(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

zhimin - i can understand ...when i am expecting Jadon, i was also tired most of the time. i guess its the no 1 that we are still having to care for that worn us out. just relax...take it easy and rest well.

mamachan - all the best for your interview...do let us know the outcome.

sl/queen - tabby passed me some of your babies' winter wears. i hope you don't mind. will wash and return after my trip.

CL

Thanks!!!

Re: Chinese Name
haha, I let my hb (he's very gan dang) to chooose my boy's chinese name coz i chose his Eng name. He liked Kai. So end up Kai(3) Ze(2). I helped choose the characters meaning 'victory in grace', and later we realised it's all part of China's presidents' names, including the surname.

Aileen

I know one person called Yuda leh. A salesman in Balestier. I remembered it coz the name was really 'unique'. Hahaha. My hb and I were secretly laughing in us then. Said it sounded like Yoda.

Mamapanda, I've just transferred $7.37 to your acc. Ref: 1365186699 Thanks!

Mamachan, good luck for your interview!

re: Chinese Name
Kirsten has a name that sounds extremely Korean: Yin(2) Xi(1). Yin(2) is her surname, it's so uncommon it's not even in the Chinese dictionary. Think it's an ancient character. Xi(1) as in Kang(1) Xi(1).

I also like the character Kai(3). So if #2 is a boy, I'll name him Yin(2) Kai(3).

So, today's topic is baby's names. Heehee!

Valerie,
So qiao! We are planning to name our #2 "kai" too cos I liked tat character and Ethan is Yu(4)Kang(1) as in jian kang (healthy). Cos he was born of low birth weight and all we wanted him was to be healthy. So, its gonna be another "K" for #2 as in Yu(3)Kai(3). Yu(1) as in jade according to jia pu.

flo/mashybrainz,
Yuda really sounds horrible to me. infact beyond my wildest imagination!! but i guess to each it's own lah. maybe there are just some pple who like it! *speechless*

May, Wenyl, me blur blur, what's a jia pu? Is it a real document that records down the descendents' names? Sounds so traditional.

Wenyl, I find kai is such a cute name. Kai-kai. hehee...

May i know is there any transport cater for the outing? Am staying in SK, interested to join the outings but have no car so if got bus transport than it will be great. Otherwise have to take cab in...thanks..

spree payment summary

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Denmy</TD><TD> $7.37 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cookie</TD><TD> $52.97 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Clare</TD><TD> $7.37 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rena</TD><TD> $48.68 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Krissie</TD><TD> $66.70 </TD><TD> $67.15 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunny</TD><TD> $7.37 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Flo</TD><TD> $7.37 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>valerie</TD><TD> $7.37 </TD><TD> $7.37 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chickenlittle</TD><TD> $39.83 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tabbiseus</TD><TD> $109.94 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>wenyl</TD><TD> $14.72 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>queen</TD><TD> $104.20 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

May,

My family follows the jia pu for the males only too. My brother's middle name follows while my sister and I didn't. Actually it didn't bother me too much. No difference.

Re: Chinese names
Charmaine's chinese name is le as in happiness and qing as in sunny. We have no ambitions for her - just want her to be happy and have a cheerful disposition. : ) My late fil is educated-educated and didn't know his own chinese name plus my mil's bochap these so I have free hand in naming my daughter.

Valerie,
Jia pu usually follows a poem. It can refer to the document that looks like a family tree or in singapore's context, it's just a poem giving you the middle or last character to use so that members of the same family can recognise one another's rank.

re: Outing to Kranji Countryside

Please put preferred date (we'll go with the majority) and no. of pax going so that I can liase with the lady at Aero-Green.

Date: 30th Sep or 7th Oct

*recap from 28 Aug*
Not sure if this is the latest one...

I have contact w/ the lady who runs the Aero-Green Technology aeroponics farm. She's very happy to have us visit the farm as a group. Here's the rest of her email:

[[[[[[[[Thanks for the conversation with you. As your spouse is thinking of gathering a
small group to visit our farm and other interesting places within the Kranji
Countryside Association, we recommend the following after visiting our farm (as
attached for your reference):

1) Kin Yan Agrotech - Wheat grass, cactus and mushroom farm.
2) Jurong Frog Farm - Frogs farm
3) Hayes Dairies - Goat farm
4) Bollywood - Lunch break. Goreng Pisang (Banana Fritters) is nice when it is
piping hot. FYI, Banana is directly from the farm

There is a cost of S$4.00 per pax for visiting the aeroponics section of our
farm, discount given depending on group size. Reciprocating your visit, we will
prepare either a Butterhead Juice (220ml) or a Fresh Salad Single Serve (80g)
for you. We have the organics farm where you can buy some of the day's produce
on your way. There is a maze for the children to play as well. There is
adequate shelter for you to rest after the walk about.

