(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Cookie,
Pics of K&K so sweet....

Flo,May,Cookie,
Meg's speech is ok lah, she's got advantage cos she has two older cousins at home to learn from. But she only talks when with familiar company. When she's with strangers, she will not open her golden mouth except when its time to say bye bye.

She can speak but can't read..she doesn't know how to read alphabets. Only identify pictures.

Flo,
Meg also likes to wear my shoes around the house..the heels type. She will say 'nice nice' and put them on...Good luck for your trip! I'm sure you will enjoy it. Haha, cough mixture to zonk her out? If it doesn't work, zonk out yourself and leave to the crew to handle. Hahaha..

Flo

Let your gal try outside food during the hols? I intend to just let my boy eat with us when we're there. Whether it's udon, soba, or rice. But guess have to avoid ramen coz their ramen soup base is usually very salty. We've even let him try cooked sushi. He seems alright with it. My only qualms abt Japan is they hardly serve vege. Mainly pickles and salad.

Yuki
Megan is very advance already. My boy still can't do any of those things u mentioned except slip on my hb's slippers and shoes and walked ard in them.

Honda Edix,
Flo, that is the next car that we are looking at. We are also lured by the fact that Caleb can sit in the front with us. But we are not changing so fast la since the current car still ok.

May,
yup, we will be putting Caleb in a 3 hour playgroup near my ma's place next year. But should start only mid next year.

Yuki,
Caleb does not really speak in sentences. Still words only.
He will try to bend over and peel off his slipper's velcro, but we always help him to remove. Maybe its time to let him learn and be independent.. heehee
Nope, he doesnt know how to put on shoes and he does not know his alphabets. He only ID pictures.

Yuki,
Ya.. Megan is very advance already. Jamie can't do any of these too. Same as mashy's boy, likes to slip into hb's shoes but too heavy for her to walk cos hb is wearing safety shoes to work.

RE: Go-Go Bag
Mummies, I calculated already. It is not worth to ship from US to Singapore with the shipping charges and discount that the lady is giving. So we shall wait for the babejoy's BP cos she mentioned will start one soon and will be giving 20% discount during BP, she has got new stocks coming in too.

RE: Singpost
I bought a ON dress from the marketplace. $18 and owner offered free normal post. She posted last wed but till now I dun receive it leh. She told me she will check with singpost but no news till now. Should I request from refund? Am I unreasonable to request for it?

LV backorders
Good news. Backorders have been shipped but there will be some extra shipping charges because the backorders were sent in a seperate box, hence, more shipping charges. I'll let u all know how much extra was incurred when I received the boxes.

Morning All

My colleague just sent this interesting Left-Brain Right-Brain Test. I have been staring at it for the longest time and still do not see the girl turning Anti-Clockwise. Therefore, I am convinced that my LEFT Brain is either DEAD or Non-Existent. Try this!!

LeftBrain - RightBrain Test
http://www.news.com.au/perthnow/story/0,21598,22492511-5005375,00.html

CL,
ic... true lah, it's only sg where cars are expensive.

honda edix,
i also like it. but my hb doesnt. maybe can try to convince him! keke...

mamapanda, thanks for the feedback for mazda. will pop by this weekend to check it out.

tabby

i'm right brain dominant coz mine is clockwise first. It only changed when i change my way of looking at things. Seems that you're quite even.

geez....i'm still seeing clockwise all the way. Only anti-clockwise when i look at it tilted...confirm left brain is dead.

Masy/Tracy
No use... i tried tilting my head, closing 1 eye(then the other), covering with my hair/fingers, standing far far away... STILL its clockwise. My left brain Mei De Jiu liao... =(

clare
if u see it anti-clockwise, it means u use your left brain more. I also can only see it turning anti-clockwise. My hb showed me this 2 months back and it took me a long time before i can see it turning both ways.

wenyl - same here i also like the idea of having all my boys sleeping with us. i feel more secure being able to watch the 2 at any time. in another way, it does help to save electricity too. the only downside is that we are afraid the bb will wake the older one up. but so far, Caleb seems to be a sound sleeper.

flo - ya tats true..as long as they do a good job. wow..so ya doing a major reno. so where will u be staying for the time being? sure u can pop over my place when ya free. so far, only rena came before when our CL was here. She did comment on my huge sized kitchen

cookie - wow..nice pic of them. ok, let me show mine too. hee...
1015262.jpg

Yuki,

every kids are differnt .. so do not compare if not you will feel pressured.

My e still can't say sentences but this moment he can count 1-10 but only when he has the mood. he can recongise the all 26 letters but not in the correct order...no is till his favourite ... and go outside too..

but i am not rushing into it...

Mamapanda,
I can't see tubing on drugstore though I see the other replacement parts.

SY,
I found this store - babytalk that ships internationally but there's no difference in shipping cost whether you are shipping 1 tubing or 4 tubings. Am checking out others at the same time.

Re: Spinning girl
At first instance, the girl is spinnign anti-clockwise then I looked at her feet and looked up again - she's spinning clockwise.

