(2005/11) November 2005 MTBs

Ah fat, my pain threshold also super low one...so dont worry, u r not the only one around. hehe..

Ya naughty, a lot of my friends stubborn refused to take epid and lun till long hrs then ask for epidural and feel like in heaven after that :pP

Hi Ah Fat
I might be going for c-section too and also having reservations about my threshold of pain. In sec school, I almost blacked out a few times due to the pain from menses cramps.

However, we have to trust our docs who have ample exp to do a good job with the surgery. Might be a gd idea to seek out yr doc's advise to allay any fears you might have.

nik: stress level affects ur BM supply. stay relax. drink lots of Milk n milo n longgan,red dates tea if poosible. more fluid intake surely helps to produce more milk. try to pump constantly to empty milk from the breast, so it will reproduce more each time.
use hot towel over breast n massage and there after pump the BM. I almost slipped into depression after delivering my girl, i cried for almost 2 weeks before i stopped. Lucky got my hubby to keep telling me to think positive, if not i think i will be out of control manz.

I wishing you speedy recovery and of cos Congratulation once again to your lovely twins!

morning ladies...
had enuff rest, but still feeling sore.. heh.. although its friday today.. hee.. Have a nice wrking day ladies..

Yuppie... TGIF!!! Can't wait to go for my long holiday break.... = )

Nik, thanks for sharing your experienced... glad everything goes well for 3 of ya. Meanwhile, take good care of yourself and rest more!
I think I'll go for ENFALAC as most of my fren's recommended it... guess should be good ba!

Congrats Nik! Tough experience hor, with the babies and maid coming same time. But glad that the 3 of you are doing ok now..jia you!

How about trying fenugreek to increase the milk supply? I read that it is supposed to help. One of my friend tried and say that BM really increase even after one day. You can get a bottle from GMC.

Hi All, lobang again.... hee hee!

Save up to 80% on children's toys ... Barbie, Hot Wheels,

Fisher Price, etc, etc..!

Mattel is having its WAREHOUSE SALE on:

Date: 27th - 29th Oct (Thur - Sat)

Time: 10am to 6pm

Venue: The Comtech (see attached map)

60 Alexandra Terrace

Lobby C, 2nd floor

Singapore 118502

- Payment by Cash and Visa/ Master Cards only.

- Items while stocks last.

- Goods sold are non-returnable or refundable.

I am so glad it is friday...been going through the week in mad rush...work's been bad, so many things to do. No logic right? nearer to EDD, still so much work.

since you all recommend ENFALAC, then i think i will go buy that also. How long one tin of FM last hah?

Good morning ladies...

TGIF! AM sure everyone is looking fwd to the weeeknd.

Did not sleep well at all...tummy very very tight..can not find a comfortable position at all. Baby also kept squirming inside..

Thanks ladies for all of ur valuable encouragment.... Will try to work hard on bfing, cos they are preemie. I'm surprised the hospital allow me to discharge Gillian cos she's less than 2kg. But she's progressing well.
Sorry, no pixs at the moment, cos hb too busy to cope wif bbs too. He didn't help me uplaod the pixs.

A lot of things happened in a week, i'm still in a state of confusion.

Ah Fat, epi c-section and natural delivery epi is different. Dun worry about pain. According to the nurses, my threshold of pain is quite high. I refuse to eat pain-killer after the op.
I juz a little regret choosing to be awake during the op. Given a choice again, i will rather be knock out. Though the pain during the op may not be there, but mentally, i have 'implant the pain' in my brains liao.
I packed so much things for the hospital bag, but lots of things are quite useless. Didn't use any breast pad at all, cos bm is little. TMC nurses are really nice. Very comfortable stay there. I booked on 4-bedded, upgraded to 2 bedded, and no one sharing the rm wif me for the whole 5 day there. I'm like having a single rm to myself. Very heng. The soups there is nice, but little salty.

