(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

CL

i'll take over your place.
should i transfer the money to u or you're just postponing it?

re mandeville music trial
mummies who have signed up for mandeville
1. SY
2. Angie
3. Rena
4. Flo
5. Cindy
6. Lisa
7. Seow Ling

The class has been confirmed on Nov 3rd 3pm.

flo
I still have a new tube of A+D original ointment 4oz from the last drugstore spree. I've opened it but I've only used it twice cuz I prefer Desitin. Ariene cant do without the zinc oxide. If u don't mind, I can sell that to you. The spree price was $8.80. You let me know how much u're willing to pay for it.

Me back again.. I delivered last tuesday, 2 Oct and was discharged on Friday. Baby has qt high jaundice. Am so worried, hoping that the level will drop, coz we're going to the clinic tom, if it increases anymore, she will hv to be warded for the phototheraphy or I'll hv to rent the eqt at home to sun her. Anyone here has ever rented the UV light eqt to sun bb at home?

Also, bb didnt put on much wt. PD says that if bb dun put on wt by Fri, then hv to suppl with FM as I'm on TBF now. So sad, right? Even though i try so hard to TBF her.. with all the late nite feedings.
like last nite, i only slept for 2hrs.

Another thing is anyone knows of this website that can convert the chinese name in dialect names?

krissie
congrats on your gal!

dun worry too much. hope your gal will recover soon. how abt letting her get a bit of morning sun? those before 8am one. last time my CL will let JH gte a bit of morning sun. but must cover the eyes.

Congrats Krissie!
Jamie has got abit of jaundice too. My mum cover her eyes with a cloth and sun her during the morning sun. Should be ok after 3-4 days sun. Dun worry.

congrats Krissie

Hope ur bb girl's jaundice gets better...i haven't rented the machine but tabby was admitted for phototherapy for one day.. hydration is impt to help the jaundice level go down.. do take care

krissie
Congrats on your girl!

Ariene was also borderline jaundice (13.5 I think) when she was born and would have to be hospitalised too if it had gone any higher. My massage lady Mdm Rokiah asked me to buy jaundice flower (can get from Chinese Medical shops or Malay medical shops), put a few into the baby's bath water and bathe baby with the water. Somehow maybe it helped or maybe Ariene's jaundice just dropped on its own, the jaundice dropped to 7 during the 2nd PD visit.

Mongs
My part-time helper is quite good, have been engaging her service for a few years. In fact now I just leave my keys with her and shell just come in and clean up the house when we are at work. She stays in Woodlands, I can check with her if shes keen if you want. But as CL said itll depends on how comfortable you are with her.

SY
Ya decided to go in the end even tho my mom is not coming along. Feeling very drained at work and need a break badly. Hope I dont end up getting more stressed up travelling alone with Mel.haha.

Rena
RE: wiz Qubes
Looks very chime to me leh, is meant for how old kids?

CL/SL
I guess SL should be in the same class as us rite cos SH decided not to continue?

Mamapanda
Actually I did ask you previously if anyone's taking over your A+D cream but I think you missed my post. I can take over the cream, will pay u the price u paid then. I still havent pay u for the latest drugstore spree, let me know how much I owe u in total, will transfer the $ to you. Thanks.

Krissie
Congratulations, you just missed Childrens Day by one day.
My fren rented the UV light equip for her gal. The good thing is that bb doesnt need to stay in the hos. Dont get too stress about BF, just go easy and the supply will come.

Haven't post the past few days...

Valerie,
Congrats on getting a boy! 1 boy 1 girl = 'hao'.
Not that 2 girls wouldn't be just as good...

Krissie,
Congrats on your newborn princess! Jia you on TBF and don't worry too much about the jaundice. Even if it's high, a few session of phototherapy will do her good.

Re. hives / 'fong mo'
Isaac has been breaking out in hives for the past 2 weeks, sometimes daily, sometimes every other day. It can be mild and can be severe (like all over his body). It comes and goes and we have seen the GP, he says just control it with anihistamine. I'm a bit concerned cos Isaac is on anihistamine for 2 weeks liao and he's still breaking out now and then. What should I do? Should I bring him to a PD or go KK to see a dermatologist? This is not the first time he broke out in hives, the last time was back in March, but he recovered after a few days. This time round, it is more than 2 weeks liao...

