(2005/11) November 2005 MTBs

Littleabby, my kid prefers ang moh food more so I'd had to resort to that genre to get her eating. Imagine at their age only taking 2 tablespoons of rice for lunch or dinner.

The bra is comfy...I find that at least I could relax and have some "me" time during pumping. So it was worth it la...though quite ex. Ya...think both sites should have. Can call and ask also ?

I'm looking around for Chinese storybooks and CDs now. Any reccomendations?

Re-Breastfeeding.
Share a bit cos Val not on TBF but at least stop when she turned 1.

Ameda breastpump served me very well but diff pump suit diff breast. Ha Ha Ha!

Elaine, if u really want to TBF, I feel you must prepare a pump to help u establish the supply leh. Of course, u need your bb to latch regularly & correctly. Golden rule---> Demand = Supply.

The handfree bra hor... actually u all can try using a normal nursing bra. Your bra cum the suction strenght should be able to hold the funnels. Dun waste $$$.

elaine,
my fren is going to lend me avent manual pump and also ameda dual electric
she said ameda is vy good
so, for now i no need to buy first

karen,
do u happen to know where to get ameda spare parts?
my fren is lending me ameda pump and she said one of the filter is spoilt, gotta replace it...

furryfurry, recently i bought this CD (made in China) which teaches young children (apprantly, teach China kids) learn english at this temp set up stall... cost me $7... wah piang... so obiang i can't stand it! but hor strangely... adam quite enjoy.. cos they have english songs, then they translate and explain some of the words in the songs in chinese.

Manuka, oh really ah...haha..so funny hor...I play, my husband and I cringe then quickly we turn it off...cos quite jialat...

manuka - I also got one CD something like your. So funny, it show a group of animal trying to learn english from this young girl call lili. A bit obiang but at least can learn something.

karen - wat TBF?

furry - I am also going to try out your mushroom soup. Seem yummy. Does it taste like campbell type? so far the only type of mushroom soup javier taken before is those campbell soup.

Elaine, yes, it tastes better than campbell..like those in ang moh restaurant lor...lol...my mom says eat cubbie's food can have long life cos so healthy...u know how we make stuff for our kids with more care than our own...LOL

TBF = total breastfeed

hey ladies, great to see so many posts! no time to keep up!

Milk... ally's drinking 2 bottles of 210ml while I'm at work... then latches on before and after work. Furry, you're right! She'll sign milk milk everytime she sees me after work and demands to latch on! Think will have a hard time stopping.

littleabby, I'm also using ameda lactaline. Can buy the spare parts from BMSG too. Not sure price though.

Elaine, I agree with karen... demand = supply. I can attest to that... my supply dwindled to near zero once cos of medical reason... then girl got milk allergy, I had to re-start (hungry-latch-hungry-latch) true enough, I got more than enough abuot 3-5days later. But it is hard work though.
You did detailed scan liao?

dili - i have not done detailed scan yet. Too early liao. U also using ameda lactaline. Is it heavy duty? I check the medela mini dual plus but only can use 5 to 7 pump per day.

shuyan i will be in shanghai from 12 or 13 to 15 april only, in an offsite during weekend. thats y since elaine also cant make it that sunday for mygym, told my hubby might as well postpone if all agrees. dont think he can handle josh himself hahaha thank you ladies for accomodating!!!! oh, have added your blog too!

Hi morning ladies

Talking about breastpump, my sis had bot the Medela mini from the taka fair. Lucky for me cos can borrow from her to try out for my second baby.

Momoko,I alright with any dates.I think if I'm not free, my hubby oso cant handle douglas himself too.If I let him look after for awhile,surly got things happen like fall down lar,knock himself on something lar.U r working at where?

