(2005/11) November 2005 MTBs

Well....
C'mon gals......
since we're already almost 1/2 way there.....
let's unite together and pull through this period together.....
(",) the results are a lifetime afer 9 months.....
Stay STRONG!!

Joyfulhands,

I'm hoping that the sex of my little one would be known soon..

Today went to buy more clothings!! hahaha..so happy for my baby. Got only some old clothing from a colleague but not much newborns' ones so have to buy some myself. This wkend so many sales so got some good deals. I think next week shd have more to look out for with the Great Singapore Sale. Oh yah, there's also Motherhood 2005 (baby fair) coming up fr 1 Jun-5 Jun at Expo.

Ladies, time for some serious shopping!

Have you all started to buy baby stuff already? I haven't yet bought a single thing. Was thinking to get them at 6 mths... Will probably get hand-me-downs from SIL and friends. But sometimes, I see cute cute baby clothes, aiyoh, must really resist! Maybe once I know baby's gender, all my shopping urges will be unleashed full force.

Hi Clee,

I tried to do that but only got fr 1 ex-colleague and the rest have "future plans" and hence couldnt get from them. Hehe. You try to get fr them fast then if dont have anyth quickly go and buy now cuz great singapore sale soon.

Ladies, need to share with all of you one of my friend's experience with a gynae in a shopping centre. He's not the gynae of anyone here I think. She's abt 30 weeks now. That day was casually telling her that I did my NT scan. She asked me what NT scan?! She said the only test that she did so far in her 30th wk was the HIV blood test. I was shocked and explained a little but didnt really want to make her worry. I thought NT scan is really v basic and I read that in fact the subsequent 18-22th week fetal anomaly scan is the most critical scan that every1 of us shd have if we can have only 1 ultrasound scan during whole pregnancy.

I guess too late for my friend to perform any more test at her stage. But I was puzzled how come the gynae never performed the above 2 non-invasive scans on her.

So ladies, pls read up on ur own as much as you can from reliable sources to assess whether there's any test that ur doc didnt mention but seem necessary for you and chk with ur gynae subsequently.

My general feel is that those gynaes within hospitals are quite ok and they normally will ask MTBs to go thru the common necessary tests.

Hi Aprilpinky,

Thanks for this! I am sorry if you had explained it before somewhere in thread, but since I am new new here, what exactly is an NT scan? Is it different from our usual scan? I just looked through my receipts with the gynae and realised that I had item marked "Ultrasound NT Screen" for my last visit. Does that mean that I have done it already? She didn't exactly say that it was any special scanning. I only vaguely rememebered my gynae telling me that she was looking more closely at scan for any abnormalities in baby, more precisely at the neck/head area. Maybe your friend is like me, her gynae may have done the UT scan but she doesn't know?

Hi Clee,

No problem. Chris posted the link b4 also http://www.thomsonmedical.com/PS_11-14wk.htm

You can read more abt that in the above link. Not sure whether that means you have done it cuz for my case, immediately after my scan, the TMC medical officer gave me the result and scanned pics and asked me to go to gynae for interpretation and explanation. You can further enquire from ur gynae in relation to the results. There shd be an age risk ratio and another ratio which is your own. If your own ratio is higher than the age risk ratio e.g. my age grp risk ratio is 1: 728 and my own is 1:2176 then I'm of low risk. NT scan can detect up 90% of down syndrome cases.

I'm not sure whether my friend has actually done it but her gynae never mention anyth to her and if her receipt got any NT scan or special charges, I guess she shd be aware that she had the scan b4

joyful,

I got to know my boy's sex at the 15th week scan so hopefully for this second baby I would also get to know at 15th week.

I am leaving in about 2mths time or earlier depending on when my hubby's visa is ready.

guess.... I am pretty LUCKY....
I've got loads and loads of hand me down
from my relatives.......
BUT hor, everytime I walk pass mothercare,
I heart itchy.....
want to buy something for bb......
(",)

ah fat,

I got loads of hand me down but I still buy for my boy becos my hand me downs are girls clothes and only the neutral ones I can use for my boy.

2nd hand baby items,

I am moving to US so I got some items that I cant bring over. selling at half price since our bomb shelter is over crowded already.

