(2005/11) November 2005 MTBs

Dear Misch,

Well they asked me if I want to be admitted or go home to rest, so i opt for home as it will be more comfortable. As the attending MO said it could take time and not necessary today for me to deliver so home is definitely the more preffered choice.

Well, they advised as long as I dun feel the baby move, more regular and intense contraction, my water bag burst or bright red discharge then I should get myself admitted immediately.

I really hope that I dun need to wait too long because the contractions is no joke ah!

Hi ladies..

CONGRATULATIONS to all new MTBs!

Gave birth on 2nd Nov to my boy. Am back from the hospital, but baby is still in the nursery - due to jaundice. Darion weighs 3.85kg at birth, 54 cm.

Here is my birth story:-

Nov 1, 3pm: Started having some contractions (not too diff from the BH ones), but it came rather often and got stronger. So I called TMC, and my doc called me back. Asked me to time the contractions for 1 hour. I timed..but still not regular, so gave up timing. Doc called me at 6pm and asked me what is happening. I described the feeling to her and she said to go into the hosp the next day at 9am to monitor the contractions.

Nov 1, 8pm: Started light spotting - but not the "show". Had a feeling that labour is soon..so got everything ready. Then decided to wait..and went to sleep.

Nov 1, 1145pm: Strong urge to pee. Felt a gush of water flowing out once I reached the toilet. And then the "show" came.

Nov 2, 0030am: Reached TMC. Almost immediately, painful contractions started. Checked - cervix dilation still 2 cm (same as the day before during my check up)

Nov 2, 3am. Can not take the pain anymore. Asked for epidural. Dilation just 3 cm. When epi was administered, I felt an immediate relief...but I could still feel pain on my left side. Informed the nurses, who shifted me to my left to let the epi flow. Later, I found out that the epi did not reach my left side properly.

Nov 2, 6am - 8cm dilated. Still very painful on my left side. Nothing they could do now..cos too advance into labour. So I could feel every contraction on my left, but nothing on my right.

A few hours later, after pushing like crazy - mission accomplished!

Side effects from epi: A strong sense to throw up for a few min after epi was given. After that,it was ok.

Miss my boy very much now..dun know when he can come home. But will be running to TMC to breastfeed very often. Still no milk yet - but have to let him suckle to stimulate the flow. Meanwhile, he is on FM cos he needs the fluids to clear the jaundice.

One thing - the nurses and doctors at TMC were wonderful. I would say that many went beyond their call of duty.

For those who have not delivered yet - I can vouch that the disposable panties (Impressions) are really good.. very comfy compared to the one the hospital gave..and oh yes, bring lots of pads. I brought 10 - not enough, had to send hubby home for more.

Confinement lady is on the way..my parents went to pick her up. Guess she will be quite free..since my baby is not back yet.

Hi amber,

My EDD's on 6th Nov which is tmr. And I've been waiting till my neck long long liao...

I'm going to be induced on 8th Nov.

Our bb and Ashley's might come out on the same day!!

Dear Ashley,

I hope you dun have to wait for long too... can imagine the pain. Have you started to time your contractions? My friend was telling me that she's advised to admit herself when her contractions are about 10 mins apart.

Better to admit early too. Esp if you're prepared to go for epidural. Then dun have to suffer so much.
kao_smile2.gif

Chin, thanks for sharing ur birth story.

Haha...yah Misch, mayb really the same day. But hopefully it's earlier & not on the 8th so that we won't need to be induced

Congratulations, chin!

Thanks for sharing your birth story. Oops, epi can still feel contractions. Scary man!

Hope Darion's jaundice will be cleared soon and he can go home. Did the doc predict when he can be discharged?

Hi chin! Congrats! And thanks for sharing your birth story. Hope your baby can be discharged soon. It must be really weird feeling contractions on the left and nothing on the right huh? Why the epidural like this one? Wow, darion is big huh...

Ya loh, amber.

I'm already having sleepless nite anticipating the inducement. Gynae say will be put on drip...

Let's pray hard we'll get what we wish for! Psyco bb... come out... come out by tmr....

Dear Chin,

CONGRATULATIONS and Thank you so much for sharing your experience. Hope little Darion will be home soon!

Dear Misch,
Well, my contraction are a bit irregular, ranging from every 5 minutes to 10-15minutes (I think). Maybe I should really time it to see how regular are they. Thanks for the tip! By the way epi is definitely the choice.

Ashley,

sama sama, epi's the choice for me too! Unless i really dilate super fast and it's too late to administer it. Then a short labour is also v good. Hoping hoping!!

Am not sure when he will be discharged. They will do a blood test for him tomorrow and and then I suppose I will know. But it depends on when his jaundice can go down to an acceptable level.

Yes - Darion is big..well, he is tall..so that explains the weight. He does not look fatter than the other babies..just longer.

My experience w epidural (not working effectively) is apparently quite rare...but it does happen. Something to do w the flow of epi being blocked ...not sure also.

Misch, Ha..ha.. Is this your first child? I hoping for a short labour too but unfortunately all the books, internet research and other mummies experience said first baby usually last more than 10hours. Let's keep our fingers and toes cross and pray that it will be a short labour.