My right breast got more milk than the left, cos left is a inverted nipple. I'm trying to get Gillian to latched on there, cos she is better in sucking.

I think i'll get Enfaclac also.

nik, Gillian muz be doing very well den.. hee... its ok, we can wait till ur hb n u haf settled down.. the pics can haf it download later, juz take gd care of urself in the meantime n dun get to stressout..

but wat r the things dat wasn't necessary besides the breast pad? I'm happy to hear dat u enjoyed ur stay there.. btw, who's ur gynae? so lucky of u to haf a room all by urself n getting upgraded as well.. moreover its a long stay..

Hi Nik, u're really brave and glad that your babies are doing well now! Hang in there and i'm sure you can cope better and better....

Dili, your photos very nice. I especially like the last one, very artistic.

I went for gynae check-up and my baby's 2.5kg at 35 weeks, not engaged yet. So don't think I'll be popping anytime soon, wanna hang on till week 37 at least.

So who will be the next to pop? :p

My gynae is Dr A L Lim. Really feel lucky tat no one shares the rm wif me at all. But i dun stay in the maternity ward at 3rd n 5th floor. I stayed in the children ward at 4th floor. It's quieter there also. But, gotta go up n down the lift to see bbs. Gareth is in icu at 6th floor, Gillian is at 3rd. But a friend of mine, under Dr lim also, stayed in a 4th bedded ward b4 also.
Maybe, u can bring a few breast pads. Not 14 pcs like i did. Toiletties also dun need so much. Those items for ur face will do.

For any ladies who going for c-section. I didn't come down from the bed on the 2nd day. But on the 3rd day, the nurse asked me to come down n try to walk to the toilet. It's really very painful to come down from the bed. Dun wait till u are very 'urgent' den go toilet, u won't make it there in time. Dun rest too much in bed too, it will be difficult to come down from bed again. By the 4th day, i'm can walk ard the hospital liao. In fact, i can discharge by 4th day, but i decided to stay to learn how to feed my bbs. cos they can't suck well. My gynae couldn't find me when he came over in the rm, i walk ard to see bbs mah.

Nik, glad to hear you and your babies are doing well. Keep it up

I think we shouldn't focos so much on the pain etc...but rather think of it as each contraction brings us closer to meeting our child. No contractions, wun be able to see them

oic.. tink they put u to the children ward becoz the maternity ward all full bah.. though its a chore for u to walk up n down to see ur babies, i tink the quietness there allows u to rest better right? so did ur hb stayed wif u thru out? or he went hm once the visitng hrs r over?
Ur fren stayed in 4 bedded ah.. so she comment anything abt the 4-bedded?
thanks for ur advice, tink i won't bring too much breast pads den, but ur sanitary pads enuff? did TMC provide enuff for u or u had to used ur own in d end?
tink ur gynae muz b tinking, hw come u c-section still so active n walk ard so much.. hahaha..
oh ya! another thing, check wif u.. u stayed an xtra day to learn to BF right? did u request for the lactation consultant to come teach u or Mrs WOng?

nik: for inverted nipple, u can ask ur hubby to go kiddy palace to find the nipple corrector. just suck out the nipple before latching
i saw a nipple corrector at TAKA. i am not sure where else sells, but i think Kiddly palace should.

Actually dun have to get Maternity pads, hosp have, once u go home can use normal pads.

Clarisse's Mum, but some say better bring at least a pack as some mum's haf heavy flow some haf light flow after the delivery n afraid the hospital might nt give enuff, n will charge if we request more den wat they give...

Good afternoon ladies,

hehe..busy morning for me! But TGIF
Decided to take wed off next week so minusing today it will be 2 more working days for me before 7th NOV! (ML will START!!!!!) hahahaa..v happy.

Nik, take care. Dont stress urself. Have breastmilk or not is individual. Mum told me if I dont have dont have loh but of cuz I will try v hard lah..hehe..

