(2005/11) November 2005 MTBs

Thanks, Aprilpinky..I did not realise that there is an upload attachment button...that's how blur i am.

Hi Dili,

Additional information. My baby boy name is Jadon. Born emergency c-section on 4/11/2005 supposed EDD 17/12/2005. Born 34wks at KKH (supposed to be TMC. Was referred to KKH as gynae foresee premature and required special care. KKH cheaper than TMC baby ICU). Baby Jadon still in KKH Special Care Nursery.

Priscilla,
Must be hard on you. Are you coping ok? Wounds healing well? Able to pump any breastmilk? Don't worry, Jadon is in good hands... do keep us updated.

Hello..me still around!!!

Going for check now....come back in later...just showing face so you all know I'm still fine LOL ..hor DILI!!

Good morning ladies..waiting for my massage lady to come..

Furry, good to show "face" everyday so that we know u r still around..hehe..all the best first hor..

Jeddie, update us also..

Pris, do take care!

ChinLee, ur Darion so chubby! I dont think his weight is due to his height...

Furry... yah yah yah, show face so we know! Tell us what the NST is about after you're back...

Oooh... 3 ladies going for c-section today! Good luck all!

For Quick Reference,

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mummies To Be</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mummies To Be</TD><TD>EDD </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nmum</TD><TD>13/11/05</TD><TD></TD><TD>Rochelle</TD><TD>04/12/05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bluelips</TD><TD>13/11/05</TD><TD></TD><TD>JeslynLuvRenee</TD><TD>07/12/05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>FurryFurry</TD><TD>14/11/05</TD><TD></TD><TD>Chris</TD><TD>10/12/05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mandy</TD><TD>22/11/05</TD><TD></TD><TD>Moonbell</TD><TD>11/12/05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jeddie</TD><TD>23/11/05</TD><TD></TD><TD>Sexxy</TD><TD>12/12/05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>TTC2nd</TD><TD>23/11/05</TD><TD></TD><TD>Yvonne</TD><TD>12/12/05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dili Mum</TD><TD>24/11/05</TD><TD></TD><TD>Wendy</TD><TD>22/12/05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jackie&amp;Jillie</TD><TD>27/11/05</TD><TD></TD><TD>Absolut</TD><TD>24/12/05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Meixue</TD><TD>30/11/05</TD><TD></TD><TD>Weoseek</TD><TD>27/12/05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joyful</TD><TD>03/12/05</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mummies</TD><TD>Popped on</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Deliver at</TD><TD>Gender/Name</TD><TD>Wt </TD></TR><TR><TD>Clee</TD><TD>14/10/05</TD><TD>01/11/05</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Manuka</TD><TD>15/10/05</TD><TD>03/11/05</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>2.9kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Venus</TD><TD>15/10/05</TD><TD>04/11/05</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Justin</font></TD><TD>2.77kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Naughty</TD><TD>19/10/05</TD><TD>04/11/05</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Brent Chng</font></TD><TD>2.4kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nik</TD><TD>21/10/05</TD><TD>30/11/05</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Gareth</font> &amp; <font color="ff0000">Gillian</font></TD><TD>2.1kg &amp; 1.8kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Veil</TD><TD>26/10/05</TD><TD>06/11/05</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>3.04kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Morraine</TD><TD>28/10/05</TD><TD>18/10/05</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Ashley</font></TD><TD>2.99kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sandy Lian</TD><TD>28/10/05</TD><TD>16/11/05</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Lucia Tan</font></TD><TD>3.36kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Woofy</TD><TD>29/10/05</TD><TD>14/11/05</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Nicholas</font></TD><TD>3.1kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>31/10/05</TD><TD>03/11/05</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD>3.73kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chin</TD><TD>02/11/05</TD><TD>03/11/05</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Darion</font></TD><TD>3.85kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD>04/11/05</TD><TD>17/12/05</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Jadon</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ju</TD><TD>05/11/05</TD><TD>20/11/05</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Malcolm Wong</font></TD><TD>3.22kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ashley</TD><TD>06/11/05</TD><TD>09/11/05</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Phoebe</font></TD><TD>3.16kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Misch</TD><TD>08/11/05</TD><TD>06/11/05</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD>21/11/05</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sibelle</TD><TD>08/11/05</TD><TD>27/11/05</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amber</TD><TD>? 08/11/05</TD><TD>08/11/05</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Thaddeus Ting</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>SusanY</TD><TD>09/11/05</TD><TD>03/11/05</TD><TD>ESH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Chia GyAnn</font></TD><TD>3.395kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aprilpinky</TD><TD>09/11/05</TD><TD>14/11/05</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Ziyu</font></TD><TD>2.93kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emm</TD><TD>09/11/05</TD><TD>09/11/05</TD><TD>MEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Lucius Teng</font></TD><TD>4.075kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Blurblur</TD><TD>? 09/11/05</TD><TD>09/11/05</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Batilda Tan</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celtricia</TD><TD>10/11/05</TD><TD>11/11/05</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Orlando Lee</font></TD><TD>3.4kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>YP Lee</TD><TD>13/11/05</TD><TD>13/11/05</TD><TD>MAH</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Natalie</TD><TD>14/11/05</TD><TD>07/11/05</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Maxene</font></TD><TD>2.91kg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bblove</TD><TD>16/11/05</TD><TD>21/11/05</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Boy</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Calbee</TD><TD>18/11/05</TD><TD>19/11/05</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>April</TD><TD>18/11/05</TD><TD>27/11/05</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Girl</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ah Fat</TD><TD>18/11/05</TD><TD>29/11/05</TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Hiroshi Yoon</font></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Priscilla, I also delivered my bbs via emergency c-section at 34 weeks. Do u go to KK to visit him everday? Heard tat it's good to go n cuddle n talk to bb everyday, he will recover faster. I went down to the ICU almost 3 times a day to talk to my boy while he's in ICU.

