(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

I think some of us are thinking about Kindi now cos our kids are born in 2005, so next year they will turn 4, and will be in N2, like S, so have to hurry and look for schools liao. The rest of the kids born in Jan or Feb are 2006 kids, so actually you have another year to think about it, no rush... heehee..

Durianlover,
I was confused when you mentioned they dun accept N1 for BPMK, then I realise Janelle is Jan 06 baby, haha, S is 05 so she goes to N2 next year. I like the environment there but one problem is I think they mention that they dun have school bus, not sure whether true or not.

Imagine I went to St James in Nov last year and registered and the waiting list is 50+! AT least it moved abit, but I also think no hope liao.

I also went to have a look at Gracefield but I didn't really like the environment there.

Tabbs,
S is registered for Maris Stella afternoon session, is Tabby in the morning or afternoon?

Cookie - BIG BIG congrats on ur #3! wow wow... reali reali pei fu pei fu!!!

KINDERGARTEN REGISTRATION for 2009 (B.Panjang/B.Batok/CCK/YewTee/West mummies)
Have u decided on which ones are u sending ur child to? Registration opens in April. Lets share

1. mamapanda - decidING between Nanyang, kinderland, appletree or St Joseph. Most likely St Joseph.
2. sleepingdeer - St James, Maris Stella, St Joseph or Bukit Panjang Methodist
3. sysac - Deciding btwn St Joseph's Church & Appletree
4. tabbiesus - accepted into maris stella already. Just did the registration last week. Will start nursery next year. And will continue there for kindergarten.
5. durianlover - St Joseph or stay on 1 more year with Little Pals where she's attending currently
6. god's child - deciding btw Appletree / Gloryland / St Joseph

sleepingdeer
I think for BPMK, there do not have N1, theirs is just Nursery -> K1 then K2.

Not all kindy will have N1 and N2.

There could be still chances at St James as they might open new class ?

Ha ha I am thinking too to put at St James or Maris Stella if I am sending the kids to my mum place from next year.

Cookie,
CONGRATS! wow... so fast!

Have you wanted #3 all along?
Actually, I'm quite heartened to see that some of us are having or thinking of having 3 children... heeding govt's call. Hahah.
I would like to have 3 as well, maybe cos i came from a big family with 4 kids.
Ok, must buck up and try for #2 liao.

Regarding kindergarten, i realise that some kindergartens are already accepting registration for next yr! Gosh! SO fast! Must quickly go and hunt already.

Actually intended to send my boy to the church kindergarten that my MIL teaches at, but not sure whether got space or not. Last i heard, there's already a long waiting list. sigh...

cookie,
finally you announced! congratz!! think there are only a few who will join u in the exclusive "mother of 3" club! :D

CL,
same here, i'm also considering st james and maris stella
i've put edgar on waitlist for stjames next year afternoon session. but i'm thinking of changing to the morning session coz afternoon is very hot. if can't get a slot, then i may just send him to Creative Thinkers that along Jalan Jurong Kechil road.

Have u decided on which ones are u sending ur child to? Registration opens in April. Lets share

1. mamapanda - decidING between Nanyang, kinderland, appletree or St Joseph. Most likely St Joseph.
4. tabbiesus - accepted into maris stella already. Just did the registration last week. Will start nursery next year. And will continue there for kindergarten.
5. durianlover - St Joseph or stay on 1 more year with Little Pals where she's attending currently
7. aileen - St James, Maris Stella, Creative Thinkers

Hi CL,
yup, s can go into BPMK next year liao coz she's born in 2005, so she will be in N if she joins.