Queen
Is Isaac's hive triggered by allergies? Maybe u can see a PD and get a second opinion first? I think SY's JH had hives previously and PD asked her to bathe him with Jasmine flower? SY did I recall correctly?

krissie,

congrats on you little princess! Missed by 1 day is ok! For the next 12 years, you can give her only 1 Childrens'-Day-cum-Birthday present per year liao!! Good gal, help mummy to save money.

Queen,
Think you should bring him to see a dermatologist. 2 weeks on anihistamine is quite long.

Hi hi

Congrats val.. i missed ur post about having a boy!!

Mommies
I'm so so happy, thad has managed to sleep thro the night the past few days... i feel so much better getting a continuos stretch of sleep.... I'm glad that i didn't succumb to any strict formula to get him to do this... my other thread mommies are really into the "gina ford" method.. which kind of freaks me out not that its bad.. but i just find it a little too rigid.... i'm very proud of my son.... only thing now i got to remember to pump b4 sleeping cos keep waking up with sore breasts...

Queen
tabby also had a spate of hives.. dunno the cause but it went away without antihistamines. I think its due to allergy cos recently she devp eczema on the face.

Queen,
When my hb got these, my mum taught me to warm up white wine (bai2 mi1 jiu3) and apply onto the body with cotton balls for him. It did subside. You might want to try one Isaac but with a diluted one.

florence,
ya, please check for me if she is interested to do one more family. Thanks.

Krissie,
congrats and take care. Jaundice is really very common nowsdays. I remember I have this dilemma about giving clariss water and FM when she was having jaundice and she wasn't putting enough weight. Like what Tabbie says, hydration is important. In the end, I did supplement her with some FM. don't worry too much about breastfeeding, just tide over this period and keep latching her on. I manage to bf clariss till 17mths and she is really healthy.

hi krissie,
we did rent the UV light machine to sun Caleb then. We got the contacts from TMC.But i tink sunning in hospital is more effective cos they have 2 lights instead of 1 light.

RE: wiz Qubes

The Qubes are ment for age 3 and above. I am not too sure if they have different levels. but the sure have both english and chinese. The suplier mention tat it is good for the kids to start at 2 or 2 plus . Since Moe uses them in some schools slready i reckon it should be good. It is created by our very own NUS. but this item is really selling like hot cakes. even toy r us is out of stock.

I am not too sure where the demo is ... previously i saw it at toys r us . but that was whe e was about 10mths

krissie,
dun wori, if have to supplement with FM, just continue pumping to maintain your supply. Meg had jaundice for 2months, due to breastmilk. Hers was always borderline so no need to do phototheraphy and i continued BM, only supplement 1FM feed at night out of laziness. I also cut down on my ginger intake as some say it causes jaundice. Bad for mummy's confinement tho...

Hang in there, I'm sure baby will be fine soon!

Hi Krissie
sorry I din manage to find the website after trying.
Kyler was admitted for 2 days for Jaundice treatment too and he got better. Reason for jaundice was becos mummy blood and bb blood not the same, did you know whats the reason?
Renting the bed back is definitely cheaper then staying in hospital but like sept bride, there could be only 1 light and also... highlighted by the nurse, if bb is at home.. when bb cry we tend to be soft hearted and wanna carry or pacify him and everytime we carry him away from the light, he is not getting the treatment and thurs might not bring the jaundice down.
Maybe talk to your PD.. did Dr Ho attached Dr T Tan to you? and see what he recommend?

re mandeville music trial
mummies who have signed up for mandeville
1. SY
2. Angie
3. Rena
4. Flo
5. Cindy
6. Lisa
7. Seow Ling

The class has been confirmed on Nov 3rd 3pm.

Anyone wants to take over my slot ? I confirm that the school is able to accept otherwise I will request for refund.

queen
JH has also been breaking out in rashes and gets hives too. i read on the internet that nothing much we can do abt the hives. i give him antihistamine when it gets too bad too. he is getting better also but it comes back on and off.

the PD did say we can use jasmine flowers to bathe him to relive mild rash. maybe u can try.

does isaac have allergies? i think JH has allergies. unless u want to see allergist, if not seeing PD/GP is just controlling the symptoms. when JH gets the rash, sometimes it will be followed by runny nose etc.

anyone in your family has sensitive skin/nose?

dun worry too much unless it is really a bad outbreak. hives can be quite irritating but no particular reason for it.

