(2005/11) November 2005 MTBs

Ju,
Why are you stopping the part time cleaning? I have part time help too and I think it really helps a lot. We all need a break leh, owise if we're mum and maid, can pengsan one...

hey... these days.. i had a hard time trying to find milk powder (Friso 3) for adam, even NTUC out of stock!.. the shop people told me that they are stopping Friso 3 production... any mommy here gave Friso 3 and if this is true?
They ask me to switch brand... I am thinking of switching to Gain. Any mommy here gave Gain and does it cause constipation? also... any idea if we can suddenly switch brand or must slowly switch?
sorry har... a lot of qns...

hiroshima, i heard PIS is the best pump on earth leh! but too ex, i no money buy... kekeke... a frd says she will lend me her ameda electric one... me too was using avent manual the last time, this time i want to try electric see good or not.. if good, maybe i will invest in one

For moms shopping around, I would say that if you are serious about BFing then invest in a good pump. When I first bought my PIS, my DH was grumbling about the price ($500+ with Kiddy Palace discount). But at the end of the day, he was very thankful for every cent we spent. (think about the FM you save and the time you save cos of how efficient it can pump! Even SAHM's time is precious! I'm sure if you were a SAHM, you would rather spend that extra time doing something else besides pumping milk! Esp. with a 2nd child right?).

I think I was able to sustain BFing R. so long (even now when she's 15+ months) cos I had the assistance of a good pump. Sometimes its SOOO tiring to have to wake up and pump but knowing that expressing takes only 10-15 minutes tops, with not many parts to fix together and clean, helps a lot. I even bought a hands-free bra so that I could pump AND read and at least get some ME time during pumping.

Alternatively, you can try renting both types of pumps. I believe the LLL in SG rents pumps and if you are still undecided, can try that route. They even deliver to your home I think.

One thing, I have never regreted purchasing the PIS. Its seen me through long haul travels (to US even without R. with me), work travels (to HK and BJ), during times of engorgement and mastis etc. Become quite emotionally attached to the pump liao :p

If you do purchase the PIS, must stock up on the membranes as they do come apart if mis-handled. (My maid is sometimes too rough with it). Otherwise, I've seriously no complains about PIS besides that the battery can be a bit heavy...so rather unsexy to carry a big bag to work LOL.

Manuka, what about ringing up the Company that retails Friso in Singapore? I did try Nestle for NAN HA2 before and they had a customer service line that can deliver to your home. Can try lor...

Ju, why you stop part time help ah? Aiya...keep the help and spend your time baking yummy treats la :p

So fun..so H and M going to same playgroup? R will sure to miss her 2 brothers...she's getting bossier and bossier...cannot tahan leh...need someone to sit on her hard!

Manuka.. i Gain IQ dun coz constipation.. but hor.. i find tat Gain IQ quite heaty leh.. eversince i change for Orlando to drink since he turn 1 yr old hor.. he has been coughing or having flu lor.. duno whether if Gain is the caused of it.. i may wan to change to Enfagrow.. but yes.. u muz slowly switch.. dun switch at one go..

furry.. watz LLLL? ORQ dun haf powerpt in the executive toilet leh.. hw ah? nw i pondering if i shld get a manual one to pump in office.. den use the dual one at hm.. sigh..

Cel, can invest in a battery pack that recharges lor. I use that too and can plug into office socket to recharge ma. Manual pump is very slow...and I am sure lunchtime and worktime will get more precious for you as you'll want to cut down OT with 2 kids waiting at home right?

LLL = La Lache League . Can find the local chapter here www.lalecheleague.org . I thought you were going to borrow one from HZ ?

We have 2 new hires into my team...wah seh...all study a lot...go dunno how many MBAs and mAsters and CPA and CFAs....and not that old too. Siong man. I feel stressed ;P

Syl, mao mao
No choice lor. Nowadays budget getting tighter. If can, I oso want to continue the part time cleaning service. Hopefully I will be very hardworking and keep the house clean. Bleah~

mao mao
Yeah, Hiroshima and I are thinking of sending our kiddo to the same playschool. Hopefully with a familiar face around, they will feel more at ease in an unfamiliar environment. I am sure Hiroshi and Malc are missing their mei mei too.

lynn, is it? Jaime also taking friso3 and i just bought a tin yesterday fron NTUC and they hv plenty on the shelf leh!