A bit of contractions y'day nite (strange, always nite time). But not bothered by it anymore since it's not unbearable and doesnt affect the back and hence couldnt have been labor contractions. Stopped after a while.

Celtricia, my friend didn't comment much. But she had a very short stay there. Cos she gave birth in the car on the way to hospital. The 4 bedded ward is juz outside the nursery, there's lots of visior there, tat's why it's quite noisy.
My gynae didn't said much about i 'run about'. He juz said i'm young n strong, recover very fast. Kekekeke. All the nurses there are very helpful in giving tips for bfing. I regret tat i did not rent a machine. It's $25 a day, heard tat i'm very effective in establishing the milk flow. I bought the medela pump. The Avent manual pump is quite shiong to use. No need Mrs Wong, the nurses are very helpful.
For maternity pads, no need to bring 1 whole pack. About 10 pcs is more than enough. After i came down from bed, i start to use some stick on type of pads. More comfy.

Clarissemummy, i heard abt the corrector also. I think i have block ducts on the left breast too. It's quite painful to let bb latch on there. Must take some time to get used to it. I going to join u at Oct mummy soon...Kekekeke

Hi nik, how come your friend gave birth in the car?? thought we have some buffer time from start of contractions/waterbag burst/show before the actual birth? so scary....

I'm not sure too. It's her 2nd bb, so maybe she tot got enough time. Some ppl got short deliveries, some ppl got super long ones..

Meixue,

Dont worry lah..most people dont dilate so fast. Maybe she didnt realise she has dilated. I heard 2nd child onwards worse..faster for most ppl.

Nik, with the medela pump shd be v good I think. U shd have borrowed from Parentcraft. Tat day I asked them but they said they hv only 2 sets so v difficult to get unless Mrs Wong directed u to them to borrow a set. Didnt know have to pay rental. Quite ex huh..

I only got a Avent ISIS cuz using for 3 mths only.

The most ex one is the $699 one...they promote before..say if keep in good condition can sell TMC back at 399 or someth like that..

Still got $800 type?! *faint*

Mine is only $50++

nik: blocked duct wont cause pain, likely is the engorment. so wat u do is to use hot towel over breast and massage. this will soften the breast, but get ready ur pump.. kekekeke. cos it will leak when the breast is in touch with hot towel.

April: i know there is none abt 2-3k pump. but i think its totally crazzy to get such pumps.

i am using one battery op. Tollyjoy. and looking for a dual, cos each time i pump one side, the other side leak..
so wasted.

Clarisse's mum,

wow..2-3k for a few mths? haha..crazy indeed.

U can hand pump the other side? Hand pump is a technique not easy to master though..can get blue black :p

meixue,

some mums have very short labour even for their first baby. two of my friends had their baby by natural delivery within an hour of reaching the hospital after water bag burst. anyway its better to be early to hospital than panic. hospitals are used to people coming in early.

afternoon ladies..

had a nice lunch today, chix cutlet rice w fruit juice.. hee.. nw feeling bloated..

Nik, thanks.. coz i saw the 2-bedded n found it a bit small, so was tinking hw would the 4-bedded space b liked.. hee.. oh! its the nurses that help u wif BF ah.. not bad leh.. quite assuring nw.. but den.. $25 for rental of the pump! quite ex leh.. OMG.. hee.. tink i'll bring my own pigeon one den..
TMC use one is the loop kind of maternity pad right? hmmm.. den i'll bring ard 15pcs lor.. coz my usual menses is always a lot, so i better bring xtra juz in case.. hee..

Heya bblove..

hw r u? where haf u been tis days? u seldom come in liao leh.. so hwz ur preggie progress?

Good for u huh..celtricia..my lunch so boring..chicken rice w veg..haha..not much appetite also cuz had a full b'fast this morning and got morning tea somemore.

Ya, bring our own pump lah. I'm bringing loh just in case I got milk leh..since I drink so much green papaya soup (make myself happy also good :pP)

Ya bblove how r u? Update lah..