After confirming the date, group size and the estimated time of arrival to our
farm, please inform us."

I have more info (promotional leaflets) on the farms at Kranji Countryside. PM me if interested. ]]]]]]]]]]]]

1. Denmy (both dates OK; Denmy+hb+Ethan+Keenan)
2. tabbiesus
3. Flo (prefer 7 Oct; Flo + Mel)
4. bblon (can only make it on Sat..coz HB not available on sun)
5. maywong (both dates OK; Maywong+hb+Jamie)
6. sunny (30 Sept ok; sunny+hb+yx)
7. Sy (can't join on 30th Sept. 7th Oct got frens coming)
8. Rena
9. SL (both days okay, daddy+mummy+charmaine)
10. Krissie
11. Mashy (cannot go if on Sun)
12. Aileen (prefer 30th Oct, Edgar + hb and Aileen)
13. durianlover
14. Chicken Little (30th Sep, Aden+Charmaine+Hb and Chicken Little)
15. Clare
16. Yuki
17. Cookie
18. MamaChan
19. Mongs (prefer 30 Oct, 3 of us)
20. cheng (both dates ok, 3 of us)

Re: huggalugs
CL, I emailed the person using the enquiry box. She offered a "wholesale" rate which would apply for a min. of 40 pairs not the tiered ones. I have emailed her a few questions but no response. Let me go and chase her again.

Re: 2nd bd bash
Thanks may and esther for the info. It has been a long time since we last met. Great to have a bd bash again.

Re: JG
Mummies, I went for the makeup JG yesterday and the eng teacher is so much better! She's so much more animated and engaging that charmaine actually sat down and listened to the story instead of doing her usual walkabouts. Am so impressed.

SL

You mean Ms "S" improved ah. Wow, so impressed ha ha. Yes, can I borrow to let Aden try it out before I go get one. Are you using it now ? Either I borrow from you for my trip or I borrow before my trip and rent it during the trip.

You reconfirm on the huggalegs and let me know. Ha ha I will need it before 31 oct hee hee

Re: Huggalugs
Can I start the ball rolling? To recap, the cost for each pair of leggings is AUD$8.25 from 20th to 999 and shipping charges for up to 40 pairs are AUD$39.90. So I am targetting to hit just 40 pairs and the cost (if I calculate correctly should be S$11.10). the url is www.huggalugs.com.au

1) sl
2) sl
3) sl
4) sl
5) aileen
6) aileen
7) aileen
8) aileen
9) maywong
10) maywong
11)maywong
12)cookie
13)cookie
14)cookie
15)wenyl
16)wenyl
17)wenyl
18)wenyl
19)Chicken Little Liberty
20)Chicken Little Love
21)Chicken Little Goodtimes
22)Chicken Little Boyband
23)cheng Liberty
24) cheng Coolspirit
25) bblon
26) bblon
27) Denmy
28) Denmy
29) Denmy
30) Denmy
31) Denmy
32) Denmy
33) Krissie
34) Krissie
35) tab liberty
36) tab Boyband
37) tab Possum
38) tab harmoney
39) Rena
40) Rena
41) Rena
42) Rena

CL,
ha haha.. the sad part is Ms "S" is on sick leave yesterday... : )

The covering teacher is Lynn(?). She's very animated and when one of the toddlers, Megan, kept interrupting her during the storytelling cos she already knows the story, she actually co-opted her intot eh storytelling rather than telling her to keep quiet which Ms S would do. Both me and hubby likes her but she only do the weekdays.

Re: Ergo carrier
No problems. You are bringing it along for your trip? When's your trip again?

SL,
Alamak I thot Ms "S" Improved woh. Ha ha so this leopard never change her spots lah hor.

My trip is 31 Oct - 4 Nov. It is ok if I cannot borrow for the trip, then I just borrow from you to test it out on Aden then return you.

Cherie Hearts
Please let me know who is interested to sign up.
2 options
Option1 : As usual like what is offered during trial for 1 hour at $300 10 lesson per term

Option 2: Incorporate art n craft for 1.5 hours $450 10 lessons per term

About 5-6 students per class is a better size as per the trainers

JG
so proves our theory that good teachers make a difference :p

Playgroup
SY, forgot to mention, thanks for hosting us at your place last Friday! Aidan had a good time and it was good catching up with all e toddlers.