Flo
hope u enjoy your trip. think it wd be both fun and stress but good chance to take a break

how long u going for?

CL
i think mashy interested to take over your slot.

Playgroup: 12 Oct(friday)
venue: botanic garden
time: afternoon

1) Rach
2) MamaChan (Friday 4pm - 5.30pm)
3) SY (Fri evening)
4) KY (prefer Thu evening, will see if can come by on Fri)

our playgroup still on yah? anymore mummies joining us? the more the merrier =)

1) Rach
2) MamaChan (Friday 4pm - 5.30pm)
3) SY (Fri evening)

Sorry, seems like I'm always putting in my name and withdrawing last min. but my helper is going back (i hope it's for real this time), and I want to do so prep work bf she goes off ...

.ky.

1) Rach
2) SY (Fri evening)

our playgroup still on yah? anymore mummies joining us? the more the merrier =)

Sorry ladies, I have to pull out last minute. Got some work to be done in the afternoon. Hope to make up to you all next week instead ok?

flo,
Ya.. I missed the post. I've already opened the A+D and have used it twice before if you don't mind. So, you want me to cancel 1 tube of the A+D for you or keep the 2 new tubes and pass u my tube as well? The drugstore spree has not been closed yet cuz I'm still waiting to fill up the last $20USD slot. Opened it up to marketplace already so, the spree will close either with $200USD is hit or by friday latest. BTW, we've decided not to change the departure dates for the NOrway trip. My hubby will come back on 23Dec while I continue to stay there as planned and come back with Ariene alone on 1Jan. So, no need to hurry for the winter clothings. We're departing 12Dec

SY/Queen
would you be considering TCM? my gal doesn't have hive before but whenever the western doc can't explain the reason(s) of the repetition of the problem, normally i will seek help from TCM.

sunny
my hb not keen on TCM for JH at such a young age. i guess for the moment we just have to bear with higher electricity bills...

i dunno whether is it just my area but me and my neighbour has noticed that the air got a smoky smell. dunno whether is it the haze

Krissie

Congrats!!!!!

SY
Next wk going ah? How long? Which part? Osaka? I'm so looking forward to my holiday too. But my ear kind of dampened my spirits a bit. Now gotta go and search for ear plugs to wear during the flight.

Today I went another round of accupunture at Toa Payoh Medical Institution. Found the ENT specialist who's on duty in the morning, but his queue is so long!!! I was there at 9.20 and I was his last patient already! Waited till 12pm+ for my turn. But must say he's good (or at least better than the other one i saw last week). The other physician's accupunture skill no good. Gave me a headache the whole night after that. This specialist poked at diff points compared to the other one and asked if i've neck ache, and he also poke for me.

Queen
likely Isaac is allergic to something. My hb breaks into hives whenever he takes alcohol. Antihistamine is 'zhi biao bu zhi ben'. Write down what he ate, came into contact with the day (might be dogs/cats etc) that he broke into hives and see whether u can see a pattern. Like my boy, milk is still off limits, gave him some xiao man tou and he broke into rashes again.

How are you...
By the end of this month, my office will be move to pandan Loop

Krissie
Congrat for your princessss...dun worry she will be fine. Gracie also stayed at KKH for almost 1 week due to high jaundice.

Mashy Brain..
Jia You ..am sure you will be fine.

krissie - congratulations!!! wats ur bb's wgt? i can totally understand the sleepless nights you are gg thru. siong hor! tats why hb says no more no 3 esp after Perth trip!!! hahaa...

tabby - wah envy that thad can sleep thru the night. i am still waking up at 1am, 4am for Jadon's feed
have been sparing hb his night sleep as he needs to work. told him we must rotate
when i go back to work end of this mth.

SY - enjoy your trip!

tabby - i sms you abt the return of the winter clothes. did you recv it? do i return all the clothes back to you coz i know some belongs to SH and queen. let me know.

krissie, congratulations! Hope your little princess' jaundice will go away soon.

