(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Mamapanda
Have transferred the $ to your POSB a/c. OIC...heehee I'll joining u cos I'll be flying to and fro France/Sin with Mel alone. Hope she'll be a good gal.

thanks mummies for all the well wishes and concern. Bb's jaundice is now better and dropped to a safe level of 9.8.
am so relieved. Plus, she put on some wt.. her wt is now 3.16kg, up from the 3.02kg at the last PD visit.

Mamapanda,
I have transferred to u $31.79 for the drugstore payment. Pls kindly check. Many Thanks!

Krissie,
Congrats on ur new arrival!
Glad to hear that ur princess's jaundice is improving. Hang in there! My hb got a sounding wake up call when I told him u have delivered, cos tat means, I will be next on the list to pop! Ahhhh!
kao_scared.gif

Mummies with #2 newborn.....
Does ur newborn sleep in the same room as u?

Me & hb still discussing whether to let #2 room in with us? Cos E is sleeping in the same room as us and sad to say....we are also one of the ke lian chong cos these nights he does wake up crying at least once or twice at midnight and in the early am for milk. Dunno if its growth spurt or teething discomfort (can see the big molar coming out). Then, if we room in our #2, I can forsee my hb will be waking up at least 3-4 times at night for the 2 boys. Sure Or-Bak-Kak one! If we place #2 in a separate room, then hb will be spared being disturb by #2.

Maybe I shld consider using bottle feed for the last feed to see if #2 can sleep thru too. Tat is my ultimate dream! Cos I still remember E only managed to sleep thru some nights after turning 1 when I replaced direct latching for night feeds with FM.

Really envy those parents whose bbs/todds can sleep thru the nights!

mamapanda
i leave it to you to decide on the arrangement for the order.

tabbie
congrats! you can have good sleep from now on. my gal started waking up middle of the night to look for me. and she doesn't want daddy to bring her to bed. only want me.... so tired... i wonder if it's because she feels insecured as she seems to know that mummy is having a bb now. but luckily, she does not wake up every night.

wenyl
i am also having some headache on the sleep arrangement as in who would attend to the kids when they cry at the same time and the big one would only want mummy.

but definitely, i will have the same practice that i had with my #1 i.e. the bb will sleep alone in his/her own room.
but this means parents would be more tired as need to go to the room to attend the the bb when he/she cries for milk or other stuff.
my gal can sleep thru at 2.5 mth old and i remember the last feed was direct latch, not thru bottle feed leh.

RE: Jamie's Playgroup
Sigh.. was telling u all that Jamie enjoys it. Monday was the official start of school where she carry school bag and water bottle. First day it was ok cos she occasionally still peep out to check if my mum was there.

Tues and Wed, she start to chant "ah ma" during lesson. Suddenly think of my mum, she will start chanting. Teacher will try to distract her. But she started crying out once she saw my mum peeping outside. Cry till she vomit. I wonder how will she react today in school. My mum is nagging me for putting Jamie in 2hrs class daily at such a young age.

Wonder if I have done the right thing? Sigh.. although it is heartpain to see her cry like that but I really saw some improvement in her manners and speech. She starts to allow pple to play toys, waited patiently for that kid to move away then she start playing. And she start to say "Piss" when she want things from us.

May
There is a phase they need to go through. Just keep repeating to her that ah mah will bring her there, cannot go in because it is a place for xiao peng you only. Then assure her after she play with friends, Ah mah will bring her home. Have to repeat and repeat then soon she will get used.

Hee Hee I am also dumping Aden to childcare next year. Dec will bring him few hours till he got used. Now I am cracking my brain on how to tell nanny

hmm May, maybe u can ask ur mum not to hang around the playgroup so that jaime will not see her and start to fuss?
Just drop her to school and go off.

May,
Give Jamie 2 weeks to adjust to the playgroup and also it helps if ah-ma does not peep in. During the first 2 weeks, my MIL made sure she was early to pick her up, so she wouldn't feel neglected when she sees no one outside after class for her.

Meg took 2 weeks to adjust to her 2hr daily playgroup and now, she even can tell us 'I wan go school'. And when my MIL drops her off at school now, she doesn't even bother saying bye to MIL. So hang in there...they will learn to adjust. Don't give up so soon.

Some say I very cold (heehee). I only accompanied her for the trial class, thereafter the first day of school onwards I left to MIL to send. I didn't go peep in at her etc. I guess I was confident the teachers will handle her well, which they did.

Yesterday, she was late for class and when she arrived there was no one outside already. MIL said she just pushed opened the main door herself, walked past the reception and went to the classroom door and knocked on it. The teacher opened and she simply walked in.

Thanks for the conforting/encouraging words!