The items are:

Pigeon steam sterilizer (9 bottles kind)
baby pram (can be use from newborn)
baby rocker
infant carrier (cannot be use as carseat)

My SIL also gave me a few pcs of maternity wear yest. She going to gave me some of her bb's items such as cot, pram, car seat. But i decided not to get the cot from her cos her cot is really huge, i dun have so much space for her cot since i have to get another one myself also. So, the mummy here, i need some advices, is it ok for bb to sleep in sarong? Cos i think sarong take up less spaces than 2 bb cot?

Nik,

I used to help to take care of my nephew. He has and needs both the sarong and cot. If he's naughty dont want to sleep usually my mum will put him into the sarong then transfer him at night onto the bed/cot. I'm buying both for my baby as well cuz I wont know his/her preference. haha. Mum said cot is necessary cuz at night you need a safe/stable place for baby to sleep thru the night and for feeding as well.

Nowadays cots are getting bigger cuz they claim can use up to 3 or 4 yrs old...

Rochelle, really 15th week can see huh? I would be seeing gynae this week and it's my 15th week today liao. So v hopeful now. hehehe.

Aprilpinky, my niece n nephew's cot also claim to be able to use up to 4 years old, but less than 2 years old, they stop using the cot already.

I also hope to able to see the gender of my bb. But i think still got 3 more weeks to wait.

Rochelle,

Ok will psycho my little one. hehe. For your case, since can see that it's a boy at 15th week then sure v confirmed. I read of cases here whereby girl becomes boy. hahahaa. Boy becomes gal I think not possible.

Will update all of u if I can see the sex of my baby this week. V excited!

nik, went for my check-up yesterday.. everythings ok, bb bigger than average so my EDD also early liao 7th dec. my hubby keep asking doc wat wil the gender b from his experience n he told us 60% is boy boy... my hubby keep smile the whole nite, cannot tahan man!

hi nik

feel like finger tap in tummy..knock knock

now is week 16 going to week 17 soon

hi sexxy

ur hubby is traditional kind??

<font color="0000ff">as @ 26-May-05</font>
<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mummies To Be</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Deliver at </TD></TR><TR><TD>Morraine</TD><TD>18/10/05</TD><TD>19</TD><TD>GEH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Clee</TD><TD>01/11/05</TD><TD>17</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chin</TD><TD>03/11/05</TD><TD>17</TD><TD>(overseas) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tidy Fairy</TD><TD>03/11/05</TD><TD>17</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunflower_26</TD><TD>03/11/05</TD><TD>17</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Manuka</TD><TD>03/11/05</TD><TD>17</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>03/11/05</TD><TD>17</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Numee</TD><TD>04/11/05</TD><TD>16</TD><TD>GEH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Venus</TD><TD>04/11/05</TD><TD>16</TD><TD>GEH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Veil</TD><TD>06/11/05</TD><TD>16</TD><TD>MEH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Natalie</TD><TD>07/11/05</TD><TD>16</TD><TD>SGH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emm</TD><TD>09/11/05</TD><TD>16</TD><TD>MEH </TD></TR><TR><TD>June</TD><TD>10/11/05</TD><TD>16</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>HappyMum</TD><TD>12/11/05</TD><TD>15</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nmum</TD><TD>13/11/05</TD><TD>15</TD><TD>MEH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Woofy</TD><TD>14/11/05</TD><TD>15</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aprilpinky</TD><TD>14/11/05</TD><TD>15</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>FurryFurry</TD><TD>17/11/05</TD><TD>15</TD><TD>(overseas) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Coral</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>14</TD><TD>GEH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celtricia</TD><TD>21/11/05</TD><TD>14</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bblove</TD><TD>21/11/05</TD><TD>14</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Girl</TD><TD>21/11/05</TD><TD>14</TD><TD>NUH </TD></TR><TR><TD>TTC2nd</TD><TD>23/11/05</TD><TD>14</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dili Mum</TD><TD>24/11/05</TD><TD>14</TD><TD>SGH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jac</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ah Fat</TD><TD>29/11/05</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nik</TD><TD>30/11/05</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jackie&amp;Jillie</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joyfulhands</TD><TD>03/12/05</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>RH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Meixue</TD><TD>03/12/05</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rochelle</TD><TD>04/12/05</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>(overseas) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sexxy</TD><TD>12/12/05</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>JeslynLuvRenee</TD><TD>07/12/05</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chris</TD><TD>10/12/05</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yvonne</TD><TD>14/12/05</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>MAH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Absolut</TD><TD>18/12/05</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>ESH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Weoseek</TD><TD>27/12/05</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