Pat, my coll's daughter taking Enfagrow and he said it seem to be heaty cos' despite the daughter taking lots of vegi, she still hv constipation. hmm... maybe i'll try to call Friso and check.

Juju..that's so nice!!
I'm sure they'll be best friends in the school and go after girls together KEKEKEKEKEEK

Pat, can check the fiber content? I don't since i've never changed FM but a gf of mine does...

furry.. i was tinking of tat.. but i duno where i can do the pumping.. coz medela a bit noisy leh.. wait ppl outside will noe i'm pumping.. quite paiseh.. heehee.. but quite true abt wat u say.. i won't wan to waste my precious time away.. i m borrowing frm HZ, but i tot either i leave it at hm or at wrk.. so i will haf one at hm n one at wrk.. easier mah.. no nid to lug it ard..

if fibre content high tat means not heaty ah?

chien.. issit? hmm.. like dat very jialat hor.. sianz..

thanks baby2005! was abt to call Friso...
wonder why those people tell me friso is stopping the stock! got a scare... anyway, just now i went Hougang NTUC and didn't see any on the shelf, but hor, i saw one whole carton of Friso3 on either waiting to go up the shelf or just taken down from the shelf.. i bo chap, grab 2 tins and pay! hahaha

ju,
if malc likes soup, maybe u can cook different kind of soup - cantonese style keke...

abby loves soup too

i share with u some of her fave dishes

one of her fave is chicken soup,
u boil water together with the chicken to make chicken stock, at the same time u stir fry abit of mix of garlic and shallots with olive oli til fragrant then u mix it in the soup
aft that u can just add in carrot, potato, spring onion, sometimes i add tomato, cauliflower too
add abit of salt into the soup
can eat with abc pasta / soft rice

she oso loves lotus root soup
boil water together with pork lean meat for the stock then add qi zi, lotus root and gound peanuts
add abit of salt, need to simmer for 2hrs
eat with soft rice

another one is watercress soup
boil water together with pork lean meat for the stock then add sweet corn and watercress, add abit of salt
oso need to simmer for 2hrs
eat with soft rice

got one more is fish papaya soup
boil water together with the fish for the stock then add white fungus, honey dates, papaya (not so ripe)]
add abit of salt, simmer for 2hrs
eat with soft rice

oya, got one more she likes
boil water with silver fish for the stock (i throw away the silver fish aft that), add in abit of ginger, salt
then can put in spinach
simmer for 2hrs
can eat with pork / chicken
eat with soft rice

can just be creative with the ingredients inside the soup, change the meat and veggies
good thing if malc loves soup cos we can also eat it and its healthy dishes

i dont give soup evryday though
i alternate with other dishes
i marinate fish / salmon / pork / chicken with corn flour, abit of soya sauce and mix with soft rice, give variety of veggies, sometimes can add eggs / fish ball
for pork and chicken, sometimes i marinate with sweet soya sauce too
for fish and salmon, i'll stir fry first with abit of garlic and olive oil

abby dont like beef, so i dont cook beef dishes for her

when cooking rice, if not mixed with soup i'll give abit of salt and sesame oil and boil together with chicken feet (i throw away the chicken feet aft that)
so, even though the dishes not so tasty but the rice got taste

maybe u can try...

sometimes i oso lazy, so for her lunch i just give her oatmeal with fruits keke..

and when we go out most of the time i give her heinz bottled food for convenience, anyway i dont go out often, only weekend most of the time, hehe..she likes the cheesy pasta bolognese and tuna pasta

dont feel bad - just becos u're SAHM doesnt mean u need to cook for him evryday
i oso SAHM, i know how shiong it is to be one hehe...

youpi, i'm SAHM and yes, i plan to bfreastfeed long this time
i heard for a start, when the milk supply not out yet just aft give birth, its better to use manual pump

maybe i shall get avent manual pump first and then aft that c how, if neccessary then i might invest in the electric one
thks for sharing

i also agree SAHM not easy... a lot of people thinks its an easy job... but they dunno how siong it is... got to cope with the small one and housework... sometimes, dun even have time for yourself!