Jamie is fine with going to school. If you ask her about school, she will smile and nod her head wanting to go. Just that my mum and her just can't let go of each other. So I am very hard-hearted to tear them apart. Haha..

I intend to let her attend 2hrs, might change to a childcare 1yr later when I am expecting #2. Long way to go but I am planning ahead, else my mum cannot take care of 2 at a time.

CL,
U plan to put Aden full day next year? Wonder what will the nanny react also. I will have problem opening my mouth if I were u.

SeptBride,
Ya.. I already tell my mum today. Drop her off at school, wait for abt 10mins until she settle down then leave. Be there early to wait for her to finish class. Will u be putting Caleb in playgroup too?

Tracy,
Meg started speaking sentences already? Jamie only know how to say "DU(2) DU(1)" which means DU SHU for her.

May,
After her playgroup since September, she started forming sentences. Quite fun to hear her. She can say,'I like you.'....'Mummy go work'...'Daddy go work oso'...etc..

Krissie
Congrats on the arrival of your princess! Glad to hear that the jaundice level is starting to drop =) And for putting on weight too. =) Just try to let her feed on one side as much as possible to get more of the hind-milk which is the fat portion of BM =)

tabbiesus and esther
Congrats on your little ones who are starting to sleep through. You'll have better rest =)

Esther
Did your gynae follow up with you over your last check-up? Hope everything is fine for you.

Wenyl
Sounds really tricky wor. Actually, if I'm in your shoes, I would start to wean E to sleep in a separate room...but am not too sure on what's yours and hb's views lah. But whatever it is, am sure you'll make the best arrangements. I think bottle feeding the last feed to BB before bedtime might help them in sleeping through the night after the initial 2-3 months

Flo - wow! good that you got Pam's help for ur reno. she is really good. did you manage to get some discount from her? hee...so is the reno done already or yet to start? let me know your feedback after the work is completed.

mamapanda - wah 22 hrs of flight just u and Ariene. salute you! i dun think i can do it after my perth trip.

krissie - good to hear bb is doing fine. take care!

may
ya, give jamie more time to adjust. it normally takes more than 1 wk for the kids to adapt to the new changes when they go to playgroup/childcare.
i actually plan to send my gal for playgroup when she reaches 2 yo. my mil quite opposes to it and gv the reason like your mum that my gal is still too young. i think if i were to insist and send her to school, i need to stand my mil's nagging at the initial adjustment stage and when my gal is sick.... so, i am now not sure if i should still go ahead with my planning....

Mamachan,
My hb prefers E to sleep in the same room as us cos E cant do without aircon. So its more $$$ saving to just turn on 1 aircon for the 3 of us. Furthermore, we dun really like the idea of him sleeping in the other room which the maid is sleeping now. My guest room cant fit his bed cos there is a built-in queen bed there. Can only use as guest room. So, now we are contemplating whether to squeeze the bb cot there in the guest room so tat I will room in with #2 while hb and E sleeps in the masterbed room. ***headache headache***

Sunny,
Same here! Last week, we brot him to take his MMR. Had mild fever for 3 days and he got very manja. So, these nights E will only want mummy to attend to him. He will cry and cry and chase daddy away. Only when I go near him, he will stop crying. Dunno if its bcos i m due soon and he is feeling insecure or wat.

Hi Mamapanda, just transferred $34.25 to your acc. Ref: 1391459574.

Wenyl, we have been turning on air-con for kirsten's room and our room for hot days. So sim tia also but we rather have peaceful nights cos she's quite noisy at night. We going to put baby cot with us for initial months then transfer didi to sleep with jie jie when we feel they are ready.

krissie, congrats!!

may/CL,
i'll also be sending edgar to childcare next year. so lately i'm busy hunting and going for trials with him.i think edgar kinda prefer those homebased kind rather than centres. and it seems like he prefers longer hours compared to those 1-2hr playgroup coz he gets to play with the toys longer. he gets upset everytime he is asked to return the toys after a short while. so i tot childcare would be good for him in that sense as the hours are longer and they don't rush thru each activities.

so now, i'm scouting around for those around my neighbourhood. problem is they are mostly too far to walk from my place, or too near to take taxi or no direct bus kind. most likely gotta get a 2nd car for my dad to ferry him thru and fro school. btw does anyone know which car model has a seat which can swivel to face the outside so that it's easier to load and off load the child from the carseat? i remember seeing it but cant' remember what make and model. think it's a mpv.

wenyl,
when tyler arrives, we will still be sleeping in one room. but he will be in the cot, not our bed coz edgar is still sleeping with us on our bed. scared he will roll over di-di.

