(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sleepingdeer,
i went sunflower and i wouldn't say i'm very impressed leh thou i think it's considerably good. how come ur friend is so impressed huh? and there was no waiting list if i want to sign edgar up...

wenyl,
i have the angelcare, got it during edgar's time. coz i think that's one of the few brands that has SIDS detector. aiya, that time paranoid first time mummy mah. scared this, scared that. but if u ask me now, i don't think i will buy that. a philips is good enuff.

Hi moms,

I'm from the March06 thread and am currently staying at Hillview, so I am very interested in all this CC talk, cuz I'm looking around too!! Hope you dun mind me kpoing here!

I'm actually looking for flexicare for my child and I prefer monte schools.

sleepingdear
I din realise Rosyhearts cater for toddlers now. Your neighbour's kids are in there now?

CCs that I've viewed (not much actually!)
1) MMI @ Rail Mail
I really like the timing (2 hrs only) and the fact that there are no fullday kids to mix around with (less chance of sickness!) But the area is REALLY super duper small. The class size is 12 and they only have 1 squat toilet!!

2) TELC
Someone in this forum recommend this, its pretty impressive but what I did not like was that it's open concept. Very very noisy. they provide meals, even for half days.

3) Blossom at Chu Lin Rd
Very run down.

4) Faith at Chu Lin Rd
I'm pretty impressed with this CC. Clean, spacious and its monte. Anyone have any comments?

Aileen
You mention you went to Innate for a trial. Not good huh?

I know there are a few at Highgate area, but not monte based right?

Oldmom
your baby is in Cheriehearts right? You like it so far?

Appreciate all comments

ginger,
ya i went innate for a trial. you can refer to my comments in my previous posts. i wouldn't say it's not good. on the contrary, i think it's good but only if you like that kind of strict teaching environment. teachers all speak good english coz indians and chinese teacher is from china. best to go for a trial to find out more urself. it's free anyways.

i just popped by rosy hearts and spoke to the directress there. i like the environment, so i'll bring edgar there for a trial soon. another school i'm considering is babies inc. will pop by that one tmr to see the environment.

cookie - same same...i am heading back to the workforce on the 30th oct. dun know wats wrong with me..but i am looking fwd to it. haha...but then now that Caleb is so attached to me...guess i will miss his presence or maybe his nonsense during the day.

RE: School Searching
How's all ur hb reacting to the school search huh? Are u more anxious than him? For me, I am the one that is searching and looking into it. Hb just say "aiya u in charge lar since u know what to look for in school." But I feel this kind of thing must involve couple leh. I even tell him "if next time need to camp overnight at Primary School to queue, I also will go" Seems like mummies are doing more "job" and sacrificies.

jshopper stuff are here. Let me know how you want to collect your items.

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>durianlover</TD><TD> $34.83 </TD><TD> $34.83 </TD></TR><TR><TD>mashy</TD><TD> $24.84 </TD><TD> $96.66 </TD></TR><TR><TD>rachel</TD><TD> $49.55 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>god's child</TD><TD> $19.44 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

HI Mommies,

Celine77,
I went to take a look at Rosyhearts with my neighbour, S was quite comfortable there during the 20 min I was there, and the teacher and Pri was quite engaging. I also spoke to the same lady as you. At that time, there was only 7 toddlers, and the age gap was very small. Though the area is not very big, but it is very clean and neat, and also non-aircon.

My friend likes sunflower cos of the circulumn i guess. She also mentioned it was clean, I was supposed to go have a look but too tired on that day..

Ginger,
yup my neighbour signed her gal up when she was about two, and now that she is nearing three, the school informed her that they have just started a nursery class, so she is letting her gal continue on as she seems very happy there.

I also heard of Faith at Hillview, and it seems good. Blossom is really quite run down, and quite dirty i feel. There is another one but I can't remember the name all of a sudden

FYI, Tumbletots is also now having providing play group for two hours, so that is also a option is you are intending to place your kid tehre for a short duration.

May,
Yup, I have already decided on S' primary school, haha! It's so much easier than CC! My hb is not even thinking about it much now, and I am doing all the thinking for which CC to send her to.

