(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

chicken_little - only 1 parent can go in? any place for the other parent to linger ard and watch? coz i be bringing my maid and lil Jadon along too.

sunny, my mum is not vegeterian but she took care of my cousin who is a vegeterian from birth so she's experienced. The parents who send their kids there like them to eat healthy vegeterian food.

CL,

Any nishimatsuya around shinjuku area? My sis' staying there....

SY,
CL answered your question on delcare. I really liked it there too - charmaine's happy there too.

been out of action past 2 days, down with stomach flu since Monday. Brought D for his 2nd Hep A jab as well when I went to the doctor.

this morning before I left for work, D was grabbing at his crotch area and I asked him if he wanted to pee, he quicly ran and grabbed my hand and walked me to the toilet door and indicated he wanna g and pee. So I pulled down his bumwear and sat him on the toilet bowl to pee which he did. Asked him if there's anymore he just went "No More" and I told him "Wait! Mummy take tissue" he went "Tish-shoo" and pointed to the toilet roll. I think he's starting to be more aware of bladder full and indicate to pee. Am so proud of his progress =)

D is also starting to love rice for his meals now for lunch and dinner =) And when sometimes we give him porridge, he would give a weird look on his face. He now eats with us at the dinner table too and he enjoys it alot. He takes about 20 minutes to finish about 1/2 - 3/4 bowl (ikea bowl) of rice with vege and meat. Looking back since he was newborn to now, he's grown so much!!

Really enjoying this stage with him now =) Growing up but yet still a little remnant of his babyish-ness (if there's such a word) about him.

CL
u intend to put aden there full day from Jan 08? if it is half day, there is sch bus going back? but it is really far....

how much is full day?

mamachan
for peeing, shd encourage them to stand up and pee. cos boy mah. my fren told me to let my boy stand and pee.

so cute, Darren has such good appetite. JH testing us nowadays and refuse a lot of food.

SY
Ya he will be there full day because both my kids to there and fetch them back together.

Should have if I am not wrong. Full day is 850 before subsidy.

sleepingdeer,
so how do u find cherie hearts? i have just confirmed with rosy hearts that i will put edgar there. keeping my fingers crossed that he will be fine there. she mentioned to me that she has another angmoh student there that's like edgar, a roamer. haha.. so i guess edgar will have a friend there! :p

ginger,
i'm staying at toh tuck place. if i don't remember wrongly, sleeping deer stays at hillview. how about urself?

zoophonics,
if u gals are going for a trial, hopefully u don't get teacher Zura, she's not good. i'm pulling edgar out of the school coz of her. btw edgar went to the beauty world branch. teacher Rita at the jurong east branch is much better.

Aileen

I never know edgar is roamer. How can he beat aden, aidan and melody in JG class ? ha ha . My hb always cannot tahan why keenan, edgar, shannon can sit quietly in class but his cannot

Aileen

I never know edgar is roamer. How can he beat aden, aidan and melody in JG class ? ha ha . My hb always cannot tahan why keenan, edgar, shannon can sit quietly in class but his cannot

SY
haha, for now, D likes to sit down and pee. My hb will encourage him to "stand" by hovering him over the toilet bowl but he's getting too heavy for us all, maybe might need to get a stool for D to stand and pee. He associates toilet time with sitting as he poos sitting down... he'll understand to stand and pee when he's older bah.

As for rice, it took him a long while to accept rice as his main meal. Initially he likes to take from our spoon, so when we thought he could eat rice for his meals, he totally rejected. So we just kept exposing him to part-rice and part porridge till one day, he could have rice totally and he loves it now. Think my giving him chicken rice and nasi lemak once in a long while helped him get started. It seemed totally wrong to start him on those flavoured rice, but it's a good thing that it's occured on very few occasions, now, he can eat proper plain rice with the side dishes.

SY - Got to skip Kidsloft trial. Cephas has PG on Sundays. Thanks.

Mamachan - Daren is such a big boy now! U must be so proud of him
Can tell from the way u r gushing over this morning's incident. Yes,it is interesting to watch them during meal times. Cephas has been eating with us for some time already. He will choose what goes into his mouth for the next scoop. He will point to vege & rice, then got to scoop & feed him. Then he'll point to fish, vege & rice, then he'll request for soup, etc etc...

