(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Tabbs, thanks for checking anyway! This prob means I'll change to a different FM sooner. Actually all the brands have increased in price right? More motivation to breastfeed longer for #2!

Babylon, Esther, hope its nothing serious. It does sound scary but be optimistic!

re: Picnic at ECP
I've also added more photos to cookie's album. Enjoy!

MamaPanda: You got my orders?

Mummies: Zachary do not react very well to me, maybe also he was sick for the last ten days me and my husband was in germany. Really sick big time.
Now making up to him. Feel really guilty.

2nd practical interview
I'm offered the position! Or rather, the Principle Investigator told me after our stint in the lab that he will put up my application for recommendation to the dept's HR. So we'll be working towards for me to start with them by 1st November, in this case, I'll be back to full-time =) New experience, new challenges =)

playgroup- 4th Oct
venue: Tabb Place (orchard).. will pm / email / sms u my add
time: 10am
1. Sy
2. Rach (need bb lunch)
3. Cookie (need bb lunch)
4. MamaChan (no need bb lunch) - confirm
5. Mashy (need bb lunch)

Can i confirm the above? Mommies would u like to have lunch at my place too? Please indicate... maybe i can get my maid to cook something for us or we can order Macdonalds/ pizza or something..

So for this PG we have

- Art and Craft : Tabb/Mashy
- M&M
- Story Telling : tabby
- Any other activities

tabbiesus, I'll be bringing some dessert for us all to enjoy after lunch at your place =)

cookie/tabbiesus
Your loot from MamaPanda is with me, will bring along for the PG session.

hi mommies

healthcare poll of the day...
would u consider a flu vaccination for ur toddler? Plus has anyone given to their toddler yet... any side effects? its supposed to be safe for bb 6 months and above..

http://www.babycenter.com/0_the-flu-shot-for-toddlers_1463467.bc?Ad=com.bc.common.AdInfo%4043334568

1. tabbiesus - yes becos tabby is starting school soon..
2. sysac - Yes. Dun know when though. Maybe aft his Chix pox jab.
3. esther - yes coz renee has been getting flu more often since going to my gym..plan to do it this mth when Leroy goes for his vaccine
4. sunny - gave before 'cos went to hk for holiday. no side effect
5. Chicken Little - wanted to give before going on holiday but pd says no need. So will monitor. My company will give staff the jab yearly but this year dun have so maybe no need
6. Aileen - gave already. merely followed PD's instructions to give. edgar completed all this vaccinations already even the optional ones. think the PD just administer everything that's avail and lazy mummy just followed. didn't bother to find out more :p
7. MamaChan - the clinic nurse at PD's recommended but I feel there's no need for it as it doesn't cover all strains and types of flu bugs. Let nature takes it's course in building up immunity for flu cases.

been so bz that mainly reading but not posting.

kidsloft trial
i called yesterday and weekdays are full. seems like a lot of mummies interested for the trial. let me check whether she can organise a trial session for us specially.

kidsloft trial
1. SY
2. cookie
3. denmy
4. sl
5. may
6. mashy
7. Aileen
8. ak

re: Outing to Kranji Countryside

Date: 7 Oct SUNDAY; 12-5pm <font color="ff0000">(please note the slight change in timing)</font>

1. Denmy (Denmy+hb+Ethan+Keenan) - lunch at Bollywood
2. tabbiesus (me, hb + tabby)
3. Flo (Flo + Mel)
4. Rena (I can only make it in the afternoon or after 11am.) (will have lunch at bollywood)
5. SL (both days okay, daddy+mummy+charmaine)
6. Cookie (Kaelyn+HB+cookie)-will have lunch at bollywood - DO they have food suitable for our toddlers?
7. Mongs (3 of us)
8. cheng (3 of us)
9. REna's friend (2 a + 1 bb)
10. Ky (5 pax)
11. Denmy's fren (2a + 1 kid)