Chris, i drink plain water. I dun really like the red date tea, making me more thirsty.

Last nite, my boy slept from 11pm to 5pm. 6 hrs!!! I think my mil over-fed him!! Though i wan him to sleep more in the nite, but i think 6 hrs is abit too much at the moment for a less than a month old bb. I have to check on the boy each time a wake up to feed the gal, make sure he's still 'alive'. Makes me so worried last nite.

Good Morning ladies,

Seeing all the cute newborn babies pix here makes me so excited...
336532.gif

Wow today got 3 mummies giving birth... coolz!!! Popped list is getting longer &amp; longer...

Good Morning to all mummies and mummies to be...

Seeing all the cute litle angel's picture is a great way to start the day.

Priscilla,
Don't worry too much, Jadon will be home soon and do rest more!

Will try to upload my girl's photo soon....

Hiii...me back!!

NST - Basically I lie on the bed strapped with 2 detectors, 1 to track contractions, the other cub's heartbeat. Everytime I feel cub moving I must press this button. The machine spits out a chart tracking all 3 indicators...probably similar to a CTG? not too sure...

In the end, first 10 mins, cub moved 3x nia...so had to lie longer...midwife expects about 4 movements every 10 mins...Mom was telling me stories and chit chatting but cubbie still no reaction. I know that she's normally asleep at that time. After 15 mins, midwife came in and exclaimed that my cub is very cheeky...so ordered the hospital ayi to bring me some apple juice.

After downing some apple juice, wah...cubbie finally decided to perform and her movements were deemed satisfactory by the midwife. Anyway, the test concluded that she's doing ok inside. I had 1 major contraction then and some small ones but didn't really feel anything ....midwife says those are the BHCs.

Internal exam was good. Midwife expressed her surprise as cub's head is wayyyyyy past engagement...say by right should be seh liao LOL.

We've made an appointment for another ultrascan on MON if cub decides no show....but we've been given a 24-48 hour standby time. I think my cub just wants to enjoy life inside la...if we do make it past the weekend, I also dunno what to say to this cub...except that she's very very strong minded...haha

Ok...gonna take my lunch

congrats to all newly promoted mommies
. I delivered my gal on 12 Nov 05. it was a great experience and everything going fine till now. I must say 2nd child is easier n faster from labour to del and recovery! here's what happened on 12 Nov 05

9+am admited to TMC for very regular contractions with mild pain
10+am gynae came to chk and burst my waterbag (this is really pain!). 2cm dilated only and immed after water bag burst, contractions became very intense and pain! so i asked for the epidural
1+pm fully dilated and bb very low, cant wait to come out! with 2 pushes bb out
!

now i am at home. hb helping with "confinement". cant be any better without others...i can do wat i want! meals are delivered to me by my mil.

Thanks everybody for all your concern.

Hi Dili,

Wounds are healing well. At times there may be some slight pain. Still on painkiller as the pain is more on the contraction of the womb.