The Vice Principal at St James mentioned they opened to the max liao, they recently added a new wing for Pre Nursery kids, and it was full with 10 classes, siao siao! There are currently 800+ students there! But I really like the environment there, lots of space, a huge herb garden, two playgrounds and heated swimming pool... s goes there for her aquaducks lessons.

kindergarten registration
I called up appletree, kinderland, and BPM. Appletree and BPM does not have any pre-nursery classes (aka N1). So, I'm only left with kinderland@sunshine place and St Joseph. I visited St joseph and I'm also quite happy with there so I think I'm gonna send her there. I'm hesistant abt letting her continue in Little Pals for 1 more year because she'll just be repeating everything she has done this year there. Also, I was told by the principal of St Joseph that its easier to get them into the pre-N class than N class because there are less students for the pre-N class. If they enter and pre-N level, they are automatically put into the N class so I don't have to queue again.

I like appletree and kinderland also but I don't like sunshine place and appletree is now in bangkit, which I also don't quite like although its nearer. Wait till 2010 and see how.

Back on the thread after a long hiatus! So exciting activities that's happening, wish I had checked in ealier! Between now and the last time I was in the forum, so many things happened (changed 3 maids!! Argh! Now still straddling 2 'dumb & dumber').
I'm going down to check out maris stella, marymount and MMI Thomson later this afternoon...

Hi Mamachan,
Re: Duck Tour
Please include my 6mth old baby. Find her very poor thing, always leave her at home. Later she become mountain tortise. Cannot be unfair to her! Total: Tiffany + HB + Toddler + Bb + Maid. Thanks

Re. RP Mummies Lunch
HA..Japanese food again! I want. Dont forget to include me again hor.. TIA

CL,
You dont want your money arh? Dont charge me interest later arh!

Re: Kindergarten
This is interesting topic but also a headache issues. Long Queue?? These days, got money also cannot get a place.. Haiz...
Anyone stay around Serangoon Nth/Kovan area? Any reasonable schools worth considering in this area? I hear so much about Pats Schoolhouse, is it really worth to send our kiddos there? Acension Kindergarten, anyone sending their kiddos there?

Cindy,
You checking out marymount n MMI Thomson? Did you consider the Holy Spirit church kindergarten? I'm planning to put Meg there from nursery onwards, ie when she turns 4YO. My nephews both attended nursery & kindergarten there.

mamapanda, wat happened to Amazing Star? I hear Nanyang is a 2-yr wait. If I ever send #2 to a school, it's be when he's 4 and it'll be either CGM or CCKBC in CCK, and that's when he has the ability to do sit-down work.

Sleepdeer, didn't know St James has all these facilities.

Btw, St James and Maris Stella have afternoon vacancies for K1. BPM is full (seems like a small setting). Another preschool to consider is Arise ... morning has vacancies ... I sometimes wonder why Pre-N and N is full but at the higher level, there are vacancies.

If not for the distance, I'll opt for Maris Stella.

.ky.

oh gosh... Marymount.. I should have enquired earlier cuz I have priority to get in as an old girl from there! Called them just now and they're full for morning session already

ky
Amazing star is child-care. I'm not looking at child-care anymore so Amazing star is out. I asked them yday abt their flexi program and they're full.

Tiffany

An ex-collegue's son is in Pat's schoolhse at Serengoon. She said it's good coz her end-of-year-born boy can write and trying to read on his own, officially turning 4 end of this year, and he's progressing better than his older sister at the same age.

.ky.

HI Mummies...
Really really I'm not brave, dun peifu me... I have no choice cos HB bu xiao xin.. :p
But I'm trying to be brave now.
I have ex colleague who also has 1 kid per yr.. she ask me not to worry, next time when they go playground, they dun need other playmate cos they can form a group already.. well thats a nice thought.

To clear so doubte.. hee... I wun have kids in the same year la :
#1 : Feb06
#2 : Aug 07
#3 : EDD Oct 08

Tabbiesus
yeah I also thought.. having pregnancy so close together will stress our body surely. So I'm taking lotsa time to rest and will probably drink more bu ..
I'm taking things one at a time now and up to #3 arrive.