Queen, tabbs, thanks!

tabbs, wow, thad is such a good boy! I think you bottle feed him for some feeds right? Somehow I feel bottle feeding with EBM does help them to sleep through better. For Kirsten, also the same. When I total bottle feed her EBM when she was 2.5 months old, she also started to sleep through. Except when there are growth spurts lah.

sl, I didn't receive your pm leh. I sent you one liao. Hehee, yah, we can be combine host but our location a bit out for most mummies isn't it?

Mamapanda, same here, I very chin cai, just go with the majority.

Krissie - Congrats! Not to worry too much. Cephas had jaundice for the entire month had was hsp thrice. Just keep feeding yr dau milk (FM or BM).

Tabbs - Lovely. I rem Cephas started seeping through the nite when he was 8 weeks old too. It was good in preparation to go back to work after the ML.

Krissie,

CONGRATS! Leroy had bad case of jaundice and my PD suggested for me to rent the machine..if it gets better than dun have to be admitted.

One thing about the machine is that when the baby is under it, its rather hot so leroy was crying so badly. and u know the older pple at home will go " aiyo...so poor thing..take him out , take him out.

But it does help. so dun worry too much ok?

Tabbs,

2 days ago, Leroy also managed to sleep thru...i didn't bother bout him when he started making a bit noise and fidgeting..after a while, he just went back to dreamland
hope this will continue!

Wow, seems like many mummies have pop! Time really flies. It seems not too long ago when we talk and share about our pregnancies and now many mummies have become mother of 2! So overwhelming.........

Congratulations to mummies of 2!

Mamapanda
I can still leave my A+D orders. Will collect your A+D cream when I pick up the winter clothes from you. As to the Burt Bee's order, I'll go with whatever is easiest for you. Thanks.
So your hb is taking his orginally intended leave or he cutting short his leave?

Mongs
Ok check with her

SY
I'll be there for 12 days.

SSF
Thanks for the recommendation, we have decided to engage Pam's service

Drugstore payment
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>NICK</TD><TD> USD</TD><TD> SGD</TD><TD> TOTAL</TD><TD> PAID</TD><TD> OWE </TD></TR><TR><TD>wenyl</TD><TD> $16.47 </TD><TD> $31.79 </TD><TD> $31.79 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $31.79 </TD></TR><TR><TD>durianlover</TD><TD> $3.49 </TD><TD> $7.58 </TD><TD> $7.58 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $7.58 </TD></TR><TR><TD>slee16</TD><TD> $7.98 </TD><TD> $15.65 </TD><TD> $15.65 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $15.65 </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookie</TD><TD> $3.49 </TD><TD> $7.58 </TD><TD> $7.58 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $7.58 </TD></TR><TR><TD>valerie</TD><TD> $17.46 </TD><TD> $34.25 </TD><TD> $34.25 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $34.25 </TD></TR><TR><TD>denmy</TD><TD> $16.96 </TD><TD> $35.12 </TD><TD> $35.12 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $35.12 </TD></TR><TR><TD>SY</TD><TD> $26.43 </TD><TD> $54.04 </TD><TD> $54.04 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $54.04 </TD></TR><TR><TD>flo</TD><TD> $8.58 </TD><TD> $17.72 </TD><TD> $17.72 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $17.72 </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheng</TD><TD> $12.47 </TD><TD> $24.83 </TD><TD> $24.83 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $24.83 </TD></TR><TR><TD>rena</TD><TD> $2.49 </TD><TD> $5.98 </TD><TD> $5.98 </TD><TD> $1.58 </TD><TD> $4.40 </TD></TR><TR><TD>cel_wong</TD><TD> $7.48 </TD><TD> $15.40 </TD><TD> $15.40 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $15.40 </TD></TR><TR><TD>god's child</TD><TD> $7.98 </TD><TD> $15.65 </TD><TD> $15.65 </TD><TD></TD><TD> $15.65 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

flo
HB is cutting short his leave by 1 week. I'll continue to stay in Norway for Christmas and New Year at his friend's place and come back as per original plan. I'll take it as a personal challenge to take Ariene alone on a 22hrs flight (with a 2hr transit at Amsterdam) back to Singapore.