Jadon weighs only 1.36kg when he was born. Now gaining weight to 1.456kg Once he's 1.5kg, he will be out of the incubator. Then after I may be able to carry him in my arms. Have yet to carry him since he's born! He's currently in Special Care Nursery in KKH.

Hi Nik,

I'm unable to visit him so often as I lived in Sengkang. Moreover I'm still within the one month confinement..... So I can only popped by on alternate days or when they have the special course conduct by KKH for premature babies. Need my hubby to be the driver.....

A pic on him smiling taken yesterday while I'm talking to him.

336579.jpg

Hi ladies!!!

Back from gynae appt...will be induced tonight, after midnite...

BB's head engaged liao...and i have very bad water retention..cum bb's movements not consistant, so gynae decided to induce.

Jeddie, that's good can see bb very very soon! Meanwhile have a good rest and prepare to work hard tonite...!!!

Have a smooth delivery ya...

Priscilla,
I'm sure he smiled cos he can feel the bond with his mum! You're doing very well... and do update us when he's able to come out of incubator.

Furry,
Your cubbie very strong willed indeed! Well, if she's kicking well and mighty indeed... keep her there for two more days!

Aprilpinky,
Seems like your predictions are quite right... the girls are taking their own sweet time! Not counting induction/c-sections, those of us expecting girls seem to pop very near EDD or beyond!

Jeddie...good luck for tonight. U are going to see your little one so soon...!!

Furry - sounds like it is anytime for you now. Get the kampong ready ok! Your girl wants a rousing welcome..

Congrats to TTC2nd!!

Priscila..it must be so touching to see Jadon smiling at you. I hope you can hold him in your arms soon...

My confinement lady left today. Luckily there were no scenes etc..paid her,got her bus ticket and my mum is going to take over the cooking from today.. what a relief..! I will bathe baby myself starting from tomorrow..

Chin,
Congrats on "The Removal"...so your mom will be staying with you for some period of time?

Ya...Kampong already very the ready...

Priscilla, Ur boy reminds me of my boy when he's in ICU, can't suckle, on drip feed right?? At least ur boy already smiling at u, my boy got no respond everytime i visit him in ICU. I staying in Punggol, luckily my boy discharge 2 days after me. Do rest well now, premmie bb is alittle more difficult to take care. I've been thru tat, moreover i got 2. Quite siong at 1st, but they are doing really fine now, so, dun worry too much about Jadon. Btw, i 'sneak' out almost alternate days even i'm on confinement.

Furry - yes, my mum will be here until baby's one month..then I will be on my own..
But the Filipina maid is arriving tomorrow..so shld be manageable. Hubby is still around..leaving next week..but will be back before baby's one month..and staying for a while. He is taking to fatherhood quite well...getting quite good at changing diapers and bottle feeding

All the best, Furry!! Will be thinking of you and your baby.

nik, aiyo... u "sneak" out ah!!! hehehe....

hi ladies, i still waiting lei... when to gynae yesterday, dr said tat bb is very low liao n will be early but dont know how early.... got to wait for signal. EDD on the 9/12 but really hope to pop next wk so tat i can finish my confinement by x'mas!!!

jeddie, all the best!!! u can finally see ur bb liao...

So sexxy you pack hospital bag and ready to go huh... haha! My EDD on 12 Dec... still hvnt complete those washing and hospital bag but also 7788 liao la =)

Hey where u gals bought your baby clothes from? Internet or dept stores... hee hee. Anyone who delivered at Mt A can advise me what need / no need to bring for hospital stay...??? Find certain things not necessary but KS abit is better than not well prepared... keke!

yvonne, havent start the washing n arranging.... :p waiting for my hubby to get a new chest drawers to put all my bb thingys. for the hospital bag i packed liao since 2wks ago. bought my bb clothes from kiddy palace n some dept stores...

Congrats TTC2nd!

To all the 3 ladies.. Jia You! Ur names r in the 'popped' list liao.. heh..

Jeddie.. Do take more rest b4 ur delivery tonite.. All the best n haf a smooth delivery.. Cheers!

Sexxy, same here. Wanted to buy chest drawers for baby but couldn't find a nice one. Like 1 at ikea but stock not available... Sigh! So ended up buying e 4 tier container to store bb clothes &amp; stuff for time being, hee hee!

As for washing only started last weekend , still got many things to wash... bb detergent &amp; softener really smell very nice... SNIFF SNIFF!