Queen
I din plan!!.. my HB fault..hahaha.. thats what I always tell my HB, then he will blame its because Kyler eat his feets! those old wife tale says when bb eat feet means next one coming...
I came from family with 4 kids too and when I see my Hb with his sister, I felt 2 kids seems something amiss.
Tho deep down my heart I think 3 kids is nice it's just I'm still shocked cos I wasnt prepared for it.

Pls come join in the 2 or 3 kids group soon

SSF
yeah Kyler and Jadon same BD!... Kyler can play very well with Kaelyn and i Hope they remain ( dun fight so soon) like this for good hahaa...
SO I hope when #3 come, Kyler and Kae will have each other as play mate.

SY
ya no choice ley.. cos kyler has to be carried and kae will demand to be bao bao. I dun wan to trun her down, so I accomodate her but only for a short while maybe from the room to the hall. That all

mamapanda

wah, marymount already full ah. still thot of sending my boy there. It's co-ed kindergarten right?

anyone knows of any good kindergarten in/near AMK area?

sy - i also thot of checking out the church behind my hse but its a methodist church and hb says no as it may give a different type of preaching. maybe see if tonight can psycho him before checking out.

re: flu jab
my pd said flu jabs are sold out singapore wide. for chidren 9 yrs and below, just need to go for 1 jab which is to be taken 2 weeks before travelling.

cindy - hi hi long time didnt hear from you. hope ya doing fine.

can i just do a little survey here? how many of you here are religious or free thinkers? reason why i'm asking is because being a free thinker myself, i'm abit hesitant about sending my child to a church kindergarten. (well having said that, my boys will be going to ACS coz it's my hb's alma mata.) just wondering if i'm the only one feeling this way. should i be concerned at all?

aileen

i'm a christian and will try to send my kid to a christian school if possible. heheh, my hb is also from ACS leh, so my boy will be meeting yours there. Which one do u intend to send yours to?

well, while they will have some religious teaching stuff, i understand that it's optional in schools coz of MOE policy. They can opt out of the religious rites. I was from a catholic school but we had to go thru masses then, sing hymns and pray. U don't have to take part if you don't want to. U can just keep quiet and stare into blank space when that happens. hahaha. But i'm not sure whether your kids will succumb to the peer pressure or not.

If you're really adament abt wanting your kid to be free from any religion influences, then don't go to a religious school. Coz no matter what, there's bound to be some teachings here and there which cannot be avoided. That's why i don't understand some parents who sent their kids to convent schools and yet expect the gals not to taught anything abt catholism. If u don't like it, then don't send them there.

Anyway, it doesn't mean that u go to that school, you'll turn out to be a catholic/christian/buddhist. I didn't become a catholic myself.

Aileen,
I am a free thinker. My husband too but he has stronger belief in Buddhism. But previously Charmaine was in CCK bible centre kindergarten then now their childcare are also under Touch community so we feel both have benefit a lot on the values etc. So there is nothing wrong picking up good values thru the Christainity teaching. This is how I feel. And ha ha , yday charmaine pray for Aden to be well and aden even says "amen" at the end. Ha ha

CL

hehe, i also think that the Christian organisations emphasize a lot more on the teaching of values compared to non-religious schools. Non religious schools are more concerned with school work rather than the wholesome teaching of a child. Esp at such a young age, I think it's important to instil in them the right values. Somemore they'll be spending a lot of time in school and with their friends.

Mashy
I agree and I feel cultivating the right values from young is important so I defy my hb's objection and went ahead with arrangement. ha ha

My fren niece ha ha buddhist background , goes to St James then come home tell her brother, if you are naughty, GOD will know HE is looking at you.

Now Charmaine will also pray. God give me strength and let me do my maths fast and all correct this part I want to laugh

Of course like my nephew, oso no impact on him lah. He is with Bukit Panjang Methodist Church Kindy, ha ha no effect on him at all. He dun believe and just enjoy singing only

CL

hahaha, at least Charmaine didn't pray for a miracle i.e. pray that the maths will be completed even without lifting a finger. hahahaha.