May,
Ya confirmed liao. Paid deposit and I am actually having sibling discount and corporate discount actually work out cheaper than nanny. But with nanny and playgroup, more money spent lor

So now is tell now advance notice, or tell her after her and my trip which is early Nov or what. I think she will cry, can tell she care a lot for him.

aileen
u can try the mazda5, Its not exceedingly big like other MPVs and it comes with a sliding door for easy get on-off. There's a mazda showroom (village credit) near ur house in bukit timah. Look for Nelson and tell him I recommended you. Nel's my friend of 16 years. We bought both our cars from him. The other models tat have sliding doors are all huge and difficult 2 drive. Space wise, thereis not much difference except a little extra boot space.

aileen
u can try the mazda5, Its not exceedingly big like other MPVs and it comes with a sliding door for easy get on-off. There's a mazda showroom (village credit) near ur house in bukit timah. Look for Nelson and tell him I recommended you. Nel's my friend of 16 years. We bought both our cars from him. The other models tat have sliding doors are all huge and difficult 2 drive. Space wise, thereis not much difference except a little extra boot space.

cookies,
the pic is so cute!!

mamapanda,
ok will check it out,thanks! thou we were actually only considering german cars or toyota and honda. my hb very "kia si" lah! :p

cookie
your 2 kids are so cute! smiley face. hehe...

wenyl
ya, ppl told me it's because my gal felt unsecured. but, i am only mid 2nd trimester and she already reacts like that.... i can't imagine when the #2 comes....

so many posting!

Valerie,
Got your pm - you didn't get mine? Ya, it's a bit far for the mummies to travel out to....

Tracy,

Megan's speech is good! my gal also single words now.

Krissie,
Congrats! Don't worry abt the jaundice level - it will come down. : )

CL,
Oh dear.. but I think it is better to inform the nanny earlier so at least she is mentally and emotionally prepared.

Tracy,
Wow..Meg's speech is so good. My gal is a parrot now.. she will follow what u say if being asked to. But must see her mood.

Aileen,
Was it Totoya Previa that seat can move out? I remember reading something like this too. But cannot recall.

aileen
Toyota used to be good. They suck now ever since they moved their production to thailand, unless u parallel import the japan made ones. Contrary to your beliefs, Mazda built quality is the best compared to Toyota, Honda, Mitsubitshi and Nissan, with Nissan being the worst, followed by Tom Yum Toyotas. Mazda cars are expensive here because their cars are still manufactured in their Hiroshima factory. Once, a Honda car scrapped my hb's car at the side when he tried to squeeze beside us at the causeway . Our side indicator lights cracked but the Honda was badly dented all the from front to rear door and had to replace both front and back seat doors. That's the difference in chasis toughness between a Honda and a Mazda.

Mamapanda,
Ya.. agree that Mazda Chasis is better than Honda. That's explain why Honda normal break into 2 during accident. Hopefully my Nissan will perform better than Tom Yum Toyotas. My ex-colleague is nagging at me for not supporting them as I mentioned that I dun want Tom Yum made car.

mamapanda,
oh really ar? then must tell my hb that. how about the fuel consumption?

maywong,
ok let me check out the website for toyota previa. thks!

Aileen,

I visited the Mazda Car Factory in Hiroshima very impressed with what they show me. Mazda is quite a good buy now though somehow resale value Toyota and Honda still better

may/CL,
ya i know honda is very "soft". but i was assuming that all jap cars are like that. ok, this weekend shall go around to test drive the cars. btw CL, just curious, why/how did u go to mazda car factory? for work purposes ar?

Aileen,

I went on exchange programme in NUS and one of the places to visit is Mazda. Ha ha you know my host family says if I were to pay for COE and freight, he can easily buy me a car man

Another Japanese car which is solid will be Nissan. Of course you have to compromise on the power because heavy body, pick up will be slower

do you know where's the cheapest place to get medela tubing? I can't remember which was the online store that I shipped from previously. Thks!

Just to check a few things.... Can your toddler:

1. Speak in sentences?
2. Take off shoes
3. Put on own shoes
4. Knows alphabet etc?

For my Megan:

1. Speak in sentences:
- put down first
- wait first
- sit down here
- draw draw etc

2. Take off shoes by rubbing the base of the shoes at an angle

3. not really but she can slip on slippers.

4. Don't know alphabet

My mum keep reminding me that my elder gal Ashley - she knows all the above when she's about 22 months. I can recall very well that by 22 months, Ashley can actually sing the full version of Twinkle Twinkle Little Star..... comparing, megan seems so far behind.... wonder if it is the lack of time and concentration on Megan..... Hai.........

Flo,
Ya...after i heard the feedback was tempted to try. But guess too late liao coz I already gave up the space. Thank goodness Charmaine got it :-0
I asked them if Adrian had any other slot, but they say Adrian only does 2pm. So no choice.