The pads I'm bringg 2 packs of 10 each leh cuz I dont want to unpack them.

No mood to work liao..TGIF!

Hi Aprilpinky,

Me busy recently clearing work before going on leave & also all the last min preps for getting ready to pop!

Aprilpinky, wah! got morning tea some more ah.. kekeke. so nice.. nvm lah.. lunch boring but ur breakfast was gd mah.. most impt meal is breakfast mah.. hee..

aiyah.. i duno if i got milk or nt.. but nvertheless, bring along juz in case... hee.. so fast u drinking the green papaya fish soup ah.. my mum duno hw to cook leh..

was chatting all the way wif my colleagues juz nw.. really all no mood to wrk.. adding on dat both our SM n MD is not ard.. kekeke..

bblove - mine starting on 7 Nov. Urs?

Celtricia, I got course in the morning mah..so got tea provided.

Ya, drinking the green papaya soup liao. Anyway no harm trying. MIL also dunno how to cook at first but we supposed must peel off the skin and cut them into pieces and cook them with fish meat/bones loh..not bad. Quite sweet.

hmmm.. oki.. asked my mum to try n cook.. so dat during confinement i can also drink it.. hee..

i tot u having course on nxt friday? today also haf ah..

Aprilpinky, where to get the green papaya, found that green papaya is sold at pasar/NTUC but we must get exactly the one with green flesh, right?

today got false alarm, tummy tight tight and had a continuous pain for > 2 mins .. then after 15 mins came again .. but then went off liau .. now on half day leave, going for weekly check-up later ..

Pauline, thanks for the lovely pics .. nice nice tummy shape leh ..

Nik, thanks for the birthing story .. how r u coping with your twins now? Seems like Gareth is more 'kuai' then Gillian ...

Chinlee, thanks for the info on dry shampoo, will ask Guardian for it.

ya celtricia, today also on course for half day.

Susan, my MIL asked the mkt to reserve for her. hehe..I tried the NTUC ones then cut open the flesh inside a bit orangie liao..the mkt one MIL specified must be green papaya. Y'day saw the flesh white white like winter melon. hehe.

Okie, do update us later. Scaly u dilate liao :p hehehee...it sometimes happens during one of those checkups then straightaway admit. :p

Susan.. ya.. muz update us leh.. u nvr noe, wait during the checkup ur doc say muz admit liao.. den we will b waiting for ur birth story.. hee.. i tink whether there's pain or not during dilation depends very much on individual..

Aprilpinky, i think u r right..maybe won't meet in hospital liao. U already start to have BH practice..i until now no sign of anything, so i think will be later than yours one..

How long you boil the papaya soup? I am thinking of trying this weekend? What sort of fish to get hah?

Hey mummies, what do u think?

New Improved Design ($96.00 at Guardian Pharmacy)
Precise and ergonomically designed, CADI T560 measures temperatures in two convenient ways, via fast ear or gentle forehead scan. But rest it in its cradle and it transforms into a clock displaying the room temperature. Employing the latest infrared technology packaged in an easy to use manner, CADI T560 is an elegantly designed clinical thermometer meant for your family.

329432.jpg

Susan,

Some ppl dont feel the pain one leh..hehe. I drink the soup only.

Bluelips, I got threadfin and not sure how long my MIL cooks it. I supposed at least boil for 2-3 wld suffice?

Yvonne, yah looks sophisticated..but most ppl use braun huh?

ok ok, surely will update u all, we're learning from each other .. me very mong-cha-cha blur blur one ..

Yvonne, i'm having the one with brand called Microlife .. eem, dunno much about thermometer ..

Susan, how much is your thermo?

I went watson saw Braun ear thermo at $129 and another brand (2 way ear & forehead thermo) at $59.

My baby girl refuses to change her position so still breech and will opt for epi-c on nov 18. Will post my exp here! She's about 2.6-2.7kg now.=)