SY
i suggest you talk to hb 1st as we never know how our kid will react to the change and we would need our partner to work hand in hand with us.

mamachan
congrats on D good progess! can understand how happy you are. When my gal started reading words after us recently, we were so happy and excited.

sleepingdeer
which cherie heart and faith monte you went? I saw MCYS web that there are a few at diff docations.

mamachan

congrats! Envy envy. Hope C will be just as easy for toilet training.

Re: Blood Test
The results are out, and everything seems normal. My current hearing has remained the same over the last 2 weeks. Seems that it's going to be permanent.
Dr already given final verdict, told to return after 6 mths to see if it deteriorates.

Sysac
Hahahaa, I'm just glad I could witness and catch his milestone and progress 1st hand rather than have my helper "report" to us what he's been up to at home. It made my part-time work scheme worth it. But Cephas is such a sweet heart too =) can verbalize really well when I saw him and you at CL's place for our openhouse.

sunny
Wow, girls are really faster learners. D has only started to show interest in the alphabets, so I would introduce them as sounds to him to differentiate the letters =) And all in good timing as my hb bought the LeapFrog Letter Factory for him from USA as a surprise gift too. So timing just nice

CL
dun think i will put full day. will discuss with hb again. the ride home is a bit far from delcare.

sunny
yeah but it's so hard to get him to sit down and discuss...

mamachan
JH loves rice..the problem is that he loves it so much that he only eats rice and refuse other stuff when he is eating rice

u know there's this potty that is a urinal and boys can pee standing up? it's called peter potty

mashy
i saw the circular on my co's website. din know that it closed down.

glad that your blood test results are alright.

Mashy
Great to know results are good. Maybe your hearing will improve as times go by. Dun worry too much must look forward to your trip. Good weather and good food in Japan.

SY,
Dunno leh, but there are a lot of kids from Pasir Ris because they use to have a outlet there and near bukit panjang. Now all intergrated to this centre. That explain half of the school are from Pasir Ris. I am sending Aden for discipline in school ha ha I think Ms Jeanette Tan the principal is very good at it but doing it positively.

Aileen
Your son will be attending full day or half day at Rosyhearts? The interior is pretty new right?

We are all staying pretty near. I'm at Hillview too

luckyvitamin #10,#11#12 spree
The loot has arrived
Let me know how u want to collect it (HG/Bpanjang/via CL?).

Drugstore #4
The package has arrived at Oregon today. Should be here by next week.

drugstore #4 shipping excess
One of the boxes has a volumetric weight of 9kg so I've divided up the excess shipping charges equally amongst everyone in the 3 sprees to be fair. Here's the latest charges. It works out to 42cents per head.

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nick</TD><TD> Total </TD><TD>paid</TD><TD></TD><TD>owe</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Denmy</TD><TD> $7.24 </TD><TD> $7.32 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.34 </TD><TD></TD><TD>CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cookie</TD><TD> $52.84 </TD><TD> $52.92 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.34 </TD><TD></TD><TD>CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>Clare</TD><TD> $7.24 </TD><TD> $7.32 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.34 </TD><TD></TD><TD>CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rena</TD><TD> $48.42 </TD><TD> $50.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $(1.16)</TD><TD></TD><TD>CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>Krissie</TD><TD> $69.54 </TD><TD> $69.54 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.42 </TD><TD></TD><TD>CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunny</TD><TD> $9.31 </TD><TD> $9.31 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.42 </TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>Flo</TD><TD> $11.30 </TD><TD> $11.35 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.37 </TD><TD></TD><TD>CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>valerie</TD><TD> $7.32 </TD><TD> $7.37 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.37 </TD><TD></TD><TD>HG </TD></TR><TR><TD>chickenlittle</TD><TD> $41.67 </TD><TD> $41.67 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.42 </TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>tabbiseus</TD><TD> $111.88 </TD><TD> $111.93 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.37 </TD><TD></TD><TD>CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>mezzo17</TD><TD> $30.84 </TD><TD> $34.19 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $(2.93)</TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>missmoon</TD><TD> $63.40 </TD><TD> $63.40 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.42 </TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>annie</TD><TD> $254.03 </TD><TD> $240.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $14.44 </TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>ziann</TD><TD> $40.17 </TD><TD> $40.17 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.42 </TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>ainchon</TD><TD> $152.65 </TD><TD> $156.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $(2.93)</TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>ginger</TD><TD> $43.33 </TD><TD> $43.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.75 </TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>busymummy</TD><TD> $26.72 </TD><TD> $26.72 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.41 </TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>eggpecially</TD><TD> $45.06 </TD><TD> $45.06 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.42 </TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>ish</TD><TD> $31.70 </TD><TD> $31.70 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.42 </TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>tinkerbell28</TD><TD> $30.84 </TD><TD> $30.84 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.42 </TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>sunshinekid</TD><TD> $13.36 </TD><TD> $13.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.78 </TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>miffy_cheeks</TD><TD> $100.40 </TD><TD> $100.40 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.41 </TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>SMURF28</TD><TD> $20.81 </TD><TD> $20.81 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.42 </TD><TD></TD><TD>HG </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Please pay for the excess shipping before collecting your items. Thanks.

