(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

i may not be able to up here often due to many problems at home.. so please keep me in the loop..

these day i am very tired coz of elijiah funny feeding timing.. then the maid is leaving and plus my work .. i amost dying.. ahahhha... god save me....

Rena, JG is a programme whereby parents can accommpany the kid to attend the class together. For me it is bonding as I hardly have time to play with Charmaine when I was working FT. Introduction of alphabet and phonics using songs and puppet and games. Teaching key Mandarin words through story telling, pretend play, speech and drama. Hands on craft to play with paint which some mummies like me refuse to let them do it at home can let them feel and touch different texture etc. In our current environment, kids need to be trained to be outspoken from young which JG will train your kids or given the opportunity to do so.

Tracy,
Hope Megan is fine now. Yap, when fever go over 38.5 take brufen. Next time go to dr get those insert which is oso for 38.5. In the night, if still have fever, insert in anus, this shall will bring temp down so at least they can sleep well thru out the night. I was sharing with esther the other day. For me babies sometimes resist sponging, but they love to bath. I will just put aden in the tub and just use cloth and run over his neck,back, armpit , do it over and over again

the cost $477 is not all, i think there is a $50 deposit and $10 bookroom. They will encourage your kid to borrow a book each week.

Cookie,
Let me teach you how to convince hb. At BJG, I paid 360 for 10 weeks which is 36 per lesson 1 hour but JG at $477 is vry high but each lesson is 2 hours , $23.85 per hour. You get 2 language lesson so very worth it. Hope it works for you.

chicken little
did you submit the form online or at JG at forum? How to pay the registration fee?

Rena
Take care.. don't get too stressed...

Tabbi

I have not submitted but you can print the form out, fax over and can also fill in a credit card authorisation form to get them to charge to your card without going down. They will then send you the invoice

Tabbi
i printed the form and sent together with the cheque. just need to pay registration fee which is $36.75.

Tracy,

I hope megan gets well soon

RE: fever med
Paracet for normal fever
Brufen, ibruprofen syr is a NSAID... stronger..for fever and pain can use if fever is higher.. also effect is slightly longer lasting...
In worse case, if baby dun wanna eat or very high.. have to use voltaren suppositories (for both fever and pain) but uncomfy cos have to put through backside..

RE:JG
actually, if there are enough of us going to the forum at 2 pm.. wonder if they can have one class for us with Adrian??? Cos i read the class is up to 10-12 toddlers right?

when tabby is 18 months, i may have just delivered... dunno if i can go with her.. but it would be nice for her to go with daddy or grandma

Tabbi,

They very hot one dun think they will let us form our own group. I email them to try first hor. Will check got group discount or not

Making Memories Open House at Clare's place either Sat or Sunday.

Anyone else interested beside me and ky ?

Chicken Little, Tabbie,
thanks for your advice. I jus back from PD, and yes he inserted the suppository into her butt. Surprisingly no resistance from her. Temp was 39.6deg. Said her ear canal and throat looks red so prescribed her liquid lozenges, antibiotics, more paracetamol and the suppository.

Went back to SIL's, managed to feed her the lozenge, but antibiotics made her puke everything out. she refused milk too but drank water. Temp came down.

Then my MIL actually went back to own place to pray cos today is first of the mth. So hb & i couldn't go back to work! tried making meg sleep but she didn't want. so no choice had to leave Meg with the maid..

Tracy,

Usually pd very good that that they dun feel much. Charmaine wont struggle with pd but when hb did it for her she realli cry very hard.

Usually that antibiotics really not very nice. Add in milk or in food they can differentiate immediately. As long as she drink water and not dehydrated it will be better. During this time if her milk intake is about half should be okay.

Hope by the time you go back Meg will be fine liao

Chicken Little,
thank you! I hope she'll be ok tonight too.

Flo, Sleepingdeer,
Will have to skip class on Sunday. Sheesh...and i've already done up her shaker.

Tracy - hope Meg gets well soon... poor girl,tink if she can take porrige mabbie that will be more soothing for her throat? when celeste was having fever the other time wf tonsilitis, i gave porrige most of the time in small portions, cos i scared the milk will add on to the heatiness...