Charmaine still speaks single words only. Can't say alphabets but she does associations? Like when we say dog, she would go woof woof and when she sees the picture of a kettle she will say pour or hot. She can take off her shoes. She can slip into her shoes but not really to wear them.

Flo,
What kind of cough mixture will make mel zonk out? I think polaramine has some kind of drowsy effect BUT the drowsy effect does not take place for my energizer bunny. Btw, Dr Khor's going on leave - think she will be back only on next week? In time for your trip?

Aileen, just a word of caution about mpvs with sliding doors. I've heard of accidents where some people's fingers got slammed.

Honda edix is actually wider than normal cars, so parking may be a bit more difficult especially at HDB multi-storey carparks.

Yuki, kirsten can at the most speak 2-word sentences but can mumble to herself non-stop with a few recognizable words. Never fail to make me laugh when she's mumbling. She can take off and put on shoes and when we tell her 'wrong side', she will change sides herself. She can only recognize a few alphabets but i didn't teach her on purpose. More from sesame street and B for basement when we take lifts. Don't need to worry whether they are fast or slow in these areas. It's probably just a few months difference.

Flo, tracy, kirsten loves to wear shoes or slippers at home or whereever she sees them. When we pass by shoe shops like Bata or Clarks, she must go in and take out her own shoe and try on the display shoes, especially the heel types. Super hiao za bo! I always have to apologize to the shop keepers for messing up their display. So embarassing cos she will cry so badly when we drag her away.

Clare, me too. Only clockwise direction.

valerie,
ok thanks. will take note. think i may just end up buying a small sedan since it's only for my dad to send edgar to school. just sounded out my hb about edix, before i could say anything, he said no liao! coz it's parallel imported!

edgar loves to wear our shoes too, including my heels! and not forgetting hairclips too! think he's more vain than kirsten! must go and look at the mirror somemore.

SSF, the 2 brothers have the same facial features. But didi has more hair hor? So cute!

Mamapanda, oh great! I don't mind paying a bit more for the shipping charges. I actually need it now after we brought Kirsten to the new children's garden (Jacob Ballas, I think is the name) on Tuesday. I forgot the mozzie repellent cos brought her to Mt A for her heart checkup first. Wah, her limbs like got pink polka dots cos of the mozzie bites. Can only use mopiko now.

Oh, but other than that, the new garden is really nice but I think the kids will enjoy it more when they get older. There're water playground, a maze, treehouse, small ponds and little gardens. Also have function rooms for rental if I'm not wrong.

aileen, haha, edgar is such a vainpot. Think he will be a male model in future. He looks a bit japanese, so got potential model qualities.

Yuki,
What my Isaac can do:
1. Speak in sentence? - NO. Only mono/dual syllabus words. I was SO happy when he could finally call me 'Mummy' properly last week. previously it was just 'Ma' and then 'Mee'.
2. Take off shoes - Sometimes, not successful all the time.
3. Put on own shoes - NO. Attempts to, but I think cannot lah. He can put on my slippers and walk around though.
4. Knows alphabet - Yes. Can associate all the alphabets to objects. Like A-apple, b - ball etc. Also knows how to read a few simple words like apple, ball, car, dog. He recognises numbers from 1-12 but still doesn't really know how to count on his own. Can recognise shapes, basic colurs and some opposites like big/small, light / dark.

I also think each child is different lah... Like some are advance in motor skills, some in speech... eventually, all of our babies will catch up.

May,
Yah, I also think you should ask you mom to not show herself until the end of the class. I guess no choice but to tahan. Give another 2 weeks and see how.
Usually if you order something and collection go by normal mail, it's difficult to ask for refund since you have no evidence that the fault lies with the seller.
If you request for a refund, it's also unfair to the seller if the fault lies with Singpost. If you doubt the seller, the seller can also doubt you.
So there's no win-win. Only thing is see if the seller is willing to give a partial refund.

cookie / SSF,
So nice to see pictures of your 2 darlings.

krissie,
Glad to hear that the jaundice level has gone down.

Mamapanda / Flo / SY,
Enjoy your trip! It'll be a challenge entertaining your tods on the flights. But I'm sure you all can manage!

Re. hives
Thanks for all your advice. I'm not sure what's causing the allergies. It's weird cos there are 2 occasions when he was fine in the day and then broke out in hives the middle of the night while sleeping. He will break out at my place and also in my in-laws place. Nothing unusual in his diet. I think I'll just have to standby anihistamine and try to manage it as far as possible. Last night he broke out again, after 2 days of non-breakouts.

valerie,
At first we thought it's bedsheets as well. But change the bedsheets also like that. I also use my Delphin to vacuum the bed. Still like that. Heat is possible... but if it's heat, it's difficult to manage liao.

queen,

Charmaine recently also had an accident like this except that it's rashes, not hives. The spots would come and go. So I took some pics and shown the PD and she asked us to bring charmaine to see you. It turned out that the spots are due to an infection. After medication, cleared up already and remains clear. Perhaps seek PD's advice?