legend
<font color="0000ff">ESH - Eastshore Hospital, MEH - Mt E, MAH - Mt. A, GEH - Gleneagles, RH - Raffles Hospital, SGH - Singapore General Hospital, TMC - Thomson Medical Centre</font>

<font color="ff0000">Do let me know if any of the data is incorrect, not up-to-date or left you gals out!</font>
<font color="ff0000">Anyone wants to join the list, let me know, thanks!!!</font>

Hi Ladies!
I'm back from Japan! Good to know everyone's doing well, and welcome newcomers!

Something to share...
I had bleeding on the 1st day I reached Japan. It wasn't spotting, real bleeding... broke down on the spot. Immediately called the gynae, he asked me to observe for a while. All through the day, there was spotting.
Day 2: I had blood clots when I wiped... and called gynae again
Day 3: Spotting
Day 4-7: All clear... I could enjoy the trip abit more then

Went to the gynae first thing the next morning I reached Sg. Had a scan... 1st thing I looked for was a heartbeat... and there was. BB grew 18mm over a week, so I was relieved.

There is a bit of pain when gynae pressed on my womb... so he made me stay home for 2 days... so here I am, resting at home.

Gynae didn't give me any hormone pills/jabs... I think it's cos bb grew quite well. I can't help but have the phobia that bleeding will come back again.

Welcome back, Dili_Mummy...good to know that your bb is growing well...don't worry too much and have enough rest!

I am going for my 3rd scan this friday...really looking forward to it and hope that bbs are doing well...will update with all of you next week..

Dili_Mummy,

Take care and avoid cooling stuff and strenuous exercise or movements. Rest well and everyth will be fine

We are all abt halfway through..let's press on.

Dili, oh u r back. Ur spotting really spolit ur honeymoon hor. Glad tat everything is all right.

Sexxy, can see gender liao huh??? So exciting. Me going to see him tmr. Hope can see my bb's gender also. My hb told me he doesn't wan to noe the gender, cos he wans a surprise tat day, but i'm very curious to noe, so i tell him tat i'll still ask the gynae, but i will not tell him loh.

Venus, hope i can feel my bb's movement soon. Must be a very funny feeling.

Sexxy, my hb worst, he said he's going to buy a few 'light sabre'(fm starwars), he's prepare to 'fight' wif his kids.

heya dili_mummy.. u r bak.. thanks for d update.. heard abt ur spotting.. muz rest well k? it muz haf given u a scare when u realised u were bleeding ah.. do take care hor..

venus.. wah! can feel ur bb movements liao ah.. so cool leh.. but heard frm lots of mums, they say beginning quite happy to feel it, but at later stage quite torturing coz bb's movements n esp kicks will make u feel d pain n all of us will haf difficulties slping liao.. hee..

dili: u might have one of the blood vessels which connects blood to the baby burst... u take care ok.. u might have just too strained over the flight...

poshbb aka Ling

Dili, nice to see u around again.. take gd care! Since bb is growing well, dun worry too much, ok.

A little update... I just had my NT scan today &amp; risk of Down Syndrome is low at 1:7960 which makes me very relieved
Some more, could see bb's body movements &amp; little fingers ... Doctor said he saw something between the legs but cannot confirm whether it's birdie, since it's only 12 wks, still too early. Next scan @16 wks will be able to tell liao.

joyfullhands,

suppose to have NT scan at 12th week but my hubby not free. if can tell down syndrome risk immediately than will try to go for the scan.

Rochelle,
yep, can get results of scan on the same day. Morning is the blood test, afternoon is u/s scan &amp; risk ratio immediately available after doctor did the calculation on his computer. So you are doing the scan here in Sg? Heard that antenatal &amp; delivery costs in US is quite ex for foreigners w/o insurance, is it?

