He can set up his whole train system (altho it doesn't join in a loop) and start & stop the trains. He'll set up the tracks, then dismantle, set up again, dismantle. He'll be at it the whole day.

Told my hb abt his obssession, so finally last night, my hb kept all the trains.

Mashy
Ya , I went yday too, spend another $45 because got new stock. Ha ha.

Chinese books I was thinking of getting Charmaine teacher to bring in from China for our kids. She would know what is suitable and good whereas we only browse and may not be able to choose the right one

sleepingdeer,
agree that rosy hearts is quite pricey. but i very lazy to scout around liao. and i calculated that since she provides kindermusik once a week, it's quite worth it. just that if edgar happens to fall sick and miss school for a few days(touchwood), i will be damn heartpain!! :p
so it seems like S and Edgar won't be schoolmates

i visited sunflower as well. not bad, other than the steps leading from the living room to the dining area. afraid that edgar might be pushed around and fall down. other than that, the school is not bad too. althou it's a montessori as well, it's more playbased. if edgar doesn't work out at rosy hearts, i may transfer him there.

sharon,
thanks for the links on montessori materials! :D

mashybrainz,
edgar and C can be good friends lah. obsessed with trains. edgar basially love anything with wheels. can play with them all day long!!

Mashy/Aileen - Yes, Cephas is obsessed with his Thaoms the train track system too! Hb set it up for him on Sat after we opened the gift that was a present for his 1-yr old BD. He's been playing ith it since then. Carry the trains wherever he goes

sysac,
haha! think next time we shld have an all boys gathering! can't imagine them all sitting around playing with the thomas toys! i guess boys will always be boys!

Train obssession

Hahah, think it's a boy's thing. My hb actually wanted to buy even more tracks when we already have 3 Tomy train sets (1 Thomas Train, 1 Shinkansen and 1 Japanese Subway train). Had to ban him to buying all those stuff. Then yesterday he dunno talk secretly to his son abt what at the Thomas the Train section and said keep it a secret from Mummy! Must be saying abt buying a bigger train set!

thanks all for the encouragement.. that's what i love abt posting here.. i get all the support to carry on..
really appreciate it..
Wah, last nite was very bad.. she woke up for feed every 2hr, 12+am. 2am, 4am and 6am. then, she kept regurgitating her milk even though i burped her, so i didnt dare to put her down and carried her for a while before putting her down, so plus changing her milk-soiled romper, i had i think 3+hrs of slp last nite.. so shag.. am praying for a better night tonite. I'm so tired now and she's fussy, I asked the CL to bottlefeed her, so i can get some sanity and type here.

Also thanks to mummies on the info on maids.
Zhimin, I'll check my email and let you know.

Hi Krissie,
hang in there! S was once like that, she would feed every two hours, and throw up her milk, cos she had reflux. We slanted her mattress and fed her more often and in smaller feeds and it helped.. good that you ask your CL to bottlefeed her, get some rest!

RE: Toys
Train is not a boy's thing for Jamie leh. She loves seeing Thomas the Train going round the rail pouring small balls. Not sure u have seen it or not. She will stand there to see and refused to move. Her stupid mummy kept showing her Barbie, Stuff toys but her fav is guns,train, cars, doctor set and most girlish things is her own cooking set. Really envy those with girl and they are very girlish..like stuff toys or carrying blanket and pillow to sleep.

krissie
My #2 also regurgitate his milk too.. till these day he still does. we have put bath towel underneath his bb cot mattress so that he can sleep with a slight angle and that helps. Other then that... I just place a big hanky around his neck line to help with the wetness.

Hang in there!.. I think the 1st 3 weeks he was sleeping in the hall all the time cos he kept crying every other hrs... I was sleeping in the hall sometimes too cos dun wan him to wake kae.

Once qi settle down more u will be able to breathe better. Mean while hang in there and keep praying
and take more rest since CL is there to help!