Hey SL
Maybe you can give feedback to JG , ha ha how Lynn has captured Charmaine's attention. Then they might bring us back and give us a good teacher ha ha. THen I not lost anymore on sunday ha ha

CL,

I can lent you the ergo for the trip no problems. Asking cos I am going to Australia from 7 - 17 Nov so still unsure as to whether to bring the carrier along or not. It's quite good. Pick up during RP lunch?

Re: Cherie Hearts
I am sure I will feel lost next sun as well. At least during the JG class, there's something to do on weekdays. Actually according to Lynn, it's good as well cos it gives the child some kind of structure so that they can adapt better when they go childcare.

cheng
no prob. i had fun too! i m planning to host again this fri so if coming let me know.

first week of doing nothing and i m down with flu..what bad timing. din even have energy to play with JH...

Can I start the ball rolling? To recap, the cost for each pair of leggings is AUD$8.25 from 20th to 999 and shipping charges for up to 40 pairs are AUD$39.90. So I am targetting to hit just 40 pairs and the cost (if I calculate correctly should be S$11.10). the url is www.huggalugs.com.au

1) sl
2) sl
3) sl
4) sl
5) aileen
6) aileen
7) aileen
8) aileen
9) maywong Goodtimes
10) maywong Fairy Floss
11)maywong Love
12)cookie
13)cookie
14)cookie
15)wenyl
16)wenyl
17)wenyl
18)wenyl
20)Chicken Little Love
23)cheng Liberty
24) cheng Coolspirit
25) bblon
26) bblon
27) Denmy
28) Denmy
29) Denmy
30) Denmy
31) Denmy
32) Denmy
33) Krissie
34) Krissie
35) tab liberty
36) tab Boyband
37) tab Possum
38) tab harmoney
39) Rena
40) Rena
41) Rena
42) Rena

Re: Interview
Was interviewed for close to an hour. I hoped I've answered their questions satisfactorily...felt like a babbling fool after I left the interview room. Overall, the main research matured in my answers in how handlevto handle colleauges (from the various questions asked)and a whole lot of other stuff but his main concern is my lab skills (as though I'm a lab officer, I'm mainly desk-bound for my portfolio), whether I'm up to par or not. If they decide to shorlist me further, they will set-up a practical interview for me. *cross-fingers* will know by Wednesday/Thursday.

brita
The remainder 6 has arrived today but to my horror, the volumetric weight far exceeded the actual weight. Volumetric weight was a whopping 10kg cuz its a huge box. As such, I need to collect extra from all who bought Brita. To be fair to all, I'll be dividing the excess shipping by the number of Brita sets you bought. Here's the payment table :

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>sunny</TD><TD> $1.98 </TD></TR><TR><TD>chilles</TD><TD> $1.98 </TD></TR><TR><TD>chickenlittle</TD><TD> $1.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>tabbiseus</TD><TD> $1.99 </TD></TR><TR><TD>flo</TD><TD> $3.97 </TD></TR><TR><TD>krissie</TD><TD> $1.98 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aileen</TD><TD> $3.96 </TD></TR><TR><TD>wenyl</TD><TD> $1.98 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

I've verified the size of the box. Unfortunately, the volumetric weight is correct.

CL
You can collect the remainder Britas, cookie's calendular cream x 3 and your 6 Burt Bee's already. You want to collect on wednesday is it?

Errr.. so whose calculation is more accurate? SGD11.10 or AUD13+? Cos I'm ordering 2 pairs for my friends, in case price is expected to be higher, I will let them know.

To recap, the cost for each pair of leggings is AUD$8.25 from 20th to 999 and shipping charges for up to 40 pairs are AUD$39.90. So I am targetting to hit just 40 pairs and the cost (if I calculate correctly should be S$11.10). the url is www.huggalugs.com.au

1) sl
2) sl
3) sl
4) sl
5) aileen
6) aileen
7) aileen
8) aileen
9) maywong Goodtimes
10) maywong Fairy Floss
11)maywong Love
12)cookie - JOY
13)cookie - JOY
14)cookie - JOY
15)wenyl
16)wenyl
17)wenyl
18)wenyl
20)Chicken Little Love
23)cheng Liberty
24) cheng Coolspirit
25) bblon
26) bblon
27) Denmy
28) Denmy
29) Denmy
30) Denmy
31) Denmy
32) Denmy
33) Krissie
34) Krissie
35) tab liberty
36) tab Boyband
37) tab Possum
38) tab harmoney
39) Rena
40) Rena
41) Rena
42) Rena

Re:Chinese name...
I think my generation is the last to follow the jia Pu and my HB side dun have too so kae and Kyler's chinese name were decided my us

Kae is En(1) Qi(2) and Kyler is Kai(3) Le(4) - a direct translation for Kyler actually.