SY
Is the trial gng to be the 1 hr or 1.5hr bilingual? I'm thinking of signing up at the siglap outlet to try out since they dun have term like JG , just by monthly.
But so far Siglap one dun have bilingual.
I dun mind gng for a trial anyway, their open house nothing to see as I went in the afternoon. Heard in the morning there have mini Trial Class.

re zoophonics trial
1. sy
2. sl
3. ssf
4. Cookie

Mummies..
Anyone has experience buying from Amazon? anyone has experience if they tend to pack items in big boxes? causing shipping charges to be high?

Sorry, to be more fair to everyone, I've decided to split the shipping excess proportionally between everyone based on each individual total over the spree total, which is $1220.07. Pls ignore the amount above and refer to this table instead. Those who owe me 10cents or less, no need to pay. Those who owe less than $1, you can pay me cash on collection. I think its more convenient that way.

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nick</TD><TD> Total </TD><TD>paid</TD><TD></TD><TD>owe</TD><TD></TD><TD>Col. </TD></TR><TR><TD>Denmy</TD><TD> $7.24 </TD><TD> $7.32 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $(0.02)</TD><TD></TD><TD>CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cookie</TD><TD> $52.84 </TD><TD> $52.92 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.34 </TD><TD></TD><TD>CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>Clare</TD><TD> $7.24 </TD><TD> $7.32 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $(0.02)</TD><TD></TD><TD>CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rena</TD><TD> $48.42 </TD><TD> $50.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $(1.20)</TD><TD></TD><TD>CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>Krissie</TD><TD> $69.54 </TD><TD> $69.54 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.55 </TD><TD></TD><TD>CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunny</TD><TD> $9.31 </TD><TD> $9.31 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.07 </TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>Flo</TD><TD> $11.30 </TD><TD> $11.35 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.04 </TD><TD></TD><TD>CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>valerie</TD><TD> $7.32 </TD><TD> $7.37 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.01 </TD><TD></TD><TD>HG </TD></TR><TR><TD>chickenlittle</TD><TD> $41.67 </TD><TD> $41.67 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.33 </TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>tabbiseus</TD><TD> $111.88 </TD><TD> $111.93 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.83 </TD><TD></TD><TD>CL </TD></TR><TR><TD>mezzo17</TD><TD> $30.84 </TD><TD> $34.19 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $(3.11)</TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>missmoon</TD><TD> $63.40 </TD><TD> $63.40 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.50 </TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>annie</TD><TD> $254.03 </TD><TD> $240.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $16.02 </TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>ziann</TD><TD> $40.17 </TD><TD> $40.17 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.32 </TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>ainchon</TD><TD> $152.65 </TD><TD> $156.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $(2.14)</TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>ginger</TD><TD> $43.33 </TD><TD> $43.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.67 </TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>busymummy</TD><TD> $26.72 </TD><TD> $26.72 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.21 </TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>eggpecially</TD><TD> $45.06 </TD><TD> $45.06 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.35 </TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>ish</TD><TD> $31.70 </TD><TD> $31.70 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.25 </TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>tinkerbell28</TD><TD> $30.84 </TD><TD> $30.84 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.24 </TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>sunshinekid</TD><TD> $13.36 </TD><TD> $13.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.46 </TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>miffy_cheeks</TD><TD> $100.40 </TD><TD> $100.40 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.79 </TD><TD></TD><TD>BP </TD></TR><TR><TD>SMURF28</TD><TD> $20.81 </TD><TD> $20.81 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $0.17 </TD><TD></TD><TD>HG </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

cookie,
What kind of box they will pack your items in is all luck. Sometimes, they give u small boxes, sometimes they give HUGE boxes. Its hard to tell. I've experienced both before with Amazon.