Aprx time we'll spend in each farm, inclusive of tour, is 1 hour. Was told that we gotta drive own car between the farms; no complimentary transport by the farms / walking as they are a bit too far to go on foot.
Details and costs of itinerary as follows:
STOP #1: Bollywood Veggies Pte Ltd
http://www.bollywoodveggies.com/bistro.html
Time: 12nn
Add: 100 Neo Tiew Road Singapore 719026; Tel: 6898 5001
F&E $2/pax abve 12yo; organic veg garden
Rena, cookie, Denmy and Denmy's frens + our families will have lunch and look-see look-see at their organic farming. Think I'll do a bit of grocery shopping here too.

By looking at their menu on the web, it seems lilke they do lots of curries. But they also have Cheese on Toast which is ok for our toddlers as snack. So I'd suggest we bring our own toddler food.

STOP #2: Hay Dairies Pte Ltd
http://www.haydairies.com.sg/
Time: 1.30pm
Add: 3 Lim Chu Kang Lane 4 Singapore 718859; Tel: 6792 0931
Free & Easy, no guided tour. Their Kids Club not ready. So kids just go touch and feed the goats. Parents can buy goats milk but was told that the chocolate milk sells out very fast.

STOP #3: Jurong Frog Farm
http://www.jurongfrogfarm.com.sg/main.html
Time: 2.30pm
Add: 56 Lim Chu Kang Lane 6 Singapore 719164; Tel: 6791 7229
I have booked a 40 mins guided tour of the farm @$2 per person
The children get to touch and feed the frogs. Other options include: video screening/frog feed/booklet @$3.50; video screening/frog feed/booklet/frog-growing kit @$5

STOP #4: Aero-Green Technology (S) Pte Ltd
http://www.aerogreentech.com.sg/home.htm
Time: 3.30pm
Add: 260 Neo Tiew Cresent Singapore 718899; Tel: 6792 4298
I have booked for a 1 hr guided tour of the farm (15 -20mins video; 30-40mins walk)
At $3.60/person; no charge for children below 3 years old (tour includes video screening and either a Butterhead Juice/Single Serve salad bowl)
They have a little maze at one corner of the organic farm, where our children can go through to find their parents. The children can touch and feel for themselves first hand texture to enhance their learning.

CL,
I've taken your name out since you wont be able to join us on the 7th.

mamachan
congrats!! i know you can make it! =)

celine
welcome back home! wow 6 months just seem to fly past us. dont feel bad, you have lots of years to care and stay by Zachary's side till he gets marry =p

tabb
im fine with lunch at your place, any food will do. thanks for checking with the drug rep. no hurry for me to order as i still have 4 tins left.

would u consider a flu vaccination for ur toddler? Plus has anyone given to their toddler yet... any side effects? its supposed to be safe for bb 6 months and above..

http://www.babycenter.com/0_the-flu-shot-for-toddlers_1463467.bc?Ad=com.bc.common.AdInfo%4043334568

3. esther - yes coz renee has been getting flu more often since going to my gym..plan to do it this mth when Leroy goes for his vaccine
5. Chicken Little - wanted to give before going on holiday but pd says no need. So will monitor. My company will give staff the jab yearly but this year dun have so maybe no need
6. Aileen - gave already. merely followed PD's instructions to give. edgar completed all this vaccinations already even the optional ones. think the PD just administer everything that's avail and lazy mummy just followed. didn't bother to find out more :p
7. MamaChan - the clinic nurse at PD's recommended but I feel there's no need for it as it doesn't cover all strains and types of flu bugs. Let nature takes it's course in building up immunity for flu cases.
8. Rach - only gave the compulsory vaccinations to dylan, since he stays home most of the time. agree on building up immue system rather than giving jabs.