Ashley,

Ya, it's my 1st. That's wat my mum n gynae said too... it'll last 8 - 10 hrs. Hope I'll belong to the exceptions where labour is short.

Trying to do more "hip opening" exercises learnt in yoga. hee...

Misch,

Ok Ok. Now I'm timing my contractions...pretty irregular ah.... hoping it'll get regular soon... now it's ranging from 22 minutes to as soon as 6 minutes apart.

Hi Chin,

Thanks! I really need the luck, cause I can't seem to do anything much right now. Tried to nap but the cramps are keeping me awake. Not really resting at all.

Ashley..take it easy..focus on the positive...this is the day that your body has been preparing for the past 40 weeks. Just rest and sleep..and let nature takes its course.

Congrats chinlee and ashley in advance..

That's y lah..when I see that Chin Lee u did not come in for a few days I know we wld be expecting good news fr u ..hiaks hiaks..ur bb so tall hor..hehe..

Went gynae in the morning. Lost 1 kg. Nurse asked me whether bb moves these few days. I said yes. They made me have the CTG for half hr. Not much contractions. Bb is moving also so in the end nothing happened. Went to buy the V-shaped pillow fr carrefour and went home. hahahaha..

Naughty..first is my mum saying she dreamt of bathing my bb then now u..hahahaa..much anticipated hor..

Celtricia, my next appt still a wk later on Sat leh..dunno I will be there or not..maybe delivered by then..hiaks hiaks.

wow wow! Congrats to all new mummies... more and more popping!! Jia You...

Aprilpinky,
Carrefour got sell v-shape pillow? How much? is it carrefour at suntec? Cos i thinking of getting one for BF since now i using normal pillow quite siong leh.. muscle ache! hahaah

chin, wow! bb 3.85kg!! must be a chubby bb...

dun worry about the jaundice.. all will be fine. Mine also have jaundice, but still acceptable level but got to go polyclinic everyday to monitor level. Think juandice level will peak at Day 5-7 and will drop after that. Dun worry.

How come can still feel contraction on ur left side? Cld it be it was not administered properly?

Congrats Chin!

Welcome Ashley! My EDD's the same day as your princess...
kao_welcome.gif
Feeling excited too...
I woke up yesterday afternoon staining my bed, and when I went to the toilet and saw blood (like period) on the toilet bowl... Can anyone advise if it is 'show'?

Called my doc immediately but was advised to stay home to wait as I didn't have any contractions and this could last for 1-2 days
Later in the evening, my pad was soaked with 'pinkish' liquid and has continued till now... Is this my waterbag??
I'm very confused.. should I go into the hospital or continue to wait as per my doc's advise?

Any advise??

<font color="0000ff">Celtricia,</font>
I heard diarrhoea is one of the signs... nature's way of preparing ourselves for pushing! But soft stools... don't think they mean anything significant.

<font color="ff0000">Natalie,</font>
I went for Birth and Beyond antenatal classes... very good, highly recommend for preggies. But the domestic helper course, not sure. That place is very "ang moh pie" one, so not sure how they are at training foreigners.

Ju,
Be brave, hope you have a smooth delivery.

<font color="119911">Ashley,</font>
Welcome! Hope to hear good news from you soon!
My doc advised to admit myself if contractions are 15mins apart (from the start of 1st contraction to the start of the 2nd)

<font color="ff0000">Amber,</font>
Placenta can age one ah?? Sounds scary!

<font color="aa00aa">Chin,</font>
Congrats! I knew there'd be good news from either one of the 3rd Novs ;)

As for me,
Had a big discharge last night... but it's yellowish, no blood at all. So I reckon that's not a "show" right?

Hi blur blur.. Maybe you should call your doc to check on this matter.

As for me, my contraction is still irregular... starting to feel quite lethargic from it already.

Blurblur,

I asked my gynae today whether if got bloody show need to admit hospital (if without waterbag burst/regular contractions). He said if a bit, can wait till a few hrs later then monitor whether got contractions. If got huge amt of bloody discharge or blood clots hor, must admit liao.

Ashley press on..I got a feeling u may be admitted tonite? hehe..

Am just wondering, is 'show' meant to be continous? I had 'show' this morning but had since stopped but the contraction is going on strong though. Anyone any idea?

Aprilpinky,

I hope so..ha..ha.. can't wait to get the labour over with and of course to meet my precious princess.

Ashley,
Were you dilated the last time you saw your doc? When?

Hope NIK is fine... it must be tiring taking care of two babies.

Yup I was 2cm dilated this morning (around 8+am) and ever since then been having contraction but it is getting more regular now as compared to this afternoon. From 7pm it's about 10-11minutes apart but the contraction intensity varies from mild to intense.

Ashley - the show starts off with some trickle of blood..and a bit of period like discharge. It can come on and off..not continuous. But then, when the plug really comes off - the actual "show", you can not mistake the show for anything else..it is a huge lump..of mucus mixed w blood - abt the size of half your palm. Sorry if this is a bit disgusting....btw, Ashley, you really sound like you are in labour..and sounds like the way mine went.