Tracy,

hang in there.. when elijah was on antibiotics he vomit alot.. and it is very powdery so make things worse lor.. Maybe either you or hb take turns to take leave as this period she may be cranky and want more love and attention from both of you..

re JG
can we get adrian to teach at evans if many of us are interested?

tracy,
hope meg is feeling better. any reason for the fever?

re baby photos
hee, i m trying to book JH's slot too. so tempted after seeing so many babies go...

CL
keep us posted on whether they can give us group discount. will want to sign up.

tracy,

What antibiotic did your PD prescribe? Cos my boy was given one, white powdery one where i mix wif water and shake. Was told that fine to mix wif food or milk as my boy wldnt take cos of the bitterness. However, my GP explained that the particular antibiotic cannot mix as it will make the med even bitter.

God's Child, Rena, SY,
Thanks! PD said she should be well within this weekend. He said she's coping very well despite the high fever, cos she's not lethargic etc.

SY,
PD said could be due to the cereal cos i intro new flavor - EB's multi-grain. May be too heaty for her. So i gotta go back to oatmeal cereal.

oh ya, i asked PD abt any relation between the rashes and the stage 3 milk. He said shouldn't be and advised me to intro the stage 3 milk 2 wks later after she recovers by replacing one feed.

Chicken Little,
thanks for helping us with the JG enquiry.

chillies,
he gave the transparent thick liquid antibiotics. must be refrigerated and take once a day for 5 days. not powder type.

i hope she'll be tired tonight so can't taste the med in the milk. :p

The last time we mix chinese powder med into her milk she was still drinking happily.

Hi Tracy,
Hope Meg is feeling better now...

I've seen Boobah on TV, Shannon seems quite interested in it as well, but I dun let her watch coz I find them weird too, like teletubbies. I let her watch Hi-5 and she enjoys it alot, that is one programme which she can stay glued to the TV. She watches selected parts of Baby Ernstein only....

Re: Class
Aiyah, cannot see Meg this sunday, I got the bottle but haven't done anything yet... haha...

Flo,
can't wait to see Shannon's photos, though alot of people say she is not photogenic, real person looks better, which I agree..

Re: JG class
I am also in the midst of selecting class for Shannon, looking at JG, Shishida amongst others. But probably will do weekday class since am sooo bored on weekdays.

Re: Walking
I actually have Bobux shoes for Shannon, and no hard soles coz hard soles are not too good for their growing feet. But my PD did advise that for tottering babies, who can walk already but are hesitant to let go of their support, he did suggest a fool proof method... get a pair of hard sole shoes for them, and bring them to the park to walk on the grass. Go up and down slopes, and just hold one of their hands as they walk. He says after 2 hours of doing that, they will get so confident and used to the uneven ground, that when they go home in the evening, they will walk immediately on their own without support. He says it works 90% of the time... well I haven't tried it yet...

sleepingdeer,
this Boobah thing is so popular, even my MIL seems to like it. its got my nephews addicted to it too. so its weird huh...oh dear. I must find a chance to watch it myself.

I had no chance to try your method of walking slopes, cos Meg decided to walk by herself last Sunday after class.

Tracy,
Hurray for Meg! Shannon is still taking 7 - 8 steps on her own then turning to look for support.. haha, think she is still pretty hesitant.

tabby/SY - my gynae is benjamin tham from kk. i heard he is funny and good. ya i quite like my new job and the flexibility of not being desk bound and still able to travel and claim for meetings offsite. so far no complaints lor. hee..

re: photos
wow, you gals are fast - I only started looking at aidan's photos. Thanks for the compliments. initially thot the photos may not turn out nice as Aidan hardly smiled during the photo shoot. I am quite happy with the final shoots :>

CL
hahaha, if u see my son play, dun think anyone will want to 'book' him for boyfriend. He is too rough! will scare all the girls away.

Walking
sigh...my son does not walk next to me. he will happily stroll anywhere that catches his fancy and refuses to be carried or placed in the stroller. Hope this phase runs its course soon!

Scrapbooking
Yes, please count me in for the session - either sat or sun should be ok w me.

RE: walking

my girl refuses to walk without us holding her hand... actually she can walk without support... we've seen her walk on the bed when she is distracted by the tv... i think she just lacks self confidence... sigh.. how to build her confidence?