mamachan - wow Daren is already toilet train. Envy! we have yet to train Caleb on that. Frankly dun know how to begin as we use to put him in the potty and he will sit on it and ride it like a horse and play ard. so since then we have stopped putting him in it. I have also heard of frds making their kid go bottomless. i am thinking of tat but scared tat he will poo all over the hse. not so worried abt pee though.

mashy - great to hear that the result is normal,. dun worry too much. enjoy ur time in jpn

after much deliberation, hb and I decided to try to get a maid to help look after bb clare and also help us with both kids. Can someone share how to go abt engaging one and also roughly how long is the process, pls. I was hoping to train the maid up before I go back to work. Also, are there maids which are already in Singapore which I can engage, then it wld be much faster. though, i heard that they are transfer maids and so more problematic. Is that true?? Thanks in advance.

krissie

i heard from my friend that sometime transfer maid is run away maid, if you really want ask the agent let you speak to the previous employer. Salary is 340. I think getting a maid the process is about 2 - 3 week.

please also wish me luck as my maid hads gone home so now need to get new one, so scared. As i think employing maid is like gambling, as we dunnno will we get a good maid, i dun believe in bio data, last time i employ 1 filipino she claim she is a teacher in high school for biology. But when she some she dun understand what we say even my parent simple english also cannot understand. For example we say follow the kid, take cup ,she just stand there look at me.

hi coookie, how many books do you have and what's the total dim? I've got abt 4 boxes from Amazon before and they are around 15cm in height by slightly more than A4 in lengthxbreadth... generally, the physical weight would be more than the volumetric weight for books. Amazon tend to over-pack books and put in big packs of air packs inside.

hi Krissie, depends if you want Fil or Indo/first time in Sgp or not. salary gen $280-$360. there's still agency fees and expect to have your household/grocery bills go up. u've to take a test first for new employer - that can be done online, and then when the maid comes in, need to go for some tests/checkups which takes ard 2 days b4 she can come n work for u.... just give a maid agency a call and ask, they should be able to give u details.

Abt transfer maid, not sure if should speak to the prev employer. the prev employer usually has to pay for apprx 21 days of levy or till someone takes over the maid, so of course, the employer would want someone to takeover quickly n who knows how much truth is being said. My BIL even took 1 home to trial run and happy with what they saw but ultimately, barely 6 mths later, they cannot tahan her and is changing. yes, getting a maid depends on a lot of luck

.ky.

sy,
r u organising a trial? i thought they don't do trials. thats wat the lady told me at the openhouse at siglap.

anyway, i've signed up for a 5-day holiday program in nov which is based on the books of eric carle.

count me in for the trial first.

re zoophonics trial
1. sy
2. sl
3. ssf
4. Cookie
5. denmy

sy, cl,
which school r u talking about? the one w a lot of pasir ris kids?

re: school in the east
there is a mmi at katong shopping centre. very new centre, opened for 9 months only. i went to take a look on monday. the director is good friends with alice from mmi pasir ris where ethan attended. and she actually helped to set this centre up, so i have no doubts about their curriculum there. environment wise, the place is set indoor, with a large space area divided up into different sections. just like the mmi at raffles place. its situated right at the top of the building, next to the open air carpark. the principal said something about plans on converting part of the open space into an outdoor play area.

they have a toddler and mummy class on saturday mornings which i might start in dec. the principal suggested that i could start keenan off with a weekly class there 1st b4 i decide on a fulltime curriculum. btw, they have a promo which will end soon: 495 for 1/2 day and 650 for full day after subsidy.

re: great beginnings
i'm also interested in this school and would like to go for a trial there. anyone interested or organising one?

re: kidsloft trial
is it confirmed for this sunday then? can we have the details please?

re: playgroup/ beach this friday
is this going ahead too? i'm ok for either sat morning or friday afternoon.

ky
Thanks.. I'm not getting books but some supplements. Anyway I realise getting from the supplier website directly is even cheaper so not getting from Amazon after all

SSF
actually potty training D is not that difficult, though it might be "tedious" as you don't see results immediately in 1-2 weeks. With the help of my helper, we set him in a routine, i.e. the moment he wakes up, he has his milk, then we sit him down to poo and do the NnnnnnnnGggggg sound and when he does poo, praise him and then wash his bum with water. Then after which he's off to brushing his teeth before he's allowed to play with his toys.
The every morning poo-in-the-toilet routine had been ongoing for the past 5-6 months now. So his poo timings are more or less set, like how we adults need to go in the mornings.