Aileen/Mashy/CL
Personally, when I was looking around for a playgroup, I ultimately would prefer a church-based one, as I would like D to be exposed to the right values and as part of my plan to instil the right values in him from young. I'm a Christian myself and personally, to me it does make a difference whether to send them to a Christian-based school or not. Like what Mashy mentioned, for me, I'm not too overly concern what he picks up academically now, but more of the wholeosme teaching of the child. Given that they all will be exposed to the almost same syllabus at the primary school level, I'm pretty sure they will catch up. Or course some do believe in the "prepwork" of laying the learning foundations right before they enter primary school.

Of course at the end of the day, it's really solely up to you and your boys when they grow up, on how you choose to raise them up by. Coz though being in a Christian environment from young myself, I've noticed that the school does not "force" Christianity on the children and not all of my primary and secondary school mates became Christians after graduation. So ultimately, it's the influence from home rather than just the school.

CL
Charmaine is soo cute! The way you describe she prays over her schoolwork and for Aden. So sweet!

cookie
CONGRATS!!!! Wow! Really peifu you and your hb to have #3!! Hahaha, it's really God-given then since you were thinking of whether to have 3 or not. kekekeke, looks like I might need to jia you for #2 le =P

7. aileen - St James, Maris Stella, Creative Thinkers
8. MamaChan - Milk and Honey (is already attending pre-nursery and will likely to let him to continue all the way till K2)

Aileen,
Both hubby and me are Buddhists. But we are more towards Free-Thinker. For me, I was in a Methodist School before. So I am pretty comfortable with any school Jamie will go to. Actually we wanted to list Jamie as Free Thinker in her Birth Cert but was reprimanded by our parents. So we just continue it and leave it for Jamie to decide herself in future.

mashy,

your posting is funny!

CL,
charmaine's in delcare right? is it christian?

Aileen,
I would prefer my gal to go to a christian-based kindergarten as I think the "real" work during kindergarten period is not so important but the values imparting part is more important. Err.. but I haven't even start thinking about kindergarten yet.

May/Mamapanda,
Thanks for the explanation. Btw, do they still have preprimary? I might just send charmaine to preprimary - save the trouble of nursery, kindergarten....

<font size="+1">DUCKTOURS: <font color="ff0000">Important Announcement ##Updates##</font></font>

After receiving all the proper information from Heather, DUCKtours, and after making a price comparison, I figure that most of you might prefer to spend as minimal as possible and would not mind NOT having the Duck Whistle, water and fresh towel as compared to chartering the duck tours which worked out to be more worth it if it's all adults only. In view that most of us have toddlers and more than a handful have more than 1 children under 3 years old, the walk-in locals rate would be much more worth it. OF course less than a handful of course would need to top up a few dollars difference.

<font color="0000ff">Original Charter Plan:
Special Weekends &amp; Public holidays Rates for SMH moms = $488 + 7% GST

=$522.16 for 31 pax (newborns - 99 years counted as ONE head)

Price per person (adult or toddler or child or newborn): $16.84

The following will be provided complimentary for each passenger (exclusive for charters only):

Duck Whistle

Mineral water

Fresh towel </font>
================================================
<font color="ff0000">The following is from Heather's email to me:
Usual Price
Adult (above 12yrs old) $33.00
Child (3-12yrs old) $17.00
Toddler (below 3yrs old) $2.00

Local Discount (30% discount)
Adult $23.10
Child $11.90
Toddler $2.00
Senior Citizens $19.80 (less 40% instead)
*rates above are inclusive of GST

I understand that you do not want to disappoint the children, but I am sorry to inform you that I cannot provide complimentary whistles for all children/toddlers as requested. Whistles are also given out by our guides onboard each craft as prizes for children during the tour. Alternatively, they are available for sale at $3.50 each.