Date: 7 Oct SUNDAY; 12-5pm (please note the slight change in timing)

3. Rena (I can only make it in the afternoon or after 11am.) (will have lunch at bollywood)
4. SL (both days okay, daddy+mummy+charmaine)
5. Cookie (Kaelyn+HB+cookie)-will have lunch at bollywood - DO they have food suitable for our toddlers?
6. Mongs (3 of us)
7. REna's friend (2 a + 1 bb)
8. Ky (5 pax)
9. Denmy's fren (2a + 1 kid)

Aprx time we'll spend in each farm, inclusive of tour, is 1 hour. Was told that we gotta drive own car between the farms; no complimentary transport by the farms / walking as they are a bit too far to go on foot.
Rena, cookie, Denmy and Denmy's frens + our families will have lunch and look-see look-see at their organic farming. Think I'll do a bit of grocery shopping here too.
By looking at their menu on the web, it seems lilke they do lots of curries. But they also have Cheese on Toast which is ok for our toddlers as snack. So I'd suggest we bring our own toddler food.

Free & Easy, no guided tour. Their Kids Club not ready. So kids just go touch and feed the goats. Parents can buy goats milk but was told that the chocolate milk sells out very fast.

The children get to touch and feed the frogs. Other options include: video screening/frog feed/booklet @$3.50; video screening/frog feed/booklet/frog-growing kit @$5

I have booked for a 1 hr guided tour of the farm (15 -20mins video; 30-40mins walk)
At $3.60/person; no charge for children below 3 years old (tour includes video screening and either a Butterhead Juice/Single Serve salad bowl)
They have a little maze at one corner of the organic farm, where our children can go through to find their parents. The children can touch and feel for themselves first hand texture to enhance their learning.

Denmy,
Sorry won't be able to join you guys this Sun. Have fun

Cheng,
I kaypo has taken your name out as well.

8. Rach - only gave the compulsory vaccinations to dylan, since he stays home most of the time. agree on building up immue system rather than giving jabs.
9. Flo - will not give flu vaccine since it needs to be taken annually and does not cover all strains of flu bugs. Prefer to let M builds up her own immunity.

yesterday was quite sick. thikn the doc prescribed an overdose of medicine for me. was feeling faint and breaking out in cold sweat and quickly called my mum to come help me. my hb went thru my medicine and was quite shocked that the doc asked me to take so many tablets of antibiotics in one day (usually my cousin doc will prescribe 2 tablets in one day but this GP asked me to take 6). after stopping the med for one day, i finally felt much better

JH got hives again. i dunno why he keeps getting all these skin problems...sigh.

mamachan
congrats on your job offer!

tabb
me shd be going to your place tmr. will need lunch as well. i think i will be parking at singtel n then take cab to your place.

re pinic at ECP
so sad that i couldn't go. my time spent as SAHM seems to be mostly being sick..sigh...

re kidsloft trial
i think i will cap the trial at 8 persons first cos i dun think her classes are very big. let me check with her whether she can arrange a class for us specially.

mamachan

cel
give zach some time, he will be sticky to you very soon.

SY
hope you get well soon, should call the GP and ask him if he prescribed too much for you.
would you consider letting JH to go through those kinds of allergic test? did the doc say anything about the skin problems?