Cookie,
so fast leh, 3 months hor?

copied this from my spree thread in marketplace for your convenience

payment updates

drugstore #4
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Payment Summary</TD><TD> TOTAL </TD><TD> Paid </TD><TD> Owe </TD></TR><TR><TD>wenyl</TD><TD> $30.93 </TD><TD> $31.79 </TD><TD> $(0.86) </TD></TR><TR><TD>durianlover</TD><TD> $7.24 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $7.24 </TD></TR><TR><TD>slee16</TD><TD> $15.69 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $15.69 </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookie</TD><TD> $7.24 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $7.24 </TD></TR><TR><TD>valerie</TD><TD> $34.49 </TD><TD> $34.25 </TD><TD> $0.24 </TD></TR><TR><TD>denmy</TD><TD> $34.32 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $34.32 </TD></TR><TR><TD>SY</TD><TD> $55.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $55.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>flo</TD><TD> $17.41 </TD><TD> $17.72 </TD><TD> $(0.31) </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheng</TD><TD> $25.04 </TD><TD> $24.83 </TD><TD> $0.21 </TD></TR><TR><TD>rena</TD><TD> $6.02 </TD><TD> $1.58 </TD><TD> $4.44 </TD></TR><TR><TD>cel_wong</TD><TD> $15.08 </TD><TD> $15.40 </TD><TD> $(0.32) </TD></TR><TR><TD>god's child</TD><TD> $15.69 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $15.69 </TD></TR><TR><TD>librao</TD><TD> $15.69 </TD><TD> $15.00 </TD><TD> $0.69 </TD></TR><TR><TD>prettycloud</TD><TD> $28.95 </TD><TD> $29.00 </TD><TD> $(0.05) </TD></TR><TR><TD>apple_d</TD><TD> $17.29 </TD><TD> $17.00 </TD><TD> $0.29 </TD></TR><TR><TD>karen_ghl</TD><TD> $18.69 </TD><TD> $17.00 </TD><TD> $1.69 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

jshopper #5
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>durianlover</TD><TD> $34.83 </TD><TD> $34.83 </TD></TR><TR><TD>mashy</TD><TD> $24.84 </TD><TD> $96.66 </TD></TR><TR><TD>rachel</TD><TD> $49.55 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>god's child</TD><TD> $19.44 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

luckyvitamin #10, #11, #12
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nick</TD><TD> Total </TD><TD>paid</TD><TD>owe</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Denmy</TD><TD> $7.24 </TD><TD> $7.32 </TD><TD> $(0.08)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cookie</TD><TD> $52.84 </TD><TD> $52.92 </TD><TD> $(0.08)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Clare</TD><TD> $7.24 </TD><TD> $7.32 </TD><TD> $(0.08)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rena</TD><TD> $48.42 </TD><TD> $50.00 </TD><TD> $(1.58)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Krissie</TD><TD> $69.54 </TD><TD> $69.54 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunny</TD><TD> $9.31 </TD><TD> $9.31 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Flo</TD><TD> $11.30 </TD><TD> $11.35 </TD><TD> $(0.05)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>valerie</TD><TD> $7.32 </TD><TD> $7.37 </TD><TD> $(0.05)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chickenlittle</TD><TD> $41.67 </TD><TD> $41.67 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tabbiseus</TD><TD> $111.88 </TD><TD> $111.93 </TD><TD>$(0.05)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mezzo17</TD><TD> $30.84 </TD><TD> $34.19 </TD><TD> $(3.35)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>missmoon</TD><TD> $63.40 </TD><TD> $63.40 </TD><TD> $0.00 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>annie</TD><TD> $254.03 </TD><TD> $240.00 </TD><TD> $14.03 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ziann</TD><TD> $40.17 </TD><TD> $40.17 </TD><TD> $0.00 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ainchon</TD><TD> $152.65 </TD><TD> $156.00 </TD><TD> $(3.35)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ginger</TD><TD> $43.33 </TD><TD> $43.00 </TD><TD> $0.33 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>busymummy</TD><TD> $26.72 </TD><TD> $26.72 </TD><TD> $(0.00)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>eggpecially</TD><TD> $45.06 </TD><TD> $45.06 </TD><TD> $(0.00)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ish</TD><TD> $31.70 </TD><TD> $31.70 </TD><TD> $0.00 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tinkerbell28</TD><TD> $30.84 </TD><TD> $30.84 </TD><TD> $(0.00)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>sunshinekid</TD><TD> $13.36 </TD><TD> $13.00 </TD><TD> $0.36 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>miffy_cheeks</TD><TD> $100.40 </TD><TD> $100.40 </TD><TD> $(0.00)</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>SMURF28</TD><TD> $20.81 </TD><TD> $20.81 </TD><TD> $0.00 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

figures in ( ) indicate a credit. Amt will be credited towards excess shipping charges when packages arrive, if any. Otherwise, amount will be refunded if the shipping charges are final based on actual weight

I've not totalled the amounts for those who joined more than 1 spree cuz they're all in different spreadsheets (sorry, too many pages to keep in 1 file). Please help by totalling up your final figures and TT the final amount to me. tks.