I seek your understanding in this matter and I look forward to your confirmation.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any other queries.

Heather Lee
Business Executive</font>

<table border=1><tr><td>Day/Date</TD><TD>Names of Mummies Keen</TD><TD>Adults</TD><TD>Senior Citizens (Above 55 years)</TD><TD>Children above 3</TD><TD>Children below 3</TD><TD>Chartered Price Tota,</TD><TD>Locals Price Total </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sat/ 12th April</TD><TD>Aileen</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>$84.20 </TD><TD><font color="ff0000">$73.30</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sat/ 12th April</TD><TD>Tiffany</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>$84.20 </TD><TD><font color="ff0000">$73.30</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sat/ 12th April</TD><TD>kuikwan</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>$117.88 </TD><TD><font color="ff0000">$98.40</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sat/ 12th April</TD><TD>Chicken Little's SIL</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$101.04 </TD><TD><font color="ff0000">$83.90</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sat/ 12th April</TD><TD>Ginncher</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$67.36 </TD><TD><font color="ff0000">$60.10</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sun/13th April</TD><TD>MamaChan </TD><TD>3</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$67.36 </TD><TD><font color="ff0000">$71.30</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sun/13th April</TD><TD>Florence </TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$50.52 </TD><TD><font color="ff0000">$48.20</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sun/13th April</TD><TD>SY </TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$50.52 </TD><TD><font color="ff0000">$48.20</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sun/13th April</TD><TD>May </TD><TD>3</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$67.36 </TD><TD><font color="ff0000">$71.30</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sun/13th April</TD><TD>Chen</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$50.52 </TD><TD><font color="ff0000">$48.20</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sun/13th April</TD><TD>tabbiesus </TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>$67.36 </TD><TD><font color="ff0000">$50.20</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sun/13th April</TD><TD>queen </TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$50.52 </TD><TD><font color="ff0000">$48.20</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sun/13th April</TD><TD>esther </TD><TD>3</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>$84.20 </TD><TD><font color="ff0000">$73.30</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sun/13th April</TD><TD>Chicken little </TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$67.36 </TD><TD><font color="ff0000">$60.10</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sun/13th April</TD><TD>Fern (MamaChan's friends)</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$67.36 </TD><TD><font color="ff0000">$71.30</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sun/13th April</TD><TD> first_mum </TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$50.52 </TD><TD><font color="ff0000">$48.20</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sun/13th April</TD><TD> sleepingdeer </TD><TD>2</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$84.20 </TD><TD><font color="ff0000">$87.80</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sun/13th April</TD><TD>pup_pup </TD><TD>2</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$67.36 </TD><TD><font color="ff0000">$68 (if your mom is above 55 years) $71.30 (if your mom is not yet 55 years)</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sun/13th April</TD><TD>sleepingdeer's friends </TD><TD>4</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>$117.88 </TD><TD><font color="ff0000">$98.40</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sun/13th April</TD><TD> wennykoh </TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$50.52 </TD><TD><font color="ff0000">$48.20</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sun/13th April</TD><TD>wenyl</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>0</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$50.52 </TD><TD><font color="ff0000">$48.20</font></td></tr></table>

Kindly let me know if the above arrangements are ok with you all? In this case, we need not be restricted by the 31 spaces on board the DUCK and we need not sacrifice not bringing either family members and bbs. If all are ok, I will proceed to help ALL to make booking and reservations for the walk-in tickets.

Hi mamachan

Thanks for the effort. Ok I confirm ok for both my sil and my share

SL
yes yes Delcare is under Touch. Most of the teachers are from FCBC hee hee

thot u should read this in case u wanna try fidgets -

Got this info from a thread with an excerpt of the info from an expat forum:

Fidgets are a new indoor soft play area at Turf City. For parents eager to find something new to do with their kids, especially when it is raining, the indoor play area is bound to be popular. Unfortunately, the place seems to be unsafe for kids and what's even worse - the owner is careless and irresponsible.