Drugstore updates
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>valerie</TD><TD>Desitin Diaper Rash Ointment 4 oz (113 g)</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $4.49 </TD></TR><TR><TD>wenyl</TD><TD>Medela Membranes</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $5.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>wenyl</TD><TD>Medela Breast Shield</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $6.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>wenyl</TD><TD>Oral-B Stages Baby Tooth and Gum Cleanser 2.2oz</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $3.49 </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookie</TD><TD>Oral-B Stages Baby Tooth and Gum Cleanser 2.2oz</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $3.49 </TD></TR><TR><TD>durianlover</TD><TD>Oral-B Stages Baby Tooth and Gum Cleanser 2.2oz</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $3.49 </TD></TR><TR><TD>denmy</TD><TD>Oral-B Stages Baby Tooth and Gum Cleanser 2.2oz</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $3.49 </TD></TR><TR><TD>cel_wong</TD><TD>Oral-B Stages Baby Tooth and Gum Cleanser 2.2oz</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $3.49 </TD></TR><TR><TD>valerie</TD><TD>Weleda Everon Lip Balm 0.13oz</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $4.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>valerie</TD><TD>First teeth</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> $3.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>slee16</TD><TD>First teeth</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> $3.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>god's child</TD><TD>First teeth</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> $3.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheng</TD><TD>First teeth</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> $3.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>cel_wong</TD><TD>First teeth</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $3.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>SY</TD><TD>First teeth</TD><TD>5</TD><TD> $3.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>SY</TD><TD>Nature's Path Organic Optimum Power Breakfast Cereal, Power Breakfast - 14 oz</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $3.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>SY</TD><TD>Crayola Washable Crayons - 16 Count</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $2.49 </TD></TR><TR><TD>rena</TD><TD>Crayola Washable Crayons - 16 Count</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $2.49 </TD></TR><TR><TD>flo</TD><TD>A+D Original Ointment 4oz</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> $4.29 </TD></TR><TR><TD>denmy</TD><TD>A+D Cracked Skin Relief Cream, First Aid Antiseptic 2 oz (56 g)</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $4.49 </TD></TR><TR><TD>denmy</TD><TD>A+D Zinc Oxide Diaper Rash Cream with Aloe 4 oz (113 g) </TD><TD>2</TD><TD> $4.49 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

celwong, valerie
Noted your orders. I'll let u know how much to TT when the spree close and is shipped out cuz I don't know the weight of the package yet. Normally when I do sprees in marketplace, mummies need to TT at least twice, once of the price of the item (+ a small amt for shipping) and once again when the package is shipped out and the actual weight is obtained, and maybe one last time when the package arrives (if the volumetric weight exceeds the actual weight). But, for the regular Jan06 mummies, I only collect once since we're all so familiar with each other. I normally pay for all of you first so you don't need to TT so many times

Hi SY - Oh dear...that's terrible! Do get well soon
BTW, was going through Cephas' book shelf and JH's Bubble painting from JG Hol Prog is till with me. Hope to meet you to pass to you soon

mamachan

congrats!!!

playgroup- 4th Oct
venue: Tabb Place (orchard).. will pm / email / sms u my add
time: 10am
1. Sy
2. Rach (need bb lunch)
3. Cookie (need bb lunch)
4. MamaChan (no need bb lunch) - confirm
5. Mashy (need bb lunch) - don't mind having lunch too.

Can i confirm the above? Mommies would u like to have lunch at my place too? Please indicate... maybe i can get my maid to cook something for us or we can order Macdonalds/ pizza or something..

So for this PG we have

- Art and Craft : Tabb/Mashy
- M&M
- Story Telling : tabby
- Any other activities

RE: Hearing

Went to AH yesterday and the dr said my hearing loss is likely to be permanent. Sending me to investigate the cause instead with mri and blood test. I still think there's hope for it coz after taking the chinese med, i felt much better, even the tinnitus is better. His recommendations for tinnitus is counselling and getting a music gadget (which cost $7k!). Think i'll continue to see the chinese sinseh while investigating the cause.

Mamapanda, thanks for adding my order. Do let me know how much to transfer to you when its finalized.

mashy, oh dear. Hope you are taking it well. Yes, I think you should continue with the chinese medicine. I've always believed in the benefits of TCM. Is there any acupuncture treatment that might be relevant for your case? I can recommend you one that my family has been going to for years.

mamapanda
Can add 2 desitin creamy as well. I think u missed that out.

Flo,

Denmy
heee..let me know if the frog farm is fun. I bring Aidan next time

mashy,
ya..sometimes traditional medicine works. no harm trying..

Mashy,
Yap, try TCM bah. Might work.

RE: PLAYGROUP
Jamie is starting her playgroup of 2hrs next week. Her mummy here is so anxious for her. Today my mum brought her there and she refused to go home. Her teacher say that Jamie is very sociable and should let her start early since she is very comfortable in that school. Actually I wanted to enrol for Jan 08 intake but come to think of that, am worried that if other children start crying, she might join them too. So I decided to let her start early and hopefully she will be fine there.