CL
Sorry for the toruble.. help me collect the calendular cream.
Pls PM me the details for thursday playgroup..
if possible include some direction as in from SLE/KJE? exit which exit. I very scare I lost my way..haha..
My sister stayed at Yew Tee actually.. but usually my hb drive so I kinda blur :p

payment summary
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Denmy</TD><TD> $7.37 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cookie</TD><TD> $52.97 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Clare</TD><TD> $7.37 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rena</TD><TD> $48.68 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Krissie</TD><TD> $68.69 </TD><TD> $67.15 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunny</TD><TD> $9.36 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Flo</TD><TD> $11.35 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>valerie</TD><TD> $7.37 </TD><TD> $7.37 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chickenlittle</TD><TD> $41.82 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tabbiseus</TD><TD> $111.93 </TD><TD> $111.93 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>wenyl</TD><TD> $16.71 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>queen</TD><TD> $104.20 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>aileen</TD><TD> $3.98 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chilles</TD><TD> $1.99 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>rachel</TD><TD> $30.40 </TD><TD> $- </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

rachel,
Do u want me to pass your 2 calendular creams to CL? Are you going to her place on thurs for playgroup? Or, any morning after 9am or evening after 5pm you can make it to the bus-stop opp west spring sec, let me know so I can pass u your creams on the way home. I'll be driving that way.

Aileen

I agree, ur MIL name for ur son is horrible... dun like... actually last time my FIL chose one name that i hated... it was Si chen si as in lion, and chen as in city cos he felt that boi was singaporean (as hb is HK) so must call hiim "lion city" faintz... i am so glad that my dad cooked up an excuse for me to turn him down... in the end i chose my daughter's name... and my son is called "zhi qi" as in "will/ determination" but using my daughter's qi as stem...

mamachan
good luck for your interview.. hope u get it... do u do a lot of bench work? I'm going back to basics now and going to learn some research methods like PCR, proteomics... cos i'll be doing a lot of immunology work later...

CL
u mean aden can still fit in the ergo carrier? i thot it was for toddlers up to 1 year only? Won't it be very heavy to carry him like that? i was slinging my son around in paris and he's only 6plus kgs and i already felt backache/ shoulderache...

RE: Thursday playgroup
i must have missed the post, where is it? How can i contribute? what is the timing? Is there a theme?

btw mommies... isetan private sale is this thursday!!!

RE: cherie hearts

i dunno lei... i thot the 2 guys were a bit too "hi five" but didn't seem like much "learning"/ encouragement, have to ask my hubby cos he wasn't too happy with me for signing up with JG last time cos in the end he had to bring her... if i sign up i prefer the arts and craft cos tabby really likes that... I'd have preferred it if they had storytelling as well cos in the trial it was mostly dancing to music and music instruments... a bit more like "kindermusik" style...

tabbiesus
Currently, no leh, not doing alot of benchwork in my current position. Mine is considered more of a marine environmental sort of lab. I hope to do more research based sort of lab work. Yours sounds interesting, you'll be attached to SERI lab at SNEC? The area of research I'm applying for is for oncology translational interface. Think the job requires alot of co-ordination with hospitals as well to collect clinical samples. Will be quite cool if I get to take up a phlebotomy course in the event I get the job so I might take blood samples instead. hahaha.

Thursday Playgroup
Bad News, CL just msg me to say that Aden has to be quarantined at home as doctor suspects he might be down with measles or HFMD. Do you mummies want to hold it at my place? I can open my place at Redhill, or any other Bt Panjang mummies wanna open your place?

Haven't come onto forum for some days and missed so many postings! Can't catch up!

RE: Playgroup on Thursday
Guess what? My seminar on Thurs is cancelled!! Means i can make it for playgroup! Still got space for me & janelle to come?? Sorry can't offer my place coz it's kind of dirty and messy...my part-time cleaner only coming in on Sun to help clean the place...haha..super reliant on her!

CL,
Oh no hope Aden is fine. How did he manage to catch the measles? May he recover soon!

oh dear, hope Aden is ok. Too bad I need work on thurs else I won't mind opening up my place.

anyone else with a car wanna help CL collect the spree loot to pass to her?

MamaChan
You beat me to it, just saw CL's sms. Your interview is quite long ya, well at least that is good news

CL
Hope is just a scare, take care ya

Tabbs
LOL...I can't imagine if T is really call Si Chensi, sure kena disturb in class next time. My fren had a classmate name Xia (Summer) Lan (as in Lan Hua)...but when put together sounds like some hokkien vulgar word...end up always got disturb by her male classmates...poor gal.