Rena,
I've credited the $1.58 excess from your luckyvitamin payment into your drugstore payment as shown above.

cali bb spree - last spree of the year - cali bb items only

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>flo</TD><TD>California Baby - Calendula Cream - 2 oz.</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>tracy</TD><TD>California Baby - Calendula Cream - 2 oz.</TD><TD>5 </TD></TR><TR><TD>flo</TD><TD>California Baby - Calming Shampoo & Bodywash - 17.5 oz</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>flo</TD><TD>Calming Botanical Moisturizing Cream 4 oz</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>flo</TD><TD>Calming Hair Conditioner 8.5 oz</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>tabbiseus</TD><TD>California Baby - Calming Aromatherapy Bubble Bath - 13 oz.</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

anymore orders?

wenyl - i got the angel bb monitor. I like it v much. super clear.

sunny
wat may said is true.. Ger's CC also had a boy which was like that. thus, my decisiion to put Ger in sch before #2 is born. else, is u wait for #1 to be used to #2, say when #2 is 6mths old.. but, I must say that Ger is much more sticky after #2 is born.. so v tiring for the caregivers.

sorry to intrude mummies...
happened to scroll down and saw the name wharton.
just to share my experiences in wharton..and hope this helps

My DS is currently in wharton. Had to be on the waiting list for abt 6 mths before he could get in.
Quite happy...and son is also happy to attend. Went to a few trials in other CC. Including MMI beofre settling on Wharton
-fees abt 730+ i tink after subsidy.
-teachers are nice..and speak quite well..
-has their own playground...so dun nid to share playground wif outsiders.
-quite strict abt the chid sick rule. SO far...DS only has some sniffles. Nothing that abd. ANd they only has one case of HMDP...and it was an isolated case.
they have a teacher who is assigned to stay wif the kid for the 1st week or two. To allow kid to adapt.
- They keep you updated thru emails and sms.

Anyway...its quite traumatizing for kid to attend full day of cc if they have never been to any playgrps b4. WOuld be good to start slow i tink. Son hasn't had any problems intergrating into any playgrp or cc so far.

Started with once a week playgrp...for 90 mins at GUG. Dan a 3 times/week montessori playgrp for 2 mths...dan increase to 5 times/week for another 3 mths...after that..started CC. SOn did not cry when we send him there...only sometimes when it was time to go home.

started cc just before 2nd one was born.

RE: BB Monitor
Thank you so much for ur valuable inputs! Appreciate it!
kiss.gif

May,
My hb can also hi5 with urs! He isnt really involved in searching for CC. I m doing all the searching and shortlisting. U are not alone.

Audrey,
Welcome! I think what u suggested is good. To start the todds off with once a week playgrp and slowly increase to 3x a week playgrp and eventually CC....to help them get accustom to going to school. Btw, what is the age gap betw ur 2 kiddos?

Wenyl, May
Me too man. So far my hb also never involved. He only started to get involved in JG class now. Many thanks to mummies who ask daddy to take over second half of class, then I can have a break.

Audrey,
Welcome and your arrangement is so nicely planned out. Wharton realli sounds good but so exp.

ky, audrey, sysac
thanks for the info on the cc available in cck area. really appreciate that.

sysac
i thought of kinderland cck, too. still keep my option open 1st, and do more research meanwhile.

wenyl, may, CL
my hb also nvr involved unless i asked him to find out certain cc. and i still need to give him a list of qn to ask. haha....

audrey
the price you stated for Wharton is for full day or half day?

Hi Aileen,

Ashley is in East Coast Children House at East Coast Road. The teacher and children ratio is about 1:5 which is very good.

The principal will call every other two months to update on the child progress and highlight their concerns if any. End of the semester, they conduct a teacher and parents meeting. That's where i learn about what ashley has been doing and why it is important and what they are trying to teach.

During circle time and some other activity, they mixed Nursery and Kindergarden students together so taht the older one can teach the younger ones and also build up their leadership qualities. The younger ones will have a chance to observe and imitate the older ones and that's how they learn too.

LIke i said before, the school do not concentrate strictly on academic alone but also on general knowledge some simple science etc....

Just saw on the news update via newsletter that they are also doing simple baking and cooking so that they can learn the concept of measurement, weight and length.