Cel, more fiber less likely to have constipation.
Aiya, anyway they will know u are pumping ... cos eventually wonder why you are away from desk and how come that toilet cubicle so long no one come out. Bo chup them la..just do what you need to do.

littleabby, just want to add that electric pumps can be converted to manual pumps too. If its the initial part you are concerned with.

Just came back from JG with R again and her hair has white paint on it! LOL. I was so glad to see her overcome her concerns about paint and glue as she thinks they are "dirty". She will actually shake her head and say "no no" when she sees such stuff...gooey or paint or playdoh etc. Hence her dislike for mushy food. So I did highlight to her teacher as feedback from her SG JG teacher and it was so nice of them to pay attention to her and set it up so that now she has overcome her concerns. Quite excited for her. GIggles.

Ju, you quite heng that M like soup. R only like ONE type of soup so far....creamy MUSHROOM soup...I've tried to mix other veggies in but she's smart enough to reject it. So everyday her dinners are standard. She not sian my nanny also sian of cooking it for her LOL. And no lor, we've tried variations of food combinations for her...but no no ...bo pian.

Littleabby, so nice that you can prepare meals for your DD. I wish I had the time as well...saw some nice recipes for muffins for kids. Quite interesting to try. maybe this weekend ...

furry.. the ting is.. duno whh idiot treat the executive toilet as his own private bathroom leh.. got HIS BOXERS, SHOES, TOWEL.. aiyoz i tell u.. i go in once i dun even wan to go in liao..

Manuka,

Fresh mushrooms, wash clean, dry with paper towel. R prefers fresh Shitake mushrooms.

Boil in pan with water. Drain and pop mushrooms into blender. Give it a few whirls to puree it. Pop back into the pan with a little knob of butter, some chicken stock, pepper and salt (to taste) and some cream or milk. We use Nestle cream. very little nia. Bring to boil and serve.

I love her leftovers cos its very fresh and lovely. Can use a mixture of mushrooms to get a more varied and richer taste.

Can use the same method for pumpkin, sweet potato and other veggie soup

Cel...so corny...then u just sit there and bo chup la. Pretend pretend lor. hehehe...or complain to HR and get them to send out an email citing that the use of E. bathrooms are for such and such.

Alternatively some of my friends will officially seek permission from HR. And some companies are nice enough to find rooms for them to use leh...how's your HR like?

furry.. mine is not the whole flr leh.. my level got 3 diff companies.. tat's y i duno whh company's staff's stuff is tat.. hahaha..

hmm.. thanks furry for the recipe... now they shd be able to take mushroom hor? i have not really let adam take mushroom before leh... i hope he likes mushroom...

oh ya.. the soup is serve with pasta or rice or porridge?

Manuka,

We only started her on mushrooms after she turned one. Give a bit and see if any reaction? I'm still a bit cautious about things like kiwi as well...hehehee

We serve it with a bit of rice (she only takes 2 tablespoons max! tough customer!) and some grilled chicken wings or dory nuggets or some other "main meat" or steamed tofu etc.

We pan fry the dory after it gets dipped in egg. Her fav and also mine LOL.

Juju, ya...mushroom soup with toast also nice...I got a slightly ang moh kid la...:p

Mao mao
Becky likes potatoes? Can try giving her french fries without salt. Oven baked them instead of deep frying. Alternative to rice, good source of carbo too.

Malc love fries. Whenever we go fast food, he will want his share of fries. I prefer Mos bruger's. Fat and nice yet not saltish. Yumm!

furry, wow! the food becky took like restaurant standard leh! yum yum

manuka, for cream of mushroom soup, i used a mixture of fresh Button mushroom & fresh Shitake mushroom when I cook for my son. So far i hv not give jaime any mushroom yet but I hope she will like it not like me,I hate mushroom.