Mashy,
Yap, try TCM bah. Might work.

RE: PLAYGROUP
Jamie is starting her playgroup of 2hrs next Mon. Her mummy here is so anxious for her. Today my mum brought her there and she refused to go home. Her teacher say that Jamie is very sociable and should let her start early since she is very comfortable in that school. Actually I wanted to enrol for Jan 08 intake but come to think of that, am worried that if other children start crying, she might join them too. So I decided to let her start early and hopefully she will be fine there.

mashy
would u consider getting a second opinion? it seems strange that it is so sudden.

hopefully the TCM will work for u

sunny, sysac
i cut the dosage myself lor. i think the medicine too strong. caused me to lose my appetite also

sysac
i get the painting from u next timw.

Mashy - Do take care and con't yr TCM treatments. It may just heal yr hearing loss.

SY - Yep, Too much antibiotics is no good. I am allergic to most antibiotics. Found that out when I had a surgery fro my fractured ankle. Was given 3 diff types. All 3 diff types had diff reactions. 1st one was big mosquito bite kind of rashes, 2nd was breathlessness and last was swollen eyes. After that, dr told me to stay away from antibiotics. I was administered a low dosage (had to dilute some more) when I was admitted to NUH after my water bag burst.

Must remind me. I was wondering whose Bubble painting was that

Re. Polo.com spree
There's a 30% off for items under the 'Last Chance Sale' section. I need about US$115 more worth 'Last Chance Sale' orders to qualify for free US shipping. Anyone interested?

Mashy,
Oh dear... I also think that you should continue with the TCM if it makes you feel better. Whether it works in teh long run, you'll never know unless you try. In the meantime, you should probably also try out whatever western medicine or therapy to help you cope as long as there's no conflict with the TCM.

Esther,
Sorry to hear about your case...Let's hope it's not as bad as it seems.

Celine,
Welcome back! Zach will warm up to you in no time. Don't worry!

May,
it's good that Jamie is sociable. I can't imagine sending Isaac to playgroup now. he still has separation anxiety. Sigh...

Mamachan,
Congrats on getting the job!

quinny zapp stroller,
does anyone use the quinny zapp? i'm considering getting one coz i have a maxi cosi infant carseat. any comments?

congrats mamachan!

May
so good that jamie is coping so well.. actually it is better that we learn to let go.. i think they can cope much better than they think..

Mashy,
Sometimes western medicine can't cure, can only relieve. So you can try TCM. I remember after giving birth, both my hands were so painful cos of carrying bb. Western medicine will only give painkiller, but i went for acupuncture and it really cured me.

SY,
Thanks for organising Kidsloft trial. Before I saw the list, I had written to Lavina and got a reply from her today to join this sat, 4.45 trial class at cluny court. So you can remove my name from your list in case any other mummies want to go.

aileen,
i just being kaypo here... why u getting a quinny? Thought you already have a Stokke?

SY,
Did you manage to get a trial for Kindermusik or Gymboree at Babies Inc? I called up yesterday and was told that the free trials are all booked up til Dec!! But I'm going down next Mon anyway to look at their Montessori facilities for their regular curriculum.

hi mommies

seeing some of u for playgroup tomorrow... can't wait

Denmy
Sorry, i've got to take my name out of the list for the farm trip.. sigh.. last minute work commitment popped up for hb so can't make it 

CL
thanks for answering my questions... in the end i managed to journal books from spotlight... wonder if i should attend any beginners scrapping class.. i blew a big HOLE in my pocket buying brads and paper and stuff... the paper looks so nice... just couldn't resist getting it.. in the end didn't dare go down to MWL just in case i make a bigger hole in my pocket..

do u know if the classes at laine papertar?? at wheel lock is good for beginners class, its nearer to my place then MWL?