SY
Hope your flu is not too bad, u looked well yesterday

CL - Oh dear...hope Aden is alright and will get well soon.

Mamachan - Good luck for yr interview again

PG on Thurs: Won't be joining already since I have to go pick up the cupcakes I ordered for my mum's BD.

Thanks mummies.
Just checked Aden today. Nothing on this body, hands and feet. Just those white grains on his mouth but not ulcers. So now I am praying hard it is neither HFMD nor measles. Certainly hope it is not measles otherwise I am going to blame myself for not giving him the MMR now. Hopefully it is rashes from the dirt as he was playing at playground and putting lots of things into his mouth.

May,
Your Il are so traditional. Are they Cantonese? I know Cantonese very particular abt hving boys.

Tabbs,
Ya...if really name Si Chen sure kena tease during chinese class. But how interesting of your FIL to think of the name.

RE : Chinese Name
Hey! My boy also has "Yu" (3)..."Yu(3) Zhe(1)" Dialect name "E Zhe" Actually dunno wat exactly shld be Yu in cantonese so juz to make his name interesting, we juz wrote "E" in his birth cert. hee hee

gee, just realised that Aileen and myself have been putting in the wrong prefered date. it should be 30 Sep not 30 Oct but I am changing my prefered date.

Please put preferred date (we'll go with the majority) and no. of pax going so that I can liase with the lady at Aero-Green.

*recap from 28 Aug*

I have contact w/ the lady who runs the Aero-Green Technology aeroponics farm. She's very happy to have us visit the farm as a group. Here's the rest of her email:

[[[[[[[[Thanks for the conversation with you. As your spouse is thinking of gathering a

farm, please inform us."

I have more info (promotional leaflets) on the farms at Kranji Countryside. PM me if interested. ]]]]]]]]]]]]

2. tabbiesus
8. Rena
10. Krissie
12. Aileen (prefer 30th Sep, Edgar + hb and Aileen)
13. durianlover
14. Chicken Little (30th Sep, Aden+Charmaine+Hb and Chicken Little)
15. Clare
16. Yuki
17. Cookie
18. MamaChan
19. Mongs (prefer 7 Oct, 3 of us)

*recap from 28 Aug*

farm, please inform us."

2. tabbiesus
8. Rena
10. Krissie
12. Aileen (prefer 30th Sep, Edgar + hb and Aileen)
13. durianlover
14. Chicken Little (7 Oct, Aden+Charmaine+Hb and Chicken Little)
15. Clare
16. Yuki
17. Cookie
18. MamaChan
19. Mongs (prefer 7 Oct, 3 of us)

Changing my preferred dates now.

Thanks Mummies for your concern on Aden.

Mamapanda,
I will be working from home this week so I can still collect the stuff from you for mummies to pick it up from me if the playgroup is nearby

tabbs,
think my mil and ur fil can be good friends ar. the names they come up with sounds so horrible! haha!

cookie,
i was initially thinking of using Le4 (happy) for my #2 as well. Coz I'll be naming him Tyler, hehe quite similiar to ur Kyler. So thought Yu3 Le4 means and sounds good. But my parents told me better not to use Le4 coz it could mean Le4 Yi4 Wang4 Xing2! so now we are still thinking of his chinese name. maybe Yu3 Xuan1.

CL,
oh no... hope Aden will be fine.

mamachan,
ur jobscope sounds all so chim to me, foreign language ar... but anyways hope that you will get the job! =D

re Playgroup
so it wlil be at Mamachan's place? How many pple going still? Think we need to rearrange the duties and list. I can offer my mum's place if you dun mind but it is quite inaccessible without car.
Start the list again
Playgroup 27th
1. SY

FLo
yeah, started to have sore throat at night. then think i brought JH out too much so started to feel quite bad in the afternoon yseterday

CL
hope aden is ok. I was just thinking abt how JH hasn't completed his jabs yesterday also...

Mamachan
hope your interview turned out well and u will get good news soon!

Hi Mummies,.

Morning..MIA for long time...super busy..

RE: Babylon
I got her sms at 05:30am this morning that Damien is admitted at hospital now due to dehydration and need to put him on drip...
Ohhhh dear..heart pain after read her sms...
Hope Damien will recover soon ...

CL
Hope Aden will be fine....will pray for him..

Aileen
Haha, no lah, not cheem lah. kekekeke. The new jobscope I'm applying for got to do with cancer research =P So I hope I get the job.

If you ladies are ok with having PG at my place, I don't ming opening up. Or if another Bt Panjang mommy wanna open up, I can travel there too.