Overall hubby and i do not regret sending Ashley to the school dispite the expensive fees....

Per term (Jan- March etc) is $1350. Only for 2 hours x 5 days.

But we can see Ashley has improve alot in her speech, pronounciation (Phonics), maths concept and general knowledge. Don;t know how to explain but ashley can visualise and grasp things faster.... For example i was telling her about her water bottle is exactly the same as Megan except hers contain more water... her immediate response was that then hers will be heavier than Megan's bottle......... I am surprise she can relate the weight of water etc....

Ashley is 4 years old and she can hold a conversation quite well....

She was asking me about piercing the ears for ear rings and i told her they use a gun with a needle and pierce thru. She stared at me in horror and with amazement when she learnt i did mine when i was five... She asked "Huh? Are you scared?" I said yes but it wasn't that painful. She think for a while and said "Well, i think i will do mine when i am 10...." Haha.

Re: School Search

I'm also looking for a 3hr playgroup to start from next year. My hb also said 'u decide lor'. So angry sometimes. He's so uninvolved. Anyway, it'll just be for half a year, after that, my boy will be transferred to the church kindergarten that my MIL teaches in.

So for pri sch, we've already decided to send our boy to my hb's alma mater,. So no prob abt that. If next time i've a gal, she will go to mine.

Hi May, my hb also left it to my decision, although he was invited to give his final opinion before we sign on the line.... yes, I did all the hunting and the "reports" for him.

CL, the price of 700+ is for fullday at Wharton. how much u paying for Charmaine... too many posts to look thru'

Aileen, wat's your plan for fetching Edgar around? u seem to be looking at a rather big area.

.ky.

Hmmm likewise for me, i am also the one to do the searching and reporting to my hubby. I also joke i am his free secretary...........

Even for Primary school, we long decide to enrol ashley to the one just across the street butt o improve our chances, we need to join HKHK but it is still me downloading the application form, fill up for him etc..... He only need to sign.... So easy life right?

Hi May
My Hb also leave the school hunting to me but I will ask him to view the school with me if possible. He will give me his opinion after that but usually nothing much, either he will say up to me or he reall dun like it.

I am also thinking about logistics when ashley attend Primary school....

We stay in SK and my mum who is the care giver during daytime stays in Tampines. Our choice of pri sch is in SK..... My intent is for ashley to go to my sister's house after school since my sister stay two blocks away from me while my mum continue to look after megan. But that means Ashely and megan don;t get to spend time together in the day time.... Plus if i need to go tampines to fetch megan after work and then go back SK to fetch ashley......... somehow i feel bad and also jealous that ashley is spending more time with my sister than with me.... Cos ashley will be having lunch and dinner at my sister's place while hubby and me and megan eats at my mum's palce.... ashley will feel so left out........

So i was considering if by then, should i send Megan to Full time CC at SK so that it is easier for me logistic wise. But my mum is not for full day CC.......

Thou it's another two years away, already in a dilemma.....

Hi Mamapanda - Can you kindly PM me the account number to tsf you the $35.47 i owe u for the first teeth and jshopper? Can i chk if it is possible for me to pick up the items tmr morning say bout 9am? too early? as for the california bb cream, can i just order 1 tub? thanks!!!

HI mummies

Re: Schools
I have to do the research on my own 1st, shortlist and narrow down to 2-3 then bring hb down to view and get a feel if he's comfortable with the place where we might wanna place D in. My hb's willing to give opinions, but I gotta do all the legwork 1st and then propose the shortlisted few...

Pri. School
Like Mashy, likely all my children will go to my alma mater, since I joined the alumni and possibly forsee myself being a little more active as an alumni member. So I guess D will be attending FMPS.

Rachel - I didn't get the email regarding your bank acct to transfer the Gogo Payment. Pls re-send

May - I think HBs are involved in discussion and not legwork. It's the inbuilt thing btwn men & women. Haha...I prefer it this way though.

CL - Yep, won't make sense for you to rush bk to CCK to pick up yr children from CC. No one lives near u to pick them up if u r late rite? For me, I work & live near home so can put Cephas near ofc or within CCK. Plus I have my ILS living here too. It's a matter of time my parents will move in with me too when my dad retires. In any emergencies that I can't get to Cephas, he'll have HB, my ILs or my parents plus my god-dau's parents
All angles are covered.