JG

Mummies, I emailed JG and the marketing person called me liao. She will liaise with colleagues from both centre and see if they can work out a class specially for us leh. I will be the point of contact for her. Once she work out something she will contact me then follow up on the necessary documents or information. She ask me preference on the location so maybe if we want to remain in a group we have to decide the time and location. Adrian so far only teaches in Forum so unlikely can go Evans, just confirmed with her. Group discount have not touch on that topic but I feel should not be a problem because last time citibank used to have discount for their course.

) Chicken Little - Evans/Forum 9 am or 2 pm
2) Celine77 - evans/ sun 9am or 2pm
3) God's Child
4) SY - evans and forum/2pm
5) Sunny - evans / sat 9am
6) Tabbiesus -forum / 2pm
7) Tracy - forum / 2pm
8) MamaChan - Forum / Sun 9am or 2pm (tentative, need to discuss with hb 1st)
9) Flo - evans and forum/2pm
10)sept03bride (need to discuss with HB)
11) Cindy - evans/forum Sun 9am
12) Cookie - Evan / forum Sat 9am

Re : JG
1) Chicken Little - Evans/Forum 9 am or 2 pm
3) God's Child - forum sun 9am
7) Tracy - forum / 2pm

Thanks CL! hope JG allows us to form our own class, how fun for all Jan06 babies to attend class together... you reali are our LOBANG QUEEN!!!

Chicken Little,
Is the class for 18mths & above? I m also looking around now but will want to start only when Ethan is 18mths or older. Like sleepingdeer, I dun mind a weekday class to keep us occupied. Else, I will take a sunday 2pm class, so tat I can have excuse to leave inlaws place early. Haahaa!

Tracy
Oh poor Megan, hope she get well soon. Gonna miss her on Sun. You are efficient! Me only plan to make the shaker tom.

Re:Walking
Tracy, Ive not let Mel wear the shoo shoo shoe yet but the base does seems very soft. Mel has been wearing the pediped that I got from a BP. The shoe is good; the base is soft but durable. Mel has been wearing it and walking outside for a few months and is still in very good condition.

http://www.babetitude.com/Pediped/indexg.htm

Wenyl
Haha, sometimes u wonder how come they have so much energy, never stop walking!

Sleepingdeer,
No leh, I find Shannon is quite photogenic esp when she smile, can heart mans heartkeke

Tabbie
My niece is the same as tabbie. She refuses to walk on her own, will walk only when someone holds her hand (even if its just one finger). I think they belong to the cautious bb, maybe u can distract Tabbie with TV/toys. When they are distracted, they will forget about the fear. Also, u can clap hand, praise and encourage her when she takes a few steps, all bb likes to show offhaha

ChickenLittle
Wow, u really resourceful leh. I think we must appoint you as the negotiator of the Jan06 babieshaha. Thanks for making all the arrangement.

Re: photoshot
I feel not walking also got its adv leh, cos when they start walking all over, very difficult to capture their facial expression. But Im sure Charmaine will have a fun time posing

CL, I am entitled to a free trial at JG but haven't gone yet. I'm also interested to join weekday class. That is, provided I haven't started working by then...

Re: Return of Desperate "Grannie" Housewife
Tell you all a joke! My MIL was trying to entice us to have a second baby for the longest time as you know. So yesterday, she called hubby while he was in airport to go China. She offered a $10k cash incentive to us to have a 2nd baby! Wah, we don't know whether to laugh or to cry. Money is very important to her so $10k is A LOT and it really shows how anxious she is. But the thing is she doesn't seem to love Kirsten that much and I don't think she loves children at all. I don't mean to sound ungrateful or disrespectful but really can't understand why she's sooooo kan cheong.
kao_dizzy.gif

Tracy, I gave the same antibiotics to Kirsten before and she hated it. But no choice, still got to force it down. Hope Meg recovers soon!

Valerie,

Yup me agree with flo she may want a grandson. Your hb eldest or only son ?

BTW how to get the free trial huh ? Thot they seldom give free trial leh

Wenyl,Valerie, Sleepingdeer
I will be looking at weekend because I want the bilingual playclub from 18 months onwards. Weekday you will need to sign up english and mandarin class separately. If any mummies wants weekday, you may form another group, once I know the number I will follow up with the JG person.