I bot some clothes from the internet like Oshi Gosh, oldnavy as well as kiddy, Fox kids, Zara kids, dept stores... hb was saying i too KS buy so many clothes already... but all look so CUTIE mah... irresistable =P

Chin, good for ya finally yr nitemare (CL) was gone... hee hee! I agreed... hb plays very impt role during confinement too with their support beside us we will definitely be more relax and enjoyable during the confinement period and won't feel so "BLUE"...

Nik, im staying at punggol too... is a young couples, newly wed couples, young parents housing estate... seen many babies / toddler around, hee hee!

Good afternoon ladies,

Just finished pumping and feeding boy. Boy loves to suckle but it's really v time-consuming as compared to bottle feeding with expressed breastmilk. Got to hv more patience I guess..

Oh Ah Fat delivered already! Hiroshi is 2.859kg. Really not bad huh? She has started b'feeding twice already. She tried to MMS her son's photo to me but I cant retrieve it.

Ok going for some rest soon..raining soon huh..

Yvonne..u sounded so excited..hehe..actually no need to buy too many clothings. I regretted man. I think I bot too many newborn. Mum has taken out only 3-4 pieces for bb to interchangeably wear everyday. He didnt even wear the NB long pants yet cuz has been wrapping him with diapers. So dont overbuy

Will like to check with you all whether you all feed baby with water?? Because I went to see my pediatrician today and he said that it is wrong to feed baby with water.

Tried telling my MIL but she insisted that baby should be given more water and since birth she has been feeding more than 100mil of water per day.

Can anyone advice?? Heard from colleague that too much water will affect the baby as they get into their lungs. Is that true?

Desperate, dont know how to convince MIL and she is doing confinement for me and will be here for another 3 weeks.

Emm..I have given my baby a few sips of water after milk (whether direct breast feeding / expressed breast milk)..more to wash his mouth of the milky taste than to really give him lots of water. My PD said a bit is ok, though not necessary. My mum and ex-confinement lady said to give lots of water..but I explained to them that since breast milk is 80% water, there is no need to give so much. If baby is taking entirely FM, perhaps u need to give more..cos FM is more "heaty" compared to breast milk. More than 100ml a day sounds a lot..if baby is full and bloated, how can the baby drink milk..which has more nutrition for the baby? Just my 2 cents' worth....

Yvonne.. I can sense your excitement..getting all geared up to welcome your precious one. It is going to be so exciting...better wash all your baby things hor..I bot so many clothes for the baby..but due to bad weather &amp; baby's active bladder..find myself running out of pants for my boy.

Chinlee, Thanks for the advice.

Husb talked to MIL just now, but she seem unhappy initially, but should be fine now.

Ah Fat, Congrats!!

Yvonne, me too bought alot of 3-6mth onward clothings from Zara, guess, fox kids etc.... hubby also buy alot too cos he said he wan his boy to look smart n nice!

emm: erm.. with regards to ur question.. i beg to differ with chin.
the reason why we aren't suppose to feed baby water is becoz.. end result would be we'll either end up overfeeding or underfeeding baby.(underfeeding-drinks too much water..can't take in enough milk to grow.) (overfeeding- size of their stomach is only walnut size lor.. if milk plus water.. would prove too much for them)
if u find tt bb is dehydrated.. u can try giving slightly more water than recommended when making FM or simply feed BM.
hope tt this will be helpful to u.

lips too dry? can dry to dab some water onto cotton wool.. then on the lips lor.

Congrats Ah Fat...

Just to share what I've read from askdrsears.com

Does my breastfeeding baby need bottles of water?"

Breastfeeding babies do not need extra water, though formula-fed babies often do. Your breastmilk contains enough water for your baby, even in hot, dry climates. Formula contains higher concentrations of salts and minerals than breastmilk does, so that extra water is often necessary for the kidneys to excrete the extra salt. Also, because of less efficient metabolism, formula-fed infants lose more water. In breastfed babies, not only is extra water unnecessary, giving bottles of water to quench baby's thirst may also lessen the desire to breastfeed. This will interfere with the balance between mother's milk supply and baby's demand. Bottles of water are also likely to cause nipple confusion. A baby who is too warm or thirsty, but not hungry, can satisfy his need for more water by feeding more frequently and just enough to get the watery foremilk, but not necessarily the creamier hindmilk. Breastfeeding babies are great self-thirst-quenchers.

Chin,
I think a few days more Jadon will be out of incubator. Counting down.