Elaine, so when u going for ur detail scaning?

oh i know HK is not baby friendly but thinking of bringing josh to the disneyland during easter break. anyone been to HK disneyland?? nice??

littleabby sorry for late reply. BMSG is breastfeeding mothers' support group. Check the website www.breastfeeding.org.sg

Elaine, Ameda quite good served me well for >1yr. Medela mini (single) is very noisy. I put it at my mum's place for emergency pumping! I heard the dual one is good.

momo, i was also thinking of bringing the kids to HK Disneyland. Got 2 free day pass. But thinking only, don't know can find time or not. My son keep bugging me abt going to HK.

baby2005, now hor, got good promo for SQ flights. check it out!! but quite full liao, i'm on waitlist cos using redemption

hi mommies, especially those experienced in breastfeeding...

i heard from some of my frens, when breastfeeding we have flu, its even more recommended to breastfeed, instead of stop doing it

is that true?

dat time when i breastfed abby, i was having flu pretty often and was under medication, besides panadol (which i know is safe for breastfeeding), i oso took cough syrup and medication for runny nose which i wasnt sure its safe for breastfeed or not

so to play safe,i always stopped breastfeeding whenever i took the medication, scared it'll give affect to abby, gave her formula instead, back to breastfeeding after i'm okay, so it did affect my milk supply, ended up i only managed to breastfeed for 3months (3weeks tbf, the rest mixed with formula), cos besides nomore milk, abby oso prefer bottle than my breast

pretty upset with that and i do really want to be able to breastfeed exclusively for long this time

anybody can advise me?

littleabby, actually hor, when i had flu i continue to breastfeed, cos by the time the symptons show you already passed the flu to baby liao. so baby will get the immunity lah. and hor, if u take medicine always ask if its safe for breastfeeding. most of the time i ask, they are safe. i very funny one lah, i always think if i pass flu to him, i take medicine then i pass medicine to him lor .ahhaha in any case when he was breastfed, and i was sick, he doesnt seem affected.

yesterday quite unhappy leh. stupid maid let josh roam about and then he got a long cut on his leg. i know at this age, he sure get bruises, cuts, etc. but its so frequent, only last 2 weeks he had this big baluku on his forehead after falling from bed, then yesterday again, ON TOP of the many uncountable mossie bites on his face, hands and legs. with MIL and 2 maids around, can still like that.

bcos of this, i seriously thinking of sending josh to pre-nursery/playgroup liao. probably teachers can take care better. maids got to do housework cant 100% look after. and MIL too old to chase him.
anyone already sending your child to daily pre-nursery?

Littleabby, its ok to continue bfing when we're sick as we do pass on the antibodies to our children. As for medication, you can always check with your Pd if the meds given are safe. Gps may not be all that familiar. Similar to Momoko's experience, when I was ill, cubbie didn't seem to suffer any effects from my illness.

Momo, if you think that 3 adults cannot look after Josh, then sending him to school may be worse as the teacher:student ratio tends to start from 1 teacher : 5 or 6 children at our kid's age. Its inevitable that the kids will fall or get bites etc...even in school...take it easy la

For me, I prefer not to send cubbie to school at this age unaccompanied. Call it separation anxiety or full time working mom guilt, I just feel that she's a tad too young to go off and "conquer the world" without any one on one adult supervision. like it or not, nannies are likely to pay more attention to our kid's needs more quickly than a teacher who has to teach, prepare syllabus and the classrooom and handle 5 to 6 kids can.

relax la...these things happen. Take it as a learning curve for Josh? else instruct your helpers not to let Josh go on the bed etc. They're just trying their limits and testing their limbs etc....

Also, go around the house and toddler proof as well. I make my nanny close off the study rooms, bedrooms and bathroom doors everyday so that cubbie cannot venture in. I also pad her play area so that she has a relatively "safe" place to do her stunts and drag her toys around. As for mossies, close all windows before the sunsets, about 6 pm? We do that too....
HTHs
Hugs hugs...

hey, momoko - try to take it easy ya...as long as the falls / bruises are not life threatening, it is ok. boys will be boys lah. darion also had a huge baluku on his head during CNY....cried until he was shaking...then 5 minutes later, he was back to running around. i try not to fuss too much...

Furry - SHA was so cold for me!!!! Fell sick on Friday. M back in Singapore now.

Chin...poor thing...ya...Sh's weather very erratic this season...it was so cold yesterday with wind and rain and today its suddenly much warmer...with SUN even...