The pee-ing part comes a little later... past 2 months we started him on underwear when he's awake. My helper didn't mind if he will accidentally pee on the floor. She has the mop and pail of water ready for standby in the kitchen. So when he has accidents, we will sort of "nag" at him and tell him that he must say ,"I want to pee" and bring him to the toilet and sit him down. So he's very cute, will whine and pretend to cry while going *pat himself on the chest* as "Me" and then he'll go "Peeeee* in a high-pitched manner. time consuming but starting to see the "fruits of our labour"

Playgroup
Much apologies...I can't host the session. am still recovering from stomach flu...better not get in close contact with the little tylkes and moms....

mamachan

sigh, wish i can start toilet training. Does D play with his pee? When my boy peed on the toilet floor just before bathing, he'll touch the stream of pee like it's a water hose.
I'm afraid he might start to play with his pee if he does it outside too.

cookie

Just realised that there's 2 types of prog at Zoophonics, 1 is a toddles playgroup (which is the one I attended). It's 2 or 3x a week, 2hrs inclusive of 40mins Chinese.

The other one is enrichment zoo toddlers which is only 1hr. Maybe the one u asked at Zoophonics is the enrichment programme?

re: toilet train
i started off with bringing my gal to join me in the toilet when i pee. then she got a feel of what's toilet bowl and flushing. but when she's few mths old, we already let her use the potty.
now she's learning using toddler toilet seat which can be put on top of normal toilet bowl and seat securedly on it. and sometimes, she even pretends that she wanna pee/poo so that she can use her toilet seat and flush after the business. haha... but she still has wet diaper when she wakes up in the morning, so we just need to wait longer for her to be completely toilet trained.
so, i think every kid has their own timing of readiness. we just have to encourage them and keep tryng.

mashy
glad that your blood test results is ok. take care.

re: phonics
i always thought that it's a good time for our kids to learn phonics now. but when i talked to some people from childcare/playgroup, they told me they don't teach phonics till the kids reach 3 yo as they view that below 3 is not a good timing.
what do you gals think?

cookie
i dunno whether they have bilingual at siglap branch. think only english cos it is one hour. will check with them

pin
my mum stays at eng kong. i go back every week. very near also

SSF
for poo, JH can tell us when he wants to poo. so far quite good. we keep telling him to tell us when he wants to poo. over time the message got to him.

as for pee, we did try to let him pee standing on the toilet bowl in the morning but sometimes he will pee sometimes no.

krissie
some transfer maids are good. my mum's current one is a transfer maid and she's really good. it all depends on luck actually.

denmy
i emailed them but i went home late last night so din manage to check. they dun do trials at all? hmm strange. when is the hol prog?

for great beginnings, do they offer trial? if they have, i dun mind but i need to arrange the transport.

re kidsloft
it is confirmed at 4pm.
#02-13/15 Cluny Court

501 Bukit Timah Road

Singapore 259760

Tel : 9684 6797

can the mummies who haven PM me the details of your kid PM me please? i wd prefer to send one shot to Lavina.

i dunno whether i can go cos JH was having fever on Mon.

i duno why JH keeps waking up at night and he will cry very badly. last night he woke up at 1 and cried for quite some time. even when i m hugging him, he will continue crying. dunno whether is it cos he din see me before he slept.

sunny
any reason they give for not teaching phonics before 3? i tot it wd be good cos the younger they are, the better the learning capability

Re: Potty Training
Actually, my PD advised that we leave it to the kids to let us know when they are ready. No point in training them purposely by bringing them to the potty etc. So I followed his advice and just yesterday, Meg simply told my MIL herself that she wanna pee and my MIL brought her to the toilet and she peed.

It's much easier when they are ready.

So not to worry if your kid is not toilet trained yet. Matter of time.