Flo,God's child
I not lobang queen lah. Just plain kay poh and since I free I just went ahead to send the email lor

Meg's fever is still up every 4-6hours. Hb inserted the supp last night at 1am. Quite a wrong timing, cos we notice after the supp, she becomes energizer bunny! She woke up and started walking about the hall till 2.30am then went back to sleep. But it helped cos she perspired till it looked like she was rained on in th house.

But come 7am, back to 39deg. So fed her paracetamol and she's back to sleep and temp is gradually going down.

I used to get high fever quite often when young and now i know wat my parents had to go thru. :p

Flo,
The shoes Mel wore to class are Pediped? I just viewed their webbie. Nice shoes...will definitely get a pair or two for CNY. thanks for the info!

Tabbie,
Meg was like Tabby initially. She could walk freely in her playpen and cot but once on the floor she loses confidence. Then somehow one day, she just started walking. I realised such 'miracles' often happen after the day after class or after meeting other babies. Maybe they do feel inspired after looking at other babies.

Chicken Little,
woh wee! thanks for helping us liaise with JG. Hope to hear good news soon!

Val,
hahaha, i agree with the others. She wants a boy! Hmmm...how do you plan to achieve that? I was looking at the motherhood.com.sg where there's the gender predictor thing. Alamak! For me, must conceive only in March or Dec in order to get a boy! This is gonna be tough...

Morning Mummies!

Val,
Same thoughts here... your MIL must be asking for a grandson kekeke... my friend's MIL also offered $20k to the first DIL who will give a grandson cos all the grandchildren are girls!

Re: Pediped
Me interested too! Also thinking of buying a pair for CNY. Shall we consolidate orders and try asking for discount?
1) Clare x 1
2) Tracy x 1 or 2

Re: JG
I am quite keen to sign up esp if we can form our own group and/or get some discount... but the course fees really ex hor?? $400+ for 10 weeks.... =( hmmm... still need to discuss further with HB... but do keep me posted okie?

7) Tracy - forum / 2pm
13) Rena - Evan(sunday 2pm)/ Sat (forum)

Tabbs,

I think no need to worry too much about her walking..like renee when she 1st started, she also only dared to walk when she was watching tv..but slowly she became more daring..maybe you could give her a big space and let her watch tv..she will start to wander about more ..

Tracy,

Hope Meg's fever have subsided already

GAIN,

can i check with mummies who started babies with Gain if there's any reaction to it? Renee seems to have developed eczema on her cheeks..but i'm not too sure if its entirely due to the milk powder...also, since starting gain, her sleep has been very bad..she would cry and stop many times thru'out the night..any mummies with similar experience??

Tracy,

is megan better now.

Damien use to fall sick almost every month since 4 mth old..he even get fever up till 40.5 degree..admitted to kkh..really stress ..but gradually when he grow older..it get better...so pray hard for him..he has not sick for the past 3 months....

RE: Walking
Wow.. so many babies are walking already! Jamie refused to push her push-walker. She will just stand there and cry for help whenever we put her there. She can walk along table,bed and sofa but dun have the courage to let go hands or even to take the first step. Any mummies can help? How do I encourage her? Really hope she can walk before CNY.

Rena,

FYI. Usually bilingual playclub is sat at evans and sun at forum. Not sure if they will have special arrangement for us so it is regardless which weekend. Will note your preference in the meantime

7) Tracy - forum / 2pm

Wet Wipes:

Mummies, I've received my order. Hope you all got yours too!

Tracy - Hope Meg gets well soon. I went through that 2 weeks ago with Cephas too. I would sponge him with room temp water at his vital points other than giving him the Panadol. However, I didn't give him the antibiotics.

Esther - Cephas started on Gain IQ since last Nov. It was mixed with his stage 2 FM & then after stage 2 FM finished, he went on Gain IQ completely for the past 2 months. So far so good. no reactions to the change.

Gain
Can I check with mummies who are feeding their babies gain.. how much do u feed and spend per week on milk powder? I'm still considering if its better to feed fresh milk or powder milk. Till now, she's still fully on breast milk only but I guess I should start somewhere cuz my GP has just advised that not having my menses for 2 years is not good as the uterus wall will keep thickening so he asked me to reduce the number of pumps/feeds. Anyway, think I'll go back to see Prof Ng alittle earlier to confirm if its true. I've not had my menses since March 2005.

sysac
i have not received the wipes. the distributor will call us right?

tracy
poor megan, hope she gets better soon....sounds quite bad. but lucky she's not feeling too bad. in fact she sounds so energetic!