Mongs,
I decided to go Kidsloft coz JW actually stopped crying whenever Lavina comes out to talk to us which is rare. Usually he just screams louder. Hope this chemistry between them will last. Plus the timing is better for JW as it is not near his nap time :)

I asked Lavina liaoshe says if the forum mummies does start a group on Sunday, I can just switch over.

CL,
I think SL should be in the same group coz JG called me up to confirm if I am letting go of the space on Monday :)

Flo,
Sorry not following the posts coz just scanning through. You going for a trip? To where?

Re: New job update
Been really busy on the new job. Can hardly catch up. Then suddenly boss says next week fly to Thailand for biz trip. Faintz...so last min. But no regrets coz at least current boss is a lot better than my previous boss. So i won't feel bad leaving and work from home if i have to.

tried posting this morning but got problems posting

Flo,
hope u have a fun trip. try not to be too stressed and enjoy the trip

Re kidsloft trial
i have let Lavina know our preference. waiting for her reply.

sl
can let me know if u getting the medela tubing? wd like to replace mine too. if can get other parts for replacement, let me know.

aileen
i have drove both toyota n nissan before. toyota is easier to drive but nissan feels heavier and more secure.

nissan
Hmmm.. sorry to those who bought Nissan Sunny... the build quality quite lousy leh.. you notice the "eyes" always pop out at even the slightest knock on the car.. Also, most of the people I know who bought Sunny says the car sucks and consumption is bad.. I've never driven a Sunny before but after seeing what happens to it at even the smallest accident, that's also another car I would never buy.

anyway, with a heavier chasis, the compromise would be fuel comsumption and pick-up. I always felt my mazda 3 doesn't have good pickup but once it passes 70kmh, its a super and fun to drive car. Very stable at high speeds too. Even at 140kmh, it feels surprisingly stable and handles well on the curves even at high speeds. I always overtake other cars on the bend cuz I can go round the bend at much higher speeds without losing control. Notti me :p

As for fuel consumption, my mazda3 auto is doing abt 11km/l, which I felt is acceptable.

Oh, btw, don't get QQ. Its a sure-die car. Failed all European safety tests and its sales is currently banned in Europe.

Personally, I preferred Mazda 2. Although engine capacity is smaller, it has more POWER than mazda3. After I test drove it, my hb decided on mazda3 for me cuz he can't imagine how I would drive it and he said mazda3 has a stronger chasis and a boot.

If u like power and don't mind paying more, CX7 or if u can wait, CX9 (which is a 7 seater) is even better. Sound system also damn solid and POWER. Turbo engine. The mazda 5 white or red colour is simply SEXY! TOo bad my hb doesn't like MPVs but we both agreed that its sliding door is a very good feature. In fact, all MPVs should have sliding doors. My dad's Honda Stream has no sliding doors and its abit hard to access the back seats.

Anyway, since its so near your home, just go to village credit, talk to Nelson and test drive the few cars and see which u prefer.

SL,
You can check out drugstore and see if they have the tubing. If its less than $8 I can still squeeze in your order to my spree which is closing tomorrow.

SSF
We are planning to start the reno in late Nov cos we have decided to renovate the entire house so need to pack up and vacate the house for about 6-8wks. I think no disc leh, seems like the mkt rate. Anyway, more importantly is that shell do a good job. Btw, Pam was raving about your pl, tell me and my hb must go and take a look

Cookie
Kyler is so cute & chubbyreally feel like pinching his cheeksheehee. I like the pic of K touching K, so sweet

Tracy/Yuki
Both Megan are very advance in their speechMel is still only say selective single word. Shes quite advance in her gross and fine motor skills tho. Shes able to take off her shoes and at times she can put in on but doesnt get it right all the time tho the basic idea is there. Her fav is to wear my heels and walk round the househaha.

Aileen
Actually I like Honda Edix if you dont mind parallel import car cos there are 3 seats in front, with the middle one slightly further away from the windscreen, which is meant for kid. We were quite tempted to get the car so that Mel can technical seat with us in front.

SH
More importantly is that JW is comfortable with the teacher and the timing is good for himif not hell be too cranky to enjoy the class. I think SL is in the other class leh but were asking her to see if she can switch class. Glad that your new boss is better, u need to travel a lot in your new job? Im off to France with Mel end of this month for about 2 weeks to join my Hb who will be there for training.

SY
ThanksI tell myself just take it easydont stress over the flight and her meals there (still dont know how to settle her meals since we are going to stay in hotel instead of apartment). I think Ill ask PD to prescribe cough med so that Mel can zonk out on the flightheehee

May
Just give Jamie 2 weeks, I'm sure she'll cope well with school.