Sunny - Hope u will be able to decide without too much worries
Take yr time and plan carefully

Spent the morning re-arranging Cephas room and throwing away his empty boxes. Room looks different now
Anyway, I plan to sell his bb seat away. Used this to let him sleep in the hall or feed him when he started on his semi-solids before he graduated to the hi-chair. Anyone interested? If not, will put it up in the mktplace.

Bought it at $59 in Jan 06. Willing to let go at $25 now. In a clean & good condition.

1029847.jpg

sysac,

Ha ha that was a rocker I was deciding between FP infant to toddler rocker. Hey I help you ask my sil's sis if she wants.

Me going to revamp the kids room too after I sell away the wardrobe and chest of drawers. Ha ha.

Hey your wardrobe in the pics is a build in ?

Primary school
My hb wanted to enrol charmaine in just any neighbourhood school in CCK. I told him even if want , I want De La Selle which is juz downstairs. But me old gal of nanyang pri so why have risk not getting into the school downstairs for one which I can definitely registered with no sweat. This man ha ha sometimes I dun understand.

Back from BKK trip
Hi, I got back from my biz trip from BKK on Friday. Tot JW will miss me...but guess wat, he was more interested in my trolley bag than me. Wasn't even excited to see me. Urgh. Then when we reach home, he told me to go away and wanted only my MIL. So hurt....To think i rushed back on Friday flight out to see him.

anyone has feedback on NUK teats? I'm currently using avent actually, but my CL suggests that we use NUK, saying that the teat is similar to the nipple and that i can just buy the teat and use it with my medela bottle. is that true?

SH
Maybe you have to spend a bit more time with you when you are in SIN. I think your MIL has become his main caregiver , and probably everything they give in to him so he will look for her.

Krissie,
I used to use NUK for Charmaine. I always just replace the teat with cover on the medela bottle , and feed the EBM for Charmaine. Quite convenient. Now using avent because my sil always says the opening bigger so easier to pour milk powder in.

ky,
we bought another car esp for my dad to ferry edgar to and fro school, so distance wise is not so much a problem. but we wouldn't venture too far off either. of coz the nearer the better.

Krissie

if ur bb can cope with silicon teats without nipple confusion or bottle rejection.. no need to change to the funny shaped teats that NUK uses... my lac consultant told me this i asked cos everyone in my july thread switched to nuk cos its more like natural.. but then they find afterwards, when they started on the latex tips.. which is softer, hard to switch back to the silicon.. unless ur dd has problems i wouldn't waste money switching.. i am using avent and pigeon all the way.

Re : Pri School,

When I started telling folks I'm thinking of venturing further, some advices came cautioning me not to go too far ... kids have CCA and it'll be easier if they fall sick to come home.... these are cases where the schoolbus will not be able to help. CL, so I have "downgraded" to within CCK. Have submitted my PV application ... hubby's alma mater's in Bukit Batok but I think that's considerably far. Another consideration I have for 2 kids is the sessions that they will be in if they go into the same school ... I want them to be in the same session...

.ky.

yuki,
so good that you managed to find a school that's good. i'm having difficulty finding a school which i deem is perfect. seems like there's really nothing perfect in this world. if only i can combine rosy hearts, babies inc and cherie hearts. then it will be in my opinion the perfect school!! haha!

tabb, CL
thks for the feedback. am more enlightened now. I thinking of buying another set of bottles for her. thinking of the Bfree ones, coz I read in the mags that the plastic used does not contain some ingredient (unlike the rest of the bottles) which causes cancer.

anyone using Bfree?

Krissie,
My ex colleague is using Bfree. Cos her son has got colic so she changed from Avent to Bfree. Jamie has been using NUK Premium with Silicon Teats. So far so good. Only disadvantage is for size 2, the hole are small too. So I have to cut a cross so that Jamie can finish her milk faster. They state there that there is size 3 but I can't find it in Singapore leh. Will see if I can find it online.

Sysac,
U not planning for #2? Why dun keep it first?

finally can log in and catch up! back from osaka! the trip was fun but weather was quite hot in the day. we din expect such hot weather and brought all long sleeves.

one thing funny abt japan. how come the shops only carry one size clothes? dun really understand but almost everywhere i went only has M size for tops.

JH has become really fussy abt food. he will reject a lot of food and takes only rice and bread during the trip.

re schools
i m also looking for a sch for next year. think must step up my school search cos not much time already.

as for Hb, he doesn't really make much effort but i will make him go and see with me for those that i m really interested in. he said he will go but so far not yet so keeping my fingers crossed.

yuki
my neighbour's kid goes to east coast children house too. think it has very good reviews, does ashley take sch bus?