On March 18, 2008, at around 12:30pm, a 7-year-old child who was playing in the ball pit zone of Fidgets was hurt by a sharp cut in her inside right leg around the knee area. She sustained two wounds, one was 9cm long 4 -5mm deep, and the cut went through her skin down to her muscle; the second wound was beneath the first 5cmx4mm on the skins surface. The gash was so deep; it was obvious that a sharp metal object must have caused the injury.

A parent who was assisting the child requested for the first aid box. Surprising the first aid box lacked a, b, and c. When the parent asked the owner Sandy why the box was insufficiently stocked, the answer was there had been some accidents during their first week and they had yet to replenish it. The parent stated for a children's establishment surely ensuring the box was sufficiently stocked should be a primary requirement.

After the wounded child was being sent to the Emergency Unit, the staff at Fidgets said they were unable to locate where the accident had occurred. A parent informed them that the child had indicated it was on the metal slide, which is part of the ball pit. incident occurred during the week which was the Easter break for some of the international schools. The entire play area was still open at this time, as was the ball pit area. The International schools; hence the cafe area was full with not a seat spare. But once the accident occurred the premises were almost empty. It was the parents themselves that were deterring the children from entering the ball pit area, and the staff had not cordoned off the section.

The parent who had administered first aid went down the metal slide to check, and noticed 4 exposed metal screws on the left hand side of the slide, each screw protruding approximately 4mm. The padded area around the metal screws was covered in blood, which begs the question how the staff or the owner’s husband who had "inspected" the area were not able to notice this. The parent showed the screws and blood to the staff, they cleaned the blood from the area. The parent took some photos of the exposed metal screws. A number of parents came forward to the parent taking the pictures, and they stated they were happy to recount the events that had occurred and act as witnesses should any be required, details were exchanged.

Another parent who witnessed the accident contacted her friend who was going to visit Fidgets with her children in the afternoon, and advised her against the visit. The mother who had planned the trip contacted Fidgets, she inquired as to whether they were still open as she had heard that an accident had occurred. The staff responded by stating that a child incurred a "graze", some netting had come loose which had been made "good", hence it was business as usual and all parts of the play area were open.

An open wound of 9cm through the muscle was described as a "graze" - if this were the case why would the child have required surgery? Why would the majority of parents remove their children and leave the premises?

The mother of the wounded child has sent a message to Sandy the owner on the day of the accident. She urged Sandy the owner to take responsibility for the injury and make sure the safety for children in Fidgets. However, Sandy the owner hasn't responded a single word or taken any action.

Fidgets have been opened Business As Usual after the tragedy happened on 18 March, 2008

CL
delcare's teachers are mostly from FCBC? they are really good. i attend the sun sch with JH and they really put a lot of effort into the classes. they even make effort to test the maids on what they learn cos they dun wan the maids to go there and chit chat.

re christian sch
actually i quite like the idea of christian sch. i m a christian and i like the idea of my kids growing up with christian values. so probably riverlife will figure more in my plans.

re kindgarten
seems like st james is really popular...

re new maid
so far so good. JH din reject her completely either. he was ok to stay with her in his room today alone when i went to get sometihng.

Wow looks like the talk is about Kindergarten now...

Tiffany
I am sending my girl Ashley to Acension simply because its affiliated to my church. Wanted to put her in this year but we were too late. SO will register her for 2009 instead. Registration starts next month btw. =)

Cookie
CONGRATS!! Still no news from me but am really happy for you!

MamaChan
Am I too late for Duck Tour?? =P

Clare
Nope, you're not too late for Duck Tour =) Coz right now, I've decided for us all to just go as a group for the locals walk-in discounted rate. So there's no "stress" in trying to fill up the seats. =) How many adults and Ashley?

Clare,

I wanted to send Elijah to Acension too.. but due to transportation problem.. it is also affilated to my church as well..