Hear this summer will be a long and hot one too....

Hope you get well soon!

oh SHA is very cold now!! oh now i better get ready some winter wear??

thanks furry and chin, i try to take it easy but quite sim tia. the bruises on his legs hor, macham kena ill treated like that. i will get the maids to safe proof the house like what furry suggested.
i also dun really like the idea of having josh go to a playgroup unaccompanied. but i guess its the process of growing up also.. lets see

Momo...its normally supposed to be much warmer about this time of the year...will keep you updated when you are coming la..just ask me when you are about to pack

Momoko,u good life leh,still got 2 maids to serve u.boys tend to be very active,as long as its not very serious fall or cut,I think its alright.U still can say ur maids,but me hor how to say my MIL,Douglas almost everyday fall down or knock himself,but I only can keep quiet n nag to my hubby.

Hi Momoko,

I plan to send Alden to half day childcare when he turns 18 months. He picks up things fast from slightly older children and enjoys in the company of children. I have got no maids at home and it's getting tiring to take care of him whole day. But sourcing for a good childcare is very important so take your time to find if you are serious in sending Josh.

momoko and furryfurry,

thks for the info, now i know wat to do

last time still blur blur - still dunno have this forum, so only asked my mom and mil, but unfortunately they're not vy supportive in tbf, always said bm only wont b enuf, gotta add with formula, i blur blur just follow lor dat time, cos worry wat they said really true

now i know much more so really hope this time can tbf for long and prove them wrong

littleabby and elaine,

If you have low milk supply aft birth, try to drink fish and papaya soup.

My milk didn't come in untill the six day. Was so depressed and fed up cos mum in mil keep asking me to give formula (my breasts Acup some more).

Discuss with Doc and he prescibe me MOTILIUM to increase milk supply.

Wow I love him loh... the very next day my both breasts full of milk liao. But please check with your doc cos after all is a medicine. Duno will cause any side effect anot. So far for me if my menses coming i notices my milk supply will drop i will pop one pill to tahan thru that week.

Hope this helps

Got any poll or survey if anyone going to bring their kid to preschool once hit 18mths?

I went to a preschool near my hse to check the fees yesterday. SAw this 18mths boy carrying his bag while playing on his own. The teacher say he feel insecure so muz hold on to his personal belonging...so poor thing..

Me still thinking if i shd put rebeca to preschool. Thk she will cry n cry just like me when i start school

shuyan
not good life lah, MIL is the main one taking care of josh so can imagine, tolerance level has to be high!

ernestmum
yah have been looking around. good ones are not near my neighbourhood so may be a problem. so far i saw Q-dees? carpe diem, and now i know there is pat schoolhouse. visited both Q-dees and carpe diem, not v impressed. next week going to take a look at pat schoolhouse. quite exp leh.
and 18 mths hor, i doubt they can achieve much in preschool. but the principal is also quite realistic lah. she say dun really expect toddlers to be able to learn ABN and 123 overnight. mostly to teach them routine, discipline, taking turns, self feed, etc.

calbee, i dun tink josh will cry., but i doubt he will obey the teacher hahhahaa
already trying hard to get him to sit down at mygym every sunday. hahaha

hello mummies

sidetrack abit here

Want to share good lobang here.
I bought a small bookshelf from carrefour yesterday... Only 9.90 leh...cheap and good to put our bb storybooks...machiam like a little library corner for them...

My gal keep sleeping today...duno why ...dats y so free can post here..

Calbee - So for the first six day, you give rebecca any formula milk?? I only tot of sending javier to those playgroup from mon to fri for only one hour plus. Dun intend to send for long duration. But am thinking can he take it or not? Cos the ratio is like 1 teacher to 5 or 6 toddler. Or maybe when he turn 22 mths cos there is one playgroup tat only accept toddler at tat age.

Ladies, anyone heard of this saying tat newborn babies won't get hungry in the first few day cos tey will have supply (food) store inside their tummy when tey are born so tat why even thou our milk supply did not come in so fast, it ok to let BF and not give FM.