I am in love with the nana kids chipboards... its so nice

hi mommies

I have created a private group on facebook for Jan mommies so that we can upload our photos and do other stuff... please join if u are on facebook... group name is SGmotherhood_Jan Mommies 2006, i think this was suggested by May but on some other site...since facebook seems like the latest in thing.. i just kaypoh and started it on facebook..

Tabbiesus,

Ha ha have fun with scrapbooking , it is realli fun man. Yes yes Laines also conduct class. I think there is a START class you can consider and if you get the instructor Sharon she is good leh. I attended the class there once and I like it alot. I have signed up a course there too with Cheng. The SDU module but module 3 and 4. Maybe you want to sign up for the full course then we can attend 3 and 4 together

Working Mummies since we cannot join the playgroup today. Shall we have a Cityhall Lunch followed by the Children Book Centre tour at Bras Basah ?

Cityhall Lunch - 12.30
1) Chicken Little
2) SL
5)
6)
7)

mashy
hope TCM helps you. last time i had bad headache for more than 1 year whenever AF came. Western med got no use for me. went to see sinsei for accupuncture and some neck bone adjustment, after 3 visits, the problem totally cured.

CL
can't join you all for today lunch.

re: bodyshop
anyone using its product? from 4th till 6th, there's warehouse sales at suntec city convention hall 3rd flr.

tabbie
how to request to join Facebook?

Sunny,
I am using bodyshop products.. will pop by this weekend.

Tabbiesus,
Thanks for the facebook. I will pop by when I am free.

RE: Compulsory Jab Cert
I need to print this out from office for Jamie's school registration to prove that she has finished all the jabs. The URL link is at home. Does anyone happen to know the link?

Mashy,

If you are driving to Tabb's house, I brought the clothes. So you can drop by my office at Odeon towers after playgroup or get your hb to arrange to meet me.

Hi Denmy

Got to excuse myself from this outing. Mid afternoon is when the boys would be napping, and hubby refuses to let them go without. Let me know how the outing went.

Date: 7 Oct SUNDAY; 12-5pm (please note the slight change in timing)

3. Rena (I can only make it in the afternoon or after 11am.) (will have lunch at bollywood)
4. SL (both days okay, daddy+mummy+charmaine)
5. Cookie (Kaelyn+HB+cookie)-will have lunch at bollywood - DO they have food suitable for our toddlers?
6. Mongs (3 of us)
7. REna's friend (2 a + 1 bb)
8. Denmy's fren (2a + 1 kid)

denmy,
i'm getting the quinny mainly for the purpose of using it together with the carseat. that stokke? aiyo, it's a white elephant in my storeroom lah! total waste of $, it's very troublesome to assemble and damn heavy! i've used it less than 10x. anyways edgar doesn't like to seat a stroller since young. btw how did u know i got the stokke?

re outing in kranji,
i may join u all depending what time edgar wakes up from his nap. i am keen to go to the frog farm and goat farm. denmy, i will give u a call if i can make it ok?

tabbs,
will join the facebook later when free

Hi, mummies. Thanks for all the encouragement!! Really really appreciate it

After some days of working with zachary, can see some results. Will work harder!

Btw, there is a free trial this sat at Juzmusic in Parkway Builders centre, any of you all gg?

Mamapanda: thanks for the order. As my company block yahoomail, can you let me know when to tt at the forum?

Celine
You on leave now to spend more time with Zachary ? Tell you what, bring to play play and do all the things he likes with you and him only. Ha ha result sure faster one

tabbs, just sent request to join the group.

aileen, I also remembered seeing your stokke before at botanical gardens. So wasted that you don't use it leh.

celine, jia you! Yah, CL is right. Indulge Zachary a bit to 'bribe' him. Hehee...

Aileen - Cephas has the Quinny Zapp. It's convenient using the Maxi Cosi Infant car seat. Absolutely love it because it is user friendly esp on escalators & rougher terrains. Wheels are really sturdy!