CL
thanks for checking with JG. i hope can get adrian for the sun class. i heard a lot of good things abt JG!

valerie
wow your MIL is really desperate! she must really want a grandson.

hee, just to share with u mummies what a nurse shared with me on how to get boy/girl. she say if u wan girl, after your menses on the fifth day, u shd have intercourse very often until after ovulation. cos the sperm that comes out will be diluted and this will mean higher chance for girl. if u wan boy, u shd abstain from intercourse and only do during ovulation. the sperm will be concentrated and this will increase your chance of boy. dunno how true.....

JH started calling mama! so happy. the way he calls mama is really gentle unlike howhe say other words. he can also say mum mum too. quite funny when he say mama and mum mum together.

Congrats SY.
So nice to hear him call you. So far Aden only go mum mum for food and ne ne for milk. Still waiting patiently for him to call

CL
hee, thanks. sometimes his mum mum and mama sounds the same. think as long as he can say mum mum, the day to call mama is near....

wenny koh,
u r from indo as well? i m staying in jakarta. i ordered the cupcake from pasadena. they do wedding cake as well.

tracy,
hope megan is all better now.

re: calling mama
Vania can call mama mama for a while now, but only near bedtime. I would like to believe that she is calling me
can be a different story when mil is carrying her though. Once she called out mama mama wanted me to carry but mil insisted that Vania wanted mum mum. Well, I am getting sick of this ongoing popularity contest haha :p

Nowadays, when we go out, Vania only wants me to carry. She doesn't want daddy
feel pretty bad for him. Any babies here have a change in preference? hope it's only a phase...

re: tumbletots vs gymboree
I would like to start Vania on classes. Between these, which one do you mummies prefer?

queen
I suggest that you friend see a LC asap. I have not known anyone who uses PIS w/o getting a letdown. Think she's not using the pump correctly. Minimally shld get at least 1 letdown? The PIS has a 2-phase letdown reflex. The initial phase will be quick suctions, once it ends, it wld be the time when i get my 1s let down. Then, it changes to the 2nd phase with slower and harder suctions. For me, I'll off and on the pump again, then it changes to the 1st phase of fast suction and after the while, will get the 2nd letdown.

chicken little
sorry, my hb cant make it to the bday bash, so it will be me and Gerald only. I cant rem who's collecting the money, but how much do I hv to transfer if only I'm going to the party? Let me know and I'll transfer the money tom nite. Sorry for the delay.

7) Tracy - forum / 2pm
14) krissie - to confirm timing.

Hi Krissie,

Noted on the attendance. I repost Sep03bride posting. So for 1 adult it will be $17.50.

===========
Birthday Bash Payment to treasurer Sept03bride:

For mummies who have confirmed their attendance for the combined birthday bash on 3 Feb, we need your assistance to make payment as we probably need to make payment soon.

Kindly indicate your SMH nick and Bday Bash when u are doing the TT transfer to my account. Kindly pm me the Transaction Reference no when u have done the TT. I will be able to trace from there. Thanks!

Amt Payable per couple - S$35
POSB Savings acct no - 055-21998-2

Dear CL and Sept Bride

I have done the transfer, sorry for the delay.

Details as follow:
From Account POSB Current:
773-03492-3
To Account POSB Savings :
055-21998-2 Sept bride-Bd bash
Amount S$35.00
Transaction Reference 1015128499

There are so many posting.. dun think I can catch up.

This weekend is a busy weekend... Sat attended a birthday party and Sun a house warming.

At the end of today.. was too tired and feel giddy. Morning sickness din seems to get better... looks like this baby doesn't like chocolate. Whenever I touch chocolate, chocolate ice cream, choc cake, Mac Hot fudge sundae I vomit big time!

Tracy
Sorry to hear that Megan is unwell. Sorry din manage to catch up more... was feeling giddy just now so a bit rush off to my car.
Hopw Megan get well soon but it's good to know despite her fever she is still active!
I'm sure she will be well very soon