Will be getting the museum toddler tickets. Flo, will get one on May 4, 130pm for you. Any other mummies wants ticket just pm or sms me before mon.

CL,
I didn't know that. Hmmmm.. will they teach the kids to say grace before meals?

thanks mummies, for your input regarding the religion thingy. after hearing about the pros on christian schools, i feel less apprehensive in putting my boys into one. but of coz at the back of my mind, i still hope they will not turn to christianity. coz when i die i would still want them to burn joss sticks for me! hee.. just kidding :p it's TGIF!!! =D

mamachan, i'm ok for the ducktours. thanks for your effort in making the bookings for us

Hi Tracy,

In the end I went to only MMI Thomson and Pat's Serangoon before it strated raining cats and dogs. Pat's Serangoon is rather old, the sandpit etc looks rather pathetic and as I went in the PM, there were not many kids. But overall the staff were friendly and experienced. There is AM session vacancy for N1 (they still call it Playgroup) for 2009 but none for 2008 already.

MMI Thomson looks good too and the kids were overall more active and toys/teaching materials looked newer than Pat's.

Hmmm.. most centres need to call and make appt before going down. Do you think it makes sense for us to organise a 'school tour day'? Can car pool and maybe visit a few good schools at once... I can volunteer to call the schools, take leave on that day, we meet at a central place (mommies with cars can fetch one another) and HUNT.

Hi Aileen,

I'm a free-thinker but believe more in buddhism and praying to ancesters. Hubby is a free-thinker that went to a Christian Pri/Sec school. He didn't convert. On the otherhand, my brother who went to a non-Christian school converted when he's 16. My mum was pretty angry coz he's the eldest and only son but she got over it after 2 yrs. Until his Uni days, he was a "faithful" christian, and I see he does a lot of good within the church. btw, we debate about Christianity when we were teenagers but I didn't accept that faith ...

I'm ok if my sons go into a Christian school. I like certain values that such schools bring; in fact, I'm told by a church school that 90% of the kids in that school have parents who are free-thinker.

.ky.

Hi Cindy,
Thanks for your input on MMI and Pat's Serangoon.

I am also on a hunt for Nursery which I understand registration is starting very soon. I am interested to visit schools with mommies who are looking along Serangoon or Town area.I can volunteer to be chaurffer. Keep me in the loop! I am looking at Acension, anyone keen?

Wow, just speed-read thru the postings.

Congrats cookie! Take care n rest well. =)

Just got back from the clinic- Sonia weighs 5.25kg already n she'ld only be 1 month old tomorrow. Doc says she's quite bak. =) I really wish she'd be as michelin as her older sister. So we're on track!

Ive also been thinking of schools n all recently. Not sure whether I should send sarah to a mission school or a private one like chiltern house. Time really flies- cannot believe that we have spent years discussing diapers, poop n now school. hehe... =)

Read about the Muar accident tday. So tragic- really hope that the mummy involved is not anyone from this thread. She looks vaguely familiar. Very, very sad for the little girl... dunno whether to view her plight as lucky or unlucky. =(

Tiffany,

Do you stay near Serangoon? I stay at Bartley area and looked at a few that's in Serangoon already. There are 2 that are just mins from home but one is really boring ciriculum while the other full of indian teachers... outside looked really nice but when I walked in... wiffs of smell distracted me.

Cindy

u have seen a few already in serangoon? Which ones? Have u seen BA kindergarten? I'm supposed to send my kiddo there coz of my MIL. My niece is already there. Another niece also going to join her.

tiffany/cindy,
If there's sch tour, I am keen but looking for around town and north area.

sandra,
sonia's wt is real good!

Cindy,
MMI Thomson opened quite recently, like 2006 /7 i tink. Wow, from Bartley you are willing to send to Thomson area. Quite far right?

Sandra,
really sad to read abt the car crash...