Nik,
Thank God KKH have a 4 lessons course on premmie bb. Faithfully been attending. Still have 1 more last lesson to attend next week.

Naughty,
I agree with what you said cos KKH course on premmie bb also teach us that bb do not need to drink water until you introduce solid food to them. I was told for BM or FM have water in them already. Cannot feed honey water to bb as well if not they will be allegy.

Yvonne,
You may wanna hold off shopping for more clothes for the time being for your child as you'll definitely get some as gifts

For me, I tell myself, rather spend on education and toys for kiddo then for clothes...which once outgrown, can't do much with hahaha :p

Contractions on and off but no big project leh. Just had my fix of beef from my dad...awesome!

Chin, hope the helper will be able to lend you a hand. Good to have your mom around to feed you up!! Any plans for Darion's full month?

Foods to avoid: Newborn to 4 or 6 months
All solid food: The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends that you feed your baby only breast milk or formula for the first four to six months.

Foods to avoid: 4 to 12 months
Citrus: Introducing citrus juices before age 1 may provoke an allergic reaction, especially if allergies run in your family.

Egg whites: You can give egg yolks to your baby now, but wait a year on the protein-rich whites because he may be allergic to them. In fact, if you think he may be at high risk for allergies, you might even delay giving your baby the whites until he's 2.

Honey: Honey can harbor spores of Clostridium botulinum (botulism). An adult's intestinal tract can prevent the growth of these spores, but in a baby the spores can grow and produce life-threatening toxins.

Peanut butter: Peanuts are highly allergenic. Rather than risk a violent allergic reaction, wait until your child is a year old before introducing peanut butter. If you or your mate has peanut allergies, wait until your child is at least 3 before giving him a PB&amp;J.

Wheat or wheat products: Most babies can handle wheat (cereal, breads) when they're about 6 to 8 months old, but wheat is the most common grain allergen, so if you're concerned about allergies, it might be a good idea to wait until your baby is 1.

Shellfish: Because it can be highly allergenic, experts recommend delaying shellfish in your baby's diet until reached his first birthday (or until he's between 3 and 4 years old if you suspect he's susceptible to allergies).

Tree nuts (like pecans and walnuts): If you think your baby is at risk for allergies, you might want to wait until he's 3 or 4 before giving him nuts; otherwise he can probably handle them when he's 1, as long as they're pureed in food or in nut butters. (Pieces of nuts pose a choking hazard.)

Other potential allergens: If you're concerned that your baby may be prone to allergies (because you and/or your partner is), you might choose to delay other common allergens ?like corn, soy, chocolate, or any food that you're allergic to ?until your baby's at least 1. Depending on the seriousness of your allergy and other factors, you may want to wait even longer. For help making this decision, talk to your child's doctor. (Also see "highly allergenic foods," below, under "Foods to avoid: 12 to 36 months.") If you're breastfeeding, avoiding all nuts and possibly eggs and milk in your own diet may help in delaying or preventing allergies in your baby.

Cows' milk: Stick with breast milk or formula until your child's first birthday. Why? Your baby can't digest the protein in cows' milk for the first year, it doesn't have all the nutrients he needs, and it contains minerals in amounts that can damage his kidneys.

Hot dogs: Once you start feeding your baby meat, keep in mind that he can easily choke on bite-size pieces of hot dog unless you cut the dog lengthwise before slicing it into quarter-inch pieces. (If you do serve hot dogs, try vegetarian versions for a healthier treat.)

Large chunks of any fruit, vegetable (cooked or raw), or meat: Pea-size pieces are safest.

Raw vegetables like carrots: Carrots should be shredded or cooked and cut up, so they won't get stuck in your child's throat. The same goes for celery and green beans.

String cheese: Cut cheese into very small pieces or shreds.

Whole grapes: Cut grapes, cherry tomatoes, and melon balls into quarters before serving. The whole fruit could get stuck in your child's throat.

Small, hard foods: Hard candies such as gumdrops, cough drops, nuts, popcorn, lollipops, raisins, and other small dried fruit, seeds, and chewing gum are potential choking hazards. Also avoid certain soft foods that might get lodged in your child's throat, like marshmallows and jelly candies.

More choking prevention:
?Avoid letting your child eat in the car as it's hard to supervise while driving.

?If you use a rub-on teething medication, keep an even closer eye on your baby as this can numb the throat and interfere with swallowing.

From babycenter.com