How much milk is your toddler drinking now per day? Malc is drinking about 360ml - 420ml per day, morning and night feed. He refused his afternoon milk. So now, I have to replace it with snacks. Sometimes I buy Four Leaves' Japanese steam cheesecake for him. Or I just feed him with some crackers.

Read from another forum, some mommies are giving steamed chick peas. Said they are excellent source for calcium and folate.

Going to try the recipe and see if Malc likes it. Coz I like steamed chick peas too.

Juju...ya..she loves fries too...even though we try to keep her away..and loves BONEs! pork and beef bones or chicken bones...if I'm eating them, she will point and make me give it to her! jialat hor.

Aiya...no la...actually we only knew that she like to take this soup from a lunch we had with her at Prego. so came home after, researched and cooked for her lor.

Ju...R still drinks quite a bit leh...esp. when she sees me...she thinks I'm her petrol kiosk. Esp. when I come home from work, she will say Hi to me..then aim her milk stations and sayang them. si bie jialat.

Oo steamed chick peas is a good idea! Wonder if it'll work...

Ju, Jaime is drinking between 480ml-540ml per day, total 3 feeds. But think she drank more than that cos' my mum will give her milk again for arnd 10am.

So the chickpea is for you or malc?? hee....

hey elaine hope you get a girl this time too!!

manuka, josh is taking gain IQ. no constipation problem. he still poo once to twice a day. it depends on the child i think. like IF just told us at mygym last sunday, that her dawn constipates due to gain. so i guess good for you to change slowly and check reaction.

ju, josh drinks about 240ml per feed, 3 times a day. recently i also add in a spoonful of nestle wheat and honey to make him more full at each feed. in fact i think 240ml is not enuff for his last feed, he always finish and then continue to suck!!!

Hi Ladies...moi checking in and saying hello from beijing. missing my boy a lot - called home just now..and he was calling "ma ma" on the phone..
weather here is nice tho...7deg.

So the topic is food....darion loves soup...i have boiled most of the same soups that little abby recommended...he loves it with rice. i do have a prob - darion does not like meat ... what can i do to introduce him to meat?

furry - i will be in shanghai on thur...any new shopping spots for kiddy clothes???

lynn - remember to let me know if the ameda electric pump is good or not? cos I'm planning to get one electric pump but no idea which one to buy? Also dunno got milk or not haiz.

furry - wat is 'hand free bra'?

Chin,
Hi. I still go back to Ni Hong at Pu An Lu, behind HK Plaza. Been "good" for the last 2 weeks..no shopping yet! LOL.

Have you tried chicken wings with D? Another mom told me about that and I tried and now R loves it. Just grill lightly, peel away the skin and top part where the bone is soft and fats, and hand it over. R loves to mangle around with it. We do watch her when she eats though...just in case she chokes.

Elaine, I use the medela one...I actually fell asleep whilst reading/pumping once and woke up 20 mins later cos of this hands free bra LOL. I bought it from this shop tat has branches at United Square and Paragon...First Few Years I think is its name. It looks like this...

http://sg.auctions.yahoo.com/sg/i:Medela%20Hands-Free%20pumping%20bra:95774915

Manuka - refering to you lar kekeke.

furry - i same as manuka, suaku too haha. First time seeing this too. Look good, I can even close my eye to rest while the machine do it job.

I discuss wif ah lao and conclusion will be after birth see if have milk supply or not, or rent the electric pump to test out. If good then invest in one.

furryfurry,
i shall try your mushroom soup - seems yummy!

abby never eats mishroom soup, chicken wing, french fries...can try c whether she likes or not

i did give her ribs dat time we ate at tony roma's and oso the corn on the cob - she loves it keke...

wah, the bra looks comfy, maybe get one - so can buy at united sq or paragon?

ju,
no problem - i give her many variety cos she can get bored very easily

abby still drinks milk 4times a day, each time 180-210ml