Manuka - I think my epi was administered properly. Just that for some individuals, there is blockage of the flow through the nerves.

Dili,

Ya..hahahaha...I got a feeling I will give birth by mid next week also..:pP I dont want to waste my ML..*sob sob*

Nik is ok I think. Saw her posting in the twin thread. She has two a/c here. Rosie is her also.

Chin, congrats! just finished reading the thread. Hope baby Darion's jaundice come down soon.

Aprilpinky, I am CS. You are not accepting PM ler..u can PM me your no. also? I just went for checkup this morning. From what my gynae say, seems like I should likely pop around my EDD. Baby engaging, but not fully yet...

Dili_mummy, how's your search for maid? Found already?

Ashley, wah, your contractions 10-11 mins apart still can sit and log on? If you still around, better prepare go hospital liao...jia you!!

Good evening ladies....
Congratulations to Chin.... Dun worry about Darion. It's true tat jaundices level will peak around 5-7 days. I'm also very heart-broken when i discharged without Gareth, especially tat day he juz came down to nursery from NICU.

Aprilpinky, hahahaha, u also noe i got 2 a/c here...
Dili, thanks for asking....I have been reading this thread also..Everyone is getting excited over the D-Day....Me, busy wif my bbs loh. They are doing fine. Luckily, i have helpers(PIL n maid). Confinement, very sian, my mil trying to feed me wif 6 meals a day(juz like hospital, every 2-3 hrs, there will be something to eat). I practically 'sneak' out every alternate day. I'm at TMC today also. Gynae wanna to check my stitches again.

Maid, i also headaches. Yesterday, i still tell sexxy tat i'm ok wif my maid. But, my PIL n hb are very dissatisfied wif her. Wanna to change her. Especially after today, she broke something in my bathroom, yet not admitting to it. My hb is SO angry. Hb is going down to the agency to have the maid changed tmr.

I have no chance to post my bbs' pixs cos my hb has not help me upload any. I will try to uplaod the pixs asap.

congrats chin!! dun worry too much ok? ur baby will be fine.. and so are u!!

wah.. am so confused with who and who is going to be mummy soon.. but nonetheless.. jia you ok!

hiak hiak.. went out shopping today.. i told my hb tt... 2 weeks at home is enough to drive me nuts! so am going out! and i went out with him.. ehhehehehee...

Hi gals! I'm still around but am preparing to go to KKH lu. Now my contraction is about 10mins or less apart. Hope it's not false alarm though. Wish me luck!

Aprilpinky, seems that your feeling is really accurate ah!

Hi Ashley, feeling excited for you.

Chinlee - u're truly ahead of me, congrats!!

Went for a check-up this afternoon, had a dilation check thru vagina and it was about 1cm but then gynae somehow used her finger to make it 2cm. Before going to the clinic, I had no sign of anything. But then after the check-up, I had this continuous dark brown discharge till now, still having the irritating feeling of gynae using her fingers in opening my cervix.

Does anything know what's the discharge about, my EDD has passed liau .. and by 11 Nov if my labor is still not arrived, I'll be induced liau ..

blurblur
If you haven't gone to the hospital yet, suggest u call the hospital for further advice or just head there coz it sounds like your waterbag has burst.

Ashley all the best! Pls go to the hospital soon.

Wow..susan..ur gynae v heong hor..y go and "make it 2cm"?! Eee...hehe...U take care...probably wld be ur turn vv soon.

Bluelips, I PM u my hp # liao.

Chin, congrats
GOod to hear from you...had a feeling you were having your son since a few days you MIA.

Take care! and post pix soon !

Morning ladies..

Congrats Chin!
Ur relatives n all muz b so glad that they arrived in time in SG.. kekeke..

Aprilpinky, my nxt checkup will b on wed.. so nw its every 3 days liao.. coz my EDD is on 11 Nov.. Dr Yeo was juz commenting dat my tummy is very tight liao.. but hw come baby still dun wan to come out.. kekeke.. dat's wat my hubby has been asking my baby.. my mum predict tat baby might juz come out on the exact day.. so really can't wait nw.. but it seems like its getting tougher slping tis days for me liao.. since areadi full term.. haiz..

Welcome Ashley! N Congrats in advance.. hee..

I see.. celtricia...he didnt say that to me leh. He did the palpating of my tummy as usual but didnt comment just said head almost engaged. hehe..but joked w me said how come I also go and starve myself like her nurse who cant have lunch until 2 plus...I also dunno how come lost wt. But as long as bb ok I guess it's fine

These few nites' sleep were ok.

Exact day good loh..Fri hor..

Aprilpinky.. so u managed to c him only at 2 plus ah.. wow! he din comment abt orlando's head being engaged leh.. n i din asked as he had previously told us dat engaged or nt still can deliver, so find it no point to ask him liao.. heh..

so u anytime soon too ah..
if orlando decides to come out on wed also gd.. juz nice my ML starts too.. kekeke.. but if friday.. the date will b nice.. heh..

but watever it is, as long as he is out healthy n strong can liao lah.. kekeke..