Flo
think Mel can take outside food in france? or bring some cereals along just in case? for our japan trip, i m not cooking for JH also. intend to let him eat our food. it will be his 'graduating' to our table trip..haha

so u decided to let her take the cough med to zonk out on flight? how long can they zonk out for?

honda edix
i dun quite like the look of it though i think it is overall quite functional cos got more space

sl
let me know abt the tubing. i will want to get one pair

think u r referring to mycoplasma infection? JH also took the antibiotics for it.

queen
cd it be dustmites? dustmites can only be killed by washing the bedsheets in very hot water. sunning doesn't help. it only cause them to go deeper into the mattress

re metro expo sale
mummies i went for the sale yesterday. not much stuff. bought a crayola dough set and some faber color pencils. for clothes, got him some elle clothes at $9 each

Hi Cookie and SSF - the pics of your precious 2 very cute and adorable!!! 2 babies in a pic sure look very very nice!
brightened up my day... hee

Re: Right and Left brain
i first saw it clockwise , then anticlockwise... very interesting test hee..

Yuki - my gal stil into singular or 2 word sentences.. her most clever singlish sentence is ' You ar!' she says it as tho she is 'scolding' hee... tat day MIL accidentally dropped sometin into the sink which resulted in a loud thud. Celeste was in her hi-chair having lunch, and when she heard it, she turned and looked at MIL : you ar! tat was a funni one :p as for wearing shoes, she can oni slot her feet in for her crocs and not other types...

re: Left brain & right brain test
no matter how long i look at the pix, it's still turning clock wise. haha...

hehe... now i can see both side. the anti clock wise one is provided i don't concentrate on seeing the dancer.

yuki
my gal can only say single or 2 words. and noticed that she can pick up chinese word faster than english word. mayb more ppl around her speak in mandarin.
she's trying hard to wear her own sandals, can wear slippers quite easily. there was once she insisted to wear a pair of shoes, then we told her if she can wear it her own, she can wear that to go out, else, she will wear the sandals that we choose. end up, she managed to wear the shoes (those mary janes type) her own after trying for more than 5 minutes with cries 'cos of frustration. haha...

re: shoes/sandals/slippers
mummies, could you share what good brand of shoes/sandals/slippers you have bought for your kids?

Hi Queen,

Food allergy might also be the caused for Hives.
Nuts
Eggs
Fresh fruits (especially citrus)
Chocolates
Fish and shellfish
Tomatoes
Spices
Yeasts;

there might be more, but these are what i can recall currently. BTW, did you give issac any special diet that he normally dont take.

Sunny - i like Colette shoes, friction very good and also pretty hee... am gona get one new pair soon, she has outgrown her earlier pair...

RE: Shoes/Sandals/slippers
Shoes - Clarks, BubbleGummers(Bata brand), Minnie Mouse Design, Hello Kitty Design (Both bought from Kiddy Palace)
Sandals - Clarks, Nike, Fake Croc
Slipper - Didn't get for her, think I read it somewhere that it is not good for toddlers to wear as the gripping part will cause deform bones or something like that.

Might try Colette but must find chance to go without hb and my dad. Cos they have been nagging we bought too many shoes for Jamie already.

Krissie;
Congrats on the arrival of #2

Re:Sleeping thru the night

Tabbie;
Soo envious. How did u get Thad to sleep through the night? Gabby is still waking up for milk 1-2 times at night. I am so zonked out...

Re: Shoes

So far only tried combi and it's good. Regretted not buying more pairs of different sizes when it was on sale. Like their 2 soles of different sizes that u can change as they grow.

Sandals
Bubble gummers & Cerisi (same type, think they are OEM)

wendyl

RE: no2
Thad and tabby have been sleeping together with us in the same room, but what happens is that the first month, i had to have a separate room where i will breastfeed thad in. I try to breastfeed thad first until he's zonked out.. at 9ish and try to quickly put tabby to sleep and get daddy to help keep thad entertained if he isn't asleep and then once tabby is asleep and thad wakes up.. my hb will come and wake me up and get me to go out to feed thad. That usually is his last feed for the night b4 i put him in his cot in the same room.. sometimes tabby will wake up and scream a bit.. but initally have to get daddy to help pacify her but most times she doesn't wake up, or i will breastfeed and pat her back to sleep simultaneously.

Cass
I didn't do anything! But he's still not completely sleeping thro yet... so far i've had 3 good nights and 1 where he woke up at 2 for a feed, but i think at least he's showing some signs of sleeping thro.. his last feed is 9is and he may wake for another feed at 1-2... if he doesn't i'm usually home free til 5-6 am which is good enough for me.

i'm still latching on in the evenings.. bottle feed during the day cos i'm at work.

i can only see the dancer turn anti clockwise. my hb can only see it turn clockwise....

does it have anything to do with left hander/right hander? i m right hander and left brain and he is left hander right brain

The huggalugs are here. Some of the colours looked quite different on the website plus the ones with patterns have "loose" threads on the inner sides.

CL, cheng,
I will pass you yours during JG on Sun.

Denmy,
Will ask my hubby to leave yours at your shop.

The rest of hte mummies, let me know how you are going to collect?
Options:
1) At my place - Yishun
2) My mum's place - Upper Thomson
3) Town area

Thks.