So tired! Just finished sorting out some dou ya (beansprout) from the dou ya ke. Wanted to make a dou ya ke pillow for my baby but didnt know it's so tough. V tempted to buy one. But then hubby's aunt had helped us to purposely get from the mkt auntie. So nice of her. 3 bagfuls!

Just visited gynae today. Everything is fine but bb was shy and wouldn't let us see its gender. We will have to wait till next month and hope it will be more cooperative!
But my goodness, it has grown so much bigger than the last time. I only showing slightly. My frens say that stomach will just pop up and become bigger at 5th mth. Hmmm...

Anyway, is anyone signing up with Mt Alvernia. M going for the maternity tour on 11 June to check it out. Any feedback?

dili: take care gal..... dun worry too much.... You are tough, and we'll all gonna get through this....

Venus: Lucky you!! Feeling the bb's movements must have made you felt cloud 9!! I am waiting for mine....

Hi MTBs,

My EDD is 27 Nov 2005, should be delivering at TMC.

Now my baby is 13 weeks+, coming to 14 weeks already. Want to ask you all. Are you still experiencing morning sickness? My morning sickness doesn't seem to go off, and it can occur any time of the day. Just vomitted for 2 hours in the wee hours of the morning. Looked like panda at work now.

nik, doc stil not cofirm the gender just telling us from his experience... hope is very "ZHUN"
hubby say he wil go and buy toys for my bb if doc confirm the next visit! btw, next visit got to go for blood test liao :-(

joyful,

since my boy delivered at RH so feel safer doing the NT scan here. I would be covered by my hubby's company family insurance policy but dont know what is the coverage like for maternity.

I am hoping my 2nd baby is a boy so that can stop at two. my in-laws are hyper-traditional and they have more granddaughters than grandsons.

sexxy,

I am the one who play remote control cars and repair the VCR and meddle with the hi-fi and play arcade games. my brother is not interested. so tell your hubby no gurantee.

Jackie&amp;Jillie,

Welcome to our thread! My morning sickness eased a lot halfway in my 14th week so maybe next week would be better for you. However, heard of MTBs whose morning sickness lasted for whole 9 mths...

Glad to found this site where everyone can share their experience and learn from each other. My baby is coming to 15 weeks. It's always heart-warming to see him/her dancing around in my womb.

Jackie&amp;Jillie,
My morning sickness, too, has eased down quite alot. But I still vomit from time to time. I always feel bloated after a meal and burped alot. And then, the nauseousness kicks in. These affect my appetite a great deal and I have lost 5 kg since. I just hope that these will go away real soon.

Glad everyone is doing well!!

I too am off nausea slightly and really eating!!! Cravings are greater than before and my list that I've given hubby has just got longer!!!

So far I've gained 4.5kg!! The tummy is showing!!

I suppose eventually it'll be a great time for us to meet and eat!!! Once most of us are off nausea...buffet restaurants here we come!!

Any unusual cravings for anything??

Dili, glad that everthing's well... really scare me when i read ur posting on bleeding.. lucky everythings well
must take care ah

venus! u can feel bb movement already? so envy
think my bb lazy... hahahaha
even go scanning also cannot see boy or girl... zzz thruout the scan and refuse to open legs

(",)
well, my morning sickness kinda come and go.....
So I carry a air sick bag whereever I go.......
Some days, i'll feel on top of the world.....
and some days, I feel like trash.....
weird weird feelings of pregnancy!!

Natalie

i tried buffet restaurant liao but not eating that much too..just that the appettite went back to normal..

Manuka..

Sometimes bb moves and sometimes bb dun moves..which week r u now?? u very eager to c the sex...

well, i think i take it easy and wait for gynae to tell me when he scan it..

Good morning everyone!!!!

Am still experiencing slight MS now and then but is alot better than before. Going to see doc tomorrow, hopefully will be able to see BB gender. Makes buying stuff alot easier!!

Have been craving lots of fruits especially durians. But really hate having rice.

Good morning ladies,
thanks for all your support. I've had a good 3-day rest and things are looking fine.

Welcome Ju!
<font color="aa00aa">Ju, Moonbell and Melo,</font>
Can you give me more details e.g. EDD and hospital you've chosen? I can put you on the list, I update it every Mon and Thurs.